View Full Version : What hospital is everyone going to?

~*clairesmum*~
09-02-2008, 12:34 PM
im going to go to the redlands they were great when i went in for claire.... i hope i get kath shes tops lol, still havent gone to the docs yet so doc still hasnt sent a referal to them but i will get there soonish

so where is everyone else going to have there bubs????

mum2ethan
09-02-2008, 02:43 PM
Hi i will be going to Royal Darwin Hospital, dont have many choices here. :no:

shannysmum
09-02-2008, 07:22 PM
if im still living on the sunny coast i will go back to caboolture. but dh had interview for job in blackwater, so if he gets that, i really dont know where...it doesnt have maternity in the tiny hospital there i dont think.

mandymum2b
09-02-2008, 08:42 PM
I'm booked in for St John of God Subiaco (Perth) - it has the best neonatal special care nursery of all the private hospitals here (I think), which is why I chose it (of course I'm sure nothing will go wrong, just paranoid!!)

BUT - DH and I are trying to decide whether or rather when to move to Adelaide. Neither of us has any family here in Perth. We've been thinking for a while of moving back to Adelaide to be near my family when we have kids, and the question now is whether to move before the birth or after :confused:.

If we go before, obviously we'll have a lot more support in that horror first 6 weeks (and it's our 1st baby so we don't really know what we're in for!), but I'm not sure how late we could leave the move and still get paid maternity leave (my job will give me 14 weeks, so it's definitely worth having). Also not sure how that will work with OB's. I've booked in here in Perth, but if I plan to move, do I still have to pay the planning and management fee at 23 weeks? Maybe I have to pay it here and there?

If we leave it until after, we'll definitely get the mat leave, no hassle with OB, but no support from family, and don't know how difficult it is to move with a young baby (maybe will have to wait until 3 months or so??).

Has anyone else had a similar experience? Moving house is always stressful, especially interstate, and can imagine it would be worse when hugely pregnant or with a newborn.

Help!! Any advice/opinions really appreciated! :flowerz:

trisha24
11-02-2008, 10:48 AM
Sorry no experience to help you with!

I am tossing up between Logan Hospital (heard some bad and good stuff) but they are like 10min from home, straigth down the freeway, so really easy to get to. The other is the PA (Princess Alexandra) which I know are a brilliant hospital, but they are about 20min from home, depending if there is peak hour traffic! Decisions Decisions!!

Trisha

farmmummy
11-02-2008, 12:06 PM
I'll either be at the RBH (royal Brissy) or at the Mater Mothers Public. I didn't have a very good experiance with the local maternity hospital (40klms away from home) so I figured this time I'll have bub in Brisbane so he/she will be closest to all the best care.

Electric Mumi
11-02-2008, 10:10 PM
I am going to Mater Mothers again. I figure if there are any complications I am at the hospital I would be ambulanced to anyhow!!

trisha24
12-02-2008, 10:21 AM
My friends are all telling me to go to Mater Public Mothers rather than the Logan as they've all heard bad stuff, but the Logan is heaps closer for birth and check-ups.

What does everyone think? Am I crazy going to the Logan?

Trisha

Electric Mumi
13-02-2008, 04:58 PM
My son went to Logan special care nursery for a month 8 weeeks after he was born (he was 15 weeks premi) at the Mater as we lived at Browns Plains and they were great. Outpatients are also fabulous in my experience. I too have heard bad things about some birthing doctors etc I think you have to book into the hospital that you live near. When I called the mater last week they said it was only available to people who lived close to it. You prob should call both hospitals and see what they say.
Good luck with it all! x

Electric Mumi
13-02-2008, 05:00 PM
Sorry no experience to help you with!

I am tossing up between Logan Hospital (heard some bad and good stuff) but they are like 10min from home, straigth down the freeway, so really easy to get to. The other is the PA (Princess Alexandra) which I know are a brilliant hospital, but they are about 20min from home, depending if there is peak hour traffic! Decisions Decisions!!

Trisha
Does the PA have a maternity ward there now?

*Chels*
13-02-2008, 06:03 PM
I rang up and spoke to a midwife from the Gold Coast birthing centre today.Fingers crossed I get in:fingerscrossed:
Because I am low-risk and got in early,I will hopefully have no probs getting in!

trisha24
14-02-2008, 02:57 PM
I got that wrong -I assumed they did but they don't. My GP has said my choices are Logan, Mater or Redlands, so I am now leaning to Redlands becuase of the better facilities (and just as far to get to as Mater, and Mater seems harder to get in). The difference between Logan and the others is about a 15min drive, so I think that should be fine...

zakster
19-02-2008, 11:07 AM
I'm off to the Lyell McEwin :)

PrincessT
19-02-2008, 03:25 PM
I'm off to Royal North Shore Private again.. I loved it with Allegra and am so happy I found out so early so booking in was a breeze.

babysweet
20-02-2008, 02:56 PM
Im thinking of going to Freemasons epworth.

Mookie
21-02-2008, 03:44 PM
I'm going to The Wesley (Brisbane). I had DD there and was pretty happy with it. I'm going back to the same Obts as last time - I really liked her (& she was fantastic when I had the m/c at the end of last year).

leannelizzy
22-02-2008, 01:56 PM
I'm booked in for St John of God Subiaco (Perth) - it has the best neonatal special care nursery of all the private hospitals here (I think), which is why I chose it (of course I'm sure nothing will go wrong, just paranoid!!)

BUT - DH and I are trying to decide whether or rather when to move to Adelaide. Neither of us has any family here in Perth. We've been thinking for a while of moving back to Adelaide to be near my family when we have kids, and the question now is whether to move before the birth or after :confused:.

If we go before, obviously we'll have a lot more support in that horror first 6 weeks (and it's our 1st baby so we don't really know what we're in for!), but I'm not sure how late we could leave the move and still get paid maternity leave (my job will give me 14 weeks, so it's definitely worth having). Also not sure how that will work with OB's. I've booked in here in Perth, but if I plan to move, do I still have to pay the planning and management fee at 23 weeks? Maybe I have to pay it here and there?

If we leave it until after, we'll definitely get the mat leave, no hassle with OB, but no support from family, and don't know how difficult it is to move with a young baby (maybe will have to wait until 3 months or so??).

Has anyone else had a similar experience? Moving house is always stressful, especially interstate, and can imagine it would be worse when hugely pregnant or with a newborn.

Help!! Any advice/opinions really appreciated! :flowerz:

I'm also going to be at SJOG Subi (I had Lachie there). I can't offer you any advise on changing OBs mid pregnancy but I did move house with a young bub. We had our old house on the market not long after we found out we were expecting. It took ages to sell and we ended up buying our current house in July 2004 and moving in October. When we moved Lachie was about 8 weeks old. I have to say I found the move less stressful than when moving at other times as I was home and could pack and unpack at my leisure. Also don't get stressed about the first 6 weeks, yes they can be difficult and take some adjustment but if you go into it relaxed everything will work out OK.

MumofIsaac
22-02-2008, 03:10 PM
I will be going to Nambour General Hospital on the Sunshine Coast. I had my first bub there and had no problems.

Twiglet
22-02-2008, 03:18 PM
St John of God Subiaco (Perth) for me all the way. They are really good.

buban
24-02-2008, 09:05 PM
I am thinking about RPA in Sydney (Newtown) they have a birth centre, private and public options... but I have also heard good things about Nth Shore Private...do they have a birth centre (which is what I am leaning towards)... I live at Marrickville so RPA is soooo close...about 5mins drive... Royal Women's and Babies was also on my 'to check out list'... if anyone has any info i would love to hear...
ta
Chris

alby2508
24-02-2008, 09:14 PM
buban - I had DD in North Shore Private and it was fantastic!! I'm trying Prince of Wales Private this time because my girlfriend had her kids there and DH gets to sty overnight and they have queen beds. so i want him to be a part of it as well- i had an emegency C section with DD and after everyone left felt so out of it that i didn't feel DD got the human contact i wanted her to have so if DH can stay over it will be great!!!!:):)

QueensMum
26-02-2008, 08:18 PM
I'm probably heading back to The Wesley in Brisbane. I had my girls there and found it really good and it's relatively close to home.

YacinesMommy
27-02-2008, 12:46 PM
I'll be going to the Mater Mother Private (brisbane) again. I had DD there and thought it was great and by then the new Hopsy will be open :happydance: Also my ob only delivers at the Mater.

Lilys*mummy
02-03-2008, 05:05 PM
I'm going to the Mater Private Hospital at the Redlands. I had DD there and they were great, couldn't have asked for a better OB or Midwives!

trinette
11-03-2008, 07:05 PM
Ill be going to Logan. Its either Logan or Gold Coast for me and Gold Coast just seems too dingy. A friend is also going to Logan so ill be getting her feedback in a few weeks.

mandamum
11-03-2008, 07:37 PM
I am thinking about RPA in Sydney (Newtown) they have a birth centre, private and public options... but I have also heard good things about Nth Shore Private...do they have a birth centre (which is what I am leaning towards)... I live at Marrickville so RPA is soooo close...about 5mins drive... Royal Women's and Babies was also on my 'to check out list'... if anyone has any info i would love to hear...
ta
Chris

I'm going to RPA so far they've been really helpful, and answer all of my dumb questions.
They do information sessions you could ring up and check it out.

Electric Mumi
11-03-2008, 10:06 PM
I'll be going to the Mater Mother Private (brisbane) again. I had DD there and thought it was great and by then the new Hopsy will be open :happydance: Also my ob only delivers at the Mater.

Its very possible we will be there together girl. Im going public tho!! We might be doing the ol 1,2,3 PUUUUUSSHH together! haha :yelclap:

farmmummy
12-03-2008, 08:03 AM
Cool I've been accepted into the Mater Public too. I have my first appointment on the 2nd of April.

kirst85
12-03-2008, 08:14 AM
I was going to go to the Mater Public as i had my last two there, but i had my first at Logan and had no troubles at all, so i am thinking of trying them again they are closer. Just bit concerned as i have to have a c-sec and hope that they are as good as Mater as my first at Logan was vaginal.

farmmummy
12-03-2008, 08:28 AM
The reason I'm going to the Mater is because I want the best possible care for my baby. The local maternity didn't pick up a heart malformation in my son when he was born last year and let us go home only for us to go back the next day and loose him

Electric Mumi
12-03-2008, 11:19 AM
FARM MUMMY Im with you. After my boy being 4 months premature Im not taking any chances. The thing is tho, you have to live in the area to get into the Mater these days. Im so glad I moved to Holland Park in December so Im in the zone! Otherwise I prob would have had to go to bayside.
Im at the Mater a few days after you!
We might be in the same room together in September -October girl!!! :smiliedance:

farmmummy
12-03-2008, 11:30 AM
We should all try and catch up before October. I live 3 hours away and they let me in because of losing Jack, me wanting to go and me moving down for the last 4 weeks. I'm staying with DH aunty in Ipswich. So lucky they had 400 referals. I phoned and talked to the lady who liases with the GPs and at first they were not going to accept me but I explained heaps to her and she said yes. Get thoes bubhub ribbons ready lol. That would be cool at least I would be in good company to.

Electric Mumi
12-03-2008, 07:09 PM
We should all try and catch up before October. I live 3 hours away and they let me in because of losing Jack, me wanting to go and me moving down for the last 4 weeks. I'm staying with DH aunty in Ipswich. So lucky they had 400 referals. I phoned and talked to the lady who liases with the GPs and at first they were not going to accept me but I explained heaps to her and she said yes. Get thoes bubhub ribbons ready lol. That would be cool at least I would be in good company to.
Thats fabulous! Sometimes it takes the right person to back you doesnt it. You were meant to go to the Mater. A meet up sounds great!! Im a single mummy so Id love to have some other people I know there!!

farmmummy
12-03-2008, 08:44 PM
I had the direct number for the Midwife GP liason officer at the Mater (was searching for a decent hospy about 2 months ago and was speaking with a lady from Fetal Medicine and she gave me the info to book in ie referal and then I sent her an email the other week to find out when I would hear and she gave me all teh right number)

Hey I'm going to be both child and Dh free when I come down in 3 weeks time for my appointment so I'll be free to catch up for coffee etc (decafe of course)

Ffrenchstar
12-03-2008, 08:51 PM
We are trying to decide between :

1. Homebirth (obviously, no travel!)
2. Royal Brisbane Hospital Birth Centre (3 hours away)
3. Kingaroy Hospital 40 minutes
4. Gympie Hospital. 50 minutes

1st port of call is to put my name down for the birth centre in Brisbane and see if I get in again!:fingerscrossed:

All the girls going to the Mater....my husband just finished working there a few months ago and reckons both the public and private maternity wards are great.

Electric Mumi
13-03-2008, 12:57 AM
I had my 4 yr old there in public and it was great. Loads of staff and the food was fine. Ended up getting packed and I had to go upstairs to the private rooms (I was in there for over a week as Kane was 4 months premi) and the private rooms were OLD and stuffy, and hardly any staff! I believe it has been renovated now so I assume it is a load better!!

YacinesMommy
13-03-2008, 08:36 AM
Frenchie - so is the New Mater now finished??

happyhips
13-03-2008, 09:28 AM
Looks like quite a few mums are going to the Mater Mothers - I had my first baby there (public) and it was fantastic. Having this baby there as well but going private this time. No particular reason except that we've paid so much bloody money for private health insurance that we thought we may as well get some use out of it. I've heard that the new maternity hospital is opening in June so we should be lucky enough to be in it.
:fingerscrossed:

Tina33
14-03-2008, 09:51 AM
Hi Ladies:wave:,

I am from the outer eastern suburbs of Melbourne..I am having my bub at Knox Private..had my 2nd baby there and found it pretty good..I had my first at Freemasons in the City and loved it! They had the best food menu..they offered wine and beer as well..who would've thought!:yelclap:

buban
16-03-2008, 07:30 PM
Thanks for the info... but it looks like we got into the Birth Centre at RPA ...which turns out to be pretty fab!!! the facilities are amazing, the mid wives are lovely, and it turns out (despite mis=information from GP) that they are also happy to let you use pharmaceutical pain relief up to peth...if you want an epi you get rolled across the hall way. so i feel like i get the best of both worlds...without any risk.

buban
16-03-2008, 07:36 PM
I'm going to RPA so far they've been really helpful, and answer all of my dumb questions.
They do information sessions you could ring up and check it out.

Who knows we may have already seen each other in the wait rooms! are you going private or public? BTW they answered all my silly q's too... our first bub so there are lots of them!!!!

butimacheerleader
22-03-2008, 05:20 PM
My name is down for the RWBH Birth Centre too. 4 more weeks until we find out.
If not we will still be going to the RWBH I hadboth my other daughters there and it has always been great.

kas3
22-03-2008, 05:48 PM
Me -> Rockhampton Mater.

bubblespossumbear
28-03-2008, 09:10 AM
hi well if i decide not to go back home to nsw for the birth and i can make it to 38 weeks before my comps start then i take it that i have to go to hervey bay's hospial to give birth, but if i decide to go back home to nsw then itll be grafton base hospital, they are really good there and know my history and will take good care of me and bubs. but if my comps start up ill prob have to go to one in brissy somewhere to have bub early at like 36 weeks or whenever comps start, but i dont know what the drs and obs are like up here so i dont know what they will do once the comps start.

kirra
30-03-2008, 04:33 PM
Hey I am booked into frankston hospital thats where I had liam couldn't fault them for maternity as we had emergency c section.

But we may move up the country so if that happens hope to transfer to the Northern can't book into before hand until we move closer :no:

TwoOfUs
06-04-2008, 04:02 PM
Armadale hospital, Perth W.A

Mel-Jane
06-04-2008, 09:28 PM
SJOG Subiaco for me again this time

PinkLily
08-04-2008, 10:48 AM
I'll be in Armadale Hospital, WA too :)

naebie
08-04-2008, 08:11 PM
I'm off to Wollongong Hospital, and it seems as though I am the only one on here due in October from my area!

JumpingBean
11-04-2008, 01:55 PM
Another one from Brisvegas! Going to the RBWH. Had DD there, and it's great!:thumbsup:

Ffrenchstar
17-04-2008, 07:40 AM
Well, I have booked into GYmpie hospital....not 100% happy.....maybe we will have an unplanned homebirth!;);)

butimacheerleader
20-04-2008, 07:12 AM
We missed out on a place at the Birth Centre... thats cool.

We will labour at home for aslong as possiable.

vavavanny
20-04-2008, 09:34 AM
Frances Perry House - I would have much preferred Freemasons but my OB doesn't deliver there...

Emmi
20-04-2008, 05:10 PM
Im all booked in at St John of God in Berwick, Victoria. We had a tour of it on an open day when I was around 10 weeks and we booked in that same day! It doesnt seem like a hospital, more like a 5 star hotel! I cant wait! :yelclap: And it will be my first hospital stay ever.