View Full Version : Due 12th Nov

Miaow
07-05-2005, 05:14 PM

Im new here - Im due on the 12th Nov and this is my 1st time:)

Had my 1st Obs appointment and 12week scan on Wednesday - amazing actually seeing the baby moving around in there and hearing the heartbeat (165) - the videos getting played heaps by my boyfriend :p lol

Hopefully all will go well considering my age etc (I've just turned 40). Due to my age etc they got me to have the triple test blood tests - I havent heard anything back on that since the ultrasound so Im taking that as a good sign.... The guy doing the ultrasound did say all was normal for age at the time (12.5 weeks) so thats good:)

veve
07-05-2005, 07:19 PM
Hi Cathyn!!!!
Congratulations!!!!!!

I just had my 12 week scan too (Due nov 14th) - it was VERY exciting - haven't got a video though, so lucky that hubby was there to see it!!!!! baby was moving heaps (HB of 170) - he/she didn't like being scanned.... wiggled quite a lot!

Finally - we have decided to tell everyone :) I was SOOOO busy today :) friends and family are all thrilled - and I quite frankly am relieved... I HATE keeping secrets!!! (at the same time, it was kinda cool having such a happy family thought to yourselves!)

everyone in the november thread has been fairly quiet of late- hope all is going well guys!!!

lots of huggles
Jen

Miaow
08-05-2005, 10:15 AM
Thanks Veve :)

Most of my family knew when I found out for sure in March though most at work didnt know till a couple of weeks ago - everyone is happy which is good:)

I dont think this baby liked being scanned also was wiggling round heaps also LOL

emmalouise
10-05-2005, 12:55 PM
Wow, it has been quiet! I just popped in to catch up - and there was almost nothing to catch up on! How's everyone feeling? It sounds as though most people have had the 12-week (ish) scans, and have been reassured by them - me, I still have 2 days to wait, since I couldn't get in until 14 weeks! DH is away for work for a few days, but had been told he HAS to be back for the scan on Thursday!

I'm not feeling very pregnant right now - past the nausea (though not the fatigue :( ) but not showing yet. However, I do feel as though the entire weight of my body is sitting in the pit of my stomach whenever I get up - as if the sciatic irritation and fatigue weren't enough to put me off any exercise!

Got my first baby pressie last week - a little footy: 'To Bump from Nan & Pop'!! But the MIL supports a different team to DH, and I don't follow it at all, so I was tempted to give my dogs a new toy, but restrained myself.

How's everyone else holding up?

cwsmum
12-05-2005, 08:50 PM
Hi, how's everyone going?
Has anyone been having any wierd cravings lately? I was craving chocolate for the last week or two, and the past few days that has stopped and i have been craving pickled onions!!! Any thoughts???

veve
14-05-2005, 08:31 AM
Hope everyone is well......

emmalouise- good luck with your scan- I dont know if it does put your mind to rest (it did for a few days)- because now I too am feeling very not pregnant again (no sickness, no showing, just tired ALL the time!!!!) - I'm averaging 10-11 hours sleep a night!!! so I really dont have a life at the mo! I guess pregnacy is just one of those things that you get paranoid about... it would be SO nice to have your own scanning maching - to check that all is well at home :)

cwsmum- ahhh yes, cravings - well I am totally turned off chocolate- it tastes awful!!! , and I have loved canned pineapple for several weeks- now I seem to have moved onto strawberries, and especially strawberry yoghurt???? (better than some cravings that I have heard about, such as coal, soap and dirt! ) Although your jump from chocolate to pickled onions is a suprise :) you cant get much different!!!!

Jen

Miaow
15-05-2005, 11:57 AM
Ive been craving pineapple a bit also and eggs. My major craving would have to be mustad pickles - yummm :rolleyes:

I read somewhere if you crave salty things its meant to be a boy and sweet things a girl - a few at work said craved salty things when a boy - wonder accurate that is :p

cwsmum
16-05-2005, 09:46 PM
I don't remember craving anything sweet with my first pregnancy, and I had a boy.

I craved microwave popcorn and grilled chicken burgers from Hungry Jacks when I was pregnant with my son. This lasted most of the pregnancy with some other random cravings for spicy/salty foods thrown in along the way.

This time I don't seem to be craving anything much, although when I don't know what I feel like eating a chocolate milkshake seems to solve the problem :p
I'm a bit confused now, would my pickled onion craving mean a boy or a girl? I still feel like eating them most days, along with anything chocolate, but definately not together, thats just gross.

Any thoughts/ideas? Thanks :)

kirby
02-06-2005, 02:34 PM
Hi everyone :D This is my first time at this forum or website. I am excited because I have found a place where I can Talk to other pregnant people.

I am now 14 1/2 weeks pregnant and I am looking forward to my first scan at 18 weeks. I didn't go to a 12 week one! Though I wish I did because sometimes it feels like there is nothing there even though i am sick to me stomach.

Today I am having issues between the midwives and the ultrasound people. The midwives want me to have my scan early 18 weeks so I can see them late week 18 but the ultra sound people are saying they don't scan people until 19 weeks. Has anyone know when the best time for that ultrasound is???

maybe1more
03-06-2005, 02:39 PM
Hi everyone :D This is my first time at this forum or website. I am excited because I have found a place where I can Talk to other pregnant people.

I am now 14 1/2 weeks pregnant and I am looking forward to my first scan at 18 weeks. I didn't go to a 12 week one! Though I wish I did because sometimes it feels like there is nothing there even though i am sick to me stomach.

Today I am having issues between the midwives and the ultrasound people. The midwives want me to have my scan early 18 weeks so I can see them late week 18 but the ultra sound people are saying they don't scan people until 19 weeks. Has anyone know when the best time for that ultrasound is???
Hi kirby congrats on your pregnancy i hope all is going well so far. Im not too sure but i you didnt go for your 12 week scan ask if you can have in at 18 weeks , your going to be so excited when you see your baby for the first time on the screen. Good luck with it all and let me know when you have it and how you go! All the best Mum of Connor 14/07/03 :)

TwoBlue
07-06-2005, 12:30 PM
Hi Kirby

I am due the 30th November too !! This is my second bub, my son is 14 months old. Being pregnant second time around is hard work !!
I had a 12 week scan which was great, usually the next scan is anywhere between 18 - 20 weeks so i would decide when you want it and just say. If you want to find out the sex though wait longer as they are more likely to get it right if the baby is a bit further along.

I hope all are going well and feeling well
Any advise from 2nd timers (or more) as to how to handle your toddler and pregnancy would be greatly appreciated :)

Tracey

Miaow
14-06-2005, 07:27 PM
Had my 18wk appoint today and from a quick scan the Ob did it looks like its going to be a boy - Ob thinks most likely is said it looked like it had "boys bits" LOL - will know for sure I hope when have my next ultrasound in 2 weeks (3d)

Finally got the results of the blood tests etc and the Obs doesnt think its necessary having amnio as the risk is pretty minimal for downs which is good also as I didnt like the idea of that at all...