View Full Version : Questions from first time mums

Aysha'sMummy
12-02-2008, 04:02 PM
I thought i would make a thread for us first time mums to ask questions

I want to know how long you will bleed for after the birth and if it hurts? I get fairly bad period pains normally so i kind of want something to go off so i know what to expect

Jaileth
12-02-2008, 04:06 PM
I bled for 16wks after the birth, and although the last four weeks were kind of like heavy spotting (if that makes sense) none of it hurt - and I usually get bad cramps.

Monkey&Mum
12-02-2008, 04:07 PM
this is a guud idea!!
i also want to know how long yuu bleed for!! =]

sarahsboys
12-02-2008, 04:32 PM

I bled for about 2 weeks, but I have had 2 c/s. Hope this helps.

Sarah

Wy & Deeky
12-02-2008, 06:08 PM
About 2 weeks for me, I had a vaginal birth.

M~T~J~M
12-02-2008, 06:47 PM

I want to know how long you will bleed for after the birth and if it hurts? I get fairly bad period pains normally so i kind of want something to go off so i know what to expect

It is normal to bleed anywhere from 2 weeks to 6 weeks after a vaginal birth. It is normally only heavy in the first couple of days after giving birth, then it's just mild (and just annoying) after that. Towards the end of the bleeding, it will change colour, and be more like discharge rather than blood.

It's best to wear maternity pads, and an extra, during the first few days after the birth. This is what I do anyway, and let me tell you, thank god I did on many occasions - and that was changing them every 2 - 3 hours!!

The bleeding isn't going to cause you pain, cramps, it's the after birth pains that can be mighty painful. This will happen usually when you are breastfeeding bubs. I have to take pain killers for the after birth pains, as probably many women do. They can be either mild, or really painful (which mine seem to be). They will usually start subsiding after a couple of weeks.

Any more questions, fire away!! Happy to help!

only1mica
13-02-2008, 08:43 AM
tbh...I really cant remember exact times lol

I usually bleed very heavily...bad cramps down my legs etc but from memory...

first 3/4 days after VB it was red and heavy but by the 5/6 day it had turned to brown but still heavy.

By 2 weeks is was brown spotting...and by about 4 weeks it had gone to just clear sort of discharge.
all stopped at about 5 weeks.

mandamoo
13-02-2008, 09:02 AM
hi everyone....i to think this is a fabulous idea as I have many questions as a first timer :ecomcity:
When did people book in for their antenatal / childbirth classes??

Jaileth
13-02-2008, 09:27 AM
THe hospital Iwent to gave us the option of a few classes, all after about 30wks pg, I think. Check with the hospital (if you're using one) to see when they offer them.

Wy & Deeky
13-02-2008, 09:29 AM
hi everyone....i to think this is a fabulous idea as I have many questions as a first timer :ecomcity:

I think I booked in at my 20 week checkup with the antenatal clinic with DS, that was over 3 years ago.

snapcracklepop
13-02-2008, 10:27 AM
I cant remember how long i bled for, but i know it was heavy and got lighter.
With the classes the offer them to you at your first visit to the clinic (if you are using the hospy).
When you are at the hospy ask for extra blue sheets (you will know the ones i am talking about once you have bubs) so you take home with you so that if you do leak, then you wont have to strip the bed. :thumbsup:

Amira
13-02-2008, 10:43 AM
Think i bled for around two weeks, quite heavy for the first 5 days but not so bad afterwards. That was with a vaginal birth and breast feeding.

From what i know its just luck with how much you bleed.

With the birth classes i never really got around to doing that and was booked into a "crash course" the day i gave birth to my daughter who was two weeks early.

The classes can put your mind at ease ive heard both sides. But i feel i learnt more from talking to other mums and the doctor at the time. Plus there are so many amazing documentries on discovery channel i felt happy going without the classes. Its everyones personal choice dont feel obligated to go.

Qube
13-02-2008, 10:49 AM
I had an emergency c section and I bled for about two weeks, I can't remember that it hurt, but my scar did hurt, but they gave me panadeine forte and I only needed them for the first three or four days.
I booked into antenatal classes when I was about 20 weeks, and my hospital was 2 classes per month for three months, but if you booked a little late they would squish you into all the classes in a month.

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
13-02-2008, 01:47 PM

I bled for about 4? weeks after DS1 and 6 weeks with DS2.

It was a little worse for me than period pain at first (while my uterus was contracting down to size again) but after that it was good- and you can have pain relief for them like panadol etc. If you breastfeed you can get pains down there while you are feeding as it stimulates your uterus to contract back to normal size faster- these hurt a little, but i was more focussed on feeding correctly to really care.

I booked in at about 14 weeks. Ours started at 28 weeks i think! can't remember exactly.

Best to ring and book in as early as possible, as you are more likely to get first choice of when and were you want to do them.

OopsieDaisy
14-02-2008, 10:15 AM

I bled for around 8 weeks but I had retained products with all of my pregnancies.

Alisonp
14-02-2008, 05:35 PM
I bled for 3 weeks (vaginal birth). The colour changes though so towards the end it's just like a discharge.

léaró dóchais
16-02-2008, 09:23 AM
This is a great idea :smiliedance:

thought i'd maybe let other know too that I got a phone call from the hospital to say that they're so booked up there's no room for me to do antenatal classes between now and the time the bub is due, so maybe get booked in early eek!

that said they've been very lovely and sent out all the information (which is better than any book ive read so far) and recommend a physio next door that do birthing classes so i don't feel i'm missing out. i'll also have an hour session with a midwife doing a tour of the facilities and asking any questions i need closer to the time.

anyhow i've a bit of a dumb question, probably more for those of ye who had hospital births but basically what happens after? i have been imagining as much as possible the whole labour but when i get to the part where the baby is born, i guess i was wondering are ye both shipped off to your room for a well deserved snooze or do the whisk the baby off somewhere, first bub so i think i keep forgetting in someways that there will be a bub after all this :)

well thanks for this girls great to hear from the voices of experience!

Ler

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
16-02-2008, 03:32 PM
anyhow i've a bit of a dumb question, probably more for those of you who had hospital births but basically what happens after? i have been imagining as much as possible the whole labour but when i get to the part where the baby is born, i guess i was wondering are ye both shipped off to your room for a well deserved snooze or do the whisk the baby off somewhere, first bub so i think i keep forgetting in someways that there will be a bub after all this :)

well thanks for this girls great to hear from the voices of experience!

Ler

After both my sons births they were placed on my chest. We stayed in the birthing suite for 4 or so hours ofter my DS1 was born. I just cuddled him etc. While i was being stitched up (large tear... he was a 10lb baby) My Hubby, sister and the midwife took him off to be weighed and measured. We were just left to be with him after that. My hubby looked after him while i had a very nice shower to clean myself up.
that night we were moved to the other shared room (only 1 other lady in there) and he stayed with us the whole time.

With DS2 it was pretty much the same, but as he was born at 11pm, i was allowed to stay in the birthing suit till the next day.

When ever i had showers or whatever i just took him out to the nurses station for them to watch over him.

Qube
16-02-2008, 03:48 PM
My initial experience after my son was born was not so great. As I said I had an emergency c section and then thought that my son had some 'abnormalities' and I got a very quick cuddle and then he was shipped off with his daddy in tow.

They stitched me up and I stayed in recovery by myself for about an hour. When I got to my room I started getting very vocal and pressing the button thing until they gave in and brought my son to me. I fed him and cuddled him and my family met him later in the afternoon. Then that night I couldn't shower, despite really wanting to, so my beautiful SIL helped me wash my face and she brushed my hair (still get quite emotional when I think of how beautiful she was to me).

My ds slept for about 8 hours that first night (apparently they are as tired as we are) and they took him to the nursery.
On the second night he woke up a couple of times and I got really worried cos I didn't know how to settle him. i felt really inadequate everytime a midwife came in and settled him in just seconds. This is normal and they have lots of little tricks, so don't be shocked by this.
Hopefully that answers your question... it was quite overwhelming to be honest, but great

Alisonp
17-02-2008, 01:43 PM
Ler - You can always book into classes elsewhere if the hospital ones are booked up. Most of the private classes are pretty expensive but there are cheaper options available also. I am going to be trying out the classes offered through the maternity coalition. Not sure what these will be like but they are likely to be more inclined towards natural childbirth. I'd love the company if you are interested :D The classes are at the Northcote town hall once a week.

http://www.maternitycoalition.org.au/home/modules/education/index.php?id=3

You are going to the Freemason's right?? I think I can answer your Qs because that's where I had my DD and this bub will be born (we might even be in hosp at the same time :D)

After the birth my DD was given a quick check, wiped down a little, brought to me for a look and kiss, weighed etc while I was being stitched up. Then she was put on my chest for a cuddle. She had a long breastfeed within the first 30min (can't remember exactly the order of things but it was all pretty quick) and fell asleep.

I had to stay in the bed for a while until the epidural wore off enough for me to get up and have a shower, which I did shortly after (best shower I have ever had! :D). Then we were all taken to my room in the maternity ward. After a while my DH went home and DD stayed with me that night but I couldn't sleep at all with all the excitement so eventually they asked if they could take her to the nursery for a bit. I think I probably slept for an hour max before I went to get her because I hated the idea of her being down there :(

After that, DH stayed every night with me and I slept much better and I never let DD go to the nursery again.:)

mandamoo
18-02-2008, 07:44 AM
Hi everyone...I was just wondering, being the typical paranoid first timer :) I was wondering if when you have you morphology ultrasound (20wks) if you will hear any results if everything is okay...I had my ultrasound a week and a half ago but havent heard anything back and the lady who did the ultrasound didnt really say too much!!

snapcracklepop
18-02-2008, 08:49 AM
mandamoo- If they send the results to your doctor, then call them up and see if you can make an appointment to go over them. If you took your results home, still call them up and make the appointment.

m2be
18-02-2008, 08:52 AM
Hi everyone...I was just wondering, being the typical paranoid first timer :) I was wondering if when you have you morphology ultrasound (20wks) if you will hear any results if everything is okay...I had my ultrasound a week and a half ago but havent heard anything back and the lady who did the ultrasound didnt really say too much!!

I'm a first timer too and would be interested to hear what the more experienced mothers have to say on this one. I would have to assume that "no news is god news", but having said that, I don't idle well and would have to ring someone myself to find out!!

We have an appt with our ob/gyn the week after our Morphology scan (which is not until next Friday) and I will be pumping my guy for as much info as I can get!!

fludo
18-02-2008, 09:38 AM
I had my scan last week and they told me everything as it went and I got the report to take home which also gets sent to the doctor. They even have counsellors there if there is bad news. (SOGI in Brisbane)

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
18-02-2008, 11:09 AM
I have never had bad news, but the hospital always said that they would call if they needed to see me about results. I actually have a Midwife appointment the next day for mine anyway.
I have had one ultrasound person who didn't really say much throughout the whole thing, and one who explained every thing he was doing.
But yeah i would say no news is good news! as if there was a problem, they would want to get onto it right away.

m2be
19-02-2008, 03:22 PM

I have a Nappy question. What do you do? Cloth or Disposable? What are your thoughts? :confused:

This is our first bub together, but hubby has had a kiddlywink with his ex and they did disposables. I'd like to try and do the right thing by the envirnment, but he says that no matter what you do to cloth nappies (pilchers etc.), they always leak - and he doesn't want to be stripping cots in the middle of the night every night!

Just starting to think I should do some shopping bit by bit (we have NOTHING!!) and wondering which was is better to go?

Qube
19-02-2008, 03:36 PM
Well the cloth vs disposable debate is really up to the individuals.
When I first had ds I didn't even know you could get mcns (modern cloth nappies). I used disposables solely for the first few months, then used terry flats (you need the flats, liners, pins and pilchers) and really it was such a hassle.

I discovered mcns by accident and I now use about 50/50, but I am working up my stash. I want ds to be 100% cloth, but it can be a bit $$up front - but of course you save in the long run heaps.

I have 3 pea pods and 3 greenkids. Each is good in different ways, both are pocket nappies which are good for drying quickly. Greenkids have funky prints and are a great fit IMO, but peapods are CHEAP!! And they do the job too.
Hope that helps, there are lots of lovely ladies in the cloth nappy section who will answer your clothie questions. I needed them to talk me through the washing thing.

m2be
19-02-2008, 07:56 PM
Thanks for the tip, I have just had a look and there is heaps of info!!

Jaileth
19-02-2008, 08:21 PM
Ultra sound techies can vary - if you're worried, talk to them and generally they'll answer your questions.

Cloth vs Disposible is a personal choice. We chose disposable because (basically) it was the only way dh would change bub - he has a weak stomach. You can always use a combination of both - some use disposible when out and cloth when at home, but my recomendation would be to use disposies to start with, because the first few weeks bubby poops (sorry if tmi) can be a bit tar like - ds has a record of 5 diapers in four minutes - as we were changing him, they just kept filling up as soon as we put one under his bum. (just something to think about) :p

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
19-02-2008, 08:27 PM
I am disposable! LOL.

I hate the thought of washing all those nappies... i am Lazy and barely get my current washing out! ROFL so cloth certainly weren't for me!
But my sister has used cloth. Terry's mostly with her elder DS, and then MCN with her daughter. The MCN were fine when she was older, but Gee... the amount she went through as a new born was amazing.

For me too, i hated seeing newborn babies lying in these huge bulky nappies... they looked really uncomfortable to me. BUT that is JMO! lol

But certainly later on they are a great option if you and lazy like me! :)

Maia's Mummy
26-02-2008, 06:18 PM
This is our first bub, and we didnt find out bubs sex at the ultrasound. So obviously there is only so much you can buy that is unisex.

I am wondering if you could tell me how many coveralls/rompers etc.. you think i should have ready for bubs arrival? Then ill go on a shopping spree when bubs is a few weeks old for pink or blue.

I have got a few bits and pieces, i went through them all this arvo and i seem to have bought all sorts of sizes. I have only got one "000" the rest are all "00". Should i be buying "000" or "0000" :confused:

Hope this rambling has made some sense, would love your advice? :yes:

m2be
26-02-2008, 06:52 PM
Excellent question! As I am a first timer too, I am looking forward to hearing what people's thoughts are on this - and good timing too - we have our scan on Friday and I have only bought 1 jumpsuit (000) and a box of newborn nappies that were on sale. So just in time for a big shopping spree this weekend!! :laughing:

M~T~J~M
26-02-2008, 07:09 PM
Ok,

Re: sizes of clothing. You won't be needing 00 until your bubs hits the 4 - 6 month mark..... depending on bubs size when born, it may be longer.

As this is your fist bub (and you don't have previous babies to judge the size of this one), I'd personally buy 0000's and 000's for the first few weeks. I'd plan on having at least 4 rompers/coveralls for each day.
You may find you'll need to be changing bubs a lot during those first few days, getting used to nappy explosions, leakage, vomiting, etc.

Just be careful of bonds sizing...they are a little smaller than most, so you may find a 000 in bonds will be ok from birth, but once again, it really does depend on your bubs birth weight.

WorkingClassMum
26-02-2008, 07:21 PM
I'd get at least 4 0000's and 2 000's in one pieces, and the same in singlets.

Don't buy much knitted stuff,as your Great Aunt Muriel and Madge or the elderly next-door neighbour will knit you a couple - and they won't go astray. Maybe a couple windcheater type cardy/wrap's.

4 pairs sox, and a few bibs - even little bubs can bring up a little

Booties are next to useless IMO

A couple of newborn caps/hats/beanies - even in summer

If bubs is not spewy - that would get you through most of the first two weeks, and you'll get inundated with clothes as soon as bubs pops their little nose out

If you know what you're having you can splurg a little more.

However, most bubs will go from average 0000's to 0 within 12 months. Most baby clothes don't get a fair wearing, and it's so easy to have the wrong seasons

LachlansMun
26-02-2008, 07:24 PM
My daughter was 3.8 kg (8lb 6oz) and she fit into 0000 for the first few weeks so I would definatly buy 0000 for hospital. The 000 last a long time ( shes only just outgrown them at 4 months) but they usually won't fit them in the first few weeks, unless your planning on having a 5kg baby!

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
26-02-2008, 08:44 PM
My first DS was 10lb, and even he wore 0000's for a 2-3 weeks (000 bonds wondersuits though!!)

2nd DS was 8lb 12, and spent a few more weeks in them.

So i would get at least 6-10 0000 all in ones, and about 10 or so in 000's. My boys LIVED in bonds wonder suits, singlets and blankets. I didn't worry with shoes, socks, cardigans etc. Anything fiddly isn't worth the time it takes to get it on... and off again if they spew or chuck!

Maia's Mummy
26-02-2008, 09:15 PM
Thanks everyone!!! :D

All of your advise helps ALOT. Im going to write this down tomorrow. Turns out ive been buying all the wrong sizes. :no:

Looks like alot more shopping for me. :yelclap:

m2be
27-02-2008, 06:03 AM
After I posted yesterday I went hunting on the net and found this article which I thought was good:

http://www.choice.com.au/viewArticle.aspx?id=102271&catId=100509&tid=100008&p=1&title=Your+baby+-+getting+ready (http://www.choice.com.au/viewArticle.aspx?id=102271&catId=100509&tid=100008&p=1&title=Your+baby+-+getting+ready)

It's not a list from a baby shop trying to get you to spend every last cent, but an unbiased view from Choice magazine. Thought it might help!

m2be
27-02-2008, 06:07 AM
But I will still be taking on board all your comments - they make sense!

Alisonp
27-02-2008, 06:39 AM
I just thought I would post to say that my DD (4.3kg at birth) was only in 000 for the first 6 weeks and after that she was moving into 00. It's not really about their weight, it's more about the baby's height so if you and your partner are tall people you will probably not be needing so many of the smaller sizes.:) Personally I never bought any 0000 and was glad I didn't.

Even the one size fits all baby hats don't fit some babies when they come out. Out of the 5/6 hats I had bought DD as a newborn only 2 were usable:confused:

As everyone else has pointed out though, Bonds sizes tend to be smaller than other brands so a Bonds 00 is more like a 000 in another brand. I found this to be particularly true of the wondersuits. I had a few of these in 000 that we used in hospital and never used again. My M&CHN warned our mother's group to be careful putting babies into the wondersuits because it can be too restrictive on their feet and legs and can effect their development in severe cases.

Another thing to keep in mind is that some wraps are much smaller than others. The bigger the wrap is the more use you will get out of it so choose the bigger sizes (like 90x100cm).

cocobambino
27-02-2008, 06:51 AM
My daughter was born by C section 4 weeks early due to me having polyhydrominsis, we actually thought she was only gonna be 2 wks early but due to the polyhydro we coudldnt be positive anyway she was in 00000 and yet she still weighed 7pd 13 but was so so tiny

Qube
27-02-2008, 08:28 AM
My ds was born in January. It gets like an oven here in SA, so we bought a couple of 0000 suits and singlets (mostly for show, cos they were so cute), but mostly 000 singlets and suits. He grew out of the 0000 in about 4 weeks anyway, so if money is tight I would advise going for 000, but you guys are due in winter so you will naturally need more layers for bub.

m2be
27-02-2008, 07:33 PM
OK, here's another question for all you experienced Mamma's - when should you feel your first movements? I'm 19 weeks tomorrow and haven't felt a thing - is this normal? :confused:

M~T~J~M
27-02-2008, 07:36 PM
Yes, that's normal. I was feeling all my babies by then, however my friend only started feeling her bubs at about 24 - 25 weeks.

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
28-02-2008, 10:33 AM
Yep normal.

It depends where the placenta is as to how early you will feel it also. If your placenta is at the front, you will feel the movements much later.
But it is still quite normal not to feel movements till 24 or so weeks. With first pregnancies you often don't realise what you are feeling is the baby, you may think it is wind or something, so it is all normal. Subsequent pregnancies you generally pick it up earlier as you know that is what it feels like.

Aysha'sMummy
28-02-2008, 11:12 AM
What are the essential things you need when your first starting out....

i am currently writting a list of things i will need to buy before bubs arrives

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
28-02-2008, 11:56 AM
Absolute essentials i would say are:

Cot
Car seat (if you have a car)
Clothes- All in ones, singlets and hats (for when you are going out)
Nappies and wipes
Blankets and cot sheets
a couple of baby wraps

Handy extras are a fully reclinable stroller or baby sling
few baby toys (not essential, cos babies will look at just about anything and find it interesting! LOL)
Baby monitor if you have a big house

snapcracklepop
29-02-2008, 04:23 PM
There is a list that you can get in the baby section at big w. Its really helpful, you can mark it off as you buy things and it lets you know what you still need so you can tell others what to get you for your baby shower.

Aysha'sMummy
03-03-2008, 08:32 PM
thanks girls

what does everyone think of baby's having pillows in their cot to ly on.... my mum asked me the other day if i would be getting one but i'm not sure about them.... will they be a reason that causes sids or not

WorkingClassMum
03-03-2008, 08:39 PM
no pillows - it's a smother danger

Bubs have necks long enough for pillows, and they don't have the muscle control

Aysha'sMummy
03-03-2008, 09:07 PM
that's what i thought

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
04-03-2008, 02:46 PM
yep. Certainly no pillows! BIG SIDS risk

They don't need them anyway, and really don't need them till they go into their big beds!

sarahsboys
04-03-2008, 04:05 PM
re: sizing

My 2 boys were 6 pounds, and 6 pounds 3. And I have found that I never have enough small clothes. Although everyone said to me, dont buy anything smaller than 000, I have had to send my mum out to buy 00000, and 0000 clothes. Some mums would just put them in 000, but they were just swimming on my bubs. So my advice would be to get a few 0000, and if you have someone that can grab you some more while you are in hospital if you have a smallish baby. I found the premmie range at Baby Bunting really good. As all our bubs are winter babies I would suggest trying to buy the all in one suits that have the feet in as socks just come off. Hope this helps :flowerz:

Aysha'sMummy
07-04-2008, 02:19 PM
What do i need to pack in my hospital bag?... and what should i take for bubs?

OopsieDaisy
07-04-2008, 02:48 PM
What do i need to pack in my hospital bag?... and what should i take for bubs?

What does your hospital supply? Do they supply nappies, baby clothing, maternity pads or anything like that?

Mummaholic
07-04-2008, 02:51 PM
For me, bleeding was approx 4-5 weeks.

Pre natal classes we did at around 32 weeks. It was worth it but not going again this time - will just be checking that we are prepared with OB for all scenarios.

I had a big bubba (nine pound 12 1/2) so 0000 did not fit him for long (max 4 weeks?). Of course the footless pants and suits fitted a lot longer as did jackets/cardis.

In my hospital bag will be: clothes (duh), heaps of undies, b/f pillow even if bottle feeding - I love the Zoo pillows, hand cream, moisturiser, sanitising gel, breast pump, steriliser, baby clothes, maternity pads, nappies in case we run out, bottle in case we need it, maternity bras, a couple of good magazines, slippers and socks (hosp gets cold!),shower gel, hair brush, toothbrush (one for dh too), change of clothes and snacks for dh, heat pack for labour (must be gel - hosps don't like wheat packs), blankets for bubs (nice ones), camera with extra batteries, video camera and charger, mobile phone, make up, hair ties (might want in labour even if you don't normally put your hair up), a nice soft big towel, nice toilet paper, a toy and book for when ds1 is there, a burp cloth, etc! Basically whatever you would like that you don't want to have to ask for.

My private hospy provides nappies (1 small pack) and some toiletries & wipes for baby (like the lavender and milk bath J&J gels - yum) but I will be taking stuff like this anyway as you never know how much you will need or they will end up giving you.

Aysha'sMummy
07-04-2008, 02:56 PM
What does your hospital supply? Do they supply nappies, baby clothing, maternity pads or anything like that?

i know they wont supply nappies... but the rest i'm not sure about. I have my anti natal class tonight so maybe i should ask them

Alisonp
07-04-2008, 08:22 PM
Your hospital will probably give you a list (mine did). Don't worry too much if you forget something because you can always get DH to bring extra things when you remember.:p

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
07-04-2008, 09:41 PM
Yep, i am sure your hospital will give yo a list during the classes. Hope they go well, and are informative.

In my bag for bub i have just a few changes of clothes (bond suits mostly, with a nice "first" outfit and one to come home in. (hopefully i won't be there long!) a few wraps for bub, a hat, Singlets and i will grab a bag of newborn huggies to take with me.

For the birth for me- Camera, Hair ties, nighty (i have a favourite for giving birth in! LOL... and find these better than a hospital gown!) spare nighty incase i puke again. bag of dried fruit for if i feel hungry. My TENS machine will be put with my bags, but i will be using it hopefully before we get to the hospital. (all this goes in a plastic bag in the top of my hospital bag... so it is easily accessable.)

For me for hospital... Clothes, PJ's, Maternity pads, Breast pads, Lansinoh (nipple cream for BF) Bras, Lots of undies, socks, Little notebook and a pen for writing down details from birth for birth story, and also i llike to keep track of feeds/nappy changes, sleep etc, as i forget a lot in those first few days. (i have found these books INVALUABLE with my 2nd bub, as i kept the one from DS1, and it was great to look back on.
Um, also snacks.
Toiletries, and nice soft LOO PAPER! HAHA
Coins incase i want to buy something or need to use the phone.
Oh, and another big empty bag for taking home all the pressies etc that you get while there. I think it was on this forum i saw this suggested... awesome idea whoever it was!

ummm... i think that is it!HAHA

M~T~J~M
26-04-2008, 02:34 PM
Ok, Im my bag for bub, I'll have:

* approx 30 newborn nappies
* 1 baby rug (for coming home)
* 1 - 2 outfits for coming home in
* 1 - 2 little hats
* 1 - 2 pairs of socks
* a couple of singlets
* A box of newborn formula sachets, just in case
* A small, sterilised baby bottle and teat
* My hospital provides absolutely everything for bubs, except disposable nappies, so I'm lucky I don't have to take too much

For my bag:

* My accupressure essentials
* Paper work for the hospital - Vit K, Hep B paperwork, etc
* Reading material for my birth supports - Mum, DH and Doula - just in the off chance we may become bored, lol!!
* My very detailed birth plan - MUST NOT FORGET!
* Mobile Phone & Charger
* Camera
* My Kasey Chambers CD's for during labour
* A couple of singlet tops (I'd rather birth in a top than a nighty - TMI!)
* Approx. 8 - 10 pairs of undies (mostly black if you can!)
* 2 - 3 Maternity bras
* A heap of Breast pads
* A pen
* Maternity tracksuit pants and comfortable maternity tops for after the birth and for hospital stay
* Slip on shoes/slippers for getting around the hospital
* A few pair of socks - the temp can sure fluctuate in those places!
* Lansinoh cream (although my hosp provides this too)
* Maternity Pads - 3 - 4 packs as I like to double up overnight
* Toiletries - including soft toilet paper, and huggies bath cloths
* Snacks for when the children come in and visit, or when you get peckish yourself
* A small amount of money for papers, mags etc ($30)
* Presents for each of the children when they come in to meet their new baby

As I'm actually packing it, I'll pop back on and add anything I've forgotten :p

WorkingClassMum
26-04-2008, 04:40 PM
The previous posts have covered the hosp bag pretty well

I also left a pile of things at home to be brought in if I need

including;

plastic shopping bags to send home dirty clothes
spare batteries for the camera
spare knickers, socks, bras and pyjama's and clothes for me
nursing pads and maternity pads
normal heavy flow pads
spare everything for bubs

and other stuff - cannot remember it all...

but if it was left out MOTH didn't have to go looking for it...

happytobehere
02-05-2008, 10:19 AM
are we supposed to have any internal examinations during pregnancy (not labour)? I read a couple of posts where some expectant mums mentioned they had a gyno appt's. I haven't had any at all.

I thought it was standard to be given one at some point for STD's that cannot be picked up through blood screening (i heard some can be dangerous for your baby during birth). I am happy to keep my privates private. but for safety sake what would these visits be for?

M~T~J~M
02-05-2008, 12:26 PM
are we supposed to have any internal examinations during pregnancy (not labour)? I read a couple of posts where some expectant mums mentioned they had a gyno appt's. I haven't had any at all.

I thought it was standard to be given one at some point for STD's that cannot be picked up through blood screening (i heard some can be dangerous for your baby during birth). I am happy to keep my privates private. but for safety sake what would these visits be for?

There is no reason for any internals during pregnancy. There is a GBS test that is done internally at around 36 - 37 weeks, but that's it.
Any other internal would just be to check cervix dilation towards the end of the pregnancy, but there isn't any routine internals usually

vasiliasmum
02-05-2008, 01:52 PM
The only other thing I can think of for the hospital bag is prune juice/metamucil or something similar that works for you. I found it very difficult to use my bowels (sorry if TMI) after both my previous c-sections and this time i want to avoid having to use suppositories :no:!!!

Kangaskippy
02-05-2008, 02:19 PM

I had one with my last pg due to placenta previa, but I don't believe they are the norm for a normal pregnancy...

ask you gp or carer if you are concerned.:p

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
02-05-2008, 04:48 PM

This is my 3rd bub, and i have never had one during pregnancy. At our hospital they give you the swab to do the GBS swab yourself at home, and bring it in to your appointment. :D

Maia's Mummy
18-05-2008, 07:03 AM
Ok, I have what most people will probably find to be a really stupid question. :laughing:

I have finally got DH to set up the change table and i now want to get it all organised with everything. Could someone please tell me what i need?? What i mean is i obviously need nappies and wipes? But what else do i need to buy for bubs? Do i need cotton balls? What sorts of creams etc.. do i need? And tolietries, what do i need, shampoo, Wash etc... :confused:

There are so many products in the baby isle at the supermarkets and in magazines that i really dont know what i need and what is really not the important? :confused:

Thanks in advance! :thumbsup:

Melmc
19-05-2008, 09:37 AM
WOW! :iagree:Great question Kira! I want to know that too! I haven't got any of that stuff yet, I hope someone can help!

I want to know about breast pumps/bottles too. I plan to breastfeed, but I assume you also need bottles, sterilisers etc too and a pump? Feeling kind of confused about this!

M~T~J~M
19-05-2008, 01:33 PM
Ok, I'll just put down what I've always had on my change table......

* Cotton balls for first few weeks
* Face washers
* Bibs
* Nappies
* Wipes
* Nappy rash cream - I use desitin
* Sorbolene cream
* Curash powder
* Bedtime bath liquid
* Baby massage oil
* Nail Clippers
* Cotton tips - baby ones
* Scented nappy bags
* Aquim hand sanitiser
* Baby balsam
* Vaseline
* Blankets for the cot - incase of 'accident' during the night, you don't have to be rummaging through the linen cupboard
* Baby's nappy bag - fully packed ready to go out

Bottles/Breastfeeding

I've always breastfed my babies, but have always had bottles on stand by.

Bottles:[/I] With DS3, I took a small Avent bottle with newborn teat into the hospital, along with a box of S26 Gold Infant formula sachets, just in case things didn't go to plan with the breastfeeding.
Another couple of bigger bottles at home with teats also wouldn't go astray.
[I]Sterilising: I have always used Milton sterilising tablets or liquid. Saves buying a steriliser for one particular brand of bottle, only to find out your bubs doesn't like that brand of bottle/teat. Sterilising only takes 15 minutes, and is safe.
Breastfeeding: I would suggest buying some nipple shields to have on stand by, just in case. These can suer come in handy if your nipples are becoming way too sore, or if bubs is having trouble attaching. Also, have some lansinoh cream ready. Apply after each feed. Freeze some face washers before going into hospital, as these will come in handy for when you get home - to put in your bra to soothe engorged breasts. I would suggest an electric breast pump if you can. I had a manual one with DS1, and it drove me insane. I never really had the need for one though with DS2 and DS3, so I'm not bothering this time either. If I need one, I'll just drag out the manual one.

Hhmm, that might be it for now :) If I remember anything else, I'll come back

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
19-05-2008, 02:07 PM
wow, i hardly have anything on my change table!
I have my mat, wipes, nappies, and nappy bags. I have sample pots of sudocream that i have collected from all the bounty bags etc(and rarely used) for bubs bottoms when they get red. I have only bought one actual tub myself and that was when i was using it for DS's eczema! That is it! i have never used cotton balls, found them too fiddly and annoying! HAHA. IF they had a wettish looking bottom rash, i used cornflour instead of powder, and it works just as well, and is heaps cheaper! but my boys rarely had problems with that.

For bath time, with DS1 i was given HEAPS of Johnson and Johnson baby stuff. I rarely used it! I found just plain water was better for the kids skin, and if i wanted something in there i put a few drops of baby oil to help moisturise their skin (being winter bubs i found it dried out lots due to ducted heating). That is all i used. I never washed their hair with anything other than water unless they got grot in it. Then i used a very mild baby shampoo. But seriously, i think i washed Hayden's hair maybe 10 times in the first year (he was a late eater so didn't get food in it!) In all honesty, i still have all the shampoos and bath stuff i was given when Ryan was born 3.5 years ago! almost all still have at least half the bottle in them!

Mel- RE bottles/pump
I bought a Avent manual pump when i first had Ryan, it came with i think it was 2 bottles and teats etc. I then bought 2 Pigeon Peristaltic teats (these fit the avent bottles nicely) which are more like breastfeeding apparently. I used it a little with the boys, but only when my nipples were sore in the first few weeks. When Ryan was older i used it when i went back to work, and bought more bottles and teats. You don't NEED these, but hey are handy for the days when your boobs are just so sore, and little one is still asleep, or you just don't want to go through the pain of attaching etc (this usually doesn't last that long, maybe a few weeks for most)

As for sterilising, many people are now not recommending steralising at all if you have a newish dishwasher. They say just a quick wash with a bottle brush and into the dishwasher and they should be good to go. I didn't sterilise for Hayden, i did boil the teats though because i always found them much harder to clean, so i thought i would keep doing that, as it really is hard to clean them out, by hand and the dishwasher is Cr@p on them!
but even if you do want to sterilise, all you need is a big pot, and you boil them after you have hand washed them for 3 minutes. SO easy! (then use the water once cooled to water your plants :D )

ETA... don't forget to buy breast pads (either disposable or cloth) if you haven't already! you will need them!
I use Rite aid ones. Found them just as good as the pigeon ones, but SO much cheaper. You can get 60 at Big W for under $8!! I didn't like the Johnson and johnson ones either as they were so thick they showed through my clothes.

Kangaskippy
19-05-2008, 03:08 PM
Ok, I have what most people will probably find to be a really stupid question. :laughing:

I have finally got DH to set up the change table and i now want to get it all organised with everything. Could someone please tell me what i need?? What i mean is i obviously need nappies and wipes? But what else do i need to buy for bubs? Do i need cotton balls? What sorts of creams etc.. do i need? And tolietries, what do i need, shampoo, Wash etc... :confused:

There are so many products in the baby isle at the supermarkets and in magazines that i really dont know what i need and what is really not the important? :confused:

Thanks in advance! :thumbsup:

Don't worry, no question is ever stupid...if you don't ask how are you suppose to find out???

I don't keep alot on my change table either:

Nappy's in nappy hanger above table (easy to reach)
Wipes
Bepanthem cream (for nappy rash)
Cornflour powder (only used with the nappy rash cream on sore bottom)
Nappy sack bags (for the really dirty smelly nappies, helps stop the nappy bin smelling, i also use a sented bin liner, really cheap)
Clean white towel over change pad, easy to pull off and chuck in the wash if dirty...then no need to wipe the change pad down every time
Baby Monitor (nice level spot and close to the cot)
The nappy bin and the clothes hamper is also next to the table for ease.

as for other stuff, I keep the following in the nursery cupboard:

Alpha-Keri oil (for moisturising, itchy skin, massage)
Sorbolene (for putting in bath water, also to moisturise)
vicks
cotton buds (great for umbilical stump cleaning and ears/noses)
Huggies Wash (can be used as a wash or shampoo, but when they are older)
Nurofen for kids
that's about all I have even now for Jack and he's 20mths...

Kangaskippy
19-05-2008, 03:19 PM
I want to know about breast pumps/bottles too. I plan to breastfeed, but I assume you also need bottles, sterilisers etc too and a pump? Feeling kind of confused about this!

I have a Syringe like breast pump (Kaneson (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Baby-gear/Feeding/Breast-pumps/auction-155189856.htm) ~ click for pic) which I found easier to use then the hand pumping ones...and it also doubles as a feeding bottle.. you can buy freezer bags by the same manufacture too...I just got mine from the local chemist, and even my hospital sold them...(around $30 and very easy to use)

I b/fed for 15mths, but used bottles for feeding water as well as expressed milk...just a couple don't take up much room and are easy to boil/sterilise as it only takes about 5mins.

the cheapest way one of my friends said was to buy a feeding bottle kit...you get everything you need for cleaning, a few bottles and also an insulated bag to carry them in...

Maia's Mummy
19-05-2008, 03:52 PM
Thank You for your reply's Sarah, Jane and Kangaskippy. I have put myself together list of bits and pieces that you have each mentioned. :)

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
19-05-2008, 03:56 PM
glad to help :D

Kangaskippy
19-05-2008, 05:54 PM
any time...

This is a great thread by the way...You can never have too much information I have discovered!:yelclap:

m2be
19-05-2008, 07:00 PM
Thanks for the info ladies (and for the original question), I have been watching to see what answers come through - now I have half an idea of what I need to get!

Melmc
19-05-2008, 07:50 PM
Thanks heaps girls :yelclap:

mandamoo
20-05-2008, 11:20 AM
Anyone got any suggestions for trying to turn a breech / transverse bub?? I have heard several things but want to know if anyone has had any success with anything!! :)

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
20-05-2008, 12:11 PM
no personal experience, but don't they say to go bum up yourself? spend lots of time with your bum in the air and your head down, on all 4s or whatever?

may be wrong though, as i said, no experience in it. i think they can turn right up to about 36 weeks or so can't they?

M~T~J~M
20-05-2008, 12:47 PM
Anyone got any suggestions for trying to turn a breech / transverse bub?? I have heard several things but want to know if anyone has had any success with anything!! :)

Acupuncture has a 90% success rate of turning bubs! I'd give this a go if I were you. The best time to do it is between 34 - 36 weeks. Good luck!

Aysha'sMummy
28-05-2008, 05:25 PM
what nipple cream is everyone going to use i have no idea what to buy

Lahri
28-05-2008, 05:30 PM
I don't know what to buy really. My mum sent a cream over from England that my sister used recently after having twins. Not sure if you can buy it here but it is called Lansinoh Lanolin.

Sorry, not much help.

Alisonp
28-05-2008, 07:50 PM
I don't know what to buy really. My mum sent a cream over from England that my sister used recently after having twins. Not sure if you can buy it here but it is called Lansinoh Lanolin.

Sorry, not much help.

This is what I used when I had big cracks with DD and it helped a lot (I bought a small tube for my hosp bag this time). I would suggest though to be careful not to overuse nipple creams/ointments as they can encourage thrush (of the nipple).

Lahri
28-05-2008, 07:52 PM
Thanks for that, my sister didn't use much of it either so I will try to avoid it as well. I don't think we want thrush on top of everything else.

Thank you.

Hayden&Ryan&Joel
30-05-2008, 03:57 PM

Lansinoh, lansinoh, lansinoh!

can not recommend it enough! It is fantastic, and one tube lasts forever! Much better than some of the others out there!

Look for a purple tube or ask at your chemist for it. My lactation consultant recommended it to me, as did my sister and it is brilliant!

I never had thrush problems... and used it heaps in the first 4-6 weeks. but i did give my nipples lots of airing time too! LOL would always let my nipples dry before putting my boobs away. (well... where possible i mean)

Lissa7
30-05-2008, 06:36 PM

Lansinoh cream all the way it's the best :flowerz:

M~T~J~M
30-05-2008, 06:42 PM
Lansinoh, lansinoh, lansinoh!

I agree!! Ffrom about 36 weeks or so with DS3, I applied a small amount of Palmers Nipple Cream onto my nipples each night. I know there is no need to 'condition' the nipples for feeding, but after doing so, I believe this was the reason as to why I DIDN'T get cracked or sore nipples AT ALL. I'll be doing to same this time too, then using the Lansinoh once bubs is here. If you can aviod the terrible ouchy cracked/sore and bleeding nipples, do it!!

Aysha'sMummy
02-06-2008, 08:33 AM
I have some more questions

how many bonds suits and singlets is everyone packing?

What do you put in your nappy bag?

I have sort of packed mine but i only have 10 nappies in it, baby wipes, nappy rash cream, 2 sick rags, a grooming set and some dummy's if we decide to use them, oh and a change mat that comes with the bag.

Amira
02-06-2008, 08:59 AM
1sttimemum2be i was told Port provided everything for bubba except going home outfits.
But if you still want to be safe i'd say um maybe 2 or 3 a day?

Alisonp
02-06-2008, 09:04 AM
I think I have put 8 all-in-ones into my hospital bag. Same for singlets and wraps. My hospital recommends 6-8 (from memory). I have also included 4 warmer nighties (they aren't the bonds ones this time though - these are the type that gather under the feet) just because they are so damn cute!!:D Then there is the going home outfit, a few little hats and odd bits and pieces like some socks etc.

As for the nappy bag I also always took some little plastic bags for putting dirty nappies in and quite a few cloth facewashers. They just come in handy for all sorts of little messes (on baby or on you!).