View Full Version : Hello Darwin Mummies

Bree3
06-02-2008, 11:55

Well just a quick hello to get us started as i can hear the girls in my room which is not good :rolleyes:.

I will be back later to add some more.

Bye Carly

jodster
06-02-2008, 18:36
Hi Carly,
How was your day.Mine was pretty carp lol.
Hi hope your girls didnt trash your room

Just wondering,do any of you go to any playgroups?If so which one's do you go to?

Katy we don't live far from each other at all lol.Cant say I've noticed a Phil & Ted pram though,what's a phil & ted pram lmao.

Depending on whch end of the street you live at you may have seen me pushing a stroller with two walking kids in tow lol,Or a bertini shuttle.

Hope to talk to you soon

Bye for now

ktsonhunter
06-02-2008, 21:20
Spent most of my day chasing DS around, he's doing the 'army' crawl and he's got it so down pat, he's actually really quick! Before I know it he's playing with the video and DVD recorders, and trying to bite down on electrical cords... :eek:
Time to childproof the house!
DH & I are trying to plan a short break to Brisbane b4 I go back to work, it's all looking expensive though, do either of you know if hire car companies have car seats for kids? What do we do there? And would you take your own pram? We're only looking at going for a few days.
Gosh, first time mums ask so many questions!

Bree3
06-02-2008, 21:37

Yeah our day was ok, DD2 has been really clingy at the moment. It's hard to get things done when you have a 13 month old hanging off your leg all day lol. I got to the girls before they caused to much damaged in my room, my DD1 loves to get into my make up. I have been getting up and going to the gym in the mornings which has been pretty good, still have a long way to go though. My mum is a personal trainer so that helps and the gym has a creche which really helps.

I haven't been to any playgroups at all. I wanted to wait till the girls were abit older like now, sometimes it just seems to hard to even leave the house. My girls are only 14 months apart which has made going out a little hard at times.

Yeah i'm not sure what a phil and ted pram is either haha. I have heard of them but don't think i have seen one.

Bree3
06-02-2008, 21:46
Hey Katy,

Well i use to work for Hertz and you can hire car seats through them. I think it's around $15 a day so depending on how long you go for might be worth just taking your own. I would just get a cheap little stroller as they are light and don't take up much room. Not sure on what you can really do there as i have only been to Brisbane once which was back in my younger single days.

Let the fun begins, your DS will get into everything haha. Our house is constant war zone at the moment, it's only ever clean at night when everyone is asleep. How is your DS feeling sounds like he is doing ok.

ktsonhunter
07-02-2008, 10:58
Your very motivated to go to the gym in the mornings! I try to go when DH gets home from work, but I find the classes really hard on my muscles and joints, (it's my fault coz I was very lazy during pregnancy!)
I think we'll just hire a car seat and take our own pram. I can't believe a lot of hotels charge now for cots! how rude!
Yes, my mum told me when I was about 3years old, I got in to her make up and made her bedroom look pretty with her brightest red lipstick. I was meant to be sleeping!!
It must be nice to have a clingy bub, I wish DS was a bit clingier! Maybe that stage is yet to come.
So what are you both doing today? I'm going to take my library books back and that's about it! A bit of cleaning up wouldn't go astray either!
Chat soon...

jodster
07-02-2008, 13:35
Hi ladies :o)

How are we today?
My day has been ok so far,had to was DS1 to school this morning then walk home and the lovely lady next door offered to drive me to the shops(as i don't have my car atm) :o(
So did some shopping and have just been cleaning up today,nothing too exciting,having a roast for dinner tonight,just doing washing and all the boring stuff lol.
So are we still on for next tuesday?

Hope to chat soon

Jody

Bree3
07-02-2008, 15:11

Well i've just finished work and am about to do some housework also :(. I'll try and do as much as i can before i pick the girls up from childcare. Yes i'll be there next tuesday, do you think will know who each other are lol? Well just in case i will have a big pink, brown and cream stripped colour nappy bag you can't miss it.

Well better get back to it, talk to you ladies later.

ktsonhunter
07-02-2008, 20:48
Well my day turned out to be a bit busy! Had to go to work and pick up my contract, all sinking in now that the honeymoon is over :(
I am still soooooo unsure about childcare for DS, I am such a loser for not thinking about it and putting my name down at more places when I first fell pregnant. I had nooo idea about waiting lists and what to look for in a good place back then. Oh well, if he's not happy then I told DH that I'll quit work, DS comes first, totally. We'll live in a tent for all I care!
I reckon we'll all look a little lost on Tuesday! Although, I may have driven past you Jody today, walking home from school with pram and 2 little tikes? I am too shy to yell out your name just in case it's not you then :o lol!
If you need a ride anywhere tomorrow, just let me know I can take you if it's before 3pm. When do you get the car back? It's so frustrating isn't it. DH crashed his car when DS was a few weeks old and it took 5x weeks to fix, and me with no car make me :mad:
How was the roast? we had pizza, eeeow.

jodster
08-02-2008, 11:45

How has everyone's day been so far?My day has been pretty good.Not doing much today.I had to cancel my sons appointment which has been cancelled 3 times now to get his 18 month needles lol because of not having a car,and i dont really feel like walking to the health precinct(sp).
So now its for next friday.
I will have my car back "hopefully" by monday afternoon so at the moment i am still coming on tuesday if not i'll bloomin walk just to get out of the house and meet you lovely ladies :)
Katy if you cant find anyone to have your DS ill have him till you find somewhere that is good enough,save you the rushing around maybe.Anyway its up to you,walk him over in the morning b4 work and all set lol,Well ill have to take him to school with me but i'll work something out.Well i actually have a bertini pram with a toddler seat so my son can sit in the toddler seat and your son can sit in the pram bit,see all worked out hahaha.

Anyway yeah that was probably me that you saw walking.My little big boy would have been wearing his cute little uniform and if you saw the other two kiddies they have very curly hair,so you cant miss it lol.I think i had on a blue top and grey shorts,if so yeah that was short little me lol.
Hope you didnt see me getting frustrated cause the kids dwardle(sp) LOL.

Anyway i will let you know about tuesday,otherwise im definately there.

Talk soon
Jody

Bree3
08-02-2008, 14:06
Well i've just finished work for the day :smiliedance:, so now i'm at home where it is so quiet and peaceful lol. I don't have to pick the girls up until later this afternoon so i'm just going to sit around the house and do nothing. Well i might do a bit of a clean up first.

When i was pregnant i didn't think to put my name down for childcare either. I was just lucky we got in. If we had to go on a list i would have just taken them to the ABC in Stuart Park until i could get into the other one. Katy, maybe you should have a look into some family daycare like what Jody if offering, some i've heard are really good.

Well i'll be there on Tuesday looking forward to it.

ktsonhunter
08-02-2008, 14:34
Have just eaten quite a bit of ice-cream and feeling a little bloated:laughing:, at least when I'm back at work I won't eat out of boredom!! This is me, fridge-pantry, fridge-pantry, pantry-fridge.... all day long! Should move them so they are further apart and then the exercise between them would help! Sorry :ecomcity:
Might pay to have a chat on Tuesday about you looking after DS Jody, I can get him into ABC Stuart Park, and Early care Darwin City, but I just can't decide between the two! I wanted him to go to another one in Stuart Park but I'll be on a waiting list for another 6xmonths they reckon. I need help and advice.

Oh well, better put the ice cream tub in the bin and hide it from DH, :laughing:
Speak soon,

jodster
09-02-2008, 12:06

How are we today?Got many plans for the weekend?
WEll we don't cause we still dont have a car grrrrrrrr,its driving me crazy lol.You don't realise how much you'll miss your car till you don't have it :(

Carly,I'll be sure to look out for your bag on tuesday lol.Cant wait to meet you.

Going to check the forums about boobs lol.

Chat to you both soon

Jody

Bree3
11-02-2008, 12:00

I hope you Ladies had a good weekend, ours was pretty average. Although Blake and i went out to dinner on Saturday night which was nice, my parents looked after the girls for us.

Well i'm looking forward to tomorrow hope you are both able to make it. Jody have you got your car back yet?

jodster
11-02-2008, 12:47

I'm looking forward to tomorrow too,I just rang the car yard and they didnt get one of the parts in that was suppoed to come in this morning with the other one,so they said they will wait to see if it comes in with the 4:30pm deliveries if not it wont be ready until tomorrow arvo sometime :(
I would walk to the playshack but i think it might be a bit of a hike.
Then again i would have to walk my daughter up to the ABC so a little further and i would make it to the palmerston shops so maybe i can walk there if its not raining LOL.
We got wet walking Mitchell to school,was quite funny though,it was bucketing down this morning and we had to walk in it lol.
So atm it seems i wont have my car by the morning.
What time were we going to meet there??

Chat soon
Jody

Bree3
11-02-2008, 14:27
I think we are supposed to be meeting at around 11am. Would it be better for you if we made it for Wednesday instead? I would offer to pick you up but theres not enough room in my car. I have a small Nissan Pulsar and can only just get our 2 car seats in the back lol. One day i will get a new car, a really cool "soccer mum car" :laughing::fingerscrossed:.

:fingerscrossed: that you get your car back soon Jody.

ktsonhunter
11-02-2008, 14:57
Hope you both had a good weekend, I've come down with a bug or something, just tried to have a lay down but it's so windy everything's banging and noisy. Perhaps Wednesday would be good if we could meet then? I don't want to pass around anything! I should be over it by then. And hopefully Jody you will have your car back by then, if not, I can pick you up. I think it's a bit far to walk.
Can I ask you two, when did you start feeding your kids bread/toast? DS LOVES it! but he chokes, is this still ok, just keep an eye on him?

jodster
11-02-2008, 15:38

Wednesday is fine with me then if you can both make it on wednesday im so sorry to stuff you both around.I was looking forward to tomorrow.I can tell you now,we're not impressed with this car yard thats for sure.
They've had it since last wednesday for goodness sake!!!Grrrr
Katy i gave my kids toast at around 4-5 months but i only gave them the crusts to suck on,i never gave them a whole quarter or soldier or whatever until they were about 9-10 months they just loved there weetbix and toast crusts lol.
I think toast would be fine as long as you keep an eye on him,plus it goes all mushy ewwww i hated picking slimy bread up off the floor haha.
Take care ladies,talk soon

Ps.katy i hope you feel better soon

Jody

Bree3
11-02-2008, 18:39
So we will meet on Wednesday at what time, 11am still? If it is ok can we maybe make it for 10am? sorry to be a pain it's just that the girls normally go down for their nap at around noon.

Katy i think i started to give the girls toast/bread at around 6 or 7 months. I just gave them little bit's at a time and kept an eye on them. They didn't really choke much when i gave it to them so i'm not sure about. Maybe just ask the CHN when you see them next. Sorry i couldn't help anymore and i hope you start to feel better soon.

jodster
11-02-2008, 20:17

Im happy to make it anytime between 9 and 10am.I take my son to school at 8:05 then my daughter to CC after that and usually get out of there around 8:30am so "IF" i have my car back by then LOL i might just hang around the shops till you guys get there or whatever but im happy either way.My son goes down for a sleep after lunch so im happy to meet whenever.

Let me know how you both go with the times and ill definately be there otherwise there will be a few unhappy FORD service men around LOL.

Chat soon

Jody

ktsonhunter
12-02-2008, 20:16
I am still feeling under the weather, but getting better I think. You two should meet tomorrow, and if I'm up to it, I'll be there, but probably not til around 11am. I'd like to know what this play shack is all about so if you've gone before I get there no worries, DS loves watching other kids so he'll be entertained no matter what!
He's started whinging from about 4pm onwards now, don't know what it's all about but it's driving me nuts:devil6: I think he's bored. Tried just giving him the crusts of his toast to see how that goes, he still choked a little but not as bad, he just tries to stuff too much in at once!!
Hope to see you both tomorrow,
Katy

Bree3
12-02-2008, 21:13

Katy thats a shame that you feel sick still, hopefully you feel better tomorrow. Your DS might be teething, My DD2 did the same thing at around the same age and then a week later she had a tooth. She's teething at the moment which is annoying because she's waking 2 - 3 times a night :hair:. This morning we got up at 4.30am because i couldn't get her back to sleep. I'm so tired now but i have to wait for the washing before i go to bed.

Well let us know if you guys are able to make it because if you both can't i won't come down. If you can i'll be there around 10am, so hopefully you can both make it.

Jody, did you get your car back today?

jodster
12-02-2008, 21:16

How are we today??
Well,i am soooooooooooo mad,i still haven't got my car back yet,the stoopid Ford mob ordered the wrong part *cry* so obviously they cant fix it till they get a new part.They said they might try take it off a new car they have their if not we will have to wait to get our car back till friday.
We are so mad its not funny,we will not be taking our car there again,we will go somewhere else from now on.
So i was thinking i could just walk tomorrow LOL.I should be up there by 9am ish.
So ladies let me know if you still wanna meet if not i wont walk there lol,if not we can make it sometime next week.
Sorry i have let you guys down i really didnt think it would take this long to get the car organised.

Hope to chat soon
Jody

I hope you feel 100% again soon Katy

ktsonhunter
13-02-2008, 09:27
If anything I'm feeling worse this morning, after not much sleep last night, DS just gone down again so I'm going to do the same. I'm really sorry, hopefully I can meet you both very soon!
Jody you should get stuck in to the those Ford mob, they are useless!
GOodnight

jodster
14-02-2008, 12:11

How are we today?How is the rain LOL.
I got my car back yesterday woooohoooo finally!!!
Im all good for a meet next week.
How are you going Katy,are you feeling better?

How is Kaylee going Carly is she doing ok?

Hope you girls are both well and i hope to catch up soon

Jody

Bree3
14-02-2008, 14:38
Hi Jody & Katy,

Sorry again Jody that i had to cancel yesterday, Kaylee is still sick and still waking up around 3 to 4 times a night. I had to bring her to work with me this morning which was hard because i couldn't really do anything. Blake ended up finishing work early so she is now with him so i could actually get some work done. I'm just so tired though i hope she sleeps better tonight.

Jody thats great your setting up your own family day care, if you need someone to do the books for you let me know. Thankyou for the offer but i might keep the girls where they are. Only because i work in town and we live pretty close to town, there isn't any need for me to go into Palmerston. If we ever move out there maybe i can get on your waiting list then. When you are up and running let me know though because i'll let a few people know about you, if you want.

Katy are you feeling better?

Yes i am all keen to meet up next week :fingerscrossed: Kaylee is better by then.

Well better get back to work now before my step dad comes back lol.

Bye

ktsonhunter
15-02-2008, 08:34
Hi Jody & Carly
I've had a rough couple of days, this has turned in to a very nasty flu so I hope you don't catch it.
I took DS to his childcare centre yesterday, I literally dragged us there and had to drug myself up to feel up to it. After letting him play there for a while, I know he'll be ok there as he's easy to look after really, but I don't have a great feeling about the staff, one has a very prominent chinese accent and I had to keep asking her to repeat what she was saying, and the other just seemed a bit 'cold'. Jody when would you be ready to start your family day care? I am very keen to know more now. I don't know anything about family day care, perhaps you could give me a call? I'll pm you my number.
I hope Kaylee is feeling better soon, I don't know how you cope working and not getting much sleep!
I hope we can meet next week too, surely I will be over this damn flu by then!
Katy

jodster
16-02-2008, 20:54
Hi ladies how are you??

Katy how are you going with your cold,I hope your feeling better.Was great to catch up on the phone the other day.I have rang and hopefully receive more forms on monday and then i will go have an interview with them and then the ball starts rolling.Woooo hoo so excited.
Already planning so much stuff.Can't wait.

How are you going Carly?How is Kaylee?I hope she is doing much better.
Hopefully we can catch up one day next week ladies.That will be great cant wait for that either.
Will be alot of fun.
Anyhow you two take care.
Chat soon
Jody

Bree3
16-02-2008, 22:23

Well Kaylee is alot better, still a bit of a runny nose but thats it. However i am now sick lol, i feel really yuck and can't get comfy to go to sleep which is prolly why i am still up. I so hope that we are all ok by the time we meet up next week.

Katy, how are you feeling now? i hope you are starting to feel better.

Jody, thats so wonderful that everything is starting to come together. Did DHA approve everything for you? Oh and with the books if you ever get stuck just give us a call, i wouldn't charge you or anything like that lol. It's all just practise for me, you would be doing me the favour.

Alright well i'm gonna have a quick look at my facebook and then try and get some sleep. Goodnight and i hope you guys enjoy the rest of your weekend. At least there is something good to watch on TV tomorrow night :smiliedance:.

jodster
16-02-2008, 22:40
Hi Carly,
Ohh nooo you guys are both sick,i hope i dont get cybersick from you two ladies spreading your germs through the forums LOL.
I haven't rang DHA yet,I am ringing them on Moday morning,i shouldn't have a problem,well atleast i hope i dont LOL.
I have facebook too if you wanna add me,ill pm you my full name.
I hope you feel better soon
Take care sleep well
Jody

ktsonhunter
17-02-2008, 09:07
I don't think Ive ever been sick for so long! I just can't shake it! Thank goodness for cold and flu tablets!
I'm on facebook too so I'll pm you both my full name too.
I'm excited now about not having to leave DS with those people at ABC, when I think about it, every time I've been there, there has been a little kid crying their eyes out and being ignored holding on to the gate just screaming to get out. I understand all kids cry but they could at least try being distracted with a game or something... I dunno.
So I hope everything gets approved for you Jody, I'm very excited for you. I think it's a great thing you are doing.
Carly I hope you haven't got this flu, probably the worst flu I've ever had. Amazingly, I haven't passed it on to DH or DS?? ....... Yet!!
Have a great Sunday,
Katy

jodster
17-02-2008, 21:34

How has your weekend been?
Mine has been pretty cruisy.Wen't to Mindil beach today with DP and kiddies,they had a play on the fort their and had some fun,then wen't to maccas so today was pretty good.

Katy i hope you knock this cold on the head soon i hate being sick.
Carly i hope your feeling ok too.

How are your plans for this week going?Do you two think you might be up for a meet maybe tuesday or whenever suits you :)

Katy Thats horrible about the kids crying at the gate its so horrible to see.When i took gemma to daycare last week there was a little boy punching a little girl and i said to the lady "Uhmm that little boy is punching that girl" ad she said *whatever his name is*
Anyhow my daughter wont be going there once i have this little FDC set up,it will be great.
Im also deciding who i'm going to go through,whether it be Darwin FDC Agency or Kentish FDC Agency as these agencies take a percentage or the hourly rate that i charge.So i will see who charges what as im waiting on forms from both.

Stay safe both of you,and give all kiddies big cuddles.
Chat soon
Jody

ktsonhunter
18-02-2008, 10:52
Ooooh what a night, I was up :barf: all night long every hour, DH said I probably got food poisoning from the fish I ate for dinner last night, he had chicken so was ok. Between that and the flu, perhaps a bullet to the head would fix this old girl up! :laughing: Trying to get a doctors appointment in palmerston is REDICULOUS!! DH can't stay home unless I have a doctors note :hissy: I just need rest.
Anyway, I'll sleep well tonight.
I reckon I'll be ok to meet this week, Carly I hope your not suffering too much and feel ok.

Yep just keep me informed Jody of what I need to do to enroll in your day care, I'd love to have some sort of plan before I go back to work so I don't have to worry about DS, although I still will worry, comes with being a mother hey?!
Speak soon x

Bree3
18-02-2008, 11:12
Oh Katy you poor thing :hugs:. My DH thinks he ate something dodgy last night too cause he was up most of the night doing the same thing. I'm still abit yuk but think i'm starting to get better :smiliedance:. I hate being sick cause it's not like i can just curl up in bed all day anymore. Kaylee has still got a snotty nose but she seems to be ok . I thought maybe we could try and meet up on Wednesday as that would give us some more time to get better. Where would you guys want to meet up? At the playshack? or even at mu house if you want too? or even if someone wants to do it at theres? It doesn't worry me where.

Oh yeah i saw pictures of your kiddies on facebook last nigh and they are all soooo cute. Jody i love the curly hair it's so beaustiful, do they get it from you or your partner? My girls have curls, Maddy more so and i just love them. Katy you DS is so cute, Maddy was sitting on my lap when i was looking and she kept saying "baby" baby" "beautiful" and then decided that he was sleeping and started say "shhh baby sleeping". It was the most she has ever said all at once.

Well better go as i have a fair bit of washing to catchup on. My Dh was like superman on the weekend looking after the girls, cleaning and even cooking dinner and then doing the dishes. The washing was the only thing he didn't get too which was fine, i got to have a rest which was just wonderful.

jodster
18-02-2008, 11:24
Goodmorning ladies.

Well i have had an interesting yet frustrating morning.
I have rang the day care assoc. this morning and spoke to them and they told me about the courses and stuff then i rang dha and i have to fax them a letter which is fine,then i told the day care assoc. i will call them back before 12 and guess what,both numbers have been disconnected LOL.Their course started this weekend but the other one didnt start until may so if i went with them i wouldnt be up and running until then,but Katy i will still have him at whatever price you would have paid your CCC i dunno maybe 20 a day but you would get no CCB.
How frustrating.I can't believe a FDCA can have its phones disconnected LMAO.

Carly and Katy i'm happy to meet wherever on wednesday thats fine with me.
I saw both of your families pics on facebook too last night and they are all just beautiful.
My kids get their curls from their daddy of course i dont have any curls lol.They always get comments on their hair. :)

I had a bit of an upset stomach this morning so i hope im not catching anything lol.
Talk to you both soon and i hope you get better soon too.

Jody

jodster
18-02-2008, 13:25

Well finally some contact.I have a meeting with them tomorrow at 1 wooohoooooooo yipeeeee,its going to go pretty smoothly from here i think :o)So excited.
After the interview they will come check my house out then i have to go do a course this weekend sat & sun all day and all day monday and the following weekend.Then do my first aid and then go sit in a three different family day carers houses then just wait for confirm from DHA and i should be all up and running,now i just hope DHA say yes sheesh.

jodster
18-02-2008, 22:10
Hello ladies how are you both going?
I hope your both feeling better now?I'm keen to catch up wednesday just let me know where and ill be there,or we can have it at my house i dont mind.
Let me know what you prefer?
Jody

ktsonhunter
19-02-2008, 09:57
Morning ladies
Hmmm, turned out not to be food poisoning but a wog of some sort, I have been cleaning up spew and poo all day yesterday from DS and now DH feeling sick, oh my god, will it just end!!Going to Doctor at 12.30 today all three of us. I think I'm on the mend though... :fingerscrossed:
Well Jody you are going to be very busy for the next few weeks it sounds like! I hope it all does go smoothly for you. Do you know what you will be charging when your business is up and running? I'd be happy to pay that and when it is running claim the ccb then.

I think DS and I will be fine by tomorrow, and I don't mind where we meet, my house is a bit small and not much fun for older kids to run around in, but happy to meet at play shack or either of your houses.
We are hopefully picking up our new car today, maybe this afternoon once we have been to doctors if we're all well enough. We bought a Mazda3, downgrading our Magna because of all the driving in to the city I'll be doing when back at work and Petrol is skyrocketing so hopefully save some dosh there too. A little bit of excitement in the midst of one very sick household...!!!
Speak soon,

daisy4300
19-02-2008, 14:55

I'm another Palmerston mum and i haven't been in here for a while.
Just thought i'd say a quick hi.
I noticed a few of you mentioned facebook, I'm also on facebook.

Bree3
19-02-2008, 15:47
Hello Ladies,

Hey Veronica welcome back, how have you been? have you had your baby yet?

Katy you poor thing i hope things ease up for you soon. Pretty exciting about getting a new car tomorrow, i can't wait for the day we can get a new one. Our car is only small too so fuel wise i can't complain.

Jody i hope everything got sorted out for you today. I also hope DHA approves it for you, i can't see why they wouldn't. Will be an interesting couple of weeks for you though.

Maybe we could just aim to meet up at the play shack tomorrow. You guys can come here if you want but i just thought it might be easier for you guys if we stayed around Palmerston. Anyways i'm sure will work it out.

Well my DH is on guard duty tonight so i'm gonna be all on my own once the girls go to bed. Well at least i'll get to use the internet tonight :smiliedance:.

daisy4300
19-02-2008, 19:18
Hey

No baby yet. I'm 40 wks today and still no sign of him. Hoping it won't be much longer now.

jodster
19-02-2008, 22:01
Hi Veronica,

How are you?its nice to meet you :)

Im happy to go to the playshack tomorrow,what time would you like to meet?

Hopefully i'll see you then

Jody

Bree3
19-02-2008, 22:26
Well i'll go down at around 10am, just let me know if you guys can make it or not.

jodster
19-02-2008, 22:46
Hi Carly,

I'll be there,see you at 10.
Hope to see you there too Katy

See you then :)

Jody

ktsonhunter
20-02-2008, 08:58
Hello
Hi Veronica, nice to meet you, I hope everything goes well with your labour and you don't have to wait too much longer.

I hope to be at Playshack this morning, if anything I may just be a little late, depending on when DS wakes.

C ya soon!
Katy

Bree3
20-02-2008, 10:27
Hi guys this is carly's husand she is really sick toady and may be going o hospital, she says she is really sorry and hopes to catch up real soon.

ktsonhunter
20-02-2008, 11:08
Oh no, hope it's not the dreaded virus we've all just had as we thought we'd end up in hospital too, big hugs to you all :hugs: and I hope your ok...
Speak soon
Katy

jodster
20-02-2008, 11:50
I hope your ok too Carly.

I went to the playshack today and Katy let me know your husband wrote on the forum but it was good to get out and ryan had heaps of fun there anyway.
well im off to put my little man to bed now and i'll chat to you ladies later.

Bye for now
Jody

Bree3
20-02-2008, 19:04

I'm so sorry again for today. I woke up this morning about 5am and couldn't stop :barf:. It was really horrible went to the hospital where they kept me until about an hour ago. They think i have just been really unlucky and manage to catch another virus just as the other one had finished. Still feeling a bit yuk now but they gave me some medicine to stop me from throwing up which is helping abit.

I hope you guys had a good time today and sorry again.

ktsonhunter
20-02-2008, 19:29
Yep sounds like the same thing I had, got the flu then all that :barf: I felt better 24hrs later but still am off food a bit, great stuff now though coz I've lost 2kg!:laughing:

Well DS is has real bad diahrroea for past 3 days now and has bad nappy rash, does anyone know what I should do? I keep reading conflicting information saying to stop feeding him his formula, or some say give half strength formula?? He's not vomiting but his poor little bottom, ouch, is giving him hell.
Might just ring doctor tomorrow or see chemist might be a good idea.
Oh well, hope you feel better soon Carly, rest up.
Katy

jodster
20-02-2008, 23:08

carly - good to hear that your doing ok and i hope you feel better soon,was nice of your husband to come on and let us know.
Playshack was good,but the owners daughter(dunno if you know her) was there and she spat on the fort in the babies room gosh it was discusting and she didnt even clean it up,was so horrible.

Katy - Good to hear that your doing ok too,Your poor little boy,its sad when they have a sore bottom.I found with my first two the johnson and johnson cream worked best on their bottoms,but with my youngest the sudocream worked the best and its a fairly thick paste that stays on their bottom.If you havent tried that maybe give that a go.Also if you havent you could give him some free nappy time,would be good if u know when he usually does a poop so you can give him the free nappy time between that lol.
I have never been told to give asprin to babies though,interesting,i always assumed asprin wasn't so good cause its a blood thinner,i could be wrong but thats what ive heard.
Also nice that you lost 2kgs lol.
have a great sleep ladies and i hope your all feeling better soon.

Jody

daisy4300
22-02-2008, 11:16
Hope your all feeling better soon. Hubby has had the stomach bug as well. Nasty thing it is.

ktsonhunter
22-02-2008, 14:02
Hope everyone is feeling better?
DS is starting to get better, pharmacist gave me some good cream for his little tooshie and giving him gastrolyte too for dehydration. YAY!

I'm heading out to a lingerie party tonight without DS or DH, only the 2nd time i've been out at night without either of the two!

We should all plan to meet up next week, I'm free all next week...

Happy Friday everyone! :)

jodster
22-02-2008, 17:53

How is everyone,hope everyone is feeling better.
Im happy to catch up next week too,monday is out but every other day is fine.

Will be great to catch up

Chat soon

Take care all

Jody

daisy4300
22-02-2008, 19:53
Gday everyone

Once i've had this little man it would be great to get together with you all and meet you. My midwife was around tonight and i'm 5 cm dilated so hopefully this weekend sometime he'll arrive. Not long now.

ktsonhunter enjoy your lingerie party. And great to hear DS is getting better.

Bree3
23-02-2008, 10:37
Hello Ladies,

Well we are all on the mend here, finally. Well besides DH as he got his tonsils (sp?) taken out on Thursday so he is a little sore atm.

I would love to try and catch up next week, there is nothing stopping me anymore :fingerscrossed: lol. I even have my parents car for 2 weeks so i won't even have car troubles.

Katy i hope you had a good night at your lingerie party, i bet you thought about your DS and DH the whole time, i do it all the time when i'm not with them lol.

Veronica i hope everything goes well for you this weekend, sounds like you don't have long to go at all.

Well better get back to it, hope you are all well and talk to you all soon.

daisy4300
24-02-2008, 21:24
He's here girls!!!

Charlie Edward was born at 8:16am sat morn. I woke at 7am with my first contraction. He was 4.48kg or 9p 14o. My biggest!! Hc 36.6cm and 53cm long.

http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee31/daisy4300/Kids/Charlie.jpg

Bree3
24-02-2008, 21:33
CONGRATULATIONS

Thats wonderful news Veronica, i hope you and Charlie are doing well. He is so cute and looks like he was a good size. Well done and congratulations again.

jodster
24-02-2008, 22:47

Congratulations veronica on your new little baby.I hope your both doing well.

Sorry i havent been as talkative it's been pretty full on the last few days.Im keen for a meet one day this week if your all up for it.
Let me know when your all available and we'll arrange to meet somewhere or at my place maybe have morning tea or something.Or we can meet somewhere.
I hope everyone is well,
Talk soon
Jody

ktsonhunter
25-02-2008, 09:26
Congratulations Veronica! He's cute, and just a fraction bigger than my DS, he was 4.280kg's.

I am free any time / day this week so I can work around you all if you like. I just have to go shopping for work clothes without DS or DH this week, none of my pre pregnancy clothes fit, still got a few kg's to lose... any excuse to go shopping :laughing:

Hope to meet you all this week!
Katy

Bree3
25-02-2008, 19:29
Hello Ladies,

What are you all up too tomorrow? Though we could meet up. I'm happy to meet where ever as long as my kids can't get into too much trouble :rolleyes:.

jodster
25-02-2008, 22:27
Good to hear that everyone is doing better.
Veronica your little man is adorable.
I would prefer to catch up wednesday or thursday if that's ok with everyone?
I dont mind if everyone wants to mosey over to my house,if not playshack or other is fine.
Let me know what you would like to do and if those days are ok with you all.
Hopefully be catching up this week sometime :)
chat soon

Jody

Bree3
25-02-2008, 22:37
Can we do it on Wednesday then? I work on Thursdays and Fridays. Jody i am happy to go to your place if thats what you want to do, it would be cheaper then going to playshack. If we meet up on Wednesday is it alright with everyone if we meet in the morning like around 10ish?

jodster
25-02-2008, 22:48
Im very happy to have it at my house on wednesday.I will supply some morning tea and some tea and coffee.10ish is also fine with me.
Katy and veronica if your up to coming let me know.
Hopefully we'll be able to catch up then,would be great :)

Jody

daisy4300
26-02-2008, 05:57
Jody, that sounds lovely but at this stage i'll give it a miss. Charlie and I have been trying to establish a feeding routine so I haven't had much sleep. The dreaded sleep deprivation is kicking in, lol, so will be trying to get as much sleep as I can while hubby is on holidays. Will definately take a raincheck though, Thankyou.:)

ktsonhunter
26-02-2008, 09:35
Good morning all
I'll definitely be there tomorrow Jody, I'll try and put DS down a little earlier in the morning so he's awake around 10, if not I'll be a little late and stroll over when he wakes up.

I hope you get some sleep Veronica, and good luck with the routine.

Katy

ktsonhunter
26-02-2008, 15:25
Well I think DS is changing his routine on me... Noooooo!!! Lately he's been screaming when I try to put him down in the afternoon, and today he just wouldn't stop crying so I put him down on the floor and he's been happily playing ever since.
Do you think this is his way of telling me he's ready for one day sleep? Seems a bit too young, he's only 7 and a half months old!!??

When did your kids start going down to one day sleep? Man he's gona be cranky tonight!

Oh well, it will be better for you Jody as it will fit in with your day better especially when having to pick up kids from school etc...

jodster
26-02-2008, 20:45
How are we all this evening?

Katy,how long does he normally sleep for on his morning and afternoon sleeps?
My kids cut out their two a day sleeps at around 1 but not at 7 months sheesh that must be a pain,i think he would still need it at this age.
Be persistant :)
I will hopefully see you ladies tomorrow i have got some morning tea for us....oh bugger.i forgot the tea bags lol/
I hope you both like coffee or milo LMAO
Actually i have to go have a blood test in the morning so ill get some after that.
Ill see you ladies at around 10.
Let me know if there are any problems.
Jody

ktsonhunter
26-02-2008, 21:00
Well DS actually coped ok this evening, he had his morning sleep which was 1 & 1/2 hrs which is normal then he fell asleep while I was feeding him at 3pm which would suggest he can't go from being awake from 10.30am all the way through til his bed time of 7pm! I'll keep going with the afternoon sleep, he normally sleeps an hour and half for both of his 2x sleeps during the day, and gets 12hrs overnight, so it wouldn't suprise me if he did need to drop a day sleep.
I got some biccies to bring tomorrow for us, I cheated though and bought them :o he he!
If DS is still sleeping at 10 I'll come over without him and DH will bring him over when he wakes up!
I'll bring some tea bags too...

See ya's tomorrow! :wave:

jodster
26-02-2008, 21:57
Great cant wait.
See you tomorrow :)

Bree3
26-02-2008, 22:03
Hello Ladies,

Sounds like he still might need the two sleeps Katy, my two didn't drop their morning sleep till about one either. They did however do the same as your DS at the same age but not for long.

Jody you don't have to get any tea for me as i don't drink tea or coffee, i will be very happy with a milo though :D. I also got some muffins for tomorrow, i couldn't help me self they are really little bite size ones they just look so yummy. I'll see how they turn out though because when it comes to cooking i'm not the best lol.

Alrighty well i guess i will see you ladies tomorrow.

jodster
27-02-2008, 21:28

Thanks for coming over today it was great!!!!!

It was nice to meet you carly and your girls are just beautiful :D

Hopefully we can do it again sometime soon.

Jody

Bree3
29-02-2008, 11:12

It was lovely to meet you both also and both of your little boys are so cute. Katy i wished i could have stayed abit longer to see more of Hunter. By the time i got to the end of the street both girls were just about asleep so it's a good thing we left when we did, they get pretty grumpy when they are tired.

Well DH has been in and out of hospital the past couple of days. He is having some complications following the operation last week. He is ok though they just need to monitor him and find out whats going on.

I hope you are all well and i will talk to ya's soon.

ktsonhunter
29-02-2008, 19:37
Hey Carly
I hope your DH is ok and you don't have to spend too much time at the hospital. Must be frustrating when they don't know what or why it's happening.
Oh well, only one week left at home with DS til I go back to work :( I have been shopping my little legs off to make me feel better! :yelclap:

Veronica how's the routine going with Charlie? getting any more sleep? Hope so...
Speak soon
Katy

daisy4300
01-03-2008, 10:43
Hey girls

Yeh the routine has been going well. He is sleeping a lot better now and we have a bit of a pattern now which is great cause i've managed to get some sleep.
Hubby hasn't been very well. He's been on holidays for 3 wks now and been sick the whole time and he never gets sick. It appears he is finally on the mend although he still is trying to shake a migraine that he's had for the last 4 or so days. Claire-Rose came home sick from child care yesterday and i was running a temp last night so hopefully we'll pick up quickly so maybe we can enjoy the last week of hubby's holidays before he goes back.

Bree3
04-03-2008, 18:07

How have you all been? good i hope. Well we have had the worst luck the last couple of weeks with everyone getting sick, DH having his operation then having so many problems now Kaylee has a ear infection. I took her too the Doctors yesterday and he said her ear drum was so red and inflammed so put her antibiotics. My poor little girl, at first i just thought she was teething but when she started screaming non stop i knew it had to be more. Maddy hasn't had an ear infection as yet so i really didn't know what was going on. Anyways she has settled alot since yesterday so that is good, hopefully it will all clear up soon.

My parents get back tomorrow which is abit bitter sweet as i will have to give them back the Kluger :( but at the same time it will be great to have them back.

alrighty better go as it's bath time here and the girls are pretty much trying to get in fully clothed, no water in there yet though lol.
Cya's

Carly

ktsonhunter
05-03-2008, 19:37
Wow, I'm counting down the days til I go back to work, only one weekend left :( DS will be fine though, I'm sooo glad he's not clingy, (but it would kinda be nice :)) It will be so much easier to leave him if he's not crying out for me. In a way it will be good to go back to work coz I have really got stuck in to online shopping and let me tell you... it's a bit addictive!!

So ear infection hey, ouch, I guess kids get them quite regularly?? Hope it clears up soon for Kaylee, at least it can't be passed on like a cold. I hope your hubby has pulled up ok since the operation and complications.
Well this storm is really coming down, hope DS stays asleep... he's started waking at like 5.30am and not really wanting to go back to sleep. HMMM, I wish they would just be consistant :laughing:
Speak soon.
Katy

Seacretsquirrel
05-03-2008, 22:05
Hi there ladies,
I have a DD 14 mths and I would love to meet some other mums in the area. DH is in the Defence so we have just moved back here after being in Melb for 3 yrs. I know a few people but am always keen to meet new people.

Bree3
05-03-2008, 22:20
Hi Catriona716,

My husband is also in the defence and we have a 2.5 yr old DD and a 14 month old DD. We just had our first meet just over a week ago which i thought went pretty well for a first meet. We will have to do it again so definately come along.

Katy, my girls are doing the same with the waking up at 5:30 am :hair:. Your DS might go through abit of clingy stage at around 9 months it's quite common, both my girls did. Something to do with them relising that you are a seperate being to them and that sometimes you are not always around, don't quote me on that but it's just what i heard.

Well i'm back driving around my cosy little nissan pulsar :rolleyes:. I already miss the Kluger, i'm sad arn't i :laughing: but it was just so nice not having to bend down to put the kids in their car seats. Ah one day i will have my very own Kluger :fingerscrossed:.

Well i'm off to bed just in case it's another early start in the morning.

Goodnight all

daisy4300
08-03-2008, 11:23
Hi catriona716

welcome to the group!!!!:)

Bree3
08-03-2008, 11:35
Hello Ladies,

I hope you all are well, finally everyone in my house is :smiliedance:. Kaylee has even gone back to sleeping through the night.

Katy are you excitied about going back to work tomorrow? it is tomorrow isn't it?

I just had a quick question, do any of you know anything about salary scrafice? Apparently they do it in the Army, a few of DH work friends have used it to buy cars. I can't make up my mind if it would be any good or not. Our car is almost 10 years old and it's getting to the stage now that the cost of repairs are more then what the car is actually worth. I just thought that this might be a better way to go then another car loan. It would be great if my car just held out long enough for us to save for a new one but that could take awhile. I don't know what to do.

jodster
08-03-2008, 12:51
Hello everyone,

Im glad everything is going well for everyone.

Carly,a friend of mine from sydney has also bought a car on salary sacrifice,and i think its a great idea,we might do that when we have paid this car we have off to buy me a parado.
Salary sacrifice as i understand it is that they take the money out of your pay before you get paid so you pay less tax,the amount also includes rego and a petrol card.So you never pay for petrol LOL.How cool is that!!!
It has to be organised through the defence though so give them a call and they will tell you the website,it works out how much will come out of the pay,so you know how much it will be less.It is also alot cheaper than getting finance through a finance company.
Let me know how you go with that.
I thought the first meet went fine too for a first meet,though no one liked my food :D
I hope to do another one soon too
Anyhow have a great weekend
Jody

Bree3
08-03-2008, 19:55
Thanks Jody, yeah it sounds really good which makes me worry. Just with whole "if it's too good to be true" thing but i suppose we can just check it out and see how it goes. It would be great tp have a nive new car. Blake and i had yesterday afternoon to our selves yesterday as i finished work early so we went and had a look at some cars. I would love to get one of those Mazda cx7's they are so nice and would suit us perfectly.

Jody, i liked your food. I was pretty nervous at your place which is why i proberely didn't eat much, i'm a bit weird like that lol.

Anyways i've got to go as Blake want's "his" computer back :rolleyes:.

cya

ktsonhunter
09-03-2008, 15:55
Hello everyone and welcome catriona716!
Wow, the tears have started already :( I thought I was a bit excited to be going back to work, turns out they are butterflies in my stomach and I'm really nervous and sad :gloomy:
Oh well, hopefully I will be too busy tomorrow to notice missing my DS (yah right!)

I just have to vent here for a second, bear with me... It was my birthday yesterday and my two best friends didn't even call me or email me, for one of them its been 2 years in a row... sorry, hope not to seem petty but I am adopted and birthdays are a bit hard for me... they know that too!! I'm just disappointed I guess.
Ok best to snap out of it, Carly I would really look in to salary sacraficing, as it may look good short term, in that you can get any car you want with no price limit almost, but in the long term you'll really need to look at how the interest rates on a personal loan would stack up against salary sacraficing. I looked at it with my job about a year and a half ago and found it to be cheaper to go with a personal loan. But it would be different with each company.

Jody, I liked your food! I'll lick the plates clean next time :laughing:

Ok gotta go, wish me luck and happy vibes for tomorrow pleeeeeeeeeeease!! he he :fingerscrossed:
Katy

Bree3
09-03-2008, 18:27
Hello

:hugs: to you Katy for tomorrow i'll be thinking of you. Happy Birthday for yesterday too and i don't think you are being petty at all. They are your good friends so they would have known what it would have ment to you for them to call you at least. I hope you start to feel better soon. Happy Birthday again and i hope you still had a nice day.

Thankyou also for the advice on the Salary scrafice thing. I think we are just going to save up for one of those Ford station wagons. They are the way to go for us at the moment i think, i don't want anymore debt ever again well except a mortgage of course but only cause i have too.

Well better be off and i'll talk to ya's soon.

Seacretsquirrel
12-03-2008, 07:35
I just had a quick question, do any of you know anything about salary scrafice? Apparently they do it in the Army, a few of DH work friends have used it to buy cars. I can't make up my mind if it would be any good or not. Our car is almost 10 years old and it's getting to the stage now that the cost of repairs are more then what the car is actually worth. I just thought that this might be a better way to go then another car loan. It would be great if my car just held out long enough for us to save for a new one but that could take awhile. I don't know what to do.[/quote]

I know of a couple of people who have salary sacrificed vehicles it also includes servicing too however the repayments take this into consideration so they can be very high (one friend was paying over $800 dollars per fortnight for a new ford ute) so make sure you do your homework and check that the repayments are not going to cost more than you would pay for fuel and services and stuff normally.:detective:

KJEmum
14-03-2008, 17:45
Hey all, I used to live in Darwin for 2yrs and moved in December to WA and jodster . . I know you from elsewhere(anna-nt here).

Anyways I know someone who did the salary sacrifice too .. they have to travel a certain amount of k's per year aswell and if you don't I think there is a consquence.. My friend drove from Darwin to Perth to get through that as they are both serving members and didn't do much driving through the year.

I thought about salary sacrifice myself (with DH's salary of course lol) but we already have a personal loan and didn't think we'd be well off afterwards although it looks better for Centrelink payments having a reduced annual income.

As it turns out with an inheritance I recently received, we traded our 93 Falcon sedan in for a 2000 Falcon Wagon. Loving it completely and enjoying having power front windows, aircon that works (which was a ***** not having it in Darwin), and room to put our dog. Was a bit squashy once #3 came around.

Also if you're Defence I've made a thread in the 'armed forces' forum about some defence spouse websites and message boards which I am a member of as they come in handy when you have questions like that.

Anna