View Full Version : Feb Chat for Sept 08 mummies

Pages : [1] 2

hayleysmummy
01-02-2008, 09:11 AM
I think our other thread is a little full so seeing as though its a new month today I thought we could start fresh :D

Jel
01-02-2008, 09:31 AM
Going shopping today for some desperately needed maternity pants! hope there are some nice one's around. didn't see much last week when i went looking!
hope everyone is going along ok today.:sunshine:
i've got a thing for carrot cake - might have to find some of that too!

hayleysmummy
01-02-2008, 09:44 AM
Oh Yum Carrot cake now I'm hungry.
I know what you mean Jel its so hard to find nice maternity pants without the huge pricetag that fit nicely.I'm saving for a pair from the sweet lilly maternity wear website for $170 thankgod I'm still wearing my same old pants for now :laughing:. So Goodluck with your search.

Susmumma-I was just reading your post about telling people its a boy :laughing: I cracked up at that. I also tell people its a boy but they seem to get all negative and say you should just be happy with what you get like WTF Its not as though I wont love my bubba all the same .We would just love a boy this time :rolleyes: Some people hey

StarMummy
01-02-2008, 10:30 AM
OOPS posted in the other thread so will repost hehe

I am with Kymmy and PinkAngel feeling rather bleh and nauseous today, which i suppose is a good sign.

I am a little scared today as my last m/c was 9wks to the day on my wedding day :( and i am exactly 9wks today so a little jittery here.

that link about m/c was good but there was no section for me i have had full term birth after m/c and the 1-2 m/c since then to now..... so i dunno what my rate is.

3 more weeks roughly until i see my OB for first time and see my bubba on the screen for first time!! Am so excited about it all.

That will do for now i feel like i need to do what my avatar is......plus feed DD.

(9wks today)

susmamma
01-02-2008, 12:21 PM
OOPS posted in the other thread so will repost hehe

I am with Kymmy and PinkAngel feeling rather bleh and nauseous today, which i suppose is a good sign.

I am a little scared today as my last m/c was 9wks to the day on my wedding day :( and i am exactly 9wks today so a little jittery here.

that link about m/c was good but there was no section for me i have had full term birth after m/c and the 1-2 m/c since then to now..... so i dunno what my rate is.

3 more weeks roughly until i see my OB for first time and see my bubba on the screen for first time!! Am so excited about it all.

That will do for now i feel like i need to do what my avatar is......plus feed DD.

(9wks today)

I'm sure it will all be fine honey.
Enjoy your nine week anniversary, you deserve it :hugs:

Kaileysmum
01-02-2008, 12:42 PM

Sorry its been ages and ages since I have posted....I have to get in a routine of posting more lol.
Welcome to all the new Sept mummys to be since my last post and also :hugs: to all those having troubles.

Well I have been feeling a bit blah for the last week, some days are good and others are bad. Ive found the herbal morning sickness pills to help, and eatting vegimite toast as soon as I get up. Its so hard feeling C***py while looking after a active 2 year old. I feel for you ladys who have more kiddies to look after while feeling yuk!

Im 7 weeks and 5days today, and I go to my first OB appointment at 9 weeks, and he's giving me a ultrasound in his office, so I'll get my offical due date then!

Hope everyones feeling ok!!!!:)

Manz
01-02-2008, 01:05 PM
Going shopping today for some desperately needed maternity pants! hope there are some nice one's around. didn't see much last week when i went looking!
hope everyone is going along ok today.:sunshine:
i've got a thing for carrot cake - might have to find some of that too!

Out of desperation yesterday, I bought a pair of 3/4 pants from Big W - they were on clearance from $25 to $15!! They are GREAT - very casual, but still nice & COMFY! OMG! I cant believe that I am only 8 weeks preg and I am already needing some stretchy pants - my others would do up, but be so painful on my belly when I sat down!

And also Kmart and Target have some clearance summer stuff in Maternity - so try them out!!

I am actually feeling not too bad today - :yelclap: part of that would be because both my prescious boys are at Kindy & Preschool....so its nice and peaceful and quiet here!

I am craving Tomato on Sao's with HEAPS of salt & pepper atm..... how crazy - but SOOO yummy!

I hope everyone is well! ;)

GeorgiaAnne
01-02-2008, 01:17 PM
mmm, tomato on sao with s & p is one of my all time faves, not crazy at all!

Pink73
01-02-2008, 01:18 PM
I am craving Tomato on Sao's with HEAPS of salt & pepper atm..... how crazy - but SOOO yummy!

I hope everyone is well! ;)

YUM now I want Sao's to but I have nothing in the cupboard can you send me some lol.

We went to playgroup this morning and one of our mums had twins 2 weeks ago she also has a 14 month old DS 3 boys under 2 I will try to never complain again. She did so well she was induced at 38 weeks and had a 6lb5 and a 7lb8 so she was huge.
Feeling really well just hungry all the time.
Susmumma We have ordered a girl but I think I am having another boy I dont no if I an wait another 33 weeks to find out.

stellarella
01-02-2008, 02:15 PM
Hey ladies, I just put a link to this thread in the old one so we all know to move over here ;)

susmamma
01-02-2008, 02:21 PM
Susmumma We have ordered a girl but I think I am having another boy I dont no if I an wait another 33 weeks to find out.

well there's one way to find out... :laughing:

and pink if you have three boys you can be like victoria beckham... :)
where as if i get another girl i'll end up like the sad old bloody nanna-esq mother in little women with a harem of girls... much rather be posh!

susmamma
01-02-2008, 02:21 PM
Hey ladies, I just put a link to this thread in the old one so we all know to move over here ;)

saw that, good job stellarella.

susmamma
01-02-2008, 02:28 PM
Susmumma-I was just reading your post about telling people its a boy :laughing: I cracked up at that. I also tell people its a boy but they seem to get all negative and say you should just be happy with what you get like WTF Its not as though I wont love my bubba all the same .We would just love a boy this time :rolleyes: Some people hey
When I get that sort of reply I say in a dead pan voice, "Well we're sending it back if it's not a boy. And we've ordered blonde hair, preferably with a bit of a curl and brown eyes.":D

ooh that sounds like boy cravings.

mmm, tomato on sao with s & p is one of my all time faves, not crazy at all!

boy, boy, boy....

Balibear
01-02-2008, 02:56 PM
I have been really busy & not had a chance to post much on here.

Glad to here you all doing so well:yelclap:.

I had a dating scan done & they put me back two weeks:no: not happy i am now due 27th September not the 12th & already need strechy pants as i cant do mine up :(. On a happier note all is well in babyland even if i am only 5.6 wks. I got a good heart beat of 110 wich is good for so early i was 5.3 wks when i had the scan. i am finding my due date hard to belive as i did a HPT :bfp:on the 10th & was confirmed at the Drs on the 11th but according to my due date i only concived on the 5th lol.

Good luck to everyone as we approach our first scans:fingerscrossed:

cassvanm
01-02-2008, 04:51 PM
HI Bali
I know what you mean. I had a dating scan last week, and they put me back over a week! According to them, I had a postive HPT when I was only 3wks (!) Don't even know if that is possible!
Also, the Dr said "6wks, 1day - give or take a week"! Hows that for not at all specific!
I'm actually thinking of adjusting my personal EDD to the 13th, which is kind of in the middle of mine and the Drs EDD. Also makes me feel better for having the bump!
Cass

PS Do you know what I just realised (doh) - that the 13th, which is smack between my scan date and my date from m/c is actually my original date! Bring on the 13th - I'm coming back to it for a reason! It's fate!
PPS - That makes me EIGHT WEEKS TODAY! YAY!

01-02-2008, 06:15 PM
Mum reckons this one is a girl cos I am only craving vegies. With my first (a girl) all I craved was icecream.

Nothing fits me....but not ready for maternity clothes just yet. I have some maternity stuff from last bub so will see if that will suffice or I will get some extras as I need them.

Tls5431
01-02-2008, 07:13 PM
Well I had my second scan done today, since the first they could only see the gest sac.... and we have the most beautiful blob with a heart beat.

They have put me at 7wks and 6 days today and my EDD date is the 13th... I didn't really have a EDD before as they were not sure...

I'm extremely happy and so is DH...

Even though I had a bad day with M/S and tiredness, I had a great day.

I hope everyone is well :D

Manz
01-02-2008, 07:13 PM
[QUOTE=susmamma;2319950]When I get that sort of reply I say in a dead pan voice, "Well we're sending it back if it's not a boy. And we've ordered blonde hair, preferably with a bit of a curl and brown eyes.":D

ooh that sounds like boy cravings.

Yeah more than likely!!.... I had this same craving with Jayden (#2).... I wont be surprised at all if I am having a boy... the more the louder! :laughing:
But the sao's with tomato S & P is sensational!!!!!

susmamma
01-02-2008, 07:28 PM
ok just got back from drs and i'm pregnant (nice to know it's not just me and the hpt that thinks so) from just looking online at the hcg level she mentioned (800 i think she said) i'm on track for the right number of weeks gestation, the internet says 5.5wks. although when she mentioned it she said it put me between 4 and 5 weeks (which would be a bit low) as I'm six weeks on saturday.
i'm having a scan done end of next week which should clarify it all anyway.
i noticed online there isnt much point having a scan done prior to your hcg levels being 2,000 as you wont see a gestational sac prior to then.

anyway back home now and about to have my self some of that tomato on toast with extra salt and pepper... come on boy cravings!
I also 'dobbed' in the nasty receptionist for good measure. :D

naughty mummy.

hope everyone has a nice weekend.
love
susanna

01-02-2008, 07:40 PM
Oh yeah I forgot to go to the GP today!
Hubby made the appt just 2 days ago and we both forgot. I remembered just a few hours too late! So I guess he will have to reschedule. Way too much on my mind atm.

nattie81
01-02-2008, 08:38 PM
So I think we might have lost our little one....

As you know I have been worried over the last couple of weeks because I didnt have many symptoms.. well, tonight i decided to try and reassure myself (because i still have 2 weeks until my docs appt) by doing another HPT.

It came up really really faint, which shouldn't happen. I phoned the 13 Health No that we have here in QLD and the nurse said to go get a blood test tomorrow but thats all she could tell me.

Im not losing faith just yet, but I just haven't felt right for the last 2 weeks... Will update in the morning... Im feeling really sad right now! I just wish I could know now.

susmamma
01-02-2008, 09:29 PM
So I think we might have lost our little one....

As you know I have been worried over the last couple of weeks because I didnt have many symptoms.. well, tonight i decided to try and reassure myself (because i still have 2 weeks until my docs appt) by doing another HPT.

It came up really really faint, which shouldn't happen. I phoned the 13 Health No that we have here in QLD and the nurse said to go get a blood test tomorrow but thats all she could tell me.

Im not losing faith just yet, but I just haven't felt right for the last 2 weeks... Will update in the morning... Im feeling really sad right now! I just wish I could know now.

Try not to worry too much until you have the blood test done. :hugs: for you.

matalee
01-02-2008, 09:33 PM

My heart goes out to Haileye, Juzzy & Nattie81:hugs:, I really hope everything is ok, it's so sad to hear your news.

cassvanm
02-02-2008, 07:33 AM
Nattie - I am thinking of you, and let us know how you go with your blood tests.

02-02-2008, 09:34 AM
:hugs: Nattie. Hope things work out for you.

mixy
02-02-2008, 10:27 AM
nattie81, :hugs: let us know, good luck with your doc appointment

GeorgiaAnne
02-02-2008, 03:37 PM
:hugs: Nattie, I hope it is all ok for you, it must be so hard to have to wait One of closest gfs is going through the same thing and it is awful :hugs:

Susanna - lmao, I reckon if you eat a whole pack of saos you could prob turn a girl into a boy. I'm not sure that Posh is an ideal role model though i'd happily take her hub off her hands for a few days:D

AmyLou
02-02-2008, 04:11 PM
Hi Ladies, hope everyone is well, thinking of you nattie..

Well i have had a yucky couple of days myself.. was feeling really good with the whole thing apart from the terrible MS and then Thursday night i went to the toilet and when i wiped there was a bit of discolouring.. so i wiped again and pushed the toilet paper in a little bit and got some brown blood. I almost died and didn't know what to do, i told my DH and basically cried myself to sleep. Went to the toilet about 12 times that night and probably slept about 2 hours.. got up on Friday and i was SOOOO sick, the worst i have been, DH brought me a cup of tea in bed and i kept that down for a little while but when i got to work i vomited.. twice.. Haven't vomited yet while being pregnant... I felt so terrible. Anway i rung my Ob and spoke to the midwife and she asked me about the spotting and what it was like and said it sounds like it could be nothing as it is old blood, there wasn't any fresh red blood but if it continues over the weekend they would send me for a scan... It hasn't continued, well hasn't gotten worse which is good, yesterday and today there wasn't anymore brown blood just more like white CM with a bit of a yellowy tinge if that makes sense... So i am feeling ok like everything is going to be fine but i am just taking it easy. The midwife said i should have the day off and just rest so that's what i did, went home and slept 6 hours...

Today i am feeling pretty good, better than yesterday with only a little nausea every now and then...

Sorry about the essay ladies...

02-02-2008, 07:54 PM
Saw my bro and SIL today and we let them know we are expecting. They are excited for us so its nice. My bro treated us all to lunch so that made me happy. Yum!

Jel
02-02-2008, 08:04 PM
I'm not going to be able to hide this little secret for much longer at work!! I'm sure they're thinking it already! We still haven't told anyone except hubby's parents.
9 weeks tomorrow :bee:
these weeks seem to be flying along this time. i remember last pregnancy it took forever!
i looked through my 'old box of clothes' today and found some maternity pants - they are so much more comfortable.. you can let it all hang loose!
i felt quite ill this afternoon. hot and flustery, dizzy and nauseus. probably the worst i've felt so far, bit still bo throwing up or dry retching which I'm grateful for.

thinking of the ladies that are having problems, hope you are feeling ok :fingerscrossed:

cassvanm
03-02-2008, 12:19 PM
My, we are a quiet little bunch today aren't we?
I'm going ok. Yesterday I felt a bit blah, but no nausea or anything, just a bit flat.
Still eating like there is no tomorrow - I at FOUR snags in bread for dinner the other night! I mean really, who eats that much! The problem is, I didn't even feel that full afterwards! Not good!
WARNING TMI COMING UP: one thing I have noticed, is that my boobies are changing shape! The are getting larger, but also just above the areola the breast goes in, only for the areola & nipple to come out - perfect shape for a bitty bub to have a feed! Weird - I can kind of remember that happening with the girls, but not this early.
Going to a bodyshop party this arvo - I'm looking forward to it, but only coz there'll be food there! I have a one-tracked mind at the moment,
Sleeping well, although having weird dreams again. Also, got up to pee 3 (!) times last night, and each time I was busting to the point it was hurting! I also forgot about that during hte last pregnancies.
Anyway,
Catch up soon chicks :wave:
Cass

sexy_minx
03-02-2008, 02:38 PM
omg! the cravings!! im craving home made pumpkin soup! yummo ive got some in the pot cooking now! yesturday i had this nasty pain in the left side of my belly kinda the middle left side (kinda where you would get a stich ) i was abit worried then TIM the farts started you guest it i was Constipated 1st time ive ever had that. thank god after i did a well needed poo the pain went away i have my gyno appt tomorrow to tell him im pregnant yay! and to push for a u/s to find out my dates so lets hope he lets me get a u/s with in the next few days DF has been really good let me rest off yesturday in bed and let me nap then again this morning i woke up still tired and slept for another 1hr or so was nice! hope the rest of you all are doing well :)

stellarella
03-02-2008, 02:44 PM
Is anyone else having HEAPS of CM?? :o

cassvanm
03-02-2008, 03:27 PM
Yes Stella, lots of CM. Not too bad, but quite gooey and thick (sorry, TMI again!). It's normal, don't worry about it unless it has offensive smell (could indicate infection) or has blood in it.

03-02-2008, 03:47 PM
Is anyone else having HEAPS of CM?? :o
:yes: Noticed it because I tend to be dry when AF is due. Hey AF still hasn't come! Also cos I was concerned about bleeding. So I have noticed CM and I think its a good normal sign.

I can't stand food. I want to eat but nothing seems to satisfy! If it does I get hungry again before long. Very frustrating.

I am loving my naps when I can get them. Sleeping better than ever and I love that!

stellarella
03-02-2008, 03:56 PM
It is profuse, thick like snot (PMSL :laughing:) and cloudy....no blood, no smell, no infection..

I just don't remember having it with Oscar this early on.

03-02-2008, 04:36 PM
I barely remember anything from my past pregnancies.
My memory is shocking right now anyway.

I also have noticed my nipples are bigger.

nattie81
03-02-2008, 04:43 PM

Thanks for all of your thoughts, haven't had a chance to check in again since Friday night.

Went to the hospital Saturday morning, as I knew if we just went to the docs they would just tell me stuff I already knew, and then go to the hospital.

I had slight cramps on Saturday morning, but nothing too major. They checked me in to the hospital, and did urines, and bloods, and also an internal. Everything came back pretty good - my hormone levels are at a level that they possibly should be at this far, and the bloods and urine showed I was pregnant.

They didn't do a scan on me, as it was a Saturday and they have to call someone in to do it, so would only do it, if they thought I was having an ecptopic (?).

So, they told me to make an appt with my doc this week to get a scan just to confirm that everything is ok, but it looks all good which I am very happy about!

I will feel much better once I have the scan (Wednesday) and have heard the baby's heartbeat, and then I guess I will just have to accept that I really am one of the of the lucky ones who has basically NO symptoms whatsoever!

Thanks for all your thoughts...

Tls5431
03-02-2008, 05:56 PM
That's great news Nat. I hope the Scan goes well next week.

I'm still hungry all the time, but for some reason cannot eat that much when I do eat. Still crave potatoes at the moment... especially potatoes with cheese...

I hope everyone is well

mixy
03-02-2008, 06:09 PM
Well i told you all it was a girl, andow i have (more) prof, I have kinda vomited twice (sorry TMI) but with DD vomited everyday for 6 weeks, then DS vomited once, now i have started so i guess i need to monitor my fluids so i dont loss 10 kgs again(!!!!!!!) suck though. Lots of nausea to go with it to, so not really any relief.

Also with the CM yep getting lots, i beleive it is the 'plug' forming, and can start as early as 3 weeks and continue to like 12 weeks, they later in preg it get more again for soem other reason, dont be to worried unless it smells or is ichy, i think thats how it works.

Hubby, is a pain and a god send at the same time!! one minute he is winging that i dont do anything anymore, then he is letting me have a sleep..... im confused:)

I hope everyone is doing really well, and i am so glad to hear your news natti, hey enjoy not being sick you lucjy duck, lets us know how your scan goes

haha:ecomcity:
bye

loz10
03-02-2008, 06:23 PM
Hello ladies, I am also due Sept and looking forward to welcoming our little addition to our busy little sons! I know I will have a boy (which will be awesome as they r so much fun) as I only did it once during my cycle and it was ovulation day (yes, ovulation day!), read the book "how to choose the sex of your baby" but gave up on it after 4 unsuccessful months and returned it to the library:laughing:. I'm sure the boys will have a little brother and they will have many adventures together.

Best of luck to you all during your 1st Trimester!:flowerz:

Me 33
Dad 34
James 3 (04/09/04) :wave:
Nicholas 18 months (04/07/04) :wave:

Jel
03-02-2008, 07:02 PM

- my hormone levels are at a level that they possibly should be at this far, and the bloods and urine showed I was pregnant.

So, they told me to make an appt with my doc this week to get a scan just to confirm that everything is ok, but it looks all good which I am very happy about!

I will feel much better once I have the scan (Wednesday) and have heard the baby's heartbeat, and then I guess I will just have to accept that I really am one of the of the lucky ones who has basically NO symptoms whatsoever!

Thanks for all your thoughts...
i'm so glad everything is going ok for you nattie81 :flowerz:

Mia
03-02-2008, 07:47 PM
Just a note though, you probably won't hear the heartbeat at this age - dopplers can't pick it up until several more weeks. You can "see" the heartbeat blinking on the screen if you have a scan though!

We did it on O day and the next day too, so maybe another boy for us? Didn't have any girl sperm lying in wait for the egg, in other words. Although that Chinese link said 58% a girl.

cassvanm
03-02-2008, 08:51 PM
I know I will have a boy (which will be awesome as they r so much fun) as I only did it once during my cycle and it was ovulation day (yes, ovulation day!),

Loz, sorry to burst your bubble, but we used that technique with bub #2, and we still had a girl!
We did the sex every day for a month and had a girl too - so I just reckon you get what you get and there's nothing you can do about it!
Good luck though!

04-02-2008, 06:41 AM
Welcome Loz!
I read more fit people have girls. Anyone agree with this? This may be why we had a girl first and then 2 boys. Though hubby and I are more fit now than 3+ years ago.

stellarella
04-02-2008, 06:55 AM
I think the whole gender prediction thing is a very vague idea and just a tool, honestly if it were that simple to 'choose' the gender of your child then everyone would be doing it, I wouldn't hinge everything on the belief you are having a boy and get disappointed. No one can know what they are having, thats the fun of it! ;)

I can feel my uterus above my pubic bone now, it's like a hard little orange. I have a really shallow pelvis though.

04-02-2008, 06:56 AM
Wow, Ella. I was wondering when it pops over.

cassvanm
04-02-2008, 07:45 AM
I read more fit people have girls. Anyone agree with this?

I seem to be ruining everybody's theories :laughing:. I was about 25kg overweight with DD1 and about 35kg overweight with DD2. I am only about 20kg overweight with this one, so we'll have to see what happens!
It will be interesting to see how it pans out for everyone though.
As I said earlier, I've done the QUALITY method (once at ov) and QUANTITY method (every day), and both were girls.
This time we did it about 3 times around the time of ov - don't know when I ov because I had the m/c, but it was really hit-and-miss, with no intentions of getting pg. Will definately will shoot every theory out the window if we have another pink one! :laughing:

stellarella
04-02-2008, 08:57 AM
Well I'm skinny but not fit LOL....I had a boy.

I think another theory is that pilots have more girls because girl sperm survive at high altitudes or something..LOL...there are so many theories.

Then there is the PH of you vagina, then there is how tight your partner wears his undies...:laughing:

I interviewed another middy this morning, now I have to decide and there are 2 I like. It's too hard.

hayleysmummy
04-02-2008, 09:22 AM
:wave: Ladies,
I havent been on this weekend so just catching up.I've also had the increased CM but I knew it was normal so not worried.

Nattie81- I'm glad everything is ok.

2 more sleeps til my scan for the EDD :thumbsup: cant wait to see what they come up with and I'm not entirley sure when I O'd so it might not be the 18th as I first thought. I'm really good not very sick and only vomitted twice but still get waves of sickness all throughout the day.And my boobs are killing me I hate breastfeeding DD now its taking so much out of me but she cries for it :( So I feel I have to give it to her.

All those gender prediction things are fun to do but I dont know if I believe them will have to wait another 11 weeks to see if they are right they all came up Boy :fingerscrossed::laughing:

Manz
04-02-2008, 09:52 AM
Well..... Today for me is my first Hospital appointment...
I am a little anxious, as it is my first time at this hospital - really want to suss it out to make sure I have chosen the right one :fingerscrossed:

I have been getting quite a bit of pain around the pelvic area across to my back - Its not aggonising, but just uncomfortable! I am thinking that its alot to do with it being my 3rd bub?.... Hope all is ok! Just been a while since I was last pregnant and I cant remember being "sore" like this! But then again, I am having to lug around a heavy 2 year old who is a tantrum boy, so thats not helping the back issues!

About the gender thing, I was told that to get a girl you try to conceive the day before Ovulation and on the day... Is that not right :confused: Well, we have tried that for a little girl, but I have NO problems if we have another boy - they are GREAT fun!! (but a little Princess would be great too!)

Hope everyone is having a good start to the week - its POURING rain here, so I am trying hard to entertain these 2 boys as they are real outdoors kids!

Nattie - great news! Hope you keep well! :thumbsup:

nattie81
04-02-2008, 09:58 AM
Just a note though, you probably won't hear the heartbeat at this age - dopplers can't pick it up until several more weeks. You can "see" the heartbeat blinking on the screen if you have a scan though!

Ooh - thanks Mia. "seeing" the heartbeat will be enough for me. I just knew they said something about the heartbeat when i was at the hospital, lol. I will be 9 weeks when I go...

Lol @ the gender prediction. DH and me did it every day for 2 weeks (sometimes twice a day) when we conceived just to make sure we would fall, lol, so I have no idea what we are having! We have two girls already (DH from previous marriage) so DH would really like a boy, I would love either, as I would love my own little girl to dress all pretty (lol) but as we already have 2 girls, a little boy would be awesome as well...

susmamma
04-02-2008, 10:35 AM
ah yes, the 'did i make a boy or a girl' test.
we did it a day before ovulation this time... by pure chance rather than design.
i had read that y sperm is fast but doesnt live long, that's why if you do it close to ovulation you have a better chance of y getting to the egg rather than the slower but more robust (ie lives longer) x. still even if you time it to be at ovulation (assuming you are trying actively for a boy) even so an x may still make it to the egg first in which case you'll have a girl.

it is rather nice knowing that regardless of how much science you put behind it nature will choose anyway.
for those of us with two of the same sex hoping for the other sex this time round, did you know statistically if you have two of the same sex the chances of you having the same sex again are 75%.

my little one had her first day of preschool today. she didnt cope very well and had a melt down when we left. which meant i had a melt down when we left and i've only just stopped crying about it and that was an hour and a half ago :(
i know she'll love spending time with the other kids but i think mabye mummy needs to go to preschool for the first month with her (maybe i'll sit in the corner and pretend to be three again and no-one will notice i'm there?)
damn preggo hormones are making me cry at everything little thing, and when a big thing like this comes along ... gawd i'm an emotional mess.:(
poor ella, i'm picking her up in half an hour so she doesnt have to stay the whole day.

have dating scan next monday as the woman who does it doesnt want to see women until they are after 7 weeks gestation (i've seen this chick with both of my girls and mate, does she take the cake for bedside manner of the year award. she barks at you... no not kidding. she yells, sit here! dont move! did you actually DRINK and water before you came! dont talk! dont ask questions! see that? that's the heartbeat! dont talk! see that? that's the sack! see that? no dont talk! ok now get up and wipe that gunk off you!"
man she's a reall treat.
looking forward to seeing her again.... not :D

loz10
04-02-2008, 02:00 PM
Well susmamma, u left me :laughing: at your comments re scan lady, she sounds rather scary! The last one I seen wasn't very kind either and wouldn't accomodate a stroller in there for my other son although there was plenty of room?

I have a friend who was told the sex of her baby at her Nuchlal transulency Scan @ 12 weeks, they weren't 100% but was sure it was a boy, first I have ever heard of that.

I wouldn't dare ask and wouldn't care, time will reveal the little ones gender :baby:

Will log on again later, the boys are trashing. Better go...

cassvanm
04-02-2008, 04:21 PM
Just wondering if anyone has heard about how Nattie81, Juzzy and Haileye are going? Any more news about the pregnancies?
Have been thinking about them all.

Manxie
04-02-2008, 04:59 PM
Hi girls:wave:

I am due on the 6th September. I am just wondering if anyone who is a similar no of weeks as me has had a sudden reduction in their morning sickness?

I am really worrying as I had a miscarriage back in August.

I have been as sick as a dog since before I got a positive pregnancy test. Last night I didnt vomit (sorry tmi) and today I have been feeling almost like normal.

:fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed: all is ok?

cassvanm
04-02-2008, 05:04 PM
:o OMG I have the worst baby brain! :o
I just realised I've been talking to Nattie earlier today!
Revise above question - has anyone heard how Juzzy and Haileye are going?
I am such a scatter brain at the moment - the verbal dyslexia is shocking :hair:

susmamma
04-02-2008, 05:05 PM
!

About the gender thing, I was told that to get a girl you try to conceive the day before Ovulation and on the day...

That's to get a boy not a girl!
No wonder you got two boys honey!! :laughing:
To get a girl you have to have sex early in your cycle - 5 days before ovul or something like that. The closer to ovulation you get the more likely you are to have a boy.

04-02-2008, 05:14 PM
Just wondering if anyone has heard about how Nattie81, Juzzy and Haileye are going? Any more news about the pregnancies?
Have been thinking about them all.

Me too. :yes:

I am due on the 6th September. I am just wondering if anyone who is a similar no of weeks as me has had a sudden reduction in their morning sickness?

I am really worrying as I had a miscarriage back in August.

I have been as sick as a dog since before I got a positive pregnancy test. Last night I didnt vomit (sorry tmi) and today I have been feeling almost like normal.

:fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed: all is ok?

Don't worry, its been only one day.
I am due 6th Sept too. I had a mc in October. I am glad I made it to 9 weeks.
I have only had mild nausea then it got really bad just in the past couple days. But I just had ginger beer with lime (apparently ginger and citrus are good for nausea) and I can eat again! Very happy.

Please don't worry. :hugs:

loz10
04-02-2008, 05:32 PM
That's to get a boy not a girl!
No wonder you got two boys honey!! :laughing:
To get a girl you have to have sex early in your cycle - 5 days before ovul or something like that. The closer to ovulation you get the more likely you are to have a boy.

I had hope there for a moment for a girl but I read the book and know it will be a little boy blue :eek:

Has anyone ever conceived a girl on Ovulation day and had not had sex at least 5 days prior so none were waiting to fertilize before the next lot arrived :detective:

loz10
04-02-2008, 05:34 PM
I had hope there for a moment for a girl but I read the book and know it will be a little boy blue :eek:

Has anyone ever conceived a girl on Ovulation day and had not had sex at least 5 days prior so none were waiting to fertilize before the next lot arrived :detective:

Little blue boy was suppose to be a happy face, we just love blue around here.

Manxie
04-02-2008, 05:37 PM
Me too. :yes:

Don't worry, its been only one day.
I am due 6th Sept too. I had a mc in October. I am glad I made it to 9 weeks.
I have only had mild nausea then it got really bad just in the past couple days. But I just had ginger beer with lime (apparently ginger and citrus are good for nausea) and I can eat again! Very happy.

Please don't worry. :hugs:

Thank you kymmy. Its so hard as my last m/c was a missed one so I didnt know anything was up for four weeks:( So to say I am a little paranoid is an understatement.

Lets hope :barf: is back later so I can relax a little.

Thanks again:hugs:

susmamma
04-02-2008, 05:42 PM
Thank you kymmy. Its so hard as my last m/c was a missed one so I didnt know anything was up for four weeks:( So to say I am a little paranoid is an understatement.

As my dr once said to me, it's actually perfectly normal to feel well during pregnancy.
So honey maybe you're just going to enjoy some lovely pregnancy times ahead instead of sick ones. I'm sure bubs is going to be fine :hugs:

ps: no morning sickness here at all and yet i was really ill with lola... so i'm keeping it in my head it's coz i'm just having a happy healthy pregnancy this time !

04-02-2008, 05:49 PM

I had a girl first. We had sex lots! (Newlyweds)

Sometimes I think the nausea is a good sign. I do understand your paranoia.
Thinking of you. :hugs:

Jel
04-02-2008, 07:11 PM

hi manxie
i'm due on the 7th sept - so pretty much the same as you..
for 90% of the day i feel normal...no morning sickness and i have not vomited at all, the only time i've come close is when brushing my teeth once.
i have sudden nausea waves and tiredness attacks though.

AmyLou
04-02-2008, 07:43 PM
Goodevening ladies!

How are we all? i am just wondering, for those that have been pregnant before is it normal to have slight cramps, but more like AF aches in ur lower tummy region? I am thinking that it may be my uterus getting bigger and moving over my pelvis? What do we think? Hope all is ok!

mixy
04-02-2008, 07:51 PM
hi amy!!!:) well some cramps is definatly normal, something really TMI but this is a spot to put it is in early preg constipation is quite common to cramps from that are easily confussed ( i dont it all the time lol, dont tell any one) have far along are you, you o'd after me didnt you? im sure you did, if so then your uterus wont be above your pelvis unless there are twins or more in there :D hope your feeling better :laughing:

AmyLou
04-02-2008, 08:14 PM
Hi there, Umm i am 7 weeks and a few days... LMP was the 12th December... I also read something that said by this time your uterus has doubled in size so i would assume that would cause some cramping.. not cramping, prob calling it the wrong thing, like an ache, like stretching possibly?

mixy
04-02-2008, 08:26 PM
yeah first baby there is lots of streaching (dont worry us ladies haveing 2nd or more get ligiment pain so we dont get out of it:laughing:)
Yeah uterus grows farely quicky
BTW i just noticed your signiture says your TTC#1?

my LPM was like the 11th of december but i am going from the 13th becasue i "o" that little bit later in my cycle

AmyLou
04-02-2008, 08:34 PM
OH MY GOODNESS! Can you believe that i haven't changed it???????? What a fool, i'll do it now!

susmamma
04-02-2008, 08:41 PM
Hi there, Umm i am 7 weeks and a few days... LMP was the 12th December... I also read something that said by this time your uterus has doubled in size so i would assume that would cause some cramping.. not cramping, prob calling it the wrong thing, like an ache, like stretching possibly?

yup all of my pregnancies have had AF type cramping in the early weeks (say up until 10 wks or so?)
initially i've actually thought i was getting AF because the cramps were quite bad some days. dont worry, all part of nature making way to grow a bubs.:hugs:

AmyLou
04-02-2008, 08:44 PM
Ohh good thanks for that! i thought it was something that happens so just wanted to confirm... Little bubba making room to fit! I just can't wait for my first appointment, i just want to know that everything is fine with my little angel!

Well ladies i am off to bed, gotta get up at 5:30 and i could barely do it when i wasn't pregnant! Now its a struggle!!!

Night all!

mamabe
04-02-2008, 10:41 PM

I am new to this site - have three children and No. 4 (surprise bonus baby!) due around Sept I think. Took a HPT on 2nd Jan (day after I got re-married!) which was very positive, but had no idea how pregnant I was because my periods are irregular. My midwife sent me for a scan where the heartbeat could be detected so the sonographer reckoned around 6 weeks. I haven't actually been given a due date, but that would put me at around 9 wks now. Have another scan on 27th Feb, when I'll know more. Am struggling with the morning sickness, can just about keep my eyes open - everything seems like a major effort right now..... can't imagine going back to work tomorrow - I work 4 12hr shifts - going to see Dr this afternoon about it. It's such a guilt trip taking time off work. I want to sail through my pregnancy, glowing with happiness, wowing everyone with how well I cope, instead I'm flopping about on the sofa, feeding **** to the kids and whining a lot! If one more person tells me 'pregnancy is not an illness' they're gonna so get it! I know it's not an illness, but it can make you feel terrible, it can make you very ill, it can put you in hospital! Grrrr!!! Usually comes from guys or women who have never been here.........:hair:

susmamma
05-02-2008, 04:58 AM
welcome mamabe... sounds like you're going to have your hands full!

AmyLou
05-02-2008, 09:34 AM
Welcome to the thread Mamabe, sounds like your morning sickness is going as great as mine... This morning i am vomiting but yesterday i couldn't stop thinking about food, i'm beginning to think that maybe i am going to have one good day and one terrible day, atleast if i am only eating **** every second day i might not put on as much weight! haha oh what fun!

sarahhollands
05-02-2008, 10:11 AM
Good work on creating a new thread - have just been reading the last few days posts.

I am so excited to be 9 weeks! Yay!

I am a little over this whole morning sickness thing! Oh well - at least I know I am def. still preggars! Had a huge vomit @ work on Sat which was just fab! Had to run past everyone and only just made it to the loos!
Have tried eating b4 I get up - gingerale, dry biscuits - all not working! Went and bought some sea-bands @ chemist yesterday - had them on for a while now - not too sure if they're working? Oh well, I haven't vommited so that's a plus!

Feeling really lazy also! Can't be bothered cleaning, cooking tea, walking the dog! Very unlike me! Thank-god I don't already have kids otherwise they'd prob be neglected! My hat is off to all you ladies on your 2nd, 3rd and even 4th pregnancies! Luckily DH is being wonderful and doing everything I can't (or wont??!!).

As for Juzzy and Haileye.... Haileye is still going ok I think from her last post :), but don't think we have heard from Juzzy in a while :(.

Nattie - so glad to hear that everything is ok with you and bubs.

As for the whole gender prediction thing - has anyone tried the ring test? Did it on the weekend with my girlfriends, one of whom is also preggars.
You get your wedding ring (or any ring you have been wearing) You have to have been wearing it - so that it has ur energy, then you thread it on a piece of your own hair. Lay on your back and get a friend to hold it over your belly. Supposedly - if it Circles = Girl, If it Swings Back & Forth = Boy. You can do it for all of your future of past pregnancies. Eg. Mine said 3 kids - Girl, Boy, Boy (eg. the ring circled, then stopped, then swung, then stopped, then swung again, then stopped all together).
Three of my GF's did it who already have kids and it came out in the right order that their kids were born! Its a little silly, but fun and something to talk about!

Sorry for the mammoth post - I talk too much!

Sarah xo

05-02-2008, 11:57 AM
:wave: Welcome mamabe! I think being pregnant you should be able to whine alot. That is all I seem to be doing past few days. If hubby does, I ask him if he is preg. (He says of course, he even had a craving last night, meanwhile I can't eat)

9 weeks today.
Motivation nil.

mixy
05-02-2008, 02:22 PM
:iagree: with kymmy, winging is the preg ladies god given right, and anyone woh says preg isnt an illness can come stay my house, i sertanly feel ill!!!! hubby seems to winge more to lol

susmamma
05-02-2008, 03:03 PM
:iagree: with kymmy, winging is the preg ladies god given right, and anyone woh says preg isnt an illness can come stay my house, i sertanly feel ill!!!! hubby seems to winge more to lol

very funny mixy :D

05-02-2008, 03:05 PM
Funny but true. :yes:

XandersMummy
05-02-2008, 06:22 PM
Hi, ladies!

I'm new to this thread, just found out last week that I'm preggers. Hubby and I have been trying a few months, this will be # 6 for me!

3 are teenagers now though, and my youngest will be 2 soon.

I'm VERY excited, this will be my first bub born in Australia as I just moved here months ago from the US!

Nice to meet everybody!

05-02-2008, 07:33 PM
Welcome!

hayleysmummy
05-02-2008, 08:40 PM
Welcome xandersmummy and Congrats #6 :eek: how do you do it ?

I'm so excited I have my scan tomorrow and can see what the bean is up to in there.Only downside is I have to pee at 7.30 drink a litre of water by 8.30 and hold it for an hour before I even get the scan and knowing the US place the appt wont be on time :( I'll try and hold the water down but being so early it will more than likley end up in the loo :barf:.I really needed to vomit this morning I was dry retching over the toilet for ages but there was nothing coming up :banghead:.

Goodnight ladies I will update on the scan tomorrow :wave:

juzzy
05-02-2008, 09:14 PM
Hey guys

thank you for all the well wishes. I have been reading but really dont know what to post.

I had a blood test on Friday to check for HCG levels and a few other things. I am going to see my Dr on Thursday to get the results.

I got a call from my Dr today telling me about the ultrasound. He didnt tell me anything i didnt already know. Sac is measuring 4 weeks and need to go back to do another scan in 2 weeks.

I am not holding out much hope as no matter how many times i go over the scenario in my mind it just isnt possible.

I am due to go back for a scan on about the 15th but am thinking of leaving it for the following week as it is my DD's 1st birthday on the 16th Feb. I want to be happy for her birthday and dont want to hear bad news!

I will update everyone when i know something.

Good luck to everyone.

:hugs::hugs:

Sparky1666
05-02-2008, 09:25 PM
Juzz,
Enjoy your time with your daughter in her birthday.
The cr**py thing is that at this point nothing can be done.

I hoep your family and friends are supporting you at this time. We are thinking of you. I can understand not wanting to log too.

What sort of cake are you oranising for your daughter. Her bday is the same day as mine. I bet she is strong willed!

Have a great time and take millions of pics:D

aphrodeity
05-02-2008, 10:21 PM

I just wanted to pop in and let you know that I won't be able to continue on this journey with you all anymore. Unfortunately, on Friday I had a miscarriage :rain:

I wish you all the very best of luck with your pregnancies, I hope it's a happy and healthy time for you all. Take care :)

susmamma
06-02-2008, 06:43 AM

I just wanted to pop in and let you know that I won't be able to continue on this journey with you all anymore. Unfortunately, on Friday I had a miscarriage :rain:

I wish you all the very best of luck with your pregnancies, I hope it's a happy and healthy time for you all. Take care :)

oh i'm so sorry to hear that.

GeorgiaAnne
06-02-2008, 09:01 AM
I'm so sorry to hear that Aphrodeity, I wish you all the best :hugs:

sexy_minx
06-02-2008, 09:42 AM

sorry hun :hugs::hugs::hugs:

Kaileysmum
06-02-2008, 11:58 AM

Sorry to hear that, big :hugs: to you!!!

How are we all going ladies? I'm feeling so tired and I have zero energy, its hard to do anything round the house, cause I just can't be bothered. I just wish DD still had a day sleep so i could have a nap!!! I seem to only feel sick when I get hungry, so I keep eatting most of the day so I dont feel sick, which isnt a good thing as Im trying not to gain much weight this time.
Im looking forward to monday as I go see my OB and get to have a scan in his office, so I cant wait to see if everythings going well with bub.

matalee
06-02-2008, 11:59 AM
juzzy: have fun with your daughter & I'm thinking of you :hugs:

aphrodeity: sorry to hear your sad news :hugs::hugs:

xandersmummy: welcome & congratulations :yelclap:

Kaileysmum
06-02-2008, 12:10 PM
Oh I forgot to say "Welcome xandersmummy and congrats on NO.6 (dont know how you do it)!

06-02-2008, 01:33 PM
Thinking of you Juzzy. :bee: My daughter has her birthday next Sunday. Hope you enjoy the day with your daughter. All the best.

:hugs: So sorry to hear your news Aphroideity.

loz10
06-02-2008, 01:46 PM
Hello again

Firstly, aphrodeity, so sorry to hear of your loss, take care :hugs:

All is going quite well around here, starting to feel sick on and off all day but it isn't too bad yet, never had it go bad with the others either, but still feel yuck.

I'm thinking this birth will be fast, I was 4 hours at the hospital with #1 and 1 hour with #2, I heard a saying that each one becomes approx 1/2 the duration of the last, is this true? Any advice, don't want to have the baby on the kitchen floor :confused:

I feel so lazy, can't even be bothered to put the groceries away, just busy eating out of the bags :laughing:

and xandersmummy: welcome & congratulations

06-02-2008, 01:49 PM
loz10 - yeah the labours do tend to get faster but not always. All births can and will differ!
All mine came within 6 hours of established labour. (Always feels longer though)

loz10
06-02-2008, 02:07 PM
On another note, I went away for maybe 20 mins from computer and came back and had to log in again and find where I was, it went back to main screen.

Any tips on avoiding this? Can you have favourites or something as I have to always to find this thread.

Any shortcuts would be appreciated.

Thanks heaps
Loz:geek:

06-02-2008, 02:39 PM
You can add this to subscription and get emails (or not). Or you can add this page to favoruites or bookmarks.
Why are you getting logged out?

GeorgiaAnne
06-02-2008, 02:41 PM
Loz - you can subscribe to the thread which I think is in thread tools or some such.

How are we all? I'm still feeling very average and such an insomniac, which is just not like me at all and getting sicker than ever of dh snoring :rolleyes:
I still think i'm a bit in denial about this pg and just can't imagine the belly etc and the birth especially :( i'm scared about tbh. I know I have to be positive and i'm really hoping this feeling grows over the next few months

juzzy
06-02-2008, 02:41 PM
Well looks like i wont be a part of this thread after all. I have started bleeding so it looks like i will miscarry.

Thank you to everyone for your support and good luck for happy and healthy pregnancies.

GeorgiaAnne
06-02-2008, 02:56 PM
:hugs: to you Juzzy, i'm so sorry. I hope you have lots of love and support to get you through this awful time :hugs:

Pink73
06-02-2008, 03:06 PM
Big :hugs: Juzzy & aphrodeity.
Welcome new September mums.
Also big :hugs:to all the mums suffering with morning sickness the good part of it is that you no you have a nice strong pregnancy. Still feeling ok I have learnt to walk around asleep lol thank goodness the boys both have naps in the afternoon or I dont think I would make it through the day.
loz10 Both of my labours have been about 3 hrs so not to bad its just that I go from doing OK to its time to push REALLY fast and with only 14mins of pushing. I have been told that as soon as I am in labour to come in which is fine with me.
I cant remember who said thay had cravings for sao's with tomato with salt n pepper, but after this Idea was put into my head I just had to also have them> Well never again I thought I was going to die from the heart burn thank goodness I still had some Zantac left over when I was preg with Alex.
Going out to dinner tonight with the girls from the boys playgroup cant wait to have a dinner in peice with out someone climbing all over me and Dessert YUM YUM. Have a great day ladies and look after yourself

hayleysmummy
06-02-2008, 03:06 PM
Juzzy 'm so sorry hun I wish you all the best in a future :bfp:. :hugs:

Aphrodeity- big :hugs: to you too

Well I had my scan today thankgod I didnt chuck the water up.But when she started my bladder was too full so I got to empty some. OH what a relief!!!. Bub is measuring perfect she said 8 wks today and due the 17th so I was 1 day out but I can handle that.Heart beat was 165 BPM which is really good.Went from the scan to the hospital to see my brother he started seeing things at work yesterday and shaking so mum had to take him to hospy it turns out he has something wrong with his liver first thing that came to my mind was hep C :fingerscrossed: its all ok. After that I went and had lunch with mum and my aunty had the best ceaser salad with chicken breast with a large iced chocolate from gloria jeans :D

waahoo
06-02-2008, 05:23 PM
Juzzy & Aphrodiety, I'm so sorry to hear your sad news.:hugs::hugs::hugs:

nattie81
06-02-2008, 05:40 PM
Im so sorry to hear your news Juzzy & Aphrodeity... My thoughts are with you..

I had my scan today, and after a shaky start at the GP's (he told me not to book my 12 week scan just yet because I might not need it. He also tried to hear the baby's heartbeat, and couldn't find it, so I was getting a little worried), the ultrasound was great.

I took my best friend as hubby had to work (couldn't come at such short notice) and we saw the baby's heartbeat, and could see little bubba on the screen. It is 2.16cm long at the moment, and the heart was beating at 169bpm... Wow! So, everything is good for me!

I am 8 weeks and 3 days (by my calcs I was 8 weeks & 6 days) so not much different, EDD now Sept 14.

Tls5431
06-02-2008, 05:46 PM
Sorry to hear Juzzy & Aph.

Good news about the scan Hayleysmummy, I bet you were thrilled after the scan...

Well I have been home all day today from work as I have some how developed a nasty cold. When I find out the person who gave this to me, boy are they in trouble:thumbsdown:

Normally I would work through it, but seeing as I am pg, I decided to rest and try and get over it as fast as possible.

How is everyone else today?

susmamma
06-02-2008, 05:55 PM
Well looks like i wont be a part of this thread after all. I have started bleeding so it looks like i will miscarry.

Thank you to everyone for your support and good luck for happy and healthy pregnancies.

oh i'm so sorry hon :hugs:

cassvanm
06-02-2008, 06:27 PM
Aphrodeity & Juzzy: I am so sorry girls to hear your sad news.
Juzzy, if the bleeding stops let us know.
I will update the "due date" list, to remember your little angels.

XandersMummy: Congrats & welcome - I take my hat off to you, and also laugh and point :laughing: at you! I just know I would be a TOTAL basketcase with 6 children! I wish you luck, and I was just kidding (not about my sanity, just about laughing & pointing at you!)

Loz10: Not too sure about the theory of halving each time you have labour. My first labour was 48 hours of full-blown labour, and my second was 10.5hrs. I am just aiming for 8 hours this time!

Nattie81: How exciting to see your bub on teh screen. I'm so pleased that things are looking up for you & your family :yelclap:

UPDATE ON ME:
Well, not much going on for me - depending on who you talk to, I am either 7wks 5days (scan date), or 8wks 6 days (my wishful thinking date!). I'm still nto sure on when to go off.
Have been excessvely tired lately, even though I'm getting about 9-10 hours per night. Still nto willing to risk a nap in case I can't sleep at night!
Breasts have been ok today, but bloating has been pretty bad. Two people have said I look 4-5months pg in the last 24 hours - they both knew I was pg, but had no idea how far. Not good for the esteem.
My craving for fatty food seems to be dulling a little (notice LITTLE, not A LOT). I seem to get the saliva thing going on in the back of my throat and under my tongue, but no gagging, no nausea or feeling sick - it's bizarre.
Still enjoying being pg to some degree, but forgot how hard it is, especially with munchkins running around.
Anyway, talk later lovely ladies
Cass

hayleysmummy
06-02-2008, 06:39 PM
Nattie- OMG 169 BPM must be an energetic little thing I wonder how much he/she will kick ;)

I just got some sultanas out of the cupboard to keep DD occupied for a while and she Loves them :D

TLS- I was thrilled it was so exciting

susmamma
07-02-2008, 05:52 AM
UPDATE ON ME:
Well, not much going on for me - depending on who you talk to, I am either 7wks 5days (scan date), or 8wks 6 days (my wishful thinking date!). I'm still nto sure on when to go off.
Cass

My understanding is that u/s done at that time are almost 99% accurate in predicting age of embryo. The reason is that the embryo (I think it turns into a fetus at 9wks?) measures a certain amount of milimetres at a certain number of weeks. And a certain amount of information is shown at a certian number of weeks, so for example if your period dates are saying 8weeks and your scan of embryo doesnt show a fetal pole they know you will m/c because 6 week embryos have fetal poles. They also know that a 8 week embryo will meansure x amount so let's say you are measuring the size of a 6 week embryo they will bring you back in after a week to see if the embryo is still growing (1 mm a day I believe). If it has grown then they know your dates are out and the embryo is now only 7 weeks and not the 9 weeks the mothers dates indicate.
I think the interesting thing is that they know certain things are due to happen by a certain stage or week of develpt. If they scan a lady and obviously find no heartbeat but the baby measures 8 weeks then they know a m/c is imminent or that they will need to do a d&c.
Other times they know that if fetal poles or gestational sacs are out of measurement alignment for that stage of pregnancy then the embryo wont continue on (ie a fetal pole needs to be visible when the gestation sac measures "x" length).

Here's some info (written more clearly than me who has morning fog brain :yes:)

Week 6 - Gestational Age (Fetal age 4 weeks)
5 ½ to 6 ½ weeks is usually a very good time to detect either a fetal pole or even a fetal heart beat by vaginal ultrasound. The fetal pole is the first visible sign of a developing embryo. This pole structure actually has some curve to it with the embryo’s head at one end and what looks like a tail at the other end. The fetal pole now allows for crown to rump measurements (CRL) to be taken, so that pregnancy dating can be a bit more accurate. The fetal pole may be seen at a crown-rump length (CRL) of 2-4mm, and the heartbeat may be seen as a regular flutter when the CRL has reached 5mm.

Week 7 - Gestational Age (Fetal Age 5 weeks)

Generally from 6 ½ -7 weeks is the time when a heartbeat can be detected and viability can be assessed. A normal heartbeat at 6-7 weeks would be 90-110 beats per minute. The presence of an embryonic heartbeat is an assuring sign of the health of the pregnancy. Once a heartbeat is detected, the chance of the pregnancy continuing ranges from 70-90% dependent on what type of ultrasound is used. If the embryo is less than 5mm CRL, it is possible for it to be healthy without showing a heartbeat, though a follow up scan in 5-7 days should show cardiac activity.
If your doctor is concerned about miscarriage (http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancycomplications/miscarriage.html), blighted ovum (http://www.americanpregnancy.org/blightedovum.html), or ectopic pregnancy (http://www.americanpregnancy.org/ectopicpregnancy.html), the gestational sac and fetal pole (if visible) will be measured to determine what type of development should be seen. The guideline is that if the gestational sac measures >16-18mm with no fetal pole or the fetal pole measures 5mm with no heartbeat (by vaginal ultrasound), then a diagnosis of miscarriage or blighted ovum is made. If the fetal pole is too small to take an accurate measurement, then a repeat scan should be done in 3-5 days. If there is absence of a fetal pole, then further testing should be done to rule out the possibility of an ectopic pregnancy.

Week 8 & 9 - Gestational Age (Fetal Age 6-7 weeks)

By this point in the pregnancy, everything that is present in an adult human is present in the developing embryo. The embryo has reached the end of the embryonic stage and now enters the fetal stage. A strong fetal heartbeat should be detectable by ultrasound, with a heartbeat of 140-170 bpm by the 9th week. If a strong heartbeat is not detected at this point, another ultrasound scan may be done to verify the viability of the fetus. If a pregnancy has been diagnosed as non-viable, most physicians will give the choice of waiting to see if the body will miscarry naturally (pending no other health issues) or to have a Dilation & Curettage (D&C) procedure. About 50% of women do not undergo a D&C procedure when an early pregnancy loss has occurred.
Hormones
The hCG levels will peak at about 8-12 weeks of pregnancy and then will decline, remaining at lower levels throughout the remainder of the pregnancy. If the levels are questionable, an ultrasound scan should be used to diagnose the pregnancy outcome. Ultrasound findings are much more accurate at diagnosing pregnancy viability after 5-6 weeks gestation than hCG levels are.

07-02-2008, 08:01 AM
Juzzy - :hugs: So sorry to hear that. :(

loz10
07-02-2008, 09:14 AM
Good morning, I desperately can't wait for my docs appt in hope I might hear the bubs heartbeat. My gp phoned my when I was 6 weeks re first HCG blood test and said my levels were 3260, she said that was consistent with 3 1/2 weeks but I had the test done when I was 5 1/2 weeks, when checking the hcg range for 3 1/2 weeks that level is too high but not great for 5 1/2 weeks :confused:..

Anyway, I brewed on this for a few days then thought it dosen't matter because if anything is wrong not much u can do about it.

I had a lot of bloating for the first weeks but now tummy seems more flatter, still full boobs and nauseous, so all seems fine, confused doctor that confused me!

She said come back at 10 weeks to get referral for Nuclear scan, I might go back next week for referral and u never know she might find a heartbeat, I will be 8 weeks on Tuesday.

As I live in a Regional area we have no Maternity Clinic at the hospital and have to pay for every appt along the way. :ecomcity:

cassvanm
07-02-2008, 10:00 AM
Susmamma - I had read the accuracy too with u/s, and had changed my ticker and my EDD on the who's due list to reflect the scan date. I re-did my dates on my calendar, and realised that when I took my first HPT, I would have been 4 weeks to the day. That is the same as the girls pregnancies - sore boobies on the day of missed period - freaky huh?

Loz: I am regional too, and have to pay as I go - expensive little excercise.

I chucked a sicky today - I was struggling to get out of bed at 8.30am, let alone 6.45 when I was meant to get up! I haven't chucked a sicky in over 7 or so years, so I don't feel so bad.

PinkAngel
07-02-2008, 12:45 PM
:hugs: to Juzzy & Aphrodiety... my thoughts are with you...

An update on me...I had my first scan on Tuesday and the little bean was floating about with the heartbeat of 171bpm...not sure if that's normal?

Anyway he dated me at 8 weeks with a due date of 16/9... instead of 20/9 according to my LMP... is following the dating u/s more accurate?

Still feeling a bit blah.. i guess because of my m/c last year.. don't want to become attached in case it happens again :(

I hope everyone is having a milder symptom day...

Thanks for reading x

matalee
07-02-2008, 03:35 PM
Juzzy, sorry to hear your news :hugs::hugs: thinking of you

loz10: when I had my blood test done at 5 weeks they said that the HCG levels were at 2-3 weeks. It confused me too, so I just took another HPT at the beginning of this week to make sure I was still pregnant (my symptoms seem to have subsided a little) and there was two bright lines that eased my concerns. According to me (and not the blood test) I'm 8 weeks on Saturday, I also can't see anyone till end of this month......try not to stress about it, everyone is different including HCG results.

Must have been great to see your 'little bean' pinkangel.......I can't wait to see/hear mine.

Hope everyone had a great day

sarahhollands
07-02-2008, 03:46 PM
Juzzy & Aphrodiety :hugs: ... Thinking of you both.

Well, today was my first nausea/vomit free day in 2 weeks! Yay. Have been wearing those sea bands 2 work and I swear they must be working. (Even if everyone thinks it's really funny to ask me when my tennis match is; as they look like sweat bands!)
I actually also feel like eating again - which is nice.
Am 9 wks, 4 days today! Got my first midwife appointment on Monday - Can't wait to hopefully hear bubs heart beat with the doppla. Gonna get the midwife to teach me how to do it - as we have a doppla on our ward @ work, and can do it myself regularly! (sneaky I know!)
Going out for tea with my girlfriends tonight - Yum, can't wait!

haileye
07-02-2008, 05:07 PM

Firstly my heart goes out to Juzzy & Aphrodiety:hugs:

UPDATE:
I had a catch up with my gp after he recieved the report from the hospital about my bleed.
It turned out to be a subchronic hematoma out side the gestational sac. He couldn't say if it was good or if it was bad, but it is better than what he first thought.. there is still a possibility of m/c, but I'm feeling great and being as positive as I can be.
I have another scan booked on the 14th to check how everything is going... so I'm really looking forward to it. DP is coming along with me so that he can see his lil' bean as well.

The only bad news that I got this week was, that I lost my job at the bar because they don't want to be responsible for any further problems that I might have during my pregnancy. My unsensitve boss said that it was because my work standards had dropped (BULL CR*P) because I work my ass off.
OH well now I have to find a job that will employ an almost 3 month pregnant female that can't left heavy objects.... :detective: good luck to me.

Well I hope everyone is in high spirits...
take care.

susmamma
07-02-2008, 06:11 PM

Firstly my heart goes out to Juzzy & Aphrodiety:hugs:

UPDATE:
I had a catch up with my gp after he recieved the report from the hospital about my bleed.
It turned out to be a subchronic hematoma out side the gestational sac. He couldn't say if it was good or if it was bad, but it is better than what he first thought.. there is still a possibility of m/c, but I'm feeling great and being as positive as I can be.
I have another scan booked on the 14th to check how everything is going... so I'm really looking forward to it. DP is coming along with me so that he can see his lil' bean as well.

The only bad news that I got this week was, that I lost my job at the bar because they don't want to be responsible for any further problems that I might have during my pregnancy. My unsensitve boss said that it was because my work standards had dropped (BULL CR*P) because I work my ass off.
OH well now I have to find a job that will employ an almost 3 month pregnant female that can't left heavy objects.... :detective: good luck to me.

Well I hope everyone is in high spirits...
take care.

I'm not sure what the situation is with the new work place law agreements but it used to be that firing a woman because she was pregnant was blatent discrimination.
Obviously your employer will say it is for other reasons but I strongly urge you to contact the hotel/hospitality industy union and speak to a representative there. I'd have thought you had a very good case for unfair dismisal.
Glad things are looking up for you and bubs :yes:

Mia
07-02-2008, 07:13 PM
Yes, I would have thought you had a case for unfair dismissal too.

I still think i'm a bit in denial about this pg and just can't imagine the belly etc and the birth especially :( i'm scared about tbh. I know I have to be positive and i'm really hoping this feeling grows over the next few monthsYes, I feel like this too. Hugs.

And yes, dating ultrasounds are the most accurate for dates. In the first few weeks, every embryo/fetus grows at the same rate, so it's very accurate. Once you get into the 2nd trimester, babies start showing different genetic sizes and having growth spurts, which makes later scan dates less reliable.

07-02-2008, 07:40 PM
Haileye - that sounds like discrmination to me.

I am still having trouble eating. The nausea is not oo bad but its is mighty uncomfortable. Have terrible back pain too.
Trying to rest when my youngest does. Its not easy.
Moving may happen at any moment and it is so stressful.

mixy
07-02-2008, 09:03 PM
well i have been having nausea on and off, today i had to sit at the front door on the floor to get fresh air, and eat an apple while i was there. Not fun. Got some house work done and hubby came home and vacuumed and mopped, while i went shopping:) i was very impressed:)

and i get so tired at night, like 7:00 or a little before.

susmamma
08-02-2008, 06:08 AM
Haileye - that sounds like discrmination to me.

I am still having trouble eating. The nausea is not oo bad but its is mighty uncomfortable. Have terrible back pain too.
Trying to rest when my youngest does. Its not easy.
Moving may happen at any moment and it is so stressful.

sorry to hear your back is so bad kymmy,
can you get to a physio or chiro ?
i saw an osteopath with dd1 for sciatica and he was lovely. they seem to be more gentle than a chiro.
the hormone relaxin does make everything looser so maybe in a few months your back pain wont be so bad as your body adjusts to it's new mobility?
hope you feel better soon :hugs:

PinkAngel
08-02-2008, 07:57 AM
Haileye... your good news is great news! I have my fingers crossed for you... so nice to get an update from you... the bad news is bad... your boss is incredibly insensitive and I'm sure has breached a law or two...

sarahhollands
08-02-2008, 09:03 AM
Haileye - so great to hear things are going well for you on the baby front. Its great news! :yelclap:
Sorry to hear bout your job. :( I agree with the others, it def. sounds like discrimination to me. If you feel up to it, I would look in to your rights and the unfair dismissal laws, as I am sure this would fall under some category.
What does your DP say? Will he help you look in to it? Stay happy & healthy! :flowerz:

dantaz
08-02-2008, 12:20 PM
hi there
its been a while since i posted sorry the nausea has started not as bad as with my son thank god however im concerned i still feel that after my miscarriage last year im going to have another one with his one i am currently 8wks and 2 days (i was 5wks 3 days last time) but i cant help but worry anyway going for a scan on monday and :fingerscrossed: that it will all be ok (though not holding my breath) has anyone else gone through things like this?
dantaz

mother to Tarrant:angel: special man

crafty_gnome
08-02-2008, 12:52 PM
Hi Dantaz

YES I was completely the same. I had a miscarriage last June and again in Nov so this pregnancy I have been a complete mess. Convinced myself it was over again and was never going to happen. I've been for blood tests every couple of weeks to check levels just to make sure. Yesterday I went for my first OB appointment (am 7 weeks so yes I booked it early to be monitored from the start). Was almost in tears in the waiting room as I was convinced that he would do a scan and there wouldn't be anything there or no heartbeat. Well I was wrong. There was a lovely heartbeat flickering away and all is good. What you are feeling is normal, and I think we just have to try and put the awful negative thoughts out of our heads and trust our bodies know what to do and we will have our babies in our arms very soon. Our angel babies are up there looking out for us I know it, and with them these new babies will be born, healthy, full term and full of life. It was amazing how much more confident and secure I felt after the scan and I am sure you will feel the same way. Let us know how you go. :hugs::hugs::hugs:

08-02-2008, 02:50 PM
dantaz - I was feeling very paranoid. I have felt so bleh but I still wonder if I get to keep this baby. I worry even I lose it later. Its not a nice feeling.
I am over 9 weeks so I am not so scared as I lost my others before 9 weeks.

Jel
08-02-2008, 04:30 PM
Had my first midwife/shared care appointment today. Wouldn't want to do it eveyday, that's for sure. We were in there for almost 2 hours all up (waiting room, and then waiting for the dr to pop in for 60 seconds).
just did the history taking, check urine, bp & weight - no examination or doppler (too early at 9+5 wks)
Anyway, got my preg card, so I guess it's all official and full steam ahead!
Need to ring & book in to the hospital for initial consult on Monday. That is usually another good 2 hours wait!! it's very fun with a 2yr and 4yr old girls - not!!
anyone else getting a blood streaked and/or brown discharge post-coital (!! as the midwife put it!!). bit of a worry when it happens, but apparently it's quite normal...

08-02-2008, 04:46 PM
Hate the waiting! Especially with a toddler. Glad I am not going to have to do that too much this time.

mixy
09-02-2008, 08:42 AM
I had my first appointment with my midwife yesterday, it was great, she is fantastic, she gave us heaps of information, it was great:) all systems go!

hayleysmummy
09-02-2008, 09:17 AM
Jel- I havent had any streaking but yep its very common and its a good sign if its dark brown as its just old blood.

Yay everyone has started their appts but yep the waiting is ridiculous.

Well I have some excellent news

I got into the birth centre :smiliedance::smiliedance: My midwife called me yesterday (I was starting to worry because I hadnt heard from them) But she said yes I'm taking you on but going on holidays for 2 weeks so I'll call you within my first week back thats fine as I can see my gp in the meantime and I've already had the dating scan.So no more waiting at the doctors for appts she comes to my house for everything. I'm so excited I'll be able to have the birth I have been dreaming about if all goes well

vanillabean
09-02-2008, 09:25 AM
Well, I haven't been on too much lately, have to say much more exhausted this time than both previously. I have my first Dr's appointment this week. It seems like I have known for ages and just waiting to confirm my dates. My hubby is very anxious to find out my dates as he is keen to tell people. We have already told our families. I feel about 12 weeks and am starting to look it, but I think I may only be about 9 weeks. I can't keep hiding it for much longer before people will be sussing me out! Hope everyone is well.

09-02-2008, 10:17 AM
I look further along than 9 weeks but I guess that is to be expected with a forth.
Hubby hasn't been so keen to tell ppl probably because we just lost a baby in Oct
Uusally he would be yelling it at from from the rooftops.
I am surprised he hasn't told his family though. Esp his Mum.
Last night we took our kids to stay at their Auntys' place. My SIL says "Are you pregnant?" I just said Yes. She was so excited! She had a dream and when she told her Mum, she said someone is pregnant. Weird, huh? So my SILs are very excited for me which is lovely as I think most ppl wont be cos we seem greedy having our forth (?!)
Hubby wasn't impressed that they know - not sure why.

mixy
09-02-2008, 10:40 AM
:yelclap:hayleysmummy thats great, and they come to your house!! wow i dont even get that!! i am so excited for you!

Kymmy that is great that your SIL's are so happy for you, you didnt seem sure how they would react, but that is great!

I havent been to tired or sick, even last night i felt fine, normally i fell sickest at night, i was really nauseus before dinner but that because i didnt eat before my appointment. I am just worried that i may not be sick enough to have goo amounts of HCG, iykwim, hopefully all is fine:)

MummaDJ
09-02-2008, 01:06 PM
ok you girls :ecomcity::ecomcity: way too much. Here I was thinking not bad only 5 pages to catch up on. :laughing: till I found the feb thread.

We are all moved and mainly settled. Have a few boxes left but not many considering how many we had to start with lol.

7 weeks & 4 days today.

Had mainly smooth sailing until Thursday when I think my body just gave up and told me to stop I was totally exhausted and the heat doesn't help 1 bit. Thurs night my body was just like a dead weight or my limbs were like jelly was really woozy and dizzy when i was up for too long. So went to bed very early and slept until 10am yesterday (thankfully ds was at mum & dads and dh was home when they dropped him off). Was ok till I decided to go do some grocery shopping & while out and about started feeling very woozy & dizzy again so decided to get the essentials and head home. Vegged out all day yesterday in the aircon while hubby was home to help look after ds.

Feeling much better today thankfully as dh is working all weekend.

As for food. Have no appetite but eatting regularly as I know I have to.

Will go back through the posts and try to catch up with you all.

FX internet is up and running at home on tues.

nattie81
09-02-2008, 06:10 PM
I have had such an awful day today and yesterday!

I have just felt soooo sad! Has anybody else been feeling like this? I feel really lonely atm. Like my life has no aim or purpose - I am really bored... I know it's related to the preg hormones in my body.

This afternoon I have just been crying all afternoon. My husband is amazing - he is trying to understand, and getting me everything I want, and listening and talking to me, but it just must be so hard for a male to understand crying for no reason! Like I seriously have NO reason...

None of my friends around me are pregnant, and I am finding this hard. Our two lots of best friends both know that we are (Im 9 weeks tomorrow) but not many others know so I guess I am finding that hard because I am probably avoiding seeing people because I don't want to have to explain why I am so tired, or why Im not having a drink (I LOVE my champagne, and we usually catch up with friends over drinks / dinner). And my two besties, that is one of our favourite pastimes is sitting on the front deck chilling out with a glass of champas.

I also don't work during the day for 2 days a week which previously I have always really enjoyed but I just felt so lonely the last couple of days like I was locked in the house (oh my god am i going to get a shock when this baby comes, lol) and I miss my husband so much during the day.

I think I need to meet some mums / people that are pregnant in my area that I can just pop down and have a coffee (i don't drink coffee, lol, but you know what I mean) with....
Just an hour chat so I feel like I am getting that contact.

I work in a small company too with all people who are older and completely different so I don't really get that contact at work either...

It's driving me insane cause Im a pretty rational sort of person normally, and i hate that I can't control my emotions at the moment!!

Im so lucky I have such a wonderful husband.

Is anyone else feeling like this??

cassvanm
09-02-2008, 06:33 PM
Nattie, I am so sorry that you are feeling that way! The pregnancy hormones have a lot to answer for sometimes!
I had an arguement with my DH for over an hour last night - well, I cried and yelled and whinged - and really there was no purpose. I was just plucking things randomly out of the air that I could use! We even went to bed without making up, which I make sure I never do - not a good feeling :(.
All DH could say was "geez, the next 7 months are going to be long"! I'm lucky, coz my DH has been through it with me before, my fear is that my PND will come back.
If you are really struggling, that is also something to consider. Although PND is often thought of for AFTER bub comes, you can still have it before bub comes, it's a hormone imbalance along with other things. Have a chat with your GP if you are worried. Also, listen to your DH, they are often pretty in tune. Despite all this "doom & gloom" I've been spouting, you may just be hormonal, and it will pass once bub's placenta starts kicking in a bit more, and your hormones will self-regulate more.
Good luck, and feel free to let us all know if youre needing something!
Hugs for you :hugs:
Kisses for you :kiss:
Friendship for you :shakehands:
Cass

10-02-2008, 08:01 PM
Nattie - hope you are feeling okay. I think pregnancy can produce such a rollercoaster of emotions, it can be overwhelming. Support is so important.
I am teary mess most of the time.

nattie81
11-02-2008, 07:52 AM
Thanks Cass&Kimmy

I am feeling fine today - that is why it is so frustrating, lol. I am actually really happy today (which is quite strange, cause it's a Monday and I am at work, lol).

I have the most amazing supportive husband, I just have no idea how he does it, lol. Female hormones (especially when pregnant) must be so frustrating for a man, lol...

Thanks for your thoughts (I think I just needed to get mine out on paper, lol).

AmyLou
11-02-2008, 09:24 AM
Goodmorning ladies how are we all???

I have been pretty good, Thursday Friday and Saturday i had REALLY good days where i wasn't sick, no vomiting or anything and then Sunday came and BAM, vomiting and so run down i just couldn't believe it! i thought i must have been getting over this terrible MS but no i think it is just going to come in stages! ohwell wat can i do!

So what has everyone else been up to? Have a good weekend? I'm craving a scone with strawberry jam! YUM YUM i am going to morning tea with my sis at 11 so i am definately getting one!

hayleysmummy
11-02-2008, 09:32 AM
Oh yum Amylou a scone with jam and cream sounds yummy I might ask mum if she wants to go for coffee today :laughing:

I have been really sick the last few days but its so early in the morning that theres nothing to come up.

AmyLou
11-02-2008, 09:40 AM
I know exactly how you feel, All that comes up is that yucky yellow bile (sorry TMI) however being sick does make me feel better for about 10 minutes... It's weird though because if i vomit i always vomit atleast a second time if not more.. never just once... very unfair i think!

I don't like cream, but yeah can't wait for my scone!

Ladies i have a question.. Someone told me that i'm not really meant to eat soft serve icecream.. is this right??

dantaz
11-02-2008, 10:01 AM
i dont know how you guys can think of food oh my god
its official
just came back from my 8 1/2 week scan and i have a bean (thats what it looked like) so was worrying for nothing
all is good hearts beating as it should be and im spot on with my date of september 17 finally i can start telling people
now i cant wait to see more of the bean
mummy 26
daddy 25
tarrrant nearly 3
baby #2 on the way

Jel
11-02-2008, 10:03 AM
Ladies i have a question.. Someone told me that i'm not really meant to eat soft serve icecream.. is this right??
Just googled it to find out for sure....

What foods should I avoid in pregnancy?
There are certain foods that are considered to be of high risk of Listeria contamination. The foods to avoid in pregnancy include:
Soft white cheeses eg. Ricotta, brie, camembert, blue vein and fetta
Pate
Unpasturised dairy products
Cold meats
Dried/fermented sausages
Raw seafoods eg. Oysters, sashimi
Smoked seafood (canned is okay)
Pre packed and prepared salads
Soft serve ice-cream

AmyLou
11-02-2008, 10:10 AM
Well there you go... I love thickshakes though... Mmmm chocolate thickshake... Ohwell just another thing to give up!

Thanks for that jel

AmyLou
11-02-2008, 10:11 AM
Dantaz - i think we are at the same stage... i am 8 weeks although i haven't had a scan yet, have my first ob app on the 18th feb so in a week and i'm hoping that he does a scan then and gives me a proper date... at the moment i am thinking somewhere around the 17, 18 or 19th...

11-02-2008, 10:13 AM
Yeah can't stand food. The thought of it mostly makes me feel ill.
I will be starving but eat so little.
I hope this will be over soon. And for the next 2 weeks I will be packing so that will be fun....:no:

sarahhollands
11-02-2008, 01:20 PM

I had my first appointment with the midwife this morning! Was meant to be with my OB - but she is on holidays. DH and I met the midwife who was lovely. Took my BP/Weight/History and did a wee sample. Then she just talked me through what will happen in the nxt few months during my appointments.
Everything appears ok - except my BP is low (I already knew that) so apparently I have to be careful during my pregnancy - eg. Don't be on your feet for too long - HA! I am a nurse - I spend 8 hours a day on my feet!
Also, got a bag of goodies -preg magazines, free product samples and lots of info pamphlets - bonus!
Am soooo looking forward to my appointment with the OB in 2 weeks time - so I can see my little bub!

Amylou - I totally know what you mean with the random m/s. I had two beautiful days of no nausea/vommiting last week, then on Sunday - :barf:!!! Was not impressed! Felt so ordinary yesterday, I couldn't go to work. Feel a little better today :).

Nattie - Sorry to hear you are feeling so down. It must be hard not having anyone to talk to/realte to re: pregnancy. My BF is pregnant and we bounce feelings/symptoms off eachother everyday. I guess I am just very lucky. Hope you can find a support group or something nearby? Remember we are always here to listen xo

Hope you are all looking after yourselves!

GeorgiaAnne
11-02-2008, 02:27 PM
Not much to report here, glad everyone seems to be going well!
Sarah - I also have really low bp and work on my feet - just make sure you sit down if you feel dizzy. I found the first trimester was the worst for it then my BP actually went up a bit later in pg to a more normal level like 110/70 so felt a bit better! Glad to hear your middy was good!

Love the list of banned food, I think it must be all my fave foods on that list! especially pate mmmm. After Sophia was born I got my dh to make me a big tray of duck liver parfait and a loaf of brioche with a bottle of nice pinot :cloud9: though even typing that food then has made me feel ill now YUCK. Still going hard on the saos and sparkling apple juice, about the only things I feel like. I'm due 4th September, can anyone tell me how many weeks I am?:confused:

hayleysmummy
11-02-2008, 02:45 PM
GA- You are 10wks and 4 days :thumbsup:

This is how I worked it out

http://www.bubhub.com.au/infopregnancyduedatecalculator.php

Your LMP was the 29th Nov 2007

AmyLou
11-02-2008, 03:01 PM
Its horrible isn't it Sarah, good one day and soooo sick the next.. ohwell i just tell myself that i am so sick because the baby is growing nice and strong!

Yum when you said saos, i now can't stop thinking about Jatz with butter and cheese.. oh yum, i am going to go and get that while i get something for dinner! Mmm

11-02-2008, 04:22 PM
Thanks for that hayleysmum. I thought I wasn't 10 weeks til tomorrow.

cassvanm
11-02-2008, 05:40 PM
Hello lovely ladies
Sorry no personals today, feeling rushed - gotta get kids in bed
Update on me: I had my 8wk appointment with my GP today, and was told the following:

I am hypoglycemic! I have to eat every 2 hours, or I face risk of fainting - I currently get the shakes 1-2 times per day, and MUST eat if I want to feel better. Also very dizzy. She said give up the meals, just snack wisely every 2 hours. Sounds like a can-do!
I am going to gain a lot of weight - I have already gained 6kg in 4 weeks, and coz of my history (gained 30kg with dd2), it looks like my body just does this! I am sooooo frustrated, coz I just worked my a$$ off to lose 20kg! :hair:
My blood pressure is perfect :thumbsup: Gotta be happy with that
Now that they've seen bub on the screen (2.5wks ago), I have less than 5% chance of m/c this one - YAY :yelclap::smiliedance:
I now have to make the decision as to whether I want to do the blood test & u/s for the Downs + test - money is an issue, and we didn't do this for DD2 - however I would like to see bub on the screen - doublecheck that heartbeat. :bee:Nothing else to share, but I hope you are all doing fabulously
Cheers big ears
Cass

Pink73
11-02-2008, 11:05 PM
How exciting a few of you have seen your little bubs, I still have another 9 days until my first OB app cant wait.
Some of you have said you have High/low blood pressure so what is normal BP I have no idea I am always told its good 120/60 Does that sound ok.
How are the working mums going with having to busy and on the go all day, I no I have 2 young boys but thay both still have a sleep for 2hrs in the afternoon so I do as well I dont think I would make it through the day with out my nap.
cassvanm Look on the bright side if you didnt lose that weight it would be like gaining 50kg not the 30. You have done it once you can do it again :yes:.
sarahhollands Yay the bag of goodies and you still have 2 more to get.:thumbsup:
AmyLou Soft serve is a no no, its because it not keeped at a cold enough temp to keep the badies away. I just went to cafe where thay use real ice-cream for my milkshake fix.

All is well here just growing at a frighting rate I hope it slows down soon & I am still worried about twins.
Have a good week everyone:flowerz:

PinkAngel
12-02-2008, 07:53 AM
Feeling a little low today... i have my first ob/gyn appt on Monday so I am really wishing this week away.

I woke up this morning and noticed my boobs are not as sore as they have been and I'm taking this as a bad sign... hey I take everything as a bad sign... :(

I know I saw the heartbeat at 171bpm last week but I just can't help but feel something has gone wrong... I'm trying to keep positive... i am at work at the moment and this is the first place I come for comfort LOL

Thanks for listening ladies...it helps to get it out... i hope you all have great days with your beans!!

~ Lisa :hugs:

Manz
12-02-2008, 08:16 AM
Feeling a little low today... i have my first ob/gyn appt on Monday so I am really wishing this week away.

I woke up this morning and noticed my boobs are not as sore as they have been and I'm taking this as a bad sign... hey I take everything as a bad sign... :(

I know I saw the heartbeat at 171bpm last week but I just can't help but feel something has gone wrong... I'm trying to keep positive... i am at work at the moment and this is the first place I come for comfort LOL

Thanks for listening ladies...it helps to get it out... i hope you all have great days with your beans!!

Oh Lisa lots and lots of :hugs::hugs:
I really do hope its just nothing..... I have noticed my sickness has eased off alot on the last couple of days, and with my last 2 pregnancies the sickness didn't go away til about 13 weeks..... but.... its just a hormone thing I am thinking and its different this time
Try and hang in there til Monday..... and I really hope that you can have a good day at work! Keep in touch!

:sunshine:

Kaileysmum
12-02-2008, 08:58 AM
Hi Ladies, Hope we are all feeling ok.

I had my first OB appointment yesterday, which was great as I had a ultrasound, and bubs is all fine, and the little hearts beating. I even got a little pic of my little blob.:)

Im happy bout my dates too, as I went in thinking I was 9 weeks and the ultrasound only put my date back 1 day which is great as with my pregnancy with DD I went to the ultrasound thinking I was 10 weeks and got put back to 7.5 weeks, so Im very glad that didnt happen again.

So my due date is the 17th and if I decide on a repeat c/s my baby will be born on the 5th! I haven't made up my mind what to do yet, my ob had a chat with me about it and said to think it over, and he'll support me either way, which is good.

I have been feeling ok, Im still tired most of the time, and feel sick every now and then, I havent thrown up yet which is great as with DD I was very sick and was always throwing up. Maybe Im having boy as this pregnancy seems a lot different.:fingerscrossed:

susmamma
12-02-2008, 09:42 AM
hi ladies, well i was soooo pee'd off yesterday i couldnt write about the utlrasound.
they put me back a week which meant i was 6wks instead of 7wks... and so i spent all yesterday being irrationally and totally p!ssed off.

means i have known i'm preg for 3 weeks and i'm only 6 wks gone! who gets a strong positive test 7 days before AF is due?

This means i ovulated a lot later in my cycle which means I had sex far from ovulation which means

A GIRL

OMG I CANT BE HAVING 3 GIRLS.
PUBERTY WILL BE A FRIKN NIGHTMARE.

3 TEENAGE GIRLS ALL BANGING AROUND THE HOUSE? THAT"S IT I"M BUILDING A CUPBOARD JUST FOR ME FILLED WITH RED WINE AND NEVER COMING OUT. :D

Also means my c/s date will be out by a week which means I will potentially be in hospy for Lola's second birthday and therefore due in OCTOBER!!! NO!
Does that mean I have to join a new thread?

No i cant leave. Dont make me go!!

Ok so as we were leaving I mention the c/s date to the lady who did the scan and say, well this will effect the elective c/s that they do at 39weeks. Means I'll be sheduled first week of october instead of second to last week in sept.
She's like "oh these scans can be up to five days out at this age."
News to me, last time i went in they told me they were 90 percent accurate at this stage of devlp.
She said they'll check the 12 week scan to see dates then as well.
So i'll be interested in what the ob has to say.
I now have two date my period date of 27th sept and the scan date of 8th oct.

I'm going to see if the ob will let me go into spontanious labour and do an emergency c/s rather than a scheduled elective c/s.

Fingers crossed i'm allowed because i really want a labour with this baby. It was awful not going into labour with Lola, felt like I didnt really have a birth (I mean I know I did of sorts...)

Hope we're all feeling bright and sparky - or grumpy and irritable (that's me lately).
Love :hugs:

crafty_gnome
12-02-2008, 09:53 AM
I thought elective c/s they did at 38 weeks, not 39??? Will that make the dates better for you??? My o/b said the dates on the early scans can be wrong, that they don't know sort of definately until the 12 week one.

susmamma
12-02-2008, 09:55 AM

Lisa honey, the likelihood of anything happening after finding a heartbeat is really low. It's an excellent sign they found a heartbeat. My boobs are not sore at all. And the last two babies they were so sore I couldnt even put a bra on. Frankly I dont even think they are bigger at all. So stop worrying. I know this first trimester can be full of fears but you have to make a conscious effort to think about the good stuff. Now from this minute on you;re to enjoy every non pregnant symptom. Imagine all those women wandering around with boobs that feel like they're about to explode. Well you're not one of them and neither am I.
Yay!
Honestly if something does go wrong and you lose the baby it's the best thing at this stage. It means something was wrong and it couldnt genetically keep dividing on a cellular level.
Every week a set of codes unfolds and the baby has to be able to unlock each of those codes to make the set of developmental changes required at that week of development. The reason women miscarry at different weeks is because let's say at week 5 the gene for growing legs and arms is supposed to unlock, if it doesnt the embryo terminates. Let's say you got all the way through to nine weeks and the genetic coding for lung development is supposed to unlock and it doesnt, well the embryo will terminate then. In some respects looking at things scientifically can be of help. The baby didnt "want" to leave you, it just cannot continue to develope without the sequence of genes unlocking at the required time. It's natures way of making sure our babies come out in tip top condition.

You are going to be fine honey. Either way you'll be fine, we'll all be fine. God the pregnancy bit is the easy bit, i reckon once they come out that's the hard bit!!

Love and hugs :hugs:

PinkAngel
12-02-2008, 09:57 AM
Oh susmamma I feel for you... although I did have a smile at your comment about your cupboard filled with red wine and yourself...i think I might need the floorplans for that one to build myself actually :)

So does far from ovulation indicate a girl?

I hope you are feeling better... you just never know whats going to pop out on the day...

I can understand your frustration... now where are those plans....:hugs:

~ Lisa x

susmamma
12-02-2008, 10:01 AM
I thought elective c/s they did at 38 weeks, not 39??? Will that make the dates better for you??? My o/b said the dates on the early scans can be wrong, that they don't know sort of definately until the 12 week one.

i think now it's 39weeks.
i guess my concern is that i'll have a baby taken out too early like i did with lola.
they took her out at 38 weeks because i was having strong braxton hicks.
she stayed in the fetal position for almost a month after birth (i ended up taking her to a oseopath to help straighten her out... the birthing process naturally stretches the baby out as they come through the cervix and vagina).
lola also fell asleep continuously while bf'ding. she lost weight because she wouldnt stay awake long enough to feed. i had to set my alarm every three hours in the night to wake her or she'd sleep for ten hours over night... not a good idea for a newborn (ironic really considering first baby never slept AT ALL and second baby i had to set an alarm to wake... jez could i jsut get a regular kid this time?!):D

anyway these are apparently signs of a premature birth (nothing serious obviously, everything was fully develpd) but if baby isn't ready to come out i dont think she should be yanked out two weeks before she's finished cooking.

this time i really want to make sure we dont go in too early.

sarahhollands
12-02-2008, 10:03 AM
susmamma - When I went for a scan @ 7 weeks to the day by my LMP - they told me I was around 6 weeks 1 day. I asked my widwife about this yesterday and she said a few useful things; Firstly, the scan can be incorrect for dates that early - she said to wait for the 12 week scan for a more definitive answer. Second, she said that it depends on your regular cycle length? My cycle is usually 30 - 32 days rather than the standard 28 days, and that may be why my dates are off - as your EDD worked out from your LMP is based on a 28 day cycle. I understand your frustration! It's funny you say - GIRL - cause the second I had my scan and they told me I was a week behind what I thought - my immediate thought was - its a girl! But I had a feeling it was a girl b4 that! 3 teenage girls will be challenging (If this bub turns out to be a girl - it may not remember!) But they will probably be wonderful friends and be alot more helpful around the house that teenage boys???!! Just trying to look @ the positives! Chin up!

PinkAngel
12-02-2008, 10:03 AM
Every week a set of codes unfolds and the baby has to be able to unlock each of those codes to make the set of developmental changes required at that week of development. The reason women miscarry at different weeks is because let's say at week 5 the gene for growing legs and arms is supposed to unlock, if it doesnt the embryo terminates. Let's say you got all the way through to nine weeks and the genetic coding for lung development is supposed to unlock and it doesnt, well the embryo will terminate then. In some respects looking at things scientifically can be of help. The baby didnt "want" to leave you, it just cannot continue to develope without the sequence of genes unlocking at the required time. It's natures way of making sure our babies come out in tip top condition.

WOW! I have never heard it explained like that. It makes so much sense... thank you so very much for this post!! :hugs:

A great explanation! Now I will stop prodding and poking my poor boobs... :)

I hope you get to stay in this forum and with any luck you will get that boy of yours that your ordered ;)

~ Lisa xx

mixy
12-02-2008, 10:13 AM
wow you ladies have been chatting today!!! well i havent been on for a few days, im glad to hear some ladies have been having a little rest from thier m/s :yelclap:

susmamma- you said they gave you a c-sec for strong BH... i cant say i heard