View Full Version : How Green Are You?
bubhub
29-01-2008, 03:06 PM
In this changing world we live in, we can all do our bit to change the outcome for our planet. But how are we really doing?
Are we really pulling our weight, or is it all a bit of lip service?
Let us know what you are doing to green-up your world.
WitchHazel
29-01-2008, 03:19 PM
I like to think I'm doing my bit, but I know I could be doing a bit more. I use cloth nappies, and we're building a house that's run predominantly on tank water. We use tank water to flush toilets, wash clothes and water the garden. Our garden is mostly drought-resistant plants, so it doesn't require much water anyway.
Also, we have solar hot water, and we plan to use the energy-saving downlight bulbs. Lately I've been trying to reduce the amount of packaging I consume, but it is very hard to do!
I could do a lot more I guess (like use public transport), but I'm not inner-city so public transport around my area is pretty awful.
phineas
29-01-2008, 03:23 PM
I like to think I'm actively doing a fair bit :yes:
I guess the main things I do, is I use cloth nappies and sanitary items, I do not have and will not get air conditioning installed, I very rarely use my tumble dryer (a few times a year).
Those are the things I feel I do actively, because my life sure would be a hell of a lot easier and more comfortable if I didn't do those things! :laughing:
mastermum12345
29-01-2008, 03:52 PM
Slowly getting my "inner green" on ;)
SorenLorensen
29-01-2008, 03:57 PM
I try most of the time, but could be better
punkbaby
29-01-2008, 03:58 PM
I like to think i am trying no water pretty much goes down my sink it goes on the garden, i use cloth, i use safe cleaning products as much as i can. All my clothes are dried on the line, i do have a clothes dryer but its rarely used. i recycle ( i am so particular about this and always separate my rubbish) I have a nearly established vegie garden to :) (not that that is environmentally freindly) I use calico bags for shopping.
I would like to do more but sadly in this world everything comes in a packet so its a little hard to do more at the moment. Ohh i walk nearly everywhere unless its at night or shopping. I request all my bills are sent online to save paper too :)
Duchessa
29-01-2008, 04:11 PM
Green enough to know the slogan is "Reduce, reuse, recycle" with an added "repair" sometimes ;)
canberramomma
29-01-2008, 04:14 PM
I use cloth. Recycle the bathwater into the washing machine and then to the garden. Use natural products. Use a cup for AF. Grow my own food or purchase from Farmers Markets where possible. Have chooks. Make as much as possible from scratch to reduce packaging/transport costs. Have a worm farm. Walk the kids to and from school. Use green energy. Have a carbon offset for my vehicle. Donate to green groups. Only line dry. Don't have a/con or use it in the car. Limit our petrol to one tank a month. Use cold water. Try to reduce or reuse before recycling. Use greenbags. Joined the sustainable schools committee at our local school. Don't EVER fly.
I think that's it.
Can't afford solar hotwater or electricity and can't afford to put in a water tank ATM, but plan to.
phineas
29-01-2008, 04:56 PM
I have a nearly established vegie garden to :) (not that that is environmentally freindly)
Yes it is!
By you using veggies from your garden instead of the shops, you have no packaging waste, and no greenhouse gases are produced from transporting and cool-storing those veggies :thumbsup:
mumofKieran
29-01-2008, 05:26 PM
I try most of the time but could be better.
Things we do:
Use cloth nappies
Have front loader washing machine
Use environmentally friendly washing powder, detergents, floor cleaner etc
Don't own a clothes dryer
Recycle more than half our rubbish, ie we recycle much more than we throw out
Have chooks and are starting on a veggie garden
Use energy saving light bulbs and have gas hot water
Re-use all plastic bags from shopping
Don't eat much meat
Breast-fed my son
Oh, and when we buy a new piece of furniture (which we have had to do a couple of times lately) we buy stuff made from recycled timber.
Can't think of anything else at the moment!
Duchessa
29-01-2008, 05:38 PM
We line dry & cold wash, have vege garden and orchard, buy bulk food (avoiding packaging and frequent trips), don't use chemical cleaning products, process our grey water in a small wetland, recycle (despite the fact we have to drive it 2 hours to the depot ourselves), donate to Environment East Gippsland (local green group), have 100% green power, planning solar installation, refuse aircon (except in car :o), use mcn and bionappies, compost kitchen scraps, religiously switch off lights after dh :rolleyes: (and turn his computer off each night :rolleyes:), consider green policy at election time...
We have also covenanted 600+ acres of bushland on our farm, legally permanently reserving and preserving it.
It is important to me and I make it important to dh through sheer bloody mindedness :o
punkbaby
29-01-2008, 06:00 PM
I didnt think of the "how the vegies get to me" savings thanks phineas. I have been buying at my farmers market though as i like my vegies fresh and not wrapped or held in a fridge for 6 months before i eat them just waiting for this vegie garden to really get going first but a few things are starting to be edible :)
When we moved in here we set up the plumbing so it all goes into the garden and i am saving for a tank so it can go in there so i can spread the water round a little.
Another thing we do is to save water, indie has a bath then dd3 and ds jump in after :)
Interesting to see how many other ways i can do my bit though
MummaBear03
29-01-2008, 06:36 PM
I used cloth nappies and breastfed when DD was a baby. Now we buy fresh fruit and veges and all fresh produce rather than frozen/tinned/packaged foods. Most of what we buy is organically grown in backyards, the eggs are free range eggs with the RSPCA approval on them, if not from a friend's chickens. We do our own baking and cook from scratch rather than using packet mixes. I use plastic containers rather than clip-seal bags, freezer bags, or cling wrap. All our lights are energy saving lights. While we do own a dryer and an airconditioner, these are rarely used. Even in this hot weather we've been having the airconditioner hasn't been on much. I have been known to walk around with signs saying such things as "Stop Land Clearing" or "Say NO To Live Export" and buy from smaller shops rather than supermarkets where possible. We get our bread from the bakery where it's baked fresh and does not contain 282. Where possible, our cleaning products and soaps, shampoos, etc are natural and organic. We simply don't have a garden :D the grass grows when it rains, and dies when it doesn't rain but that's more laziness (and I don't have a green thumb at all) than being green. We turn the taps off when we're brushing our teeth instead of leaving the taps running, we shower together to reduce water usage, we also use tank water alot from my mum's tank. I don't drive anywhere unless it's necessary. We recycle everything recyclable. I don't smoke and when I drink, it's very often home brew which means no large factories and low income workers. And it's cheaper too! Hmmm, I think that's about all.
mumofKieran
29-01-2008, 08:12 PM
Hey, I had never thought of smoking as being a form of pollution :detective:
Would it actually put significant amounts of chemicals into the environment?? Or does it just pollute the person doing it and anyone who happens to be nearby? Not trying to offend anyone who smokes, I am merely curious.
MummaBear03
30-01-2008, 07:50 AM
Hey, I had never thought of smoking as being a form of pollution :detective:
Would it actually put significant amounts of chemicals into the environment?? Or does it just pollute the person doing it and anyone who happens to be nearby? Not trying to offend anyone who smokes, I am merely curious.
If it only affected the person smoking, then passive smoking would not be as bad as it is, and smoking in public places would still be legal. The fact is, it is a major pollutant, not only the chemicals that come off it that are breathed in by others (I'm still not happy that my child is exposed to the dangers of smoking merely by stepping near the doors of a shopping centre) and released into the atmosphere, but there are still many smokers who flick their butts into gardens instead of disposing of them into bins.
ThomasMum
30-01-2008, 07:57 AM
We're trying to be good so that Thomas and his generation can still enjoy life...
We recylcle pretty much everything. We have a small vegie patch. We recycle water from our washing machine, but not on regular basis unfortunately :no:not yet (at the moment only during the hot day), we bought the latest diesel design car which mean less petrol and less polution, we only have 1 car eventho we have double car garage.
All our house appliances (washing machine dishwasher etc) are Energy & Water-Efficient and we only use our dishwasher when we have party (which isn't very often as we are very private people)
We gave our old clothes to the Salvo (does this count btw?)
But not enough perhaps...
30-01-2008, 08:18 AM
I think we do ok, but there's room for improvement.
Our biggest downfall is the amount of packaging everything seems to have- for example, our recycle bin is always overflowing. We should try more to reduce the amount of packaging that gets into this house.
And I wish we had tank water and could get bathroom water onto the garden.
It would be better if both our cars were 4 cylinders only. And I'm trying to get DH to turn everything on standby off at the wall (not having much success).
But-
We use modern cloth nappies and drypail
Washing machine water goes on the garden.
We always separate rubblish and recycling.
juzzyduck
30-01-2008, 09:58 AM
We are really trying to do our bit. Energy efficent light bulbs, line dry and do not and will not own a dryer. Turn off lights when not in use, turn off all applicances when not being used, worm farms, solar hot water with gas boaster, gas stove. In the next week we are getting solar panels so that all our power will come from the sun, 10,000litre water tank, use tank water to fill washing machine, try and recycle as much grey water as possible.
I am a bit mad on recycling to the point our recycle bin is full every fortnight, we have a garage sale nearly every 2yrs to get rid of things the kids have grown out of and to get rid of household items that we no longer want or need.
We are trying but I always feel as though I could be doing more and always looking for ways to do better, I am even thinking about cloth pads or a cup to really cut down on unnecessary waste.
It is a big job to try and change our habits and to turn around centries of waste, but every little bit count if our kids are to have any future with trees, rivers and wildlife.
chellegoth
30-01-2008, 10:07 AM
I do what I can. However I am on a pension and living in a rental so I can't do everything.
bubhub
30-01-2008, 11:08 AM
Green enough to know the slogan is "Reduce, reuse, recycle" with an added "repair" sometimes ;)
Apologies - typo when in a rush to pick up the kids from their first day of school! Have corrected that now.
I do quite a bit, but I could do more. We use cloth nappies. I don't own a clothes dryer. We recently upgraded our kitchen appliances and went for the ones with the best water and energy efficiency ratings. I walk rather than drive wherever possible. When I do drive, it is a small, efficient car (An Astra - I desperately want a Prius, but it's not on our spending radar at the moment). I recycle, I'm getting a worm farm.
I use resuable bags at the shops. We have a fairly hardy garden, but we're looking at replacing our plants with natives so we don't need to water it at all. We have an evaporative air conditioner, which is better from an energy use point of view then a climate control thingy. We don't use it much because we live in a fairly cool house - high ceilings, floorboards. I try to buy local produce (from fruit and veg to wine) to try to reduce the amount of environmental damage done by things being transported.
There is more I could do, I know that.
mahna mahna
30-01-2008, 03:47 PM
I do a fair bit, but there's heaps of room for improvement.
no clothes dryer
buy virtually everything second hand
limit unecessary consumption
shop at farmers markets
eat organic/ local whenever possible
eat seasonal produce
white goods have top energy/ water ratings
volunteer at community garden/ city farm
energy saving light bulbs on all fixtures
100% vegetarian
make most of our food from scratch
limit car use
don't use chemicals in the house/ garden
yard too shady for veges, so I planted native tubestock
volunteer for various conservation groups
vote Green at local, state & federal levels
compost all food scraps, some paper products
have more waste go in the recycling bin/ compost than general waste
will be using cloth with this bub
DH buckets bath water out to storage pond to be used on garden when needed.
use environmentally sensitive skin products/ soaps etc
ride bike most local places (when not pregnant!); public transport to uni - car used for big trips, buying groceries etc
Fly very rarely
pay for carbon offsets
switch off lights (to the point of obsessiveness!)That's about it for now. Long term, we're planning to buy outside of the city, and build a passive solar house from recycled/ renewable materials, and be semi-self-sufficient following the permaculture/ biodynamic philosophy.
Susan Mac
30-01-2008, 08:58 PM
hmmm.... I could do a LOT better. I use cloth nappies, am fastidious about things going into the recycling bin or the compost, am evading the topic of airconditioning and putting more ceiling fans in instead, am working on getting a permaculture garden going but DH isn't keen on chooks, have a garden of predominantly local natives and other plants are in pots where I can make sure they don't escape. We have only one car and I work my week around doing everything on two or three days of the week so DH can take it to work and thus save a few trips a week and the things I have to do are on the way to or from picking him up when I have it. I"ve almost replaced all my cleaning products with bicarb and vinegar, and I'm next going to replace skin and hair care with organics. I'd love to make some myself. Make as much as I can from scratch. Trying to reduce the amount of packaging I buy.
Could be doing a LOT better with water. We are blessed here with ample water, but I do try and save it when I can. I don't waste water, and I do little bits like not letting the tap heat up in the kitchen down the drain - it goes in a jug and on my pot plants. Have never in my LIFE brushed my teeth with the tap running. I didn't realise people did that till I was like 12. I endeavour to put the grey water from the washing machine from non-nappy loads onto the lawn in the dry season. (I'm not sure I should till then because my yard would be constantly water logged!) I use a low phosphate detergent.
I think I can do heaps more, I'm forever looking for ways to be eco-friendly beyond turning off the lights when you leave a room. And the fans. DH always leaves the fans on. even overnight sometimes in the loungeroom.
studyingECS
30-01-2008, 09:01 PM
I will be completely honest and say I am very slack...the only thing I think about is not wasting water:o
I could do alot better.
Susan Mac
30-01-2008, 09:01 PM
That's about it for now. Long term, we're planning to buy outside of the city, and build a passive solar house from recycled/ renewable materials, and be semi-self-sufficient following the permaculture/ biodynamic philosophy.
That's what I'd LOVE to do, but I want to do it closer into town within walking distance to shops/work. :) If I won lots of money I'd buy a block with a run down house and salvage what I could to build the new self sufficient house.
mahna mahna
31-01-2008, 08:16 AM
If I won lots of money I'd buy a block with a run down house and salvage what I could to build the new self sufficient house.
That's a great idea! We're planning on buying some exhausted old grazing land to "transform". Good luck with it!
TeamPage
04-02-2008, 04:34 PM
I thought we did OK, but from reading what others are doing I now have ideas on how to improve!
We have a big tank, natives in the garden and reuse washing water. Although we have a front loader so doesn't use much water. I use cloth nappies and eco friendly phosphorous free washing detergents. We also are always below our 280 litre per day limit. Water use increased when DD arrived, but we are still below the limit and making sure we stay that way.
We have no aerosol cans in the house and no cleaning chemicals (bicarb soda, vinegar and elbow grease all the way!).
We have a three bins in the kitchen - general waste, food scraps for the compost / worm farm and recyclables. I actually wish the recycling rubbish truck came weekly and general waste fortnightly as we always have a chockers recycle bin but our other one is empty.
We are a one car family, DH catches the bus to work. We have a two vege patches - one for veges and one for herbs. Plus some fruit trees.
What I would like to do more is reuse a bit more water, like from the shower. What I am not happy about is the fact that I don't have an undercover clothes line, and nowhere to put one so I have to use my dryer when it's raining. I try to put off as much washing as possible when it's raining, but that's not always easy when it rains for days on end!
We are also saving to install solar hot water and another tank. Plus buying eco friendly bulbs for our downlights.
Mamalicious
14-02-2008, 08:00 PM
I am currently working on making our home more eco friendly :D
Use a natural laundry powder/dishwashing liquid made by a company that has recieved the 'green tick'.
Cleaning products- leftover eco friendly spray(green tick), which is being replaced with baking soda and vinegar
Converting to cloth!
Reduce, Reuse, Recycle...Repair!
Compost bin
Am working on a vege garden
Check second hand shops for things we need before checking the shops.
Go to the library instead of buying books
Turn off appliances at the wall and turn off lights when not in the room.
Save DS's bath water to put in the washing machine
Keep half drunk glasses of water, tap water before the hot comes through etc to water the plants.
Use the same cup for my drinks through the day.
Fill the sink with a little water to rinse dishes instead of running the tap.
DS showers with me quite often aswell, he sits in the bottom while I rinse off, and because of his eczema I can't use bath products while he's there so it saves on rubbish going down the drain. That's about all I can think of atm, I'm still working on our eco conversion lol this is a good thread for ideas. :D
I'm going to go figure out how to get me one of those water diverter hose thingys. :yes:
andie_pandie
15-02-2008, 04:29 AM
We do our best, even had our home in Brisbane News last year with a article and photo which was exciting.
3000 Lt Rainwater Tank
2500 Lt Rainwater Tank
Solar Hot Water
Solar Gate
Recycle all that is possible
Front Loader Washing Machine
4-5* Rated Household Fridge, Washing Machine, Dishwasher
Converted to Green Products
Planted Native Gardens, as well as plants that do not need a lot of water
Always Line Dry, No Dryer ever (even in NZ where it rains all the time)
Use only one of two cars, hubby goes by bus to work
All Showers, Taps, Toilets water reducing
Spend more on quality furniture so that it lasts for longer
Turn off lights as much as possible, and appliances
All abide by the two minute shower rule (bar me, have long hair lol)
There is always room for improvement, next will be composting (can't wait). I was also very touched the other day when my son got a award from the Lord Mayor himself based off his contribution to water conservation. Only a couple of kids at his school received the award so will be putting that in a frame.
I must admit several years ago we really never got into this, as coming from NZ it was definately not a issue. My hubby had a lot to do with getting the message out there re water restrictions through the Brisbane City Council and that made us as a family take account for our actions.
We built last year so whilst we were organising our house we looked at options even though it cost us more. Well done to everyone in this thread as if we all tried our best our world would be a far more rewarding place.
shinebrite
15-02-2008, 12:50 PM
Well I work for the department of Climate change formerly know as department of Environment until the change so I suppose you cant get greener than that HA HAHA HAHAH no we are actually quite water consience our family motto is "if its brown flush it down if its yellow let it mellow" we turn everything off and use as little as we can every bit counts EVEN when your in an office environment, in our department we have no bins only recycling bins in the centre of the office encouraging recycling and I must admit everyone here is very conscience so you feel guilty if you put something in the wrong bin! we also have walking and bike riding groups EVERYTHING to save the environment even weekly seminars on how to save the environment
Lollie86
17-02-2008, 11:20 PM
I do try very hard but I live in a household of people who DONT recycle. I am constantly finding cans in the rubbish bin. :rolleyes:
We do a lot to be green though...but we could do better.
rowiechb
17-02-2008, 11:24 PM
I try, where I can, but I could do more....
I picked i try when i can, and when i remember to. But i am getting better. I did go cloth:D
18-02-2008, 10:09 AM
Trying to do better.
I am not perfect but I do what I can.
This year I am trying not to waste money and avoiding spending just for the sake of it. I have been decluttering a lot. That is my main goal for this year. To reduce.
OopsieDaisy
18-02-2008, 01:39 PM
I do what I feel is right :) I could do more...
Susan Mac
18-02-2008, 01:44 PM
This year I am trying not to waste money and avoiding spending just for the sake of it. I have been decluttering a lot. That is my main goal for this year. To reduce.
sounds just like me. :)
Samaras Mummy
25-02-2008, 09:16 AM
I try but im sure I could do better.
MummyJen
03-04-2008, 11:28 PM
God there're some great ideas on this thread! I'm really impressed by the commitment shown by all these girls. I've always been a greenie, but even more so now since I've had children: I want them to have half a chance on this poor old planet! Hope I can help others out with the ideas below...
Here's what I do at home:
Laundry
- if I ever water the garden, it's with waste washing water
- soak cloth nappies in bucket of water with quarter cup of vinegar, or tblspn bicarb
- use low phosphate laundry detergent and cold water cycle
- I am guilty of using napisan for really bad stains, and the tumble dryer probably a couple times a week (but it's been raining an awful lot here on the Coast!)
- save the final rinse water & use it for soaking nappies
- all cleaning products are the "green" brands, or I just use vinegar & bicarb
Kitchen
- flyswatter, not bug spray!
- save dishwasher final rinse water to rinse next lot of dirty dishes before going in the dishwasher
- use the coolest setting on the dishwasher
- recycle everything possible
- compost (although I've been slack since the new bub was born)
- re-use plastic shopping bags as bin liners
- use tupperware instead of gladwrap
- use bicarb to clean the stove instead of harsh chemicals
- re-usable cotton dishcloths instead of disposable ones
Kiddie stuff
- have breastfed both kiddies
- washable cotton breast pads instead of disposable ones
- use cloth nappies in the day (disposables at night)
- wash nappy liners & re-use them (it's suprising how long they last!)
- re-use plastic packaging as nappy disposal bags (I mean ALL plastic packaging! The plastic the rice & pasta comes in, from inside cereal packets, bread bags, you name it!)
- cotton balls + water instead of disposable nappy wipes
- re-use scrap paper for drawing paper, then recyle
- share bath water
- teach "green" habits to my kids
- involve them in nature as much as possible
- hand outgrown clothes & toys on to other families
- use a wet cloth to wipe faces & hands, not disposable wipes
General
- rechargable batteries
- purchase green electricity
- turn lights & appliances off when not in use
- energy saving light bulbs
- water saving shower head
- buy most of our clothing, linen and furniture from Lifeline
- wear mostly cotton
- shop with our green shopping bags & refuse plastic bags
- avoid products that are over packaged
- recycled computer paper
- recycled loo paper
- quick showers
- our toilet motto: "If it's yellow, let it mellow. If it's brown, flush it down!"
- walk to the local shops instead of driving
- support an environmental lobbying group
- unfortunately, public transport is not that great here on the Coast, but when I lived in the city, I used it heaps!
- keep the car serviced so it runs efficiently
- guilty of using the air-con in the car (and in the bedroom) over summer. But hey, this IS Queensland! Am trying to convince hubby that we don't need to install air-con when we finally buy our own home in a couple of years
- receive what bills we can on-line to save paper
- refuse junk mail
- use the library instead of buying books
- but I am guilty of buying a magazine each week! I do pass them on when I'm finished though!
And our biggest commitment to the environment was in having only two children = zero population growth! There are simply too many people on this poor old worn out planet! :thumbsup:
What I'd like to do better:
- I'd love to use the car less, but I go absolutely INSANE if I have to stay at home each day. (Yes, literally insane! See my threads in the "anxiety disorder" topic!) The 4 of us live in a pokey little 2 bdrm duplex. Public transport here is pretty poor, but I'd have to say (with much guilt) I'd probably use the car anyway cos catching a bus with a toddler and a bub is a nightmare! At least I walk to the local shops.
- I would LOVE to be able to afford to buy organic food! It tastes so much better too!
- Wish I had a green thumb, but tried the vege garden thing to little success. Will try again when the kids are old enough to help out
- Would love to get chooks when we finally buy our own place
- Would love solar power, but simply can't afford it as yet (still renting too)
- Would love to have squillions of dollars so I could buy up all the wilderness in the world and stop it from ever being developed!
- Would love to convince all the people in the world to stop breeding at such an alarming rate! If there were less people in the world, our earth wouldn't be under such pressure...
Yummy Mummy of 5
04-04-2008, 07:22 AM
We are really trying to do more :yes:
Sallysue72
16-04-2008, 05:58 AM
I recently heard that you can pay people to be green for you. They come and do your recycling and composting for you. That is bizzare. As for me, I don't have the money to afford such a service, so I am not as green as I would like to be.
no1bub
22-04-2008, 02:32 PM
- Would love to convince all the people in the world to stop breeding at such an alarming rate! If there were less people in the world, our earth wouldn't be under such pressure...
we really are pests arent we? :laughing:
lets start to reduce the human population by bringing back the electric chair :devil6: we would be much better off without all the rapists/murders etc in the world, and then we wouldnt have to waste resources supporting them while they rot in jail
mel79
09-05-2008, 08:19 PM
I'm sorry Ican't remember who wrote it - but whoever it was that said something about a Prius - definitely don't feel bad that you can't afford one - they're not really very green anyway. I found out theother day that the amount of energy and petrochemical products used to make one means that it would take 5 years of driving to offset the carbon used to make it! If you drive less (and therefore produce less carbon overall) then it will take about 20 years to offset the carbon! So really, you are much better off carbonwise to buy a good 2nd hand 4 cyl. car and get it repaired when it breaks.
Unfortunately we can't consume our way to greenness(if you can afford to pay someone to sort your recycling then you probably work so much that you don't have time to make and do things from scratch, so you will be buying more convenience items which are so so much more damaging to the environment) - so those of you spending less and doing more yourself are having the greatest impact in reducing your damage to the planet - good on you all!!! You are making a difference! So great to see so many people are realising that simplifying and reducing is the key! Yay! :smiliedance:
Please don't ever think that you can't afford to be green - because truly being green is the cheapest thing you can do.
My home:
-We buy locally grown, organic(not necessarily certified) food
-We don't eat meat
-We use vinegar and bicarb and elbow grease
-We save water from before the water gets hot to use on plants
-Grow vegies and herbs
-buy 2nd hand clothes and toys - or make them ourselves from materials bought at opshops and garage sales
-keep chooks
-no dryer
-no aircon
-use cloth nappies
-use cloth wipes
I can't think of everything, but I think this sums it up - we think of the word 'disposable' as a swear word! ie. anything which goes in the bin is bad!!
Aussiemummy
11-05-2008, 10:32 AM
I still think I could do alot better at being concious of the environment but I do make an effort.
At the moment I recycle as much of our rubbish as possible, which works out to be two thirds of all the rubbish totalled. I quite often refuse plastic bags, walk alot more then driving the car and don't use a dryer or unnecessary power where possible etc.
In the process of creating a herb and vegie garden with a compost bin also. :)
janeway
26-05-2008, 05:11 PM
:flowerz:We try. We are self-sustainable in vegetables year round, most of our own fruit in Summer (bucket loads of raspberries), don't own a clothes dryer, on tank water (can have lovely deep baths in Winter guilt free :)), CLOTH nappy, reuse and recycle, breastfeed (that's green too!) and solar hot water. Would like solar power in future but can't afford it now. Growing your own vegies is green in response to earlier post!! :flowerz:
DS 10mnth
LittleButton
27-05-2008, 04:15 PM
We try as hard as we can, but some things are sooo much more expensive
1. We use Energy saver lights
2. We walk alot
3. Turn off appliances at the wall when not in use
4. Short Showers
5. Bucket in the sink, then onto the garden
6. Flush toilet only for number 2's or when needed...
7. Use our own bags instead of plastic bags while shopping
8. Bucket in the shower
9. Use recylced paper
10. Grow most of our veges...
theres ten, its hard being green lol.
phuzzled
02-06-2008, 02:58 PM
My sister is always telling me to recycle. To the point where I could imagine her in an inflatable dingey chasing a huge japanese fishing boat.
Whats worse is her local council gave her a "award" sticker on her bin for her recycling efforts...
Sheesh
librarylady79
02-06-2008, 09:44 PM
We try to be green as much as possible...
We have a vegie garden..
Re-use plastic bags
Have a Solar Hot Water System
2 Tanks, used for Toilets and Washing Machine
Use Enviromentally Friendly Washing powders
I am currently Breastfeeding our 3mth old
Walk to shops as much as possible
We would love to have Solar power for the house also one day soon...:flowerz:
EFIJY1969FaMiLy
03-06-2008, 09:02 PM
Oh, if only I was Greener...
We used to recycle Food Scraps.........Grandfather had free range Chooks....
Still use the Recycle Bin (Yellow) when we can.
Try to remember to take my gr'ee'n bags out of the boot of the car when we do our grossery shop, but most of the time it is at the check out we remember they are still in the boot.....LOL not so green :-(
I take Public transport in and out of the city each day for work, and if we can walk somewhere, we will, and only use the car on weekends.
I try to get my 2 children to have 3 minutes or less showers, but this does not work all the time.
I use my laptop instead of the desktop now, as it consumes so much less electricity....This is a good thing yes... :-)
Would like to be able to afford to put in Solar power, but funds don't alow it....bugger.
We recycled the paper used to pack, makes great drawing paper for the "tin lids"
Turn on fans when the heat hits, and only use A/C to get down to a livable temp. but not so cold you have to put jumpers on.
I have in the past 14 days made up a proposal for the local council to run with an ad campaign about saving Tree Frogs, but still to hear back from council.
Tree Frogs, eat bugs and love Mossies, They are good for our environment.
They don't even look like CANE TOADS, but not many people care and the Tree Frog is having a mistaken Identity, which is detrimental to there survival. Please in the Year of the Frog, please get the message out FROGS Fantastic for the Environment, CANE TOADS, catch'em in a trap, stick 'em in the freezer to humanly kill them, these are Australia's most frighterning PEST, an threat to Unique Oz places like Kakadoo.
Efijy1969FaMiLeY June2008
frayzlilso
08-06-2008, 01:39 PM
I do what I can, working full time and rushing about.
I applaud those mums who use public transport on a daily basis - I would love to use my car less than I do, but just cannot face waking up and being ready a whole hour earlier to get to work/daycare on time and arriving home a whole hour later with a miserable tantruming toddler in tow, and then try to cook tea with said DD in such a state.
But I DO make the choice to:
Use cloth nappies
Use environmentally friendly washing powder, detergents, floor cleaner etc
Recycle - and recycle much more than I throw out
In the early stages of starting on a veggie garden as I just moved house
Use energy saving light bulbs and have gas hot water
Use cloth bags and reusable bags for groceries, and if I forget one, I re-use the plastic bag and if it's still good I try to recycle it at Woolies (they have a bin for the purpose)
I turn off the TV at the switch as often as I can remember (100kg of CO2 per year for those standby lights) and any other appliance not in use.
I buy organic items when I can, and have also just started purchasing fairtrade tea & coffee (I know that's not particularly environmentally friendly, but it's sustainable because of the social and economical conscience bit ;))
I also started up a recycling bin at my work, annoy my colleagues by turning off the bathroom light when no one else is in there :laughing:, wash my hands in cold water, take my own mug if I buy coffee at the work cafe :rolleyes:
I just really enjoy being environmentally conscientious, :yes: in fact I get quite a kick out of finding ways to "do my bit" :laughing:
Owen&Noah's_mum
11-06-2008, 01:12 PM
our carbon emissions are almost half that of the average Australian household so we're doing our bit.
Amy91andLilUns
15-06-2008, 06:38 AM
We recycle everything possible, we also never ever leave anything on that we don't need. we're trying lol :P
mummymg
12-07-2008, 10:01 PM
We use cloth nappies, recycle and use lots of fresh produce. Does that balance out driving to school???:o
Pinky81
26-07-2008, 10:08 AM
Looking after the environment is very important to me and my family. I like to think we do our bit but I know we could do more. We are currently renting and on one income which makes some things difficult to do.
Thing we do to reduce our carbon footprint are
Cloth nappies and Drypail.
Recycle where ever possible.
Line dry always (don't own a dryer)
Use greenbags
Have all energy saving light bulbs.
Gas hot water- Try to take short showers, DD and DH usually bath together.
Only wash in cold water.
Use natural and organic cleaning products majority of the time. Vinegar has so many uses!
Half flush not full where possible
Use recycled TP and tissues.
Limit driving (this is also due to the cost of petrol though)
:sunshine:
chrissa28au
18-08-2008, 07:28 PM
I try most of the time, but prly could to better.
I mostly used cloth nappies on my kids, I have 3 water tanks, I reuse plastic bags from the supermarkets:D, i use the economol cycle on my washing machine to save water, I try to make sure all the rubbish goes in the right bin:D. I dont do lots of running around in my car, i make sure i do it when picking the kids up from school so theres no mucking around and cant afford the fuel to be driving ever which way lol
MummyGoingMad
19-08-2008, 10:52 PM
Things we do:
-Turn lights off, am always doing this for DH
-Have short showers
-Walk to local shops instead of driving
-Recycle everything our council recycles
-Use energy saving light bulbs
-Re-use plastic bags
-DH takes the bus to and from work every day
-Use recycled kids clothes and toys a lot of the time, even a lot of my clothes are 2nd hand
Things I'd like to do:
-Have a veggie garden
-Plant fruit trees
-Get a more petrol efficient car
-Get a more energy efficient fridge and heater
-Get solarheating
-Get a water tank
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.