View Full Version : army 24 hour food ration packs - where do get one.
mysonroger
12-02-2008, 13:19
hi guys. i'm was wondering if anyone could help me. i'm trying to get my hands on one of those 24 hour food ration packs that the army use on their camps, in training, etc. i'm talking about jam in a tube, dried rissotto in a bag, diuretic chocolate and other questionable goodies.
it's just that i'm off to see my dad this week and he used to be in the army reserve for years and we had all those ration pack goodies in the house when i was growing up. i thought if i could get one for my dad it would take him for a fantastic trip down memory lane...this sort of thing would really appeal to him. although , it must sound like a bizarre idea.
does anyone know how i could get one??i wondered if there was a base in enoggera in brisbane??? otherwise my next easiest option is karrakatta in perth. does anyone have a contact number for somewhee and i could even get it sent to me??
any tips or ideas appreciated. thanks
Maybe try an army disposal store or a camping store?
jembelina
12-02-2008, 14:40
We have a couple boxed away somewhere as df used to be in the reserves and wanted to keep a couple. If I can find one and he is happy to part with one I am more than happy to post it to you............although, might be a bit heavy to post. Anyway let me know if you are interested!
InSaneOne
12-02-2008, 15:15
i would try a disposal store. we have a few in brissie - just ring around. i know of 1 in marooka and 2 in slacks creek/kingston area.
LivinOnAPrayer
12-02-2008, 16:32
lol, my dad used to bring those home for us when he was in the army too. mmmmmm condensed milk YUMMY!
My brother just joined up and has promised me he'll send me one asap. Do you have any contacts in the force? Otherwise i'd recommend callin the base and asking. Those army/camping shops arent the real thing so i dont know if it'd be the same to your dad. I think its a very special idea by the way!:yes:
RedPanda
12-02-2008, 16:35
If only you'd posted this about a week ago!! We had so many of those packs laying around our house that I made DH throw them all out! Every time he goes out bush, he takes heaps of lollies and muesli bars (because he hates the ration packs) so he always comes home with at least three days' worth.
I'll ask him tonight if he has any spares (I'm pretty sure they're all gone though. I'm not sure that a base would give them to you - are you in touch with any army reservists? They usually have a few kicking around.
mysonroger
12-02-2008, 17:39
lol, my dad used to bring those home for us when he was in the army too. mmmmmm condensed milk YUMMY!
My brother just joined up and has promised me he'll send me one asap. Do you have any contacts in the force? Otherwise i'd recommend callin the base and asking. Those army/camping shops arent the real thing so i dont know if it'd be the same to your dad. I think its a very special idea by the way!:yes:
oh thank God, someone who relates to me .....:laughing: i used to suck that condensed milk straight out of the tube.....so good. and even eat the dry tasteless crackers. what about the can openers that were also a spoon. no other can opener measures up, and i still prefer them anyday to any other opener on the market. it was all i ever knew.
you're right about wanting the real thing.....not an imitation. it just wouldn't be the same .
no contacts in the army unfortunately. anyhoo.....
mysonroger
12-02-2008, 17:42
We have a couple boxed away somewhere as df used to be in the reserves and wanted to keep a couple. If I can find one and he is happy to part with one I am more than happy to post it to you............although, might be a bit heavy to post. Anyway let me know if you are interested!
awww...i don't know if i could do that to your DH. especially if he's hanging on to them like that.
of course i am interested. but i think maybe your DH probably wants to keep them. let me know what he says.........
awwww.......
mysonroger
12-02-2008, 17:43
If only you'd posted this about a week ago!! We had so many of those packs laying around our house that I made DH throw them all out! Every time he goes out bush, he takes heaps of lollies and muesli bars (because he hates the ration packs) so he always comes home with at least three days' worth.
I'll ask him tonight if he has any spares (I'm pretty sure they're all gone though. I'm not sure that a base would give them to you - are you in touch with any army reservists? They usually have a few kicking around.
oh cool. let me know how you go.......
jembelina
12-02-2008, 18:00
what about the can openers that were also a spoon. no other can opener measures up, and i still prefer them anyday to any other opener on the market. it was all i ever knew.
Otherwise known as FRED (F**cking Ridiculous Eating Device)..........well according to DF anyway!
DF can't rememeber if we actually ended up keeping any, but I will get the box down on the weekend and have a look.
:barf:Rat packs are sooooo bad - there is nothing good in them!!!!! Although the jam sandwich biscuits were always my favourite!!
I reckon if you sweet talk your local ARes they might give you one......
how badly do u need one and where do u live ?
Hey Guys i just asked DH as he works in the stores and he said they arent that easy to get a hold of anymore as they dont keep them in the q stores for health reasons, i hope you have some luck and i will keep my eyes posted here and if you dont get one i will get DH to keep his next time he goes out bush....although again good luck finding one, DH just came from karakatta they are pretty laid back there so give it a go..
mysonroger
20-02-2008, 22:55
sorry i haven't responded , i'm in perth at the moment. i was thinking of ringing karrakatta today. if its going to be easy and reasonably achieveable to get a rat pack, then i'm after one, if it gets too hard, then i'll leave it. i just wanted to put a big smile on my old man's face......and i thought this would be a quirky way to do it.
i'll let you know how i go....
mysonroger
20-02-2008, 22:56
how badly do u need one and where do u live ?
i live in brisbane, i'm on holidays in perth......only need it enough to make my dad smile.....
why....who do you know:laughing