View Full Version : Some info on Coomera , Nerang ,Pacific Pines ??
LovingMumOf3
29-01-2008, 21:42
Hi all:wave:.
DH and I are moving to Qld in 10 weeks and had planned on moving to Toowoomba.
Today DH rang about a job and found out that it's based in Yatala.The money is really good and the guy seemed pretty impressed with DHs work history.
Before we decide if we'll do it or not I was hoping that some of you may be able to tell me what the above areas are like.We've been checking out rental properties but I'd love to know from people that live in or near these areas what they're really like.
Any information would be fabulous.
Thanks in advance girls.
Have a great night.:)
mum_I'm_hungry
29-01-2008, 21:49
We used to live at Pac Poines and it was okay. There's a huge park with quite fancy playground equipment, a fake lake (of course -- there's always a fake lake with terrorised ducks!) and we could walk to the shops and to my daughter's daycare etc.. It was a handy place to live if you only have one car. It was a bit feral at times (once had a water bomb thrown at me from a car as I walked my daughter home in her pram) and people really let their kids off their leashes (would terrorise the ducks and once found out they'd pretty much stoned a magpie to death) and most of the population would go nuts on Friday arvo (TGIF). Apart from that, it was okay. Geez, doesn't sound too great now, does it? It was all right. Nerang and Coomera are okay as well. Not flash, but not exactly downmarket. Just okay. Out of the three, I would opt for the Poines. If you like Kath & Kim, it will at least give you a laugh from time to time! ;)
LovingMumOf3
30-01-2008, 07:55
:eek: Now I'm not sure about moving there.
i want to go somewhere that's safe for our kiddies.
mum_I'm_hungry
30-01-2008, 08:27
Safety-wise, I would say that it is fine. Just not all that genteel. The only safety aspect we really worried about was that my husband stopped jogging when it was dark. And that was mainly because of poor dog control than anything and a few yahoos who would yell from their cars at him (though everyone does this on the Gold Coast it's a bit LA in that 'walk? what's that?' way! People were shocked that I would walk my daughter 15 mins home from daycare!).
We live in Pimpama in a beautiful new estate. We have only been here 4 -5 mths now and in that time both of our neighbors have been broken into. We really like it here but we have decided it isn't the place we want to raise our kids in.
We are so sick of all the crime that happens on the Gold Coast, not only do you hear about it all the time but you see it all the time to. I was coming home from the shops the other day and on the side of the road was 5 cop cars and they were chasing 2 teenagers who had done god only knows what. Everyday you see different cars on the side of the roads all smashed in etc.
My DS1 starts school next year so we will be moving north somewhere before then.
Jacob Ridges Estate at Ormeau is another really nice estate and it is a bit more north, I am not sure what that is like tho. It is alot closer to Yatala aswell. I would check that out as well.
Good luck with what ever you choose.
mum_I'm_hungry
30-01-2008, 09:40
I have heard Ormeau is quite nice, too. I think it is closer to Yatala? Personally, I don't really understand the Gold Coast boom. When you live out at Pac Pines, it's not really like living near the beach or anything. It's a good 20 minute drive! If I had to move down that way again, I would move further south -- Mudgeeraba, Robina etc.. It feels a bit quieter down there -- a little more peaceful.
We live in Ormeau just on the border of Jacobs Ridge. It is so nice up here. We love that we are sort of rural but still close enough to everything. We are only 1/2 hour from Brisbane and 1/2 hour from the centre of the Coast. There are lovely parks/playgrounds and walking tracks around here too. There is an IGA & Coles nearby, video store, chemist, doctors, daycare, takeaways, liquor stores etc, but we are about 15 mins from Hyperdome or Westfield Helensvale. All depends really on how close you need to be to the shops etc and how much you can spend on rent, and what is available at the time you're looking. There are a few for rent around here at the moment.
Good luck with whatever decision you make. We have been here almost 2 yrs from NZ and have loved every minute of it.
LovingMumOf3
30-01-2008, 10:26
I'm so glad I asked girls.Thanks for the replies.
I'm definately thinking that it's a big no:no: as far as Coomera , Nerang and Pacific pines goes.
The Gold coast I think will be a little too crazy for us.I want to be in a place where I can walk my children to and from school and enjoy to outdoors without any problems form bored young people and free roaming dogs mumI'm hungry.
Devon Jack's Mummy...sounds like you have found the perfect place for you:yelclap:. It sounds really nice.
We will keep searching.
Thanks again fellow bubhubbians. Your great:thumbsup:
mum_I'm_hungry
30-01-2008, 10:30
No worries. Hopefully some other people will join in and give you their opinion. I don't want to sway you if it's just me! We're in Brissie now and I think it is much less frantic up here. I lived in Toowoomba for a year about seven years ago and quite liked it. It was still very country then, but I'm sure that's probably changed now...
Good luck with your job/house hunting! :wave:
LovingMumOf3
30-01-2008, 10:43
It's not you who is swaying me mum_I'm_hungry.
I'm really grateful for the input from everyone and it seems that from the info these areas aren't really going to suit us too well.
I'm checking out the Redland Bay area,hopefully it wont be too long a drive for Dh to get to Yatala.
Tristans_Mum
30-01-2008, 11:52
I live in a newish estate in Upper Commera and i love it. Its close to schools, shops and parks.
I wouldnt wanna be anywhere else right now.
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 12:26
:wave: i live in nerang... but i live out the back in acerage where we are pretty safe... it is a pretty expensive area and i havent heard anything about crime in this area... i definately feel safe... like all suburbs there are certain 'streets' to stay away from... and other streets that are really nice.... but its like that everywhere...
Personally I think that Upper Coomera, Pacific Pines and Ormeau are great suburbs for children. I think it is very safe and alot more quiet then anywhere else on the coast.
I think there is nothing wrong with the suburbs you mentioned. You are always going to have crime in nice areas as why would criminals break into places that have nothing nice to steal. I would rather live in an established estate rather than a new one as you dont who will be moving in.
sandy_1902
30-01-2008, 13:08
i love Nerang and all.. but IMO its not a very good place to raise kids its very umm Teenage kids drinking durning they day.. not in public but they go somehwere people cant see them
graffiti etc.
Its nice and central and stuff.. but you dont always feel 'safe' if you get me
Unlike baby girl i dont live out back lol i live kinda central... near where most of the 'gang' 'nerang' boys live, its a nice area but they make it bad
Hi There :wave:
We live in an estate in Upper Coomera at Sommerton Ridge and find it to be a really great area that is safe to raise children in. I also personally think the other areas mentioned are safe and good enough to raise children in, I think no matter where you go there is always someone with a different opinion but you will find that these areas are very nice overall.
Hope that helps
I think they're great areas. I wouldn't walk at night without my husband here (pac pines/oxenford) or anywhere on the GC. There's no more crime here than anywhere else. There are heaps of young families around the northern GC. It's half way between the beach and Yatala.
We almost moved to Nerang and the only reason we're glad we didn't is because the traffic is always really bad through there on the M1 in the afternoons.
:wave: i live in nerang... but i live out the back in acerage where we are pretty safe... it is a pretty expensive area and i havent heard anything about crime in this area... i definately feel safe... like all suburbs there are certain 'streets' to stay away from... and other streets that are really nice.... but its like that everywhere...
What Tash said :)
Im a Nerang-ite... we love it out here, where we moved from in Robina used to be safe... now it's actually getting worse.
All suburbs have their good and bad traits.
Personally I would never live in Nerang.It has just been named in the top 5 worst areas in qld for crime:thumbsdown:
And some guy just got shot point blank there at a family BBQ.Nice.
Yeah, but they caught him in Runaway Bay - he didn't even live in Nerang. So does that make the suburb he did live in bad too?
Seriously, ALL suburbs on the Coast have their bad areas. Mermaid Beach, Labrador, Southport and Palm Beach have the highest thefts for cars on the Coast.
Oh and by the way, the shooting on Monday afternoon, was love triangle related, not becuase of where they live either or crime related... could have happened anywhere.
Can I have the link or source where it names Nerang in the Top 5, Chels? Will be interested to read it.
*babygirl*
30-01-2008, 19:34
i still say it depends on what street.... sorry if anyone lives in the street where the shooting was (i knew the family, went to school with their kids) that street IS one of the bad ones... low socio-economic families and some of the 'bad' kids that grew up around the streets.... but there are people living in EVERY suburb who attract bad attention... and i agree with wyatts mum... it was a result of a love triangle the man didnt LIVE in nerang.
I don't think it is streets or suburbs it is just bad people and bad people are unfortunately everywhere. Last year a friend of mine was murdered by another (now ex) friend of mine in Nerang. Was that because it was a bad area? No. It was because of a bad person.
But as I said in my previous post I think those areas are great for raising children. :thumbsup:
sandy_1902
30-01-2008, 19:49
I agree with tash n WyattsMama
Take all the 'bad' people out of nerang or any where really and it would be a really nice place to live
I have lived in Pac Pines and loved it there:yes:
I have lived in Upper Coomera and I love it here!:yes:
And I know where Bep lives in Nerang and its a beautiful area! Infact Bep, we looked around your area to buy, my god its going off! Totally out of our price range now hun:( Which I bet is a great thing for you guys hun:thumbsup:
So yeah, I probably havent helped much but all the areas your looking in are nice. Good Luck choosing!
LovingMumOf3
31-01-2008, 07:39
Good morning girls.:)
Thankyou all for posting here.It's really interesting reading peoples different opinions on the areas and I guess it all comes down to what you want out of an area and also how you perceive things yourself.
DH and I talked about it last night and decided that we will be moving in the Redland Shire area.Not to far from work for him but also more opportunities there if he wants to look fo something else.
I will also be living a bit closer to my Aunty :yelclap:and DD & DS will get to see my cousins children a bit more as well which will be lovely.
Just want to let you girls know that you're fabulous :yes:.
Thanks heaps.
Deb x:flowerz:
Hi Deb,
So glad you decided on a place, I wish you and your DH all the best with your move and hope you settle in well.
BTW - with the shooting on Monday the person that committed the crime is an employee of my DH's company on the Gold Coast and had nothing to do with the area in which he was raised in and lived, it's a very complicated story but I can say that the area in which he lived did not impact his decision to commit the crime.
LovingMumOf3
31-01-2008, 16:09
Hi Deb,
So glad you decided on a place, I wish you and your DH all the best with your move and hope you settle in well.
Thanks for the good wishes darl. Now I just have to contain these itchy feet until April(I'm itchin' to go!!):yes:
BTW - with the shooting on Monday the person that committed the crime is an employee of my DH's company on the Gold Coast and had nothing to do with the area in which he was raised in and lived, it's a very complicated story but I can say that the area in which he lived did not impact his decision to commit the crime.
I don't really know what happened but it sounds like it was a really sad situation made worse by the fact that someone resorted to such an extreme action.I feel for the families.
No problems Deb, I bet you are excited, at least you have a bit of time to pack and get organised.
Yes, I too feel very sad for the families involved.
Best of luck!
TwinmumJC
12-02-2008, 16:16
:flowerz:Hi there - Although you've had some negative feedback about Pac Pines /Coomera area...I just wanted to give you another perspective (I know this is an old thread though).
We have recently moved to Pac Pines from lovely NZ and we love it. It is really family-friendly with everything already set up (doctors, schools - including a brand new one opened in Jan, shops and parks). There is a lot of building going on in these areas and so loads of new families are arriving weekly into their newly built homes. It is close to the best of the coast (beaches, markets, good colleges, shopping malls) and yet still an easy commute north (my hubby commutes to Bris)
I have found the area to be friendly, vibrant and entirely safe. I've walked around with my toddlers and have never felt intimidated or threatened. Daycare, parks and supermarket staff have been helpful and open.
I guess by now you may have found an alternative address but I just wanted you to have an up to date opinion.
Best of luck with your move.
HI Just wanted to add I live in Coomera, and I love it here. I've lived in melbourne and brisbane and I love the area of coomera. I live near leanne, (Jorbai) and the area is lovely. most people own their homes or have young families in coomera.
BTW my husband does insurance work on houses, and the three areas for break-ins are south of gc, rather than coomera etc for crime.