View Full Version : breastfeeding twins

oenmum
30-01-2008, 21:49
Hi, I am 35 1/2 weeks pregnant with twin girls and am really REALLY keen to breastfeed. I am having trouble finding anyone who has successfully breastfed twins for an extended length of time ie beyond the 6 weeks trouble time. I successfully breastfed my son, but am thinking this might be a bit different. Also, any strategies for managing a toddler while breastfeeding would be great too. Thanks

shed
30-01-2008, 21:51
You should join the ABA. There is one lady at the one I go to who breastfed her twins till they were 2.

OJandMe
30-01-2008, 21:54
PM Duchessa she breastfed her twins till 9months.

I only made it to 3 months.

V8
30-01-2008, 21:56
I know someone (my mum did) She had my older bro who was 21 months old when she had me and my sister. She breastfed us for 9 months which i think is pretty good for twins. My bro was a really great kid though would help and just read a book with mum while she fed us. She would feed us both at the same time and switch breasts. But yeah i'd contact the ABA or local multiple birth association in your area, they may be very useful to you. And congrats on the twins. :) How exciting!

QTB
30-01-2008, 21:56
It can defiantly be done, my mum breastfed twins for 21 months!

mummylovesyou
30-01-2008, 22:03
:iagree: with QTB - it can be done

I breastfed my twins till they were 12 months, I cant offer any advice on occupying your toddler as my twins were my first. As suggested also, maybe contact the ABA and also the Multiple birth association, they are great.

Good luck and lets you hope you have a great BF relationship with your twins:)

kimmymonster
31-01-2008, 10:07
Hi, My twins are 9 months old and I am still breastfeeding them. For me I found having a breastfeeding pillow the best investment I made. I use the EZ-2- nurse twins breastfeeding pillow I found being able to feed both at the same time easiest because they get in the same routine. You can even burp one while the other is still feeding. The pillow makes you hands free so it might make it easier for you to do little things like read a story to your toddler. It took me about 3-4 weeks to get into a good routine of feeding the twins, it helps at first to have someone there is past you a baby if you do use the pillow but you will be able to do it on your own it just takes practise. It can be very draining breastfeeding twins and at times you feel like all you do is feed,that do get in a routine but it does change as they grow so remember if they start feeding more and you feel like you can't go on and all your energy is being zapped it just a growth spur you can get throught it.
For me this was the best advice I was given which is sounds to listen for
NEH- hunger (feed me)
OWH - sleepy or tired ( comfort me and help me fall asleep)
EH- upper wind ( burp me)
EAIRH - lower wind ( massage me to remove air bubbles)
HEH- uncomfortable ( check my nappy or change my position)
This is from the dunstanbaby the web site is www.dunstanbaby.com (http://www.dunstanbaby.com) this lady was on Oprah the sounds really work. Keep them handy and refer to often you will hear the differences in the cries. It makes for happy bubs and mumma.

I know that seems off topic so sorry but its great advice. Good luck with breastfeeding your girls. Try the MBA if you need more advice but do know that you can breastfed twins successfully.

Kimmy

DS 10
DD 9 Mths
DS 9 Mths

Duchessa
31-01-2008, 11:01
Here I am Gretel :D

I very successfully bfed my twins til 9 months at which point I totally burnt out and spent over a week in hospital with pneumonia and pleurisy. The reason I burnt out was that dh was away for a few months that year and it was bloody hard work coping on my own - I just couldn't get enough rest - that and the girls had multiple food allergies and couldn't boost their nutrition with solids. You do really need to look after yourself, eat heaps, drink even more and rest when your supply needs a boost.

Anyways, I fed without comping and I also put many extra litres of breastmilk away in the freezer. Your supply will meet the demand if you take really good care of it.

I would warn you, though, that it isn't easy establishing two bfing relationships at once. It didn't come easily for me and took a bit longer to settle down than one usually does, and I suffered a lot of nipple trauma etc, but it was so so so worth pushing through. Just be prepared for a hard time.

What Kimmy said about the EZ2nurse pillow - it allowed me to be able to set up and simultaneously feed them on my own. I wouldn't try it without one.

Best of luck! I hope it works out for you.

oenmum
31-01-2008, 20:56
Thanks everyone for your advice and support. It is actually just nice to hear that it can be done!! I have invested in a twin breastfeeding pillow and think I will give the ABA a call. Also have asked for a lactation consultant to visit me while in hospital. Not much more I can do I guess, just fingers crossed and see how we go!
Cheers again,
Vicki

Lastcenturymum
31-01-2008, 21:10
You can do it! My neighbour feed two sets of twins for about 9 months each. (second set were her 5th and 5th children) And I know one girl who fed triplets for 12 months!! ABA will give you heaps of tips and even put you in touch with others to support you and offer advice

ziggie
01-02-2008, 06:42
Just thought I'd pop in and say that I have a friend who bf her twin girls until they were over 2. I'm not sure exactly how old they were, but I know she only stopped when she had her third bubba.
All the best!

chrissy m
01-02-2008, 13:40
hi iam have twin boys soon and i want to bf them but i seem to run low or out of milk in 3m so what can i take or do to keep the milk up

i bf my dd for 4m and my ds for 3 m hopeing to bf longer

ikis84
01-02-2008, 13:58
Chrissy, what makes you think that you run low on milk at around 3 months? It is actually really normal for supply to seem to 'drop' at around that time as the supply settles to make only what your baby needs, and the breasts adjust accordingly. Many women lose that 'full' feeling and the feeling of letdown at around that period. It can also coincide with fussy periods with the baby too. Mostly, it's just a matter of keeping on feeding on demand, not comping and trusting your body :) I'd suggest becoming a member of the Australian breastfeeding association and learning all you can to arm yourself with the correct knowledge :)

chrissy m
01-02-2008, 14:32
ikis84 -my 2 kids suck and suck and still were crying but when i gove them a bottle thay were happy and looked like thay were getting more i used a pump and only got out a bit and so i did both bottle and brest for 1m i tryed to eat more and drink more and feed more to make more milk but just did not work so in the end i just bottled :confused:

but this time around their is 2 babys so i do want to feed them brest for as long as i can but do not know ??????????

ikis84
01-02-2008, 14:46
Pumping is not an indication of supply - many women cannot pump, it is a learned art :) Seriously consider getting in touch with the ABA... they are a wealth of support and information, and I am sure you will need alot of that breastfeeding twins :hugs:

http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/

http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bfinfo/twins.html

lo11y
18-07-2011, 21:04
[QUOTE=kimmymonster;2315617]I use the EZ-2- nurse twins breastfeeding pillow I found being able to feed both at the same time easiest because they get in the same routine. You can even burp one while the other is still feeding. The pillow makes you hands free so it might make it easier for you to do little things like read a story to your toddler.

Hi, I know this is a while after your original post but does anyone know where you can buy the EZ-2-nurse twins breast feeding foam pillow. I am having trouble locating an outlet in Australia. Any help would be appreciated!

bgbgbb
21-07-2011, 08:27
I breastfed my twin boys for 12 months & only gave up recently because I was undergoing major surgery.

My advice is drink 3 litres of water a day. Do not feel guilty sticking a toddler in front of tv whilst you're trying to feed. Have all your phones next to you as you literally are stuck once they start feeding. Invest in a breastfeeding shawl so you can feed in public (or with visitors in your home) discretely. And if you can get your dr to comply, get him to write a script for antibiotics for mastitis (not saying you'll get it) as if you do get it it'll invariably be on a weekend!

If anyone's in Melbourne & interested in a twin breastfeeding pillow in great condition, pm me.

Hollywood
21-07-2011, 08:39
I breastfed my twin boys for 12 months & only gave up recently because I was undergoing major surgery.

My advice is drink 3 litres of water a day. Do not feel guilty sticking a toddler in front of tv whilst you're trying to feed. Have all your phones next to you as you literally are stuck once they start feeding. Invest in a breastfeeding shawl so you can feed in public (or with visitors in your home) discretely. And if you can get your dr to comply, get him to write a script for antibiotics for mastitis (not saying you'll get it) as if you do get it it'll invariably be on a weekend!

If anyone's in Melbourne & interested in a twin breastfeeding pillow in great condition, pm me.

If anyone's in Melbourne

this thread is over 3 years old.....so I'm guessing that the OP has probably dealt with the issue by now :D

zombiekitty
21-07-2011, 09:20
this thread is over 3 years old.....so I'm guessing that the OP has probably dealt with the issue by now :D

It's good that's it's bumped though. It may just help someone else :)