View Full Version : Adelaide Pregnancy, Babies And Childrens Expo

mumofjmc
03-02-2008, 13:32
Just a quick update in case you were not aware, this years expo is on 14-16 March at the Adelaide Showgrounds in Wayville:smiliedance:.

Free tickets can be printed off the website closer to the day (www.pbcexpo.com.au (http://www.pbcexpo.com.au)) and I'm sure we would all love free entry :yes:.

For those of you who have never been, they give out heaps of freebies from nappy rash creams, nappies and even baby food! There are also stands from all kinds of businesses selling their wares as well as info provided from gov departments.

Unfortunately, due to their popularity, you do need to get there before the 10am opening to queue up but it is well worth it. Parking last year was about $5 for the day on the grounds.

Last year they had a petting zoo and some sort of stage show - Dorothy I think.

Anyway, I'll be there will be going on the first day (Friday) to make sure they don't run out of freebies for me so if anyone wants to meet up there for coffee etc, let me know closer to the time.

See you there.

Laine
03-02-2008, 19:01
Thanks for letting us all know!! :yelclap:

I'd love to go, but after just telling my mum about it she said and I quote "There is no way I am going there with you again!":laughing:

Last time I went there I was HEAVILY-ish pregnant and quite hormonal. I was there with her and DH and to be honest, I am surprised I am not divorced after how I was back then, I dont cope with crowds well when preggers and it was packed :laughing:

BUT I may go this year since Hamish is now out and not causing me to be immensly uncomfy, I might actually enjoy it this time lol. Will let you know, coz a cuppa sounds good too!

Chickadee
04-02-2008, 12:37
BubHub is giving away tickets in this month's newsletter, so you can get free tickets from here right now!!

This is the link for the free ticket: http://www.bubhub.com.au/pbcexpovoucheradelaide.htm

sups
13-02-2008, 10:34
thank you very much for the information.......i hope i can make it there on time.

perrywinkle
13-02-2008, 11:50
COOL I might head down there too. Just need to see if anyone can look after DS because that would bore him heaps and if it's going to be that busy I'd rather just have one child.

mazzie
13-02-2008, 14:46
Ooo Sounds Fun! I'm up for meeting up on the Friday :)

perrywinkle
13-02-2008, 19:26
I will most likely go on the Friday too. Would love to catch up!!

mummynow
13-02-2008, 21:29
I might be able to come on the Friday too... Not 100% sure yet as planning DD's birthday party for that Sunday so might end up busy with that. But at this stage I'd like to come too and love to meet up with some of you :D

OneNowOneLater
13-02-2008, 22:52
Sounds like fun... I dont have school that day, so i'd luv to meet up with u all on the friday!!!

mummynow
11-03-2008, 21:56
Looks like I'll be able to make it Friday after all :smiliedance: Just a shame it's forecast 39 degrees! :thumbsdown:

Does anyone know if it's airconditioned in those halls? :detective:

OneNowOneLater
11-03-2008, 22:46
I think the halls are airconditioned. The only problem that will cause the temp inside to rise is the amount of people who will probably be there... Hopefully it will be fine though, esp with having really high ceilings.

mumofjmc
12-03-2008, 08:25
If you are interested in meeting up on Friday, please add your name to the list as we'll organise a time by PM.

Attending Baby Expo on Friday 14th March

mumofjmc - arriving at 10am
mischief79 - whatever time
cheezelz (I'll jump in and put you down Lisa.....)
specksmum
mummynow - I want to wait & see what time everyone else is going first :laughing:

mischief79
12-03-2008, 20:28
I can't come on Friday. We are getting our garage ceiling fixed cos its about to fall out. Therefore I need to be here for the workers.

I'm going to go on Saturday though I think. Then I can go to the Women's expo as well!

Kari_Adel
13-03-2008, 08:16
I've never been. Sounds great, but I cannot see myself battling that high heat with poor a/c in the car, being in a queue, huddled shoulder-to-shoulder, a bored 4yo grizzling to go home... or worse, wanting to take home everything he sees!

No, I think I'll stay home where its safe! :laughing: After all, I have a fair bit to do for uni and it's too early in the semester to take up procrastination! :D

tak
14-03-2008, 18:38

I missed this post I went today :)

I didnt get any freebies :crying:

Perhaps I looked at the wrong stalls....did anyone get any?

mumofjmc
14-03-2008, 19:31
Hi tak, sorry we missed you today, mummynow and myself were there until from about 10.15 until 3.15.

The freebies we got were:
- Woolies stand - free sample lotions and with a docket, a sample pack of woolies select nappies
- Bayer stands - Benpanthen nappy rash cream
Nutricia Stand - Filled in a loyalty form and received samples of jars of baby food and formula
- Some rusk thingys
- Wyeth stand - S26 gold toddler step 3 formula sachet
- Brauer stand - Nappy rash relief cream

I found this year had less exhibitors and less freebies :(. Very disappointing.

If anyone is interested in breastfeeding / pregnancy tops, see Liam at the Fresh mums stand and tell him that Teressa Lane sent you. Also mention that he told me he would give you a great discount on their range of AWESOME and FABULOUS tops. I swear by these tops and I have 14 of them! No I am not affiliated with them in any way, just discovered their fabulous product and love it :smiliedance:.

I hope everyone enjoys their weekend.

Ciao

tak
15-03-2008, 04:22
If anyone is interested in breastfeeding / pregnancy tops, see Liam at the Fresh mums stand and tell him that Teressa Lane sent you. Also mention that he told me he would give you a great discount on their range of AWESOME and FABULOUS tops. I swear by these tops and I have 14 of them! No I am not affiliated with them in any way, just discovered their fabulous product and love it :smiliedance:.

Im interested when I have no 2 so closer to the time I will get soem details off you 8-)

Manxie
15-03-2008, 06:50
I was a bit disappointed this year as well. The majority of exhibitors seemed to be the larger names.

I did get a bargain though! Mums to be goto the Triumph stand. They are fitting and selling discontinued brands of maternity bras for $20 each. I saved over $60 and got a free pouch of palmers products:thumbsup: Excellent value and they fit the bras as well.

I also love the bookstand, tucked away this year right over on the far left handside as you come in. They do packs of books, one for babies and one for toddlers. They are brilliant books and a huge saving as well.

Other than that only got a sample from the brauer stand.

Most of the people handing out samples seemed to be formula companies :no: I'm not interested in formula so didnt want any of their stuff. Couldnt be fagged with the huge line-up for woolies nappies either.

So worth a look but not worth paying the entrance fee IMO.

mumofjmc
15-03-2008, 07:24
tak - no worries, just let me know and depending on your size, I have pretty much everything that you can try on :D.

Manxie - I agree, I wouldn't pay entry either. Definately not worth it this year. The books were excellent, they seemed to have full sets of books and at reasonable prices.