View Full Version : Mums and Bubs Movie Session Feb 21

Laine
30-01-2008, 21:40
Ok, another thread inspired me lol so I am throwing this out there. I want to organise a Mums and Bubs movie session for Thursday Feb 21st.

The movie that is screening on that day is Definitely, Maybe
Starring Ryan Reynolds, Isla Fisher, Rachel Weisz and Abigail Breslin

It will be at a North Eastern Suburbs location, if you are interested in attending, or attending future mums and bubs sessions let me know or send me a PM. Ill let you know the details.

ETA : Just a bit more info, children under age of 5 are free, there are change tables etc there with dimmed lights throughout the movie. Movie tickets are around the $9 mark per adult.

Mummy2R&K
31-01-2008, 09:05
Oh would of come - but i work Thursdays :(

cheezelz
31-01-2008, 09:21
Yep Nat count me in!!!! Im sure Mischief79 will be there too.

nicoleE
31-01-2008, 16:40
I've always wanted to try one of these movies but dont belong to a Mums group :no:so I am interested... :yelclap:

Laine
31-01-2008, 17:07
Excellent!! Well ill make the date then on that 21st Feb as a definite. Ill ring up tomorrow to see what session times there are and if we are going to need to book or reserve in advance due to perhaps mothers groups going to those sorts of things too?

If all goes well for this one, they hold them fortnightly on a Thursday except for in school holidays. Maybe we could do like a once a month thing? Or we will just see how this one goes and if people enjoy it.

Once I get an idea of numbers coming Ill PM the details :yes:

mummynow
31-01-2008, 17:54
Oh how exciting :smiliedance:. I have always wanted to go to one of these too! Count me in :yelclap:

Does anyone know anything about the movie? I know we're all basically in the same boat, but DH and I have decided we had better be more careful about what we watch in front of DD now.... she keeps coming out with the most inappropriate things sometimes and we can usually attribute it to a recent TV program or movie!!

I do like Isla Fisher though (closet Home and Away fan here :D)

Laine
31-01-2008, 18:32
This is a summary of the movie:

Ryan Reynolds stars as Will Hayes, a 30-something Manhattan dad in the midst of a divorce when his 10 year-old daughter, Maya (Abigail Breslin), starts to question him about his life before marriage. Maya wants to know absolutely everything about how her parents met and fell in love.

Will's story begins in 1992, as a young, starry-eyed aspiring politician who moves to New York from Wisconsin in order to work on the Clinton campaign. For Maya, Will relives his past as an idealistic young man learning the ins and outs of big city politics, and recounts the history of his romantic relationships with three very different women.

Will hopelessly attempts a "PG" version of his story for his daughter and changes the names so Maya has to guess who is the woman her father finally married. Is her mother Will's college sweetheart, the dependable girl next-door Emily (Elizabeth Banks)? Is she his longtime best friend and confidante, the apolitical April (Isla Fisher)? Or is she the free-spirited but ambitious journalist Summer (Rachel Weisz)?

As Maya puts together the pieces of her dad's romantic puzzle, she begins to understand that love is not so simple or easy. And as Will tells her his tale, Maya helps him to understand that it's definitely never too late to go back...and maybe even possible to find a happy ending.

I was a little worried too about the movie choice they had and I actually assumed this movie was rated M, but its a PG. I wouldn't think they would put anything too bad on for sessions like these. It sounds pretty funny though and I have seen the previews for it, worth a look at :thumbsup:

Sparky1666
31-01-2008, 20:01
Count me in once the baby is born. These sessions sound amazing:yelclap:

Dreams
31-01-2008, 22:42
I would love to go but that date is my DD's first birthday and DH has taken the day off to spend it with her/us. Count me in on another one though.

I know Marion have them on Wednesdays too. I went to one last year and DD loved it, we saw Hairspray and she was about 8 months old and watched the whole lot of it. She loved the singing and dancing and colour. COst was $8 then so such a bargain. Also, Marion said that if they start getting heaps of people along they would start to put their lunches back on. Apparently $5 and all you can eat sandwiches and tea and coffee.

Sharai
01-02-2008, 13:35
If I am not working yes I will come too.
I just need to fit in between school for DS 1 so that I can drop off and pick him up

Laine
01-02-2008, 16:12
Update! This session for that Thursday starts at 9:30am. Does this suit people? If so I need to get a rough idea of numbers preferably a week before hand as if there is more than 10 a group booking will need to be made. I am assuming that number is just counting mums not the kids too. Either way I will make a booking.

I will send those people who said they were interested in coming to this session in particular a PM with the Time and Place and if you can definitely make it either post in here (copy and paste below) or send me a PM. Thanks everyone :)

DEFINITELY Coming
Laine

Maybe (Please get back to me with a yes or no by the 14th Feb, cheers!)

mummynow
01-02-2008, 18:11
I'm just curious if that's the only session time they run? Only reason I ask is thinking of anyone who may have to drop older kids at school or kindy etc then drive to the cinema and try to make it on time? Do they do a 10am or 10.30am for example?

Anyway, either way I'll be there:

DEFINITELY Coming
Laine
Mummynow (Donna) TTP or Marion

Laine
01-02-2008, 18:17
I did ask yeah because of that but unfortunately they don't :no: which I was disappointed about. I would of thought they would make it around 10 or 11. Out of curiosity I will ring again tomorrow and find out if it will always be this sort of time frame. Ill also find out about the one at Marion.

ETA: Just had a look at the Marion timetable, they seem to have a better time schedule. 10:30am on Wednesday seems to be their time slot for it. Juno is showing currently on the 6th of Feb, Fools Gold the week after, Dan in Real life - another week after that and Definitely, Maybe is being shown on the 27th Feb.

We will definitely go ahead with this one of the 21st but perhaps if anyone fancies any of the others up and coming we could arrange to go to one of those too? I am happy to travel to Marion also, but for those who can't we will also work on the North Eastern ones as planned. Let me know your thoughts! I am happy to organise it all.

mummynow
01-02-2008, 18:40
I thnk it would be a nice idea to alternate (roughly) between the two locations to give everyone the chance to come along based on there personal situation... eg. travel, school comittments, work committments etc. Also taking into consideration what movies are on etc.

Laine
01-02-2008, 18:43
Yeah thats what I was thinking :thumbsup:

So perhaps put your names down and which movies or location u would prefer if that works.

nicoleE
02-02-2008, 21:55
Im all for the proposed session at TTP however wonder if Reading Cinemas at Elizabeth do Mums & Bubs sessions as although I live closer to TTP prefer the Reading ones as they are MUCH newer and cleaner, last time I went to TTP movies i swore i wouldnt go there again, the cinema chairs are filthy and ripped and the toilets there are a discrace!
Today i have just been to see 27 dreses (good movie) at Eliz with a friend (DD was being babysat) and the cinemas there are lovely.

Also... for those who have been to a M&B session before, are the movies as loud? Im a bit concerned that they will be a bit loud for bubs' little ears? And where do you put the prams??

mummynow
03-02-2008, 17:48
I haven't been to TTP cinemas for probably 10 years to be honest so I'm happy to hear anyones opinions that have been more recently. I am also not against Reading cinemas at Elizabeth. We go to the centre quite a bit but have never been to the cinemas. So either way for me :thumbsup:

Laine
03-02-2008, 18:45
I'll give TTP a call tomorrow and find out a bit more regarding where prams are put etc. As for the sound I do remember reading somewhere that it is quieter then your usual movie sessions but I will double check that too.

As for Reading cinemas, isn't there one at Salisbury too? ETA: Stand corrected, its a Hoyts too :yes: I remember going to the Salisbury one once and thought it was really clean because at the time it was new aswell, I dont know what condition its in now though. Reading cinemas do the mums and bubs sessions too on wednesdays, so I am quite happy to venture out there also, would certainly suit me better then Marion lol but I am happy either way. Ill make a few calls tomorrow :thumbsup:

mazzie
04-02-2008, 16:01
I would be in for the one on Wed at Marion!! I really want to see Juno :)
I don't have a car during the day so north east suburbs would be to far to travel

mummynow
04-02-2008, 17:35
I will go to TTP, Salisbury, Elizabeth, Marion, Norwood - did I leave any out :confused: I'm easy :laughing:

Laine
04-02-2008, 17:52
:laughing: Donna, thats excellent.

Due to Foxtel stuffing us about I need to be here between 7-12 on Wednesday when they have finally booked a tech in to come here so I wont be able to get to see Juno. I really wanted to see that movie also :(. Mazzie will see if anyone else is interested in going on Weds??

Due to this thread becoming a bit confusing, we will work on just the TTP session for now and once we see how that goes, we can arrange one further south like Marion so people that way can come to one too?

mazzie
04-02-2008, 22:38
:laughing: Donna, thats excellent.

Due to Foxtel stuffing us about I need to be here between 7-12 on Wednesday when they have finally booked a tech in to come here so I wont be able to get to see Juno. I really wanted to see that movie also :(. Mazzie will see if anyone else is interested in going on Weds??

Due to this thread becoming a bit confusing, we will work on just the TTP session for now and once we see how that goes, we can arrange one further south like Marion so people that way can come to one too?

Sounds good, probably a bit to close to organise one for this week anyways ;)

mummynow
05-02-2008, 09:30
I just saw the add for this movie last night for the first time..... I had forgotten it was the movie we are going to see for this....

When I saw it I thought.... I'd like to see that! Then when I got on here this morning I realised it was the same movie :smiliedance: I'm really looking forward to it now :D

Laine
05-02-2008, 10:33
Just an updated list of those coming.

DEFINITELY Coming 21st Feb
Laine
Mummynow (Donna) TTP or Marion
Cheezelz
Mischief79

If anyone else is interested in coming or knowing details about it (although pretty well explained in here lol) PM me or post. Would love to see some new faces also!

Sharai
05-02-2008, 11:02
yes please not fussed where.

mummynow
05-02-2008, 11:09
Just an updated list of those coming.

Laine
Mummynow
Cheezelz
Mischief79
Sharai

Laine
05-02-2008, 11:11
Thanks for that Donna

I did just PM you Sharai as I was unsure if that time was ok for you? Great to see it is! Look forward to meeting you there.

nicoleE
07-02-2008, 15:43
Would have loved to come but have now been invited to something I cant get out of but will be on the look out for future sessions held and keen to hear how it goes so please post about it! :wave:

tymikahjae
10-02-2008, 17:09
My name is Kelly and I am looking to expand my friend network.

I am new to the forum/chat room thingie, so please be patient with me!!!!!

I am currently on maternity leave; and now a stay at home mummy; and would like to know if I could look at coming to your movie day.

Also, my partner works shift work and I get pretty bored when he is not home, so if anyone is looking at passing some time too, please feel free to message me via MSN Messenger.

Laine
10-02-2008, 19:10
Sorry you can't make it NicoleE, will definitely let you know how it all goes and perhaps organise another at some stage.

Hi Kelly, first off... Welcome to Bubhub!:wave: I am sure you will love it here.
Secondly, you are more then welcome to come along to this session. Ill pm you the details! Would be great to see you there.

tymikahjae
11-02-2008, 00:25
Thanks Laine.

I'm looking forward to it.... it will be nice to finally catch up with some other mummy's and have a real adult conversation!!!!!

Seeya there

Laine
11-02-2008, 11:20
Excellent to hear you can come Kelly! Looking forward to meeting you :yelclap:

Updated list..

Laine
Mummynow
Cheezelz
Mischief79
Sharai
tymikahjae

tymikahjae
11-02-2008, 12:58
SORRY...... :o
I have totally forgotten that I have been invited to the Clipsal 500 that day!
Can't pass this opportunity up... a day with out the kids! That doesn't come around to often these days!
I am really pee'd that it is on the same day, I was really looking forward to going. I will keep an eye out thou to see of anything else coming up.
I hope you have a fun day....

Sorry again.

Laine
11-02-2008, 15:23
No problems, have fun!
Updated list..

Laine
Mummynow
Cheezelz
Mischief79
Sharai

mischief79
11-02-2008, 21:13
I am so looking forward to seeing a movie! I have seen two, yep... two movies at the cinema in the last 4 years. I need to get out more!
I'll travel anywhere, not fussed on the times and places at the moment. I'm getting used to travelling from one side of the city to the other!

BlessedWithBlue
12-02-2008, 14:54
awww Nat i wish i could come!! but as you know the car is out of action until god knows when :( I would definately be interested in future sessions though!!!

Laine
12-02-2008, 15:22
Rach - I just sent you a PM by the way! I was going to ask you about this but wasn't sure if you could get there as I thought things may have been a bit hectic with bubs recent arrival!:( The car still out of action!? aghhh!

I really really hope you can make the next one, ill guarantee you do!

Mischief79 - 2 movies in 4 years hey! This is LONG overdue then!

Emmy1
12-02-2008, 15:29
I'd love to come along but at that time i wouldn't make it because i live in the south and i drop my son off at school but id love to come along to one at Marion.

Laine
14-02-2008, 14:47
I am getting conflicting information at the box office for this movie :hair:

So as it stands it will be definitely on that Thursday 21st, but they said they are unsure of the time, the last girl I spoke to said 9:30am the one I just spoke to said 10am. They said to call back next Tuesday as they will have it all updated. So final numbers coming by that date would be a great help (19th Feb) :yes:

As for putting prams away, she said you can put them down the front if you dont need them and are happy to sit with your bubs or you can have them next to you. Either way I am sure something can be sorted out! Ill find out more Tuesday.

mummynow
20-02-2008, 09:41
Hi Laine - I am really sorry but my appt for tommorow has been confirmed and set for 9.30am at the Flinders Medical Centre.... So I definitely can't make it :( I was looking forward to it too.... Hopefully I can make the next one.

Hope you all have fun tho!!:smiliedance:

Laine
20-02-2008, 09:49
Thats ok Donna, will see you at the next one planned.

Lisa, Belinda and Sharai are you guys going to be able to make it, I know Lisa and Belinda its been a bit of a full on week for you guys. Did you want to postpone or can you all make it?

mummynow
20-02-2008, 10:04
I'll double check with Sharai for you but I'm pretty sure she can't make it... but don't rule her out just yet :)

mummynow
20-02-2008, 10:06
Sorry Laine - I'm just going to borrow you thread for one moment:

For anyone who was interested in a 'southern' mums and bubs meet or simply can't make it tomorrow (like me) here is a link for one down that way:

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2382348#post2382348

Thank you Laine - It's all yours again :D

Sharai
20-02-2008, 10:16
I might have to pull out for this week and next week as a friend of the family has died and we will need to fly to Darwin sometime during this time. I do wish to come but if postponed let me know when the next one is on so I can organise around that. Cheers
and so sorry.

cheezelz
20-02-2008, 14:18
Sorry from me too Nat. I think it goes without saying that Brie is not up to scratch enough to be taken to socialise with other kids. The hospital said to keep her out of the path of other kids till at least the end of the week to be on the safe side.

Also Mischief79 spent last night in hospital hooked up to a drip because of the virus she caught so she wont be able to make it either.

We are so sorry because you have put so much work into organising this meet. We hope that you have fun anyways.

xoxox

Laine
20-02-2008, 14:31
No problem guys, Lisa send Belinda my best wishes for her to make a speedy recovery :hugs:will see you both soon. Hope Brie is doing better now too!

Can a mod please close this thread?