View Full Version : April Mums Unite
19-02-2008, 10:05
:ecomcity:HELLO! Come on, April 2006 Mummies, where are you all?!
Thought we would have a nice new thread, as the occasional posters seem to get lost in the bigger one.
Is anyone around?
Oliver is 22 months now, is starting to toilet train, and is a total terrorist! :) But I love him to bits!
Im 8ish weeks pregnant with number 2 as well.
We've done so much in the past few months... Moved, gotten pregnant, planning to build...etc
WHAT HAS EVERYONE ELSE BEEN UP TOO!?
:ecomcity::flowerz::smiliedance:
BubbaNoogie
19-02-2008, 15:53
Good idea Kat! I am still here, I just gave up posting in the other one.
I think two of the other April 06 mummies are due or nearly due to have there next bubs! Congrats to all the other mummies who are now pregnant as well :goodvibes:
We were ttc for the last couple of months, but it didn't happen, so we are leaving it for now and are going to start ttc again mid 2008 or mid 2009 (depending on what day of the week it is, I can't make up my mind:rolleyes:)
Amaris is an absolute doll (even if I am a bit biased) She is such a funny little character, always after a laugh (just like her dad) She is really energetic, always jumping or climbing on stuff. She doesn't chuck tantrums, just gets the most heartbreaking look on her face and runs away sobbing when she doesn't get her own way (very cute:D).
And I am loving the fact that she can tell me what she wants or whats wrong now. Don't you just love there little munchkin voices!
Still not sleeping through the night:no:, I have come to the realisation that she won't until she stops breastfeeding, so I wont be getting a full night sleep for another 1-2 years:dizzy:
Kat, you are braver than me in the toilet training department, it is something I dread. I was the same with Bethany, so I left it up to her and she tt in one day when she was 26mths (just asked to wear knickers one day and never had an accident, clever little cookie she is), I hope Amaris does the same!:fingerscrossed:
So April 06 mummies, what are your gorgeous kiddies up too?
25-02-2008, 09:24
Hey Brooke! Ive been so slack at checking back on this thread! LOL
Oliver is telling us alot now when he wants to use the potty. Worst thing is you get 10 minutes down the road from home and he informs us that he needs to wee! LOL :o :laughing:
Baby 2 is making me sick! LOL I'm looking forward to seeing you in the due date threads in the FUTURE! :D YAY!
MordecaiAliVanAllenO'Shea
10-03-2008, 12:25
Good to see some posts from April mums again! I had another son on 24th Feb so back to typing one-handed with a baby on my lap.
Mischief - the morning sickness is hard second time around with a toddler to care for. Right when I was sickest Jai went through a phase of only letting Mummy feed him - he wouldnt eat otherwise. Not helpful when the sight and smell of his food made me feel soooooo sick.
I cant believe just how grown up Jai is now. He loves to dance, sings along to favourite songs and is talking in both English and DH's language in mostly 3 word sentences. He is still really affectionate which I love.
There's much more but Jai's asleep now and I think the bub is in a deep enough sleep I can put him down and catch up on some sleep myself.
28-04-2008, 14:02
Hey Mel!
Sorry I missed your post! :) How is your newest addition going? And Jaidev?
Hopefully the Morning sickness seems to have passed now... fingers crossed. I still have the odd time when I gag but no sicking for a couple of weeks now.
Did youfind the aching worse the second time? My joints feel LOCKED... Last night I had the most horrible pain because I sat to long and my tail bone felt like it had jamed. Getting up nearly had me in tears!
porridge
20-05-2008, 18:55
hey guys! Good idea on a fresh thread Kat :)
We have another bub too - Archie was born on 11th of March this year. So far so good! Breastfeeding going well this time too, which I'm thrilled about!
Griff has done his first wee in the potty TONIGHT! I'm very excited! I think I might go and get a toilet training book from the library or buy one... just so I get it right! Kat, do you give Oliver little rewards for using the potty/toilet?
Brooke - Amaris' looks sound very much like what Griff does... it makes telling him off almost heart breaking! He does throw the odd tantrum, but we've found ignoring them reduces their fierce-ness (no supermarket tanties yet!)
Mel - how does Jai find your new bub? Griff wasn't very friendly towards Arch for nearly a week after we came home from hospital, but will give him a cuddle and a kiss now (he can be a bit rough too and Arch has copped a kick in the head or 'punch' in the tummy...)
Griff doesn't say many words, but is very expressive in other ways (verbal jabbering and gestures). He loves to run (and run and run..), jump and dance. He 'reads' books and draws (he's left handed mostly)... and gives us lots of cuddles and kisses.
anyway... enough of my babbles... I look forward to hearing more on how all our bubs are growing!!
30-05-2008, 15:44
Oh wow - there's been movement on the April '06 mums chat! Sorry I havent replied to anyone I didnt realise this thread was still active. I'll have to bookmark it so I dont miss any more posts.
Porridge - Jai mostly loves Taj (bub) a little too much so we have to watch he doesnt squash him when he's cuddling him all the time. In the car he always has to hold Taj's hand too which is so sweet. It's been difficult for Jai though as Taj is a pretty full-on baby - hopeless sleeper, on medication for silent reflux, fussy feeder - I've noticed Jai's behaviour is worse when Taj is needing extra attention. Probably a combination of him wanting more attention and me having less patience.
Mischief - you would be a fair bit further along in your pregnancy than last time you posted but yes I found there was more achiness and discomfit second time around. I also regretting not doing anything to tone my stomach muscles between babies as the puling in my lower belly was horrible if I'd been doing too much.
Hope everyone is doing well, would love to see some pics of some of these rambunctious toddlers,
I wasn't in the April mums pregnancy group, but can I join here :)
Hi Jaidevsmum, here we are; together again hehe.
My DS Seth was 2 on 24th April, and is a typical two year old :) I had another bub on Feb 29th 08, so life with the two of them is very different :)
I am Laura by the way, and i am 24 and from Sydney :)
porridge
24-06-2008, 12:36
Hi Laura!
I am jealous of your leap year baby!! lol... we had bub #2 on March 11 this year. My April 06 baby is an April Fool!
We're taking Griff to see and ear specialist next month to check his hearing and congestion behind his ear drum and to see if that's affecting his speech (or lack thereof). He seems to be settling down though and not so many tantrums/head banging and less poo painted around the room :rolleyes: it's going to cost about $200 to see the specialist so part of me is hoping they find something wrong! (only a small part though...)
He's still on the move all the time, which is... fun and interesting, and sometimes a little draining. SO MUCH energy! We're pretty much going to the park/a friends place/play group every day, just to wear him out. works a treat :)
We've been giving Griff pentavite (multi v) and in the few months he's been taking it, has had only one mild cold. This time last year it was like his nose was always snotty!
how's everyone else going? it's been a bit quiet in here!!!
24-06-2008, 13:09
JM - Sorry I totally forgot about this thread! :o Yes, me too! Regretting very much that i didnt do more to tone my Pelvic muscles, etc. Im 27 weeks now!
Laura - Im jealous of your leap year baby too! 29th of Feb is an awesome date! LOL
Emi - Hey chicken how are you going? I know what you mean about a small part hoping they find something wrong. If nothing else then you can treat it all, if there is nothing pysically wrong then you will worry why things are going to plan. Goodluck, make sure you let us know!
XX
2SPUNKRATZ
24-08-2008, 18:18
hey ladies. its been a while, and i notice its been a while since anyone has posted here, but i still will just incase you come back!
ive since had Aaliyah. she to was born on the 29th, the leap year. my beuatiful girl.
Marius is chatting all the time now. up until about a month ago he onyl said a few words, now he strings sentences. he isnt toilet training yet, but we are planning on starting him this week. i have made a sticker chart for it.
hope everoyne is well. i hope more of you come back!!
24-08-2008, 18:27
Hey Jess! :wave:
Oliver is the same, he's just in the last couple of weeks started putting sentences together. Thinks like "Look mummy, babys room" and stuff like that.
Only 4 weeks left for me. :)
2SPUNKRATZ
24-08-2008, 22:01
wow, only 4 more weeks mischief. thats awesome. i bet you are nervous as all hell now. i remember you being worried about PND. are you still really worried about that again? if it helps, its isnt proven yet, but apparently taking omega 3 supplements can help with reducing risk of PND. i had PND after marius (tried to hide it from most) but with DD i took the omega 3 fish oil tablets and nothing. baby blues only lasted 1 night aswell. its definately worth a try. i took 2 a day.
we are working with marius to help him form bigger sentences now. when he says, 'toast mum', at breakfast time, i say 2 words at a time and get him to repeat back to me "can i please have some toast mum?". he repeats it beautifully and has even started trying to make those more complex sentences by himself now. he is so clever.
~mia&ryan~
25-08-2008, 08:23
Hi I hope you don't mind me joining in. Miss Mia was born on 23rd April 06. I had my second bubba a boy called Ryan on the 21st July 08. Can't believe he is 5 weeks today already!
Mia is loving having a little brother, she 'helps' with everything. Just so cute. She is doing really well. Speaking mostly in sentences. Well into toilet training, although not fond of doing poos on the toilet, prefers her knickers for that! Does all her wees on it though. Its only nighttime that she is in nappies. She is full of beans and just doesn't stop. Always on the go. She starts at junior kindy tomorrow, she is so excited! We went there on friday for her to have a play and she loved it didnt want to leave! So hopefully tomorrow goes well.
Best be off, the little man is snoozing and Mia is watching ITNG so I might go and get dressed while I have time.
Em:goodvibes:
Maybe you don't remember me. I was an April 2006 Mum different user name was jmacg. Fancied a change! Stopped posting on bub hub for a while as I was busy with work and my DD. She is great very chatty, from the minute she is awake she is talking. Also expecting no 2 in 4 weeks. Jess saw you had a little girl congrats. how is marius coping? Gaia says that Daddy is having a boy and won't even entertain the idea my baby is a girl. Been posting in another thread as I unfortunately had a m/c in August. Will pop my head in here now I know you are all still around.
Kat you are expecting too. We were in Tassie at wedding at Christmas from memory which isn't what it was, that is where you are!
We loved it is so beautiful.
Lots of love to you all,
Jx
2SPUNKRATZ
25-08-2008, 16:11
hi J, i remember you. marius is doing well thanx. he just loves having a sister. he loves to play with ehr a lot. not into helping a lot. but he tries. maybe Gaia just knows something you dont hehe
Maybe! The midwife says little children sometimes have a 6th sense and quite often guess the sex of the baby. We shall....
10-10-2008, 14:24
Hi again everyone! Sorry again it's been so long (seems as though all my posts in this thread start with that:o).
Hi Laus:wave: Good to see you in here.
Hi Jess how's Aaliyah, some of the babies in our Feb group are amazing and almost walking yet but Taj is not really interested yet. He loves sitting up though and has the best smile. Jai still loves him to bits but already a bit of jealousy is coming up when Taj manages to roll over to one of his toys.
Dont know if any of you remember all my issues with relatives staying with us from way back when Jai was 8months old, but the last one is finally about to leave on November 6th, so after nearly 2yrs we will finally have our house back (though for how long who knows?) :smiliedance:.
I think it was porridge said Griff is taking pentavite? I've also got Jai on some multivitamins because he's not big on veggies. He's also still a slim little guy despite being tall so I'm even considering getting some of that toddler formula to try and fatten him up a bit so we have a bit of leeway for illness or growth spurts. Just have to check and see what the calorie/fat content is compared to cows milk to see if it's worth it. Seems funny for a boy who was long-term breastfed and never took a bottle to start on formula at 2 1/2!
Jai is day time toilet trained and we are considering taking the plunge and trying him in undies for overnight once this packet of pull-ups runs out.
How did all the tests for Griff go Porridge?
Anymore siblings for the April bubs?
porridge
28-02-2009, 14:20
just checking in again after a long dry spell in here!
how are things going with everyone?
nearly 3 years old. wow! I've been starting to think about what to do for Griff's birthday, but I know I won't actually do anything about it until about a week before hand. I'm so slack.
Arch is 1 in two weeks and I haven't organised anything for him either.
Griff is starting to talk a bit more now, initiating conversations with real words! His single word vocab has exploded and we're finding communication is getting easier (thou sometimes he says something and we just have no idea - usually this results in a tantrum of sorts)
We're coming (hopefully) to the end of assessments and observations of Griff. In the next couple of weeks we have an appt with a psychologist, to determine whether Griff has ASD. Every one else seems to think so, this is the one that matters.
He's still our lovely boy though.
We haven't started toilet training, but he's taken a liking to sitting on the toilet (on a special thomas the tank engine seat) so maybe it will happen soon.
Anyway, it would be great to hear from you guys again!
emily
MellieMumof2
14-05-2009, 16:21
Hi everyone hope u dont mind me joining here well anyway i'm mellie and my april bub is kyle who just turned 3 on april 21 looking forward to getting to know you all.
angcaltam
12-12-2010, 21:16
OMG great idea to start this Kat even though it took me 2 yrs to find it haha. Sorry i've been away from bubhub for so long just had so much going on.
Tamara is doing awesome and is really looking forward to xmas ;-)
How has everyone else been ? ? ?
Anyone starting their kids at school next yr ? ? ? We are holiday Tamara off till the following yr but she will go to pre-school 2 days a week next yr.
12-12-2010, 21:31
WOOO HOO! Welcome back! How are you going?! :)
Whats news?!
Any other April mummys still hanging around?!
2SPUNKRATZ
11-02-2011, 09:32
hey hey! it has been forever since i have come on here.
how is everyone?
Marius is startin school next term and im so nervous and excited about it. my lil miss is 3 in a couple of wks. :O how the time flies hey!
ive been a single mum for about 18 mths now but am now seein someone. 1 step at a time. 1 day at a time. hopin it will o well though. hes pretty amazing!
i wanna know how everyone else is going!