View Full Version : 18-20 week scan
alabama
25-01-2008, 10:48 AM
Hi Gals
Has anyone booked for 18-20 weeks scan yet?
I was wondering how much would it cost?
Can someone suggest good places that are cheap on the pocket too in Brisbane?
sshellzp
25-01-2008, 11:40 AM
It usually doesnt cost anything. Im going public and it was booked at my first antenatal appointment.
mummy_to_thomas
25-01-2008, 11:41 AM
Yeh, i'm going public too and it isn't costing anything. Mine was booked at my booking in appt at 12 weeks.
fludo
25-01-2008, 12:04 PM
I'm going private and have chosen to go to SOGI at Southbank which is probably the most expensive at $325. I've heard of people paying more like $150 at some other places. I chose SOGI because they give you a whole hour, take heaps of photos which you get on CD, 3d and 4d pics and all that, and as I'll be going over the medicare safety net this year, I'm not really concerned about the cost as I'll eventually get most of my costs back.
OJandMe
25-01-2008, 12:14 PM
If you're going public you can do it through your birthing hospital.. just make sure they issue the scan request.
Otherwise you'll find it costs about $200 at most other places.
jasserben
25-01-2008, 12:19 PM
If you're going public you can do it through your birthing hospital.. just make sure they issue the scan request.
Otherwise you'll find it costs about $200 at most other places.
Congrats on your BFP
Little Gorilla
25-01-2008, 12:41 PM
I have mine booked for the 14th of Feb - cost $270 - its a 4D place.
I get some of that back from medicare - none back from my private health.
IceCreamSundae
25-01-2008, 01:10 PM
Fludo, can I ask what this place is?
SOGI at Southbank
We're going to Womens Diagnostic at Sunnybank Private, not having 4d or anything as we didnt have it last time.
Also, can I ask why people do 4d? How much better is it? And what do they do differently?
Sorry, I know nothing about them :confused:
OopsieDaisy
25-01-2008, 02:27 PM
I am going public and they do it there and it is all bulk billed :thumbsup:
Hayden&Ryan&Joel
25-01-2008, 03:34 PM
I am going public and they do it there and it is all bulk billed :thumbsup:
same here.
I MAY get a 3d one done later if they can't tell me the sex at the 20 week one. LOL
Scarlett_Jasper_Rafferty
25-01-2008, 05:45 PM
I am having mine next Wed,..at Sydney Ultrasound for Women and it is costing $275.
Wy & Deeky
25-01-2008, 06:07 PM
Im getting mine at the Hospital through my midwife. All free :)
My scan is the 13th Feb.
fludo
26-01-2008, 10:29 AM
Fludo, can I ask what this place is?
SOGI at Southbank
We're going to Womens Diagnostic at Sunnybank Private, not having 4d or anything as we didnt have it last time.
Also, can I ask why people do 4d? How much better is it? And what do they do differently?
Sorry, I know nothing about them :confused:
4d is the same as 3d but 3d is still photos, and 4d is video. You always see the bub moving on the screen in 4d then, but you might only get still photos (3d) to take home.
3d shots are great. It makes the baby seem much more real, and some women say it helps them bond. I got 3d shots at my 12 scan and on one of them you can see the eyes nose and mouth really well! Diagnostically, it's usually not necessary, although I think there are some benefits, but I think if you get 3d, they do some of it in the normal 2d as well. It's all done with the same machine thing, they just press a button to which the view to 3d/4d.
SOGI have a website which has photos of 3d scans up and all the info about what they do.
alwaysonmymind
29-01-2008, 12:32 PM
I have just booked in for my scan. I am going to the Sunnybank Fetal Medicine Unit. My Ob Dr Neil Shilton recomended them. It will cost $250, but they said I will get about half back from medicare. I can't wait, it's in 4D and you get a DVD and some still shots to take home with you.
Aysha'sMummy
29-01-2008, 03:01 PM
i am having mine on the day before valentines day which will be a great valentines pressie to find out if were having a boy or a girl :smiliedance:
Silvana
29-01-2008, 07:05 PM
I am getting mine done through the hospital and it is free.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.