View Full Version : Cloth nappies for night time

cwsmum
15-03-2006, 23:56
I have been thinking about getting a couple of fitted cloth nappies to use on DD at night time. I use flannelette flats thru the day at home, and disposables :o when we go out shopping once/twice a week.

I have been looking at a few but there are so many to chose from that I thought I'd ask what others use/recommend for night time. DD sleeps from aprox 6pm - 6am, occasionally longer.

I was hoping to be able to get something that is not too bulky...i can do bulky with the flats I have, but it looks like a really uncomfortable way to sleep. Also, something that is not overly expensive and that will fit her for a reasonable ammount of time.

Am I asking too much from one nappy???

16-03-2006, 00:43
Yayaya :thumbsup:
Ok well i use the Green Kids Dreamytimes which you cant get anymore or the Anytimes for nite use these are the pocket style. They are great bubs sleeps around 11hrs so i use a hemp insert inside & we are set to go.
Im not sure how old your DD is but they fit from around 3mths to toilet training depending on build & size of child.
They have specials on atm so even if you just get a couple to try it will be worth it.
This is their website : http://www.greennappies.com/
I cant sing their praises high enough they are soooo helpful.
A lot also love Sandra Stuffables i still havent had the money to buy any but hopefully soon i shall :fingerscrossed:
Im sure a few of the other mums will have way more info for you as im still new to it all.
Good luck :D

16-03-2006, 07:38
OOh I recommend the Eenee nappies for nighttime! And what is great about them is you use the flat nappies (that you already have) and put it inside the eenee cover! The flat nappies are folded into a rectangle pad shape! And that way when bub is wet all you have to do is change the flat nappy inside the eenee, not the entire nappy!:thumbsup:
http://www.eenee.com.au/

16-03-2006, 08:03
OOh I recommend the Eenee nappies for nighttime! And what is great about them is you use the flat nappies (that you already have) and put it inside the eenee cover! The flat nappies are folded into a rectangle pad shape! And that way when bub is wet all you have to do is change the flat nappy inside the eenee, not the entire nappy!:thumbsup:

Ooooo so you use them for nites & they are ok ? How long does your bub sleep for ?
I have been wondering whether to get some of these but havent really heard much about them except for seeing the website.

Sorry hijacking thread :o

16-03-2006, 08:46
Ooooo so you use them for nites & they are ok ? How long does your bub sleep for ?

I think they are fantastic! I reckon you could keep them on for 12 hours and have no leaks!:D I would say the no leaks though with the flat nappy folded into the middle I have never actually used the pads that you can buy for them that you throw away as I kind of think that they defeat the purpose(sp)? of using cloth, but that is my opinion!:) And I think the pads would leak a long time before the flat nappy in the Eenee would!

jarrahsmumma
16-03-2006, 10:45
I vote for a baby beehinds hemp nappy, or a BubbaJ hemp. With a wool cover, no leaks, nice and dry. Use a microfleece liner and you will be set.:smiliedance:
Edited to add, Baby beehinds are one size, so you will only ever need to buy one lot of them as they will grow with your child. Brilliant.

cwsmum
16-03-2006, 12:09
Thanks for that guys :) I will be having a look at those later today when DD is sleeping again.

Are there any others anyone else uses/recommends? Or does everyone else use disposables at night?

Tea Lady
16-03-2006, 13:28
I've had success using a hemp booster inside a normal terry nappy - it is a little bit bulky, but my DD needs ALOT of absorbency :eek:

veve
16-03-2006, 20:41
Yayaya :thumbsup:
Ok well i use the Green Kids Dreamytimes which you cant get anymore or the Anytimes for nite use these are the pocket style. They are great bubs sleeps around 11hrs so i use a hemp insert inside & we are set to go.
Im not sure how old your DD is but they fit from around 3mths to toilet training depending on build & size of child.

that is what we use tooo - bits for bots sell similar fleece nappies...

sundaymum
18-03-2006, 03:03
I swear by the Ella's House Bumhuggers for night use-they get my children through 10 or more hours, with a wool cover (I use a Lanacare cover that isn't bulky at all). Top night time nappy; never had a leak, lovely fleece lined inner...
GOODLUCK! :sleeping:

Mother Duck
18-03-2006, 03:29
Just bought my first one - thanks for the site Allyoo

Where do I get the hemp inserts from???

veve
18-03-2006, 07:44
Jessie-

the girls at greenkids nappies see hemparoo inserts- which are the perfect size for their nappies (if you have placed your order you can always email them and add to it :) I have done that several times!!!)

- lots of WAHMs stock hemp - in different size and different prices.. a few are

www.bitsforbots.com

www.pookeypockets.com
and
www.sandrasstuffables.com.au

but if you do a search for 'modern fitted nappies' you'll be surprised how many sites there are out there!!!

MunnWhanau
18-03-2006, 10:45
I've been using beehinds hemp nappy with a wool cover (stacinator), I find it works well, she's sleeping from 8pm - 6/6.30am thereabouts. There was a period there when Tyler woke up wet and I just boosted the nappy with a Heiny insert. That worked well to.

18-03-2006, 22:48
Jessie - Even scout through ebay as they often have heaps for sale & i have gotten a couple from there & have had no dramas at all !
But otherwise Greens have theirs & Sandras like veve has said :D

19-03-2006, 16:03

Is it the Standard Weenee Wrap that you recommend? I've been using a flat terry with a fitted on top then a pvc (bad i know) pilcher. This leaks :thumbsdown: I'm also looking at getting a Rose Anytimes, Microfibre Insert & Large Hemparoo for alternate nights. Good choice?

19-03-2006, 19:02
Is it the Standard Weenee Wrap that you recommend?

Yep the wrap one, but if you buy 2nd hand ones they are actually nicer! I will give you a few links to some on e-bay to show you what I mean!

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7750580372&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBI%3AIT&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7751643138&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBI%3AIT&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7752263240&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBI%3AIT&rd=1

19-03-2006, 22:06
Sssshhhhhhhh Oscar's mum im watching them !!!!! :p :p

cwsmum
19-03-2006, 23:24
Well...I have been looking at some of the nappies the people have recommended and they all look great. But now I have another question. It says that you shouldn't soak them, just hot wash them...but my machine doesn't actually do a hot wash, only warm...this seems to work on the flat nappies I have. I usually wash them on warm with a bit of whatever washing product is handy, then hang them on the line...they get a overnight soak every week or so to get any stains out.
So would a warm wash do the trick? Should I do anything else to them?

19-03-2006, 23:56
Well...I have been looking at some of the nappies the people have recommended and they all look great. But now I have another question. It says that you shouldn't soak them, just hot wash them...but my machine doesn't actually do a hot wash, only warm...this seems to work on the flat nappies I have. I usually wash them on warm with a bit of whatever washing product is handy, then hang them on the line...they get a overnight soak every week or so to get any stains out.
So would a warm wash do the trick? Should I do anything else to them?

Thats fine !
I often only do mine in cold then do a hot wash once a week with each lot its usually only a case of them needing a hot or warm was for the first wash or two to get rid of the chemicals from processing as these hinder the absorbtion & if your looking at hemp it requires a few good washes at least before use & isnt up to its full potential until the 8th wash or so.
The thing is putting them on the line in the sun kills the germs just as much as a hot wash does !
Oh & another thing they might advise this hot wash to get rid all the the poo but i find if its been a bad one ( like too much fruit :o ) then i rinse whatever doesnt empty into the toilet using my laundry tub then when i do my load i do a rinse cycle first just to be safe but then ive had a few ive taken a chance with & they have come out spick & span !

Now im currently trying to resist the urge to buy more nappies !!!! Oh how this is so addictive !

cwsmum
20-03-2006, 00:09
Thanks Ally :) I thought that might be the case.

Now...which one...or ones...to get????????? Dh will winge if I get more than one or two...he seems to think that disposables are better, his mother was horrified when we went to visit and DD was in a cloth nappy :rolleyes:
I have to admit tho, I'm using disposables this week coz DD has a virus and I can't find a fold that will contain the nasty poos she has been having :o hopefully she is better soon, I hate the horrible smells that hit me every time I open the bin...it doesn't get emptied again til friday :(
Are fitted ones good at containing those kinda poos?

mummycloud
20-03-2006, 00:32
I vote for a baby beehinds hemp nappy, or a BubbaJ hemp. With a wool cover, no leaks, nice and dry. Use a microfleece liner and you will be set.:smiliedance:
Edited to add, Baby beehinds are one size, so you will only ever need to buy one lot of them as they will grow with your child. Brilliant.

I agree, That's what I use when I'm not using my other "secret" night time nappy ;)

My wool cover is actually a knitted wool soaker, which i like the feel of better.

20-03-2006, 12:48
bella sleeps for around 14 hours at nights and we use Fuzzi Bunz .. they're great :D I put 2 MOE inserts in for night time tho, unlike just one through the day,or if I think shes been a long while without really filling her nappy ill put 3 inserts in for safety lol

Mummy-2-2
20-03-2006, 12:53
I have found that it depends on which kid it is as to which nappy works!!

For Ajay, the Eenees are fine, but T wees straight through them.

For her I use Baby Beehinds with the wool cover, and three boosters cos she widdles a lot and sleeps for almost 12 hours:smiliedance:

Now Im off to look at those greens!!

oh, and I forgot, I have found microfibre or bamboo or hemp inserts for the weenees are thinner, hold a lot more for older bubs and mean less leaks and less changings and it keeps them drier than the terry inserts, I have also found that the terry inserts make T look like she has a tyre in her nappy!!

H&B'sMum
20-03-2006, 14:21
We use either baby beehinds hemp nappy and a wool soaker or my absolute fav is the Very Baby Simply Nights from http://www.ericanappies.com.au/store/
or
http://www.theweewuns.au.com/store/

We use these and a wool soaker. However, they are very hard to get your hands on so you may need to check the sites regularly to see if any come up.

I'm also a fan of Greenkids dreamtimes but I main use these as a back up if I havn't washed for a few days.

Funkychicken
20-03-2006, 14:54
Can anyone help? Our beautiful DD is 5 1/2 but is taking her time to stay dry O/N and after quite a few attempts over the last 2 years we are just going to continue nappies for a while. I have been putting XL disposables from ALDI on her as they are very large but I would prefer to put her in cloth. We tried folded terry and that was a bit disastrous. There are so many nappy places online now and I am having loads of fun buying a few for our bub but I need a recommendation on BIG/CHILD sized fitted or pocket nappies. I would prefer something with a built on PUL cover.:fingerscrossed:

the_queen
20-03-2006, 15:04
Hi Sal!
I've got a similar situation, Vallerie is not night-dry yet and I'm so sick of buying Pull Ups (which, now in her size, come in a pack of 13 which really sux because I shop fortnightly LOL) so I switched to cloth too. At the moment all we have is some cotton training pants, with foam padding inside (from Big W) and I stuff them with either a folded up flat nappy, or some of the boosters I've bought in preparation for baby # 2. I've found we haven't needed a cover as such, maybe because I put so much padding in the knickers LOL she looks like a cowboy when she walks!!
Anyway, I have just purchased (and currently waiting for it to be delivered) some training pants from Cheeky Butts, they were under $20 (on special - they've got specials on now for one week only!) which are like a pocket nappy. But they are "All In One" - says "breathable waterproof outer" but not sure if that's specifically PUL.

Here's the link:
http://www.hemphoney.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2&products_id=13

Hope that helps!! I have to say, Cheeky Butts were the first ones I looked at for this, and being all pregnant and hormonal I did kinda "impulse buy" them LOL so you could probably find some cheaper or better ones on other nappy sites.

cwsmum
20-03-2006, 15:10
SalOO8 I saw some boxer shorts one the eenies site for exactly this problem. They have a space to put a folded up nappy or whatever and hold it in place but look like normal boxers to everyone else. I saw the same kind of thing on another site too, but can't remember which one...I've looked at too many recently :rolleyes:

20-03-2006, 15:15
SalOO8 I saw some boxer shorts one the eenies site for exactly this problem.

www.eenee.com.au

waawa
20-03-2006, 15:28
Great quality larger sized nappies include Fuzzibunz pocket nappies and Honeyboys AIOs from cherubskiss. Some WAHMs might also do a custom larger nappy if you supply measurements - just ask.
I've just realised this question definitely warrants a FAQ entry. Will get on to it.

Funkychicken
20-03-2006, 16:05
Thanks so much for all your replies. I like the look (and the price!) of the cheekybutts trainers. We still have 1/2 a pack of disposables so although I'll miss the special the reg price is not too bad. I'm guessing I'll need two to alternate nights.

the_queen-thanks for the info. When your's have arrived and you've tested them, let me know how they are.

cw'smum-LOL-I too have looked at so many lately that I'm even dreaming about nappies! I woke up this morning trying to remember if I had actually bought some on Ebay last night or just dreamt it!:confused:

22-03-2006, 19:00
Just a quick q for you guys.

I've just gotten a "Green Nappy" and it says it doenst need a cover. SO if i stuff it with a flat terry, will that suffice for a night nappy (12hrs) without a cover?

22-03-2006, 19:02
Just a quick q for you guys.

I've just gotten a "Green Nappy" and it says it doenst need a cover. SO if i stuff it with a flat terry, will that suffice for a night nappy (12hrs) without a cover?

If it states it dosn't need a cover I would presume that it probably has pull in it or is fleece outside or something waterproof their!

I wouldn't bother with the flat terry just add a smaller booster and see how you go! You don't want bub to have a tooshie as big as Texas!:laughing:

22-03-2006, 19:06
I've just gotten a "Green Nappy" and it says it doenst need a cover.

Okay I just looked up the nappy you were talking about and it says:

All Green Kids nappies consist of a waterproof outer layer and a stay-dry inner layer.
No cover, liner or pins are required!
Simply place an absorbent insert inside the pocket and the nappy is ready to go!

So definately no need to stuff with a flat just the booster if bub is a heavy wetter!:thumbsup:

22-03-2006, 19:10
Thanks so much for that. I dont have boosters just yet, got the nappy by itself from a fellow bubhubber, so i'll use the terry. Getting some soon though. Hope this works :fingerscrossed:

22-03-2006, 19:18
Oh sorry yeah in that case if you don't have any boosters for the nappy just use the flat terry! I had thought that you had 1 booster with it to begin with! Well when you get the boosters I would use 2 for night then if bub's is a heavy wetter!

22-03-2006, 21:01
RB - It really depends on whether MJ is a heavy wetter as my boof is & he has to have a hemp prefold which folds to 8 layers otherwise when i have used 2 microfibre we have been lucky to just make it to 11hrs.
Greens are great as you dont need the cover as Oscars mum has relayed to you its just a case of finding out what boosting you need & its a case of trial & error im afraid. So if your using the terry prefold then i would possibly add in a fleece liner on the top of this inside the pocket to help keep the moisture away from MJ.
Good luck !

Oh btw if you need hemp boosters there are a few ive gotten off ebay recently really cheap so watch out for them :)

23-03-2006, 07:01
Thanks for the tip Allyoo, i'll keep my eyes peeled.

I used it last night & love it :yelclap: MJ's clothes were dry, as was she :thumbsup: Very happy with them.

Thanks again guys

cwsmum
24-03-2006, 22:49
Oh btw if you need hemp boosters there are a few ive gotten off ebay recently really cheap so watch out for them :)

These wouldn't be the ones you got would they?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Fleece-Topped-Hemp-Booster-for-Cloth-Nappies_W0QQitemZ7753913055QQcategoryZ26269QQssPag eNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Have been looking on ebay a bit lately for nappies, etc...Just wondering are any of the nappies sold on there any good? Any really bad/dodgy ones to avoid?

the_queen
24-03-2006, 22:53
I've been eBaying for nappies too :D
I've gotten 2 Enviro Nappies, which I've since been told are fairly ****... I haven't got the baby to try them on yet, but apparently they're not good at all. But they cost me about $5 including postage so if they are ****, then at least they didn't cost me the earth!!!

On eBay, you may be able to find a WAHM in your city, and possibly arrange pickup (to save on postage costs) and then you're getting brand-new nappies at a cheap price :thumbsup:

waawa
24-03-2006, 23:31
Very few established, tested WAHPs are selling only on ebay these days, compared to say a year or two ago. It's totally up to individuals whether they want to choose to take a gamble on an untested product (some ebay nappies are tested, many aren't), or buy from a reviewed WAHP with a proven customer service record.

To be totally blunt, for me, I don't see the point these days on dropping five or ten dollars a time (even 15, sometimes!) on nappies that will sit in a drawer or get tossed away, where I could pay $12-25 on really reliable, well-made nappies of quality fabric and manufacture with a long life and/or resale value; each to their own! If I want to be a tester, I sign up for a proper tester programme for a WAHP who's doing (what I believe to be) the right thing by formally evaluating their product before launching it on the market - and I have done so, a few times :)

Edited to add - I'm not talking about any of the WAHMs in this thread! A few who have their own business website and a great track record also sell on ebay for extra publicity and to draw new customers. A glance over the feedback at the various nappy forums will differentiate these people from the ones I'm talking about.

24-03-2006, 23:59
cwsmum - I havent tried those & they dont seem to be very thick as in they may not have enough layers of hemp to do overnite but that being said i could be very very wrong ! I got mine from a lady who doesnt seem to be selling anything atm ebay user id : leosipos but if you PM squirtle i think her username is here on bubhub she is apparently friends with her so she may be able to get some for you ? they are made so you can either fold them in half or three depending on your nappy etc. The nappy name is Baby Bloomers & ive had no trouble with the pocket nappies either & someone else also said they were good in another thread ! I have just bought some small hemp inserts for day from sunshine kids so will let you know how they go !

waawa - Yep i keep an eye on those things but have taken a chance because it wasnt too expensive to do so otherwise i stick to second hand goods hehehe :thumbsup:

cwsmum
25-03-2006, 00:11
Thanks Ally :D I was looking at the sunshine kids one before too...for some reason didn't even think to see if anyone had used those in my post earlier tho, must be almost my bedtime.
Would be interested to know what those other ones are like.

I'm hoping to go to the Baby and Kids market on sunday, I'm hoping someone there is selling nappies and stuff, at least then I can look at what I'm buying :) If not then I'll be ordering some from somewhere next week...still not sure where exactly...then I will be able to almost completly rid my house of disposables :smiliedance: just leave a few for when DH is home alone with the kids :rolleyes: