View Full Version : October 06 Mums - Feb Thread
:wave: Everyone,
Welcome to Feb..... I don't have too much time to stay and chat right now, just thought I'd start the new thread, and think of something to add, then come back later, lol!!
Melb girls: Could someone please PM me as to where abouts we are meeting next week?? I'm unsure as to the location!
Thanks,
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
02-02-2008, 12:40
:wave: not a lot to report here
except...we got keanus pretend kitchen...he LOVES it...
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=25669&l=f50ff&id=713368451
here are some piccies of when he first saw it :) - the excitement is priceless...
i am feeling a bit off today...might go lay down
:wave:hi remeber me?
i feel like i dumped you guys , but ive been around just hangin out in the special needs section. no offence but they understand the hospital trips/ specialists feelin alone alot better.
well as for kane he still says nothin. he is booked in for a hearin test on tues next week.
wednesday week he is off to royal childrens for an mri and will have to spend the night in ICU up there. my local hospital-gold coast said he too high risk to be done there
and the 20th we get screened for speech again.
other than that we doin ok. he started kindy 2 days a week and started off really likin it. he still likes goin but by the time i pick him up he is grumpy as. i reckon he isnt eatin enough there. they arent aloud to let them graze all day and eat crumbs off the floor like i let him at home lol
well must be off tc all
SalTheGal
04-02-2008, 06:35
Hi all...just a quickie from me.
Great start to the week so far.
Nedd decided wake up time was 5am today. (I know it isn't as bad as 4am kimba, but when I am used to 6.30-7 it sucks!) :banghead: I think he was hungry! We brought him into our bed in the hopes of soothing him back to sleep- but he was hysterical, I actually checked him to make sure nothing was biting him at one stage- haven't heard him that upset in ages, and at one stage I could hear his tummy grumbling, so I am wondering if he was getting hunger pains? When I let him get up he went straight to his shelf to get a bowl for his brekky....
We have no hot water. :banghead:
I decided in a rash moment of boredom yesterday to put a blonde through my hair- which is now a lovely orange colour. :barf: Someone remind why I would think to do a home blonde job- I seriuosly know better!!!
Anyway- it can only get better from here....right????
Michelle- happybirthday happybirthday for the 2nd, hope it was a wonderful day and that Abbey gave you lots of birthday kisses...big sloppy ones at that!
OK, thats all from me! Of to earn another dollar when all I want to do is chill on the couch..... :hissy:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-02-2008, 08:35
well keanu still has a temp (had it since sat arvo), panadol, nurofen and baths are keeping it down...he was boiling this mroning, back up at 39.2....
oh and...last night keanu had diahorea in the bath, so took him out and ran another, only to do it again...the poor darling, then he had one more tiny one and then nothing...he had 1 each day (fri, sat, sun)...so not sure if he has a bug, or is just a coincidence....i am soooo :sleeping:as every time he woke last night i got up to him incase he had diahorea again....
Sal - maybe Ned was hungry, i know keanu gets really cranbky every now and then and i think it was cos he was hungry, as when he ate he was fine...
anyway better run, keanu is wanting something...chat soon
lol, its not my birthday until Friday the 8th! I will be 30. I don't feel anywhere near 30. That's a grown up age.
Sal I can't believe you remembered it, I forget half the time myself. ah, facebook was telling fibs.
Abbey has decided she wants to come back to bed with mummy, and yes please she would like to sleep on my head again. Contrary girl. Last night was warm so she went to bed without a sleeping bag, got squiggly and annoying around 3am, so I groped around until I found it, put her in it and she went straight to a sound sleep. This morning I discovered I had put her in the wrong one, 1.0 instead of 0.5. Whoops, no wonder she slept in, she was too toasty to wake up early! She should have known mummy can't see without her glasses.
I can't believe after 15 months of breastfeeding I am having nipple issues. She must have had a crooked snack sometime. I've been keeping her away from my right titty as its too sore, I did try and give her a drink from it but it was too painful. Getting flashbacks from when she was born!
I'd wean but I'm too lazy to do the alternative. Even without the night snacks she has milk around 5am and no way I could get myself up and to the fridge without injury. Abbey would follow and it would be the start of the day, no thanks. Even if she did stay in bed, no way am I letting a sippy cup of milk get splashed around my bed.
Jackie - Poor Keanu! (and poor poo splattered mummy) Hope its just a bug and will pass, 3 days is about the length of one isn't it? Sounds like you're doing all the right things, if he doesn't improve today maybe go for a doc visit.
Sal - my mum always said 'the worms were biting'. Abbey does the same thing, cries like she is being bitten when she wakes up really really hungry. Should string up a cookie dispenser at the end of the cot. Press the yellow button, cookie, tada!
mmm...a home blonde kit....:o bet you've made an appointment to get it done properly asap!
I can't talk, I used to get my hair dyed a deep brown, but since having Abbey it has been growing out my natural colour, which turns out to be a mousy kind of dark brown, interspersed with the occasional grey. If I wear it down and stand in the light you can see where the natural ends and the dye begins. Purdy.
Sue - I know for one all I can do is nod and say you poor thing, so I'm not surprised you've found support elsewhere. :hugs:
Ooh play school are reading the Hungry Caterpillar, Abbey's absolute favourite book. She is GLUED.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-02-2008, 09:41
keanu loves the story too...i have it on and am listening, he is asleep lol. yeh will take him in the morn if he still has the temp...:)
SalTheGal
04-02-2008, 15:56
Sal I can't believe you remembered it, I forget half the time myself. ah, facebook was telling fibs.
And here is me thinking I was soooo clever!! I had been thinking about it for days, which is impressive since I forget most of the birthdays of my immediate family, and definitely forget the birthdays of best friends!!
Anyway, have you birthday wishes a week early!!! :p
Hi girls. We're still around, I've just been busy and tired. Back to work, it is only supposed to be one day a week, but I've worked 3 in the last week. A bit of a shock to the system. Today, I was an emergency teacher in a 5/6 room...not too much fun. We also had a busy weekend, an engagement party on Saturday and we took the girls to the pet and animal expo, which was great. Eloise took a liking to ferrets, but we're not getting one of those.
Jackie - I hope Keanu is better soon. Is it teething related? Lara gets a bit of diarrhoea when she's cut each of her molars, and it's usually only once a day for 2-3 days.
Michelle - Well done on reaching 15 months b/fing. I think you're the last of us. Will Abbey take water at 5am and milk later on? Oh and I'd be putting Abbey in the heavier tog just for the sleep in, sleep ins are a thing of the past here :(.
Sal - I hope your day got better. I hate it when you have one of those days where everything goes wrong. Hopefully you'll get to make it tomorrow.
Sue - :hugs:Fully understand why you've not been around here much. Good luck for all Kane's upcoming tests. We'll be thinking of you guys.
Oh and Kimba, Lara climbed on the kitchen table today. I had to move all of the chairs away, but that's only a temporary solution. How do you stop Jet from climbing on your table? I need ideas to reign in my little climber :hair:
Take care guys. Looking forward to catching up with the Melb girls tomorrow.
As usual been reading posts and not saying anything myself! Ella is much better illness and sleep wise. She seems to be enjoying daycare (so the mums who drop their kids off after I've gone tell me) but we still get a bit of a tanty when I leave. And yet she still has her shoes in her hand standing at the front door rousing on me if I'm late in the mornings!
AF still hasn't returned post m/c and I kind of wish I knew what was going on in there. (:bfn: on the w/end just to be sure!) It's been 5 weeks.
Went to the bridal fair with my sister on the weekend, it was great! I actually got teary watching the parade and thinking "I'm really going to get to wear a wedding dress!" Did I mention I had a Muriel complex??:o Of course my dream dress was there, unfortunately it was made by a couturier who charges $3000 starting price, plus materials :eek:
Sare, 5/6 - yuck. Pre pubescents! Hope you can manage to get some rest sometime. Are you a night owl, is Lara keeping you up or do you just have too much to do to go to bed early?
Jackie I hope Keanu is better today. Poor you, diahorrea isn't fun for anyone, sufferer or bystanders!
Michelle laziness is very understandable - our midnight feed was the last one to go because I was just too lazy to get out of bed and find a bottle at that hour! Actually when we did wean and I was offering her a bottle at midnight, she decided that wasn't worth waking up for anyway :) I have two tone hair ATM as well. My Dad says that about the worms too! (usually preceeds a counter meal. I miss hanging out with Dad!)
Sal :hugs: those days suck. Lol at the hair, on the plus side when I had bright orange hair with white roots (note: don't try to strip dark hair colour yourself) the "fix" I got from the hairdresser was the best dye job I've ever had.
Hi Sue, :wave: nice to see you anyway, glad you've found the support you need.
Hey Marion, are you still out there? DP has gone back to shearing, I knew how excited you'd be about that! Pity I don't still live on a farm, I could have invited any of you ladies + kids around for a farmstay weekend.
Well thats enough blabbing, better go get Ella and I ready to head out the door.
diesal444
05-02-2008, 06:52
Morning ladies
Well I think moving would have to be one of the worst chores around. I cannot believe how much sh!t we accumulate and we've only been here 4 years:confused:.
Jack - Keanu looks rapt about his new kitchen. Very cute indeed. Hope he is feeling better today:hugs:
Sue - Good luck with all the tests. Have none of the specialists come up with anything thus far??..
Sal - Hope your day got better yesterday. Hope you can make it for a quick pop in today for our melb meet:yes:
Michelle - I like the cookie dispenser idea.. but on my bed instead..OH MY.. cant imagine how much fatter I would be then!!! happybirthday For friday too!!
Sare - How cheeky with Lara climbing on the table... Bet you got a fright and a half!!! Looking forward to seeing you and your girls today!!
Well my house is nearly all packed up. Just the big things now to be moved on saturday. I feel extremely sad. I even had a liitle cry last night. We built this house, its the only house we have lived in together and our gorgeous bub spent her first year here! I am such a sook.
Well best be off to do a few fiddly packing things. Its kinda funny/frustrating to pack and wrap and to watch Darcy unwrap and unpack...:laughing:
Have a great day everyone!!!!... See you soon melb girls!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-02-2008, 07:30
Mary-Ann - moving sure isn't fun!! I am dreading if we move to WA....just the move itself, organising a removalist, packing etc...argh...the fun to come, but will be worth it :)
and i can understand the tears....you build memories and sometimes letting go is sad...
keanu still has a temp, so will ring the doctor at 8.30am and see if they can squeeze him in for a check...he has had it since sat arvo....:confused: i am still thinking tonsils or ears, or maybe both, cos he is off his food, even bikkies/crackers....and he LOVES those...so we will see what the doc says.
poor lil man, mind u, he slept well last night...and woke at 6am...i thut it was 7am so thut id get up and get organised, only to look at the clock and it be 6.45am...doh! lol...so we are all ready to go, he is having a nap at the moment (at least is in his cot), as he seems tired...winey...maybe sore ear causing that tho...?? I don't know! argh! guessing games!!
sare - i don't think it is teething related. he has 3 or 4 molars (can't remember lol), but has never ever had runny poo from teething...i know some kids get it tho...so it very well could be i guess, but strange he has neevr had it before with teething!
well it is raining here again, and over cast, still muggy tho!
oh keanu loves wearing his shoes now :yelclap: i say keanu do you want to go outside, get your shoes and he gets them...he is also following simple instructiosn, i say lets go and change your bum and he toddles off to his room...also the other day he was in our room and trying to reach the cat from one side of the bed, i said to him, go around the other side keanu...and off he went.... ??!! so cute!!
anyway enough :ecomcity: from me lol...
chat later
Oh and Kimba, Lara climbed on the kitchen table today. I had to move all of the chairs away, but that's only a temporary solution. How do you stop Jet from climbing on your table?
:laughing: wow you have great faith in my abilities Sare!!!! but unfortunately I can't stop Jet doing ANYTHING he wants to do! He's the most determined and stubborn monkey I've ever met (my family just laughs when I say that because apparently I was exactly the same...LOL)
His latest thing is to stand on wobbly and unsafe things like his stool, his ride-on, his wagon, etc etc, grinning at us. Oh and he climbs up our bedhead/ stands on the back of the couch, and tries to pull the glass-framed prints off the wall!
When he climbs we just say no and lift him down again and try to distract him, not much else we can do...It means we currently can't leave him unsupervised AT ALL though which is kind of a pain, I was rather enjoying being able to let him play while I had a shower or went to the loo...sigh...
His carer worried me a bit last week, she said she thinks Jet's hearing needs to be checked as he seems not to hear/ understand her when she talks to him. I'm not so sure it's an issue with his actual hearing, as I've been 'testing' his reaction to sounds and I think he can hear noises and sounds OK. And he's talking, and echoing words, and he pipes up at random moments when he hears us say something in a conversation, so obviously he can hear...
But I do agree with her that he often seems very oblivious when you talk to him - even now he still doesn't respond to his name, and totally ignores 'no'. And little things, like when you read to him he always just flips ahead looking at the pictures, not listening to the story at all. I think he's just either ignoring us or not paying attention, OR there's maybe an issue with him registering what we're saying (which is a bit more worrying).
His doc has checked his ears again and can't find any issues, but I'm going to get his hearing tested to rule that out at least, and then go from there. I have to admit that I do sometimes wonder if there's an 'issue' when he consistently ignores us, and still doesn't seem to know his name at all? but maybe he's just tuning us out! LOL. Keeping in mind also that his carer is Portuguese and his Dad is Indonesian, so he gets spoken to in 3 different accents and often a mix of 3 different languages, which must be confusing.
Anyway, I gtg to a meeting - sorry this turned into a long 'me' post - I'll be back later to do some personals!
Hey all
I did pop in the other day and type a massive post with personals to everyone but I moved the comp closer to me and whamo unplugged the ethernet cord and surprise surprise lost the lot.
Just a quickie as it is 2.17am and I have the itches big time so I got up to scratch so I wouldn't wake everyone.
Apart from being at the hospital 3-4 times a week for all different things everything else id going well.
Our little darling has charmed all of the doctors and midwives that we see and i get into trouble when i go without him.
I will try to pop bak on at a reasonable hour, but sitting is far from my comfiest position lately.
Love and hugs to all
Hey all.
Just a quick one, I want to go and watch the biggest loser and dh has to do some work on the comp later, so now's my only chance.
Di - You poor thing. You must well and truly be ready to meet your little men after all you have been through. You seem in really good spirits despite all you have been through. How are you finding being in Vic?
Kimba - LOL - I thought there may have been a remote chance that you had a strategy to stop Jet from sometimes climbing :laughing:. Lara even climbed and stood on the table at Eloise's Kings Active lesson yesterday. No fear from Lara.
The first thing that I thought of when you said that Jet's carer was concerned about his hearing was the accent. I hope everything turns out ok.
Jackie - How's Keanu today? Poor little mite.
Bec - Yep, I'm a real night owl. I just can't get to sleep before 11.30pm -12pm. It's Lara's fault :laughing:, before her wakefulness, I used to be able to often go to bed and sleep around 10.30pm. Maybe one day I will get more sleep.
I hope your AF returns soon.
Nothing much happening here. Eloise made her first kinder friend today :yelclap: The other little girl's mum said that they were the 2 real introverted girls in the group and they just gravitated towards each other. It's funny how much she is like me. I'm quite loud and outgoing when I'm comfortable with people, but I detest being in new and unfamiliar situations where I don't know people. She also really bossy and apparently I was at her age (and dh would probably say that I still am :p)
Oh Sal, I was just on the Cold Rock website (wanted to check out if there are any near where we're staying in Qld) and I saw that they are opening one in Ballarat...lucky you!!!
Well, I'm off to watch TBL. Hope you are all well...
SalTheGal
06-02-2008, 20:29
And little things, like when you read to him he always just flips ahead looking at the pictures, not listening to the story at all.
You mean they are meant to listen to the story???!!
Don't stress Kimba- I am positive at this age it is more about the pictures than the story, in fact we hardly ever read the story to Nedd- just make it about about the pictures that interest him...on the pages that interest him!
But on a serious note, I am sure Jet will be fine...probably just being a regular exploritory toddler. And the accent theory makes total sense.
Oh Sal, I was just on the Cold Rock website (wanted to check out if there are any near where we're staying in Qld) and I saw that they are opening one in Ballarat...lucky you!!!
Hmmm...Yep, not sure how I feel about that one! Just when I am getting somewhere and they go and put a temptation like that on my doorstep....it will be interesting to see how it goes though, as i looked into thier franchisees a while ago but couldn't think of a really good high traffic area to put it, its not in a bad spot but time will tell!
Hey Maryanne- it really is sad isn't it....I had a tear or two when we left our house. It was our "first home" so very sentimental, but onwards and upwards hey!
Jack- Hope keanu is feeling better, its horrible when they are sick.
Bec, nice to hear from you! I am so excited for you planning your wedding, isn't it just a rush of emotions. Make sure you enjoy and savour every step of the way! I can't remember if you had mentioned or not- do you have a date set?
Sue, nice to hear from you too....keep us updated with whats happening. :hugs:
Di- you are such a trooper....I am in bendigo often for work, so if you ever need anything, or just want to catch up for a cuppa, let me know! I would love to meet you and Nedd's birthday buddy!
We had a visit to the MCHN this morning to discuss Nedd and his "headbanging" :doh:, it is getting unbearable, and I have no idea what to do about it....he doesn't actually even wake up during the night when it happens, so how do you stop a child from doing something that they aren't even aware they are doing?!?!? She suggested cot bumpers, hopefully that will not give him as much stimulation so he may get bored, if nothing else it will soften the bang so we don't hear as much and maybe will sleep through it! As she said- it is more about our sanity than his at the moment, as we are the only ones getting bothered by it. :hair:
She was also very confident that he will grow out of it, so we just need to give it time I presume. :rolleyes: :sleeping:
She also is happy that he is on track with everything else...he doesn't have heaps of words, but she was not concerned bout that at all, as he is a real chatter box babbling on about lots of things, and as she pointed out, he probably does have lots of words- we just haven't figured them out yet!!!
I got a gorgeous video of him yesterday chatting on the phone- I could hear him yabbering away and went to find him, he was out on the porch phone to ear, going full ball in a convo with who knows what imaginery person on the other end of the line. He would stop every few second like he was listening it is very cute....I will upload it and try to put a link in!
Apart from that it isn't very exciting in our house I am afraid!
We offended the inlaws last night. We are heading to their town this wkend for my neices birthday, and to babysit them whilst bro and SIL go out (my bro lives there too) so good oppurtunity for them to see Nedd....we will be staying with my Bro, but let them know they are most welcome to come over for the arvo/dinner to see Nedd....well they then told us they were planning to come here for the wkend. You'd think they would be glad they don't have to travel, but they have to share us down there so they have cracked it, I think they expected us to cancel our plans for them to come instead...grrrr family politics I hate it!
Anyway thats about all from me!
Take care all. :goodvibes:
We went to our very first playgroup. Abbey loved it! There was a neat little playgroup for 0-4yr olds and so many toys. Not to mention all the other little kids, but she mostly just played around them, occasionally pointing at one and exclaiming.
It will definitely be a regular thing for us now.
Pity we had to leave before storytime though, Abbey's morning nap is hardwired and there is only so far I can push it before she cries at nothing.
She woke me up this morning with sooking. I love sooking. :hair: She's worked out tantrums make me laugh, but sooking gets right under my skin and makes me angry. Shamefully, I found myself telling her to bug-ger off twice before 7am. She was whinging and sooking, pulling my hair, trying to get my glasses, and physically move me out of bed. The most annoying part is that she calmly watched me sleep, waiting, and then when I opened my eyes and caught her watching me, that's when she launched her sooky attack!
Question about food - when your bub finishes the serving you gave them, nothing left over, do you assume they are still hungry and give food until they stop showing interest?
I'm not sure Abbey cleans her plate because she is hungry or if its because it tastes really good.
Kimba - I don't think you have anything to worry about. Jet is just practicing his selective hearing, he is male after all!
Abbey does the same thing, I gave up trying to read the words in her books. She flips the pages back and forwards so it wouldn't make sense anyway. The Caterpillar book has been shortened to: "In the light of the moon a little egg lay on a leaf. He ate an apple. Two pears. 3 plums. 5 oranges. Lots of food. Got fat. BEAUTIFUL BUTTERFLY!"
The only book she listens to is the Sesame Street personalised book her SS (Sal & Nedd) got her. She likes hearing about Abbey and her best mate Elmo. The story is quite long, so I often turn it into "where's elmo?" and let her jab the pages and yell tada.
She doesn't come when called unless I've got something good, and she doesn't obey unless she wants to. Just a typical child I think!
Sal - that's so cute with the phone! Abbey rarely sees me talking on it so she doesn't have conversations, just holds it to her ear/mouth/top of her head and says "hallo?" before passing it to me. I have pretend conversations on it and pass it back and she must think its broken because nobody talks to her.
re the headbanging - try the cot bumper and see if it works for you. Babies are crazy creatures at the best of times. My little sister was a head rubber in bed and peristently rubbed her hair off in patches until she was around 2yrs. Its just something they've found that comforts them. Abbey gets up and headbuts the end of my bed but I just drag her back down. No idea if she's asleep at the time. I'd much rather she lay still and sleep giggled and did obscene farts (which I laugh at and often wake her up).
Sare - fist kinder friend, lovely! Soon it will be time for the first sleepover. I have no suggestions for climbers, but sympathies for you and Kimba and having to be on high alert.
Abbey doesn't climb anything but the couch. She will stand next to a chair and make stepping motions with her foot, but hasn't worked out she could climb up if she wanted to. I'm not about to show her!
Di - I bet even though you feel uncomfortable, you look beautiful. We're all waiting excitedly to meet the boys.
Jackie - how did the doc visit go? Keanu all better?
Maryanne - Try not to think about having to pack it all up again when the house is ready, moving is horrible. I only just found my bag of important things like passport, jewelry and perfumes...and I've been here 8 months!
Bec - I bet the bridal fair was exciting. I have to go to my little bro's wedding in March, he's decided I am the photographer. Sure, I'm free, but I'm not good! They are just doing a courthouse plus buffet reception to save money.
Could you find a seamstress who could make the same design for less?
Oh such a long post
Hi all :wave:
I think the main thing that niggles at me is not so much that Jet's inattentive/ tunes us out/ ignores us (as frustrating as that is), but that he just doesn't respond to or recognise his name, whatsoever. He should know his name by now, surely? Even the 'trigger words' at swimming (Jet, Ready, Go) are pointless because saying his name doesn't register with him at all...
If I say 'Sha' (cat's name) or 'Nannay' (what he calls his blanket) he'll turn instantly, but if anyone says 'Jet' or 'Jethro' he doesn't show even a flicker of response, it's like his name is utterly meaningless to him. Even when he's looking in the mirror or at photos and I say 'there's Jet... where's Jet?' he doesn't respond to that either, but he'll eagerly point out duck, cat, cow and other things. It just seems a bit strange IYKWIM...?
Incidentally when he looks at photos of himself (and any other babies) he points and calls out 'NINNY' which I think is pretty funny :laughing:. Ninny - where on earth did THAT come from?
Re: food. Jet will usually say 'no more', shake his head or take off when he's had enough, but if he's still hungry he'll ask for 'more' or 'narna' (fruit) or go looking for something else. He's pretty easy to work out in that respect!
Michelle - Playgroup sounds like fun! that's pretty much how I read the Very Hungry Caterpillar too. Jet loves all the pages with holes in them, but after the caterpillar gets fat it's all over, he doesn't even like the butterfly.
Sal - Way to go on offending the inlaws! LOL. That video sounds so cute, Jet loves the phone and puts it to his hear saying 'Wo?' but then he'd rather push the buttons than have a conversation, even when there's someone on the other end talking to him. Nedd's headbanging sounds distressing for you, I can empathise because Jet's night terrors are a bit the same, especially when he crashes into the sides of his cot. Doesn't bother him but really freaks me out! I hope the cot bumper helps and that Nedd grows out of it really soon.
Sare - LOL at you hunting down Cold Rock! Lara sounds so much like Jet - totally fearless! I just hope they get bored of climbing as quickly as they seem to get bored of everything else...That's so cute that Eloise has made a friend at Kinder.
Di - I bet you can't wait till it's all over and you're holding your little boys in your arms!
Bec - ahhh wedding fantasies - I remember getting all excited about wedding preparations! You just reminded me about my gorgeous couture Diane Lewis gown in storage at my parents place (from my 1st marriage) that I really should be putting on eBay! From memory it's about a size 16, if you're interested? LOL.
:wave: eevryone,
I've been reading, I just haven't had too much to say :)
It was great catching up with the Sare, Mary-Anne and Sal on Tuesday! The children had a great time!
I took Little J along to his 2nd swimming lesson today, and once again, he LOVED it!! he seems to have so much fun. He doesn't get upset when I put him under, and if he catches any water in his mouth, he just spits it out again like a fountain, lol!!
Not too much else happening....I'm just realising though, that I really do have such a busy schedule now. Today is just a me and J day, and to be honest, I am so exhausted I feel like doing nothing. Then tomorrow, it's all go go go again!!
Oh, our little fish dies the other day. Lucky DH was here, or else he would have been floating for a week until he came home, lol! I just can't deal with dead pets. The boys gave him a little ceremony, then flushed him. We went and bought some new fish yesterday.....a little black googly eye one, and a goldfish. They look so happy swimming around in there together.
Ok, off to put some things on ebay I think, and then I'm off to drop some freshly made banana muffins off to my Nana (she had a varicose vein burst on sunday, blood everywhere, scared the cr@p out of everyone, :ecomcity:). what a nice grand daughter I am, hey?
Take it easy
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
07-02-2008, 15:27
just a quick hi :wave:
keanu has tonsilitis...
dp thinks he is getting sick too..coming home early from work :no: men are shocking when they are sick...
will chat tomorrow hopefully.
xo
~Kristin~
07-02-2008, 20:06
:wave:HI, still kicking about the place, but too tired to post of late..... Reading all your posts, and hopefully in a few weeks, when I'm officially back on Mat Leave, I'll be able to find some time (and energy!!!) to post!! :raspberry:
kimba: if jett can speak at 15 months his hearin is fine. to be able to speak you need to be able to hear a variety of tones in the human voice.
and what are you wooried about that jett isnt interested in books nor listens to his name? if its autism , they dont usually even diagnose serious cases till about 2 yrs old and to me it sounds quite normal for a baby, well young toddler
must be off, researching ICUs to see what im in for next week
xxoo
Boy am I glad it's Friday, I feel knackered today! I think I'm coming down with something. I might have to make DH take Jet to swimming tomorrow...
Jet finally figured out how to nod his head (like a proper yes nod), and was SO excited and pleased with himself, he did it with a big grin until he got so dizzy he fell over. He cracks me up. He also sussed out the switch for one of the living room lamps and keeps turning it on and off :rolleyes: At least it keeps him off the dining table! :laughing:
Sue - good luck for next week!!! And yep considering that it's widely recognised that consistent failure to respond to their name at 12 months+ is a common indicator of developmental delays/ autism (not diagnosed till later), it is a bit worrying...especially when combined with other things, like Jet seeming not to hear people (which his carer has pointed out too, I'm not imagining it) even tho' we're all pretty sure his hearing is fine. Can't help but wonder...? but hopefully I'm worrying for nothing :fingerscrossed: maybe Jet IS just ignoring us on purpose LOL!
Kristen - hang in there love, not long to go now until you're on maternity leave again! Gosh that's come along fast. Not fast enough for you though I bet :)
Jack - poor Keanu sorry to hear that he's got tonsillitis again! I hope your DP isn't sick too, sick men are just so painful, especially when you're looking after a sick baby already.
Sarah - LOL you're only just realising now that you're busy!? you have 3 boys and a baby on the way, of course you're busy! hahaha. I don't know how you do it. Sorry to hear about your fish, one of ours went belly up the other day too and I had to flush it. Poor thing.
I'm off to bed early, hopefully Jet will have a good sleep tonight so I can too...:sleeping:
What a day...I'm exhausted, but as usual I can't sleep. I had the Preps by myself today (last week we had the 2 teachers in the room) and boy have I forgotten how tiring teaching Prep can be at the start of the year. One of the little boys in my class broke his arm today while he was outside playing on the adventure playground. Poor little sausage looked as white as a ghost. I spoke to his dad tonight and he had to have a general an. to align the bones (yep he snapped both) and had to stay in hospital overnight. But I absolutely loved teaching them. Over the last 12 months or so I have been questioning whether I really want to go back to teaching, and I now really think I do which is great. Anyway enough of my dribble.
I just wanted to wish Michelle a very happybirthday Hope you had a great day and got spoilt. I am sure that your bewdiful little girl spoilt you rotten with kisses and cuddles.
Have a great weekend everyone...
A quick :wave:
I am still around; I just don't have anything interesting to say! Apart from...my baby is in a big boy bed now :crying:
Gosh its been quiet in here
Yes, I turned 30 years old (for real this time) on Friday. Such a monumental occasion I forgot all about it until checking my spam email and found a bazillion Happy Birthdays in there from mailing lists.
Abbey spoiled me with kisses, same as she does every day. Other than kisses, it passed without notice.
My family are coming next Friday and there may be a celebration of some sort, at the least I hope they bring cake. I like cake.
My elder brother turned up last night, I see him maybe once a year. He announces he is staying the night, and that I have to drive him to the airport in the morning as he is moving to melbourne. Just woke up and decided to move to melbourne. No ticket, just rock up at the terminal and see what happens. He hasn't called me to come collect him again, so he must have gotten a seat. Or maybe he doesn't know my phone number.:confused:
Jen - a big boy bed already? Wow, you're game. Does he stay there all night or continually escape?
Ive been looking into a bed for Abbey, but I think I will hold off until her 2nd birthday. Mostly because I dont want to buy her a bed just now!
Sare - stop breaking strange children's arms! I bet he is Mr Cool with his cast though.
Kimba - good work with the nodding. I tried to teach Abbey but she cheated and jumped instead. Technically she was right, her head did go up and down when she jumped. Abbey doesn't answer to her name unless I have something she wants. She has also stopped using all her great words and is focusing on calling everything 'teh' and exclaiming 'tada!'. I read this week that my constant babble to myself isn't helping her, as she may now think words aren't that important, since nobody has to respond when I speak. I don't think there's anything wrong with her or Jet, but as usual its our job to worry. If she is still being special in a couple months I will go for the 18month checkup and get her looked at then.
So cute that he calls himself Ninny. My little bro is named Damien and called himself DumDum. I'm afraid it will haunt him forever, he will always be DumDum to us.:devil:
Speaking of checkups, I weighed and measured Abbey, and she is falling in percentiles. I'm guessing it just means she's due for a growth spurt. She's 80cm tall at the moment (standing), 11.9kg, weight hasn't increased for ages but its all muscle. My baby is probably stronger than I am.
Jackie - glad you found out the cause of Keanu's distress. The antibiotics work quite fast and no doubt he is back to being a cheeky little monkey already.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-02-2008, 08:14
hi
not a lot of time for personals...
DP isn't well, have a doctors appointmnet this arvo....for he and keanu, keanu just getting a check up of his tonsils....
m_jelly - keanun wouldn;t be too much shorter than abbey and he hasn't hit the 10kg mark yet (around 9.8kg last week)...but he is happy and healthy so i wouldn't worry too much!! as long as she is happy and healthy! :)
have to run...
cheerio for now
hi to everyone else...have been reading but not much time to type.
Happy late birthday to Michelle happybirthday. Do you think my birthday brownies would travel well in the post? I could experiment with you as my guinea pig :laughing: ROFL at your poor little bro. Wow Abbey would be able to hold her own at daycare, she shouldn't get pushed around too much! Ella's a bit of a beanpole, all leg. She seems to fall over a lot, sometimes I wonder if her legs are growing faster than her motor skills?
Things are much happier here. Ella is loving daycare now, she was waving me off before I'd even put her down! And she keeps coming home with new dance moves. At the moment it's arms like a cross between Henry the Octopus and the Bus Stop. Must get some footage to poke fun at her with later in life.
On the weekend my sister, niece and neffy came up to go look at limestone, fossils and caves. We had heaps of fun, plus stayed up late with DP and sis playing cards and drinking wine. I had sore stomach muscles yesterday from laughing!
Jackie - hope Keanu (and poor, poor DP:p) have a good doc's appointment. You've done well getting him to the doc. My DP reckons I'm "against" medicine (because I won't give Ella antibiotics unless she needs them!) but won't go to the doctor himself!
Sare - glad a full class of Preps all to yourself renewed your vocation rather than killed it! Jeez. I went a bit white myself at the broken arm story.
Kimba - Ella also nods and shakes her head, but she only does one per day. So you don't get the right response - it's just the response for the day! Hope you got a good night's sleep. Ella is very random ATM - but it seems to be better for me than the constant 4.30am wakeup calls.
Hi Kristin - guess we'll be catching up with you soon!
Hi Jen - we should have another Canberra meet soon! You can impress me with how you can keep a toddler in a bed when I struggle to keep Ella in her cot :D
Sarah, the older I get, the more I want to spend time with my grandies. We're pretty lucky to have kids of our own and grandparents as well, I reckon! Plus my Nan has a pressie for Ella every time we make the 2hr hike to go visit.
Bye - back to work!
GeorgiaAnne
11-02-2008, 14:12
Hello lovelies!
Bec - mmmm, brownies :goodvibes: Glad to hear Ella is loving day care, it makes life so much easier when you don't have to feel guilty about them crying etc.
Jack - Hope your boys are on the mend :hugs:
Sare - Crikey, a broken arm :barf:i'm not very good with first aid! You must be relieved about your feelings toward teaching, it would be hard to do a career change esp, when you've already done all those years at uni!
Kimba - Jet sounds very normal to me and is very bright. Sophia ignores us as well sometimes, esp. when she is playing or engrossed in something. My dh does the same thing :devil: must be where she learnt it.
Jen - Big boy bed! You are game - details please!!!
All is well here, busy at work as always and Sophia is a very funny little lady. She is my shadow now and is also climbing, throwing herself and kicking tantrums on the floor saying "mummy, mummy" constantly which is damn cute after all the time being such a daddy's girl. She even slept in on Sunday 'til 9am PURE BLISS! Though i'm up to the loo about 5 times a night so still exhausted. Everything pg seems ok, still got ms and stomach is starting to feel harder but I haven't put any weigyt on which i'm really happy about. Anyhoo, enough :ecomcity:
from me, hope you're all well!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-02-2008, 17:51
:thumbsup: DP has tonsilitis...has had a migraine type thing to since saturday...poor guy...he has antibiotics now...YAY!!
keanus tonsils look great a little imflamed but nothing major :)
We've had a few breakthroughs this week. The 4.30am starts have changed back to 6.30 and Jet is sleeping through most nights YAY :yelclap: (although I've probably jinxed it by saying that!) and also:
1) Jet has finally started to say bye bye to me when I leave him at daycare (usually he turns away and pointedly ignores me)
2) He can slide off things (like the couch or a chair) forwards onto his toes, rather than having to turn and go backwards. Although he's regressed in walking downstairs holding my hand, and instead he now turns around and just slithers all the way down on his belly like a snake, much more fun and faster I guess - but carpet burn, ouch!
3) He's finally drinking some milk from a cup in the mornings YAY. But still refuses anything but a bottle at bedtime. Such a sooky baby! I'm thinking that going cold turkey on the bottles while we're in Indonesia could be the go? but then again, maybe he'll need something that's consistent/ comforting while we're away and his life is all out of whack? hmmm.
4) Last but not least - he's found his nose. Well, his right nostril to be precise. I keep catching him with his finger up there! :laughing:
Question - when your child accidentally hurts you in play and you "cry", how do they react? Jet stares, then smirks and comes and whacks me on the head! I don't know whether he thinks that he's trying to pat/ comfort me, or what?! Or maybe lashing out at criers is what the other kids do at daycare? (God help us if his carer hits them for crying...seriously doubt it though)
Speaking of percentiles we went to the ECHN for a checkup today and Jet's 82cm tall. I knew he'd grown a bit, but didn't realise it was that much. He's still on the same height percentile as since birth. And weighs around 12.5kg which is the same as a few months ago, so his weight has really plateaued out, and he's dropped down a few percentiles there. Which I'm quite relieved about - it's one thing to have a 'big baby', but I don't want him to be a fat kid, like his mama...:o
Michelle - Happy Belated 30th! If I hadn't been ignoring Facebook lately I would have seen that your bday was coming up and sent you my wishes on time. Kisses from a kid as cute as Abbey would have to be up there with the best bday presents anyway, wouldn't it? LOL at your younger brother...a nickname like DumDum is something you'd really WISH you could live down.
Georgia - love your new avatar is that the bucket Jet (sorry, SS) gave Sophia? Good to hear that you're feeling good and that you haven't put on weight - not planning to put on 30kg again this time then? :p "mummy mummy" sounds so cute. Jet rarely says it, and usually only when I'm not around. When the other kids at swimming classes are freaking out and saying "mummy" I actually get a bit envious! LOL.
Bec - if you want to test out how well your brownies travel I'll be a test pilot for you! hehehe. The dancing sounds so cute - get it on video while you can! and I'm glad that Ella is loving daycare, makes it so much easier...
Jack - glad Keanus tonsils aren't too bad - here's to a speedy recovery for him and DH!
Sare - OMG a broken arm the poor little bugger! It's good to hear that going back and teaching Prep hasn't put you off teaching forever. I suppose after being home with 2 kids for a few years it now feels quite different dealing with a classroom full? (compared to when you had none yourself, I mean?)
Jen - you're game putting Sam in a big bed! Jet is absolutely staying in his cot until he doesn't fit anymore, or he can climb out, or we need it for another baby. Whichever comes first!
SalTheGal
11-02-2008, 21:41
At conference this week, so just a quick hello.
It is in melb, so I feel very wierd staying here in a flash (crown towers) hotel when I technically am here every day for work and go home. (hopefully DH and Nedd are coming to stay wed night which will be lovely.)
But its compulsory to stay, lots of evening dinners etc so risk of drink driving if people don't stay.
Anyhow, internet connection bad, so have a good week all, chat on the weekend. :wave:
GeorgiaAnne
12-02-2008, 08:42
re: Sophia hurting me in play, she thinks it's hilarious :devil: and laughs her head off. I think she is a bit of a bully at day care :o
re: the bucket, yep, it's her ss one, she loads it up with all manner of things and wanders around with it like it's a handbag, though she carries it in the crook of her arm like the Queen.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
12-02-2008, 10:47
aww kimba...jet sounds gorgeous....and full of beans...keanu wont drink milk from anything other than a bottle. mind you he only has like 50mls every few days, if that...he isn't really drinking milk anymore, he hasn't been for a long time...
it is great that Jet is saying bye bye...he is acknowledging you are leaving and will be back by the sounds of it...:)
gee keanu is tiny lol, not saying ur bubbas are big, i think keanu is under with the percentiles..he still is just uner 10kg lol...string bean he is...but he is healthy tho....! :)
ke is sleeping 7pm- 8/9am and having one day sleep 12-12 ish....so am happy with that....
Dp is feeling better today, head wise, throat still sore...keanu is well. touch wood...
we have a house inspection tomorrow so DP is sweeping the shed, i have done everything else...i want to weed the front garden but it is raining here :no:
cheerio
Kimba - Great news about Jet changing his sleeping habits back to something good and on the bye bye at day care too. On the hitting and pretending to cry, Lara just thinks it's a big laugh and hits me all the more. She is actually a bit of a bully; many-a-time she has had Eloise in tears because she hits her too hard. I think it's just a stage she will grow out of, but I don't think she will be anywhere near as empathic as Eloise is.
Jackie - Glad to hear everyone at your place is on the mend. It must be going around. I had Lara at the drs on Sat with a throat infection and I was there on Sunday with the same thing. Thank goodness the antibiotics are kicking in, cos I felt like sh1te.
Sal - The Crown Towers, lucky you. I've been in one of the rooms for a friends pre dinner drinks for his 30th and it was very nice. Hope you have a lovely time and enjoy it all the more when Lloyd and Nedd head down on Wednesday.
Georgia - Glad to hear that everything is going well for you in this pg. How far along are you now?
Bec - Great news about Ella loving daycare now, bet that takes a load off your mind. I agree with what you said about lucky to still have our grandparents around. I still have one grandma who I am close to (she lived with us when she moved to Aus, still lives with Mum and Dad). The girls love her and she's affectionately been named GiGi, because when Eloise was little she couldn't get her mouth around great grandma. She's 93 in April.
On our side, I'm just busy getting things organised for our holiday. My brother is house/cat sitting for us, so I have to clean the house before he comes (in the hope that he will leave it in the same state of cleanliness for us upon our return :laughing:).
All 4 of us are either sick or recovering from something. The drug companies are making a fortune from us at the moment.
Oh and I found out the puppy is actually a week older than we were originally told, which means that we get him on the 3rd or 4th of March, which is only 2 or 3 days after we get home :smiliedance: Busy...busy...busy, but you guys wouldn't expect anything less from us hey?
Oh and here I am I being oh so confident and cocky that I'd given my girls names that weren't that common, but still not too out there with the thought that they'd never end up being Eloise G or Lara G in school, and today another Eloise rocked up in Eloise's Kings Active class. Serves me right. The poor Eloises didn't know what the hell was going on :laughing:
Oh well cleaning is calling. My house will shine before my brother arrives.
Take care...
Hello :wave:
Well, I finally have a chance to do more than scratch my butt or eat :laughing:
Not too long though - I am supposed to do some work tonight.
Sare - I found out today we're adopting a new dog as well! Ours is 14 months old and is a 'spoodle.' I hope your new fluffy friend fits in quickly with your family.
jack - I can't even get my DH to sweep the shed! :mad:
Sal - I find it funny that people think work travel is glamorous. I usually wish I was home in my pj's, even though I have everything (including) personal time at my fingertips. I hope the conference is going well
Kimba - Sam laughs and does it more if he gets a reaction out of me!
Bec - Have finally caught up and I am so sorry to hear about your miscarriage. And that's the reason I put Sam in a big bed - so he doesn't climb out of the cot! Definitely keen to do another meet (and I'll be on time next time:o)
Re: the bed - Well, given that I am in love with IKEA and Canberra doesn't have one, we did a day trip. Sam now has an IKEA room. We bought him a convertible toddler bed (each end can lay flat or sit up like a bedhead). He is in love with it! We also bought a giant green leaf bed canopy thing, some little mirrors to stick on the wall and the infamous IKEA egg chair for kids (think - Men in Black). Also some curtains, doona cover, some 'fish' shaped rugs (Sam picked them), an alien night light and a kid's Poang armchair for the loungeroom.
Then we went back in once we rammed it all into the car and bought more stuff for us!:D
The first week, he kept running out to see us when we first put him to bed. Just to show off and say "Here I am!" I think. He hasn't ever gotten out of bed during the night though and goes straight to bed now, just as he did with the cot.
We made the move as he is quite tall (not sure on measurements) and kept smacking his head into the cot rails and was trying to climb out. Now, with the 'bedhead' section, a corresponding section of mattress gets stuffed in there and he doesn't hurt his head anymore. We also put up a bed rail and it's going well. He did climb over the head of it and fell once but hasn't done it since he realised the floor is kinda hard!
Well - better get to work (sigh). I will definitely try to get in here more often!
I don't mind Jet laughing at me when I 'cry' - it's the whacking on the head that's a bit perturbing! I just really hope he isn't doing that to the other kids at daycare :o
He's going through a 'I don't want a bath' thing this week. No idea why. I had to get in the bath with him tonight just to calm him down.
I think my issue with putting Jet into a big bed is that he won't just lay down and go to sleep even now, so I'm dreading what he'll be like when he's not 'trapped' in the confines of a cot...I'm also scared he'll fall out of bed when he has a night terror :(
Jen - wow I thought I was an IKEA-lover (almost everything we have is from there - we have the alien night light too!) but a daytrip from Canberra, now that takes the cake! Sam's room sounds cute...Gosh Sam must be so good, I wouldn't dare give Jet a bed canopy or little mirrors on the walls at the moment, he'd have them pulled down within minutes :laughing: And a spoodle! I think that's what Sare's getting too? They're so cute.
Sare - LOL at Lara holding her own with Eloise but yeah I hear you on the hitting too hard, Jet is the same, although I'm sure he doesn't mean it that way...I hope they both grow out of it soon! I hope that everyone is over their sickness soon. Bet you can't wait to go on holidays and get your new puppy!
Jack - Hope your inspection went well...Keanu sounds like such an angel, 8-9am, I wish Jet would sleep that late! And it's OK :laughing: you can say that Jet's big, I hear it all the time 'ooh he's a big boy'. People always ask me how old he is and they're surprised when I say 16 months, they always think he's older. But at least he's not as much of a chubba as he was before, he's getting taller but not heavier (phew).
Sal - hope you're enjoying the conference and the Crown...I have to say that a few nights in a hotel by myself sounds quite appealing...but I know I'd miss Jet horribly (wouldn't miss DH though :laughing:)
Georgia - that's so cute that Sophia uses her bucket as a handbag! And come on all the wannabe fashionistas carry their bags over their arm like that now, don't they? (EG Paris, Lindsay, Nicole etc...LOL)
I'm having an early night tonight...gotta be up early so that we're out of the house on time tomorrow. The older Jet gets, the longer it takes to get us ready and out the door - he likes to drag me away from getting myself dressed, and then runs away when I try to dress him!
:sleeping:
Hey All
I have been really missing in action lately. Just so busy running around with work and stuff. DH has been on the computer most nights for the last week so I haven't had a chance to get on. Also started playing hockey on Sunday and Tuesday nights which eats into more time!! Great to get out though.
Well update from me is that GF is much better. I probably shouldn't be doing sport yet as it and work exhausts me but I do enjoy it. Just waiting for the tiredness to go away as I only get achey occassionally now. I also had to do an extra half a day this week which is not great given I don't get paid for it!
Kayley is great. Apparently she had a great day at child care today running around and kissing all the other kids - no wonder she is always sick!! But she seems to have a bad day then a good day so can't complain too much. She is saying her name really well now. Can point to heaps of things in her books and is getting quite a few good words out. We went to the zoo last weekend and she loved seeing all the animals. She is also sleeping through most nights (touch wood)!!
Jen - I love Ikea too. I am scared about the big bed as like Jet Kayley doesn't stay real still and I think she will just keep getting out! I am going to wait until the new house anyway (if it ever gets started - we are STILL waiting on final plans - ggggrrr - but that is a long story).
Sare - Kayley is a bully too - mainly to me - and she always thinks its soo funny to pull my hair and bite etc.
Kimba - I have no idea how big Kayley is now but I don't think she has grown much. I will have to get her measured again soon but might wait until her 18mth check up.
Sal - I hope you are enjoying the conference - a few nights in the Crown does sound nice to me but I guess as you are often on the road it is not as appealing for you!
Jack - hope your inspection is OK. I hate them and one thing about renting again - it is a pain!
Georgia - Kayley loves putting things in and out of buckets and other containers and walking arouns with them - she doesn't do the cute handbag thing - she is not much of a girl girl (like her mum)!
Bec - I wish I had grandies to spend time with - I loved them all soo much so I think it is great to spend as much time with them as possible while you can. One of the big reasons I wanted to mover back to SA is as I have already lost my dad early I didn't wnat to just get to see my mum and other family a couple of times a year.
Well girls - I have to go. Best wishes to all of you and I will try to get on a bit earlier this time!!!
Oh and happy valentines for you all tomorrow - hopefully you do better for yourself than I did for my anniversary yeaterday.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
14-02-2008, 07:26
kimba - lol...people reckon keanus looks older than what he is ... ??? i dont think he is tall for his age, nor big...but people see things differently lol...some say he is small..you can't win hey!!!!
i am trying to work out what size he will be in for winter as they have some great sales on at the moment....i am thinking a 1 (def in waist) but am worried about length tho...so will have a look today maybe....looks like it is going to rain here :no:
anyway better go get keanu brekky...chat soon
enjoy your day
I think my issue with putting Jet into a big bed is that he won't just lay down and go to sleep even now, so I'm dreading what he'll be like when he's not 'trapped' in the confines of a cot...I'm also scared he'll fall out of bed when he has a night terror :(
:
wat you do is put a mattress on the floor (so doesnt matter if they fall out. and only put to sleep wen really tired. takes acouple of turns some nights but i still prefer it
kane went well in hospy. dont know results yet. he only had to spend 6 hours in icu as he responded well from ga.
got text from di-matt. she has to stay in hospy till boys arrive. prob by friday but maybe next week. her liver startin to fail and she badly anemic
Thought all of you lovely October 06 Mummies would like to read how my ultrasound went today.......
Well, we had our scan at 9.30am this morning. I was so nervous and anxious, I felt like I was going to be sick!!
When we went in, I told the sonographer that we would like to know what we are having, but that he could do what he had to do first, then check, double check, triple check, before telling us what we have.
At one stage, I thought I could see what we were having, so quickly turned away. My heart started beating so fast, lol!
When he was finished with his measurements and things (all is going great by the way!!), he asked us what we already have. I told him "3 boys", then DH said "And this one's probably a boy too". I turned away from the screen at this stage, as I knew he was getting close to taking a look.
Then he said.........
"No, I don't think so."
At this stage, I spun my head around to see the screen so bloody quickly, and tears started streaming from my eyes immediately!!
"Are you serious?", I screamed......
He said " I can't see anything between the legs.....see those 3 white lines, they're usually the indicator of a GIRL!!!!
OMFG!!!! I have cried half the morning already, and now have sore eyes!! I really didn't think I'd be this emotional, although I guess, I really didn't think I'd be having a girl!!
FACEBOOK BUDDIES: Please try and hold your excitment in to just bub hub, as we are not telling anyone what we are having, and there are family members on my facebook!! thanks!!
Sorry, no personals from me. Too busy sitting up here on :cloud9:!!
Hope all is good though!!
:smiliedance: Sarah!!! Congratulations on your PINK bump!!!!!!!!!!!
Happy V Day everyone! did anyone get spoilt?
This morning before it was even light I could hear Jet yelling 'Byeeeeeee Byeeeeeeee Byeeeeeee' in his room. When I went in he was frantically waving at his window, yelling Bye over and over - because he could hear the garbage truck outside in the street, LOL!
:yelclap:OMG Congratulations Sarah on cooking a girl! I'm so delighted for you - how exciting for you and your houseful of blokes - I bet DH can't believe it :flowerz:
Sue - Glad that Kane went really well in hospital he's such a trooper! And thanks for letting us know about Di, the poor thing, I hope she's doing OK. Can't believe her boys will be here within a week or so.
Jack - LOL at trying to work out clothes sizes, it's tricky isn't it? I pretty much buy 2's for Jet all the time now because at least he won't grow out of them in a hurry, but his legs are still short so I have to roll his pants up! I got him the cutest little Ripcurl wetsuit today to wear for swimming lessons and on our trip to Indo, and I was actually deliberating over whether to get him a 3, so it'd last him longer! but I think a 3 would be wayyy too big.
Beck - so good to hear from you I was wondering how your GF was going. Kayley is such a clever chicken saying her name! Jet doesn't even know his name, let alone say it LOL.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
14-02-2008, 15:02
CONGRATS sarah... a girl...must be wonderful news....!! :cloud9:
Sue - glad kanes op went well too...sounds like he is a lil trooper!!
yeh it sux trying to work out clothjing size...argh....size 2 will be wayyyy to big around the waist and they dont sell much with draw strings... argh what to do, what to buy lol....its all fun and games....i have a heap of clothes that we have been given (like brand new) hey range from size 1-2...i put a pair of pants on keanu the other day while going thru them and the size 1 was a bit big around the waist and a little too long (which im not fussed about as can roll them up like you said kimba)...so i think a 1 shud be perfect by winter as i dont think he will grow too much more by then....or at least i hope not lol :confused:
well i had better go and do a few things, keanu had a huge sleep, which meant i have been on here for ages...now he is eating sultanas from the floor (they were in a bowl)....cheerio for now.
xo
:smiliedance:Congratulations Sarah...that's wonderful news.
I'm so happy for you.
Have you told the boys yet? Or are you keeping it a surprise?
Sue - Glad to hear Kane's op went well. Good luck with the results. Oh and send on our good wishes to Di.
I'm off to pack. I'll pop back on tom and see if Di has had her boys and to say bye...
GeorgiaAnne
14-02-2008, 15:20
:smiliedance: Sarah, congratulations!!!! I just had a little pregnant lady tear for you :goodvibes:
We're all off to a 1st birthday party today. I hope we have time to go to the library beforehand, I'm really sick of Ella's bedtime selection!
DP astonished me by coming home with a big box of ferrero rochers on V day! My second Valentine's present ever, and definitely the first unprompted one! Awwww. Lately I have been alternating between adoring him and being really irritated by him - the choccies were a definite adoration moment:p
Clothes sizes - :rolleyes: Ella is definitely a sz 2 in bottoms, even some of those are too wide in the waist. But her sz 2 tees are too short for her! She's wearing a sz 3 jacket to daycare now and we have to roll the sleeves right up!
Kimba, how cute with Jet waving to the garbage truck. Ella does the same thing in the Woolies carpark! I have the same concerns about a big bed too. Hope you got some sleep before your early start.
Jackie - it's amazing how much more appealing food is once it has "floor flavour" isn't it??
Ella was eating cherry tomatoes off the plant yesterday! I've uploaded some pics of the vegie patch onto our flickr site - it's huge! Anyone want some watermelon :D
Sarah I hope the weather's good up there on :cloud9:
Sue, :fingerscrossed: for Kane's results. What a tough nut, guess he wanted to be out of there!
hey Beck, glad you are back at hockey! Hope the house plans are sorted soon. Yay you with the sleeping through. I miss that!!
Better go get organised for the day.
Congratualtions Sarah - that's great news!!
Kayely i still mainly in ones but a few things are getting a bit small. She used to be off the charts but I don't think she has really grown much for a while.
Nothing else for me. I have an ear infection which has thrown on my butt again - my immune system is stuffed and Kayley bringing everything hoem from childcare does not help!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-02-2008, 13:52
:wave:...
well we went shopping today, yep for mummy for a change lol...came home with NOTHING....ZILCH!! damn...
i think we'll just have to his the shops this thursday arvo/night and drag DP along as they dont make it easy with mums and babies...change rooms that is...ARGH!!!!! Drives me batty!!
got keanu another little blanket with a little bear attached to it (you know the ones) and we got him another blanket the soft pollar fleece with the ribon around the edging (my friend got him that)..he likes them in his cot. lol....snuggly and soft!
hmm tried size 1 trackies on him and they fit perfect length wise, a bit big in the waste....BUT argh i always have that trouble, size 2's are wayyy too big in the waist......!!! mind you i noticed different brands of size 1 are different lengths...so maybe have to do some scoping out.
Beck - hope ur ear infection clears up soon...that's the worst!!!
What a busy and odd week I have had! My older bro called on Monday night, asked where I live, turned up 5 minutes later and declared I should drive him to the airport at 4am in the morning, and by the way he was sleeping here. Er..ok. I see him once a year, if that! So a very early morning, drop him off, had no petrol and he wouldnt buy any so I drove the 40 minutes home watching the petrol light and praying to whichever deities I thought might help me out. Got home safely, and got on with life. Wednesday night he calls at 7pm, says he's at the airport again, come get him right now. Gee, thanks for the notice. Luckily Abbey wasnt in bed yet, so off we went. Next morning he disappears at 5am. Comes back a few hours later with all his stuff and MOVES IN! He's flying off to Melbourne again this afternoon, ostensibly to live. Has abandoned his rental, chucked in his job and is going on a grand adventure.
I wouldn't mind so much if he had planned it better and taken into account that I do have a life and a baby routine to keep, and if he didnt break things all over the place like photo frames and pantry cupboard hinges, stink up my couch, and be so darn noisy. I tell you he is incapable of being quiet. His quiet is still a troll thundering through the woods! Obviously some petrol, food and repairs money would be good too, but I've got a better chance of winning lotto.
Ok, vent over. I'm not even going to mention the amount of cr@p I'm inheriting.
I had the whole family stay over on Friday night, and a couple siblings stay the weekend, and everyone will be back again tonight too, and Abbey has loved it. All these people to talk to and play with! And a dog! I've been using the toilet all by myself, and even showering too. Ive decided Abbey doesn't really want a baby sister, she wants a big sister, around 6 years old. Little bit harder to acquire.
Jackie - I go shopping all the time for myself, but never get anything. Its just all too hard. :hair:Shops just dont have large enough change rooms, and the ones that have disabled ones tend to use them for storage!
Sarah - you must be over the moon! I hope she stays pink and wasn't tricking, she is going to be so spoiled!
Re clothes - Abbey is in size 2s, legs are a bit long but I bought size 2 pants last winter and just hemmed them up. I will just let them down a bit this winter. I have to go buy some more long sleeve shirts and winter dresses and tights though.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-02-2008, 09:04
:wave: awww sounds like a busy busy weekend for you!! you poor thing, some people just don't think do they!!!
Well i am dragging DP off shopping thursday arvo/night....MIL is going to have keanu for us just to make the trip a bit easier...i am in desperate need for some new clothes...
friday night we are picking up DP sister from the airport, and having a BBQ at a friends, so keanu will love seeing her....
tomorrow we have lunch at kanes old place of work, with his old boss....so keanu is getting out and about this week...and Friday we are going to dreamworld with a few other bubhub mums...so that should be fun...
dp gets his HR licence this week so hopefully we have some direction in a week or 2 in regards to perth :fingerscrossed: we get it....we really want it...!!!
hmmm not a lot else to report...i have AF so not feeling 100%...better go and do some cleaning.
cheerio
ETA - My Username has been changed!! :-)
:wave: everyone!!
Hope all is good! We've had such a busy weekend - It's M's birthday today. He's a big 5 year old now!! happybirthday Very exciting indeed! We had a party for him on Saturday with a couple of his Kinder buddies and our families - we went bowling. They all had a ball! Then we were out most of the day yesterday, visiting more family. Today, his birthday, was filled with swimming lessons, then Kinder, and Macca's for tea tonight with my Mum, Aunty and lil sister. I can't believe he's 5 already....in know time at all, it will be our little Oct bubbies turning 5 :eek:
Michelle - I hope it stays pink too, lol! I've just off loaded a sh1t load of baby boys clothes tonight and I don't particularly want to be chasing around after everyone to get them back, lol!! Poo to your brother....the childless siblings really do not have a clue do they? Their time will come.....mwahahahaha
Re: Clothes sizing - J is mainly in a size 1 bottoms, and either a size 1 or 2 top. Seeing as though T is so short (and still wearing a size 1 pants even though he's 3!!), J and T can share some of the same clothes now! I'm almost sure that T will out grow his blundstones pretty soon, and J will be able to step straight into them, lol!
Sare - Hope you're having a lovely time away! We decided to tell the boys....well, I couldn't really keep it a secret as they kept telling me I had a girl baby anyway. M and T were both so excited. Pity if we had wanted to keep it too much of a secret though, cos as soon as my Mum walked in that night, M rubbed my belly telling her there was a girl baby inside, and that he was getting a sister. It was so special. Now, he evens tells people, "we've got a girl baby, and her name is .........". Have to tell him to stop that one!!
I've made my first baby girl purchase!! A two pack of baby bonds pink socks, lol! I'm a little worried though, as I know this is going to start costing me a lot, and I mean a lot, of money, lol!
I'm off to bed. Once again, I'm totally exhausted, and haven't been feeling the best today. Don't know why, but I've taken a couple of maxalon during the day, so thankfully they helped for a little while.
Speaking of not being well: Beck - Hope you're feeling a little better. You're really having a rough trot with illnesses lately, aren't you?
Ok, night!
SalTheGal
19-02-2008, 18:42
Sorry ladies been MIA again!
Just don't have anything much to report here....
BUT.....
OMG OMG OMG
Sarah!!!!
:cloud9: :goodvibes: A Baby Girl!!! :goodvibes: :cloud9:
Would you believe I had tears when I read it! I am so very very excited for you- that is wonderful news!
Um so, here....Nedd has a cold, and hes been super clingy to me, we have ended up picking him up early from daycare two days in a row, thus i am taking a sickie tomorrow to spend some quality time with my boy. I actually think he is pining for some mummy time, which is making him miserable more so than the cold, when I am around he is just clawing at me, and cries if i disappear out of the room. It was a long week away from him last week, then I had to traipse off to a hens day on the sat, so no wonder he is missing his mummy!
He is saying more and more stuff. Or not necessarily saying more- just saying it more clearly!
His latest is to grab my hand and place it where he wants it to be...ie if there is a button I should be pushing, or a toy I should be playing he will physically place my hand on it- very cute!
He will also grab my hand to take me for a "walk"- usually to the front door- I hate that it is so hot at the moment as I am reluctant for him to be outside too much during the heat- yet he just adores being out there....and gets upset when I won't play! Whenever we are walking on the street anywhere he has to hold our hand- so now he loves to go for walks together.
He is also rather attached to going for walks in the pram, and has taken to climbing into it and sitting there waiting for me....even if I have no intention of going anywhere!
We have the cot bumpers installed and slowly but surely his headbanging seems to be decreasing- I am getting up two to three times now, which is better than the ten times I counted a few weeks ago!
Re clothes sizes....you have all got me puzzled! Nedd is very much in ones, but no where near in twos, they swim on him- yet according to popular opinion he is a "big boy"!
Hows the weight loss going all the dieters? I am on 10kg down, but have flatlined...with only 6wks till thailand I desperately want to lose another 5kg by then- it just seems to be getting harder and harder to maintain the momentum. :crying:
OK, enough garbage from me! Kisses to all, and take care. :)
Hey girls
Just a quickie from me. Been in hospital since Tuesday last week.
Babies are fine and still safely inside but my blood has been nutso.
I have had blood taken every day for the last 8 days, blood transfusions, iron injections, iron infusions, steroid shots and am on about 11 different tablets a day.
The upshot of it all is our little boys will be making an appearane on the 3rd of march (provided nothing further goes wrong with me) So I am home to enjoy 11 days with my family then whamo....welcome babies.
When I feel a little more up to it I will jump back on and atch up on the news.
Jeez Di - I'd better stop complaining about all the blood tests & needles involved in being Rh neg! Hope you have a great 11 days before twin arrrival day - well I hope you're as comfortable as possible anyway...:yes:
I had a very sudden, very nasty but thankfully brief bout of gastro or something on Monday. It was horrid! It's apparently doing the rounds at Daycare too, the place smelled interesting yesterday and one of the carers described it as "horror poo day" :eek: Ella is ok but it can't be far away. Also I'm worried about DP's immune system - he is back shearing full time now and it's knocking him about a bit, that's some pretty full on manual labour after 12 months off! I just hope he doesn't catch anything til he's settled in a bit. And oh BOY the muscles he's getting back :D!!
We're off tomorrow afternoon to Mum & Dad's place til Sunday - it's their 40th wedding anniversary dinner! Fairly impressive. I'll have to pick out something purdy for Ella to wear.
Sal, hope you enjoyed yesterday at home with Nedd and he relaxes a bit after some quality Mummy time. That's so cute that he climbs into the pram - Ella spends her time trying to climb out of hers! I actually think it's too small for her legs and was wondering about buying a cheapie stroller. Do you think it's worth it at this point?
Hi Sarah - awww is there anything cuter than little baby socks... and pink ones too... Hope you got a good night's sleep to recharge you a bit.
Jackie - dreaworld wow, you know the only theme park I've been to was Wonderland in Sydney, and that wasn't until I was 17 and my brother was working there! (in the Woolshed part in case anyone was wondering. Yes another shearer!) Hope you had some luck with shopping. I'm quite jealous!
Hey Beck - get well soon and no more bugs for a while :fingerscrossed:
Better go and get us both dressed for the day!
Uh oh, Abbey has discovered nostrils and the fun way objects go right in there. Still, better than discovering what fits in her pants region. So not looking forward to that one!
She's such a strange little human. She found some scuff slide on shoes in her toy box, which fit, but she isnt old enough for, so she wears one shoe around the house walking in a funny trotty step to listen to the sound and stop it falling off.
Haha, apparently poo in her nappy is okay, but if it leaks down her legs on to her shoe she gets concerned and has to come to mummy.
Said an excellent new word yesterday too. Dinosaur. Holding a dinosaur, repeating after mummy for once, she said 'didosor'. No 'I lub oo's' yet, you can bet I've been working hard on that one. Apparently she only cares about hearing it, no need to say it back.
Di - oh my goodness, you are having a rough trot with these boys. 11 days probably feels like a long time to you, just lay back and let it come and then you can tell them off face to face for all this trouble.
Bec - send some shearer muscles this way? I was considering a cheapie stroller too, Abbey keeps trying to slide out of the bottom of her pram, slumps sideways, puts her legs over the bar and flashes everyone...I've had to start putting shorts over her nappies, under her dresses when we go out so people don't get glimpses!
Sarah - girls are expensive. I think more expensive than boys, there are just so many pretty things out there! You'll have such fun shopping though, and DH can't deny anything girly since she is such a rarity.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-02-2008, 12:38
:yelclap::smiliedance: DP passed his HR licence...yay
hopefully - perth here we come.
Gee you lot are quiet. Not that I can talk I guess!
Jet has become infatuated with trucks. It must be some sort of genetic male thing, because I can't remember ever making any sort of 'big deal' out of trucks. But when he hears the garbage truck every Thursday morning he waves at the window and yells 'Duh! Duh!' (truck) - which incidentally sounds identical to his word for Duck! I can only tell the difference when I see what he's pointing at, LOL.
He points out trucks on TV too, and waves to them in the street. Oh, such a stereotypical boy! Mind you, he also likes to point out birds and flowers so I guess he's kind of balanced :p
His other favourite new word is turtle. Der-duw. Ohhhh so cute. Every time he sees one on tv, in a book, in the bath (he has several), he says Der-duw. I'm getting a turtle tattoo on my foot soon, because I love them too (OK so I may have influenced him there, hehehe) so I'm sure he'll get a kick out of that.
Hmm what else. He can make a kind of pig noise, soooo funny. And finally, he's decided he loves pasta, hooray! it makes meals so much easier, especially lunches for daycare. He's scoffing heaps of blueberries right now, hello SCARY BRIGHT GREEN POO!!!
Oh yeah - he bit me the other day while we were playing so I pretend-cried and he burst into tears! Maybe my sweet boy does have some empathy after all...
And the best thing? he yells MAMA MAMA and cheers and claps when he sees me get off the train in the afternoons - AWWWWWW love love love :bee:
Jackie - congrats on DH getting that HR licence, now he can work in the mines and make lotsa money! hehehe.
Michelle - Abbey sounds hilarious. Also sounds like she's getting more toilet-aware - good news for you for TT'ing! Jet hasn't figured out that he can put anything in his nose yet, except his finger. In fact no nostrils in this house are safe from the probing digit!
Bec - yuck gastro I hope you're fully recovered now and that Ella manages to escape it. Congrats to your mum and dad for their 40th Wedding Anniversary! That's no mean feat. We have a cheapie stroller and it's awesome. Well worth it if you ask me. Even at this age!
Di - great to hear from you and good to hear that the boys are still inside, safe and well - not so good to hear about all the cr@p you've been through you poor chook! but at least there's not much longer to go, I bet you can't wait to meet your twins. Wishing you all the best for the 3rd (in case I don't get on again before then...) :hugs:
Sal - Nedd is such a sweetheart. Jet does the hand grab too, but only when he wants to drag me somewhere - usually the kitchen, asking for food! LOL. I'm glad to hear the headbanging is decreasing and really hope it stops altogether soon.
Sarah - happy belated birthday Mack! The boys sounds like they're over the moon over their little sister, that's so adorable. And there's nothing much cuter than little tiny baby socks - especially pink ones after 3 boys!
Re: sizing. Jet is in size 2 tops and 1-2 bottoms. The 1 bottoms are perfect length (short legs!) but some 1s are a bit too snug over his cloth bum (especially bonds stuff). Some of the 2 bottoms are swimming on him, but I refuse to buy any more 1s that won't last him much longer - I'd rather just roll up the 2s for now and get more wear out of them.
echo....echo....echo....
Abbey is sitting in her high chair, lifting her feet up so she can see only toes over the edge of the tray, and exclaiming 'Toes!", or more precisely "Ts!".
Kimba - lol at the truck/duck...Abbey says the duh for duck too (and any bird), no trucks though. They scare her. She comes running across the room and climbs into my lap until the noise has passed.
Doesn't like any loud machinery noises actually, loud cars, motorbikes, kitchen appliances...big wuss.
Ew to scary bright green poo. You'd think blueberries would make purple poo.
It was stinking hot here yesterday 39deg in the house, until the afternoon winds came through and blew the tv off the stand. It was very windy, but smelled like ocean (its just down the road) so it was lovely. I hate the beach, but love sea breezes.
Well Abbey's bio-dad said he's coming over so I better do some cleaning. Keeping up appearances for the enemy and all that.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
24-02-2008, 10:22
he he in reagrds to the mines lol...
fingers crossed he gets his foot in the door at the airport...that pays $60000 a year (without overtime)....so that would set us up pretty much!
mind you we have been getting quotes etc...and it kinda feels like we have to put ourselves in debt to move forward (maybe...only a small amount and the debt would be paid off in a year...so not too bad)....
i know it will take 6 months to get on our feet in perth properly...but it will be worth it in the long term...!!!
so scarey tho...!
:( Jet had his first bloody nose today :( He's had lots of bumps and bruises but I've never seen him bleed before! Except the heel prick things they did in hospital...
Jet and I were at the park catching up with my mums group and Jet was being Mr Independent running wild and fearless all over the place and totally ignoring mummy - as usual. I'd just gotten him down from climbing up the steps of the really big spiral slide :rolleyes: and for some reason he just took off at full pelt toward the swings. I've tried to teach him to stay away from swings, but clearly that hasn't sunk in yet...
And I was on the wrong side of the slide and couldn't get to him in time, he was too fast. It was like everything was in slow motion - I could see everything so clearly but all I could do was yell 'noooo Jet not near the swiiiing' so that the woman pushing her kid on the swing would hear me and maybe avert the disaster. She didn't, Jet barrelled straight into the side of the kid as he swung, and got knocked down. My worst nightmare!
Lucky it wasn't too bad - the kid wasn't swinging hard, and Jet collected him from the side so he just bumped into his leg and didn't get feet in the face or anything (thank god!!!). So I think it scared him more than hurt him - he only cried till I picked him up and it seemed like he was fine, but then a few minutes later he had a little trickle of blood from his nostril...god I felt so awful...but it could have been much worse so I'm thankful for that.
Jet got off lucky though compared to one of his little mates, she was crawling and put her hand on a bee and got stung! Poor little bugger was utterly howling and distraught.
Solo park visits are just too stressful at this age, I've decided - you need to have 2 parents there playing 'keeper' - at least until Jet learns to stop when he's told! (will that ever happen???)
Re: blueberry poo - I thought it'd be more purple too - that's why the green freaked me out! LOL
Michelle - so cute that Abbey can say Toes. And even cuter that she runs to you when she hears a loud noise! Jet's the opposite - he roars when he hears noises. Such a boy!!! Just like that ad on TV for beef where the little girl is saying she likes ballet and fairies and the boy is yelling DINOSAURS RAAAR - that will be Jet one day.
Jack - an airport job sounds great. Understand your concern over getting into debt but if it means you eventually get further ahead then it's probably worth it!
Better go. Jet is meant to be sleeping, but when I put him down DH started yapping loudly on the phone right outside Jet's room despite me asking him to be quiet or go into another room. So now I can hear Jet still whinging in his cot. Bl00dy DH :banghead:. If this means we've missed the chance for Jet's only daytime nap (usually 12-2) and we end up with an overtired kid and tantrums and destruction all afternoon I'll be very bl00dy annoyed!!!
SalTheGal
24-02-2008, 11:52
OK....seriously, the joke isn't funny anymore...Whoever stole my sweet natured happy go lucky boy- I WANT HIM BACK NOW!!!!! :banghead:
Arghhh give me strength lord! So I know ages ago you all had the conversations regarding tantrums and I want's and tears, and I probably mentioned something along the lines of being so far blessed as Nedd didn't really do tantrums- well he has finally caught the bug!
For the last week I have just had a grizzle guts, nothing pleases him, except going outside (constantly taking my hand and leading my to the front door- then tears if it doesn't open), going for a walk in the pram (same thing), or sitting on my lap, or being carried by me.
I have even resorted to having him sit up on the bench with me when I am preparing dinner so he isn't clawing at my leg.
He just turns on the tears at the drop of a hat and we are SO over it!!!
He has turned into a fuss pot with his food (which I think is the result of my daycarer giving him too many sweet biccies- so I had words with her on thurs), and won't have a bar of DH (who is feeling very rejected).
I am flattered that he seems to be attached to me- but if I am not doing what he wants to be doing he cries anyway!
The thing that I hate is that he doesn't throw 'tantrums' as such- no fist banging, screaming, stamping feet....he just drops the bottom lip looks as though his heart is breaking and cries- REAL tears!!! So it is really upsetting to watch!...Any advice mush appreciated! :rolleyes:
I am hoping against hope that it is all the result of his cold (which a trip to the dr thurs confirmed it is a throat infection) and that he will snap out of it very soon....I just want my happy smily boy back!
That said though I think his addiction to being outside won't pass- he just adores it, and is all day at me to be out there...he even loves being in his pram all day if it means we are out of the house. Atleast it will be good for when we go to thailand....he will have a ball!:smiliedance:
Kimba- Poor Jet, that would have to be one of my biggest stresses- the collision with the swing, I just cringed reading it! And I totally agree on solo visits to the park! We need each other to take shifts, cause otherwise it is exhausting! And nice to hear Jet is so excited to see you after work, doesn't it just make you melt!:valentine:
Michelle- Cute Abbey with her toes, Nedd says toes too, and can point to them on him- but not on anyone else- apparently no one else owns toes! But 'didosur'- too cute!! And more than one syllable- very impressive! Nedd loves to stick his fingers up his nose, but everything else gets poked in his ear (or mine!).
He said 4 new words yesterday (Boat, Pa, Bird, Train- or trn) And slept for four hours- so maybe he had a learning curve that wore him out.
Jack- nice work for your DH, I have been travelling a fair bit to perth for work, and it is lovely! If I wasn't so attached to my family I think we would consider the move there too.
Bec- hope you are feeling better, and that Ella and you Fiance (are you used to that yet!?) were spared.
And Di...will be thinking of you lovey.....good luck! :flowerz:
OK...having a baking day to try and come up with some things Nedd will eat that don't involve prepackaging and choc chips bits, so best go get the muesli slice out of the oven before I ruin it completely!
Hope you are all well. Things are good here.
Kayley is good. I am finally starting to get a bit of hearing out of my ear so hopefully that will be cleared up and our building plans have FINALLY been given to the developer for approval.
It seems pregnancy is everywhere at the momnet both in here, with relatives, in my mothers group in Melbourne and friends here in SA. I have to admit I am more than a bit jealous!!
Sal - I hear you on the temper tantrums. Kayley has been doing it for ages which is a bit painful since I thought it was going to be a 2 year old thing!! She is a little miss and gets her way a lot of the time. Actually in the shopping centre she has started taking off - it is the only time she actually still gets down and crawls in an attempt to get away!! I have bought a monkey 2 in 1 harness buddy off eBay which arrived today so will have to try that next time!!
Kimba - I hope Jet is OK. We have only taken Kayley to the park a few times recently as she has only really got interested since she has started walking properly. Our park is pretty desolate so no issues here! As for the talking, Kayley is a real little champ in that area. She says so many words and can do all her animal noises and some of their names as well (eg dog - woof woof). Her most impressive words are still bubble and tickle which she says as clearly as me!!
Jack - good luck with Perth. I love it there and DH and I possibly would have looked at moving there instead of Adelaide if it wasn't for my family here.
Michelle - Kayley does the toes thing too and only with her own. She can point to her head, shoulders toes and face parts (seems to miss the knees though)! She has also started singing ei ei ow in Old MacDonald and DH has taught her to to Fonzie's "aaaa" thing. He has also taught her to say King Dad........
Di - keep well. You are going through so much you poor dear and sound so calm about it. Twin bubbies out soon - wow!! That must mean really no sleep!!
Bec - hope your house is clear of gastro now. Kayley has had it in the last week and the poor thing has got really bad nappy rash. She even had little sores yesterday but is clearing up a bit now with the cortisone cream. She has such sensitive skin my little dear.
Any way I have rambled enough and I better start thinking about getting ready for swimming.
Have a great week everyone!
There was a huge daddy long legs in the bathroom tonight when I was giving Jet his bath, and he was utterly entranced by it. I told him 'it's a Spider' and he kept trying to say it - 'Dida' was the closest, then when I kept emphasising 'SPider' he came up with 'Sssss-da!' :laughing:
2 other new words today - 'Down' and 'Baby'. He used to say baba without any meaning but now suddenly he points at babies on tv, in books, and photos of himself (that he doesn't realise are actually him) and looks at me and says 'baby!', or 'bubby!' awww so cute...
Another word association I'm not sure I'm so keen on is the way he says 'Mama' whenever he sees a bare belly! :o I think it came from me saying 'this is mummy's belly, where's your belly' but now apparently 'mama' = 'belly'. Which, if you saw my stomach is ironically quite appropriate LOL :laughing:. At least the way he lavishes affection and kisses on my belly shows me that he clearly thinks its lovely - for now...
I was having a shower today and he was playing in the bathroom to keep me company (IE not letting me out of his sight) :rolleyes: and he went quiet and hunched down, I said 'what are you doing?' and he said 'Poo!', which he most certainly was! I was so proud :laughing: that's the first time he's said Poo when he's done/ doing one (usually he only says it when he's on the change table getting cleaned up)
It's a bit evil of me, but something I'm really loving right now is the way Jet totally favours me over DH. I think that's only fair reward for the amount of parental effort I put in - DH is getting a bit miffed though. Hehehe. If I go anywhere (even into another room with a closed door) Jet cries and hurls himself at the door - whereas if DH goes out Jet cheerfully says 'bye' and keeps playing, without missing a beat. We were all going out yesterday and DH picked up Jet to walk out the door while I grabbed the nappy bag, and Jet freaked out and reached for me and said 'Mama!!!!' - like, don't take me away from my Mummy! DH grumbled 'yeah she's coming too' and I had a little giggle, hehehe.
Beck - glad to hear that things are good with you guys and that you're pretty much better. LOL at DH teaching Kayley to say King Dad! Jet says bubble, but that's actually his word for apple - I have no idea why, and I can't teach him otherwise! And I hear you on the taking off in shopping centres - we took Jet to the markets on the weekend and he refused to sit in his stroller (he can get out of the stroller harness now, god help us) and refused to be carried, he just wanted to get down and run. I'm really hoping that's not what he'll be like in Indonesia...
Sal - my sympathies regarding the tantrums finally making an appearance! It's hard when there's real tears isn't it... I know he's probably too young for it but I've started introducing the 'naughty mat' concept by taking Jet to the kitchen mat whenever he's really going wild and does something he's been repeatedly asked not to do (mainly just to distract him, at this stage!) and even with me being gentle and calm he just 'knows' I'm not pleased and bursts into tears and grabs my leg looking up at me with these huge sad crying eyes, argh...makes me feel horrible. I have to say though, at least tears and clinginess are easier to deal with than when he's really furious and doesn't want you to touch him and hurls himself backwards onto the floor or bashes things around, I get scared he'll hurt himself or break something...
Anyway better go - enjoy your evenings all!
Busy busy week so of course I'm spending my tiny bit of computer time procrastinating on the Hub!
We had a great weekend, the anniversary party was lovely, it's so great when we're all together - 13 of us now including partners & kids!
Also a very special moment, Mum offered her veil to me for the wedding! She unpacked it and I tried it on... white tulle, chapel length with little daisies and scrolls around the border. It even matches my favourite dress design which has daisies embroidered on it! I tried it on and Mum and my sister went "awwww" and Mum took a pic. Lovely!
Words - Ella says so much now, I'm not sure if it's daycare related or just her age, but she says lots of words clearly (cat, sheep, cow, etc). My favourite is "see you later", delivered at daycare and when I hang up the phone, in exactly the same tones I say it! Just kind of runs the words together. But she charms everyone by having these great long conversations in babble, but with all the intonation of words! SO cute. Also she runs around saying "go go go!"
Kimba - Wow with the poo recognition! That's a good indication isn't it. Ella is exactly the same with me vs DP - but so it should be when I still do ALL the bedtimes, night wakings etc even though we're both working and he hardly sees her! Good work with the naughty mat too. Sounds like a good idea, even just as a distraction.
Hey Beck - hurrah for the plans going in! Hope it moves speedily for you from now on. Ella only got a mild case of runny poo, but the nappy rash was scary! I'm just glad she wasn't vomiting. I don't even know how I'll cope with that when she eventually gets a bad stomach bug. Speaking of sensitive skin, how does Kayley cope with mozzie bites? They come up as such massive lumps on Ella, I always feel terrible for "letting" her get them!
Sal, the tears tanties are awful aren't they. Ella has days like that, I reckon it's only a matter of time til she figures out that "sad" works much better on Mummy than "angry"! Got to say I never use the F word - he's still just my partner. Can't wait til he's my husband though!! Ahh wedding fantasies.
Michelle - hope evil ex was not too painful and was suitably nice to you both. Lol at the shearing muscles. Come visit me and I'll see what I can round up! hahaha. Actually we dobbed one of DP's mates in for Farmer Wants a Wife this year!
Jackie - :fingerscrossed: it all works out for you guys with the job prospects. Going into debt to make money is scary!
BTW - Blue Vodka Cruisers also make bright green poo :laughing: in case you wanted to know. My friend calls them Kermit poos! A flashback from my enjoyably misspent youth :D
SalTheGal
26-02-2008, 09:27
Also a very special moment, Mum offered her veil to me for the wedding! She unpacked it and I tried it on... white tulle, chapel length with little daisies and scrolls around the border. It even matches my favourite dress design which has daisies embroidered on it! I tried it on and Mum and my sister went "awwww" and Mum took a pic. Lovely!
How exciting- I wore my mums veil too....it is SUCH a special thing to do, still gives my mum (and me!) warm and fuzzies, and mum as proud as punch on the day! :cloud9:
Bec I hope you realise I am going to totally be reliving my wedding through you! I am hanging for all the updates!!! :hugs:
well I finally got Abbey down for her morning nap, at lunchtime. Only took an hour :rolleyes:
She's just a great big sooky la la lately. She's worked out tantrums dont work, but sooking is easy to do all day and mummy can't stand it.
So ignoring tantrums worked, but should I ignore sooking too? If she sooks all day it means I have to ignore her all day!
She's just all about testing mummy lately. Always wanting to know what will happen if she does a not quite naughty. Like drawing on the wall with her crayon but not pressing hard enough to leave a mark, or pressing the tv power button but not hard enough to turn it off. Little monster looks at me as she does these things. :devil:
Why can't she be my gorgeous, happy angel all day and night? I'm starting to fear I've created a brat!
Bec - You should write to the cruiser makers and let them know. It may not be common (disgusting) knowledge! :p
Kimba - good work on the poo recognition! Abbey won't play in the bathroom while I shower anymore, not for months. She opens the door and walks in, clothes and all and cries to be picked up. As if she is going to let a piece of perspex get between her and her beloved mummy. And yes, mummy's tummy which is pleasantly squishy. I just wait until her nap to shower, so much easier.
Wonder if Jet will be wary of the swings next time? Abbey doesn't want a bar of them, or any equipment really.
Sal - I hope Nedd stops his tantrums soon and gives you a break, or directs them at DH for a while. They're exhausting aren't they!
SalTheGal
26-02-2008, 13:51
She's just a great big sooky la la lately. She's worked out tantrums dont work, but sooking is easy to do all day and mummy can't stand it.
So ignoring tantrums worked, but should I ignore sooking too? If she sooks all day it means I have to ignore her all day!!
This is exactly what Nedd does! We never have a true tantrum as such- just a sooky boy who cries! Grrrr It is driving me nuts! :hissy: And I have no idea what to do either- cause it is so persistant.
Off to perth tonight- on the red eye, leave at 9pm, get in at 1am our time, so will be buggered tomorrow, but atleast it means I get to put Nedd to bed tonight.
Plus I am back thurs evening, so its just a short trip which is good.
Then have Fri off to enjoy with Nedd so it will be nice to be home! :flowerz:
GeorgiaAnne
26-02-2008, 14:21
Hi chickies, sorry i've been such a bad bubhubber lately, just been busy with work, morning sickness and a croupy bubba :no: I was also very upset yesterday when I picked up Sophia at day care apparently she has been very rough lately with the other children :o I really don't know what to do as we always try and teach her "gentle" but she doesn't seem to get it.
re: words, not many here at all she just babbles away incoherently :ecomcity: but she understands a lot and will perform fairly complicated tasks on demand like " can you get the black bag from the laundry" and off she trots and gets it (the hard part is getting it off her!)
She also has an obsession with opening the freezer and fridge and carrying things around - it drives me mad because it takes a long time to get bored of it.
re: house, wish me luck as i'm bidding at an auction on Saturday, dh is away atm in Spain the lucky ****** so I have to do it myself :devil: watch out!!!
re: my pg, it's ok 'cept still got the ms. I had my nt scan which was all cool but my placenta is low and at the front which is not so good for vbacing so hopefully it will move up.
Well, that's about all from me!
GeorgiaAnne
27-02-2008, 08:52
Oh and where's Sare, she hasn't posted in ages either?
:wave: everyone,
Thought I'd better put in an apperance since I've been missing for ages!!
All is going ok here. I'm still as tired as ever and just trying to get through each day with us all in one piece, lol!!
I have started J at daycare for one day. He seems to really enjoy it. The first day, he wouldn't even give me a cuddle good bye, just ran off in the opposite direction. I guess it helps that T is there with him (in a different room, but still there none the less). He is so very tired though when I go and pick him up. Last week, he was so so tired, he didn't even eat his dinner, and was asleep by 6.00pm, lol. I'm going to be picking them up a little earlier today to try and avoid that!
I've also started him at swimming lessons this term, which he also absolutely loves! he spends most of the time laughing and smiling, which is great!! It just makes me feel bad to think I may not be able to take him during 3rd term, as I'll have just given birth and won't be able to go into the pool, iykwim? And, I can't rely on anybody, every week, to take him in. I'll have to wait and see.
We have another tooth or two here as well. J's mouth is looking just about as full as the boys mouths now!! I'll have to count how many he has now :o
Still not many words here. I asked the Dr last week about it, and he says it's quite normal for boys to excel in different areas of development before they start on their speech. So, I'm going to stop worrying so much about it for now, and leave it another couple of months. We know he's hearing us ok, as he's wonderful at listening and following direction. He has started singing the ladidadida part of Galumph went the little green frog, which is super cute!
Georgia - I've also had a baby with croup...not nice at all is it? J would spend hours coughing during the night, even with his medication, and I felt so helpless. He was a trooper though, and slept through, although he was was oh so tired because of it the next day. Oh, Sare is away on holidays!
Bec - How nice that you'll be wearing your Mum's veil....I borrowed my friends, as the something borrowed. You know, I probably wouldn't have worn my Mum's even if she had offered it to me though - her marriage to Dad is over and to me, that's a bad vibe!
Re: Sooky la la children - SAME!!! Sook cos he wants this, sook cos I took this off him, sook cos he just wants to sook! I'm over it too!! Must be the age...you'd think I'd know after all the early childhood education I've done, lol! Ever since having children, I think I've forgotten it all, lol!
That's enough ramble from me for now. I'm going to go and enjoy the next coupld of hours of child free time!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-02-2008, 10:58
hi
just a quick one
dp is at his job interview for perth as i type....please send good vibes our way.
been flat out lately...
keanu twinkles his fingers when singing twinkle, twinkle...so cute
M,T & J's MUM - i think keanu is same in the speech department...he says a few words, but nothing new for a while, but he follows directions etc.
no time for personals sorry
cheerio for now
big hugs and kisses to all
GeorgiaAnne
27-02-2008, 14:33
:fingerscrossed: for the job interview Jac
diesal444
27-02-2008, 15:45
Afternoon ladies :wave:
Well its been a while but I have read all the posts and have loved hearing all the new and fun things our bubs are doing.
First and foremost....CONGRATULAIONS SARAH!!!.... I am thrilled to bits for you!!:smiliedance::baby:
Well we moved house 2 weeks ago its not the greatest of places but I keep telling myself not to be so ungrateful and that its not forever!!
So I have been waiting to get broadband connected and now I am finally online. It does somewhat surprise me that in this day and age of technology it can take a week or more simply to relocate your broadband account????:confused:
Anyways I wont even attempt personals just let you know whats going on in our tiring lives.
Work is...well work... not great and getting worse with lotsa changes.
Well my darling little girl has finally cut her molars. She now has 9 teeth. I thought she was cutting her 10th tooth and she was absolutely horrid.... Crying, whinging,screaming, not eating, not drinking, woke 2 nights in a row screaming!!.. but the thing that got me to the doctors was that she started bleeding from her mouth at the slightest knock/bump. Turned out she has a huge ulcer on her gum which I thought was the start of a tooth. by that time it was gigantic!!!
She is much better now and has stopped the whinging/crying, so it must be going away.
Well i best be off to get dinner ready for me and my girl.........xxxx
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-02-2008, 19:38
he got the job
we move in about 4 weeks. he starts on 25th march :):smiliedance::cloud9:
How's this for cuteness: in the afternoons DH and Jet always pick me up from the train station usually around 5.20pm. According to DH, yesterday at 5 Jet suddenly started saying 'Mama, Mama', and went and got his gumboots and asked DH to put them on for him. Then he stood banging on the front door wanting to go out and chanting 'Mama'. When DH still didn't come (I was at the dentist and DH knew I'd be a bit late) Jet picked up DH's cap and went and put it on his head, then grabbed his hand and dragged him to the door saying 'Mama Mama', and burst into tears when DH told him they weren't going yet. Awwww! when DH told me all this I got a bit teary - talk about feeling loved :cloud9::bee:
Speaking of teary, it must be catching LOL, Jet has been noticeably more sooky over the last few days, not chucking furious screaming 'don't you dare try to console me' tantrums like he used to, just crying like his heart is broken. And over the tiniest things too! like the crayons falling out of the packet :laughing: oh sometimes it's hard not to laugh in his poor little face :p I have to say though, I do like these kind of emotional outbursts a lot better than his previous screaming tanties - tears are a bit easier to cope with, coz at least he'll actually let me give him a cuddle and soothe him now...
Congrats Jac and DH on his job success - moving to Perth, how exciting! 4 weeks will fly so fast, wow you're gonna be so busy with packing etc, good luck with all that (I hate moving LOL)
Maryanne - nice one on the move and glad to hear you finally got your broadband LOL! I don't think I could live without our internet connection...and kisses to poor little Darcy with her ulcer! How unexpected - I would have just thought it was an erupting tooth too.
Sarah - glad to hear that J is loving daycare I bet you're loving a bit of time to yourself too. Jet is the same with his talking - understands directions really well (actually surprises me sometimes, the things he understands!) but isn't saying heaps, he comes and goes with it too, some days he talks a lot and others just babble.
Georgia - how did the auction go??? poo to MS still hanging around, but glad to hear your NT scan was all good, hopefully your placenta will shift as you progress :fingerscrossed:. Poor Sophia with croup! Jet has a horrible persistent phlegmy cough at the moment too (mainly when he's in bed, can be quite bad at night). Re: Sophia asserting herself at daycare, maybe she's copying the bigger kids? and hopefully when she knows a bit better she'll just grow out of it. But I can understand you feeling upset, I'd find it distressing too.
oops GTG - sorry to everyone I missed - will try to catch up with you in the next few days!:wave:
Hey all
I am pretty sure this will be my final post before we have two more in the house adding to our madness. ha ha
I have another scan tomorrow, blood tests on Saturday in case I need another blood transfusion (you'd reckon they'd know my blood type by now!!!!!) Then I'm in on Monday by 7am. We're 2nd on the list.
Funny story about that we were at dotors clinic on wed and John was talking to this guy who says to him "we're having our baby on Monday, need to be here by 7am. The missus can't stand it anymore". John asked him if he knew where on the list they were. He assured John they are first up. John was laughing when I walked into the waiting room and it was the other guys wife in front of me. John says to her "I hear that you're first up on Monday." She was moaning and groaning about it being harder than it was with their 14 month old and how much she was hating it so she wanted this one out.
Good old John says " we're second on the list for Monday. We've got our 16 month old and this is twins."
Well I thought she was going to fall over.
She says to her hubby "I need to go to the toilet, ould you walk me down."
We thought it was funny. I'm not sure if I'm ready or not but things have been out of hands for a while now. I guess it will all hit home well and truely on Monday if not before.
Won't hold everyone up any longer but I'll report next week whenever I get home.
\
Take care and hugs and kisses to all.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-02-2008, 16:13
awwww this is exciting, scarey all i n one lol....
trying to find a place at the moment. there is one just around the corner from my brother, well about 1kn away so he is going to check the outside out for us....and see what he responsds as....it is right across from a big park, so that would be awesum!
stressful tho....thinking of everything we have to do....but we know we are doing thr right thing...we were laughing last night....we have lived in sa, vic, qld, and now wa...lol....we will finish all the states by the time we are dead :laughing: joking!!! we are used to moving and settling tho, which is a good thing...just not use to doing it with a toddler he he...we shud be fine!!!
cheerio for now
Let's all March over here ... http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=160104