View Full Version : How do u all do it?

miaz
03-02-2008, 19:38
Hi guys :)
I was just hoping to get some advice from you all. Bubs due date is approaching fast and i have just finished work. Im staying at my mums till bub is due but then I have to find my own place. I am really starting to stress about money. How do you all do it? I was looking at realestate.com and the rents here (Im on the gold coast) are so expencive they will consume well over half my payment. Not mentioning electricity, food ,rego, nappies and baby stuff ect. I really don't want to have to move away as all my family and support are here. How much rent (if u don't mind me asking) do u ladies pay?

Mum2Bug
03-02-2008, 19:47
I pay $540 a fortnight in rent so yeah, there goes most of my money. I couldnt live without the money my ex pays in maintenance as that is what I use to feed and clothe our daughter, but having said that, if he wasnt paying me so much I would be able to get full FTB and rent assistance (which I currently dont)

It is hard and there are some weeks where I only eat every second day to be able to feed Bug but thats something I have resigned myself to until she starts school in a couple of years (I go back to full time work then)

chrysalis
04-02-2008, 12:43
Hi miaz, yes it's really hard. You may be able to get rent assistance if you are on parenting payments. You can also look at public housing or community housing. But the waiting lists there are long, it is around 10 years for public housing here and 3 years for community housing. Community housing also has priority lists that you may be able to look into. You could try phoning a women's resource centre and asking for info, or phoning the council (?). I'm looking at that at the moment, and it is scary how much it all costs.

LilShenanigans
04-02-2008, 13:02
Half my pay goes onto rent, probably just over. Dont really receive maintenance... lol

But it's possible to manage, you wouldnt be on full payments yet as your living with your mum... but look into where to save your money (shopping, discounts, pension stuff etc). Look into the RTA as in NSW if you have a pension/HCC you dont pay for anything at the RTA... and that would include your rego.

With utilities you get a government discount with the pension/HCC. If you moved into a unit, I think you dont pay water? I never have actually paid for water use in a house either lol Some places even take on electricity as well, though usually advertised.

Um, brain meltdown.. theres more, but cant think right now

OneBabyBoy
04-02-2008, 16:00
Way over half my payment goes in rent. I don't recieve any child support either.

To be honest I don't know how I do it. It's really scary and it's a fortnight by fortnight situation as to what I will be able to pay for. The internet is pretty much the only "me" thing I have. It's really hard but it's not financially viable for me to go back to work yet (I'm still on extended maternity leave) and I don't have any other options anyway so you just do what you gotta do.
Good luck.

Eggflip
04-02-2008, 16:15
The Gold Coast is unbelievable for rents. When I was single I lived with a friend as it was the only way I could afford somewhere decent. Do you have anyone you could share with? You could even advertise for another single mum, as alot of them struggle too.

miaz
04-02-2008, 17:27
Thanks guys, Its so scary isn't it. But if you all can do it, i can try to too. It just gets me so angry though as well when people judge single mothers calling them bludgers ect. You see it on A Current Affair all the time. How can anybody possibly bludge on the payments they recieve? It would be impossible. All we r trying to do is be the best possible mums we can be. It also makes me so angry when you hear of people living in public housing that really don't need to. Do they not review the tenants after a period of time? I know of a couple both working full time bringing home a least 1000 between them a week and they have a huge 3 bedroom house through public housing. NO kids no commitments. It just isn't fair.

mumnbub
05-02-2008, 23:13
hi miaz well im a single mum currently on welfare (yes Im the person who use to judge ppl like me bludgers - oh how life can change lol) How am I surviving? take each day as it comes and have goals in ur life as you all know I am studying to get off welfare (to be a teacher or something in early childhood) after all there will be a huge demand for teachers and I get school holidays whoo hoo back to being a single mum staying positive keep away from negative ppl and enjoy your bub its amazing you think its really hard but then you look back to what you have achieved and go "how the hell did I do that?" so to all the single pregnant women Ive been there and I know you can all do it keep smiling :D

SimplyMum
06-02-2008, 09:56
Miaz- Just like everyone has said. It is hard but so's parenting. I got a job when DS was about 18months so I could live a little more comfortable and upgrade my car.

I do a budget. My budget looks somewhat like this

Income for fortnight $1443.00

Castle Hampers $60.00
Credit Card payment $50.00
ING Savings $20.00
Daycare $200.00
Rent $520.00
Petrol $70
Groceries $150.00
Phone/Mobile $55.00
Electricity $100.00
Water $20
Laybys $50
Sport $20
Swimming lessons $30
Dance lessons $20
Misc $100.00

And anything left over goes into savings.