View Full Version : Little Squirt toilet attachment....is it worth purchasing?
Cheeky Little Monkey
19-03-2006, 01:48
I am about to become a cloth nappy convert (am VERY excited) :D and am interested to know whether the Little Squirt toilet attachment used to get rid of the poo is worth purchasing?
My DD is formula fed so doesnt tend to have explosive poos very often.
Thanks in advance.
I have to admit that I have one (I didn't buy it - it was a donation from my brother), but when it came to the nappies - my son was fully breastfed till 6months (when we started some solid foods - continued the breastmilk though). While he was breastfed - his nappies were always watery poo (a thread like this needs TMI). I didn't do the dry pailing thing - if you're using a little squirt then you're not either. I always figured that the nappy was just as well to go straight into the bucket (with nappisan) after a bit of a rinse with water. There was never anything solid enough to squirt into the toilet.
So bottom line is even though I had a little squirt - I never used it. I'll be interested to hear everyone else's experiences as I'm wondering whether to attach it to the loo this time and try it out (didn't even attach it last time).:)
sopolicha
19-03-2006, 07:11
At this stage and with a formula feed baby I wouldn't worry about buying one.
I use nappy liners and the poo comes of those pretty easily. If it is 'bad' I just rinse the nappy off a bit and dry pail it. My DD is BF and I have had no worries with stains.
19-03-2006, 08:04
I bought one this time around, as i was planning on using cloth nappies, but DD was too small when born, and i just ended up carrying on with disposables. I've left it on though, as there are spews to clean up sometimes (for both girls), and occasionally (before TT) DD1 would have an accident....It doesn't affect the toilet function, and i've found it good for the times we've had to use it, so it just stays on there in case we do need it.
19-03-2006, 19:11
I have one of those Little Squirts and I absolutely would be lost without it!:D
It is useless though until bub is doing those poo's that you get once solids is introduced, then it becomes a life saver to wash the poo off the nappy!
30-03-2006, 07:27
Where do i get a little squirt & how much?
MJ's gotten her old digestive system back finally after months of constipation :yelclap: & cleanup isnt easy anymore.
30-03-2006, 08:15
Apparantly Bunnings sells them! I ordered mine mail order! But e-bay has them now and then too!
we have one,,,, and we dont use it! i might start using it when her poo isnt so runny (TMI sorry!)
oliviasmumma
14-09-2009, 13:59
I seriously couldnt cope without my little squirt.
Thoroughly recommend it.
You can get them from Bunnings (but I heard they wont be keeping them on the shelves anymore) Ebay also sell them. If you get it from Ebay and it a second hand one, make sure you check with the buyer that it in perfect working condition. I bought my first one there - and got it and it leaked (grrrr). I then saw them in Bunnings for $40 marked down as they werent restocking them anymore.
Cheers :bee:
So if pre-solid feeding poos are too watery, than rinsing in a stainless steel laundry tub than dry pailing (or put in a bucket full of water) will be fine until you wash?
With pre-solids breastfed poo, and sometimes even FF poo, you often don't even need to give them a rinse! They are so watery that with the first lot of water into the machine the poo will just disolve. But a quick rinse can help sometimes. :)
We actually have a little squirt equivalent attatched to our washing machine tap. It works wonders and means I don't have to crouch over the toilet to spray the poo (plus there is a bigger area to aim the spray at so less chance of a back spray mess! :barf:). I'll see if I can find the thread that has the instructions.
With pre-solids breastfed poo, and sometimes even FF poo, you often don't even need to give them a rinse! They are so watery that with the first lot of water into the machine the poo will just disolve. But a quick rinse can help sometimes.
:iagree:
And now bub's on all three (bf/ff/solids), we just drop/roll the poops into the toilet and throw the nap straight in the machine (or dry pail). Depends on your bubba I think. She will very occasionally have a sticky one that might require rinsing, but not often enough to justify buying a squirter I think.
I reckon Little Squirt is a must have for cloth nappy system, AND great for toilet training .. My BF DD was always explosive. I rinsed nappies with the squirt, and washed them normally (usually with other items, too).
It ensures all poo goes in the toilet, where it is supposed to go. (not in drain or rubbish bin!). I found good flushable nappy liners very expensive.
Now a toddler, I can use the squirt on larger accidents.. and vomit, and other yucky things.
*Do practice your squirting angle, so you don't get the spray-back.
*Do hold the nappy firmly :)
*When using the sprayer handle, depress half way for a spray, and fully for torrential gush.
* I hang my squirt on an occy-strap, easy to reach.
* Bought from Breast Feeding Mothers Association. vic.