View Full Version : New Mccormicks slow cooker pkts!

charlen49
09-02-2008, 04:50 PM
I dont dont know if anyone else has seen these or used them but Mccormicks has brought out a new range of those pkt meal things and these ones are specifically designed for the slow cooker. I did the beef and mushroom rague lastnight..all you need was diecd tin tomatoes, 1kg of beef (i used casserols beef),10 whole button mushies,2 onions,2 slices of bacon and the paket mix..cooked it for 8hrs and added 1/2 cup of frozen peas(didnt have any only frozen mixed veg so added that) and it was devine just right amount of spices..even bub has eaten some tonight..i served it with garlic mash..yummos..so nice on a coldrainy misserable friday night....
there are 5 other recipes to try!

Myztik
09-02-2008, 04:51 PM
ooh I might have to go find them! I got a slow cooker for christmas and am yet to use it :o

09-02-2008, 05:40 PM
Oooh I was going to post about this too. The mediterranean chicken is just finishing cooking right now - will let you know how it tastes :D - it smells so good.

Milis
09-02-2008, 06:20 PM
We tried the Lamb Shank one last night and it was delish!!!

09-02-2008, 06:53 PM
:thumbsup: from me.

I ended up having to feed an extra person so I threw in a little more water and some red lentils and served it with rice. My 2 year old ate all his (and mine :laughing: )

~Emmylou~
09-02-2008, 08:15 PM
Oooooh really?! Haven't seen these but I'll be looking out for them! We love our slow cooker :chef:

Lissa7
10-02-2008, 09:45 AM
Thanks girls off to do supermarket shopping today so will definately looking for those. How easy with some yummy mash?????

Just put some corned beef in the slow cooker first time I have used it since I got it for my birthday. Very excited to see how it goes. Looking forward to easy cooking ahead, especially with no 3 on the way!!!!!!!!!

Have a good Sunday :wave:

charlen49
10-02-2008, 10:02 AM
:thumbsup: from me.

I ended up having to feed an extra person so I threw in a little more water and some red lentils and served it with rice. My 2 year old ate all his (and mine :laughing: )cool!

I love the slow cooker..especially in the cool weather and the fact that in the evening you have a meal all ready and really didnt take much effort..and they taste yummy too!

butterflygirl
10-02-2008, 10:25 AM
Will have to get some of those. I love my slow cooker:yes:

phineas
10-02-2008, 01:39 PM
Ooooo.... I have recently rekindled my relationship with the slow cooker :valentine:
Will have to give these a try!

charlen49
13-02-2008, 11:51 AM
mmmm...i'm trying the mild curry chicken tonight..df bringing home some nann bread to have with it..let you know how tatstes tomorrow!

Charlotte & Georgia's Mummy
20-02-2008, 12:57 PM
I'm trying the mediterranian chicken. It's the first recipe i'll have done in my new ronson slow cooker.

I've just given it a stir and it seems to be sticking/burning to the sides........although the rest of it doesn't seem too dry. Is this normal??? I've never used a slow cooker before so i'm not sure what it should be like.

I've got it on low, and it's been on for about 41/2 hours on low, the packet says 8 hours on low.

can anyone help???

20-02-2008, 12:59 PM
Some slow cooker actually run quite hot (mine does) and takes less cooking time. I test for tenderness hourly from 4 hours on - if its not tender yet and burning, I add a little more fluid.

I find most things cook by 6 hours for me.

charlen49
20-02-2008, 01:00 PM
you dont stir at all..until the end..it will look weird..as long as you have put in what the recipe said..but dont l;ift the lid till the end,..otherwise all the heat will escape!

20-02-2008, 01:10 PM
thanks, i'll leave it now for another hour or so and then check it! will let you know how it goes, although we're eating it tomorrow night now, as last minute dinner arrangements have been made with friends for tonight!

charlen49
20-02-2008, 01:21 PM
ah it will be even better by tomorrow night..all the flavours will evolve..yummo!

charlen49
21-02-2008, 07:16 PM
How did the the meal turn out CM?

21-02-2008, 07:26 PM
well, I think cheezel was right, my slow cooker runs 'hot' and probably would've been done after about 6 hours, but i was out so it stayed until 8!

It had a slight burnt flavour, and i used chicken breast, so that turned out a little dry. but not a disaster for my first attempt. I'm thinking I should try some of the recipes in the slow cooker cook book in here some where, maybe they won't be as dry????

Nex
21-02-2008, 08:31 PM
Chicken thighs are much better in the slow cooker, and chicken in general should be cooked for less time than beef or lamb etc. It just cooks quicker.

I'll be keeping an eye out for some of these in the supermarket tomorrow!

Kizmet
21-02-2008, 10:04 PM
just found this thread thank you for posting it! I am in love with my slow cooker! I so my grocery shopping online to save money (making me not impulse buy :laughing:) so had no idea about these! Am definately going to try!

millymoo
22-02-2008, 11:16 AM
How much are they Charli:D

charlen49
22-02-2008, 12:28 PM
How much are they Charli:D around the same price of those pkt type recipe mixes that you add the ingredietns too..from memory

Crazy Bananas
22-02-2008, 12:58 PM
I found that i needed to add more water otherwise the mixture would dry out. I tryed to one with th 1kg of chuck steak mushroom and canned tomato ect. Can't remember the name.
Nice with rice.

charlen49
22-02-2008, 01:05 PM
i think it depends on your cooker..i have a sunbeam i think and ive done the beef ragout(sp?) and chicken curry..both had heaps of gravy(which df loves) though i thought the curry had too much and i cooked for over 8hrs..havent done the others yet..but i never precook anything in slowcooker..whats the point?maybe thats the difference..maybe im getting more liquid from the meat..maybe its not cooked out of it before had..,iu find and the chef 'Rick Stein' agrees that you can not tell wether the meat has been brown before or not when done in the slow cooker..its the slow cooking process that makes the meat tender and develops the flavours!

charlen49
25-02-2008, 02:53 PM
:detective:trying The mediterranean chicken tonight..smells good!

Roseythorn
25-02-2008, 03:46 PM
I love the slow cooker packet mixes.

Last week I had the tomato and onion snags and they were delish.

Tomorrow I am going to try the herb and garlic lamb shanks recipe, but will be using a leg of lamb instead of the shanks. Do you think I should use two packet mixes or will one be enough?

Bibs
25-02-2008, 03:49 PM
Oohh I'm going to check them out next time I'm at the supermarket. They sound really good.

charlen49
25-02-2008, 05:00 PM
I love the slow cooker packet mixes.

Last week I had the tomato and onion snags and they were delish.

Tomorrow I am going to try the herb and garlic lamb shanks recipe, but will be using a leg of lamb instead of the shanks. Do you think I should use two packet mixes or will one be enough? ithink one would be enough..it says it does 6 lamb shanks..i havent tried those 2..but keen..in the cupboard waiting!;)

charlen49
25-02-2008, 05:03 PM
:detective:trying The mediterranean chicken tonight..smells good! well i did this recipe with the skin free legs..decided to check at 6hrs and its got lots of lovely thick gravy and the meat has started to fall of the bone..so ive turned it to warm and will turn it up later when im ready to eat..smells yummo..i think for something different..i will do the diced chicky thigh like it suggest..i like the chicky through out the dish..cant wait to try the others too!

charlen49
29-02-2008, 08:11 PM
I cooked the tomato and onion snags tonight..i checked at 5hrs and found that it needed extra liquid..it was nice, though dp didnt think it was any better than any other snag dish that i cook on the stove...but its the convenience of throwing it in the slow cooker and forgetting about it that i like!

charlen49
05-03-2008, 11:25 AM
Sunday i cooked the herb and garlic shanks! omg just devine..even df loved them and he doesnt usually like shanks. I am having the leftovers for lunch today:devil6:

PrincessJasmine
07-03-2008, 02:34 PM
OOh, I haven't seen them yet, but I'll go looking for them next time I'm shopping. I just bought a slow cooker for my birthday yesterday.

~Emmylou~
07-03-2008, 02:36 PM
Did the mild chicken curry last week with thigh fillets...it was divine.

Will definitely be trying out the rest of them! :chef:

charlen49
07-03-2008, 05:51 PM
Did the mild chicken curry last week with thigh fillets...it was divine.

Will definitely be trying out the rest of them! :chef::thumbsup: i think i will do it with thigh fillets next time too..wasnt impressed with the legs!:no:

bingo
07-03-2008, 07:57 PM
ohh it all sounds really yum. I was wondering with a slow cooker is it safe to leave it unattended (as is if your not home)? Curious as I work 3 days a week so would love to think I could throw things in a pot in the morning and come home to a warm meal and not a burning down house?

kyannas*mum*
07-03-2008, 08:18 PM
oh that is so good to no about these i love my cooker and usually just use those normal packets but put them in slow cooker some of those recipies sound divine i no the shanks will be a favourite here dh loves shanks mmmm especially with this cold weather that will be arriving soon

charlen49
07-03-2008, 08:33 PM
:yes:yes hun..thats what they are designed for..to make your life easier:thumbsup:ohh it all sounds really yum. I was wondering with a slow cooker is it safe to leave it unattended (as is if your not home)? Curious as I work 3 days a week so would love to think I could throw things in a pot in the morning and come home to a warm meal and not a burning down house?

bingo
08-03-2008, 07:10 AM
:yelclap:Love it - now to research around as to which one to buy! Oh the thought of walking into a house with the glorious smell of cooking food to greet me is making me salivate already!

BoyCrazy
26-05-2008, 02:00 PM
i made the beef & red wine one last night..OMG it was devine. I served it with mash potato and it was soo tasty! I even had enough left for lunches today!!

whats the mediterranean chicken like? anyone tried it?

Myztik
26-05-2008, 02:11 PM
I've done the mild chicken curry, Mediterranean chicken and the tomato and onion sausage one so far. All were lovely.

You know normal packet mixes work pefectly well in the slow cooker too ;)

ETA - I added corn to the Mediterranean Chicken and it was great :thumbsup:

charlen49
26-05-2008, 04:29 PM
ive done them all and would have to say the lamb shanks are my #1 top fav!