View Full Version : Electric breast pumps!

EmsMum72
12-02-2008, 12:59
Has anyone tried the Cherub Electric/manual breast pump?? I'm tossing up whether to just buy one because all the chemists that I've called regarding hiring breast pumps charge similar prices, $100 - $150 deposit, then $85 per month.

However, I don't want to go out and spend money on an electric pump if it's nowhere near as good as one from the Chemist, or doesn't work as quickly/well etc.

I'd appreciate any feedback about pumps from the Chemist, and buying your own pump! If you haven't tried the Cherub brand, can you recommend one I can purchase, that isn't too pricey!!

Thanks heaps :yelclap:

QTB
12-02-2008, 13:04
iv brought the Cherub one... i havent been able to test it out yet as bub isnt here, but i had a play with it when i got it and it seems like it will be good...

I can guarrentee it wont be as good as a hired one from chemists etc, but as long as it gets milk from my boobs easily im not worried :D

elwoodgal
12-02-2008, 13:22
Have you considered a hand pump for eg Avent?
I hired an electric pump from the Chemist & did not find it that great.
I had more success with the hand pump.
The hand pump is portable & easy to clean.
Just a thought.

elwoodgal

Stargazer Lily
12-02-2008, 13:40
Have you seen the Medela Mini Electric?

I bought one at Target for just over $100 and thought it was fabulous - very easy to use & clean, adjustable suction for comfort, small & portable - plug it in or use AA batteries

and they have high resale value on ebay if you keep it in good condition - I sold mine for $75 :D

then the cost works out to less than what you're saying to rent one for one month!

JacksMumBec
12-02-2008, 13:58
Have you seen the Medela Mini Electric?

I bought one at Target for just over $100 and thought it was fabulous - very easy to use & clean, adjustable suction for comfort, small & portable - plug it in or use AA batteries

and they have high resale value on ebay if you keep it in good condition - I sold mine for $75 :D

then the cost works out to less than what you're saying to rent one for one month!

:iagree: my medela mini electric was a godsend!! probably THE best thing i purchased. was quick, easy to use and very easy to clean.

i too sold mine on ebay for just over $70.

if you dont want to spend full price, try ebay first :)

spark
12-02-2008, 17:55
I tried the Cherub electric and didn't find it very effective. Now I've got a Medela Swing (electric) which was expensive at about $300 but I did get quite a bit back from private health insurance.

I think the Medela ones are great, as the other posters have suggested maybe try the Mini.

dumpling44
18-03-2009, 11:45
I bought both Cherub pumps, the manual and the most recently released Natriflow 2 in 1.....first, the manual pump is only good as a toy...NO suction at all.
As for the Natriflow 2 in 1 which uses power or batteries, well, I am close to tears almost every time I use it.
The suction is never consistent
The suction either feels like it will rip your breast off OR be so weak it cannot even pull initial first drops into the bottle!
When the milk flows the motor sounds like it will clap out. It slows down and you have to go and clean it out with warm water. The few milk solids just seem to clog the whole system.
My opinion is avoid them....I have got so desperate I have rushed out to buy a Medela Lactaset manual (due to financial probs, cannot get another electric)
I know Cherub look appealing due to their lower costs, but please save or get a better manual pump....:yes:

A'sMummy
18-03-2009, 11:59
I have the medela pump in style advance and it is brilliant! It's portable, comes with carry bag, esky for keeping milk cold etc. You can also pump both breasts at once or just one at a time. It empties a full breast in around 6 mins with no pain or discomfort. They are quite expensive at $530 brand new, but have a look on ebay, i got mine for $300.
I would recommend medela anyday, like the other ladies said, even the medela mini at around $100 works well!

CorneliaL
18-03-2009, 21:12
Hi. I hired one from the ABA (Australian Breastfeeding Association). It cost $55 for a double pumping kit (for pumping both breasts at once), plus $50 deposit (refundable of course), and is $10 a week for hire. Cheap as chips almost. It's a Nurture III, but I understand they hire out different pumps depending on your area. In Cairns they have only one type of pump: highly portable and looks like a fish tank pump.
It causes a little pain and occasionally a little whitening of the nipples in small areas, which is common with electric pumps. It's effective for me if I have 20 minutes or more, because the suction is less powerful than hand expressing (which would take 10-15 mins to produce the same volume). Double pumping often means you get more volume however, because the let-down in one breast stimulates the other to let-down.
I find hand expressing uncomfortable and my hand gets tired. But I save time with that method and I don't have to wash the extra accessories for the pump. Washing bottles to give to a fussy child is quite enough without adding to it!

dumpling44
19-03-2009, 02:22
I must tell you all of a positive note re the Cherub 2 in 1 Electric/Battery pump. As my post above states, suction varies +++ BUT thank goodness for a brilliant hubby....he fiddled with it tonight as I sat frustrated....the KEY is to run the pump for approx 30 secs - 1 min prior to placing it on the breast....it works, but to be honest, I am still not a great fan of Cherub. Hope this "tip" might help others

greenflamingo
19-03-2009, 06:27
I, like the some of the other girls, can't recommend the medela pumps highly enough. I had the medela swing and it was a fantastic pump.

Yes, the medela pumps are one of the more expensive brands on the market but as has already been said the resale value on ebay is unreal. I paid $300 for mine brand new and sold it on ebay for $285!!