View Full Version : Urgent Help/advice Needed

Gribel
19-03-2006, 19:44

I need your advice urgently. My son (11mths) has been a bit kranky the last few days. He didn't eat last night but went to bed ok with a bottle. He had another bottle when he woke up this morning but didn't want to eat his brekky. He had some fruits and by lunchtime he had a bowlof mash potatos and leek (what he normaly has)...this arvo he had some banana but refused his dinner again. We were just about to lay him to bed when we noticed that he has a bit of a temp, as he started to throw up in intervals. I've never seen him like this before and thought at one point that he would choke. I checked his temp and he has 38.2 fever. I gave him a dose of baby nurofen and he's just drinking a bottle now.

What else do I need to do???? I'm totally freaking out here.......

I think he is theething as well, could this have caused it ???

Please help!!!

melbryan
19-03-2006, 19:54
My little one starting throwing up (last Nov)but it was his milk that he was vomiting up, he ended up having a bug and going to hospital, he wouldn't keep any liquids down but it seems your little one is still eating so that's a good sign, it's when he doesn't drink you should worry as he will get dehydrated. He had no energy and was lethargic and was not himself that's when I knew follow mother's intuition I ended up crying because I coudldn't bare to see my little boy sick.
List down what you are doing so you can see the doctor and let them know what's been happening.

maydr
19-03-2006, 19:56
hi, it could be just teething. but watch his vomiting closely as this can rapidly cause dehydration. so never mind the solids if he's not ineterested yet, just keep giving him fluid.

draught
19-03-2006, 19:58
Keep an eye on him. While teething can cause a slight rise in temp it shouldn't cause vomiting or a high temp (the advice I got when I took a screaming child to emergency at the Mater one night).

If he keeps vomiting then you need to watch for dehydration. The trick to keep him hydrated is to give him small sips of liquid - not a large bottle.

Watch his temp - if it doesn't respond to the nurofen you can give him panadol as well (again - advice I got from the hospital that you can 'piggy back' the two).

If things aren't improving or you are worried a trip to the doctor in the morning is in order. If you are really worried, go the emergency dept of the nearest hospital that specialised in children (RBWH or the Mater) and be reassured.

Gribel
19-03-2006, 20:18
HI all

thanks for your advice, I'm checking his temp every 30 mins and writing it down. He hasn't thrown up the last bottle and is a bit sleepy at the moment.....

Guess it's gonna be a long night, I can't stand seeing him sick and not knowing whats happening.

If he still as temp in the morning, I'll take him to see the doc....I'll keep you poated (probably during the night)

Thanks all again, talking to you did calm me down

B

veve
19-03-2006, 21:07
GRIBEL!!!! (hugs) have PMed you ... please check your inbox and get back to me

:hugs: :hugs:

Tea Lady
19-03-2006, 21:36
How are you checking his temp? (ie ear or underarm or whatever) It's just that that can affect what the temp "should" be.

Have you tried ringing the 24 hr nurse no.? They're lovely there and should be able to give you good advice (their no. is in bub's personal health record at the back). I hope your night's not too bad. :hugs:

Gribel
19-03-2006, 21:52

well, he threw up once more, but after that went back to his usual self . He still has a temp and also had a bit of diaorreah, but all seems ok for the moment. I did give him some water and just put him back to bed with another bottle, but now he's totally overtired and refuses to sleep.

Guess we will have to wait and see what the night brings.

Tea Lady, I've been checking his Temp with a digital Thermomether under his armpit - only way he will let me near him with it. I did try to ring the Riverton Clinic about 3 times, but gave up after waiting in thr queue after 10 mins......

Elfin
19-03-2006, 22:00
Veve may have already told you about the after hours medical service. Here is the link http://www.familycare.com.au/fcms/friendly_society.html They are fantastic. They bulk bill members, give you priority and operate from 6-6 weekdays, from noon saturday and all day sunday. They will visit you at home.

It is really cheap to join. You need to see a regular GP that is a subscriber so you can call them and check and if your regular GP is not a member you can nominate another one. It is a really great service for families when sitting for ages in a waiting room is not an option.

cwsmum
19-03-2006, 22:14
HI
My DD, 4mths old, has been sick since wednesday night. She started vomiting late wed night, threw up about 4 times then slept the rest of the night. In the morning she seemed fine but only drank half her normal bottle, then slept the morning away. She seemed really tired all day and hardly drank anything at all, and was generally not herself. I wasn't too worried about her being sick for one day, but when she started having bad diarrea on thursday afternoon I decided to take her to the dr on Friday. She was starting to get dehydrated by the time we got to the dr on friday, even tho she had drank her normal ammount of bottles that day. Dr told me to give her Pedialyte and no milk, but she has been having milk...I figure as long as the ammount of fluid is right...

Anyway...to get to the point...there is a virus around and it makes bubbas sick, my DD still has diarrea tonight and even tho she is reasonably happy I think I might be back at the drs with her again tomorrow.

If I were you I would take bub to the dr in the morning and see what they think...there's probably not much they can do other than recommend something to help stop bub getting dehydrated.

Good luck, hope bub feels better soon :hugs:

natasha
19-03-2006, 22:22
Hi there Gribel,

My 14 month old DD went through something similair the other day. Loss of appetite, diorehea,bit of a temp. I took her the docs (being the overprotective nuisance I am) and she also said there is a tummy bug going round so just keep her fluids up and keep an eye on it.

Hope this helps. Try not to worry, I know that is easier said than done!!

jaimie
19-03-2006, 22:44
my jazzy had a temp , no appetite runny poo and the rest of it. Then she got arash after a few days and was diagnosed with Roseola. Apparently its a viral infection and is quite common in babies. She also had a bout of mouth ulcers while she was teething and wouldnt allow anything past her lips ( bar small amounts of formula) for about a week. So it might not hurt to have the doc check inside his mouth if the no appetite thing continues. Its so hard to see them sick....:(