View Full Version : Brisbane September Mummies!
AmyLou
11-02-2008, 09:43 AM
Hi Ladies, just thought i would start a thread for those of us September mummies who are from Brisbane.
I am from the Northside of Brisbane in Mitchelton. Where is everyone else from?
dantaz
11-02-2008, 09:54 AM
hey there
im not from brisbane but the gold coast congrats on baby:thumbsup: im all up for a chat anytime
AmyLou
11-02-2008, 09:58 AM
Goldcoast is close enough! haha how are you?
Hey AmyLou!!
I am on the Northside too!! YAY someone near me thats due same time!
smiley80
11-02-2008, 01:23 PM
Im from the Southside :wave:
Pink73
11-02-2008, 01:29 PM
I am over near Indooroopilly:wave:
AmyLou
11-02-2008, 03:03 PM
Oh cool, quite a few mummies near me! Manz where on the northside are you? Very close to me?
hi amy! im on the southside:) lots of lovely brissy mummys :yelclap:
3KIDSMUM
12-02-2008, 09:17 AM
Im not Brissy, but Sunny Coast :D Well its not very Sunny here at the moment :gloomy:
i know this bloody rain! was are wet, and i need to do my washing:(
good for the dams i guess:)
haileye
13-02-2008, 01:52 PM
I'm in south Brissy too...
Living in Durack at the mo..
magjh
13-02-2008, 07:12 PM
#4 due 17 Sep and I am in The Gap.
How about this humidity ... as if we all didn't feel as hot as hades already!!!:sunshine:
AmyLou
14-02-2008, 09:41 AM
Wow magjh you are very close to me! We are due on practically the same day although that may change when i see my OB for the first time i Mon... i can't wait!
dantaz
14-02-2008, 12:54 PM
wow so many of us due around the 17th (me Too) i know what u were all doing at christmas then:thumbsup: ha ha ha
im now 9 weeks and really starting to show YUCK
magjh
15-02-2008, 09:56 AM
All these mid September babies!! No wonder it is so hard to get into obstetricians and hospitals etc - I don't know any drs in Brissy but had Dr Tuicolo recommended by a friend who has had her last 2 babies delivered with him, she says he is fantastic!
Hope you are all feeling okay and not too exhausted. I am finding it hard to get motivated every day - by the time I get the older two off to school and my baby and I get home I am ready to go back to bed!:sleeping:
Am thinking of making the Mums and Bubs movie at Chermside at some stage over the next few weeks - anyone interested?
Have a good day.:)
AmyLou
15-02-2008, 12:51 PM
Ohh that sounds nice magjh, i'd have to being a doll along with me though.. haha
I heard a report about that Ob aswell, he works from the northwest private doesn't he? is that where your having you bub?
magjh
16-02-2008, 01:46 PM
Yes AmyLou, I am booked in to see him soon and will be delivering at NW Private. I went and had a look the other day as I was up there having a dating scan - love the idea of a double bed ... NOT for my husband, just for me to stretch out and relax in!!!
Have had a bit of a scare with my husband being diagnosed with CM Virus and Glandular fever, so had some blood tests done this morning to check my immunity. Am waiting on the results ...:fingerscrossed:
Have a nice weekend everyone!
Mum2Lucas
16-02-2008, 02:04 PM
i'm due about the 18th of september and live out in morayfield on the north side of brissie. this will be baby number 2 for me too.
Hey, you are near me!!
Where did you have your other baby - at Caboolture? I am considering changing hospitals to have bubs there, just getting opinions of other Mums!
nattie81
20-02-2008, 02:00 PM
I am due 14th September, and live east brisbane area, in Norman Park.
I would love to meet with any ladies over this way who want to go for walk maybe Friday mornings (during the day) and chat...
I don't know anyone here that is pregnant, which makes things a little hard. Most of my friends are single, or not yet ready for bubs...
conish
20-02-2008, 07:53 PM
From south side - Carindale and Due on 14th September.
Nattie81 - love to catch up and meet, this is my first too, but i work full time - maybe we could try for a weekend??
Little bit scared but amazed too - went to OB for first time yesterday - Dr Byrne - and had first scan and first pic!!
Me - 30
DH - 28
Due with my 1st - 14/9/08
nattie81
22-02-2008, 06:14 PM
Hi Connie
That would be nice. It's a shame you work full time, but Im sure we could work something out for a Saturday morning one time!
Maybe we could pop into Bulimba and have a coffee/milkshake somewhere, then have a wander through the baby shop down there!
PM me and we will work out a time down the track...
AmyLou
25-02-2008, 12:52 PM
Hi ladies how are we all??
I was thinking that maybe sometime soon we could all meet up and have a cuppa somewhere... somewhere central to everyone..? Just a thought!
nattie81
25-02-2008, 07:34 PM
Amylou - that would be a great idea!
Fridays are best for me, but if it HAS to be a weekend, then Saturday morning would suit me the most.
Where would be central for everybody?
OJandMe
27-02-2008, 10:14 PM
I'm in Holland Park
I'd LOOOOOVE to get together on a weekday.
Tuesdays, Thursdays or Fridays are great for me, as the twins are in kindy those days, so it's just me and Gabs.
We'd love to meet up with every/anyone
nattie81
28-02-2008, 07:51 AM
Hi OJandMe
Are you free today or tomorrow? I am off both days this week (no clients to see) and only have some stuff to do around the house.
PM me if you feel like catching up somewhere for a coffee, maybe we could take your little one to the park?
If anyone else is reading this and is free, PM me also, and we might all be able to meet up.
littlemissmoi
29-02-2008, 06:52 PM
Hi, I'm due in September. I'm currently living overseas in a developing country and will be returning to Aust around the end of July. My old GP from Brissie assures me we can take care of everything when I return (finding a hospital and ob) but I'm not sure if my insurance will cover the amount of labour, delivery and ob costs for six weeks prior to the birth. Can anyone tell me round about how much it will cost? It's hard when you're freaking out from a distance! The doctor's fees where I am are so expensive (but it's either that or a dodgy local hospital) - I'm afraid that my checkups up to 34 weeks will eat up all my insurance before I even get home to have the baby. I'm planning to have the baby at North West Private (if I still have the $$ left on my insurance).
Also, I am rhesus negative and my gyn isn't giving me the immunisation. She's told me I only need it when I give birth, or if I bleed during the pregnancy. Can anyone shed light on this? Thanks!
AmyLou
29-02-2008, 08:52 PM
Hi littlemissmoi - I will be delivering a North West Private too, i think i would arrange an OB now as the 5 that deliver at North West that i know of, 1 isn't taking anymore patients full stop, one is full for Sep and one is away.. that leaves mine, Dr Sheahan, and a fijian man... As September is a really busy time for babies i think they are filling up quick!
I recieved a list of all the costs, which there are just too many to type, have you been with your health insurance for the time required for Obstetrics? I know i had to have had the cover for 12months before they would cover me...
Hi everyone, I'm new to Brisbane - currently in Spring Hill but moving to Sherwood in two weeks time. Planning to have bubs at the Mater pvt but have not booked in yet! Am sending the form first thing tomorrow morning though.
littlemissmoi - I would be a bit concerned about leaving it that late, unless your GP has connections and can pull strings for you. We've just moved here and between settling in and doing all the admin and sorting out insurance it took me a while to get in with someone and most of the pvt obstetricians are already full for Sept. I would definitely try contacting them from where you are and get in with someone in advance, they will probably alreayd be full but explain that it's just for the very last stretch and they should take you on. Also booking in to the hospital in advance - I was surprised ot hear even hospital spaces fill up quite quickly. I'm not sure what you mean re insurance - are you with an Australian fund already? If so how come they are paying for your antenatal appointments, I thought most of them only pay for in hospital costs (which most cover completely with only your plan's excess as the gap)?
littlemissmoi
05-03-2008, 06:11 AM
Hi Liat,
No, I'm with an expat medical insurance plan, as I'm living overseas. I have to pay for all of my appointments here, or go local (which I really don't want to do. Besides the obvious needing an interpreter, I've heard nothing reputable about local hospitals).
The way my insurance works is that they will pay whatever bills I send to them, up to a specified amount. So they will pay for my ob fees, hospital accomm, labour and delivery - whatever. They don't work on gap fees or safety nets or anything like that...
Thanks for the advice about getting a dr sooner though. I tried to ring some hospitals and obs last week but failed to get through (the time zones just do not work in my favour). I might get back onto my old GP and tell him to look into things now for me....
nattie81
05-03-2008, 03:55 PM
OK Im putting it out there...
Anyone want to go for a walk around Bulimba area, and stop in for a coffee on Friday Mornings?? (not early)
PM me if you do. Doesn't matter if you have a bubs already, or not (I don't have one yet, lol). Would just love to go for a stroll and a chat.
Doesn't have to be this Friday (actually I am busy this Friday with my 12 week scan, lol), but just let me know if you are interested.
conish
06-03-2008, 09:19 PM
Nattie, sorry i haven't been in touch, just really busy with work at the moment.
I had my 12 week scan today - not down syndrome - or at least very low risk - 1 in over 12 thousand.
Also found out something too - i am actually more pregnant than i have been told by Ob and Doc. I am meant to be 12 weeks 4 days today, but i am now being told by So-Gi (scan place at south bank) that i am 13 weeks 2 days - should i go off ob (just off last period date) or go off the scan dat??
Really happy over the sickness too.
Hope everyone else is feeling well, and now having the cravings too - i've got a thing for icy things - icey poles, slurpies etc...
Keep well everyone
Hi Liat,
No, I'm with an expat medical insurance plan, as I'm living overseas. I have to pay for all of my appointments here, or go local (which I really don't want to do. Besides the obvious needing an interpreter, I've heard nothing reputable about local hospitals).
The way my insurance works is that they will pay whatever bills I send to them, up to a specified amount. So they will pay for my ob fees, hospital accomm, labour and delivery - whatever. They don't work on gap fees or safety nets or anything like that...
Thanks for the advice about getting a dr sooner though. I tried to ring some hospitals and obs last week but failed to get through (the time zones just do not work in my favour). I might get back onto my old GP and tell him to look into things now for me....
But will they cover you even in Australia once you leave (have you asked them)? Which country are you living in btw?
sammy4
21-04-2008, 08:18 PM
hey ladies im due on the 8th september and im from greenbank near brownsplains :)
Mum2Lucas
22-04-2008, 09:11 AM
hi there. i'm due on the 18th of september with number 2 and i live way out on the northside in caboolture/morayfield. hope everyones doing well.
sierrasmum
23-04-2008, 11:02 AM
Hello hello :)
Im in Arana Hills (Northside) anyone near there?
I was thinking too that we should meet up once the new bubs are born?, just putting it out there!
Sammy4, i am in boronia heights, so not to far from you, i bet we have seen each other at grand plaa many of time!! lol im up to baby #3
smiley80
23-04-2008, 08:22 PM
im from that area too.. very close to you mixy :wave:
haileye
24-04-2008, 11:01 AM
I'm in Parkinson at the mo, will be living in Marsden when baby is born....
Should we start up a coffee/juice day once a fortnight to meet up? for those who are in the brisse area?:)
I think thats a great idea! all our bubs will be so close in age it would be lovely to watch them all grow up :( (ok since our babies are only like 20 cms long the thought of them growing up is very scary!!!)
haileye
24-04-2008, 11:51 AM
I agree, at the moment its hard to think that in about 15 - 20 weeks and some of us will have our bubs here... how exciting
When would we like to start our coffee/juice day? should we look at starting it soon or more towards the 6th or 7th month into the preg????:confused:
Im happy with soon, how many of us have older ones? as i have DS most days (not wed and thurs:() so somewhere child friendly would be nice....
smiley80
24-04-2008, 12:14 PM
im interested... i have no other kids but i work full time... however i finish in early august so i could join ya's then if i cant make it sooner
haileye
24-04-2008, 12:26 PM
I don't have any other kiddies either, but I'm happy to go to a child friendly place. Do you know of any?
sierrasmum
26-04-2008, 07:37 AM
Amylou- I didn't realise you were having bubs at North West Hospital!?, which OB you seeing?.
All the Brissy Northside mummies (and anyone else interested)- Do you want to meet up for coffee sometime?. Im free Tue, Wed, Thurs, and might be Mondays eventually if those days are good for anyone else?. I was thinking maybe meeting at Brookside?.
AmyLou
26-04-2008, 10:43 AM
Hi all! How are we??
I'm seeing Terry Sheahan? Are you delivering at Northwest too?
Brookside is good for me, as long as it's close enough for everyone else?? They have done up Coffee Club there so that could be nice?? I work every morning and afternoon so have the middle of the day free, any day is good for me!
sierrasmum
26-04-2008, 11:44 AM
Im seeing Dr Tuicolo :) So yeah delivering at North West.
Middle of the day is ok for me, but wont be able to stay too long cause sierras nap is around there. Either that or we could make it a morning on a weekend?.
Brookside coffee club is ok with me, but if anyone has any other suggestions thats fine, I dont mind going somewhere else if its more central to everyone.
Shazza
26-04-2008, 03:38 PM
I keep forgetting to post in this thread! I'm at Geebung (just near Kidspace)!
AmyLou - I'm seeing Terry Sheahan too! Will be seeing him Mon actually! Wouldn't it be freaky if all us girls were in at North West together!
I'm happy to meet up at Brookside for a cuppa too. I can do Mon and Fri with Cooper in tow or Tue, Wed, Thu with just me, but only in the arvo as I work in the am.
Don't know if you girls ever head out to Brendale but there is a maternity shop out there which has new and second-hand stuff. The new stuff isn't over $50 and they have brands like Ripe and Egg! You can get some good second-hand stuff too and most is under $30! Let me know if you want the address!
Anyways must go,
Shaz :D
AmyLou
26-04-2008, 05:25 PM
Ohh wow Shaz! How funny! You're due 4 days before me, we could very well end up in there together.. maybe closer to our due dates we give out our mobile numbers so we can contact eachother to say "i'm off to the hospital" That way we can search the rooms if we are in there together!
Do you like Terry? Did you see him for your first? I find him a little hard to understand sometimes as he mumbles... i have only been twice though, Jenny the midwife is lovely isn't she!
sierrasmum
26-04-2008, 05:39 PM
I have a feeling I wont be in there at the same time as you girls as Im due on the 6th and I have a funny feeling im going to go early... the only way im going to be in there with you is if you are both early or im a week or two late lol.
I am happy to give you both my mobile number though, even so we can organise this coffee outing!.
So far it looks like its going to have to be towards the arvo some time..
AmyLou
26-04-2008, 06:40 PM
Well i start work again at 2pm so i can't do arvos.. Maybe we can do a mon or fri then so your kids can come shaz and we can do in the morn sometime?? I'm easy really just needs to be after 9.30 and before 1.30
sierrasmum
27-04-2008, 08:10 AM
We could make it Mondays at 10am?, or atleast one monday and go from there?.
The thing I normally do on mondays is looking like a no go anyway, so this is fine for me.
AmyLou
27-04-2008, 09:38 AM
Sounds good to me, but not this week as my U/S is at 11! so excited!
sierrasmum
27-04-2008, 10:47 AM
Yeah, its a bit late notice for this week, but next week deffinitely!!.
Good luck for your scan tomorrow Amylou!!
Shazza
27-04-2008, 11:47 AM
Hey :wave:
Yep I'm up for next week. I couldn't do it tomorrow anyway as I have ob appointment and chiro appointment in the morning!
Do you girls have the "bubhub pram ribbons"? I need to order some more cause my two seem to have dissapeared off my nappy bag - hmm!
Isn't it an awesome day! I'm actually getting my washing done really quickly. And will take Cooper across to the park this arvo for a play if it stays like this!
Anyways, catch you all later, Shaz :D
sierrasmum
27-04-2008, 01:12 PM
I just got two pram ribbons on Friday!. Will probably put one one the nappy bag and one on the table or something like that.
Today has been a nice day... havent gotten much done though, we have all been relaxing for a change!.
AmyLou
27-04-2008, 02:37 PM
What are these ribbons you speak of??? haha Do you put them on so you can recognise other hubbers??
sierrasmum
27-04-2008, 05:02 PM
Up the top of each page in small text is a link for pram ribbons, if you click on that it will prompt you to enter your addy and bubhub will send out two free pram ribbons that you can put on your pram or nappy bag so that other hubbers can recognise you!.
oh my goddess ladies, chatting away!! my pram ribbons i 'ordred' never arrived :( i ordered them before i was even pregnant! (for DS's pram)
So the north side girls have organised them selves, how about us south side girl, lets organise something. Mondays also sound good?
sierrasmum
28-04-2008, 08:43 AM
I ordered some a long time ago too and never got them, but I re-ordered and got some within a week!, so maybe try again?.
i think i will try now....
AmyLou
04-05-2008, 04:57 PM
Should we make plans for meeting up? I forgot tomorrow was a public holiday so maybe we can lock in next monday? Are we still going with Brookside? Is that ok with you Shaz? Not too far away?
sierrasmum
04-05-2008, 06:01 PM
I totally forgot about the public holiday aswell!!:doh:. So next monday sounds good to me... cant wait for that coffee!!.
sierrasmum
11-05-2008, 03:17 PM
We still meeting up tomorrow?
What time again if we are..?
AmyLou
11-05-2008, 03:55 PM
hmm i have ob appnt at 10?? Would prob be out of there by 1015 as im seeing the midwife not the dr... don't know wat time is too late for us to meet for you ladies?
sierrasmum
11-05-2008, 03:58 PM
Well Sierra was originally supposed to have her immunisations at 10 but we are waiting a few days untill shes back to her normal, non diarrhrea self lol. So anytime is fine for me as I also dont work!.
We could make it 11?
AmyLou
11-05-2008, 04:04 PM
Yeah that sounds good! 11 at coffee club??
sierrasmum
11-05-2008, 04:16 PM
Sounds like a plan!.
Looks like it might just be us two though, not that thats a prob :p.
magjh
15-05-2008, 09:06 AM
Hi ladies - :wave:
I haven't been online for a while with computer issues and work issues and child health issues so am sorry I missed the big coffee plans for Monday 12th - I would be very keen to meet up at any stage at Brookside or anywhere convenient for all. Did you make it and have a lovely coffee?? Is next Monday happening too? Would really love to get involved in a weekly catch up if possible before our babies arrive as it will be such a lovely vital support network afterwards. I am also seeing Dr Tuicolo and delivering at NW Private - at this stage still due 13 Sep.
Anyway, hope you are all well and well done to the Northside mums who have kickstarted the get togethers.
P.S. I also ordered pram ribbons but mine didn't arrive either so will try again. Hopefully see you all soon!
AmyLou
15-05-2008, 11:37 AM
Hey magjh! Not sure if Monday is happening this week, we didn't discuss doing it weekly but i am more than happy to! We had a nice chat, i didn't have coffee i had a mango frappe, very yummy! Are you keen to meet up again Alison?
You'll have to excuse me magjh if i've met you before, where are you from? How old are you and do you have any other children or is this your first?
Hope everyone's having a great day!
magjh
15-05-2008, 12:14 PM
Hi there! I'm in The Gap and this Sep bub is our 4th - bring on the chaos I reckon!!! I'm 36, the older kids are 6,5 and 14 months and I work from home around sleeps and school runs and cleaning up after everybody. Always up for a chat / coffee / whatever ... so when / if the next get together is organised, I would love to gatecrash. Take care!
sierrasmum
15-05-2008, 05:55 PM
Hey!
Im keen to meet up again, and Monday is fine again if that works out for you ladies?
Hopefully Sierra will be a little better behaved this time!.
Your more than welcome to join us Magje, I am seeing Dr Tuicolo too!, and Im also at NW!.
cassvanm
15-05-2008, 07:00 PM
I am so jealous of you guys - I wanna meet in person too! Not fair.
Take some piccies please, and post them for me.
Have fun girls!
magjh
17-05-2008, 07:37 AM
Monday it is then - Brookside Coffee Club and I can make anytime from 1000 - please let me know what suits. Looking forward to it!
AmyLou
17-05-2008, 03:01 PM
Great! I can also do from 10 aswell! 10 good for you Alison?
sierrasmum
18-05-2008, 12:52 PM
10:00 is perfect for me as Sierra isn't usually due for a feed untill 11 and her nap isn't till after then so she hopefully wont be so cranky this time!.
Next time though can we go somewhere other than coffee club?, Every time Ive been there lately and the owner has been there shes been kinda rude to me, so im kinda going off Coffee club. The Place (cant think of the name) opposite Medicare isn't too bad.
Anyway, Hope to see you both on Monday!
Cass I will take my camera, and if I rememeber to will get some pics for you :)
AmyLou
18-05-2008, 02:05 PM
Oh yeah Short Black coffee house maybe?? i know the one you are talking about though, sounds good!!!
sierrasmum
18-05-2008, 02:52 PM
Ok, so same time but at the new place... that ok for you Magjh?
magjh
19-05-2008, 05:35 AM
No problem, see you both there!
sierrasmum
19-05-2008, 06:58 PM
Thanks for the lovely day out today ladies!. Sorry Sierra got a bit cranky there!, but she must have been REALLY :sleeping:, she fell alseep in the car and so I put her to bed when we got home... about 12:30... She slept till 4:00!!.
She was so much happier after that!.
Cass, sorry, I first of all forgot my camera... and while we were there I totally forgot about taking pics... I didn't remember untill I came home and saw the camera sitting on the bench lol!.
sierrasmum
19-05-2008, 07:01 PM
BTW Cass, we were talking today and if some of you ladies that are south brisbane want to meet up sometimes maybe we could all meet at a central location, or I know that Amy and Carol and I wouldn't mind the drive occassionally!.
Anyways, its something to think about :)
cassvanm
19-05-2008, 07:19 PM
Thanks for thinking of me guys - however if I was going to come over for coffees with you, I'd have to leave about three days early! I live in Victoria - no doubt Mickie may join you though!
Pleased to hear you had fun :)
sierrasmum
20-05-2008, 03:03 PM
lol, sorry cass, for some reason I thought you were up this way!.
sierrasmum
21-05-2008, 11:24 AM
Hey, just letting eveyone know (although this is probably old news to some lol) that brightbots is having a sale on this weekend!. Im going to try and make it, although I might have to persuade DH to let me go spending!
magjh
21-05-2008, 12:29 PM
Just wanted to write a quick hello to say thanks for the get together on Monday - it was lovely to meet you Amy and Alison (and of course Sierra too!), and a lovely way to start off the week. Looking forward to next time. Anyone else from Brissy interested???
sierrasmum
21-05-2008, 12:37 PM
It was lovely to meet you too!.
Cant wait to catch up again!. Sierra and your little girl (having a mind blank and cant remember her name sorry!) seemed to really like each other, how cute were the hugs!!.
sierrasmum
27-05-2008, 07:23 PM
Carol, we up for Monday next week? Amy and I will be there!... we will let you know otherwise.
Anyone else want to join us, your welcome!, just let me know and I will pm you the details :wave:
magjh
30-05-2008, 11:51 AM
:wave:Hi Amy and Alison et al. Provided my nose stops running and I stop sneezing every two minutes, I'll see you at 1000! Looking forward to catching up with how you are both going ... and Gabrielle is looking forward to catching up with Sierra!
sierrasmum
30-05-2008, 04:04 PM
Gabrielle!, thats right!, jeez I hate having no memory!.
I have a cold, so Im also going to see how im going by monday... we might have to leave it this monday :no:. I would hate for Gabrielle, yourself and Amy to catch it!.
How have you been anyway Carol?
sierrasmum
01-06-2008, 08:01 AM
I dont think I will be able to make it Monday, I have to take Sierra to the doctors... Hope you have a nice time if you both end up going :)
AmyLou
01-06-2008, 11:27 AM
I don't mind either way.. if you both aren't very well maybe it's better to leave it. Next Monday is a public holiday though and i have to work Tuesday during the day so maybe we can make it a different day the following week!
Just let me know!
I may just take the oh so long drive(:p) up there next time you guys are having a meet up:) just let me know:)
AmyLou
01-06-2008, 02:30 PM
Sounds great mixy! I think the 3 of us won't mind driving a bit further so it's closer for you?? Would be great to have another one to join us!
sierrasmum
01-06-2008, 07:03 PM
Mixy you would deffinitely be welcome!!, and as Amy said, we wouldn't mind driving a little closer as well!.
As for this monday, my cold was very minor and Im over it and Sierra didn't get it which is good!. Im going to try and get into the doctors to see about that lump she has, but if the appointment is for the afternoon then I wouldn't mind meeting for coffee... I will sms you Amy as soon as I know and I will PM you Carol as I dont have your number... and maybe we can still make it happen!. If not I will be free Tue, Wed this week, but then not untill the 11th as DH is on holidays from this Thurs and we have a few things planned.
Anyways, hope to see you ladies soon!
What time do you meet?
I will hope on here in the morning as soon as i get back from school drop off. so if you guys can post something on here or PM me, then i will see what i can do.
Its abit late to organise you guys changin gplace this time, maybe we can discuss that when we meet up?
sierrasmum
01-06-2008, 08:21 PM
Well we usually meet at 10:00 at Brookside shopping centre in Mitchelton at the coffee shop across from the medicare... still cant remember the name lol.
ok well just let me know if its on today?
magjh
02-06-2008, 07:49 AM
Sorry ladies but I'm still a bit under the weather and probably should stay indoors and rugged up in this rain!! So I think I'll have to send my apologies but look forward to our next catch up.
Gabrielle will be disappointed as she much prefers to be out and about and loves sharing in coffee shop gatherings! But it will have to wait a few weeks - Mon fortnight we will be away down the Gold Coast for a week of back to back theme parks with grandparents and cousins etc which will be completely insane!! We can't wait actually, it will be a well needed break in our house, with some lovely family time.
But will try to get on here more often so I can keep up to date with how you are as we continue along this journey to September!
Take care and enjoy your coffee ... I was so looking forward to the raisin toast!
sierrasmum
02-06-2008, 06:27 PM
Thats ok!, I would rather you stay home and feel better then come out and get worse!!!.
Keep and eye on this thread and I will also PM you everytime we plan on meeting up and if you can make it that would be great!.
The theme parks sound like great fun!, we are taking Sierra to Sea world on Friday so we shall see how that goes!.
Hope your feeling well soon!!.
Give Gabrielle a big hug for us!
AmyLou
15-06-2008, 06:40 PM
Hi ladies! I don't think i am going to be able to catch up for about 4 weeks. I have 4 weeks left of work and instead of working morning and afternoon for the next two weeks my boss has given me some shifts during the day so i don't have to wake up early.. After i'm finished though i'll be free nearly everyday! I just can't wait! I'll keep an eye out though in here to see if anything is happening as i am only sure of my shifts this week. Will let you know if i become available any days!
Talk soon!
sierrasmum
16-06-2008, 12:46 PM
Not getting up early sounds nice :)
Deffinitely keep me up to date on if you have a day free and hopefully we will be able to plan something!, It will be weird if I dont see you for 4 weeks, and then I do and you have this huge belly!:laughing:.
AmyLou
09-07-2008, 08:01 PM
Hi guys!!! As tomorrow is my last day i'll be free next week to catch up for coffee!!! YAY!!! I can't monday as i have my 3D scan so any other day would be great!!!
sierrasmum
10-07-2008, 09:54 AM
Tuesday is good for me... Do we want to make it same time about 10ish?, same place?
sofiesmama
10-07-2008, 04:08 PM
hello
i just noticed this topic....is this a northside brissy or southside brissy topic?
im stuck on the northside close to WFstrthpne!if theres a meet nearby id love to invite myself!LOL:D
let me know-thnks ladies
sierrasmum
10-07-2008, 06:46 PM
Hi sofiesmama!:wave:
We are on the Northside, so if you would like to come we would be happy to have you!.
We have been meeting at Brookside at that cafe across from the Medicare (I really need to remember the name of that place!). We are thinking next Tuesday, but not sure on the time yet!.
sierrasmum
14-07-2008, 01:35 PM
Sorry ladies, but I wont be able to make it tomorrow:no:. Haven't been well, and DH needs the car.
I can meet up on Thursday though... but I dont expect you all the change your plans for me, so maybe next Tuesday?
Amy, hope your scan went well, and I cant wait to see those pics when we do get to meet up!
Dibbles74
14-07-2008, 05:20 PM
Hi Ladies hope you dont mind a new september mum joining in.
I live west of ipswich and this is my 4th bub.
I am have been booked in for an elective c/section on 22 September (10 weeks today).
I work full time so find it hard to get out and meet for lunch but would love to be able to catch up and chat online.
AmyLou
14-07-2008, 06:09 PM
Ohh no Al, that's no good! If u wanna meet up on Thursday that will be fine?? Let me know!
sierrasmum
14-07-2008, 07:57 PM
Well I should have the car back by then, and hopefully will be feeling better:fingerscrossed:
Welcome Dibbles74, No we dont mind!!
There is a July thread as well if you like to chat, they are always :ecomcity: in there!!, lovely group of ladies:yes:.
AmyLou
14-07-2008, 08:01 PM
Well we can just keep in touch about Thursday if you like! I'll keep my eye out on this thread or talk to u on msn!
sierrasmum
14-07-2008, 08:18 PM
Yep!, sounds good!.
Failing that, I will sms you so you know for sure!.
sierrasmum
16-07-2008, 04:50 PM
Unless I wake up tomorrow feeling bloody fantastic and can actually breathe then I doubt I will be there for coffee :no:
Plans for next week?:)
haileye
16-07-2008, 06:33 PM
Ok... god damn it lets organise this...!!!
lets all suggest a central place to meet where both north and south brisbane (& G/C if they want to) mummies can meet for coffee or lunch. If our partners will fund our day out that is.
It is getting pretty close to the end for most of us so we better do it soon.
sierrasmum
16-07-2008, 07:23 PM
That would be great Haileye...
Just wondering where the best place would be that most people can get to without too much hassle.
Maybe somewhere South Brissie?, I wish I knew the south side well enough to suggest somewhere!.
AmyLou
16-07-2008, 07:38 PM
Yeah hmm.. wat's central to all of us, probably the city but that's a bit hard to get to... southbank is also a little hard with parking and stuff... hmm it really depends how far away the furtherest person is as to where a central place would be... i suppose we need to know suburbs so we can work it out...???
haileye
16-07-2008, 10:52 PM
Southbank isn't too much of a hassle during the week... its more the weekends and school holidays that it a pain in the butt...
(I quite like southbank... but just imagine the look on peoples faces seeing a group of heavily pregnant women, as if the baby expo wasn't enough for them:laughing:)
I'm staying in Parkinson/Algester at the mo...
And I think that Mickie isn't far from me..
sierrasmum
17-07-2008, 08:41 AM
:laughing:That would be scary for them!, I dont think Ive ever seen so many pregnant women in the one place before than at the expo!.
Maybe if you and Mickie decide on a place as you two are central and know the area better, then the Goldcoast ladies, and us North Brissie ladies can just find our way there?
I really dont mind where we meet :)
sierrasmum
20-07-2008, 04:33 PM
Whats happening ladies??
If we cant organise a new place for this week, Amy and I will be meeting at Brookside at the usual time and place (pm me for details) on Tuesday if nothing else is agreed on, so if anyone wants to come you are welcome!.
haileye
21-07-2008, 10:33 AM
Ok I think we will organise to meet up next week then. Have a busy week this week. So I will get my thinking cap on and let you ladies know where and when.
sierrasmum
21-07-2008, 11:19 AM
No worries :)
magjh
23-07-2008, 02:40 PM
Hello ladies and I am so sorry to have been so out of touch lately - where is the time going? I hope you are all really well and hanging in there as we hit the home stretch ... I'd love to get together before these babies all arrive.
I now have Gabrielle in daycare on Mondays and we go to a Playgroup on Tuesdays so I could meet up one Wednesday or Thursday morning if anyone is keen?
I am happy to offer up my house in The Gap as a semi central meeting point if we can come up with a Wed or Thurs that suits us all. Next week is out for me as I am having a girls weekend away (no kids) as a final hurrah before this bubba arrives.:smiliedance:
Any preferences during August?
Take care.
AmyLou
23-07-2008, 06:19 PM
Hi, how are you? It's good to hear from you! Has everything been going well for you?
Would love to meet up with you again, i'm pretty much free anytime so whenever suits you and everyone else will be great!
sierrasmum
23-07-2008, 06:42 PM
How are you Carol!?, great to hear from you!.
Im pretty much free too, except for Fridays as thats when I have my mums and bubs group.
Maybe I should put it out there and suggest Wed's?
AmyLou
23-07-2008, 06:48 PM
Good for me Al!
AmyLou
04-08-2008, 05:13 PM
OK ladies, if we all want to get together i think we should do it soon!!!
Hailey have you come up with anything.. a central place for us all to meet???
haileye
05-08-2008, 02:09 PM
Umm... how about the Coffee club on Logan rd, stones corner..... Its located across from the pub. Theres plenty of parking on Cleveland rd in the IGA Carpark... from the car park its about a 3-4 min waddle...
Otherwise I think that there is a Gloria jeans there somewhere...
How is Thurday for everyone? or at a push... tomorrow?
AmyLou
05-08-2008, 02:26 PM
Maybe we should make it one day next week, that way it gives others a chance to get on the net and check it out and hopefully make it too??? Stones Corner sounds good to me!
haileye
05-08-2008, 03:00 PM
No worries... next week works for me also.
sierrasmum
05-08-2008, 06:58 PM
So next thurs at coffee club on Stones corner?
What time?
haileye
06-08-2008, 12:31 PM
about 10 or 10.30ish...
what works for you ladies??
sierrasmum
06-08-2008, 01:22 PM
10:30 is good for me:)
AmyLou
06-08-2008, 05:12 PM
Sounds good to me!
sierrasmum
08-08-2008, 03:27 PM
So is anyone else coming or is it just the three of us?
magjh
09-08-2008, 07:47 PM
Hi there. Would have loved to join you but its a pupil free day on Thursday so I have all the kids at home - will not subject you all to that at this late stage of pregnancy!!! :no:
But am still happy to have something here in the two weeks after that if the opportunity arises.
Hope you are all doing really well. We are rearranging furniture this weekend - Gabrielle is in a bed tonight for the first time and so far so good.
Take care,
Carol.
sierrasmum
10-08-2008, 12:36 PM
No worries Carol :)
Good luck with Gabriel going into her first bed... hope she sleeps well!.
Let us know when you are free to do something!.
sierrasmum
10-08-2008, 07:51 PM
Sorry ladies,
going to have to cancel... have a friend thats only going to be in town until that Thur arvo, and she wants to meet up that morning, so I feel like I cant really not go see her.
Am happy to make it the week after though??
ok im back! lol, have not checked this thread for a while! anyway
stones corner is good and i dont have DS on wednesdays or thursday, so much easier for me without him. so is it still happening this week without alison, or are we all going to wait untill the next week? im happy either way (although we will miss you alison)
AmyLou
11-08-2008, 03:22 PM
I think we may aswell do it when there are a few of us since we are travelling that bit further, make it worth while! Would be good if we could get a big group of us to attend, there was quite a few of us interested in the beginning of the thread but don't think they come on regularly to check!?
sierrasmum
11-08-2008, 04:19 PM
Aw, nice to know you would miss me Mickie :p
I agree with Amy... It would be good if we could get a few of us going...If carol can make it next week we will have 5. I wish I knew what happened to all those interested originally like Amy said...
So next week, the 21st... you know what i just got a letter from the real estate and i have an inspection that day, between 9-1.... i want to come so i wil see what i can do.
sierrasmum
12-08-2008, 08:02 PM
I hope so Mickie!, would be good to see you again!.
I guess thats the plan for now... next wed at 10:30
haileye
14-08-2008, 01:27 PM
I did pop in this morning to see if we were still meeting, I can't log in as much as I would like to as we don't have internet at our new place so I have to wait till I am over at my mums place before I can log on..
Any ways... next wednesday is fine by me.
If anything changes can Mixy please text me and let me know... as I probably won't get back on line till tuesday now.
:yes: hailey i will txt you if anything changes.
Wednasday sounds good to me, no kids :D jeromie is really testing me when we are out:(
sierrasmum
15-08-2008, 04:16 PM
I know what you mean Mickie, Sierra can be a hand full too. So hopefully she will behave herself!!.
sierrasmum
16-08-2008, 04:03 PM
You ladies are going to be so frustrated with me!:no:.
My OB app has been changed from the Thursday to the Wed... and 10:00 of all times!. Im a little annoyed but it was the only time they could fit me in... so had to take it.
Hope you ladies have a lovely time and if there is another meet up I will try my hardest to get there before I pop!.
AmyLou
16-08-2008, 04:21 PM
Ohh no Al! What if we just make it at 11? That should give you enough time to see ur ob and head over?? What do you think ladies?
sierrasmum
16-08-2008, 04:54 PM
I can be there then... if not I will only be a little bit later... thats if that works for everyone else?
im good with 11, so is that still the plan?
I have not had a chance to go near the mth chat thread, so i dont know if hailey has been on so should i txt for the change?
AmyLou
19-08-2008, 07:24 PM
Sorry ladies, i can't make it tomorrow... my DH has been home from work all week as he has stuffed his back. He went to phsyio today and also has to go tomorrow at 11 and i will need to drive him as he can't drive... So sorry!
oh no amy, i hope he will be ok! i think i will call alison tomorrow morning to see what we all want to do.
sierrasmum
22-08-2008, 07:40 AM
Thanks for the nice morning out ladies :)
Do we want to try again for next week with Amy too?, and if any of the new Brisbane mums to the thread want to join?
Im thinking that next week will be the last time I am going to feel up to it before I pop lol.
i think next week maybe nice, i just hope i dont still feel this crappy:(
sierrasmum
22-08-2008, 12:39 PM
Yeah, I know what you mean... its hard to plan things when your not feeling great.
Shazza
22-08-2008, 12:56 PM
Hopefully I'll be able to finally meet all you girls soon! Will be finishing work next week so should hopefully feel up to it after then.
Although if next week is the last week you are all meeting then I might have to put in a bit more effort and come along!
I'll keep checking this thread and see what you all decide!
Cheers, Shaz :D
haileye
25-08-2008, 12:55 PM
I'm happy to try meet this week...
I will say that I will be there at this stage, as I still don't feel like I'm going to pop just yet. Just taking it a day at a time.
Let me know what day and where.....:p
sierrasmum
25-08-2008, 07:50 PM
Well, what about this Wed... at 10, umm, where does everyone want to meet?, same place as last time?
magjh
27-08-2008, 06:45 AM
:wave:Hi ladies!
I am so sorry I have been so ridiculously unreliable - it seems the last 2 months all the kids have taken it in turns to have this lergy or that cough or this bug and we are still not out of the woods yet - but I am keeping my fingers crossed so that as we get down to the final few days before this new bubba arrives, everyone will be over everything and they will all be healthy and in good spirits.
Just wanted to wish you all good luck and safe deliveries over the next few weeks. I might see some of you in NW Private!!! Its getting exciting now!!!
Take care.
I have been MIA, so i was not sure what was happening...
I have msg'd alison, hopefully you can get back to me if there is something going on.
sierrasmum
19-09-2008, 03:44 PM
Hi ladies!,
I cant wait untill everyone has popped and we can have a meet up with the little ones :yes:.
Hope everyone is doing well!.
mumoftwogirls
01-10-2008, 12:04 PM
I am over near Indooroopilly:wave:
HI I'm at Paddington and my baby is 3 weeks old today! I am keen to find a mothers group as have recently moved back to Brisbane from Sydney. Any ideas?
mumoftwogirls
01-10-2008, 12:07 PM
Hi, my baby was born on 10 September, would love to join group. Am new to site so a bit of a novice!
AmyLou
01-10-2008, 03:01 PM
Hi there! Well i am on the Northside and there are a few of us who have met up already (before our babies were born) and i'm sure we will be doing it again soon to meet all the new bubbas!
Maybe we could make a date for in a few weeks, gives everyone time to recover and settle in etc??
If anyone is interested maybe put down what days you are available and we will try and organise something for when everyone's free!
Talk soon
haileye
03-10-2008, 01:44 PM
I'm free pretty much any day of the week.
As long as we give or selves plenty of notice I'm sure we can all be organised to go out of the house for a while...
I have a check list that I check off before I leave the house now... OMG.. life was so much easier when bubs was on the inside.. LOL:laughing:
hailey it does get easier!
Wednesday and thursday are best for me if we are meeting fo lunch or something because 2 y/o dont tend to enjoy sitting still :) DS1 (wow that is the first time i have typed that!) goes to childcare those days.
I dont plan to do to much for the next couple of weeks though.
magjh
18-10-2008, 04:38 PM
Hi everyone. Hope you are all doing really well with your little treasures and enjoying all the newborn stuff ... aren't they growing quickly!!?? Hamish is moving out of 0000 now and is getting nice chubby legs which is always reassuring that he is getting enough ... I feel like an overworked dairy cow!!! Am cherishing these days as he is most definitely our last, but it sure is tiring.
Now would we all like to get together this week sometime? I am offering up my place for the morning of either Wed 22 or Thurs 23 for a coffee / cake / chat / baby showing off session. Probably a 10 oclock start. I am in The Gap.
Please let me know if you are interested and I can PM you my address if it goes ahead.
Cheers!
mumoftwogirls
20-10-2008, 01:35 PM
HI
I would love to join you at the gap - i am at paddington. I could do Wed at 10. Would be great to meet some mums!
Jane
haileye
20-10-2008, 02:10 PM
I would also like to come join you ladies, but i have no idea where the gap is...?
magjh
23-10-2008, 07:46 PM
Sorry ladies, I ended up with a sick bubba (the 19 month old one) so this last Wed was a write off. Shall we try again for next Wed 29th at 10? Any takers?
AmyLou
26-10-2008, 03:07 PM
Sounds good to me Carol! Would be nice to get a group of us together! Hopefully the other ladies come on in time so it can still go ahead.
Maybe if the Gap is a bit far for others to come we could find a more central place??
magjh
28-10-2008, 11:39 AM
Guess what. Its now the 5 year old ... when it rains it pours!!! Count me out for tmrw now, but hopefully one day before the end of this year I might have all 4 children well and can meet up with you ...
sierrasmum
29-10-2008, 08:01 PM
Have been in and out of hospital so have missed all these messages about meet ups!.
I would love to meet all these bubbas though (dont worry, it was nothing contagious!) and the Gap isn't too far for me, but am hoping I am well enough to go to the next one... so def keep me informed!.
Shazza
01-11-2008, 09:34 AM
Hey everyone :wave:
So who is up for a meet so we can meet these gorgeous bubbas! The best days for me are Wed and Thu cause Mum will have Cooper those days. And where did we want to meet? The same place as when we were preggas? Or somewhere else?
AmyLou
01-11-2008, 10:24 AM
How about we try for this Thursday and i don't really mind where!! Depends who can come and where we are from to find a central place! If there are some ladies that want to come but don't get on here too often i was thinking you could PM me your mobile numbers and we could make arrangements that way? Like any decisions that are made i could msg you the details and then you could just let me know if you can make it!? What do we think?
Shazza
02-11-2008, 08:26 AM
Well I'm at Chermside and am happy to travel pretty much anywhere on the northside. Thursday is good for me - Cooper gets picked up at 9.30am so any time after that.
Amy I will PM you my mobile and hopefully we can get something sorted.
MummaDJ
18-11-2008, 10:17 PM
Hi guys.
I'll be in Brissy this weekend arrive Friday & leave Monday.
Would love to catch up if anyone is interested.
Amy
AmyLou
19-11-2008, 09:43 PM
We have organised a catch up for Friday at 10am! PM me if you would like details of where!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.