View Full Version : Help with Childcare costs? JET Scheme

Julez82
04-02-2008, 10:54

I start my degree end of Feb and have tried to spread the workload with my subjects by taking 2 units externally and the other 5 spread over 2.5 days per week. The other 2.5 days per week I will be working for my current employer.

I receive PPS but have no clue about any other financial assistance I might be entitled to.

My daughter is in full time childcare, which I do receive the Childcare Benefit for. I have heard that I may be entitled to the JET scheme, and after looking into it briefly I read that you only get it for 12 months, so I was thinking of applying for it in my last year of my degree as I won't be able to take any units externally that year.

How do all the other single mums who are studying cope?

Jules

Teley
04-02-2008, 21:00
:laughing:JET is a sad joke for me....the people who are in it for the long haul i.e. uni students, get sall. Read: s... all. :shame:Not happy, especially considering they made that new rule two years ago when I had just changed my degree and realised my JET had cancelled!
I get 100% childcare benefit, yes it's good, but paying 60$ a week for three days isn't my idea of fun...:(Lol.
Basically, if your degree lasts for over 12 months, JET is going to tell you to go get lost. In nicer terms of course but that's the general meaning (can anyone tell I'm annoyed?:banghead:lol)

Julez82
06-02-2008, 14:28
Seriously?!?! Thats awful! So I can't apply for it, even for just 12 months? I get 100% CCB too, but I still have to fork out around $250 per week in childcare costs!

Teley
06-02-2008, 16:05
You can still try it, but I don't think they'll say yes. I tried to make it a yearly thing; but they blunt out refused and said it's all about the duration of the whole course. I wish I could help....:(:hugs:. I know that there are other daycare centres that may be cheaper around your area, but I really can't think of any other benefits you may be entitled to for daycare. Sorry:(

SimplyMum
07-02-2008, 09:49
Wow, $250 a week with 100% CCB! Are you serious? That's still like $50 a day! Mine costs $25.00 a day and is considered the best in my area with 100% CCB.

There are ways around it but you've gotta know what to do.
I go to Tafe, and will go as far as I can until I can go no further and will be than doing the rest at Uni. This will cut down on Time needed at Uni and modules that I will need to do.
This way, this enables me to have a little more flexibility. The course that I am doing in the Advanced Diploma in Accounting but I have completed it in small doses. The Advanced Diploma is made up of Cert III, Cert IV, Diploma and the advanced diploma. I could have enrolled for the advanced diploma straight off but decided to enroll for each individual course. It still takes the same amount of time with the same subjects. I'm on PPS so the education dept pay for my course, all modules take less than a year so I have been able to claim for JET for the days I study and I qualify for the Pensioner Education Supplement.

mummyrissa
01-03-2008, 18:36
i was told by my centrelink it gets approved for 12mths then at the start of next year you reapply.
i am still waiting to get approved for this year and i applied 3wks ago

Eggflip
01-03-2008, 18:57
I got Jet for 12 months it saved me $107 a week. Ring centrelink and ask them before you start studying, i dont think you could save it to the end of your degree I had to do it when i started studying.

On a bad note my kindy said Jet was continueing for me for 6 months after even though i didnt apply and I just believed them which i shouldnt cos then they said that was their fault and they are sorry but i actually owe $3000!!!! Which i had to pay back!

*Cj*
01-03-2008, 19:02
Seriously?!?! Thats awful! So I can't apply for it, even for just 12 months? I get 100% CCB too, but I still have to fork out around $250 per week in childcare costs!

$250 :thumbsdown:
I would be looking at other child care centres as thats a RIP off. To be on 100% and be paying $250 a week thats a joke. Do they get a gold spoon to eat off at lunch. Sorry but thats wrong. I'm cob smacked. I would hate to think what the other familys on only a small % are paying. I know my DH dd is in Child care full time and cost's his exs $9 a week.

mum23girls
04-03-2008, 10:46

Julez, I am assuming you are using childcare for 5 days a week? If there was any way you could condense it down to 4 days, as the 5th day is heaps more expensive as it goes over the allowed hours...

Julez82
11-03-2008, 16:37
Julez, I am assuming you are using childcare for 5 days a week? If there was any way you could condense it down to 4 days, as the 5th day is heaps more expensive as it goes over the allowed hours...

Hi! yes I am using it 5 days per week - their full daily rate (before CCB is applied) is $83.50 per day which is over $400 per week. I am looking into other daycare centres (and exploring family day care) but I am moving in the next couple of months so will wait until then.

I never realised that the 5th day goes over the allowed hours? How many hours are you allowed?

It also feels like a complete rip off to me too - it is my second biggest expense after rent!

Julez82
11-03-2008, 16:38
On another note, I have applied for the JET scheme (they never mentioned anything about a 12 month limit) they just said I have to sign an Activity Agreement statement at my local Centrelink Office...

mum23girls
11-03-2008, 16:51
You are allowed 50 hours a week, but childcare centres usually charge for a 12 hour day, so that is what bumps up the fee.

I would look into family day care (as I have this year) as they are subsidised more than a centre... so you pay less overall, and they only charge for min. 8 hour day, and per hour as well.

*Cj*
16-03-2008, 20:17
You can get more then 50 hours a week from centrelink If you or your partner (if you have one) is unavailable for more then 50 hours a week due to work,study, or training commitments (Including travel to and from work).
Its only for the actual hours your child physically attended child care.( above your 50 hours)