View Full Version : February Chat for 2007 May Mummies
30-01-2008, 12:12
New Thread Ladies
:cool:
mummajuice
30-01-2008, 12:17
as soon as i posted i knew i should've waited for a newie :laughing:
nobody go any further until you go back to the Jan thread and read my post *stamps foot*:raspberry:
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 12:24
:yelclap:yay... we made it JUST in time to make 1000 posts and 101 pages... we are so clever:p or bored.:laughing:
ok so i dont have much to post again... im tired and feeling like poo today... had a late one last night reading zooey's story:thumbsup:
mammajuice its good to hear from you again.. name change and all... hope lil ebs is making you smile.
im off to the fabric shop now to buy some material for my valentines day cloth nappy swap... i HAD finished but now i've changed my mind lol.
talk soon.
sandy_1902
30-01-2008, 12:26
i vow to keep up this month lol.
i just cant do it you all chat way to much lol.
does anybodies bub still don't have teeth?
DS is like showing signs but they just go away and hes back to normal.
Mammajuice
i think that because Ebs was sooo huge it kinda never felt like she was a newborn
i have the same feelings.. he was never a tiny baby.
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 13:18
Hi again! Cannot believe we made 100 pages! Wow!
Hi to Sandy and mummajuice! So nice to see you again. I was wondering where you went. Glad to hear things are going well with your little 'uns!
hope you're having a great day JustMum!
Zooey - can I get a snippet of your book too????
I'm knackered. Spent the morning with a g/f and her bub and went swimming. Need to sleep. Feeling so tired lately. I'm really hoping I haven't pushed my chronic fatigue back to the surface again. I'm just feeling spent all the time, even though I'm sleeping a full night....:confused:
xxx Over and out.
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 14:14
Hey Elle - what high school did you got to? Do you know anyone at Robina High?
I want Zooy's book too *pouts*
Yes everyone don't forget to read mammajuice's post from the other thread!
Sandy's back too :thumbsup:
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 14:21
Hello gorgeous! (that is you twitch!) - I was beginning to feel very lonely here talking to myself.
I am here too...I seem to always be on here when no one else is!!
Lejay - are you still breast feeding?? I have been majorly tired and I think it could be the b/feeding. I am still planning to feed 'til 12 months but yet to encounter biting etc...
Hi Sandy and Mummajuice :wave:
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 14:32
yeah - I am still b'f - 4 times a day, though soon to be dropping a feed.
I am just so tired all the time. I few years ago I had bad chronic fatigue and couldn't get out of bed for ages - was very sick. I just feel like I'm sort of heading down that same path....but maybe it is just the breast feeding. I guess that I worry a lot more than I should - just given my history. I'll put it down to the b/f and see how we go once we hit the 12 month mark. I'm thinking that I might wean then (give or take)...but I'll just see how DD goes.
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 14:40
ok u guys do realise that it is still technically january for another day and a half dont u???
so should we still be in January typing ??? :laughing:
Why oh why do the tradesmen have to be in the street digging things up and sawing during baby nap time??? Do they know it's quiet as a mouse, walk like a fairy around the house time!??? I think not! Damn ds is awake..................................:(
Lejay - I am waiting to see if it improves with weaning too but not going to give it a try b/c I would be very upset if I weaned and then felt the same!!! i can cope with this, just have to rest a little.
oh poor baby, they are digging up a concrete driveway next door, the slabs keep falling down thud thud, think I will call a friend and get out of here.............
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 15:04
auntyep: no just doing what my hubby hates the most about me...pointing out the obvious. i have a tendency to do that A LOT apparently.
:wave:Hello may mums I just recieved the nicest PM from lejay it really made my day thank you.
I do read what all the may mums are up to but hardly ever post (bad I no) I find it hard to keep up with you all.
Anyway Alex is doing really well we did have a bit of a scare when he was 6 months with his Bowel closing in on its self but he is all good now. He has 3 teeth all on the bottom just starting to crawl and annoy his bigger brother.
I am expecting another bub in Sep :fingerscrossed: a little girl. I think this is the last one time will tell.
I will try and post a bit more often. Bye for now
Thats no good EP...hopefully its for today only. A couple months ago we had them doing it for 5 weeks straight...they only time they actually decided to get off their lazy bums was when Jwas sleeping :rolleyes:
I too feel quite tired often.. I think it is from the Bf as well...My goal is to at least 12 month min though
I'm with you guyus, I'll go til 12 months if that's what Annalise wants. Longer if she she shows no signs of stopping, I'm just being guided by her atm.
Welcome back Pink, it's been a while.
Welcome back Karen...so exciting about the new bubba!!
Well I went to find something for DH...that website you gave was really good Lejay...the only thing is we are only here for a few more weeks...so not a lot of time . I found this really nice Oroton cufflink holder thinga magig so you can take a few with you on business trips and that... (Dh is such a woman when it comes to business attire) The price was $75 :eek:, but I figured he would really like it so took it up to pay and it rang up at $25 :D so I went ahead and got a few other little things.
I love a good bargain when you're not expecting one
More bubba's yay!!!!!:yelclap:
This is the last for us... auntyep you were saying before about being excited... i am but i have sienna... couldnt love her any more.. i know i will love the new bubba too.. but sienna is my baby for now.. still 8 months old... still learning playing and loving daddy cough cough... she said mum yesterday but daddy since 7 months... daddy daddy.. she said daddy work the other day.. no mummy... she even said our dogs name before mummy...:confused:
I still need names for our little boy any suggestions??
Hi I am back from lunch and movie. Juno was so good. There I was hanging around in the January thread, WONDERING WHERE EVERYONE WAS, and here you all are, :ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity: as usual .
Darcy??? Max, Declan, Caidyn, Malcolm - there you go now you have all my favourite baby boy names!!
I wanna see Juno :crying:
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 17:42
what about james? its an oldie but a classic
Oh yes, James is one of my favs....and Hugo of course. We all have such good taste in names!!!!!!!!!!!!!:p
I like short names, like Max, Jack, Sam.
If we EVER get pg again, ouor boy will be called Joel.
I am just going to be on and off for a bit but I HAVE TO ASK!!
JM - are you doing anything special tonight for your birthday?? And no, I don't mean that tmi stuff!!
Where did you go for lunch????
sandy_1902
30-01-2008, 17:59
i loved juno lol it was awesome :D
I no some people who go to Robina lejay
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 18:11
I like short names, like Max, Jack, Sam.
If we EVER get pg again, ouor boy will be called Joel.
my cousin called her little boy (not so little now school aged)
firstname: jack surname: morris
sounds like a brand of cigarettes jack morris or a bottle of al-ca-moh-hole (booze)
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 18:12
Hi All - just thought I would drop in. DH has gone to Rage Against The Machine tonight (bogan....but I'm jealous!) so I'm home alone. I'm quite excited by that actually. Once I finish the dishes, washing cleaning etc I can relax!
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 18:12
oh btw jm happybirthday hope u had a nice lunch.
boy wrangler
30-01-2008, 18:15
heya!!
james is a good name, our ds's middle name but if i had my way it would have been his first name!
about the bfing, el has 4 feeds a day approx 6, 10, 2, 6. but he's been really fussy during the middle two day feeds and not being overly interested. my mum suggested that i combine the two and drop him to three feeds a day, but i'm just not sure. he has his three solid meals, plus water from his sippy cup. i don't want to drop a feed and then not be able to get it back! it's just so hard to know what to do!
any advice or suggestions would be very welcome!
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 18:23
DD is pretty much the same at the moment. She feeds at about 6-ish, then 11am then 3.30 and then just before bed at 7pm. She has three solid meals (and MASSIVE ones) a day plus some snacks and water with every meal. She is also not so interested in day feeds, so very soon I will be dropping the 11am feed and giving her a feed around 1.30pm - 2.00pm
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 18:31
:wave: all.. ok now im worried about something... aalliyah still has six bottles a day..(180)mls so only one more really than the tin says she should be having... but she doesnt eat:no: like she will have two teaspoons of weetbix and pear for breakfast and thats it... i'll try ALL day to get something else into her but it doesnt work... she only wants milk... and i tried taking on bottle away and when she was hungry try to feed her solids but she just refused for an hour till i gave in and gave her a bottle... she shouldnt associate food with taking away her bottle... but im wondering when i should worry that she doesnt eat:confused: cause she wont eat anything.... she just gags on EVERYTHING...
exactly the same things happenning here. I spoke to a friend today who is bottlefeeding and she also said the same. I am going to try breakfast, lunch and tea soon and see how it goes.
Don't worry Babygirl - H is having up to 7 bottles plus 3 solid meals ATM - I suspect he is just having a growth spurt and the last 2 days it has really slowed down a lot - so I just go with it IYKWIM?
Thanks Eeee for the b'day wishes.
Best b'day pressie ever - H was lying on the ground looking up at me on the phone and he looked at me, slapped his hand on the ground and said "mumma". I think he meant it....
LusciousMum23
30-01-2008, 18:38
Hey lovelies, just popping in to say Hi .
Babygirl , i'm having the exact same problem with DD. Midwife told me not to worry about it as long as she is eating more by 12 months but it bothers me still cos my boys were little piggies eating 3 huge meals a day by now.
Anyway, i still have to go back and read like 100 posts from the January thread. lol.
Love ya's :hugs:
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 18:38
babygirl - Maybe speak to your MCHN about it, as I know they say that eating helps with speech development and so forth. However I wouldn't stress too much about it. Each bubba is different.
I worry that DD eats too much - though she is not chubby at all. Today she had two weet-bix for breakfast, then a snack of a crusket and vegemite mid morning. Lunch was a full pear mashed with some banana Farax, half a kiwi fruit for arvo tea, then for dinner she had one & a quartre metric cups of tuna & rice bake. Now I think she eats far too much! LOL
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 18:40
:laughing: im not worried about her mental growth and she already says mum, bub, dad (its ALLL about dad atm lol) lala (her) and she is a pretty smart kid... she just doesnt eat. like she will suck on some mango in her mesh feeder.. the other night at dinner she played IN some beans and avocado but i dont know how much actually went IN:p im not WORRIED yet but it makes me feel a bit behind:o
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 18:44
Oh babygirl - don't feel behind at all. Each baby does things in their own time. DD doesn't say Mumma yet, and all the other bubs here seem to say it...:crying: but she was crawling before 6 months? Go figure??!!
Hi LuciousMum23! Hows the man???? he he he
:iagree: I think they all do things in their own time. If you are concerned call your CHN if you have a good one.
Everyday is different here. I don't force him to eat or drink I let him take the lead. He gets what he wants!!!
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 19:01
I don't force him to eat or drink I let him take the lead. He gets what he wants!!!
I'm the same - but the problem here is....DD always wants more. She is SUCH a pig. :laughing:
Also Babygirl - i loooove you Av pic. So adorable. A is just beautiful!
boy wrangler
30-01-2008, 19:02
babygirl, every baby is different, and they all do everything at different times. they (i don't know exactly who THEY are) say that milk should be their main food for 12 months, so i suppose as long as she's still having her bottles, and you keep offering her food she'll eat eventually!
have you tried offering her different consistencies of food? a little while ago el decided he was to big to eat his veg and meat off a spoon, he would only feed himself! so i just started steaming "fingers" of vegies for him and he just picks them up and goes to town. i also give him soft fruit, toast and sandwiches like this. he now only eats cereal and yoghurt from a spoon!
lejay, i was thinking about doing that too, but was wondering if he'd still be too full from lunch to have a proper feed. he has a two course lunch (sandwich or vegies, then yoghurt and fruit) maybe i should move his yoghurt to morning tea ... arghh, it's all too hard sometimes:hair:
:yelclap:just mum, what a fab pressie from your boy!!! that's the present you'll remember for a lifetime!
elliot only says mum when he's cranky or hungry, but as soon as dad gets home from work he's all dad dad dad and smiles and waves - oh the injustice!
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 19:07
Elsmum - yeah, I'm thinking about cutting the lunch a bit smaller too and maybe giving more as an arvo snack. I'll just go with the flow I suppose. When I do drop the feed - I'll decide then I think. :confused::laughing:
And as for the Dadda things - its a strange one here actually. Because we call DH "Pappa" (afrikaans for Daddy), dadda doesn't actually mean anything to us. Mind you, she says Pappa (that was her first word!) and not ONCE has Mumma been heard. :crying:
BTW ELsmum - are you on Facebook. We also have a Group on there too. There are some gorgeous pics of some of the bubs - and their mums! PM if you are!
I asked my Doc today for the final proof after about 4 confirmed appointments :laughing: that we are having a boy so i could send all of sienna's baby clothes to Dh's cousin.. this is what he gave me :laughing:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n...scan0001-4.jpg (http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/scan0001-4.jpg)
Hey Elle - what high school did you got to? Do you know anyone at Robina High?
Hey hun, I went to Kings Christian College and Varsity College. But yes I do know HEAPS of people from Robina High and probally every other school on the coast lol.:yes:
JM- I hope you had a magical day.:hugs:
Elsmum- Welcome my boy was born the 10th hope you enjoy being apart of this birth group it is the best.:yes:
Oh and bub isn't really saying anything yet, he will say Mummm when he is whinging but that's it. He has two teeth (so cute) and he's still 90% breastfed and will snack on some chicken tenderloins, fruit pieces, toast or vegie chips. He is still not walking *phew* so I can keep my sanity (or whatever is left) for a tad longer.
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 19:15
I asked my Doc today for the final proof after about 4 confirmed appointments :laughing: that we are having a boy so i could send all of sienna's baby clothes to Dh's cousin.. this is what he gave me :laughing:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n...scan0001-4.jpg (http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/scan0001-4.jpg)
Hmm - I can't tell?!?! AM I stupid? Blind? Or both. Elle - I will PM you now.
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 19:21
Elle - I read another of your posts the other day about Kaid taking his first steps. I almost had a heart attack, but then DD has been standing up on her own the past few days and I am really REALLY scared as she is really trying hard to move without the walker. I want her to stay just the way she is!
Don't they just grow up too fast. It feels as though just yesterday I found out I was pregnant.
Hmm - I can't tell?!?! AM I stupid? Blind? Or both. Elle - I will PM you now.
See that thing poking out in the middle of the scan with some thing either side :laughing:
Elle - I read another of your posts the other day about Kaid taking his first steps. I almost had a heart attack, but then DD has been standing up on her own the past few days and I am really REALLY scared as she is really trying hard to move without the walker. I want her to stay just the way she is!
Don't they just grow up too fast. It feels as though just yesterday I found out I was pregnant.
It is crazy! I think he has realised that it is alot quicker to get down and crawl where he wants to go then attempt to walk lol. So hopefully he won't walk for a while. And yes I agree it goes WAY too fast. I cannot believe it.
3 months 11 days till my baby is ONE!!:(*faint*
I WANT IT TO SLOW DOWN!!:hissy:
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 19:30
See that thing poking out in the middle of the scan with some thing either side :laughing:
i must be blind i cant make anything out
hahah BG just reread your post about the food and my reply made NO SENSE. Well what I meant was that H is really interested in milk and we get tantrums with the food. So when I say "3 solid meals a day" the best meal is breakfast but with lunch and dinner H is really take it or leave it.
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 19:47
Bel - think i see it! LOL:laughing::laughing::laughing:
sandy_1902
30-01-2008, 19:48
ELLE dont you dare keep counting down lol.
now i no how long it is till baileys!!!
GRR women lol.
gah im never eating maccas again i feel sooo crappy.
boy wrangler
30-01-2008, 19:50
congrats bel!!! that is such exciting news, i'm getting all clucky just thinking about going to scans and dr's appointments. oh dh is not going to be happy "the dr said a year so we have to wait a year" baa humbug!
all this talk of walking is scary! el cruises around the furniture and walls (anything upright really) like crazy, and has just started to let go and stand for a bit by himself. i wouldn't mind if he waited a bit longer though!
lejay, i am on facebook (although as the bubhub obsession grows, the facebook obsession lessens) so i'll pm you now! you can never have too many friends on facebook!
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 19:53
Oooh - I'm getting cluck cluck clucky toooooo!
Elsmum - I added/requested you as a friend!
congrats bel!!! that is such exciting news, i'm getting all clucky just thinking about going to scans and dr's appointments. oh dh is not going to be happy "the dr said a year so we have to wait a year" baa humbug!
:laughing::laughing: Lol, I have recently started buying a few maternity clothes on Ebay. DH is FREAKIN' out!
Elsmum a lot of us are FB. PM me ????:D:D:D
boy wrangler
30-01-2008, 20:07
lejay and justmum, just added you both as friends on facebook! i had a quick look and both bubba's are just beautiful!
got to go and do the dishes - dh is watching a show about a plane graveyard - snooze fest!
have a good night and may the bubba's be peaceful til the morning!
mummajuice
30-01-2008, 20:09
Man you girls can talk!!! I mean seriously I was here a few hours ago and I come back to find 6 PAGES!!!!
I didn't realise so many of you were on facebook. PM me if you are and I'll give you my name so that you can add me cause I have a habit of stuffing up my friend requests.
We have on and off days with Ebs and the solids. She will go from 3 meals & snacks (3 bottles) to no meals or snacks and 6 bottles. I blame it on the giant coconut peeler teeth she has coming through at the top. Her favourite to chew on is either banana or milk arrowroot bikkies. Vegemite toast is another that's never refused.
She is in the wars at the moment, cruising along the furniture and going from the table to the recliner courtesy of an almighty lean. She has bumped her little head on so many corners/walls that she looks like it's made of bubble wrap.
Oh you bad ladies are making me clucky :(
Thanks Elsmum, I saw that your little bubba is so cute! He looks like a really happy little bloke.
And you are my 200th friend!! Yipppppeeeeee
MJ I will PM you.
Tan may send you an invite to something too when you add her.....
TheMamma
30-01-2008, 20:15
Elsmum - Elliot is SO cute! ANd you're very pretty!!!
Well - i think i might be off too. I've cleaned up, done the dishes and had a shower. Bubba is fast asleep too! Cuppa tea time and read my Home Beautiful mag. Ahhh bliss!
Have a wonderful evening ladies and I'll speak to you tomorrow! Hope your bubs sleep like angels!:hugs::hugs:
Sheer Bliss
30-01-2008, 20:26
Ummmm - WHAT'S going on here!! 7 pages on this thread, and 2 on the old one, in ONE day. LOL you guys deserve a medal! I'm gonna be selfish & do a 'ME' post, then go to bed!
Been up since 6am - woke the kids at 6:30, loaded them in the car (after nick had his boobie) then off to Sydney! Returned our old dodgy pram, then over to the zoo. DD LOVED it, running around the place. Even nick had a big smile on his face most the day & drifted of with no probs for 2 naps. I just have to brag - he was a perfect angel (if we exclude the car trips) such a happy little man all day. He got rather cranky in the car, but we took longer than expected to get there, so he was 2hrs late for his breakfast, then there was an accident on the freeway on the way home, and he was 2hrs late for his afternoon boobie by the time we stopped. If we'd have fed the poor boy on time, i think he'd have been happy as! Darn traffic stuffing us up! :mad: :banghead: I'll upload some pics on the weeked of him & DD.
Ahh - so hot now though - it was a big day, only got home at 8:30, so off for a nice iced water then bed i think!! Nite nite!! :yes:
Can everyone who i haven't got on facebook please PM me their name (or find me on someone elses FB) so I can add you, and there might be that invite that JM is talking about! :D :p
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 20:26
ok everyone that has me on facebook i've FINALLY gotten around to putting some pics up.
:wave: i'm off for the night. be back tomorrow.
cya
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 20:32
GAWD I am away just a few hours and there's all those pages:yelclap:
Lejay & Twitch if you PM me an email addy I can send you the bits of book that already exist -- it's a work in progress (thanks to BG encouraging me it's got progress again :thumbsup:) so I can email you new chapters as they are done if you enjoy the first bit. I have to email it as they are word docs, and too long to paste into a PM.
Hi Luscious, how IS the man, you didn't answer that one :p must be GOOD. lol.
Bel -- here's a few boys names that I like -- Ian, Michael, Luke, Jeff, Matthew, Liam, Ned, Samuel, Jeremy, Francis and Graeme (better than the Graham spelling I reckon which is a type of Cracker, aint it Steph)... boy there were some corkers in early generations of my US fam, things like Elbert, Rilford, some real gnarly monikers.
Steph -- what part of the US are you & your family from?? wonder if our mobs do connect over there? I got back to first settlers and Tribes on most of my ancestor lines (got all a bit obsessed with family history for a few years) so have a pretty good idea of who was where and when. and boy, there's a way to find a whole stack of cuzins.
JM -- when do you hear about the job?
Ok gonna post before more personals so I don't get too far behind again:laughing:
Zooy
Hi Zooy, I was missing you tonight cherub. I hear about the job on Monday. :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed::f ingerscrossed: The thought of being able to do some work from home so I don't have to be away from my bubby, but still have the chance to keep the mushy old mind ticking over, is so exciting. I am trying not to get too hyped up about it, but gee I do want it....
Zooy do the cards have anything to say??
Sorry - me me me me!!
Well I have done everything I need to do and now I am sitting here with a glass of milk and a block of chocolate... Mmmm!:cloud9: And now here to have a bit of a vent.
Well! Emrah (exdp, were together almost 3 years, bubs dad, has put me through hell, including dna tests for his parents for you elsmum) he promised he would come see Kaidayn after a week of being in Melbourne partying, clubbing ect.. So I say okay he says he would be come (this was last night) he doesn't show, I call him he doesn't answer so I send him a message saying 'Hey just checking if your coming or not because if your not I will put Kaidayn down for bed so just let me know doesn't bother me either way, Hope you had a good flight..' No reply. So then I thought oh well his loss and it really didn't bother me at all. then today I spoke to my lawyer and he said that Emrah hasn't signed a form stating that he knows he is Kaidayns Dad now after the paternity results so my lawyer said we will have to take him to court if he doesn't get it sent by tomorrow so I called him, I asked him about it and he said he had totally forgotten because of being in Melbourne (shi*ty excuse I know but I kept quiet) then he goes oh and sorry for not showing last night and I go yeah what's your excuse as a joke because he always makes up the most outrageous lies/excuses and he knows how I see right through them, and he goes I had to go to the dentist (lie) and the pain killers(lie) they gave made me go to sleep so I forgot (in other words he got home from the airport and because he is lazy and was probally tired from his HUGE week partying then laid down and fell asleep and forgot), now that annoyed me. Can I forget about my son when I am sleeping? NO! So why does he have Kaidayn that low on his priorities that he thinks that is OK! So I told him how I felt, didn't yell though (was very proud of myself) and he started going NUTS telling me I don't even care that he was in pain from his tooth and that if he died I wouldn't even care because I am so heartless (wtf?) :eek: Now I know he is a nutter now but what the hell!?! I was stunned had no idea what to say, was trying not to laugh. So I replied with, Well Emrah who travelled 35 mins from home the day they were due to give birth to see the person who had left them 26 weeks pregnant laying in a hospital bed just been shot? How can you say I don't care? And where was your call to see how I was when I was in hospital? Or when your son was at the hospital? How dare you say that.:mad: Then he started yelling and turning it all back on me and this horrible nutcase that I am :ecomcity: then totally verbally abusing me and I cut him off and said What makes you think that I will sit here and listen to you show ZERO respect to the person who feeds, clothes and cares for your child all on their own. Not happening buddy, you do NOT have that power over me anymore. You have hurt me so badly and I will not let you hurt our son, so don't even think about asking to see him till you can start showing that you care and speaking to me with respect! Then I hung up on him. I just got a message from him saying 'I'm sorry I got really mad Elle.'
:rolleyes:
ETA- Didn't realise it was so long, sorry ladies.
Oh Elle, I don't have words :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:
No wait, yes I do! He is a complete D!ck and you are an angel. You are such a great mum and a wonderful person. You do not deserve this cr@p. There is nothing wrong with your mental health whatsoever. Grrrrrr sorry but he is handling this VERY BADLY.
Do you think his family is giving him heaps about the results? Could this be making him so erratic?
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 20:45
Hey Tan, do they still have the polar bears at Taronga? I want to take starfish to see polar bears, they had them when I was little and my nan took me there and I've been obsessed with them ever since. one of the saddest things about global warming, there are now skinny polar bears, and they are losing their habitat.:(
ElsMum -- teeth can come and go for ages, starfish's top ones have been sitting there not coming thru but obviously close for two months now, but her bottom two are nice and sharp and get bigger (and nastier :laughing:) every day
BG thinking about Lily and food, maybe try blueberry-apple-pear puree -- cook all three up together and then add that to something like raffertys, the pink colour makes it all lots of fun. also if she will eat a little bit of avo, add that to things like a bit of mashed sweet potato, or spread it really thick on bits of cruskit broken into mouth-sized bits, and let her take as long as she likes sucking on them and generally having fun. I'll email you a pic of my fish enjoying avo, it's kinda hilarious. I found a real winner with starfish tonight (she can be fussy sometimes lately) and that was pea and ham soup... if anyone wants the recipe I'll post it, it's a zooy creation. I just use the hand blender to puree it up and then stir it into mashed potato and sweet potato chunks. she ate the hugest amount of it, really fast (for starfish) and since she went to bed at just after 8pm there has not beena peep out of her.:yelclap:oh and found the best container for using a hand blender in that does not result in food in the hair, on the face and all over everywhere, and thats a perspex wine cooler -- perfect shape to keep it all in! seeing as I'm not drinking wine for another 11.25 years, might as well get some use of it.:laughing:
His family seem really good about the results I think he isn't coping because before he could go into denial and pretend Kaidayn didn't exist because his parents were doing the same but now they want things to work he can't do that anymore and I think he truly wants to be a good father but he is way too self centred to be one. I am just so over it. I can't deny him the chance to see bub because then they might take me to court and ask for visitation and I would rather it be on my terms then a courts so I can't even have control over this situation. :hair:
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 21:01
ELLE -- u were posting while I was rambling on about nothing that important --
BIG :hugs:to you, what a horses a$$ that Emrah is. what cheek, went to dentist :ecomcity: that's the worst kinda excuse, does he think mummas like you get to just focus on themselves like that?? jeeze louise, i'd say he should be shot but that's already happened before (and WTF with that BTW???) and I'm not actually violent :o but it's the principle IYKWIM.
and not signing the papers is just lowbrow.
:hugs::hugs:
mummajuice
30-01-2008, 21:04
awww elle - I don't know what to say except that we all love you here and are all amazed at how mature and confident you are with your son. Don't let your ex's cheap shots hurt you because I imagine that deep down he knows that you are right and it hurts him, so his knee-jerk reaction is to hurt you in the way that he is hurting himself.
:hugs::hugs:enjoy the chocolate and don't feel guilty, you are better than that and you know it.
Is he good with K when he does see him?? I mean is he competent with him and safe??
Sorry I am fuming! You are being so mature about it all. I couldn't be. You are doing so well.
i'd say he should be shot but that's already happened before (and WTF with that BTW???) and I'm
After we broke up he kind of got involved with the wrong kind of people (he is a major follower and people pleaser to look 'hard' when really he is pathetic) and he went with some guys in a car who were meeting some other guys for a really big drug deal ( I am talking like 6 figure amounts.) and the guys he was with didn't actually have any of the stuff on them and so then decided to sell them cold and flu tablets and the guys who were buying them realised and one of them pulled out a shot gun and started shooting and Emrah was running so got shot in the back of the legs. No sympathy from me.:no:
Is he good with K when he does see him?? I mean is he competent with him and safe??
Sorry I am fuming! You are being so mature about it all. I couldn't be. You are doing so well.
He is good in a sense of like playing happy daddys and all that but like he is that dumb he offered one day to drive us home and when I said no we have no car seat he goes come on he doesn't need it, boy did he cop it. He had no idea that it was illegal not to mention dangerous.
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 21:10
JM -- Don't even need to look at the cards, just know that job is yours. the sun card last night said it all and I just KNOW you get it.
(like i just KNOW Twitch will be UTD soon)
:yelclap:all round
OH yeah, and I just had the first day since Saturday with no abusive messages or emails from el loca :smiliedance:might have WHUPPED that devil card's a$$ afterall. our local shoppie too has undergone a dramatic change back to being decent, so guess she heard one too many rants from el loca and thought, hang on, who's the unstable one around here. which is so good, as starfish is really fond of Aunty shopkeeper & I was about ready to blacklist the place.
oh & we had frontwards AND backwards crawling today here as well as being able to get herself up to a sit from lying down, a bit of face planting and other gravity adventures, more insult to dignity than injury but had a few good howls anyway. go comfort boobie.:thumbsup:
After we broke up he kind of got involved with the wrong kind of people (he is a major follower and people pleaser to look 'hard' when really he is pathetic) and he went with some guys in a car who were meeting some other guys for a really big drug deal ( I am talking like 6 figure amounts.) and the guys he was with didn't actually have any of the stuff on them and so then decided to sell them cold and flu tablets and the guys who were buying them realised and one of them pulled out a shot gun and started shooting and Emrah was running so got shot in the back of the legs. No sympathy from me.
:eek::eek::eek: Are you serious? Elle, :hugs::hugs::hugs: I can't believe that someone could be so stupid! You poor thing!
Oh you bad ladies are making me clucky :(
:laughing: go on have another!!!!!
I will scan the pic into paint for those who cant work it out..
mummajuice
30-01-2008, 21:17
I'd love another but I think my body would have something to say about it. I could only imagine where my boobs and belly would end up if I enrolled in the "3 under 3" club. Some people bounce back after having babies, whereas I just bounce now :laughing:
Thanks Zooy!!
Elle, I wouldn't worry about him getting access through the courts. At best it would be supervised because he sounds so irresponsible! I am sure that he has a lot of redeeming qualities because you loved him once, but honestly, he needs to step up and be a dad, an adult and a role model to his son. Lucky for K he has such a special mummy :goodvibes:
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 21:18
After we broke up he kind of got involved with the wrong kind of people (he is a major follower and people pleaser to look 'hard' when really he is pathetic) and he went with some guys in a car who were meeting some other guys for a really big drug deal ( I am talking like 6 figure amounts.) and the guys he was with didn't actually have any of the stuff on them and so then decided to sell them cold and flu tablets and the guys who were buying them realised and one of them pulled out a shot gun and started shooting and Emrah was running so got shot in the back of the legs. No sympathy from me.:no:
JUMPING JEHOVAH that is beyond DUMB, that is suicidal kinda behaviour. Elle, I reckon K is better off without that kinda fella having much unsupervised time TBH, and sooooo good you are not with him anymore. anyone who will get mucked up in folks who play with the hard stuff is worth giving the big body swerve. and I say that having floated about some pretty outrageous folks in my time (like knowing some smackies who did armed chemist holdups, that kibda thing) -- but never got that close.
I suppose he had brains enough to run, but real smarts would have been not being in the car with them in the first place. :eek:
and as for what you said about the car seat bizzo, yup, I'd be inclined to say no unsupervised time, he can play daddy with someone adult and sensible around. like you, Tash, Derek or someone you trust.
not just one card short of a deck that's for sure.:shame: more just the joker card, and the joker always wild.
Oneblessing - I hope it all works out for you..:hugs:
For the people who couldnt work out the scan
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/explanation.jpg
Evening ladies
Elle I agree with JM, you are SO mature about the whole thing, I can't be a big person and say I'd be the same :o The guy sounds like a loser, but I am sure you have heard that heaps already. I suppose you gotta be that way for Kaid, geez he's learning some good lessons from his mummy. I hope that block of chocolate is doing it's job. God I love that stuff. I went through a Club Dark chocolate phase a while ago, had to wean myself off it cos my breastmilk went like choc milk :laughing:
Zooy Ooooh I love it - me UTD soon, woo hoo! Can't wait. All that talk on the TEN THOUSAND PAGES PREVIOUSLY got me all clucky. You guys can talk. And talk. And talk. :ecomcity: Can't wait to have a little read of your writings
What was I gonna say. Um babygirl, Annalise hardly eats any solids at all. She has 5 boob feeds a day and cos she's so active, actually lost weight the last time I weighed her. I am guessing she just hasn't found any food she really wants to eat. She likes things like custard, ice cream :rolleyes: all that bad stuff, and she did used to like this chicken thing I made for her but she's gone off that now. She sucks on chops and steak, plays with peas and corn, mashes toast, but when I sit down with a bowl of something to feed her she just spits it out. She might swallow like a teaspoon of something at a time. There was another post (might have been by Elle) somewhere on the hub saying "food is for fun until they are one" so I'm just going by that atm.
What else, Sandy - MacDonalds is sh!te, don't eat it again :shame:
Who else is out there. Lejay you enjoy your night alone. Are you lonesome tonight, do you miss me tonight... Nah probably not. I love those nights by myself. I get to go on the net alllll I like.
What else what else.
JM hope your 21st is going fabulously. I could have sworn you didn't look a day over 20 :p
That's me I think. I have a tummy ache, I ate too many sausages today. I'm all snagged out.
Thanks Zooy!!
Elle, I wouldn't worry about him getting access through the courts. At best it would be supervised because he sounds so irresponsible! I am sure that he has a lot of redeeming qualities because you loved him once, but honestly, he needs to step up and be a dad, an adult and a role model to his son. Lucky for K he has such a special mummy :goodvibes:
Thankyou hunni.:hugs:
JUMPING JEHOVAH that is beyond DUMB, that is suicidal kinda behaviour. Elle, I reckon K is better off without that kinda fella having much unsupervised time TBH, and sooooo good you are not with him anymore. anyone who will get mucked up in folks who play with the hard stuff is worth giving the big body swerve. and I say that having floated about some pretty outrageous folks in my time (like knowing some smackies who did armed chemist holdups, that kibda thing) -- but never got that close.
I suppose he had brains enough to run, but real smarts would have been not being in the car with them in the first place. :eek:
and as for what you said about the car seat bizzo, yup, I'd be inclined to say no unsupervised time, he can play daddy with someone adult and sensible around. like you, Tash, Derek or someone you trust.
not just one card short of a deck that's for sure.:shame: more just the joker card, and the joker always wild.
Yeah I am pretty sure he doesn't associate with them since then because they pretty much left him there for dead. Haven't heard of him being involved in anything since but I wouldn't rule it out.
I definately don't think he should have unsupervised time with him, even supervised with a stranger at one of those visitation centres I don't think he should have. Kaidayn would feel so alone because Emrah is a stranger to him. I don't want my baby in a room with strangers.:(
This is why I am putting up with him, it is the only way I can make sure he will be with his mummy at all times. And sure the courts could not give him visitation rights but I just can't risk it.:no:
It may be selfish to want him all to myself. But I just love him to much.
Little doodle?? Good lord Bel, it looks like another arm!
Bel, I thought that was a nose! I am hopeless with that stuff!! :laughing::laughing::laughing:
Little boys love their mummies.
It may be selfish to want him all to myself. But I just love him to much.
Oh Elle, you are such a great mummy.
Elle, I want H all to myself all the time. I had to be dragged out of the house today to leave H with the MIL who I love and trust. You have something more real than mummy paranoia (i.e what ails me!) to be concerned about. You're amazing. I can only repeat that. xx
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 21:34
Elle -- sounds like you have it truly sussed hun, not wanting Kaid to be with strangers is putting his welfare first and that's one of the things makes you such a great mum. BTW I don't plan on leaving starfish with strangers until she is old enough to WANT me to.
Twitch -- PM me your email so I can email you some 'renee does hollywood'
:hugs: all round
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 21:36
ok ladies im here..... miss me????:p
i've been reading all day but bubba has been GO GO GO i've hardly had a chance to sit down and reply...
so here is what i remember:
everyone: thanks for the support RE food... i know she will catch up evetually but it makes me so sad she rejects everything.
elle: poor bugger... im here if u need me.. im not going to comment because u already know my opinion... and it doesnt matter... but im always here:hugs: the things we have to do to keep things 'civil':rolleyes:
twitch: hello darling. things have been so boring here... just been relaxing today.. sat down to make myself a skirt and i broke the bloody needle on the machine:geek: so looks like that idea is out the window till i can get to spotlight tomorrow.
sorry to hear u have a tummy ache... that'll learn ya:laughing: too much sausage lol.
zooey: are u done yet lol... im loving this reading bizzo... gives me something to look forward too! keeps my mind alive and working. always good.
glad to hear you havent been harassed of late... hope it stays this way!!!
mummajuice: i head you about the bouncing lol... i've been so slack lately but im just waiting for uni... once im walking around all day again and eating only when i HAVE to instead of being bored im sure it will fall off me... thats the plan anyways lol... and im not listening to ANYONE who says it wont *pokes out tongue*
uni really will be the start to ALOT of things.... hopefully alot of BOY things:p
luscious: good to see u around again... i wanna know how ur hot man it too!!
justmum, aunty ep... how are u lovely ladies tonight???
bel that foto is too funny!.... what a sense of humour ur doctor has.
ok ladies my brain is fried now... ill keep reading all your bloody posts though lol... for once its not me gasbagging. hahahaha
ETA: look at my new avatar... my cheeky little thing. i love that kid!
Hey beeeeeg. Love the new av, she is so cheeky looking. Glad to hear she's been keeping you on your toes.
btw you can NEVER have too much sausage.
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 21:45
:laughing::laughing::laughing: twitch... thats why i love ya.... but PLEASE dont remind me... its been TWO MONTHS since i've had any male attention (sorry for the over sharing:p) and im just about ready to pack my bags and head to the nunnery..... i think they'll welcome me with open arms *cough* choke* cough*:laughing:
Hahaha BG it's been almost that long for me and I AM MARRIED (sorry TMI!!)
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 21:52
:laughing: we're all friends here:p
see if i had a husband i wouldnt have time for anything else:laughing:
but sadly i am single (and genrally loving it) but yeah... my eyes have suddenly been noticing EVERY male and i know that when that happens something is about to snap:laughing::o:p
:laughing::laughing::laughing: if you had a husband BG, sometimes you'd want anything BUT!
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 22:03
:laughing::laughing:
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 22:04
:laughing: well i'll never know. i dont actually plan on getting married.
See, I've always said you were smart. :laughing::laughing:
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 22:10
:laughing: i dont know WHY i never plan on getting married... but i just have never had the urge... im not AGAINST the idea... but they'd have to be perfect for me.... and if i ever get engaged i will wait a minimum of five years before actually walking down the isle...
good idea chickie. No harm in waiting.
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 22:12
i always said i wouldnt get married or have kids...look how that turned out.
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 22:17
alright ladies im off to colour and cut my hair while baby is sleeping... ill show u a photo when im done.
Oh Elle lots of :hugs: for you!!
Twitch you crack me up...and by the way Bel I thought that pointing thing was the doodle...as we could see J as clear as day as well.
Zooy I would love to read your novel as well. And yes Graham is a cracker...which is so yummy, and I miss (not that I really ever ate it anyway :laughing:). I am from Arizona...my moms family is mainly from Arizona and Arkansas, but I sadly do not know a lot about our ancestry:o I really should start looking into it more. AZ is a lot like NM... quite beautiful, but my fav place would have to be Bryce Canyon in Utah...I reckon it would have to be one of the most beautiful and peaceful places! And what you said about the tribes still going to do ceremonial business does not surprise at all, I would be shocked if they didn't.
Well ladies I am off to bed.
See you all in the morning.
eeyorethedonkey21
30-01-2008, 22:22
twitch and justmum: thanks for leaving comments for james. i'm still learning how to do facebook. its taken me all this time to work out how to put photos up
everyone else: i've read all your posts but cant seem to remember half of it so sorry on the lack of personals. i'm half asleep atm so i'll re-read it all tomorrow and write personals then.
night time for :sleeping:
:laughing: well i'll never know. i dont actually plan on getting married.
Dont let them scare you off it.. My 4th anniversary is coming up and i couldnt think of anyone sharing it with better.. i have the best husband..
I have facebook.. but i dont know how to add anyone that i dont have the email for.....
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 22:42
:laughing: i dont know WHY i never plan on getting married... but i just have never had the urge... im not AGAINST the idea... but they'd have to be perfect for me.... and if i ever get engaged i will wait a minimum of five years before actually walking down the isle...
:laughing::laughing: DH had to ask me three times, I said yes the first two but then never followed through with the expected "when? where? what should i wear" type qns until he asked the third time. by then HE asked those qns and I answered 'whenever, wherever, whatever' more or less. all up it was almost 3 years from when i shacked up with him to becoming an 'honest woman' -- and the 'honest' bit goes out the window pretty darn soon in the interests of peacekeeping i tells ya (yes honey, it's fine if you wanna just sloth about', "yes honey, that looks great', 'no honey, I don't mind...':ecomcity:)
:hugs: damn straight BG you are smart.
ZooKeeper
30-01-2008, 22:53
Steph -- Ark is where Fort Smith was relocated to (all of 150 metres!) once all the Tribes went to Indian territory in the 1800s except the folks who chose (often for very very good reasons) to claim to not be Indian. that was the legal thing in Stonewall Jackson's policy that forced them onto the Trail Where We Cried, if you claimed your culture, you had to go to IT (now Indiana, Kansas, Idaho, Ohio, Nebraska etc), or you could choose to deny it and 'become' white. OR you could hide out OR go to California. My g-g-g-grandfather Francis Bourland left from Fort Smith for California, still trying to find out who his father was, so collected a fair bit of info if you want to I can maybe help with that ancestor stuff by email when you've got energy for it. it intrigues me so much, they talk to me sometimes.
and I'd love to see Utah, strong country that is.
off to bed for moi, got writing to do tomorrow! which I am SO excited about, like a new era is starting for me after all the BS of the last couple of months with community work and those dramas that it caused.
:smiliedance::cloud9:
I love youse May Mummas, you helped me find my voice again
zooy
Dont let them scare you off it.. My 4th anniversary is coming up and i couldnt think of anyone sharing it with better.. i have the best husband..
Me too, I luff my DH to bits. I just bemoan the loss of passion sometimes *sigh* as much my fault as his!
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 23:00
:hugs: yay zooey!!! im so glad you've found your inspiration again!!! i LOVE that feeling... i've been in a constant haze of that feeling ever since i picked out my uni subjects last year:D its intense and amazing!
good night lovely... im waiting for the dye to set... night ladies.
:barf:
jacks mum
30-01-2008, 23:18
HOLY CR@PPERS YOU LADIES CAN CHAT!:ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity:
I've got the 11 pages of this thread to catch up on and today's posts on the old thread to go.
Been busy the last couple of days, like Lejay I have a very exciting life. Yesterday we went clothesline shopping:smiliedance:. I got one for under the pergola and ordered 2 of those fold down jobbies to put on the fence. Today we went and bought some trestles so DH can paint the house and put up new gutters for the new tank that's coming. Woo hoo so f#$king exciting.
Got a really sad phone call this evening that is playing with me:thumbsdown:. On of my clients died yesterday afternoon, I got on really well with him and his wife and such a shock. he was 52 and retiring at the end of Feb to build the 'dream house' on a block of land they'd just bought down the coast. so sudden, so sad. You just never know when your time's up do you. I suppose it's playing on me because he has 3 kids in their 20's and I lost my dad 8 years ago so it stirs up those feelings.:(
Will read up and do personals when I get some time.
Max off to his 1st day of 'school' tomorrow. I've got both boys in childcare on Thursdays so I have a day to work solid without distraction, can you imagine doing someones books with Max crawling and standing up to your leg then going for the odd bite out of your thigh, as he does.
later ladies
Sheer Bliss
31-01-2008, 06:01
Zooey - :yelclap:to starfish for crawling - that's great!! And it sounds like you are writing again - That is even better news. Good for you.
Elle - :hugs: I am sorry Emrah is being such a pig. Sounds like he needs to realise what he has with Kaid & start acting like a real dad. What Zooey & JM said is true too - unsupervised visits are probably a bad idea, i'd always make sure someone was with him, and mention the car seat incident if anyone suggests otherwise!
mummajuice - I'm the same as you by the sounds of it - my body does NOT bounce back after being preggas!! (love the new username BTW!!)
Sounds like a few bubbas are not big on food hey? Thye will get there - there is no big rush. DD would be really good, then fussy, then good. It was a big rollercoaster! nick is just a pig!!
And the BAD news this morning - AF has arrived. :hissy:NOOOOOO. I guess he is 9.5months, and only having 3 feeds a day now, so it's to be expected. But lets just say that I am NOT happy about it! At least it explains why I got so upset when DH yelled after we got lost yesterday :laughing:
Opps there he is awake - better go - will catch up on yesterdays later! :wave:
boy wrangler
31-01-2008, 06:39
OMG! Ok, so I'm new to this chatting thing, but 6 pages in 10 hrs? It took all my "hide from el so he doesn't see me before his first feed" time just to catch up! I think I'm up to speed, sorry if I forget anyone!
:hugs::hugs: OneBlessing - it sounds like you are an incredibly strong and brave woman, not to mention amazing mother! I don't have many words of wisdom apart from I would def go with supervised visits (who needs a carseat? :confused:) and to keep being the calm, dignified person you are being!:hugs:
bel, i just showed dh the scan, he was so excited to see what it looked like as we had a surprise with el. the funniest thing though, i pointed and said it must be from the bottom looking up through his legs and dh said " it must have been one of those (i wish i could put actions in here) ha ha he raised his eyebrows, and made a up up gesture! fyi he meant an internal scan! Boys are so eloquent!:laughing::laughing:
babygirl, i hope you like your new do!!! kudos to you for doing it all late at night, but then if I'm still up at half nine it's been a late one!!!
charlismum, af does suck!!! hope it's not too bad for you, 9.5 months is pretty good!
mummajuice, hearing you about the cruising! so many bumps and bruises and scrapes but I'm sure they'll survive! I'll pm you soon for facebook!
Going to go and get a wheatbix ready for els breaky - it'll be his first go at it so we'll see. He's such a pig with everything else I'll be surprised if he doesn't like it!!!
elsmum- haha how funny yes its from a seated position.... my Ob said im special..... when i asked for it for his baby book..
He also told me the reason im soo sore these days is because of having a second bub but then he picked up my baby bag and said becuase my baby bag is too heavy... hmm i only packed to go to the doctor...
mummajuice
31-01-2008, 07:35
He also told me the reason im soo sore these days is because of having a second bub but then he picked up my baby bag and said becuase my baby bag is too heavy... hmm i only packed to go to the doctor...
:laughing:I bet you pack like me. DH was going through our nappy bag the other day and was moaning about how I have too much stuff in there. He pulled out 4 sposies, 2 MCN, DD1 & DD2's red books, 5 dummies (only for DD2), clothes for both girls (DD1 is TT), my glasses, wipes, bags, formula, powder, cream, teething gel & tablets, spew rags, bibs, food, spoons, hairties, comb, sunnies for both girls, sunscreen, sorbolene, tissues and a pen. I shot him a steely gare and told him that they were all "essential items" and that we can't all leave the house with a nappy and some wipes in our back pocket (his latest nappy bag rebellion) :laughing:
boy wrangler
31-01-2008, 07:55
it's not overpacking, it's being prepared! i have most of those things in the nappy bag, and i've only got the one kidlet! i can't imagine how much stuff i'm going to need for more!
TheMamma
31-01-2008, 08:00
"stone the flammin' crows" us girls can gas-bag!
I cannot do personals to anyone as there is far too much to remember!:laughing: But I am reading it all and when DD goes to sleep I will come back and make amn attempt!
DD slept like an angel last night. Went down just after 7.15pm without making a sound - and woke at 6.15am this morning! :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
And - to make the day better - it is RAINING! Yay!!!!
Happy day today.
mummajuice
31-01-2008, 08:35
just wondering, how do you cope with 2 under 2 when they're mobile?? I am just about tearing out my hair at the moment. The house is trashed 5 mins after I clean it, and the girls are fighting with eachother. The second I put the potty out for Anni, Ebs is crawling towards it at breakneck speed. Also the second I turn my back Annika is either trying to ride Ebs or she is tackling her to the ground. It has rained just about every day since Christmas so the ground is sopping wet leaving us stuck in the house.
I lost it at the dinner table last night. I was telling DH how much work it is and ended up saying that I have to go back to work otherwise I'm scared that I'll end up losing it at the girls. I'm so snappy with them and I've had to control myself from flying off the handle and yelling at them. Then I think, man what a b*tch, taking out my issues on my gorgeous little innocent babies.
My house is a mess, I am a mess and my girls are not getting treated the way they deserve. Poor DH comes home from a shift needing to sleep, but ends up picking up what I can't handle.
Then to make me feel more of a failure, FIL's wife's friends (who I normally get along great with) make a point of telling me just how much DH does for me and that I take advantage of it and their husbands weren't there to help - like it's my fault I have a great DH.
I just don't know how much longer I can hold it together. We can't go out for walks because the dogs are escaping and we can't afford to get our gate built for a few months yet.
TheMamma
31-01-2008, 08:44
okeeee - I hope I have not missed anyone....but went back to page 7!
CharlisMum - isn’t it wonderful when the kids are little angels? And to be so happy when stuck in the car all day! What a treasure you have! As for the AF – how horrible. I got mine on Sunday ( I think it was then?) and still have it and it is so yuck!) I totally sympathise with you.
Eeyore – those pics on FB are so cute! You have such a handsome little fella – and what a smile!!
Zooey – Isn’t it just the best feeling to find inspiration and drive to do something you love? I’m very excited to read what you have written, but I know it will be great as the way you write on here is just amazing! Can I have a signed copy – so when you are famous I can say I knew you ‘back in the day’!
Also, we’ve been having a few falls, bumps and bruises here too. DD goes waaaay too fast on the walker and runs into every possible thing in our house! As you said – more bruised ego than anything else – but still….Mummy doesn’t like it!
Justmum – I really hope you get the job! My fingers and toes and legs and anything else I can, are crossed for you.
Elle – where to start. Firstly, I have to agree with what all the other ladies here say. You are such an amazing mother, and so ahead of your years. You have so much to be proud of and the way in which you have handled the whole situation with Emrah is astounding. You’re a bigger person than I could be. He doesn’t sound like the brightest man - it’s all well and good to say he got caught up in the wrong crowd – but each persons has a choice as to what path they take in life and we have to take responsibility for this. My ex (from many years ago) was running in those circles and it ended very badly for him….and me…so all I am saying is be very careful! (I have no doubt you will be though!) We all love you and just want the best for you and your little man!
Secondly – your AV picture is VERY cute!
Bel – ha ha ha ha! So funny that you posted the scan with the arrow! Now it is very clear. And very big! OMG! LOL. Your DH must be proud! LOL
Twitch – you gave me a good idea re: chops and steak. So – she just sucks on it does she? Doesn’t try to chew it? I think I will try that soon! I think soon I will be joining the TTC club. April!
Babygirl – how is the hair? I’m so thrilled for you to be starting uni again. I’ve been toying with the idea for many years – to study textile design – but never got the balls/ motivation/time/money to actually do it. Good one you!
As for the husband thing – I LOOOOOVE being married. I never thought I would get married. I wasn’t against it, but I just didn’t know about the whole ‘meeting the one person you want to spend your life with’ etc etc. Well, I met me DH and knew THAT day that I would marry him. He is the second best thing that has ever happened in my life (after DD) and I just love him to death. I love being married, taking his name, being a good wife, having his child….all the good stuff! We are coming up to our 3rd anniversary and I love him more every day! And having a hubby is good so he can do all the cr@ppy jobs around the house! LOL
Steph – the cufflinks sound nice. And what a bargain! I love it when that happens! Gee – you must be getting excited. Not long until you go! You are still going to be here with us, aren’t you?
Jacks Mum – ha ha ha. Clothesline shopping. You and I – I tell ya….we know how to live it up with the best of ‘em! I’m really sorry to hear about your client. That is so sad. It does give you a bit of a reality check doesn’t it when someone that young passes. And I guess in your case (and I wouldn’t understand this) it is tough with it stiring up the feelings of your Dad. :hugs:
Mummajuice – firstly….:hugs:. I imagine it is hard to look after two young children. My sister is finding the same problems at the moment and it really struggling. That ‘friend’ really needs to mind her own business. If you have a DH who is amazing and willing to help out – let him! Don’t feel guilty about it either. Why don’t you put the kids in occasional care every now and then just to give yourself a break and keep your sanity?
As for the nappy bag - mine is bad – but not that bad yet!! I suppose having a toddler adds so much to the mix.
MJ :hugs::hugs: you are not a b!tch or a bad mother. It is hard, very hard.
Not sure I can help, as I only have one, but some comments/questions .....
Firstly - how old are FIL's wife's friends? Different generation? We share the burden these days which may be different from what they are used to. I would try not to be bothered by them.
Secondly - wet ground = gumboots. Can you get some and get the girls out of the house?
Thirdly, can you put the potty in a room where Ebs can't get to it? Maybe gate it off somehow?
Fourthly, will the girls watch TV or DVDs? I know, not my preferred option either, but when I am about to lose it I put the news on and H will happily sit and talk to the news reader (simple fellow believes they are talking to him, lol, so cute!!)
Lastly, would you consider putting the girls, or one of them, into care for half a day so you can have a break? I know again it isn't the preferred option, but if it helps your mental health it will be good for them too. It is expensive I appreciate but again what price your health hon?
ZooKeeper
31-01-2008, 08:56
Hi Y'all,
I've got scaffolding on the eye matchsticks this morning (starfish was SO up and wona nd up, and up, and down, and up, and down, and... You get the pic) so real quick post b4 I go and have a nap and come back later.
Jack's Mum -- :hugs:hard to lose a friend like that, worst is when they don't get to do the thing they were so looking forward to, went thru that with me mum when she passed. haunting it is. so thinking of you
Mammajuice -- :hugs:I have NO IDEA how anyone copes with 2 under 2, I barely cope with 1 under 1 and the house is only tidy above knee level in most rooms, and there's a few I have just shut the door on and that's it, they will stay like they are until she starts school or something...(that's my studio and DH's work room BTW so nothing vital). how other women can carp on, I get sick to the gills with the smugness of it all with some people, the "I washed nappies carrying buckets in my teeth from a well over a moutain range with twins tied to my back and still had the house so clean we ate three course solids off the floor" crowd just SH!T me. don't they have a life to worry about? and so know how the rain can drive kids and mummas bonkers, we've had it come back and it just makes it so hard to keep sane. MIL is SE Q too and even she's over it and they are in their sunset years, no kids to entertain (though FIL is a big kid at almost 80 and she likes him to be outside playing as often as possible :laughing:) Don't get down on yourself for feeling cranky, I get the slow-simmered rage pressure cooker effect some days and yell at the cat instead of starfish (the cat whinges far more than DD). I say "OFGS" a LOT some days. (does that count towards DD's religious ed I wonder???lol) :hugs:again
BEL & Elsmum, my bubba bag is a small backpack and has far more in it than we need but as we know, it's the day you skip out of the house with just a spare sposie and one change of clothes that you'll get held up and there will be a poonami, several spitups, an accident involving something like avo, too much sun, too much glare, and a bub who really really wants storytime. MIL got me a handbag which is almost big enough for most days out (it's the size of a small army kit bag lol) but if I'm planning on going any further than the village shop, that's it, the backpack gotta come too. Being prepared is what makes sure we never need half the stuff IMO:laughing: MURPHY (of the law) definitely had kids.
love youse all
Zooy
PS BG bet the new hair looks great ya big spunk
:laughing:I bet you pack like me. DH was going through our nappy bag the other day and was moaning about how I have too much stuff in there. He pulled out 4 sposies, 2 MCN, DD1 & DD2's red books, 5 dummies (only for DD2), clothes for both girls (DD1 is TT), my glasses, wipes, bags, formula, powder, cream, teething gel & tablets, spew rags, bibs, food, spoons, hairties, comb, sunnies for both girls, sunscreen, sorbolene, tissues and a pen. I shot him a steely gare and told him that they were all "essential items" and that we can't all leave the house with a nappy and some wipes in our back pocket (his latest nappy bag rebellion) :laughing:
:eek: I gave up on my baby bag lol.
Now we just take the little change mat thing that rolls up that has wipes and everything in it and the HAB and I put it in the bottom of the pram when we go out lol.
Morning ladies!
Just put Annalise down for a nap and I have to get ready for mothers group, so a quickie to catch up.
Oh but before I do, guess what (again) - Annalise slept from 6pm til 5am, quick feed, back to sleep til 7am. I heard her wake up at 1am, she was chatting to herself and I had to resist the urge to go in there cos she just sounded so cute (plus I am so used to getting up to her 4+ times a night) but she put herself back to sleep. The sleep lady has given me some very gentle ideas and I've been using those and she's still going down easy but now she's sleeping a lot longer. We got rid of the dummy at night too, without tears. I've replaced it with a bottle of EBM though :o Ah well, she's happy.
Babygirl you must post some pics of your hair :yes: I love the not getting married idea too. I was the same, I didn't want to be married. It took us 8 years and an 18 month breakup to finally get our sh!t together. Sometimes I wish we never got married. I know that sounds mean but I do. We were such good friends before we got married, now it's not the same. Plus with him being a moody b@stard alot of the time I wonder what I got myself into. I'll never leave him but yeah, I just wish we kept it how it was. Ah well, ya live and learn.
MJuice You poor thing. I really don't know how you do it. It does sound like you are being way too hard on yourself if you don't mind me saying. The only standards you need to reach are your kids, no one elses opinion matters. I know I say that, but there have been times where I've thought "Oh maybe they're right" but at the end of the day, my way/ideas/whatever is the best for my little girl and I am sure what you are doing is too. As for having a supportive hubby, good on you and good on him! Times have changed, my MIL is always saying "Oh I never had that sort of help, I had to do it all on my own". Whatever :rolleyes:.
JM Hope your day ended on a climactic note and your latin luffa luffa gave you another lovely b'day pressie :p
Lejay start ttc now. That's all I am going to say. NOW. Please. Thank you.
Zooy I know how you feel, the last 2 nights with A have been bliss, bliss I tells ya. You really respect sleep when you don't get any. I hope her morning sleep is nice and long for you so you get some nap time. What is she up for in the night? The boob? Playing?
Elsmum your DH sounds just as diplomatic as mine. He tells all his mates about how he almost passed out when the OB did my episiotomy. The mates are like "WTF is that?" so he goes into graphic detail of scissors the length of his arm, the OB bracing his feet against the base of the bed and leaning in with one almighty heave to cut me. IRL it was a tiny nick that needed 2 stitches. Men,
OB I hope you enjoyed that block of chocolate last night (Yes I am still thinking about it).
Jacksmum :hugs: hope you have a wonderful day.
Bel I have managed to cull my nappy bag down to a few basics, but if DH comes out with me I always add more stuff cos he cracks it if we dnon't have something, whereas I will improvise in only a way a mummy can!
E, the pics of James are gorgeous. You'll work out FB, just need to spend lots more time there! Easy done!
Steph good job on the bargain shopping, I love it when that happens. Not long to go now hey?
Ep any phone calls?
Tan the AF sucks hey. You've gone a while without it though. Hhmm maybe this means you too can start ttc! YAY!! he he.
Well that wasn't such a quickie was it :laughing: Ah well, have a great day ladies!
31-01-2008, 10:10
Gessssshhhhh over 3 pages already!!!!
Don't have time to read through everything, hope your all well.
Hi Oopsie! How are the girls? And bub?? Thanks for the new thread - as always!
Now, so many posts. Let's see how my memory is....
OB - oh golly. Keep up the good work. Like the others have said you handle things so much better than I would be/would have. Don't be drawn in to any manipulative behaviour. You are very wise and you and Kaid are going to have a lovely life together. And what about that other fella hey?? Where is our update on that one!??
BG - I'll throw in my info re:marriage. As you know this is DH2 for me. Secretly and amazingly annoyingly DH1 lives in this town. Can I swear on here????!!!! It's not something i tell people, sometimes we wave in the street or say hi at coles. Anyways...DH2 is unreal, he is my best friend. It was just no effort right from day dot. His family, morals etc are very similar to mine. We have our ups and downs but hey isn't there a song "life is a rollercoaster". You have so much to look forward to this year. It's going to be GREAT! :flowerz:
JM - you didn't say where you went for lunch? I think you said it was Indian though - but where?? I LOVE indian food, I cook a curry nearly every week and make it last 2 nights. I think I am addicted to basmati rice.
Twitch - great news about the sleeping! Was wondering, has DH's moodiness got worse since DD?? Someone told me that when you have a baby all these things from the past come back to haunt you and be dealt with and I know that DEFINITELY happenned in our house. You guys sound like good mates, I reckon you would be a fun pair.
Zooey - how are your eyes??
I would love to write more but this is turning in to an essay...
Hi Lejay.
And...how come all the GC girls changed their av's the same day??? :detective: I could be going mad...love them by the way.
Hi to everyone else. :hugs:
Hi Ep, I went to the Cinnamon Club in Leederville. It was pretty good - we had Thali (DH had seafood, I had meat).
We both kept having Indian burps in the movie which cracked us up (lol, so mature...).
eeyorethedonkey21
31-01-2008, 12:22
morning everyone this is probably going to be a very long post as i'm doing personals. sooooo u can skip the bits that arent interesting to you i dont mind.
ok here goes:
elsmum: welcome to the group. hope you enjoy many :laughing: we're all pretty entertaining in our own little quirky ways.
bg: i wouldnt worry about little 'a' she'll eat more when she's ready. if she's happy, drinking, giving u plenty of dirty nappies to change, putting on enough weight then thats all that matters. if u wait 5 years before getting married after getting engaged make sure u live with them for a while. there is nothing worse then getting engaged and waiting until you're married to live with your partner. my friend found out while they were engaged that there was no way she could spend the rest of her life with her ex. she called the wedding off and is much better now being a single mum (different partner to bubs' dad)
lejay: you bubs isnt the only one that doesnt say "mummah" mine doesnt either. he says "dad-dad-dad-dad-dad-dad" we can :crying: together about it. thanks for the comment on our piccy. i dont know where james gets his looks from. we're not exactly the best looking parents.
bel: your hubby should be very proud of your little boy. iykwim cant believe you're having another bub so soon tho. i couldnt possibly manage it. :yelclap: to you.
jm: i cant believe u're buying maternity clothes already. what'd u get? i love ebay. best thing ever. bought so much stuff off there (even tho my rating is only 59.) i hope you get the job. cant wait to find out. i'm sure u've got it though. they're just making u wait. im not going to cross my fingers for you because when ever i do that its bad luck so im not crossing them.
charlis mum: hope u had an awesome day at the zoo. we're planning on taking james to perth zoo on his birthday. just the three of us. should be good. hopefully in may it wont be too hot either. cant wait to see the pics.
zooy: i've read all your posts and cant believe the stuff you are having to put up with atm. :hugs: i'm about to start reading your story as well. cant wait. congrats to starfish for her backwards and forwards crawling and sitting up. well done.
ob: all i have to say is "what a buttmonkey!" he sounds like my friends exdp(bubs dad). very weird and sounds like he needs anti-depressants. im glad his parents are starting to accept kai its about time. altho they shouldnt have needed the dna to prove it. how old is emrah? from the fact that he didnt realise it was illegal and dangerous not to have a car seat sounds like he has no common sense whatsoever.
mummajuice: my friend is in the 3under3 club. i dont know how she does it. i have enough trouble keeping one under control. i say well done to all those that have more then one. no matter what the ages are.
jacks mum: i hope max enjoys his "first day of 'school'" let us know how he goes.
twitch: i'm so happy for you and annalise. i'm so glad she's sleeping better again :yelclap: maybe the aircon has made all the difference. i know james doesnt really like sleeping during the day when its hot and we dont have the aircon on.
ok i think thats everything. to everyone else a big HELLO and HUG. this post is probably going to take up a page just by itself. i know its taken me all morning just to type it.
now on to me: james has FINALLY learnt to hold his own bottle YAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!!!!!! its about time. i thought i was going to have to do it forever. i'm so proud. oh happy day!!!! and he has figured out how to sit up from lying on his belly.
ok thats definitely it. better go hang out my washing then its lunchtime. gee half the day's gone already. :hugs: to all.
Eeee - Oh yay James - bottle holding AND sitting up! So cute and so clever. What do you mean you don't know where he gets his looks from?? IMO, he looks just like you and your DH, combined.
Thanks for the good wishes for the job Eeee and Lejay. I have :fingerscrossed: too. I want to do a little bit of work but can't possibly go back to my old job. I have no "off switch" IYKWIM, and I am scared I will get sucked back in and fail to say no to all the extras and the only person who will suffer is H.
I feel good - I had an "OB and BG moment" and have cleaned the house from top to bottom. Every so often, I get in these crazy whirlwinds and just go crazy with cleaning. It's been a while since I had one, but this morning it was - and a clean house I now have with all the washing up to date. I feel like a good wife!
Rare, rare moment.
H is under the TV cabinet again (oh, it's so cute!) so I'll be back.....
eeyorethedonkey21
31-01-2008, 13:16
james is the best looking one out of the three of us. :laughing: im the same as u tho jm i want to do a little bit of work just to get out of the house for a little while but not too much. want to be a sahm more then a working gal.
jm and twitch: are we still up for another visit? we should wait and see tho what days you'll be working jm when you get the job (see how positive i am that you've got the job).
Ohh I like the Cinnamon Club! Actually, I like that whole area there in Leederville! I used to work near there.
I also like Chutney Mary's in Subiaco. Very busy tho.
I will be coming through the airport at some stage and in Perth some time soon...I can feel that phone call coming on soon!! Perhaps I should ask Zooey if it will happen soon!????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
eeyorethedonkey21
31-01-2008, 13:34
i've just realised that firefox doesnt like uploading my photos to facebook so i have to use cr@ppy internet explorer
ZooKeeper
31-01-2008, 14:01
Aunty Ep__ cards said you should be ready for action, guess that means it will be soon???
Twitch -- she's waking for boob and also comforting -- has bad dreams which is STILL happening -- when she's had enough of both she stretches out in my arms and clearly wants back in the cot, but might be awake as soon as 20 minutes later for another go, or it might be two hours. and some rare and awful nights she does this "no mumma I'm REALLY wide awake" and after half an hour of boob and rocking and patting is still eyes wide opn and legs all wriggling, so I then take her out of her room and put her on her playspace where she often either grizzles and gets instantly tired or even just falls asleep, and then as soon as I take her back to the cot -- WIDE AWAKE MUMMA -- back on the boob, and sometimes that can go on for over an hour and that's what happened last night while Dh also decided to wear his big red tanty pants about the mozzies and have an insomnia episode (which are not pretty,)... BTW he woke up this Am all grizzle grizzle and I (mean cow who brought HIM coffee in bed for his wakeup a bit after ours, like I do most mornings) said "multiply how you feel right now by eight months and that's how I feel." did it stop him whingeing, NO.
men, there's a reason they don't have the babies and the boobs, they'd just drop dead in the traces or something.:laughing:no stamina really.
Holey Guacamole, I got the job. Just got the call now!!!
Aaaaarrrrrrgggghhhhh.
Now I have to deal with my current employer.
Aaaaarrrrrrgggggghhhhh.
eeyorethedonkey21
31-01-2008, 14:40
:yelclap::yelclap: congrats jm. i knew u'd get it. :smiliedance::smiliedance: u, me and twitch have to get together now to celebrate. and auntyep would be cool if u were there too.
TheMamma
31-01-2008, 14:43
:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: Well done Just Mum! Great news! Congrats!
31-01-2008, 14:44
Holey Guacamole, I got the job. Just got the call now!!!
Aaaaarrrrrrgggghhhhh.
Now I have to deal with my current employer.
Aaaaarrrrrrgggggghhhhh.
Well done and congrats!!
Hi Oopsie! How are the girls? And bub?? Thanks for the new thread - as always!
Now, so many posts. Let's see how my memory is....
OB - oh golly. Keep up the good work. Like the others have said you handle things so much better than I would be/would have. Don't be drawn in to any manipulative behaviour. You are very wise and you and Kaid are going to have a lovely life together. And what about that other fella hey?? Where is our update on that one!??
BG - I'll throw in my info re:marriage. As you know this is DH2 for me. Secretly and amazingly annoyingly DH1 lives in this town. Can I swear on here????!!!! It's not something i tell people, sometimes we wave in the street or say hi at coles. Anyways...DH2 is unreal, he is my best friend. It was just no effort right from day dot. His family, morals etc are very similar to mine. We have our ups and downs but hey isn't there a song "life is a rollercoaster". You have so much to look forward to this year. It's going to be GREAT! :flowerz:
JM - you didn't say where you went for lunch? I think you said it was Indian though - but where?? I LOVE indian food, I cook a curry nearly every week and make it last 2 nights. I think I am addicted to basmati rice.
Twitch - great news about the sleeping! Was wondering, has DH's moodiness got worse since DD?? Someone told me that when you have a baby all these things from the past come back to haunt you and be dealt with and I know that DEFINITELY happenned in our house. You guys sound like good mates, I reckon you would be a fun pair.
Zooey - how are your eyes??
I would love to write more but this is turning in to an essay...
Hi Lejay.
And...how come all the GC girls changed their av's the same day??? :detective: I could be going mad...love them by the way.
Hi to everyone else. :hugs:
Great thanks! Ebony is wearing her first pair of flannellette pjs and oh she looks cute LOL
Eeee, sorry meant to reply about this before, yes would love to catch up. Lord knows, I love to celebrate..... :D
Now if Ep was in Perth at the same time, that would be great..... :D
*babygirl*
31-01-2008, 14:55
:wave: ladies... i've had a great day... just about to go out and do some groceries... just popped in to let you all know i uploaded heaps of fotos on my facebook account if u wanna go have a peek... the ones of her in the bath/sink and naked butt and the one with the sexy squint smile are from this morning... excuse the self love poses:laughing::o they will be deleted shortly.
xx ba back later for personals:ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity:
Sheer Bliss
31-01-2008, 14:58
Just a quickie - :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:JM on getting the job!!! That's fantastic!!!
Having friends over for dinner, and off to swimming lessons for DD at 9am tomorrow then off to the movies with DH, so not back until tomorrow evening - eek - will have missed 20pages at least by then!!
Have fun Charlis_mum!! See you tomorrow then!
JM - Congrats!! Great news!! When do you start?? BTW still no rafferty's here, you would think it would get here overnight but no, post seems to travel by foot - even from Perth...
Zooey - thanks for the prediction! I'll let you know if I get any action :laughing::laughing:
Oopsie - any new photos?!? cute!
I am off to stew some apples...:hugs:
I have a couple of questions that I was hoping someone could help me with...unfortunately they are not exciting questions!!
1. I have DS's carseat forward facing now. When I go over east on holidays I am not sure whether to have it rear or foward facing as we will be doing more driving than we do here. He is over 8kg.
2. Does anyone have any suggestions for my journey as DS does not like to fall asleep anywhere except his cot or pram. My journey will consist of bus (45min), plane (2hrs), airport (2hrs), plane (4hrs), car (1.5hrs). I "might" get a bassinet on the 4hr leg or a spare seat but most of the time he will be on my lap.
Thanks in advance. I am still trying to work out a plan for meals that day!!!!!!!!:hair:
eeyorethedonkey21
31-01-2008, 16:15
auntyep: i think once bubs hit 8kgs u have to have the car seat forward facing. iywmo i think forward facing is better as it gives them a chance to see whats going on and they get to see more scenery and it will all be new for him so he'll be really excited. i know james loves sitting forward now. sits there like he's king sh!t looking out the window.
in terms of sleeping, if bubs is really tired surely he'll sleep no matter where he is. or is he really stubborn when it comes to sleeping?
Sheer Bliss
31-01-2008, 16:30
PMSL - DH is cooking the roast for dinner tonight, and he just said it only takes 25-30mins to cook. Like WTF?? I then realised he read the back and it takes that long per 500g!!! HAHA Thank god it is only a 1kg roast and i realised now - so it will still be done in time!
AuntyEp - I will probably be the only on to say this, but I am a safetly freak:laughing:. I'd put him rearward facing. nick is over 10kg & still rearward facing all the time (even in mums car in her spare carseat) It provides much better support for their neck in an accident. Adults get whiplash so easily, you can imagine how easily babies can get neck damage. It doesn'y matter how well they can hold their head up. So if you will be int he car a heap more, i'd go for the safer option.
As for food - bananas are great!! A plactic knife cuts it into slices easily on the run (even a disposable plastic knife from maccas does the trick! Is he heating sandwiche yet? Maybe a few vegemite s/wiches in tupperware thingy to stop them getting squashed (that's what i took for nick today!)
As for sleeping...hmmm....is it possible to 'move' the sleep for the 2hrs you are at the airport? put him to seelp in the pram as soon as you arrive (maybe keep him up on the bus trip with exciting games??) then he will be awake for the plane trip & so excited he'll stay awake for 4hrs, then be exhausted & sleep in the car?
Great Tips Eeee and as always Charlis_mum! :)
Stubborn, my child, stubborn YES! BIG YES!! Just like his Dad and Mum!!
Enjoy your roast. mmmm! I just got out some lamb and I think I will make some pumk/pot mash to sit it on...doubling as bubs meals tomorrow!
I just cooked those stewed apples JM gave us the recipe for. I need the recipe for my mind can not think of these things atm! But, it is sooooo tasty. DH will complain and want to eat it!
boy wrangler
31-01-2008, 17:42
I'm not sure I can keep up with everything that's happening! So much to remember!
I now have more friends on facebook! yay! DH just loves to ask and then says "ooo, is that all, you know its just a big popularity competition!" He is boycotting facebook in protest. What he's protesting I'm not entirely sure!
AuntyEp, I have to agree with charlismum, sangas, crackers, banana, even soft fruit like peaches, plums, nectarines etc, I just take the skin off and el go nuts for them. I also agree about the carseat, rearward is sooo much safer. Not sure about when they have to face the front, ours is 12kg but I think they all may be different. El is front facing, but for a long drive we turn him to the back. He also seems to sleep better on a long drive facing the back, I think because he can't see as much!
Justmum, :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: on the job! Hope your boss now is ok!
eeyore, thanks for the welcome, everyone is soooo lovely!:yes: I haven't had any trouble uploading photos to facebook with firefox, but it was really slow!
Took el to the dr this morning as he has been so cranky, pulling at ears, waking up through the night (he's slept through since 10wks, even when teething so its a shock to the system), can't put him down. So turns out he's got tonsilitus (sp)!!! Poor little mite. He has to have antibiotics for 10 days! So now I feel awful because it's been going on for a few days now (since the weekend) and I just thought it was teeth (he cut four in the past fortnight). Thank God I've got my sling back from my SIL after I left it at her house! It's my saviour atm!!!!!!! Oh and dh too, he's giving el his dinner as I type, then he'll do his bath and story etc til I feed him at half 6! I've got another 45 mins of MEEEE time!!!!!!!!!!
Hey Lovelies.
Well he came and saw Kaidayn with his Mum and his Aunty today. They brought him sooo much clothes (that we do NOT need) and bought like 40 cans of baby food, baby juice and baby deserts that would be nice but we don't use baby food in this house, I refuse to give my son that juice and no way is he having those deserts like custard and that.:no: I wish she would put that money towards something he needs not cr*p. Oh well at least she is trying I guess. He on the other hand was playing perfect daddy as he does so I just went along with it with a fake smile listening to them talk to Kaidayn in turkish and call him his turkish name trying not to scream at them that he was born in australia to an australian mother and to not speak turkish to him or call him his turkish name because it will confuse him but I know that it is just not worth the argument. So he told me all about his week away and I just sat there saying 'cool', 'sounds fun'.:rolleyes:
So anyways at least I am letting them see him so that will help them to not go to courts or anything and I can have somewhat control over this all.
Thankyou for all the support you have given me through all this ladies, I don't know what I would do without you all.:hugs:
boy wrangler
31-01-2008, 18:03
You do need to pick your battles and I think you did the right thing with the food, maybe next time (if there is a next time) I'd say, Oh he's never had this before, I'm not sure if he'd like it. About the language thing, I think its awesome for children to be bilingual if that is what they are exposed to all the time, or at least regularly. But if they are only going to be seeing your little man every now and then, he's probably going to be super confused and feel quite intimidated. I know I would if people were talking to me in a language I didn't understand.
BTW about dh giving el his dinner and bath, he has just called me about 5 times to come and look - el is asleep in the high chair, els asleep on the change table, els asleep in the bath, oh els awake and crying now :hair:
31-01-2008, 18:36
I have a couple of questions that I was hoping someone could help me with...unfortunately they are not exciting questions!!
1. I have DS's carseat forward facing now. When I go over east on holidays I am not sure whether to have it rear or foward facing as we will be doing more driving than we do here. He is over 8kg.
2. Does anyone have any suggestions for my journey as DS does not like to fall asleep anywhere except his cot or pram. My journey will consist of bus (45min), plane (2hrs), airport (2hrs), plane (4hrs), car (1.5hrs). I "might" get a bassinet on the 4hr leg or a spare seat but most of the time he will be on my lap.
Thanks in advance. I am still trying to work out a plan for meals that day!!!!!!!!:hair:
I'd keep it forward, keep bubs way more entertained and as they say, you have more chance of an accident driving locally then going on a longer trip!
31-01-2008, 18:37
Hey Lovelies.
Well he came and saw Kaidayn with his Mum and his Aunty today. They brought him sooo much clothes (that we do NOT need) and bought like 40 cans of baby food, baby juice and baby deserts that would be nice but we don't use baby food in this house, I refuse to give my son that juice and no way is he having those deserts like custard and that.:no: I wish she would put that money towards something he needs not cr*p. Oh well at least she is trying I guess. He on the other hand was playing perfect daddy as he does so I just went along with it with a fake smile listening to them talk to Kaidayn in turkish and call him his turkish name trying not to scream at them that he was born in australia to an australian mother and to not speak turkish to him or call him his turkish name because it will confuse him but I know that it is just not worth the argument. So he told me all about his week away and I just sat there saying 'cool', 'sounds fun'.:rolleyes:
So anyways at least I am letting them see him so that will help them to not go to courts or anything and I can have somewhat control over this all.
Thankyou for all the support you have given me through all this ladies, I don't know what I would do without you all.:hugs:
It's great they are making an effort!! You can always donate the food and juice to charity :)
You do need to pick your battles and I think you did the right thing with the food, maybe next time (if there is a next time) I'd say, Oh he's never had this before, I'm not sure if he'd like it. About the language thing, I think its awesome for children to be bilingual if that is what they are exposed to all the time, or at least regularly. But if they are only going to be seeing your little man every now and then, he's probably going to be super confused and feel quite intimidated. I know I would if people were talking to me in a language I didn't understand.
Yeah I agree but when it is something that isn't constant in his life it will confuse him.
But it is INCREDIBLY disrespectful to call him the name they want instead of his actual name. I am actually really fuming about that still.:mad:
TheMamma
31-01-2008, 18:53
DH just loves to ask and then says "ooo, is that all, you know its just a big popularity competition!" He is boycotting facebook in protest. What he's protesting I'm not entirely sure!
My DH is EXACTLY the same. He refuses to go onto facebook and says "why would you want to keep in touch with a bunch of people you went throgh school with 10 years ago - who you don't really care about" LOL. He is also boycotting!
Elle - I think that it must be really hard for you to bite your tongue, and I know if it was me I would feel the anger boil up at every little thing they said! You're doing a brilliant job. Kaid is one lucky boy. With regards to the Turkish thing, as ElsMum said - it can actually be really good for a baby to hear two languages. Though I suppose if it isn't that often it is hardly worth it though. And given the situation you're in - its probably really hard. My DH is from SOuth Africa and although I am a true-blue Aussie, we speak to DD in Afrikaans and English. I think it is nice that she will know her heritage and family history and be able to speak with her cousins. Again though, every situation is different and I image you feel so protective over Kaid - and rightly so! :hugs::hugs: You're gorgeous!
Aunty Ep - I only just turned DDs car seat around and she seems to be okay? I ran it all past the MCHN and she said that she was fine to go front facing now as she has very strong neck control. I suppose it comes down to whatever you feel comfortable with. Will your DS sleep in an ergo/HAB/sling? That may work quite well for you?
Opps - phone is ringing...be back.
Sorry everyone, will do personals later.
Just wanted to say that I rang my boss today and they are willing to create the same position that I have been offered elsewhere if I will stay.
:confused::confused: I love the place I work at but I wonder why they didn't make this offer until pushed??? Although not that I am doing any pushing on them at all. I am so confused.
I have to catch up on everyone's posts now:ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity: so I will come back. In the meantime, any words of wisdom for me would be much appreciated.
TheMamma
31-01-2008, 19:12
Yeah I agree but when it is something that isn't constant in his life it will confuse him.
But it is INCREDIBLY disrespectful to call him the name they want instead of his actual name. I am actually really fuming about that still.:mad:
Is it his same name in Turkish, or a completely different name? I know that my DHs name is said two different ways? If it is a entirely different name...how blo0dy disrespectful and so rude! Infact - it's just crazy. How DARE they? Oooohhh Elle, you're an amazingly strong woman. Hats off to ya, hun!
Is it his same name in Turkish, or a completely different name? I know that my DHs name is said two different ways? If it is a entirely different name...how blo0dy disrespectful! Oooohhh Elle, you're an amazingly strong woman. Hats off to ya, hun!
No it is this random turkish name they wanted him to be called which he was going to be called until Emrah decided to be abusive and leave me pregnant and then has put me through all this hell so if they wanted him to be called that they should have thought about that before. It has made me incredibly mad as that is NOT his name and how dare they think they can call him that.:mad:
boy wrangler
31-01-2008, 19:27
I'm soooooo agreeing with you about the name!!!!!!!!! (and most of the other stuff too:D). I could bite my tongue about most stuff, but definitely NOT that! I just assumed that it was his name but in Turkish iykwim. I just would not have thought that people would do that! Call me naive, but where I come from that is just not a goer. Ooooo, I would say something, it's so not fair on your beautiful boy!
GENERAL WARNING - I AM IN A WEIRD MOOD....
OK lovelies, I have caught up and here goes....
Elle, I think if they have just decided to call K some random name that they wanted him to be called, rather than his actual beautiful name in Turkish, well that is rude and disrespectful and also just too bl00dy late. If they wanted input into the name, their son probably shouldn't have been such an ar$eh0le and left you in the lurch after being so bl00dy irresponsible. Oh and they shouldn't have insisted on a paternity test and all the other unforgivable cr@p they put you through. That they are now calling him some random name makes me :mad:
When they are speaking in Turkish to K you have no idea what they are saying to him. It could be negative. Although I think a child hearing 2 languages is generally really good for them, I am with you on this one sweetie. The 2 languages thing only works with trust on both sides.
Ep, sorry here we go - everyone has at least one thing they are really opinionated about and this is my thing. Well OK, my one really big thing as opposed to all the little things I rage about on a day to day basis. Please feel free to ignore the following....
I still have H's seat rear facing. H's car seat says rear facing is OK up to 12kgs. I have seen footage on here of car accidents with children in forward facing seats. Because baby heads are disproportionately heavy to their necks and spines, when they are in a forward motion accident when in a forward facing seat, they are much more likely to have serious neck and spine damage, even if the accident is not bad enough to cause even the mildest whiplash in any adult passengers in the car. IMO, it is a good idea to keep rear facing as long as possible. H will stay rear facing until he is over 12kgs. So I agree with Charlis mum. But this is JMO, and I always respect the right of every parent to make decisions about anything for their own child.
Lejay - hello, just wanted to wave at you cause you're pretty :wave: Wow that was an odd comment. Someone forgot their pills today :D (me, not you honey).
Elsmum - look at you in the swing of the group. You're a natural. My DH is a bit the same on FB too. Except he has joined but doesn't really keep up with it.
Oopsie - hi there! Thanks for the good wishes.
Twitch - no love for me last night from the Latin lover as AF is visiting. She is a very rude house guest and always visits me for my birthday! I have decided to be more positive about loving after AF tho and just sort of force the issue with myself from now one (ewww, definitely TMI...)
Eeee, I bought a top, a skirt, 2 dresses and a pair of short for ~$30 incl postage. I think they are bargains. I luff Ebay too. I go through phases with it though. I hate the whole rating system it drives me crazy.
I am sure I have forgotten everyone. Please don't hate me cause I'm pretty. No just kidding. I've always wanted to say that. Wow I need to eat. Blood. Sugar. Low. Back. Later. :o
oohhh big decision time JM!! I dunno. Maybe talk to your old work and tell them how things have changed and your conditions of work will be "x" number of hours per week, no overtime etc...if you can do that! I would love to chat more about it but busy beaver just now...
I think I will put the seat rear facing over east and for long trips over here. Ds only stays in the car for max. 2kms here and that is only on the rare occasion. He is not used to being in the car!!
ok, back later or tomorrow...
LusciousMum23
31-01-2008, 20:36
OMG!!!!!! I only posted last nite and now there are 16 pages.......apologies now 4 the lack of personals.
OB :hugs:. U r an amazing mum. What an ordeal with HIM and his darn family :mad:.
The love life???? Hmmmmm lets see...... lol.
Its going GREAT!!!!!!!!! He is a wonderful caring guy with NO bad habits :eek: ( well not any that i have noticed. lol)
He loves my kids and has been spending a lot of time with us. He would like to be a father figure to my boys (they need a decent male role model !) and he just adores DD.
He even told me he loves me :) ;). He has the same name as DS2 (Matthew) so its a bit confusing at times .lol. Oh, I have the same name as one of his sisters. lol .i'm extremely happpy, will be moving to my new house in 9 days..... but sadly i don't think i will be able to afford my internet then :(. will hopefully be able to use my brothers comp to check up on my favourite girls on a regular basis (yes, all of u may mums!)
Oh, that darn ex still hasnt gone into a coma yet......but i'm workin on it. lol
Take care sweeties, Ally xxoo
ZooKeeper
31-01-2008, 20:59
Hi Y'all,
mmm, stuffed full of lamb roast...boy i love lamb roast and veg with homemade gravy, and enuff left over for starfish and my lunch tomorrow & soup tomorrow night -- makes me feel old school 'good wife and mother' LMAO.
OB -- oh those PEOPLE, you are so amazingly good at handling them -- smile now vent later will take you a LONG way you amazing gal. :yelclap: Know whatcha mean about the name, el loca insisted on calling DD 'squirrel' FFS. "I don't care what you've named her, I'm calling her squirrel" she said. oh, pardon me, i'm just her mum. with the lingo thing I agree that it's good to know your heritage lingos BUT only hearing them from people who are trustworthy is also important. I'm teaching starfish a little bit of French, Bundjalung, Kamillaroi, Yiddish, Mohawk, Pidgin & a few other bits (I really dig lingos, always have -- runs in the family, my Gramps spoke about nine enough to get by), but teaching her just enough they will come easy when she's older, so they don't sound alien, and we play her a lot of world music also for that reason. (I also sing "Alouette" the French kids song with her, she loves it.) Just get a Turkish Cd and that should be enuff at his age really that hearing them talk Turkish won't freak him out. and yes, I'd be giving the babyfood to charity, I gave everything el loca gave my DD to the salvos.:hugs:to you dear, you are amazing. K is a very lucky lad to have such a great mumma
JM -- DO what would make you most happy. that's what the Sun card is all about. can you trust your current job to respect limits, or are you better off starting fresh where you can insist on them from the outset (and leaving on good terms so if it turns out to be rotten you can go back???) and CONGRATS (do I get to say "I told you so" :laughing:)
AuntyEp -- another good travel food is bits of cruskit smeared with avo (just a little bit or its messy) and lychees in a mesh feeder as the juice is minimal & colourless. Water in a sippy cup. the sleeping thing on the journey is a hard one, can you use the ergo? should be Ok on a bus, maybe not a plane tho. lots of small toys he can fiddle with might be better value than a few bigger ones as you can change them around when you change venues/transport and keep it interesting, a few socks to be puppets and you can keep him entertained with that for a while. visit the opshop and get some chewable old golden books, they fit nice in a big handbag. a few scarves for peekaboo etc. also at the airport maybe go and have a shower with him if he won't drop off nicely. (should be young enuff to use the women's showers with you).
uh oh, call of the wild starfish, gotta go
zooy
*babygirl*
31-01-2008, 21:48
:ecomcity: ladies i just cant keep up.... i was watching TV and trying to put my incredibly cheerful, however, active child to sleep lol:p oh she is a blessing... very happy with my choice on that one:laughing:
i am so tired today.... but im sure after a good nights sleep ill be right as rain for some personals tomorrow...
just wanted to share... i see the light at the end of the tunnel for me and derek and it is getting ALOT closer... today/tonight he came around for dinner and we bathed bubba in the sink (again lol) and we just played with her for like 3 hours and fed her etc and we JOKED:eek: and laughed and we genrally just hung out... it was EVERYTHING i've been wanting when it comes to us... and i just feel so good that we're finally dropping the awkwardness about being 'frinds' and not 'lovers' and im just so freaking happy atm!!! i see the light! one day... maybe not SOON... but soon we will be able to go out and have a few drinks and make jokes and be good good friends again. i love this man for all he is worth.. flaws and all... and i love him as a FRIEND... omg. im so happy.
sorry for the me me me but i had to share.
this is me >>>>>>> :D
I'm soooooo agreeing with you about the name!!!!!!!!! (and most of the other stuff too). I could bite my tongue about most stuff, but definitely NOT that! I just assumed that it was his name but in Turkish iykwim. I just would not have thought that people would do that! Call me naive, but where I come from that is just not a goer. Ooooo, I would say something, it's so not fair on your beautiful boy!
I thought the same. Like WTF? And to make things worse they actually don't see anything wrong with it.:confused:
Elle, I think if they have just decided to call K some random name that they wanted him to be called, rather than his actual beautiful name in Turkish, well that is rude and disrespectful and also just too bl00dy late. If they wanted input into the name, their son probably shouldn't have been such an ar$eh0le and left you in the lurch after being so bl00dy irresponsible. Oh and they shouldn't have insisted on a paternity test and all the other unforgivable cr@p they put you through. That they are now calling him some random name makes me
When they are speaking in Turkish to K you have no idea what they are saying to him. It could be negative. Although I think a child hearing 2 languages is generally really good for them, I am with you on this one sweetie. The 2 languages thing only works with trust on both sides.
Yep exactly and with the way Emrah speaks to me in english sometimes (he is very self concious of himself and projects that onto me like instead of saying oh you lost weight he goes did you put on weight?:rolleyes:) I wouldn't put it past him saying something negative about me in turkish to Kaidayn. I definately believe that the 2 languages thing only works on trust.
OB :hugs:. U r an amazing mum. What an ordeal with HIM and his darn family .
:hugs: Thanks hunni.
OB -- oh those PEOPLE, you are so amazingly good at handling them -- smile now vent later will take you a LONG way you amazing gal. Know whatcha mean about the name, el loca insisted on calling DD 'squirrel' FFS. "I don't care what you've named her, I'm calling her squirrel" she said. oh, pardon me, i'm just her mum. with the lingo thing I agree that it's good to know your heritage lingos BUT only hearing them from people who are trustworthy is also important. I'm teaching starfish a little bit of French, Bundjalung, Kamillaroi, Yiddish, Mohawk, Pidgin & a few other bits (I really dig lingos, always have -- runs in the family, my Gramps spoke about nine enough to get by), but teaching her just enough they will come easy when she's older, so they don't sound alien, and we play her a lot of world music also for that reason. (I also sing "Alouette" the French kids song with her, she loves it.) Just get a Turkish Cd and that should be enuff at his age really that hearing them talk Turkish won't freak him out. and yes, I'd be giving the babyfood to charity, I gave everything el loca gave my DD to the salvos.to you dear, you are amazing. K is a very lucky lad to have such a great mumma
:hugs:Thanks hunni. But yes I do play alot of turkish music to Kaidayn and one of my best friends who I do trust with everything that is in me is also turkish and I am fine with him talking turkish with Kaidayn sometimes and I know that having him around will help Kaidayn learn about his background.
As for the baby food I told a friend of mine she can have it. :)
Sheer Bliss
01-02-2008, 06:17
Hi all!!
OB - Glad they finally came to see Kaid but :banghead: about them calling him the wrong name! Could you maybe return some of the food to the shops? Most supermarkets are pretty good with stuff like that. Maybe just take 10 back to one supermarket, then 10 to another? If they only let you get credit instead of money back you could just buy fresh veges/pasta with it? I returned a heap of clothes to Big W that the MIL bought for nick. He had 20 jumpsuit things and she bought him more, so i returned them & bought some other stuff that he needed.
JM - ooohh about the job. A big decision to make. I would also be torn if I was in your shoes. BUt aftre mat leave with DD, work DID create a new position for me part time, and i stayed & it is great! But sometimes a change is a good thing, i just don't know, sorry. I feel the way you do about the car seat thing, but know that i have said it before, so didn't wanna rant too much again myself. I figure I've said it before, and i'd just be being pushy if i said too much again - everyone has different perceptions on things, so make their own decisions. I told my sister about the videos & she turned my niece back to rearward facing after 3weeks of fwd facing - so that was good.
Luscious - good to hear all is going well with your man! I am so very happy for you. You really deserve it!!! :flowerz:
Better go wake those kiddies up - have to leave in about an hour or so for DD's swimming lesson. Have a greast day!
TheMamma
01-02-2008, 07:45
I'm very excited this morning. DH got a job offer today (and it isn't the one that he has been recruiting for for six months) which means we can FINALLY sell our house and move....and once we have moved we can start TTC #2!! He is still going for the long term option of the other job - but as a short term thing to kick start our 'new life' - he is handing notice in today!
:smiliedance::smiliedance::goodvibes:
I just feel like this is a real turning point for us and am SO thrilled. Now I have to call the estate agents and put the house on the market! Whoopeeeeeee....
Also, DD slept like a gem again last night. Went down at 7.15 without a sound, woke at 6.20.
TheMamma
01-02-2008, 08:51
BTW - Zooooeeyyyyy....I want the next installement! I'm loving it! really - its great!
*babygirl*
01-02-2008, 08:51
:smiliedance: lejay!!! how exciting... i love that feeling of excitement and adventrue... lots of us may mummies have big thing in this new year:yes:
about the car seat rear facing i had to turn it because DD was getting cramped facing backwards.... she had her knees almost up because her feet were too long and would be constantly touching and pushing against the back of the seat... and she used to get frustrated... i wasnt happy about turning her around but she just wouldnt fit comfortably the other way...:no:
have a LOVELY day ladies... im off to have brekky.
Morning chicks! :wave:
Thanks for the help with the job issue everyone. I am minded to accept the new position with the new firm, just because a fresh start will be better for me - I need to be stopped from my tendency to workaholicism and I am not sure if I go back to my old work that I will be able to resist becoming so overtaken by work again. The new firm won't have any expectations about me or what I can do so I can start afresh. Anyway, I haven't made any hard or fast decisions and am meeting with my lovely boss today to talk about it all. She's a mum too so we may be able to work something out. :fingerscrossed:
CM, Ep and everyone!! - yes sorry about my car seat rant. I hope I didn't offend anyone?? So sorry if I did - I have quite a few opinions (shock, horror) but this is one I am a bit string on! Having done my fair share of personal injury claims in my career I have also seen the effect of car accidents on little kids so I am super careful about car safety. H's seat will get turned around when he is 18 (years that is, not kilos!:laughing:). He can date when he is 40 :D
Lejay - yay. Move to Perth?? Just kidding. And sorry for calling you pretty :o I was being crazy last night and not even any Pimms in sight.
BG so happy to hear about you and Derek working things out. OB I hope that Emrah can come to be as mature about it all as Derek is now being.
PS OB I loved CM's suggestion about taking food back. Woolies/Safeway is usually really good about that without a receipt.
Zooy, hello honey. Thanks for the hugs and advice - you have a gift with those cards, lady.
Now, where is Twitchy?? Prolly posting at the same time as me.....
Love youse all.
xx:hugs:
Lejay - major excitement for you!! That is unreal! At least now the wait for the other recruitment process won't put such a hold on your life. :goodvibes:
Hi and Good Morning everyone else!
DS tried vegemite sandwich and he LOVED it however, he tried to swallow big lumps of it and then regurgitated it...when I chopped it up smaller he cracked the poos with me...what do I do?? Will he learn to take small amounts?? He still has no teeth so he tends to suck everything but he eats lumpy foods.
Talk later, it's weetbix time here. :hugs:
PS ZOOY can I read your book too? Everyone is creating a hype on it on here so I feel like I need to read it too? Bodes well for the book's future.... Do you mind, or is that too many people?? :D
Ep, what about cutting the crusts of some bread, smearing with vegemite and baking in the oven at a really low heat for a few hours (to just add to the ambient temperature in TP a bit more :laughing:). Isn't this is how rusks used to be made. Then he can hold a crust to eat and it should dissolve slowly - I think??
Lejay congrats! That's great news. Was it you asking me about the steak? It was like four billion pages back. Yes she just sucks on it, she likes chops, lamb cutlets, rib eye, I am going to give her a chicken breast when we get some money and I can afford to go shopping. :rolleyes: That air con is killing us financially but we are oh so chilly so we don't mind :D
BG you sound so happy. I am so glad everything is working out. It woulds like D got the brains and maturity his parents were supposed to get. They must have missed that queue when they were handing out smartness. That is so great that you guys are getting along so well.
Elle, mate, what to say. I would be absolutely furious too. I was thinking about it last night and I think that I would just be scared, like for the future, them having bubs for a few hours, you know? Then again, I am ultra clingy to Anna, DH has only had her for 3 hours when I went to the movies and she slept for 2 of those hours. I'm a bit OTT.
JM you got it, I am posting at the same time as you. It's taking me a bit longer cos Annalise is spitting cheese and vegimite toast everywhere. DH will kill me if there's any more crusty bits in the laptop. We'll have to catch up soon. Andrea rang yesterday, all is good. Anna slept for another 10 hour stint last night :smiliedance:
Tan Have a great day with your kids :)
Zooy I'm going to read your email when I put Anna down this morning. I can't wait, I was thinking about it when I was in bed last night.
Oopsie I hope you're still feeling great. Your belly is SO low hey.
Ep Anna does the same thing to sambos and she's got 8 teeth, so sorry I'm no help! I say just keep offering and watch him the whole time, he'll eventually get it.
Oh sh!te there's vegimite in the carpet. Back in a sec.
Twitch and lejay :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: on the brilliant sleeps. What clever bubbas!
*babygirl*
01-02-2008, 09:27
:) i am really happy...
aalliyah LOVES vegemite toast .. i gave her vegemite and a TINY bit of grated cheese this morning... she wasnt too fussed but i think she is too tired this morning.... i think im going to make her beef and pumpkin and rice stew for lunch/dinner and so she can take some to dereks.... we'll see.... knowing our record she wont even touch it :rolleyes: but i'll keep trying.
zooey i am so excited about the next installment... (looks like lots of people are:D) i bet this is doing wonders for your talents.
i've been waking up feeling like poo the last couple of days.... i wake up with like painful twinges in my torso and feeling like i'm going to be sick :barf: but i have NO idea what it is.... its just driving me mental.
im off to relax with baby... im making the most of our time alone cause i start uni in a month and she starts child care on the 11th of february... i dont know what im going to do without her... i think once i start uni ill be fine but im just so sad at the tought of leaving her and potentially missing her first steps.:(
boy wrangler
01-02-2008, 09:38
Good Morning! I'm feeling very refreshed, we went for a walk with the neighbours, el's gone down for his first sleep and I've had a shower AND washed my hair, it's going to be a good day! :laughing:
Lejay, that is very exciting news!!!!! I love the feeling when stuff is happening, and all the anticipation! Are you staying local, or going for a big move?
Well done to all those bub's who had a good night sleep!:smiliedance::smiliedance:
Justmum, I think talking to your boss is a great idea. Openness and honesty are always the best policy!
Ep, el loves sangas, I cut it into about 6 pieces and he just sucks and chews. He has lots of finger food, but when he first started he would gag a bit and just bring it back up. It's just their natural reflexes. The more he has food like that the quicker he'll get used to it. It's still scary though. When I first started giving el finger food, I would not strap him into the high chair so I could get him out super quick if he choked - but I never needed too! My mum thought I was paranoid, but better to be safe than sorry!!!
Babygirl, I hope you are feeling better soon! What will you be studying at uni? :hugs:to you for the 11th!
*babygirl*
01-02-2008, 10:57
im doing psychological sciences... with a few arts subjects thrown in:D oh and i just cant wait for it to begin lol... im so so so excited!~
ZooKeeper
01-02-2008, 11:08
Mawnin Y'all,
JM -- change, change change... hard to convince anyone to not ask for more when they is used to getting it, and keep your options open with the old job for when Hugo starts school/kindy or such. when he's keen to get out more anyway so you are not at home twiddling your thumbs (did I say thumbs...?:laughing::o naughty thoughts in this head this morning, must be thinking about Renee/Tiffany too much lol.) oh and yes you can join the readers circle I'm keen for lots of feedback, just no-one not a may mummy 07 at Bh will be joining, that's what I've decided.
OB -- how's your liver? maybe try cutting back on things like caffiene (coke etc), fats, bit more leafy greens and extra water and see if that helps. liver can get grumpy fairly easily (drinking alcohol is only one of the things that do it) and symptoms are like you mention. and maybe go see a doc if it keeps going after that as Lily needs her mum in top form, and so do all those Uni blokes :D glad to hear Derek is being brilliant. now if only he could slap some sense into your sis's wayward one... (sigh). did I say slap, I meant TALK naturally.
ElsMum -- hello!
Lehay -- congrats on the new job turning everything around for yez, that's way cool news. :yelclap:
Twitch -- air con, oh blessed cool air, bet that is making Anna so much happier. I got Starfish to self-settle twice in the early hours and for her morning nap using the JM method of backrubbing and all. she still needed a feed before the back rubbing etc but at least she didn't want to be ornery and not sleep afterwards.
Oopsy -- getting there, getting there! keep well dear lady.
Bel -- if you give all those girl clothes away, you might get a suprise after number 2 which requires no help like injections and all. not talking from looking at my cards, just considering the murphy's law aspects, sometimes after years of trouble things just work themselves out (body learns how??). thats how I got starfish afterall.
speaking of cards, I have had this funny set laying about 'Universal Love" which were given to me by a friend who's daughter I used to look after while mum went and took hard drugs. (long story there really we won't go into) anyhow, I've never been drawn to really work with them and have now given them to DD to muck about with while I play on BH. guess what she drew first -- BIRTH lol. think she's inherited mumma's gift somehow. now she's got "Healing Sounds" lying there and is singing to herself. and GUESS WHO pulled herself up to a stand at our coffee table last night!! argh! it's too soon, she's too little, it can't be hapening that she is turning into a little girl already...:(:D -- that's my mixed feelings, missing the tiny bubba and also SO PROUD of the growing girl.
if yez don't hear from me till really late tonight it's not because I'm putting DH in a shallow grave up the hill it's because I'm working on renee and doing a reading. actually, I don't feel like composting him anymore I'm in such a great mood.
hmm, someone here, better go
love youse
zooy
*babygirl*
01-02-2008, 11:38
:laughing: zooey... perhaps "OB's" comment was for me????:confused: i was reading it thinking... hmm that sounds like its for me.. as well as the fact that 'lilly' is mine hahahaha..... but ill take that advice anyways.... i dont drink much coke etc... i eat MOSTLY home cooked meals packed with veges... ESPECIALLY green ones... im on a silverbeet and zuchinni kick atm:D loving the veges... drinking LOTS AND LOTS of water... but i'll keep it all in mind...
ETA... and i'll be keenly awaiting the newest chapter.
Just had to tell you all this.
Do you remember when I was b!tching about my dad only buying Anna a pair of knickers for Xmas, for my wedding he didn't contribute any money (Rich's dad gave us $2000, our wedding all up was $3500), and then when my brother got married on NYE, my dad gave him a cheque for $10,000? Not sure if I told you the last part but I was gutted when that happened. I am the only daughter too, so it hurt even more. Dad rang this morning to see if we wanted to go visit my grandma on Sunday cos she's starting to go downhill and he asked what I was doing and I said I was applying for one of those 0% transfer things for the credit card cos we maxxed it out with the air con. He said he had an account for me when I was about 10 that still had $500, he would transfer that to me as he said it is my money. No worries, I said.
Just then I got an email from him and he said he's transferred $4500 into DH's account to cover the balance of the air con :eek: That pays off our credit card. :eek:
I think either my bro or my mum has said something to him about how upset I was. BTW he's a millionaire, that's another reason I was so upset, like helping his only daughter out for her wedding would have been like petty cash to him. Buying his only grandchild something nice is a drop in the ocean.
Now I just have to tell DH. I don't think he'll take it very well, he's having one of his down days.
I think I'm in shock! :confused::eek:
jacks mum
01-02-2008, 14:23
Just had to tell you all this.
Do you remember when I was b!tching about my dad only buying Anna a pair of knickers for Xmas, for my wedding he didn't contribute any money (Rich's dad gave us $2000, our wedding all up was $3500), and then when my brother got married on NYE, my dad gave him a cheque for $10,000? Not sure if I told you the last part but I was gutted when that happened. I am the only daughter too, so it hurt even more. Dad rang this morning to see if we wanted to go visit my grandma on Sunday cos she's starting to go downhill and he asked what I was doing and I said I was applying for one of those 0% transfer things for the credit card cos we maxxed it out with the air con. He said he had an account for me when I was about 10 that still had $500, he would transfer that to me as he said it is my money. No worries, I said.
Just then I got an email from him and he said he's transferred $4500 into DH's account to cover the balance of the air con :eek: That pays off our credit card. :eek:
I think either my bro or my mum has said something to him about how upset I was. BTW he's a millionaire, that's another reason I was so upset, like helping his only daughter out for her wedding would have been like petty cash to him. Buying his only grandchild something nice is a drop in the ocean.
Now I just have to tell DH. I don't think he'll take it very well, he's having one of his down days.
I think I'm in shock! :confused::eek:
Twitch that's f^*king awesome, why won't DH take it very well, that's what well off parents should do...help out when needed.
I just saw in another thread for you WAers with boys, sorry that someone has boxes of huggies for $20 because she bought the wrong colour. they are only crawler size so not sure if you're still in them
not much here today, swimming lessons which Max was the only one in his class so I didn't have to get in. DH is now sanding the house back so he can paint it, really dusty so all the doors are closed and it's warm in here but to dusty out there
later kids
TheMamma
01-02-2008, 14:38
Twitch - I think that you should just take it with a smile on your face! Thanks Dad! DH should be happy - shouldn't he? Is he like my DH and likes to 'do things on his own'?
Ep - DD was like this at first when we gave her toast and sanga's, but she just got used to it. They have a very good gag reflex and eventually learn to chew (teeth or no teeth!). Its worrying at first, but now I don't worry so much....Now DD loves cheese sticks, boiled carrots, banana quaters, cruskets....
JM - LOL. Don't apologise about calling me pretty - :laughing::laughing::laughing: - I NEVER get told from anywhere, so I'll take it. :laughing:
Zoeey - Where's the next installment? I'm addicted. I want to know what happens to Renee!
:wave: to all you other bewd-i-ful mummas!
Well, I am so so happy for my DH. And also that we can sell our house! Yay!
*babygirl*
01-02-2008, 14:43
:hugs:twicth i cant imagine how it would have felt when he gave so much to your brother... i say take the money because you need it and he has it... say thankyou and i think its better than than never IYKWIM... hopefully your DH will be happy about it....
twitch - as long as the $$ have no strings attached then :smiliedance:. Hope DH takes it ok.
JM - where are you?? I got my package in the mail. Thanks SOOOOOOOOOOOO much. Can't wait to try it out tomorrow morning! I might put some of your stewed apples on it or I might just eat them myself!!
Lejay - I just tried the veg sammo again and no gagging. I sat there right next to him ready to whack his back but he was fine. He LOVES vegemite!! Is your house on the market yet!!?? :thumbsup:
Think I might just have a rest before some other bubs and mums come over for some sanity time. :bee:
Here I am, I am back. OK there is some kind of strange bidding war going on with me and work so I am confused. ATM I am thinking of saying with my old employer. Anyway.....
Ep, so glad you got the package. Hope Darcy likes it!
Lejay :D
Twitch that is AWESOME.
Zooy did you get your package yet??
Tralala :wave::wave:
TheMamma
01-02-2008, 15:03
Ep - that is great about the vegemite sanga! DD loves it too - just like Mum! We have 2 agents coming out tomorrow, and one on Monday. :fingerscrossed:
Sheer Bliss
01-02-2008, 15:10
Mawnin Y'all,
JM -- change, change change... hard to convince anyone to not ask for more when they is used to getting it, and keep your options open with the old job for when Hugo starts school/kindy or such. when he's keen to get out more anyway so you are not at home twiddling your thumbs (did I say thumbs...?:laughing::o naughty thoughts in this head this morning, must be thinking about Renee/Tiffany too much lol.) oh and yes you can join the readers circle I'm keen for lots of feedback, just no-one not a may mummy 07 at Bh will be joining, that's what I've decided.
Ooh Ohh - Can I put my hand up to be a reader too!! I've not wanted to ask in case you didn't want to many - but if you don't mind, i'd love to read your work. :smiliedance:
Zooy you need to start charging.
5 bucks a read should do it :D
:laughing::laughing: Twitch - i don't mind paying. From the sounds of it, it's worth it! Go Zooy.
It is :yes:
Just spoke to DH, he is happy to take dad's cash :laughing: His exact words "Well, it's the least he can do".
I am a bit surprised cos he's one of those "I will be the one supporting my family, thanks" but it's all good.
YAY, I can go buy food! :smiliedance: :D
*babygirl*
01-02-2008, 18:16
:laughing: yay twitch... food is awesome...
speaking of awesome food... i made a stew with onion, diced beef, beef stock and rice today and baby ATE IT:smiliedance: YAY... i am so proud.. she LOVED it so i sent heaps of it off with derek tonight... so he can give it to her tonight and tomorrow. so stoked.
zooey's chapters are definately worth the read... i think SHE should pay US tho:laughing::p cause im poor.... just kidding zoo lol.
im off to the pub tonight to catch up with friends... not drinking though... im saving myself for the BIG bubhub GIRLS NIGHT OUT tomorrow:flowerz: YAY.... my hair is ready... me and elle are off to get our nails done tomorrow at two.. then home to get ready then heading out!!! im going to go buy my wine soon... dirnking red tomorrow night.
YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY
boy wrangler
01-02-2008, 18:19
:wave:Hi Zoo! I'm very intrigued by everyone wanting to read your writing! If you need another set of eyes I'll be happy to volunteer!
Twitch - yay about the money! :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance: Good to hear that DH is fine with it too!
DH is on dinner duty tonight, mmmmm he does a mean chilli con carne. It was his idea too, probably to make up for going to the motor show ALL day tomorrow, as well as having work to do on Sunday, great weekend coming up here!!!:rolleyes:
SammiJane
01-02-2008, 18:32
Babygirl... that is great to hear she ate your stew. Enjoy your nite tonight and the big meet tommorow nite.
Speaking of stews i made one for dinner last nite and had planned on putting some in the freezer for Jacob and it all got eaten:(
Twitch... woohoo food glorious food lol
Zooy... I am also very intrigued about this book too... if you want anymore eyes just let me know. I love reading..
I have just read so much i cant remember anything else:dizzy:
Oh on the vegemite sangas, jacob loves them!! i also give him a little bit of jam on bread too.
Every now and again he will choke and spit it back out and then try again...ewww
He is sick again:hair:Poor little bubba.. he had a temp of 38.9 this arvo so off to the docs and they squeezed me in. I said something about teething and got a great big lecture from the doctor.
I know i have missed heaps but dinner is going to burn if i dont go tend to it(bacon and egg burgers tonight)
Will catch up more tommorow
:hugs::hugs: To one and all
boy wrangler
01-02-2008, 18:32
Zoo, that sounded wierd - I'm not intrigued that people want to read your work, the writing is intriguing me!!!! Sorry, it sounded better in my head!
Twitch that is great news! I agree with BG, food is fantastic! You should get on it.
BG yay to Miss A eating all your yummy casserole! See it's not that she doesn't want to eat, she obviously just likes the finer things in life!!
Zooy, please send me the chapters.... PLEASE!!! You need to get this lot to do your publicity when you get it published.
Also did you end up giving SF some lentils? I have made some for H, but am wondering if it is a good idea in terms of the nappy carnage IYKWIM ( the old "poonami" as you so elegantly put it Zooy :laughing:)
Now ME - (sorry) I have decided to stay with my current employer because they have been great today and I know all their devilish ways. And that is the last I shall ever mention it! It is so great to have the work question behind me now. The best thing - I only have to work 2 days, 7.30 to 4, which is so perfect for my little family what I luff. I am so happy :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance: OK enough of that now. I will shush up about it. Thanks for listening, lovelies.
eeyorethedonkey21
01-02-2008, 18:45
twitch: yay about the food (something i need to deal with tomorrow). i reckon ur hubby realised that ur dad didnt make an effort with the wedding so its about time he did.
jm: glad to hear u've made a decision. 7.30 - 4 are long hours tho. do u get to work from home both days or do u have to go in to the office?
bg and ob: have fun at the bh meet tomorrow night. i never go to the perth dinner meets. not really into big meets like that myself.
earrrh this heat is driving me nuts :hair: :mad: i think i'm going to have to go clean my pool out again (stupid damn easterlys) so that i can go for a swim after dinner.
have a great weekend everyone. im outta here.
TheMamma
01-02-2008, 18:45
I'm glad that you are happy with your decision JM. Its always good when you feel confident you've made the right choice.
As for lentils....DD eats them often. She loves them. I add a tiny bit of curry powder (:laughing:) and some diced boiled carrots and DD just loves it. No bad nappies either.
Curry powder Lejay? How very exotic!! I will try it do you have any tips? I made some baby stock and boiled red lentils with a bay leaf until tender. Wow, so yummy I have nearly eaten it all myself :o
Eeee, yes long hours, but I will go to work at 7.30 and DH will drop H at daycare at 8.45 and I will pick him up at 4.15. So H won't be in daycare for the whole extended day (7 to 6) which is good. If over time I want to change my hours I can work half days or I can work at home if I prefer so I may get the lovely MIL to come down and look after H while I work at home. It's just really flexible and ideal for our family at the moment.
Hope you have a lovely swim and I agree with you on the heat - it's so muggy ATM!
I'm not going to the Perth meet either - all this work drama has stressed me out a bit ad also I have a friend who is having a few psych problems at the moment and that is taking up a lot of my time (which of course I don't mind, but DH is a bit *ahem*, remember us??).
How is your job hunting going?
Hi Sammi and Elsmum :wave:
eeyorethedonkey21
01-02-2008, 19:22
i go for a physical on monday for the "lollypop ladey" position not that i'll have any problems passing it. then i can send all the forms in and wait to hear back from them.
my aircon is doing absolutely nothing atm.
ok gotta go and give bubs a bath be back later tonight.
JM You wanted woman you!
E I hope you hear back quickly about the job, I hate waiting!
Hello to Sammi and Lejay and Oopsie and babygirl and Elle.
GTG - DH took A to the docs and decided to stop at Bunnings on the way home so she's way over tired and was supposed to be in bed an hour a half ago.
Ohh, Twitchy, I had this on my nipples 4 times when BF and H got it twice. A just needs drops and you need to look out for the symptoms (very pink nipples "candy pink" gross and pain like razor blades across the nipples) in yourself and treat your nipples immediately if you get it (daktarin, straight on the nipples after each feed). It makes BF excruciatingly painful if you don't catch it in time.
It may make A fussy particularly with feeds, as it may cause her some pain as the milk makes it's way past the infected part, but you should be ok. It may also cause some unexplained fussy whinging or crying as well (yep I know, great!).
Good news is she should be pretty much better within 2 days, But keep going with the drops for a little while after that as the doctor will tell you
look after yourself hon.
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:
Thanks jm. My nips are already stinging, I thought something was up :(
More fuel for everyone's "stop bf'ing fire". Why oh why do they make me tell them to stick it up their ar$es...
I know I am a crazy mumma sometimes, but please do not stop BF because of this. It is what happened to me and as you know I am still sick with regret. You give up when you and A are ready and not when anyone else tells you to.
If you do have it, it hurts for about a day and then gets better really quickly. Just take care of yourself and try not to get engorged (believe me, you don't even want to hear my thrush with mastitis story, it's really disgusting and definitely TMI :barf:).
Do you have a pump? You might need it for one or two feeds if you do have thrush.
I'm bored. Dh is watching the cricket. I suppose it's almost over...
twitch - sounds like Jm has some good advice on the thrush. I hope it goes away really soon.
Jm - great news about the job. Keep us posted regularly OK on how it is all going.
Lejay - I might have to try some curry myself!
Ee - it's muggy here to atm. yuk! My hair goes wild and my thongs stick to my feet.
everyone else :wave: it's the weekend :smiliedance:
:laughing::laughing::laughing: Ep, there's another innings to go....
mummajuice
01-02-2008, 22:14
Oh. My. God.
You ladies crack me up. I'm offline for 24hrs and there's another bajillion posts on here. I was reading through all the pages (while DH was huffing and puffing at me cause he was waiting on me to come DTD - sorry TMI) and I was thinking of all my replies and personals, but then the whole thread evolves and I lose it all!!
So here's what I think:-
WA Girls: I can't believe how hot it is over there. You should all move to Brisbane (but bring your own water :laughing:)
Twitch: :hugs: do what you feel is best. I have no idea except I've heard to flash your funbags for 5 mins every morning to get the sunlight onto your nip-lays.
eeyore: good luck with the job. Lollypop lady - woot woot!! You'll do great :D
I'm feeling a little better today. Went to mothers group and getting out of the house put my head in a better place. After this I'm planning a long chat with my angel cards to try and see if anyone has any messages for me.
Has anyone else's bubbas found their "bits" yet?? Ebs noticed hers about 2 months ago and never leaves it alone. DH is traumatised.
ZooKeeper
01-02-2008, 22:51
Hi Y'all,
I'll do personals foist & moi later...
JM -- check your email lovely -- all 3 existing chapters are there for ya, along with a forward of tonight's el loca salvo which I'd 'preciate a reality check on. GAWD why won't she just go and bother someone who is an actual antisocial force for evil i wonder :rolleyes:. don't greenies have better things to do than bother mungbeans like me? and yes, have tried lentils on the Starfish & they went down & thru fine. reckon I'm blessed with a bub who can eat anything bar wheat, milk proteins or artificial anythings, without making seriously nasty nappies. nice and tidy (albeit whiffy) every time.
ElsMum, Sammi & Tan -- PM me an email addy & I'll zap you the three chapters that are done. any May Mumma I'll be glad to share it with :)
Everyone reading Renee -- number four got started today, and should be done Sunday. got dh to buy me a cr@ppy gossip mag so my jokes are up to date lol.
Twitch -- bout time your dad showed signs of life on the $ front. YAY to your DH for being sensible about it. now you can REALLY enjoy the aircon!:D with food too, luxo! I'm off food shopping tomorrow & YAY back on parenting (get about half a usual pay of it based on DH's earnings) so I am going to be buying lotsa nice tucker. eat natural bug-containing yoghurt for thrush. you can also use it as a poultice, if you can stand it. and try some chamomile tea as a boob-wash, its an anti-fungal and anti-bacterial too. nice for bub too. calming smell for her.
BG (got it right this time):o -- do you want some recipes for bubba fod she might like, can email you some Zooy creations that starfish has been enjoying. YAY to Lily for eating.
MummaJuice -- getting out is such good value, and I am glad you are feeling a bit better. hope you get some sunshiney stuff soon too.:hugs:
Lejay -- hope you get a great offer for the house soon and #2 comes along nice and quick (but after the holiday of course :D)
OB -- have fun with your sis tomorrow
EE -- enjoy your pool!
AuntyEp -- has the call come?
and that's all I can recall right now as it's getting late.
Starfish did TWO big naps today and is so far only woken once for her 11.30 dreamfeed YAY, might get a bit of sleep tonight. Tried her on a baby-fist sized piece of roast lamb leftover thinking she'd just suck on it, but she ended up chewing half of it up and swallowing it, mumma hovering nervously recalling every scene in a movie where someone chokes on a piece of steak and needs the heimlich manouvre. she probably would have finsihed it but cowardly moi decided it was too scary for me and replaced it with nicely chopped lamb and vegies, which she loved.
has anyone tried bub on egg yet??? I keep thinking eight months is eggsville but not sure. and anyone got an idea of what I can substitue for bread aside frm corn cruskits given wheat if I eat it makes her excema flare and the one time I gave her a teeny bit of rye bread with 30 per cent wheat that was homemade, she got colic and severe excema flare??? I soooo want the option of sandwiches or something like that for her. maybe she'll grow out of it, but hard on both of us testing to see.
and why oh why won't el loca just leave us alone..... so over it. so hard to keep not retaliating, responding, or just generally giving energy directly back at her in some way. all very well this "vengeance is mine sayeth the lord' approach I'm taking, but I wish the Lord would bloody well hurry up and kill her email and phone or something.
New pic of bub (http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s189/Ellefreya/100_3041.jpg) yesterday at the BH meet.:)
Hi everyone:wave:.... Just poppin' in to say G'day!!!
I know.... I'm a snob..... Again......
*hangs head in shame*
Time for bed so I'll read as much as i can and get back to ya.... PROMISE!!!!:yes::D:sleeping:
SammiJane
02-02-2008, 07:05
Oneblessing .... he is very cute!!!
Twitch ... I hope A gets better soon for you :hugs:
Zooey... I have tried Jacob on eggs already and he loves them. I dont give him alot though. I will pm you soon:thumbsup:
Hi to everyone else... thinking of you all... Just jumped on here quickly while the boy is happy and the bigger ones are in bed.
:hair:Its raining again here... we need it to be fine so we can finish our pool..arghhhh
morning ladies
Just a quickie, A is in a baaaad mood :devil6: Last night DH took her to the docs then decided to stop at Bunnings so she went to bed 1.5hr late and woke up every 2 hours last night.
JM you are def right about when they go to bed tired they wake up more often. I feel "normal" today, like yesterday I was well rested and felt so tired. Thank you so much for the tips on thrush, I feel so sorry for my poor bubs. And you, you poor thing. Sounds like you and BG have very similar bf'ing stories in that you both had to stop for very legitimate reasons but are beating yourselves up over it. When do you go back to work?
Zooy now that we're all cashed up I will go buy some natural yoghurt. Do you think I can give it to A? So glad Starfish had some great naps for you yesterday, they are usually in a much better mood when they're reasted (as is mummy). A loves meat as well, I wasn't going to give it to her til she was a bit older but she'll go a piece of steak no worries. I haven't given her egg cos my bro is very allergic so I want to be careful about that.
Speaking of which, my mum gave A one of those cans of custard *shudder* and of course she loved it. Does anyone have a recipe for a baby custard without too much sugar or eggs?
Remember my friend who had the baby who got burnt? Well she does all these things with this baby that I just don't agree with, but hey it's her baby. Anyway she started her on solids at 3 months, she told me yesterday. Apparently the baby eats 5 cans of Heinz a day :eek: I posted her a copy of my baby recipe book (no, not recipe's with babies IN them, recipes FOR babies, silly) thinking that if she's got her on solids she may as well give her something other than canned sh!te. She rang me up and said thanks but no thanks. The baby will only eat canned food. Yeah right. I may be naive but has anyone ever heard of a baby that will only eat canned food?
Just put missy to bed, poor thing is knackered.
Elle that pic is so cute! He is a handsome little man isn't he? He is a gorgeous baby and he's really growing up, like you an sort of tell what he'll look like when he's older. What a lady killer.
Sammi Hope you have a fab day, here's some stop-rain vibes :goodvibes::D
Oohh that Avril Lavigne video clip is on, I love it.
Essjay helloooo :wave:
Elsmum hope you guys are great.
DH is working today so yes, I am a tad bored. I found this instant messenger thing - more stff for me to be addicted to :rolleyes:
jacks mum
02-02-2008, 09:25
Well guess where I'm going today..............Harbour Day Spa for:Aromatherapy massage, Bath soak, Facial and eye treatment, Pedicure, Thai Shampoo and Blow Dry (not sure what's Thai about it, maybe noodles or chilli?), light make up and champagne lunch.
Mum and I are going aaaahhhh counting down the time.
Have a great day ladies, post personals later.
Sheer Bliss
02-02-2008, 11:37
JM - glad you have got everything sorted out with work. Sometimes it really is 'better the devil you know'! At least you will have that comfort now.
Twitch - glad your DH is happy to take the money! Ouchies to you & poor Anna with the thrush. :fingerscrossed: It clears up very quickly.
Sammi - poor bubba having the high temps again - get well vibes coming your way :goodvibes:
Nick has had a few things with a little curry powder & garlic in them, and his nappies were no worse than usual! I figure it's good to et him used to the food we eat. Some nights he is eating what we are eating now - risottos, soups & casseroles. Might try him on some pasta soon.
Egg - it is meant to be 12months for egg white, but 9months for the yolk. Some people say you can't really separate them properly, but i would hard boil the odd egg for DD, then take the yolk out that way & give to her. Haven't tried it with Nick yet. It is a high allergen, so just go very slowly.
eeyore - good luck with the physical - hope you get a lollipop lady job soon!
Aunty Ep - it's muggy here too - nice hot days followed by rain the next. Today it was sunny this morning, then it just rained so it's all evaporating & getting all sticky again - YUK.
mamajuice - i think we should all move to Brisvagas!! Maybe start up our own may mums home, sorta like an old peoples home where we have our own separate villas, but can chat any time. LOL. Nick isn't too fussed on his 'bits' yet, but my almost 3yo plays with hers enough to take his share anyway.
Zooey - YAY for starfish & her good sleeps yesterday!! Nick loves chewing on a piece of beef or lamb too - but it is a bit scary for mummy.
OB - Kaid has grown up so much - but he is still a little stunner! Very cute pic.
essjay - you are still alive? :laughing: Just kidding. Good to hear from you. How are you going with solids? We started nick on wheat at 9months, and things are going well so far. At least i can give him bread to chew now, no more slaving away making wheat free rusks for him. (i am sooo lazy)
Twitch - It wouldn't surprise me that the bubs isn't fussed on fresh food - if all she's ever known is the tinned stuff - fresh food would be like a taste explosion for her. BUT she would probably get used to it & really enjoy it if her mother gave it a try!
Did i mention that i finally watched pirates 3 yesterday....OMG Orlando bloom is sooo hot, and even better towards the end - I can't get that image out of my head *fans herself to try & calm down* Sorry if i am repeating myself - but he is just so good!!!
02-02-2008, 11:43
I can't keep up with you guys :crying:
Ladies, we are having some rather large breast refusal issues here.
Do you think it's the thrush? She is pulling off and crying, pushing away... yet she inhaled her sippy cup of water :(
Yes Twitch that's right in my experience. Hang on will get penelope and come back
OK, Penelope Leach says in "Your Baby and Child" (page 149) under the section "resisting the breast" that "an infection such as thrush may be making your baby's mouth sore".
It's really normal. If she won't take milk, can you express of an give it to her in a sippy?
Can you express? Otherwise you are going to get sore and your supply can go down a bit.
The thrush, as it works it's way through, can also cause a really sore bottom.
HTH
Yeah I'm gonna have to express. I'll be in Mandurah all day tomorrow with her, I hope everythings ok down there cos I can't exactly express in front of my grandma.
Is there anything else I can do for her thrush? It looks like it's getting worse. She's had Nilstat drops today.
Can you give her some yoghurt? The AB cultures may help.
Also, how many times a day are you giving the drops? I think Hugo had the drops a few times a day (3 or 4, can't quite remember).
Is it bad enough to take her back to the doctor? Might be best, or take her to the chemist, if she is still getting worse.
It's not bad enough to go back to the docs, it's just worse than yesterday. I've given her some yoghurt today, she has the drops 4 times a day and the docs said to put some directly onto her tongue with a cotton swab, which she hates. If it's not looking better tomorrow I might take her to the chemist. I threw away her dummies too and bought some new clean ones which I am sterilising the life out of. She is SO grizzly though, she hasn't stopped whinging all day. All the info I've read says it shouldn't cause them much discomfort. Maybe it's cos she had a bad night last night too.
Yeah but all the info out there says that teething is a myth too. It does make them grumpy and unsettled - I've been there and you are not imagining it.
I also meant to say try to avoid fruit too - as you don't want to give the thrush too much sugar to feed on.
Cr@p, I am giving advice again and this is exactly what I said I wouldn't do after the Lady. Just please don't tell your DH it's me you're talking to again :o
Ha ha you crack me up! I appreciate your advice!
I made her that apple recipe today :doh: Ah well, I'll just have to eat it
SammiJane
02-02-2008, 16:48
Justmum... i was told the same thing about fruit... you can actually over do it... just ask me:o
Twitch... i really hope she gets better for you soon:goodvibes:
I got a lovely lecture from the doc yesterday about teething and that its all a load of cr@p.
But then i spoke to a good friend of mine who is a middie and he said there are symptoms of teething:dizzy:
One minute i think Jacob is getter better then he gets worse again... poor bubba... we have a 40th to go to tonight, he is supposed to be going to his grandmas...
Cool, I'll freeze it all.
Yeah A defintely goes berserk when she cuts a tooth. At first I just thought she was in a bad mood, but afterr about the 5th tooth, I could tell when 6, 7 and 8 were cutting through. She just changes.
She's only had 2 x 20 minute sleeps today, plus she was up a lot last night. I feel so sorry for her. I wish there was something else I could do. I was reading another thread and they said to give them a flannel to suck on with 9:1 vinegar and water. What do you reckon?
She's awake again, that's her third 20 minute sleep today :thumbsdown:
SammiJane
02-02-2008, 17:08
Jacob went through a stage of sleeping like that too Twitch.
Never heard of that one.. with the flannel
When i know its teething i use sm 33 gel and his mood changes in no time...
OK time to go feed the boy some veges...
He has gone right off his bottles:hair:
boy wrangler
02-02-2008, 17:56
Holy Sh!te!!! gone for 24 hrs and look what happens! All these pages to catch up on.
Teething being a myth is a load! I can totally tell when el is cutting a new tooth, he's sooky and cranky and just wants to be held ALL the time. He only sleeps during the day for 15-20 minute stints and chews on everything. Some drs don't live in real world! One dr I went to told me that if I didn't get back to my pre-pregnancy weight within 6 months then I never would because she read that if you don't after the first you never will. She then asked how much I weighed etc and told me that I needed to join a gym with free child care to lose 3kg! I never went back to her again! Oh, before I left though I told her that I used to weigh 20kg more than I did at my heaviest pregnancy weight, and I was pretty happy with how much I weighed etc so she could mind her own business!:smiliedance:
Twitch, I hope A is feeling better soon! I always feel so sad for them when they're sick, they feel **** and have no idea why. I think expressing & a sippy is a great idea, bfing is too important to stop for this reason, unless it gets really bad.
Zoo, I'll pm you now! I'm so excited, I've almost finished my book and don't have another to start yet! Have you given starfish rice cakes? A little guy we go the mothers group with is wheat intolerant & he has them with vegemite, avo, cream cheese and LOVES them!
Hope everyone else is good, there's too much to remember! I should start to take notes while I'm reading!
Twitch hadn't heard about the vinegar and flannel thing. Mightn't it sting the thrushy bits a bit, kind of like pouring lemon juice on a cut? Then again it might kill the bugs. I'm not sure?? :confused:
Sheer Bliss
02-02-2008, 19:08
Twitch - :hugs: I hope all the yoghurt & drops start working thier magic soon. Maybe it is all geting worse today as it starts to heal, so :fingerscrossed: tomorrow will start to improve it all? I don't have any advice sorry. The only thing i remember hearing is to keep treating both you & bubs for a few days after the last one of you heals, to prevent re-infecting each other.
As for the teething stuff - i think some babies have very little 'symptoms' but others had heaps! DD was older when she cut her teeth, and had very little problems with them, but friends bubs who got them when still little all had issues. My CHN explained her interpretation of it very well. She said teething itself causes no high temps or irritability etc in bubs, BUT when they are cutting teeth, their bodies are working overtime, plus the open 'cut' where the tooth pops through all makes them extremely vunerable to all the bacteria etc in the air. Those things will then cause the high temps, and general crankiness etc that comes with teething. So she said although teething is not the direct cause, it is the indirect cause. Hence why dr's say teething itself doesn't have symptoms, but the things they catch when teething, no matter how small, DO cause those symptoms. I am hoping that is Nick prob at the moment! He is being such a crankipants, not sleeping well, clingy etc. But since he has no teeth yet, I have nothing to compare it too! :hair:
It is still a bit warm here, and i have a headache - might go off to take some panadol soon. Hopefully Nick will wake for a feed very soon & i'll wait & take it after i have fed him. Have a good night guys! :flowerz:
Is there anyone about tonight????
**tumbleweed blows past**
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 20:37
Hi Y'all,
well everyone who has asked for Renee should check their emails cause she's there now & Twitch & Lejay have sent you more (so everyone has up to 3 I think, JM did you get 3 at once?)
have next bit mapped in my scone & started, tomorrow plan on getting to it during naptime :smiliedance:
Twitch -- hope that yogurt helped & A sleeps better tonight. We've worked out it's been my stress levels making poor starfish restless, another shocker last night. FOUR weeks only to go & I am out of community work & we can both get better sleep.
JM -- you are a dear lady, don't stop with advice, you give good advice, we all love you :hugs:BTW got you some amaranth for H today will be mailing it late in the week with those seeds, your parcel's not here yet but takes ages for mail to get from there, to sydney, then up here, then out here.
Tan -- hope your headache goes away -- you can try rosemary (herb as a inhalant -- brew in boiling water & sniff) or oil on the temples, works good. but not if PG, it's a M/C risk.
where's everyone else tonight, off having what's known as a LIFE I guess. hope BG & OB had fun at the gold coast mum's meet.
the fish & I went to town today, and had picnic lunch in the office at DH's satdy job (an antique shop) then did target (sale on baby clothes) then woolies. no wonder i have such a good imagination, the facts are purty dull :laughing:
love youse all
Zooy
(might check in later or have an early one for a change)
:sleeping:
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 20:38
yep JM I'm here, just noticed u are too.... :wave:
YAY ZOOY is here!! :smiliedance::smiliedance:
This silly dancing smilies look like H when he dances. So funny :laughing:
Yes Zooy, I got all 3 chapters. I am reading them right now, along with your other email about la loca. Boy oh boy is that lady a drain on you. Hon, I really think you are WAY too compassionate and these people latch on - IYKWIM?? It's sometimes it's like these people who need compassion and help latch onto those who are kind and caring and just suck them dry. *Ahem* sorry I'll get off the soapbox.
If SF is picking up on your stress, then my little package may help you :yelclap: - it was meant for the next time you get rained in, but it may help whenever now. Oooh, I am so terrible at keeping secrets.
So kind re the amaranth. I have eaten it before - the ancient grain. It is yummy and full of protein.
Have you managed to start getting a few meals in for yourself too? I remember you were having some troubles with Princess SF not letting you eat in her general vicinity. has this improved for you?
Is anypne else going to play with us tonight?
I'm here for a little bit. A keeps waking up
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 20:59
Hi love,
goodie you are still here! you are SO right about me letting people 'lock on' and I have been working up to that kinda "NO MORE" that I really need to say for months now and have been practising on DH and his crummy friends.
nope, still have no idea what's in your parcel, but I'm really excited now :smiliedance:
and yes the eating is gettng heaps better, little princess fish (love that, sounds like a Disney character) is getting a lot more interesting stuff and mumma eats what she doesn't of the bubba food plus mumma food. tonight was bolognaise polenta for her, and she almost finished the bowl I made for her but left me a little at the end.:laughing: so I'm eating more often and hope to have MORE zooy soon.
isn't amaranth just amazing? I was just so pleasantly suprised to see it in our redneck local town's supermarket, which has a health food sction (cough cough) that's all of TWO shelves. it's BEEF country here. they even have a Beef Week, no kidding. with guys in big hats and whip cracking and cow pat throwing and all that fun stuff. oh it truly is oz-tray-lee-ahnah. it's actually a nice town to trot about with a bub tho as people there love bubbas and mummas, and starfish always gets heaps of compliments, which makes me feel good. she's so into people, she just loves them, meets everyone's eyes, and sings away in the trolley as we do the shopping. (LAH, lah, lah, LAHHHHH kinda thing) it cracks me up.:p
how's yr fellas tonight?
Sorry to hear that Twitch. H is unsettled too - the weather might be contributing. I am self medicating with a cold glass of white wine. Lots of ice. Just one. Bottle. No just kidding. I wish.
Ya booze hag JM.
Zooy glad to here the princess is eating some of your delish cooking.
Zooy the latin love is laid up with man gastro (i.e a slight case of runs that is no doubt salmonella... :laughing::laughing:).
H is a bit wakeful cause of the weather, me thinks. We were expecting a thunderstorm today that didn't happen and it's all just sort of looming about feeling close.
It does feel like there's a storm brewing. DH has to finish off his cashie tomorrow, poor bugger.
Do you think one glass makes me an alcho? there was a post on this issue last night and it got me thinking..... and drinking :D
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 21:06
TWITCH! you're here too! now I feel like I'm having a saturday night afterall. maybe A is waking up because with the breast refusal she does not have the usual level of tryptophans in her? maybe try some lavender oil in her room, just wipe a cotton ball with it on on the wall next to the cot, or on the edge of the cot mattress where she can't reach it?
starfish was up for five hours before she went to bed tonight, only woke up 20 minutes later for a top up and then has been sound asleep since. can only hope it lasts and I only get a couple of wakes tonight. really did not feel too safe driving today (38km or therabouts to get to town and same back plus the driving in town bit, which being after midday actually it's at least quiet as it's one of those towns that only a few shops are open after 12 on saturday, which I like when i"m this tired)
hey do either of your bubs have a comfort blankie yet? the fish has adopted a mauve muslin as her comfort blankie, clutches it for naps and night sleeps both... I think the colour makes her happy? worried tho as muslin aint so durable, so managed to find a new spare exactly the same today. now just have to make it smell like the other one, which I've been too scared to wash all week in case I jinxed her naps.:o
I installed that windows live messenger thing today, like instant messaging. I've sent you emails but you gotta install it. Might be a good idea if we all install it, makes chatting heaps faster, we can now have 6 pages in the time it would take us to do 3! :D
One glass? Good lord no. I would have been signed, sealed and delivered to AA's doorstep years ago!
No bunny rug but H has this pink fluffy duck that he loves. It goes everywhere with him and he sleeps with it. I had better not lose it....
Zooy, Anna has a cuddly teddy. We call him Cuddly. How original. She won't sleep without him.
She is waking up to have the dummy put back in again :hair: I had 3 good nights of 10 hours stints but she's gone backwards now.
OK Twitch. Did you send it?
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 21:12
JM -- nahhh, one glass means you are following modern medicine's advice for avoiding heart attacks and strokes. have you tried some wattle gum on the latin love? it's a great binder. think we talked about it before when h was crook.
boy arent men pathetic when they are slightly off colour at all? DH is just a complete woose about any kind of illness, and if he gets les than eight hours sleep because he was up watching DVDs you'd think he'd dealt with a teething bubba all night for months on end.
Twitch -- at least a cashie is just that, but my Dh grumbles about them all the time (I keep offering to swap roles and get him some working boobs but he is suprisingly uninterested :laughing: bet there are femmo scientists working on it somwhere!)
we've got stormy weather here too -- humid and hot-cold-hot-cold- rain -- sun-- rain -- and so muggy and mozzified. Autumn will be so nice.
The IM thing? Yeah I emailed you. I think. I am a bit new at it :o
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 21:14
do you need a fast server or broadband for instant messaging? I tried to install MSN once and it was just all too complicated for me and I gave up. and I have a REALLY slow server, it's bigpond, but a BIG STILL pond. our phone exchange is very small, i think that's part of it.
ZooKeeper
02-02-2008, 21:16
BTW Twitch, loving that new pic of A, she looks like she was having an opinion on something for sure in that one. strong person there I reckon.