View Full Version : Are you an Aug 07 mummy?

Areca
23-01-2008, 14:08
I've noticed a lot of mummy's who have recently joined bubhub who have babies born in Aug and considering our birth group fizzled out a couple of us left would like to invite you to join the group so we can get things started again!

So if you want to talk to mum's who have a baby born around the same time as yours then come and tell us a little bit about yourself.

I'll start...

I'm Carmen, 24, married and have 2 girls E (my nov. 05 baby) and A (my Aug 07 baby..well she's a Sept baby but she wad due in Aug!). I am from NSW, a gym junkie and am supposed to be packing as we are moving house at the end of Feb.

Ok who's next.....please don't let me be a nigel!:ecomcity:

ETa - those who joined the initial group and then left are more than welcome to join again too! Everyone is welcome!

M O P
23-01-2008, 14:12
Ok who's next.....please don't let me be a nigel!:ecomcity:

tempting to leave you here alone for a little while :laughing:

I am Karen- the member formerly known as Kazza :)

my daughter Pearl was born on the 8th Aug and I also have a son born in June 06

Welcome :wave:

Areca
23-01-2008, 14:14
tempting to leave you here alone for a little while :laughing:

I am Karen- the member formerly known as Kazza :)

my daughter Pearl was born on the 8th Aug and I also have a son born in June 06

Welcome :wave:

Thanks Kazza!

Don't be put off by the lady in pink...she's a tame one this one! :laughing:

M O P
23-01-2008, 14:17
I saw a Mum the other day who had a bub in Aug-
must go stalk her to join us :D

Areca
23-01-2008, 14:18
Yes go stalk....you with your shiny pink knickers!

OJandMe
23-01-2008, 14:24
I'm here.

I'm fairly known.. lol.

If you're new and don't know me you will fairly soon.

I'm Gretel, 24, married with 3yr old twins, and a gorgeous little August piggie......

testing next week if AF hasn't showed up....... :detective:

3cherubs
23-01-2008, 14:35
I am an old August Mummy...

I love the new name Karen and also the pink...

My name is Sandra and i am a mother of 3 little girls,
they are A - 4yrs old(Feb 04) R - 2.5yrs old(june 05)and Myfanwy is 5 months old ( 22nd Aug 07).

Come on all you August Ladies:ecomcity::ecomcity:

M O P
23-01-2008, 16:00
welcome back ladies

this test next week will be interesting- and exciting- Gretel!

Areca
24-01-2008, 12:23
Hey Gretel come and tell everyone your news!!! I saw the other thread!!!!! ;)

I'm glad we have some interest! Hopefully more people will join soon!

Not much happening here today. Was meant to go to a bubhub meet but it took almost 2 1/2 hours to get DD1 dressed this morning. I am getting a referral to a parenting place from my paed. I feel like a bit of a failure but my paed has told me her behaviour is not normal so I just need to keep telling myself that this isn't my fault.

Hey Sandra...what's life with three girls like? I would love another baby (not just yet though) but DH is pretty sure he is done (won't say definitely) so trying to get as many stories as I can.....to either help him decide he does want another or for me to accept and be happy with 2! :laughing:

OJandMe
24-01-2008, 12:41
Well....

BFP

Please keep your fingers crossed for pink :babydust2:.

:D:D

Kind of feel sorry for Gabs, he's only had me to himself for such a short time. And I've been absolutely loving being able to give him undivided attention, when that just wasn't/isn't possible with the twins.

4 under 4... WOW.

lol.... DH already 'suspected' coz I asked him yesterday if he remembered when my last AF was...

:detective:

Oh well.... had BT done this morning (before testing) to find out why my hair keeps falling out, so I expect when I go to the Dr's for those results he'll be able to confirm the other as well.

Not telling family till after gender scan, if I can hide it till then.

I'm so excited! ... wanting to homebirth this time, coz going by Gabby's birth, I don't know if I'll make it to hosp in time!!

:bfp:

alisando01
24-01-2008, 13:40
huge congrats OJandMe!

I am one of the old thread members but stopped getting reply notifications so i guess it fizzeled pretty quickly.

Em is 5 months -16/8/07 and Sarah is 21 months - 26/4/06.

Due to medical issues (em is severly lactose intolerant and suffers reflux) her paed has recommended that we start solids early. she just had sweet potato and apple cereal for lunch and she prefers the sweet potato! she is gaining weight and has finally caught up to where she should be on the percentile charts so we are relieved. she also now has a few rolls on her legs! she started rolling over a couple of weeks ago and is generally a very happy baby. She is on prescription formula because she could not tolerate breast milk and loves it. we will begin to challenge her with yoghurt and custard at 9 months. Em is a joy to be around and sleeps thru the night.

M O P
24-01-2008, 13:44
you're doing very well with your weight loss Ali

congrats Gretel :D

deb1234
24-01-2008, 17:31
hi everyone :wave:

i'm still hanging around here. isaac is going great, getting bigger by the minute. he's now in some size 1s! i feel like the past months have gone so slowly but now i look at him and he's such a little boy now instead of a baby and i'll have to enjoy every cuddle while it lasts. :D we are still bfing, haven't tried solids yet. i still seem to have milk for triplets so leak all over the place! better to have too much than not enough though :)

gretel it makes me tired just thinking about 1, let alone 4! maybe its twins again?!! 5 under 4 :p

Tingles
24-01-2008, 20:33
Hi I'm Tingles...I have switched over to the weight watchers thread:laughing:...I'm Ruby's Mumma DOB: 18th Aug 2007

I kinda left the thread 'cause I felt as though it was a first-time mummys group - iykwim - this baby is my 4th:hair:

Glad to see a few oldies have stuck around and WOW a big congratulations to 'Mrs Fertile bunny' OJandMe :bfp:that's wicked - in a good way!!!!:baby:

Ruby Stats:

Yes still feeding, on demand

Yes wakes thru the night & gets her booby:hair:

Yes rolls over very swiftly

Yes is spoilt by being held most of the day:banghead:

Any way I better go - sleeping baby in my arms giving me pins & needles as I type...

OJandMe
24-01-2008, 20:39
OOOhh ,

Ruby and Gabriel share a birthday!!!

Yeah I stopped responding in the Aug threads too, as they did seem very 'first time' and honestly I didn't have the energy (or time) to worry about whether to get a bug-a-boo or a Mclaren pram....

Having your first baby is VERY exciting... but it's a WHOLE different ballgame when there's more than one hanging around.

Thanks for the congrats girls.... so does it Ace1? Does it make me the first pg Aug 07 Mummy???

FertileMertile
24-01-2008, 21:50
Hey everyone :wave:

Im Mel, 23, and I just scraped in being an aug mummy :) My little prince Seth was born on the 31st Aug via an emergency c/s and is almost 5 months old now.

Seth has been rolling from belly to back since 13 weeks and just started rolling from back to belly. I even noticed today that he can almost sit up by himself (sits for about 20 - 30 secs then topples over :laughing:) Growing up waaaaay too fast.

In regards to food we arent on solids yet but will be ready very shortly so cant wait to give it all a go!

Im stoked that there is an aug mummys thread. I did have a brief look a lil while ago but couldnt see anything. Great to meet you all!!!

Oh and congratz on the BFP!!!!!! Jeez you must feel like you have been pregnant for ages :p

Sparky
24-01-2008, 22:04
:wave:hello ladies,

Can I join you too?

My name is Sally, I'm 24. I have two little ones, Mikaila April 03 and Riley 20 Aug 07.

It seems like the time has just flown by, I can't beleive my baby is 5 months already:eek:, and yay for me still bf:yelclap:. Also my little girl is starting prep not next week but the week after.

:babydust2:A big congratulations to OJandMe:babydust2:

Areca
25-01-2008, 01:45
Gretel- To my knowledge it makes you the first Aug mummy to be pg again! Congratulations again! Oh and I can understand what you're saying about Gabe not being the baby for long but he won't know any different and he'll have a sibling really close in age. There is 13 months between my cousins (single, then twins) and the twins were born premmie and then were really sick and took up tons of my aunty's time and my older cousin only got him to herself for an hour a day but he is super close to his mum now (without being a mummy's boy) and at 29 and 30 my cousin's are extremely close!

How is Gabe's sleep now??? Did his night time sleeping improve for you? A's did when we realised she was getting upset by foods I was eating.

Welcome back Ruby...it was very first time mummy like before! Not that there's anything wrong with that, but it is a whole lot different even second time round so I can only imagine what it's like 4th time round! Have you convinced hubby to go for no.5 yet? How's your weight loss going?

Welcome back Ali! Glad to hear Em is doing well! What a relief for you!

Welcome Sparky and misslea! A can roll herself across a room now (happening way too fast!) and even though solids will start soon I haven't got my head around it yet...probably cause E refused them all until 9 1/2 months! Due to allergies we'll be taking the whole solids thing very slowly in this household.

Well, just giving A a feed but she appears to be done now so back to bed for me.

3cherubs
25-01-2008, 06:22
Awesome lots of August mummies to talk to.

Welcome to EVERYONE and Welcome back all the oldies too:wave:

Carmen : My DH was a bit like yours, we were never actually going to have 3 kids ( well him anyhow) and then eventually agreed we would leave it up to God. Having 3 girls is great, but i think DH is counting down till he does not have to play with barbies anymore.:hair:

Congatulations to OJandMe.:smiliedance:

Myfanwy is also still being Bfed, wakes up during the night ( 2 / 3 times), is rolling ( veryu good when on the ground, but rather a nuisance in her cot) and she moves backwards when on her tummy on the ground.

Have a great day :wave:

Tingles
25-01-2008, 08:30
3cherubs - so glad that you are feeding 2/3 times a nite, I thought I was the only nitter still doing this:hair: I just let her 'help herself' kinda thing.'

ACE1 - yep:yes: started back on weight watchers 1st Sept (once all the fluid had gone) I've lost 13.8 kg so far... about another 13 to go... I went a bit crazy at the gym... just waiting 4 skool to go back, then I'll go back gyming again. The childcare centre is soooo gr8 there!:yelclap:

Sparky - wow you have a big girl on your hands - my dd did prep last year! It is such an amazing transformation:flowerz: My dd #2 will be at 3y/o kinder one day - she can't wait!

alisando01/deb1234/MissyLea84 - solids... yes I think Ruby is looking fwd to that... she watches us eat & gets very excited, not long now!

OJandMe - wow our babies have the same happybirthday - cannot believe you are PG again -I have shared you news with my dh & my mum:ecomcity: that's soooo amazing!

MotherOfPearl - love your new user name! It's grouse!

I think that's everyone...

3cherubs
25-01-2008, 09:30
Tingles - Do you co-sleep ? We have Myf's cot in our room so i have not got far to go, i did try to co-sleep but i think she is happier in her cot.:crying:
I hear her whimper and i am up to give her the boob..

On the topic of solids : Is anyone out there like me not wanting to start for a while ? I am having such a great time B /feeding her. My MIL and SIL always ask has she started yet ?

HarvestMoon
25-01-2008, 10:10
Hey everyone!

I'm another August 07 mum.

My DS was born on the 4/08/07.

Hope to get to know you all!

Tingles
25-01-2008, 11:01
3cherubs - she gets put to bed in her cot, but when she has her 'boo-boo' she come's in and we co-sleep from then - around 12.30, could be earlier... I might ad, she only has to murmer and she gets a boobie stuck in her gob:footinmouth::laughing:

RE: solids, I thought formula babies need solids fr 4mths, and (.)(.) fed was 6mths - reason being by 6mths they need more than just boobies?? Not sure, maybe speak to nurse??

HarvestMoon:wave: August Mummy!

alisando01
25-01-2008, 12:36
RE: solids, I thought formula babies need solids fr 4mths, and (.)(.) fed was 6mths - reason being by 6mths they need more than just boobies?? Not sure, maybe speak to nurse??

It is definitely 6 months 4 all, unless there is a specific medical reason ;) like Em! for those who dont know Em was admitted to hospital at 5 weeks with faliure to thrive. she was still under birthweight and had to be tube fed for a few days. she doesn't look like an FTT baby anymore tho which is great ;)

3cherubs
25-01-2008, 14:18
alisando01- Glad to hear Em is doing well.

Welcome HarvestMoon to the August group:wave:

Tingles- That sounds exactly like me with the boobie getting. I also give it as soon as she murmers too.

I understand about giving solids at 6 months as this is my 3rd child, but i love B/feeding so much. :kiss:

Areca
25-01-2008, 14:28
Tingles - Well done to you on your weight loss! Awesome work!! I love the creche at my gym, it makes it a lot easier when you know they are being well looked after while you work out!

Sandra - We will be starting solids from 6 months...not at 6 months. I will be checking everything off the list before we start though (ie. sitting up on their own, having the pincer grip etc.) and will do baby led weaning. E didn't eat solids until she was 9 1/2 months old (plain refused them) so I'm in nooooo rush! ABA says 'foods are fun until they're one' and when E wouldn't eat my GP told me she'd only start to worry if she wasn't eating anything at 12 months but until then she was fine.

Welcome Harvestmoon!!

Oh on the sleep issue.....when I said A sleeps better I meant better as opposed to before...we wake up at least twice a night! Before it was every 2 hours with the day starting at 3am! We co-sleep on the bad nights but by 5am she wants back in her own cot.

Hope everyone is having a good day. My day started with me yelling at the builders at 6.30am telling them they weren't allowed to make noise until 7am. Ten minutes later I went out and yelled again, with E in my arms and I finished with a 'don't p*ss me off mate.' They stopped noisy work then! Don't mess with the mum in her pj's and a tired cranky toddler in her arms!

Sparky
25-01-2008, 16:26
Riley sleeps in his cot in our room and he sleeps through from 7:30 till about 5:30-6:30, He is such a good little sleeper.
He's rolling all over the place!!!!

Well today I got kaila's uniform and her school bag, she looks soo cute. She is soo excited:smiliedance:.

Hello HarvestMoon

M O P
25-01-2008, 16:39
:yelclap: go Carmen!

Thanks Toni- re name change :)
thought a change was as good as a holiday,
was a bit scared about losing Kazza- wonder if another Kaz has snapped it up yet?

Pearl is sleeping through- always has- prob just jinxed myself :doh:,
still mainly breast fed but she has had the odd bot of formula here and there.
I too will begin solids from 6 months.
Hugh didn't eat well until he was about 1 so I'm in no rush.
Although she has had a suck on a rusk too a couple of times now- I think she must have teeth on the way.

Pearl is very close to crawling-
she gets up on all fours and rocks back and forward. She can get around the room pretty well anyway though.

Tingles
25-01-2008, 16:56
MotherOfPearl - Wow on the rocking...crawling front!!! thats gr8:yelclap: Is that early? I can't remember:confused:

On the food front... they really don't eat much at first any way, not sure if I will go down the farax path - used to upset one of my girls, I just started with fruit...

ACE1 - I got a giggle out of your morning - you sleep deprived mumma bear:laughing:

OJandMe
25-01-2008, 17:10
:wave: Hi Girls,

Gabs crying and I'm just about to serve dinner to the tornadoes...

I'll come back and do particulars after I've got them all in bed.

I'm on Twin Duty tonight:hair:.

DH gets to 'clock off' early coz he's putting Gabs to bed tonight...

Oh well, can't complain, I've got Gabs tomorrow, and the boys have been in kindy today, so I need to spend some time with them.

back tonight.

3cherubs
25-01-2008, 20:04
Carmen - Workmen / Men they just do not understand the term QUIET... Good on ya, for telling them..:thumbsup:

Myf also starts most of her days at 5.30am :sleeping:,
she is so smily and talkative. ( unlike her mummy, whe needs the extra sleep).

MotherOfPearl - Myf is also getting her bum and knees up, though she is in reverse most of the time. DD2 crawled at 6.5mths, i am excited that they crawl but now DD1 and 2 will not know what hit them.

Have a lovely night..:wave:

Milis
25-01-2008, 20:19
Hi :wave:.

I'm Anna and my second boy Jett was born on August 17th. Really glad to see this thread - I popped in on the old one a couple of times but then it sort of died...

Amazing that some of the bubs are close to crawling - Jett is starting to try and get his legs up under him but usually ends up doing a face plant in the carpet, poor love.

Still bf here and loving it, he's fed to sleep and most nights once he's down, he sleeps through till about 6.30am so I'm not complaining!

It's very different second time around, I feel a lot more confident but waaaay more tired :sleeping:.

Look forward to chatting with you all :goodvibes:.

FertileMertile
25-01-2008, 20:46
[quote Amazing that some of the bubs are close to crawling - Jett is starting to try and get his legs up under him but usually ends up doing a face plant in the carpet, poor love. quote]

Hehe thats what my bub does. Then he gets really frustrated and starts to get *****y. I wanna help him but I know hes gotta try and learn these things himself. Anyways I would be lying if I said I dont find it funny to watch :laughing::o

Well done to the bubbas that are almost there!!! :yelclap:

Bexo
25-01-2008, 22:32
Hi :)

I am Rebecca, and my DD Hannah, was born in the 21 August 2007.
Would love to join the Aug 07 mummy group.

We are still breast feeding and loving it, and wanting feeds through the night, but some nights I get more sleep as the 3 am feed is not needed :yelclap:

Hannah, to is nearly crawling as well, which is so much fun.

Looking forward to the chats

M O P
26-01-2008, 08:01
welcome Rebecca to BH and Aug mums

HarvestMoon
26-01-2008, 10:44
Pearl is very close to crawling-
she gets up on all fours and rocks back and forward. She can get around the room pretty well anyway though.

DS has been doing that for the past few weeks as well. He has started rocking back and forth really fast just this week. I hope he won't crawl to soon though.. with a 3 year old that thinks everything belongs on the floor it's not going to be much fun!

M O P
26-01-2008, 12:51
with a 3 year old that thinks everything belongs on the floor it's not going to be much fun!
:D yes we have an 18 month old here who thinks along the same lines!

Areca
27-01-2008, 06:41
Hope you are all having a good weekend!

I am being called by my 2 year old so have to go! Off to the beach today!

Milis
27-01-2008, 19:29
Hope everyone is having a lovely long weekend :sunshine:. We're not up to much, DH is having back issues (he has a recurring troublesome disc) so just hanging around at home. Very relaxing :thumbsup:.

ACE - hope the beach was good and the little ones enjoyed it!

Bexo - :wave: and welcome! Yay for Hannah with the crawling progress!

MissyLea84 - I agree! They're cute when they get annoyed :hair::laughing:.

HarvestMoon & MotherOfPearl - Yep, my 2 yr old throws everything on the floor as well, leftover food, small lego blocks, broken bits of crayon - if it's small enough for a bubba to choke on, it's there. I reckon I'm going to need eyes in the back of my head when Jett starts crawling.

Have a lovely weekend everyone!

Tingles
28-01-2008, 07:58
My 'Miss 2' likes to think she can feed Miss Ruby - last week she was trying to stuff magnets off the fridge in her mouth... yep - need eyes in the back of your head... not to mention the basket ball that was hovering (ready to drop) over the little one while she sat in her bouncer... thank god I turned around!:eek::doh:

M O P
28-01-2008, 08:01
My 'Miss 2' likes to think she can feed Miss Ruby -
don't you love the little 'helpers' :laughing:

sometimes when Pearl is crying Hugh thinks she might like a bottle

Milis
28-01-2008, 08:07
:eek: - that's scary Tingles! My friends 2 yr old girl is the same with her little sister. Luckily for me, DS1 pretty much ignores DS2 except when he gets in his way or tries to grab something of his - must be a boy thing :cool:.

Off topic here but does anyone know a chemical free way to get rid of ants? Pulled out DS1's toybox this morning to get out some toys for a playdate and the wall behind was black with ants :barf:. I wiped it down with vinegar but can't think of what to do to stop them coming back. I don't want to spray as it's right where the kids play (and I'm not a fan of chemicals in the house). I hate ants :hair::hair::hair:. So any suggestions would be gratefully received!

OJandMe
28-01-2008, 08:14

sorry I haven't popped in the last couple of days. It's pretty hectic around here!!

Anna- have you heard of 'ant rid' you just put a few blobs of the stuff around where the ants track is and they eat it and bring it back to the nest. We had a big ant problem and that cleared it up.... just follow the ant trail to somewhere out of the way... (a corner near the floor, or in the ceiling) and put some of the stuff. I generally put a few blobs along their path, works within a day.

Gabs still isn't rolling, or crawling. He can get his legs under him, and get his arms under him, but not at the same time... so he's either got his butt up in the air like a cat, or is stretching up like a lizard. He gets so cranky about it!

I think he's just too fat. :laughing:

Well, even after 2 kids DH still doesn't understand the whole 'introducing solids slowly'

Yesterday for breaskfast he gave him a custard :eek: And then for dinner gave him a tin of some mix like pumkin, potato and beef. :banghead:

The poor kid has only ever had pear or sweet potato!! And I don't use tins!! They are only for emergency when we're out somewhere. Luckily no reactions.

I'm finding he's gone back to liking being wrapped. Which is strange, coz he hasn't been wrapped since week 3.... I think he's moving too much in his sleep and waking himself up. He's always kicking his blankets off that's for sure.

What are you all sleeping your bubbas in?

Gabs is wearing a bonds suit (one of those stretchy stripey ones with no feet) and has a sheet and a light blanket. Going to buy some muslin on Tuesday so I can make him some 'Gabby sized' sleeping bag wrap type of things. (like a sleeping bag bottom, with 'wings' that I can wrap around him to keep him nice and secure)

I can't believe there's so many bubbas so close to crawling!! WOW! It's gone so fast! I'm glad I'm pregnant again... they don't stay babies long enough.. and I like babies. :yes:

Tingles
28-01-2008, 08:54
On the ants front - I am a domestic freak when it comes to ridding the house of ants.... we are worst enemies!!!!

Simple remedy Talcum powder... they do not like to walk thru it - it does work - I used it on a window sill as a trial once...

Ant rid - I love dripping that stuff around... :devil6:then I watch them come running for it... takes a few days to get rid of the...

Find where they are coming in from & 'outdoor spray' the area... we have to do this allllllll the bluuddddy time!!!

ANTS SH!T ME:banghead:

They even walk over my babies cot WTF!!!!:hissy::hair:

Milis
28-01-2008, 12:58
Glad I'm not the only one who hates ants! Thanks for the tips - I'll get some ant rid first thing tomorrow - in the meantime I'll try the talcum powder thing (I'm guessing baby powder will work just as well?). They may have won the first battle, but I'm going to win the war! :devil6:

OJandMe: Congratulations on your pregnancy! Naughty DH giving bubby custard :shame:. Sounds like the sort of thing my DH would do. At least now you know bub isn't allergic!

Jett sleeps in a sleeveless, legless bodysuit and a thin cotton sleeping bag. If it's cold I pop a blanket over the top but he always wriggles out of it and ends up on his tummy at the other end of the cot so I usually don't bother.

Areca
28-01-2008, 13:19
Well our house is warm always so A wears a singlet and nappy to bed, or her pj's if it's a little cooler. She stopped being wrapped last week (before that we still wrapped her legs). No blankets or sheets covering her. She moves a lot in her sleep and we did have her sleeping in one of those sleep positioner things but now she can roll all the way over really easily she sleeps on her tummy (she loves it...sleep has improved) but I won't put blankets or anything in with her cause I don't want her to get stuck under them and not be able to roll back. She'll be in a sleeping bag when it cools down a bit.

Well, I won't be on much this week. We leave early Friday morning to go away for a few days but we have an open house on Sat so need to leave the house sparkling clean and with not a thing out of place.

Milis - Yeah the girls love the beach. We live 3 minutes from the beach so on a weekend if the weather is nice that's where we are. On Sat night E asked to go to the beach the next day!

Have a nice week all! I'll be on during the night for our feeds if no other time! So I'll be able to read, just won't post much.

3cherubs
28-01-2008, 16:03
:thumbsup: - for the talcom powder for ants and if outside use some pepper.

Myf is in the long striped bonds suit aslo, but sometimes it is hot when she goes down i put a long sleeved top on, then when she wakes i put pants on her. Cannot do sheets as she moves and rolls too much.:no:

I remember DD1 putting a golf ball on DD2's head and in the other hand was a plastic golf club. Lucky i saw her before she teed off (LOL):D
All the other 2 do to Myf is smother her with kisses, which annoys me more than Myf..

Hope you all had a good weekend..:wave:

TeganRheana
28-01-2008, 20:21
heya i was in here when I was pregnant, but moving house, 3yr old and newborn = busy busy busy and now I am back! lol I live in Perth , All my details are pretty much set in my signature - looking forward to getting to know everyone again!:)

Eggflip
28-01-2008, 20:48
Im an August mummy! my DD was born on the 1st! at 10.14am via csect. I am too lazy and tired to read through this whole thread now but ill come back in the next day or two!

Amused
28-01-2008, 20:50

I'm another August mummy. My beautiful, smiling Alana was born 30th of August. I also have a 20 month old son Nicholas. We have recently moved back from Brisbane to Sydney and loving it. I'm not on often as I am too busy but thought I'd say "Hi" as I'll check in from time to time.

Alana, too, is rolling all over the place. She sometimes forgets that she can roll back and wakes herself trying :hair:. She is such a happy little bub, such a ray of sunshine after the ever grumpy Nick. I can't get over how different siblings can be!!! It is absolutely amazing.

missjane2005
29-01-2008, 06:16
Hello
Iam a Aug mummy aswell DS was born the 24th he was due on the 18th i went over 6 days :hair: hes such a happy little thing! also wakes up at 530am as i read some1 else saying theres does, iam very much the same! I mjust need m extra little bit of sleep!
I also have a DD shes starting prep today! so scary

3cherubs
29-01-2008, 08:41
Welcome to missjane2005, Naomi 79, JungleGirl, TeganRheana and if i have forgotten anyone else Welcome to the August Mummies :wave::wave:

Does anyone elses baby when you put them down to bed, be so preoccupied with rolling on their tummy and trying to crawl. Myf does this when i put her to bed during the day and it is so frustrating:hair:
Cause she then forgets she is in bed to sleep not to practice her attempts at crawling.

Have a good day all and Goodluck to all those who are going to school:thumbsup:

Tingles
29-01-2008, 09:11
A Big HULLLO to the mumma's who have joined since I was last on...:wave:

I wrap Miss Ruby, therefore she is soooo busy trying to get to her fingers:footinmouth: no time for rolling, or practice crawling...

On DD1 I was so scared (re:sids) about her rolling over during the nite & sleeping on her tum - but my health nurse said she was safe - that if she rolled over herself, then she can get back... just thought I'd mention that - I think the danger with sids is when YOU put them on there tummy? Yes?

We have a smiling little ray of :sunshine: in our house too - Must be an August baby thing:laughing:

Better go, baby grizzling - and a rinse on my hair:laughing:

missjane2005
29-01-2008, 10:30
My DS always slept so wee on his tummy but i was scared to leave him there, now he rolls onto his tummy to sleep. Thanx for the information Tingles makes me feel so much better that hes ok to sleep that way.
DS also turns in his bed if he dosent want to sleep ill come in and his heads up the opposite end that i left it at or hes got his legs sticking outa the cot.
Hes getting so big now :(

HarvestMoon
29-01-2008, 11:22
Does anyone elses baby when you put them down to bed, be so preoccupied with rolling on their tummy and trying to crawl. Myf does this when i put her to bed during the day and it is so frustrating:hair:
Cause she then forgets she is in bed to sleep not to practice her attempts at crawling.

Yup. sounds just like DS. He's always on the move. It's abit crazy just how far they can move before they can actually crawl.

DS is another tummy sleeper. Has been since he started rolling over at 8 weeks. It never really worried me. He sleeps so much better like that.

As for the question about what he wears to bed... just a singlet and nappy. It's way to hot for anything else. If it is slightly cooler i put a sheet on him as well.

delemma
29-01-2008, 14:57
Hi I am Emma of course (delemma is the only thing I could think of pretty lame)

my little DS Ollie was born on 3rd August 2007, I think i put some posts on the birth due threads cant remember. Well he's 6mths next week gone very fast and I have a DS Riley 6years old. Bit of a gap well he's at school now spend all day with Ollie yeah. I pretty much peruse the threads as my PC is crappo :geek:and is soo slow (have dial up as well) should upgrade in the next few months.

Sparky
29-01-2008, 17:38
:wave:Welcome to all the new mummy's,

We have a big problem will ants too, I hate them soo much. I use that ant rid stuff, works good.

Riley sleeps on his back and on his side, I have to wrap his legs or he will roll over and keep himself awake:hair:. He just sleeps in a nappy and a shirt.

Missjane how did yor dd go at prep today? Kaila starts on Monday. I'm sooo nervous for her, but I know that she'll love it:goodvibes:!

deb1234
30-01-2008, 07:22
hi guys :wave:

no crawling here, isaac really wants to go somewhere but just looks like he's swimming. he doesn't mind being on his stomach though so i'm sure it won't be long.

he's sleeping in long pyjamas but nothing over him, we just plonk him in the middle of the cot. he usually wakes up because he's rolled on his stomach so i hope he learns to roll back soon. :)

M O P
30-01-2008, 08:53
:wave: welcome to all our new comers and returning Mums.

We had some professional photos of Pearl done on the weekend-
of course my normally very happy, smiley, giggly baby was very serious! :laughing:

Nappies & singlets here too for bed-
it's been really hot.
It's tricky cause it's really hot usually when the kids go to bed but it gets cool in the morning- so we usually sneak in and put covers on them when we go to bed.

Pearl had a sleep in this morning :smiliedance:
went to bed at 8 and woke up at 7.20ish-
she normally wakes between 6-7am.

JacksMumBec
30-01-2008, 09:45
hi im bec
just realised there was a birth groups forum hahaha geez i can be slow sometimes!
my lil man jack was born 5 Aug and is a little terror hahahaha shouldnt say that really he's such a happy fun baby. just very restless - always wants to be on the go, only i just can't be bothered most of the time. i dont get much sleep but that's not Jack's fault, its his dad's!! he snores and kicks and carries on in bed, its so frustrating haha nevermind.
jack is rolling both ways now, was a prob for him when trying to sleep for about 2 days, then he just got used to sleeping on his tummy. he actually sleeps BETTER on his tummy YAY more time for cleaning during the day for me :)
we started solids 3 weeks ago after he begun waking earlier and earlier (has been sleeping through from 8pm til 6-7am since 6 weeks), and he loves them! has always been a big eater, but he's never gotten 'big' always just above the 50%!
anyways i'm gonna go put the lil monster down for a sleep
nice to read all your posts - i didnt join a mothers group so missed out on all this kinda stuff!
bec :)

M O P
30-01-2008, 09:48
here is Pearl (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/006.jpg)
and Hugh & Pearl (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/002.jpg)

welcome Bec :wave:

missjane2005
30-01-2008, 10:59
Sparky: DD was quiet when she got home think the day took it out of her! she was happy to go back today which makes it easy! She has a lovely teacher, shes pretty shy aswell so iam glad we havent had any tears.
I asked if she sat alone at lunch time and she showed me a pic she drew of her and her friends, i asked her friends names and she replyed with i dont know i didnt ask. lol
DS hates the car and its abit of a drive to school on nthe way home DD talked to DS and he giggled it is so cute how he looks up to her and how much he loves her. Iam the oldest out of 4 kids so i know i have to enjoy it cos the fights will start soon lol

MotherOfPearl: Hugh and pearl are so cute!!

M O P
30-01-2008, 11:34
i asked her friends names and she replyed with i dont know i didnt ask. lol

DD talked to DS and he giggled it is so cute how he looks up to her and how much he loves her. Iam the oldest out of 4 kids so i know i have to enjoy it cos the fights will start soon lol

thank you :)

that is so cute DD not asking her friends' names :bee:

I love the way too Hugh & Pearl interact,
Pearl thinks he is wonderful and giggles and smiles every time he comes near her.
he loves to kiss & cuddle her but
:yes: like you- I'm not deluding myself to believe it will last forever :laughing:

Sparky
30-01-2008, 17:34
DD was quiet when she got home think the day took it out of her! she was happy to go back today which makes it easy! She has a lovely teacher, shes pretty shy aswell so iam glad we havent had any tears.
I asked if she sat alone at lunch time and she showed me a pic she drew of her and her friends, i asked her friends names and she replyed with i dont know i didnt ask. lol
DS hates the car and its abit of a drive to school on nthe way home DD talked to DS and he giggled it is so cute how he looks up to her and how much he loves her. Iam the oldest out of 4 kids so i know i have to enjoy it cos the fights will start soon lol

It's good that she wanted to go back today:thumbsup:. Kaila is not shy at all, in fact it's alittle scary, she wants to talk to everyone. lol that's so funny that she didn't ask her freinds names. Riley is the same, he just adores her:valentine:. I am number 3 out of 4 kids so I know about the fights too.

MotherOfPearl Hugh and Pearl are soo cute!

Does anyone use mcn's on there bub, I have just started and I love them!! I am using all in ones at the moment but want to try some pockets.

Also no crawling here either, although I'm in no rush for him to start:no:.

Milis
30-01-2008, 20:17

Jett adores Jasper too, grins and coos whenever he's around. The feeling is definitely not mutual though, Jasper just pretends he doesn't exist :(. I really wish he'd interact more, but he's just not interested. I'm an only child and so is DH so this is all new to us! I'm guessing once Jett starts crawling around and stealing his toys things might get a little more interesting :laughing:.

Kazza - gorgeous pics, they're both just beautiful!

Sparky - I've just started on MCN as well. So far only have 2 BB (1 hemp and 1 bamboo) and I got a couple of GKs in the mail yesterday which are now washed and ready to go tomorrow! I'm totally addicted though, and can't wait to get a whole load more, so if anyone has any recommendations on what to try next I'm all ears!

Bec - Hi and welcome :wave:.

deb1234 - Jett had a couple of nights where he was getting stuck on his front, but he soon learned to roll back. I'm sure Isaac will figure it out soon.

Jett is asleep in our bed at the moment, next to DH so I'd better go and put him in his cot.

Amused
30-01-2008, 20:25
I'm so sad....

My gorgeous baby girl is 5 MONTHS today :( :crying:

I'm not ready for her to grow up... I wish it would slow down!!!!

DS seems to have been this age forever, but my dear Alana seems to be a month older every week, and oh so clever...

Am I the only one feeling this way? I'm mourning the loss of my baby...

Cheerio
30-01-2008, 20:35
Hiya Ladies :wave:

Can I join in too? Have done a bit of reading you all sound like a great bunch!

I am Kylie, 1st time mum to Olivia, born 17/08/07 by C Section (because of Placenta Previa).

Haven't introduced solids yet, am waiting for 6 months too. She is such a boobie girl, still won't take a bottle so am hoping we won't have to battle with the spoon too!

Still getting up 3 (sometimes more) times a night eeek! But definately getting better.

Are you all hanging out to turn the car seats around?

Areca
30-01-2008, 22:56
Are you all hanging out to turn the car seats around?

Ok I don't mean to jump on you cause you're new and all (welcome btw!) but I am so up tight about car safety. Please go research and learn why it is so important to keep your baby rear facing for as long as possible!! Please, please, please!!!! DD1 was rear facing for 20 months, I hope to have A rf for a similar amount of time.

Ok sorry that's it. Jut reading while up for our first feed for the night. Will be back on properly next week!

ETA these

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMFPSStXfqE

Check the weight of your car seat....some models are rear facing until 12kg but can be forward facing from 8kgs. I am urging you to leave your beautiful baby rear facing until they reach the max. rear facing weight (some car seats only go to 8 or 9kg...once your baby is past the weight range they need to be turned around.)

and this (unfortunately we don't have the same 20lb and 12 months law as the us but we should!)

http://babyproducts.about.com/od/carseats/qt/rear_facing.htm

and here

http://www.gracobaby.com/customerservice/faq_category.aspx?catID=1#218

Question: Why is facing rearward for at least one year so important?
Answer: Babies have heavy heads and fragile necks. The neck bones are soft, and the ligaments are stretchy. If the baby is facing forward in a frontal crash (the most common and most severe type of crash), the body is held back by the straps, but the head is not. The head is thrust forward, stretching the neck. Older children and adults wearing safety belts may end up with temporary neck injuries. But a baby's neck bones are soft and actually separate during a crash, and the spinal cord can tear. It's like yanking an electrical plug out of a socket by the cord and breaking the wires. In contrast, when a baby rides facing rearward, the whole body--head, neck, and torso--is cradled by the back of the safety seat in a frontal crash. Facing rearward also protects the baby better in other types of crashes, particularly side impacts.

Now please don't run off! I'm nice, I swear! I really am! Before I had done any research I had every intention of turning dd1 around at 6 months. I am so grateful that someone led me to this kind of info. I can't not say anything. If you turned your precious girl around and you had an accident I'd never forgive myself.

Oh and we're MCN users here too! 2 in cloth and proud!!!!!

Night all!

Livy
30-01-2008, 23:14
Hi ladies :wave:

Another August Mum here - my DS Ethan was born on the 20th. I used to pop into the August thread when I was pregnant but haven't for ages.

I have just started Ethan on solids but I am not planning on giving up the boobie feeds just yet.

Gretel - a huge congrats to you on your BFP!!

Anyone else that is breast feeding still not had AF return? Mine is MIA I think :confused:

Carmen - I have had people telling me to turn Ethan's car seat around cos he is past 8kg but I haven't bothered yet. I will have to check what the max weight is for rear facing!

Areca
30-01-2008, 23:25
Hi ladies :wave:

Another August Mum here - my DS Ethan was born on the 20th. I used to pop into the August thread when I was pregnant but haven't for ages.

I have just started Ethan on solids but I am not planning on giving up the boobie feeds just yet.

Gretel - a huge congrats to you on your BFP!!

Anyone else that is breast feeding still not had AF return? Mine is MIA I think :confused:

Carmen - I have had people telling me to turn Ethan's car seat around cos he is past 8kg but I haven't bothered yet. When is supposed to be a safe time to turn it around?

Oops sorry it's late and I misread your statement about the car seat....but I'm going to leave the info. there now I've typed it!

Oh can I have your missing AF and you can take my 14-16 day cycles! Really I'd love for her to be MIA, it's what's supposed to happen!

Car seats - you need to check your car seat. Depends on what you have. If your car seat is rear facing up to 8kg and he is that already then you need to turn him around. It is safest to leave your baby rear facing until they reach the max. RF weight for your car seat. After that it is safer to turn them around as the safety is compromised once they exceed the weight limit. Hopefully you have a car seat that is rear facing until 12kg (some safe and sound models). If you bought a car seat that is rear facing to only 8kgs I would honestly seriously considering upgrading your car seat to one that is rear facing until 12kg (safe and sound meridian is rear facing until 12kg and then forward facing up to 18kg. You would get your money's worth.) I really wish that car seats that only went to 8 or 9kg were taken off the market. Of course, if that applys to you it is your own personal decision!

Height is not an issue. What about their legs? Cross them. In a serious accident it can be the difference of having broken legs or a broken neck. Height only becomes an issue once the top of the head reaches the top of the car seat (when rear facing, forward facing they are too tall when their ears are level with the top of the car seat)

Australian laws are slack, so very slack when it comes to car safety. They are changing them but they need to change our car seats too. In sweden children are rear facing up until they are 4 years old. In the USA it's 20lbs AND 12 months (not or).

3cherubs
31-01-2008, 08:10
Good Morning Ladies :wave:

Welcome to Livy, LittleMissO, delemma and JacksMumBec.

Karen : Hugh and pearl are very cute, they look very similar looking too. Love the MCN:smiliedance:

Carmen : Great info on Car seats, my MIL and SIL went on about turning Myf around last week. I just nod and smile :mad: But then the MIL is always on about something to do with development things in a child. She has 12 grandchildren and compares them all.:hair: When the crawled, slept thru the night and the list goes on.:ecomcity:

Livy - No AF here either, but probably cause i BF heaps and thru the night.

I use cloth. I use BBB, Green kids, Sandra's Stuffables for night, Mandy Mac's hemp and some my Sil made.

Well have a great day.

deb1234
31-01-2008, 08:13
Carmen, thanks for the info re car seats. i had no idea! i will check out mine.
Littlemiss0 i agree, i've been waiting to turn Isaac's seat around too but will see what the max weight is for rear facing.
i imagine i won't get to 12 months though with my big fatty :D

have a great day everyone :wave:

Cheerio
31-01-2008, 08:49
Thanks for the welcome gals :)

ACE1- Thanks for the info on car seats. Don't worry I don't scare easily :laughing:. Actually I laughed because my hubby already things I am the safety police so just waiitil I hit him with this stuff!

deb1234 - I have a little fatty too. Don't you just lourve their little rolls! Got her weighed the other day for the first time in ages and she was 8.34kgs.

No AF here either, lovin it while it lasts :smiliedance:

JacksMumBec
31-01-2008, 09:08
thanks for info on car seats! a couple of my friends were giggling the other day saying they couldn't believe i hadn't turn jack's seat around yet. saying how much 'easier' it is facing forward. and i just kept thinking i'm not ready to turn him around yet - he can't even sit on his own yet - i wouldnt feel comfortable about his little head flailing about in a (heaven forbid) accident.

so thanks again for the info - i just checked and my seat is ok rear facing up to 12kg and thats where its gonna stay til then! :)

as for AF got mine back at 3 months, but i stopped BF at 7 weeks so it was to be expected :(

deb1234
31-01-2008, 10:46
My car seat is a Safe n Sound Premier and goes up to 12 kgs so will be leaving it until then. :)

Kind of had AF here a couple of weeks ago but really light, almost non-existant. Fully BFing but Isaac sleeps in about 7-10 hour stretches at night...most of the time.

Littlemiss0, Isaac was born with rolls on his legs! :laughing: will have to get him weighed in a couple of weeks when we get his immunisations.

Milis
31-01-2008, 11:58
Thanks for the car seat info! We have a capsule and I'm not sure the weight limit on it. Will have to check and possibly extend the rental time as they want us to give it back next week.

LittleMissO - Welcome! Olivia and Jett share a birthday :).

No AF here yet and Jett stopped having night feeds at about 8 weeks :thumbsup:.

Livy - :wave: Welcome.

Naomi79 - Yep, I know what you mean :hugs:. This is probably going to be my last (unless I can convince DH to have another one) so I really want to make the most of the baby stage.

alisando01
31-01-2008, 12:04
i have just upgraded Em's car seat to a cargo amazon, rear facing up to 12 kg, and will keep her old seat as a spare, in case of emergency. Sarah got turned @ 4 months coz she was so long. she was only 6 kg but was 70cm. we only turned her around coz the doc wanted us to. i wish i had kept her rear facing 4 longer but i didn't have any accidents and she is nearly 12 kg now at 21 months! i think em will be rear facing for about that long

missjane2005
31-01-2008, 12:06
Livy my little boys names Ethan aswell he was born the 24th so 4days after urs!
Ethan has just gotten his 2nd tooth thru iam glad its over, he dosent settle well at night when hes got a tooth coming thru.
i cant believe its 12 already! i just finished my last assignment so i better go post it!

Cheerio
31-01-2008, 12:40
Wow teeth, none here yet. Has anyone else?

Millis - How lucky are you stopping nightfeeds at 8 weeks. I am soooo jealous. AND still no AF thats great. Maybe Jett can have a chat to Olivia and advise her that since they have the same birthday she better be sleeping that well at night too :laughing:.

Deb1234 - Chub rolls at birth, now that is impressive!

Just curious, for those of you that are waiting to start solids. Are you getting well meaning family members/friends putting the pressure on a bit to start solids early? I seem to have been coming across this for a while now and i am kinda over it. I have stuck to my guns though because I know it is right for us to wait. anyhoo enough :ecomcity: from me. Hope you are all having a great day!

3cherubs
31-01-2008, 12:47
LittleMissO - No teeth yet. I hear what you say about relatives and the whole solids issue.
Mine say it all the time, but since this is my 3rd i would like to think i know what i am doing:yes:

See ya:wave:

JacksMumBec
31-01-2008, 12:52
no teeth here yet either, Jack's had bits n pieces stick out of his gums, but thats just his teeth moving around so i'm told! nothing's cut through properly yet though.
DP & i both got our teeth late (the joke presents on my first birthday were a wig, cuz i had no hair; my cousins wheelchair cuz i didnt crawl or walk and wasnt interested in trying; and a set of false teeth, cuz i had none)
just hope when Jack's teeth come through they're nothing like his dads, DP's had a life long problem with teeth/mouth pain. just a few months ago we had to get his wisdom's out and that was a 3 week painful ordeal i never want to go through!

as for pressure with starting solids - i dont really have any family close by so dont feel pressured about anything :)

Milis
31-01-2008, 14:08
Nope - no teeth here either yet. Jasper was completely toothless until 9 months so hopefully Jett will be the same (I love those gummy smiles :))

LittleMissO - No solids here yet - and I hear you about the relatives. I caught a family friend feeding Jett chocolate cake at Jasper's 2nd birthday party (about 2 weeks ago) :hair:. Jett will definitely have to have a chat with Olivia ;). DS1 was a shocking sleeper right up until about 6 months ago so I can definitely sympathise!

Alisando01 - 6kg and 70cm long :eek:. Future career as a supermodel maybe :D.

alisando01
31-01-2008, 14:17
nah, she grew fast then plateusd early, she is now nearly 12 kg and average height. Em is also growing quick, but she is stacking on the weight faster than the length which is good atm

Livy
31-01-2008, 14:50
Carmen - thanks for the info on the car seats. We have the Safe N Sound Meridian - so I am glad to hear it is rear facing til 12kgs. :) We made sure we bought a good seat - safety is first priority here too.

missjane2005 - good name choice there :laughing: It was a name I have loved for at least 10 years or so. No teeth here yet but has little white dots visible at the moment - shouldn't be too long I guess.

Wow there are so many August Mum's - hello to everyone and look forward to chatting :wave:

Regarding solids - the only reason I started Ethan is becuase he kept grabbing at food and crying when we were eating. He loves his pureed fruits and veg. I give him rice cereal and breast milk for brekky too. I started him on Farex but find the Rafferty's Garden rice cereal better as it is made from organic brown rice.

I took Ethan to his first swimming lesson today and he absolutely loved it!! Was a lot of fun.

Hope everyone has had a good day.

Livy
31-01-2008, 14:57
Livy - No AF here either, but probably cause i BF heaps and thru the night.

I use cloth. I use BBB, Green kids, Sandra's Stuffables for night, Mandy Mac's hemp and some my Sil made.

Yep same here still BFeeding heaps so to be expected I guess.

Full time cloth bum here too - though most of my friends think I am nuts for washing nappies. My faves at the moment are the Itti Bitti D'lish. :yes:

HarvestMoon
31-01-2008, 15:45
LittleMissO: Nope no teeth here either.

DS has had a small amount of solids.. just the odd bit here and there. He is really interested in food and seems ready for it. I just don't think i am..lol

To all the girls who still haven't got AF.. you are all so lucky! We are brestfeeding here and AF returned about 3 days after the intial bleeding finished. Same thing happen after my first DS as well. It's like my body goes "alright ,popped that one out, time to get all fertile and ready for the next!" Meh.. stupid body..lol!

Cheerio
31-01-2008, 17:38
Livy - Do you get the Rafferty's Rice Cereal from the supermarket? Also a CHN told us not to mix Farex with breast milk cos it makes it really gluggy, is that true? I really wanted to use breastmilk. Swimming Lessons sound like heaps of fun!

Milis - Chocolate Cake, I would have freaked. Lucky you caught them. I supose he loved the taste in his little mouth though?

3cherubs - after 3 and you still get it geez you must have the patience of a saint or just switch off.

3cherubs
01-02-2008, 07:55
LittleMissO- My MIL has said it with all 3, i have learnt to just nod and agree.:yes: I have always been the agreeable type, just to stop an argument.:hair:

Livy- Where do you get the Raferty's rice cereal from ?
:thumbsup: - Cloth Nappies ROCK!!!

Myf was up at 5am today. I said to DH " I think you alarm clock is going off " and then when she was still talking 10 mins later " I think her snooze button is broken" (LOL)

Have a fun filled day :flowerz::flowerz:

JacksMumBec
01-02-2008, 08:03
3cherubs & LilMissO - rafferty's garden foods are in coles and woolworths. my bubs loves them. if you go to the rafferty's garden website and email for a free sample they will send one out for you :)

LilMissO - yep we got an early start here this morning as well! except it was 4.30, luckily for me it was just an easy bum change then he went back to sleep (after playing for about an hour in his cot). Does Myf often wake up that early?

M O P
01-02-2008, 08:05
Does anyone use mcn's on there bub, I have just started and I love them!! I am using all in ones at the moment but want to try some pockets.

Love the MCN:smiliedance:

that prob answers your Q :D
There must be a lot of MCN mums in here :yelclap:

Mine say it all the time, but since this is my 3rd i would like to think i know what i am doing:yes:

I think after me telling everyone last time to back off, they are all too scared to try to tell me how to parent now :eek:

JacksMumBec
01-02-2008, 08:07
whoops just realised my prev post should've been directed at 3cherubs - yep its still early here and the brain's not quite turned on yet :P

3cherubs
01-02-2008, 08:09
JacksMumBec- I will check out the cereal when i do shopping on Saturday, thanks for that.
Yes, she has always been an early riser. But, then so is DD2. :sleeping::sleeping:
Oh, well at least i can get more done in the day ( gotten look on the bright side).:flowerz:

See ya:wave:

Milis
01-02-2008, 08:42
Well we had a 4.30am start here :sleeping:. So much for my good little sleeper - must have jinxed myself :laughing:.

LittleMissO - I've never had any problems mixing rice cereal and breastmilk :confused:. DS1 was ff so I've tried mixing it with formula, breastmilk and water and never really noticed much of a difference in consistency. If bubs is used to the taste of breastmilk I'd stick with that as at least it will be a familiar flavour. Yes, DS2 did love the chocolate cake although he only had a few crumbs before I caught her and stopped her (and yes, I freaked out!).

Livy - I have just ordered a couple of Itti Bitti D'lish to try out and I can't wait - they look so cute!

Better go, I've just made blueberry muffins for morning tea. DS is glued to ABC kids :shame: while I put my feet up so I should really drag him away and do something constructive.

Livy
01-02-2008, 11:04
Little Miss O and 3Cherubs - yep I buy the Rafferty's Garden cereal at Woolies - it's the 4+ months one in a purple packet. The breastmilk actually makes it much runnier than water - boiled water is fine too but Ethan does not like the taste as much. I also freeze pureed fruit in ice block trays and sometimes add one iceblock to his cereal - he loves it and it is probably a good way of making it taste ok with boiled water!

Milis - you will love the Itti Bitti D'lish - they are lovely and just as trim as sposies so great for going out. :thumbsup:Yum blueberry muffins!

Ethan has been a shocker the past 2 nights - waking every 2-3 hours again .... grrr. He had been sleeping through from 9pm til 5am for a few months now.

What's everyone up to on the weekend? We have lots of plants to plant - have just moved into our new house before Xmas and have 1/2 an acre to plant out. :hair:

3cherubs
01-02-2008, 11:10
The kids are now watching Rags :smiliedance:, so i have some peace...

Our weekend is pretty quiet. My DD1 is turning 4yrs old tomorrow so we are having my parents over for cake etc.:party:
We will probably do some gardening too, as we have lots of veggies and fruit to look after..

see ya all:wave:

Livy
01-02-2008, 11:13
The kids are now watching Rags :smiliedance:, so i have some peace...

Our weekend is pretty quiet. My DD1 is turning 4yrs old tomorrow so we are having my parents over for cake etc.:party:
We will probably do some gardening too, as we have lots of veggies and fruit to look after..

see ya all:wave:

Ethan is glued to the TV watching Rags too - :laughing: I know he isn't supposed to be watching TV at this age but it is so peaceful.

happybirthday to your DD for tomorrow - hope she has a nice birthday!

Good on you for growing your own vegies and fruit - I have been talking about doing that for ages. Need to get my butt into gear. :yes:

Sparky
01-02-2008, 11:22
[quote=Livy;2316745]

Regarding solids - the only reason I started Ethan is becuase he kept grabbing at food and crying when we were eating. He loves his pureed fruits and veg. I give him rice cereal and breast milk for brekky too. I started him on Farex but find the Rafferty's Garden rice cereal better as it is made from organic brown rice.

[quote]

I Have started Riley on solids for that exact reason, he prefers his veg to his fruit. He gets farex mixed with pureed fruit for brekky and he loves it but I might have a look at Rafferty's garden cereal. Our boys have the same birthday too!!:yelclap:

3cherubs; We are usually up at 5:30 most days but this morning we got a little sleep in till 6:30:thumbsup:. We grow our own veg too, its so much nicer than the stuff you get at the shop.

Kaila is watching rags too, she loves it:sunshine:.

Not doing much on the weekend, just a quiet one before Kaila starts school on Monday:smiliedance:.

Sparky
01-02-2008, 11:25
3cherubs; happybirthday to your dd for tomorrow, I hope she has a good day!!

Livy
01-02-2008, 13:32
[
I Have started Riley on solids for that exact reason, he prefers his veg to his fruit. He gets farex mixed with pureed fruit for brekky and he loves it but I might have a look at Rafferty's garden cereal. Our boys have the same birthday too!!:yelclap:

They do too have the same birthday :D

The only reason I changed from Farex is that Ethan was getting a bit clogged-up and the fibre content in the Rafferty's one is a fair bit higher - plus I figure brown rice is good for them.

Ethan is a bit of a sweet tooth and prefers fruit but he eats vegies too :)

mumof4angels
01-02-2008, 22:25

I have an AUG 07 baby girl Nataya :angel: she is my little angel!! Born 24 Aug and she is growing up too quick!!!

I also have 17 month old twin boys and a 3yo boy.

M O P
01-02-2008, 22:36
Welcome Jodie!

I just have a 19 month toddler and baby and I'm busy enough-

you get a huge pat on the back from me! :D

delemma
01-02-2008, 23:32
I just cleaned my computer today like the scans and defrag thingy I think I should do this more often cant believe its so fast even with dial up cool.

Ollie is Rolling eveywhere and I make sure a place toys out of his reach so he can try and get them wont be long now. I started him on farax 2wks ago then he did this mega power chuck so I have left it until next week when DS1 goes back to school I cant get back into routine with pureeing and freezing stuff.

with the Car seats My DS1 is still in his booster seat he is 6 but a little shortie, most of his classmates are in seats I dont like kids in the front seat I have warned MIL i few times about that. i wont be turning Ollie around until he has mega control so many Idiots driving around never can be too careful

LadyGrey
02-02-2008, 09:40
hello everyone!!

im carly, ive been floating around bub hub for a while now, not really dedicating myself to any threads because we had a didgy computer!! now we have a good one hopefully i'll be on here more!!

i have 1 little girl, frankie (or flic, bug, francesca!! and all the other names she gets called!!) she was born on the 15th of august, so she's 5 and a half months now. growing up so quickly its a bit sad! i miss my tiny baby, but i do love my big girl, and being able to sit her on my hip, or in her high chair with toys.

at the moment we're still getting up twice a night with her. at about 12 just out of habit (not hungry, just rock her back to sleep) and at about 4.30 for a sleepy feed! would kill for a full nights sleep!

shes up on all fours rocking back and forwards, not far from crawling imo but who knows! shes also just started to wave hello which is quiet frankly, the cutest thing ive ever seen!!

still breastfeeding, tried to get her on the bottle but failed miserably!! such a booby girl. on solids now cos shes so big and was feeding every 2 hours!! her favourite foods are pear and pumpkin, orange ( i know its a bit early for it but she loves it) and avacado.

anyway must go hang out this washing.

hope to speak to u all again soon

JacksMumBec
02-02-2008, 11:40
3cherubs happybirthday to your DD for today - hope you guys have a fun day :)

delemma - i did the same thing a few weeks ago and its been like waving a magic wand over the compuer hahaha - must remember to do it more often :)

hi carly :wave: - i dont know you do it, getting up twice a night!! hahaha we're so lucky jack's been sleeping through for ages (feel a bit spoilt), but i think he's just lulled us into a false sense of security :confused: and when his teeth come we're gonna be in for trouble!!

have a lovely weekend ladies !

mumof4angels
02-02-2008, 12:42
Welcome Jodie!

I just have a 19 month toddler and baby and I'm busy enough-

you get a huge pat on the back from me! :D

Thanks :) Busy doesn't even describe it but it is all worth while, they are just so adorable :yes:

Hi Carly:wave: Time does fly doesn't it, Nataya will be my last that is fir sure and I just want her to stay a baby!

How many of you have started your bubs on Solids? Nataya is showing so much interest in food but just trying to hold off until she is six months

M O P
02-02-2008, 12:47
Thanks :) Busy doesn't even describe it but it is all worth while, they are just so adorable :yes:
:yelclap: I'm glad you have such a positive attitude to it all,
as I'm sure you'd get lots of rude and unasked for comments-

when I was preg with Pearl, Hugh was about 1 and I had some random ask me if I was 'stupid'
excuse me? :mad:

:wave: nice to see you in here Carly

M O P
02-02-2008, 12:48
Pearl is not on solids yet-
she will be 6 months next week so we'll think about it then

3cherubs
02-02-2008, 14:36
Thank for all the Birthday wishes for DD1. We had all the relatives over in the morning, she got lots of pressies too:yelclap:.

WELCOME mumof4angels, petunia :wave:

It was another early wake up here ( well DH) , Myf was up at 5am . I slept in until 6.30am (LOL), i cannot believe when you have kids you think 6.30am is a lie in.:laughing:

No, Myfanwy is not on solids yet. She is still a happy little boobie girl, but will try when she is 6 monthsish.

petunia - I am up twice with Myf too. Last night was 11pm then 4am.

See you all.....

JacksMumBec
03-02-2008, 09:12
well Jack and I are off on the airplane today to visit my sister up north - tom price (I know stupid time to go with the weather and all, but anyway). i'm a little nervous about how he's going to go on the flight, he's never really liked sitting on laps and is a HUGE fidget. so i've packed a few of his fave lil toys and will take a couple of little bottles for take off and landing. i just know how restless he gets after 10 mins sitting in my lap and although 1 1/2 hours is a short flight (just gears us up for the big one to the UK sometime this year) its going to seem like forever!! just hope he's not one of those screaming babies once we're on there - he shouldn't be he's not a big cryer at the best of times. wish us luck :) :fingerscrossed:

Milis
04-02-2008, 08:09
Good morning!

Hope everyone had a good weekend - DS1 was sick all weekend so we didn't do much. He's better today though and back to his usual cheeky self :D.

JacksMumBec - How did your flight go? We've got a trip to the UK planned later this year too and I'm already scared! Are you going to visit family over there, or just a holiday?

3cherubs - Before I had kids anything before 7.30am was still the middle of the night. I can't remember the last time I slept in until 7am let alone any later. Oh well, they'll be teenagers one day and we won't be able to get them out of bed :rolleyes:.

Welcome to the newies :wave:.

No solids here yet - I tried him at 5 months on the advice of my CHN but he still had the extrusion reflex so decided to hold off till 6 months. He's really interested in food too, grabbed the burger off my plate the other night, and he pretends to chew when we're eating so think he'll be ready soon!

mumof4angels
04-02-2008, 10:41
:yelclap: I'm glad you have such a positive attitude to it all,
as I'm sure you'd get lots of rude and unasked for comments-

when I was preg with Pearl, Hugh was about 1 and I had some random ask me if I was 'stupid'
excuse me? :mad:

Yeah I get heaps of comments, sometimes I get sick of it some people say the rudest things that I wouldn't even say in a joke to someone I knew well :ecomcity: although I don't care what people say though we have for beautiful happy kids :D

Maye I spoke to soon the other day about not starting Nataya on solids, she is becoming a bit unsettled and maybe it is her way of letting me know she is hungry

Areca
04-02-2008, 11:44
I'm back!

Well so much for our weekend away at the beach. It rained the whole time! Just our luck! But it was nice and relaxing. Not much to do in a small town so we just got really lazy! It was back to reality as soon as we got home though.

Welcome to Petunia, mumof4angels and anyone else who joined over the weekend! Petunia we get up at least twice a night every night too.

mum of 4 angels you're my hero!!!! Wow your kids are going to be the best of friends having them all so close! So do you think you'll have anymore or is your Aug baby your last?

Sandra I'm late but happy birthday to your DD1!

Kazza - I can't believe how rude some people can be! My next door neighbour (who is actually very nice) used to look at me like my life was over when I was pregnant and just constantly used to say 'you're going to have your hands full.' Meanwhile she has one child, who is now 19 so she has no idea what it's like to have two so I don't know why she acted like it was a death sentence! She's a bit more positive now at least. I don't even think 21 months is that close....not when we were aiming for a 15 month age gap!

Jacksmumbec - You're lucky to have a baby sleep through! I was up 4 times last time between the 2 kids (DD1 isn't well) but am up every night anyway. DD1 was 12 1/2 months old before she started sleeping through so I think I've got a while yet!

On the solids issue - My immediate family were really good. My nana on the other hand used to insist that it was her right to give DD1 solids if she wanted. Well that just meant she was never left alone with her. At 6 months old she tried to give her coffee froth of all things! She wasn't even eating any solids at all then and bloody coffee froth is not something she needed. My mum put a stop to it quick smart (my nana was saying 'she won't know) and my uncle tried to give her chocolate at about 8 months (again she still wasn't eating solids) but DH caught him and stopped him. When we found out she had severe food allergies they all backed off and no one is game to feed her anything without my permission now. My nana has since realised how irresponsible she was...that coffee froth would have made her really sick (in the swollen lips and tongue kind of sick) and no one has mentioned solids at all with A. They all just steer clear and are waiting for me to say when (which will be sometime AFTER she is 6 months old).

A grabs our plates and makes grabs for our food but she's easily satisfied with a toy to chew on while we eat.

Well on the phone to my dad so going to end this.

alisando01
04-02-2008, 12:03
i always get people say that i have my hands full, but the girls are great! i always tell people that i have it easy, they both sleep thru and are very happy kids. i just wish em didn't have feeding issues

OJandMe
04-02-2008, 12:12
Gabs is on solids.

He has one meal a day and loves it.

Sometimes he'll have breakfast.. with semolina and pear, or a weetbix and apple

sometimes he'll have lunch- sweet potato and corn

yesterday I was at a birthday party and had him with me in the sling while I was eating lunch... every time I brought the fork up to my mouth his little mouth was open.. was soo cute.

so after teasing him for a while :laughing: I thought I'd mash up some avocado and see if he liked that... he does, so that's one more thing on our list.

But yeah... only a couple of ice cubes of different things once a day... he's being FF now,... so I really want to make sure he's getting all the nutrients he needs. I'm stoked he likes avocado as it is the only fuit that contains all 9 essential amino acids.

M O P
04-02-2008, 12:19
Bec- :fingerscrossed: hope the flight went well

One thing I've worked out is the people who make the most negative comments about having children close together-
have never done it themselves.

We have had some positive comments from people & randoms who had their children close and wouldn't change a thing :thumbsup:

missjane2005
04-02-2008, 16:20
OJandMe did u have any problems going onto a bottle? did DS have a bottle before?
My DS was having 1 bottle a day my milk wasnt very good so i found he settled at night with a bottle b4 bed, but when my milk got stronger i couldnt miss a feed without been sore. Now he wont take a bottle, so i was just wondering if u had any problems and advice or any1 else?

JacksMumBec
04-02-2008, 16:58
hi ladies
Jack was an absolute dream on the plane! i kept him up a lil longer in the morning, and gave him a bottle on take off, he was asleep within 5 mins of that, for about 45 mins, then woke up all happy! he was just staring and giggling at the lil girl in the next seat, cuz she had all these toys. then before i knew it we were on our way back down again!

milis - the UK trip is to see family. DP's family have never met ds OR ME! so i'm kinda excited!

ace - yep i count my lucky stars everyday with how well jack sleeps, just hoping its not the calm before the storm hahahaha

anyways must jet - things to do and nieces and nephews to play with

have a lovely week ladies :)

Tingles
05-02-2008, 12:40
hi ya every1,:wave:

haven't posted 4 a while - just been to busy!

I pureed up an apple yesterday as Ruby's first food & she plays with bread too.

I'm hearing you on the negative comments and the 'hands full'... R U trying f a boy... poor husband, pitty you when they're all older... the $$$$ weddings...:ecomcity: the list goes on...

yep, people should just shut up - hey u r a stranger WHY do I have to talk to you:hair:??? And hear your comments about my little family....

I always tell them...

my dh is a very lucky man to be surrounded by all this beauty...

All these girls to care for him when he is old & needs his food pureed:laughing:

On weddings - I am soooo looking fwd to that... mother of the bride 4x:fingerscrossed::laughing:

M O P
07-02-2008, 08:37
:wave: hey ladies-

just a quick hello

not much happening here but I did buy Pearl the cutest pink quilted vest with embroidered hearts yesterday in Target :cloud9:
I got Hugh a new one too- but it's no where near as cute!

Areca
07-02-2008, 12:05
Hi all! I haven't been in here for a few days but looks like we've all been busy! E has been sick all week and just a bit of a nightmare all round. Two year olds are exhausting!

A has also been waking up more. She's been wetting through so I'm having to change her but this morning I changed her at 4am and she wa soaked through again at 7am! So I'm going to have to change her with another night nappy instead of just a normal one and remember to do it when she wakes up for a feed. During the day she's fine, just a really heavy wetter overnight right now. E went through stages like this too so we'll just ride it out. It's not like I'm not getting up to her anyway!

I shipped E off to play with her poppy today so I could get some things done around the house. Another open house on Sat and we finally have boxes so I need to start packing!

Livy
08-02-2008, 11:03
Hi all. Hope everyone has had a good week - I can't belive how fast the weeks have flown so far this year :detective:

ACE - Ethan is going through a stage of waking up lots during the night at the moment too. He was sleeping through but not the last couple of weeks. Hopefully this stage wont last too much longer :fingerscrossed:

Kazza - Target have such cute babies clothes in at the moment and had some really good sales on this week. I picked up the cutest three piece set reduced from $30 to $11 ... I love a bargain :yes:

Tingles - 4 weddings will be lots of fun!! I only have one DS and I am already getting sick of people saying "You will have to have a girl next time". If only they knew you can't press a button to select the sex !!

Sparky
08-02-2008, 11:18
:) Hi Ladies,

Not much has been happening on here!

Well I have had a good week, Mikaila started prep this week and I have been enjoy some quality time with Riley:cloud9:. She loves it at prep!

Here are a few pics of her first day.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb103/Sparky8382/Sparky/072.jpg

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb103/Sparky8382/Sparky/074.jpg

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb103/Sparky8382/Sparky/076.jpg

I ordered some itti bitti d'lish nappies today, I can't wait to get them, they look soo cute!!

Does anyone have a ergo? I'm thinking of getting one but they are petty $$ and wanted to know what you think of them. I have a sling at the moment but it's starting to get abit uncumfortable.

Ace I hope E feels better soon :hugs:, it's horrible when you have a little one feeling sick.

Areca
08-02-2008, 13:40
Sparky get the ERGO!!!!!! Seriously it's money worth spending!!! We have one and got it when E was 5 months old and she could still be carried in it except she doesn't want to be but she's 26 months! I am starting to use it for A now instead of our hug-a-bub. You won't regret spending the $$$$ and if you don't like it you'd be able to sell it easy peasy cause they are really popular!

3cherubs
08-02-2008, 20:19
I second the ERGO :yelclap: I have one and Myf loves it, did take me a bit to get used to but great now.
i had her in the back carry and it was so comfy.
When she gets a bit longer she will be able to see a little more, at the moment she peers through the shoulder straps.

Sparky - Mikaila looks very cute and grown up in her school uniform. Is she enjoying school ?

ACE1- How is E ? Hope you are all well..

M O P
09-02-2008, 09:03
Sparky- Mikaila looks very grown up and smart in her school uniform :)

I've been thinking about an Ergo for ages now too-
still should get one, I'm just finding it hard to justify as I have 2 prams & 2 strollers plus a cheapie baby carrier & a h-a-b.
It would be so handy though when I'm shopping on my own with Hugh & Pearl :detective:

Areca
09-02-2008, 13:02
Kazza - You deserve it so I say go for it! You'd be able to alternate carrying the 2 as well! Makes for lighter travelling!

Sparky - Mikaila looks so cute in her school uniform!!

Sandra - E is getting better. Still a bit of a rash but back to sleeping through the night and no temps anymore. If only her behaviour was so easy to get under control!

Livy - Yeah I think A must be having a growth spurt cause she is starting to feed more often through the day as well.

Hope everyone is having a good weekend! DH is at work so just listening to E chuck a tantrum cause she doesn't want to go to bed. I'd be fine with that except she sleeps for at least 2 hours so she needs that nap!

We had our last open house this morning (thankfully...I'm so sick of having to keep my house perfect...clean and tidy I can do but I usually do different things on different days so it's not always immaculate which is what it has to be for an open house) and I'm pretty sure we'll end up renting it out for 12 months and then putting it back on the market. That last interest rise really didn't help us out!

JacksMumBec
12-02-2008, 12:49
Whats been happening in the week of the Aug 07 Mums?
We've had a pretty rough few days since being back from holidays with my sister....
Like some of you have mentioned your lil ones are waking up frequently during the night - as is my lil man. He's been horrible the last few days after his shots, got a fever and has been generally irritable. Can't wait for my happy sleepy boy to come back!
My DP lost his job, and his redundancy money is yet to come through. he has also been diagnosed with Ross River Virus (suspected last week, confirmed today), so is really too run down to even think about work, so I think I'm going to have to put the family first and head back to work full time myself. At least til dp is back on track. We heard that electricity can get rid of it, so we're making a trip down south to see my familiy and i'm gonna make him touch an electric fence hahaha. if i doesnt cure him of the virus it will be a good giggle :P
hope your week has been far better than ours!

M O P
13-02-2008, 10:26
:hugs: Bec- to say you've had a rough few days is prob an understatement
I hope things get better- and your partner

Tingles
13-02-2008, 11:07
Okay I know you r gonna think it - I'm evil:devil: we did controlled crying last nite...

This bubba wants to be held 24/7:shame: something I simply cannot do being the mum of 4... she is soooo spoilt.

She probably cried for 20 mins ^ went off to sleep... must have known I was going to bed & woke up at 11pm (3 hrs later)... she just loves me way 2 much.

Was doing CC again this morning, but my neighbour rang the doorbell... she'd locked herself out... I thought she'd come to tell me that my baby was crying...:laughing: So, it didn't happen this morning:crying:

Anyone else having this problem?

M O P
13-02-2008, 11:10
we have times when I know Pearl is really tired- over tired- she doesn't want a feed, has a clean nappy, doesn't want to be held- so we just have to leave her and soon enough she's out like a light

Areca
13-02-2008, 13:10
:hugs: Bec. I hope everything works itself out soon. I can only imagine how stressful a time it is for you and your family right now.

Tingles - Well I don't really do CC but lately A has been refusing to feed to sleep and then not going to sleep so the other night I put her in her cot and turned on her projector light and went and brushed my teeth and put on my pj's and she was out like a light when I got back. She did want to be held constantly for the first 10 weeks though. I just kept putting her in her cot when she was awake and got her to play in there (and would get her as soon as she got upset cause I wanted it to be a happy place) and she went from being a baby that slept in my arms (not even next to me) to being one that doesn't like to co-sleep now. If the CC doesn't work for you invest in an ergo! You can throw baby on your back and she gets the cuddles she is after but you get your hands free for your three other girls!

Well we move house in 10 days time and won't have the net for about a month after we move! Not sure how much I'll be on in the mean time (lots of packing to do) but I will be back!

Livy
13-02-2008, 16:11
Bec - I hope your DP is feeling better soon. Ross River is horrible! Sounds like you have had a rough time - it can only getter better from here on :hugs:

Tingles - we haven't tried cc here yet. Tho DS is teething, has a fever from his injections (had them yesterday) and been diagnosed with refulx so we are not having a fun week :no: I can imagine that you would have to cc sometimes with 4 kids - It's hard enough with one atm :laughing:

Ace - good luck with the packing and moving. We just moved into our new house before Xmas - so I know what a pain in the butt moving can be! Hope it all goes well.

Hi to everyone else :wave:

M O P
14-02-2008, 07:26
good luck with your packing Carmen-
see you on your return

3cherubs
14-02-2008, 07:56
JacksMumBec - :hugs: to you and your family. Hope your DP get better soon, sending some get well vibes to your house:wizard:

Tingles - I can sympathize with you on the CC and spoilt baby...
I did CC with DD1 and DD2, but could not do it with Myf it would break my heart. So, i would carry her around in a sling for the first couple of months. Then i tried a dummy and it was more trouble than it was worth:hissy:
So, about a month ago i did CC, but she would only cry for about 10 mins ( the cry would first be a full one, then within 30secs it would stop). It was about a week of this, now she goes down with not a worry.:fingerscrossed:

I had to do CC as i have 2 other DD's to spent time with, otherwise i would be holding onto DD3 24/7 and that is not fair to the other 2.

Goodluck with it all :hugs:

Tingles
14-02-2008, 09:34
3cherubs - glad I'm not the only one... somedays I think I am a bad person for having more than 2 kids...:gloomy: You so often hear negative comments about having a 'larger' family...

It's V day - I should be happy:D - but I think I am just a dowdy fat tired mum of 4, kids & DH with night coughs, who does too much helping up at the school... (when others couldn't give a rats a$$)...

'rat's A$$' that just brightened up my day:p:laughing:

Oh well, this 'super-mum's'- gotta go count up the pizza orders for school 'fun lunch' tomorrow!

Yep - that's what they call me at the school - SUPERMUM... I'm just a mum who makes time for others around me... does that make sense?:hair:

missjane2005
14-02-2008, 09:44
Its been awhile since ive been in here. We r currently looking at buying a house, ive been thinking about starting to pack cos our lease is up in may and DP isnt going to sign a lease to pay off sum1 elses house.

I did exams for uni and have to wait till the 29th for my results if i pass i should start uni on the 3rd march! its driving me insain waiting.

DDs father is been silly! it was so good and now its turning into a huge mess again.

my DS is vey spoilt i cant leave him alone and when i leave him in his cot he crys really bad and ill come and calm him and leave n he starts crying really bad straight away. i cant even leave him in his rocker while i stack the dishwasher! iam not sure what to do with him??:hair:

JacksMumBec
20-02-2008, 09:01
hi girls :)
thanks for all your well wishes, dp is on the mend. we made him grab hold of an electric fence, cuz apparently that kills the ross river virus, and it's mostly worked!! no more profuse sweating at night, no more dizzy spells, no more all day lethargy - so things are starting to look up. hopefully he'll feel well enough next week to get some work (he's dead against the idea of me going back yet).

how's all your lil'uns? jack's just started sitting on his own in the last week, which also means he's also started falling over on purpose so we prop him back up hehehe. its cute, but starting to wear thin. he's also into making LOTS of noise he squeals at us to get our attention now. jeez it cracks me up - i can't help but lose myself laughing everytime he does it.

3cherubs & tingles - :flowerz: i think its great you have a big family. i have 2 younger siblings, and we're very close - must be nice to know that your kids will probably have that same closeness. we're still undediced :confused: about another baby, but jack's still so young, so who knows?!

must go - tonnes of housework to do and an unwell (think he's milking it for all its worth now) dp to attend to :)

M O P
27-02-2008, 22:21
:sunshine: Pearl is on the move!

She has mastered the art of crawling now and is off and racing.

I can't believe I no longer have the luxury of one child who will stay still-
and I can't believe how fast they grow!

JacksMumBec
28-02-2008, 09:49
:sunshine: Pearl is on the move!

She has mastered the art of crawling now and is off and racing.

I can't believe I no longer have the luxury of one child who will stay still-
and I can't believe how fast they grow!

how cool what a clever girl!! :yelclap: am just thinking how scary that is, means the rest of our bubs won't be too far off either hahaha. although jack has no interest in trying yet - so i think i'm safe for a few more weeks at least :) :)

Tingles
28-02-2008, 21:01
:yelclap: Pearlie :yelclap:

Is she our first crawler?

Ruby can get around on her tum, & occassionally gets up on all-4's just for a little rock...

Goodness... it will mean I've gotta clean the floors more often:doh:

Ruby is loving fooooooood - eats anything - including that chocie biccie the other day :devil:naughty mother! Was good for photos...

missjane2005 - :fingerscrossed: good luck 4 tomorrow!

JacksMumBec - Thank you for your kind comments about larger families - I hope my girls appreciate what I was not fortunate enough to have... sisters!

TMI coming up... I think I have a hemi? A lump at my pooper-shooter end... Hemi? Advice?

Livy
29-02-2008, 15:52
Hi all.

Go Pearl!! :yelclap:

Ethan loves rolling over and tries to get going but just can't quite make it yet. We will need to organise a safety gate for the top of the stairs in no time tho I reckon.

missjane2005 - hope the results were good today! Good luck with house hunting and packing.

Tingles - not too much advice re the hemi - but hope you get it sorted soon :yes::laughing:

M O P
01-03-2008, 08:01
I have been so spoilt for the last 2 weeks as I've had a lady here from Outback Childcare who has been living with us and looking after the children while we've been shearing (the shearer's have their own cook luckily but we still had extra musterers so had 5 adults to feed for 2 and a bit weeks) and I did my BAS.
She was just fantastic and the kids loved her-
I was really sad she had to leave :(
but she is coming back in July & Oct when we're busy on the station and I will also have BAS to do then too.

It was great for both Hugh & Pearl to have someone paying so much attention to them, especially while I was so busy.

Toni- not sure what you should do but try not to make it any worse- so a softener might be nice to help you not strain too much.

Kimee
03-03-2008, 09:09
Hi August mummies!

Just jumping in to say hello and catching up on the goss! haven't been on in yonks, I'm terrible! :o

wow I see many bubs are getting mobile! Will hasn't got that far yet. He has the leg action going but the top half is letting him down! Poor little guy he just wants to get movin! Don't think it'll be long though!

Hope you are all well and doing great! :hugs:

cheekiechops
06-03-2008, 13:14
I'm new here but have a little boy who was born on 14th August and wanted to say hi!

M O P
10-03-2008, 09:26
welcome CC

alisando01
10-03-2008, 10:53
Em has started commando crawling! she is growing up too fast! oh well, they have to grow up dont they ?;)

JacksMumBec
12-03-2008, 09:38
hi again everyone. seems to have gotten a lil quiet in here again. welcome to cheekiechops - you'll hae to fill us in on where your lil man is at :)

jack's rolling EVERYWHERE and gets up on all fours and rocks like crazy, so i think my wish of having a few more weeks of a mostly non mobile baby are going to fly out the window hahaha. we gave him a buzz cut last night .... 9mm all over - third hair cut we've given him. it just grows so quick.

hope this week finds you and yours all well :)

M O P
14-03-2008, 07:20
wow- Pearl just pulled herself up to a standing position
Hugh certainly wasn't doing that at 7 months- however he did start taking steps at 10 months

nikki78
14-03-2008, 10:52
Hi everyone havent been on for ages so i thought id log in and chat my Taylah started to crawl on Monday and is now pulliin herself up on everythin and gettin in to everythin,
But shes not goin to well on the sleepin seen shes fine at naps durin day andgoes down at night but sleeps for a couple of hours then up again some nights shes up every hour or half hour then when i put her in bed with me she sleeps right through still yet to figure out what to do

lukesgirl
17-03-2008, 14:45
hi, im new to the site and thought i would pop in and introduce myself.

My name is Kim and my beautiful son Christopher was born on the 8th of august, just like pearl.

i am a member of another forum and have shared my pregnancy and journey into mother hood with a lovely bunch of ladies.

i would love to get to know you all and learn about your bubs.

Chris is doing really well, still breast feeding fantastically and has taken so well to solids.

he is just over 9 kg now and 72cm long.

he is rolling but not quite sitting or crawling yet.

we had a wonderful surprise over the weekend, he has cut his bottom two teeth :yelclap:
it also looks like the top two are going to come through soon.

I am a new work at home mum, i started a business at the start of the year.
I am loving getting to stay home with Chris but it does get very hard some times.

i look forward to learning about you all

M O P
19-03-2008, 12:17
welcome Kim

I'm not sure how big Pearl is now cause I haven't had her 6 months shots done yet-
haven't been anywhere to get them and then when there was a clinic near us we were away.

No teeth yet or even signs- but then I had no signs with Hugh- they were just there one day. :)

deb1234
21-03-2008, 14:39

we've had a pretty bad couple of months up every 2-3 hours waiting for these teeth to arrive! he's got almost 2 (definitely 1!) down the bottom and you can see the outline of 4 on the top. poor guy getting six at once no wonder he can't sleep! he still won't take any medication well and vomits up panadol & nurofen (and any solids...) so we just have to ride it out i guess.

yep still no solids at 7.5 months. he's just not ready, won't open his mouth and if you do catch it open he gags on anything even before he's tasted it. i think he just loves the boob too much!! no chance of weaning here! :) its pretty amazing to look at how big he is and think he's gone from a tiny (9lb 6oz) baby to a big boy and i've kept him alive with just my supermilk. :D

missjane2005
25-03-2008, 11:47
HI! my results were good thank u! i got into primary and middle schooling education yay!! but i had to put it off till semester 2 because i got my results on a friday and was due to start monday but didnt know weather or not i was starting till i got my results. I didnt have before and after school care for DD and no1 to look after DS so it will be organised this time.

How was everyones easter? i went to hervey bay and visited my mum was good to get away and spend time with my mum and family.

Deb: poor DS! my DS has 3 teeth and got a 4th thru on the weekend and he has another 2 almost thru so hes getting 3 i couldnt imagine having 6! hope they cut quick and get it over and done with.

M O P
25-03-2008, 12:03
congrats MissJane

mybabyandew
28-03-2008, 11:15
hey my baby boy was born the 19th of august 2007

mumzof3
31-03-2008, 11:07
hi my little man was also born in august 2007. the 27th

Taylors_mum
01-04-2008, 11:52

My DD was born on the 30th.

I used to chat in the due in august thread and thought i would pop in here to see how the bubba's are doing ...but its so quiet.. im quessing all the mumma's that were expecting are now off enjoying their bubba's.

Would love to hear how everyone's little ones are going...

Do we have many crawlers?? Daniela is trying.. just not quite there yet

neekynoo
10-04-2008, 08:42
Hi i've just found this thread so I thought i'd pop in and say Hi :wave: DD was born on the 20th Aug. She's my first bub and totally gorgeous (biased to a small degree ;)). She's not crawling but has learnt how to roll 3 times in a row to get herself around the room. No longer can I go to the loo and know she'll be where i left her. We may have to invest in a playpen or something. Any advice welcome. Hope all of you and your bubs are well :hugs:

JacksMumBec
10-04-2008, 18:07
hi myjellybean, Taylors_mum, mumzof3 and mybabyandew! i havent been in here for a while, few new ppl. pretty quiet though isnt it!
trust everyones doing well?!
we've had a pretty eventful week here, jack's crawling as of last week ago, he's cut his bottom two teeth (with hardly any discomfort - PHEW!!), he's clapping his hands and today he's decided he can pull himself up to a stand!!
its like nothing changes for ages, then BAM its all on :)

neekynoo
11-04-2008, 07:39
we've had a pretty eventful week here, jack's crawling as of last week ago, he's cut his bottom two teeth (with hardly any discomfort - PHEW!!), he's clapping his hands and today he's decided he can pull himself up to a stand!!
its like nothing changes for ages, then BAM its all on :)

Hi :wave: Sounds like he's going great guns. I think Lyla is going to be a bit of a late comer. Thats ok by me though. Like you said one day it will all just happen at once :yes: She's getting her second tooth, she has #1 on her bottom left and is cutting #4 on top left. Makes me wonder what happened to the 2s and 3s??

It's good to talk to mums with bubs around the same age cos this is all new to me and none of my friends have kids so some days I'm not really sure whats what.
It's lots of fun though :goodvibes:

missjane2005
11-04-2008, 09:12
Hi everyone!! DS is crawling and has been since before easter, he goes every now! chases my cats around. Its so cute when he gets close enough to them he rests his head on the cat lol. he also pulled himself up to a standing position this morning in his cot :( they grow way to quick!

How much is eveyones bubs eating?

carli
13-04-2008, 01:34
Hi all, My name is Carli, I have a litle girl, born 18/8, gorgeous, and im not just a biased mother. she is a bit cheeky and hasnt learned to crawl yet. we have polished floor boards, so she just scoots herself around the house on her belly, til mummy went and bought a mat... she is not happy about this, is up and rocking, just not crawling. she has been "teething" since 4 months, yet to see a tooth!!!!

I live in essendon, would love to meet up with any melbournian mums as it can get a bit lonely at home!!!

JacksMumBec
13-04-2008, 17:05
hi carli - you're bubs sounds like she's doing great guns, crawling isnt far off - ds was rocking for about a month before he decided he wanted to crawl :)
missjane2005: thats cute re your ds and the cats. my ds is a bruiser just wants to hit and smash everything - he never even lets me cuddle him (unless its for a feed and he's pretty sleepy already!!). jack's just started eating heaps in the last 2 weeks. he's now having 1/2 weetbix and 2 tsp puree fruit for brekky, then 1/2 banana & 1/4 avocado mashed for lunch or 2 tbs baked beans mashed etc, then dinner is usually 2-3 tbs veg/meat mash. i'm trying to just get him eating what we're eating ie chuck a small cooled portion of our dinner (minus seasonings) in food processor for him. with milk in between meals of course - he's having about 600 - 800ml a day :)

Tannersmama
13-04-2008, 21:05
wow...I've just read this whole thread (all 17 pages! :eek:) while polishing off a family block of cadbury dairymilk lol. It was great to read about all the bubs reaching their milestones, made me a bit teary thinking of all the things DS went through when he was just a little bub! Anyways, I'm Alicia mummy to Tanner born 12th August 8lb12oz. He's still a big boy, 10.8 kilos now and so darn heavy to lug around all day.No toothy pegs yet, though chewing on everything and a bit grizzly so maybe soon :confused: He has just started crawling, so there goes my freedom to leave him on his playmat and hang out the washing lol and is climbing up onto everything! Thismorning he discovered how to open the dvd player, definately time to babyproof the house!

DS is stirring for some boobie so must be off, I noticed that there haven't been too many posts from the August mums so hopefully this thread is still going strong. Sorry for the rant, nice to meet you all! :)

neekynoo
15-04-2008, 07:59
How much is eveyones bubs eating?

Hi Everyone!! Eating is going well again, it had dropped off when her tooth was coming through but its back on now :yes: I tried giving her some vegies that were mashed but not blended and it didn't go well :( Gagging, gagging more gagging and then a power chuck of the bottle she'd had bout an hour earlier! Then lots of crying and more gagging. I gave up and blended it and no probs. Down the hatch it went. She really doesn't like the lumps. Any tips on how to help this along?? I would be very very grateful.

M O P
15-04-2008, 08:39
Eating-
I had this trouble with Hugh and I was really stressed out. The ECN told me the amount he should be eating and I was worrying cause he wasn't-
mind you, she doesn't have kids and I'd be lucky if 22 month Hugh eats the amounts she was talking about now!
I also had another nurse tell me that if Hugh wasn't eating then- he was about 7-8 months- he would never learn to eat- yeah right! :laughing:

But as a first time Mum I was really stressed-
with Pearl I relaxed a bit and tried not to stress.
She is only eating a bit of farex or really smooth veges & pieces of pear- a couple of times a day- and not that much at a time but she's sleeping well, has lots of dirty nappies, is gaining weight and crawling & pulling herself up so it's obviously going fine.

Still no teeth :)

JacksMumBec
22-04-2008, 17:47
hi again ladies. been a bit quiet again huh! :)
hope that means you're all off having fun with ya bubbas!

MoP - i've tried to be pretty relaxed with the whole solids thing too. think its been worth it though cuz jack's a good eater now.

he's gotten his first virus this week though! he's happy enough during the day, but hits fevers and all that horrible junk at night. so have had 3 sleepless nights in a row. :fingerscrossed: he sleeps a little better tonight.

hope all your bubs are doing well :)

OJandMe
26-04-2008, 17:19
Guess What Guess what!!

GABRIEL'S CRAWLING!!!!

Started yesterday. He's still really slow and prefers to be picked up.... so we've been 'motivating' him by putting the TV remote on the floor on the opposite side of the room... and putting him down in the doorways of rooms instead of in the middle.

Awww... he's sooo cute.

He's been standing for ages, and wanting to walk... so I'm guessing it's just a matter of weeks now till he realises this 'crawling' thing means he can get himself to tables and chairs to pull himself up.

Oh and is anyone elses August bubbas eating strange things??

Tonight he ate some of my Hokkien noodles, and yesterday ate my buttered mushrooms I had for breakfast. He eats whole plums, and perssimons, and loves watermelon and banana in 'fingers' as well.

He's a cutie... but I didn't think they could really manage savoury mince at 8 months... especially with not a single tooth in his head! :laughing: Oh well... :p

HarvestMoon
28-04-2008, 11:27
Oh and is anyone elses August bubbas eating strange things??

Yes my Ds is the same. He will eat anything. We skiped the whole pureed/mashed food stage with him as well. He just didn't need it that way. He will eat whole apples, nectarines, bananas, etc..

He's been really good with food. My first DS was a shocker when it came to solids. so i am more than glad DS2 took to them so well. He's made life easier for me by just eating what the rest of us do.

pkbub
08-05-2008, 16:08
:wave:Hi All,
I used to be in the August pregnancy chat...haven't been in this thread much.

Good to see so many mums with bubs the same age and hitting the same milestones...Aren't they sooooo cute when learning to crawl:D
Like Carli we have wood floors so DS is a great comando crawler and only is just rocking on all 4's when on carpet, or our bed or beside me on the couch.

We've recently gotten over 6 weeks of terrible sleeping at night - still don't know the reason...but last night DS slept through:smiliedance: I had 8 hours solid sleep - and today I am a new woman!:laughing:

DS got 2 teeth right at 6 month with no trouble...wondering when the others will come:confused:

He Loves his solids - eats so much!!! breakfast is blended oats and apple & cinnamon, lunch is carrot, pumpkin, rice and lentils then may eat a whole banana with a spooon of yogurt and dinner is peas,spinach and polenta & chicken and then some fruit puree. and still 4-5 BF/day too. It amazes me!

As for lumps...I just started pureeing a bit less each time and now we can just do a fork mash for alot of things.

Hard to believe Mothers day is so soon...hope you all have a fabulous weekend :flowerz: and Happy Mothers Day!!!!!

pkbub
17-05-2008, 09:42
Wow- this thread is practically dead!

All the August mums must be busy chasing after our little ones...:wave:

Littlemisslinda
20-05-2008, 15:01
:wave: I was in & out of the pregnancy chat. DD only just made it into August bubs she was born on the 31st!

I keep meaning to change my pic, but she is still a baldy gummy bub so Ive just left it! :laughing:

She keeps having episodes which seem like teething... but no teeth appear!

We keep trying her on lumps - but no luck! Its mostly our fault though. Because she has really not gained weight (born at 4.2kgs and now nearly 9 months and not even 8kgs yet!) we tend to just be happy if she is eating, so if she refuses lumps, out comes the stick mixer to puree!

neekynoo
21-05-2008, 09:11
Hi everyone :wave: Hope you and bubs are all well. We've finally moved house ( 2 weeks ago) and finally settled in. It took Lyla a couple of nights to adjust to her new bedroom but it's all good now. We think she's teething again cos she's been grumpy and clingy the last couple of days, lots of dribble and rosy cheeks etc. Maybe the top ones are on the way. Still no crawling but lots of pivoting around the floor to move herself around the room. She's been propping herself up and swaying from side to side lately and thinks its really funny that she can do it. It's very cute. She hasn't porgressed much with lumps and isn't interested in finger foods but I've stopped worrying about it. She'll let me know when she's ready. Wow, sorry for the long post :ecomcity:. How is everyone esle going? Can't believe 9 motnhs has gone ssooooo quickly!:hugs: to everyone.

deb1234
22-05-2008, 10:28

sounds like we are all busy! :)

Isaac is pulling himself up on everything and edging himself along furniture. He thinks he's so clever. :D

He also has 6 teeth...but won't use them. Thats right he's on 100% breastmilk at 9.5 months. Just won't eat ANYTHING, won't open his mouth for a spoon and very occasionally will put anything up to his mouth but we are persevering with finger foods. The comm health clinic tells me this is all very normal for a breastfed baby and particularly at 9-10 months they become very clingy so its hard to convince them to drop a feed and have something to eat!

The non-eating is affecting his sleeping now because he's so big & breastmilk is so easily digested he just can't get full enough on milk alone to get through the night. So we are back to waking every 3 hours. Hopefully a good nights sleep is just around the corner!

nikki78
27-05-2008, 13:23
Hi everyone Tayllahs 9months this weekend and shes crawlin and is eatin just about everything
still doesnt sleep much
no teeth either not many people on this thread anymore

Areca
27-05-2008, 13:42
Hi all!!!
I didn't realise this thread was still going!!

Deb we are exactly the same as you!!!!! A barely eats (dinner time is our most successful meal but it's not a lot) and breastfeeds every 1-3 hours during the day, and can wake 3 or 4 times a night for a feed! DD1 didn't start eating until she was 9 1/2 months old so I'm hoping we're not too far off with A! A also won't take a bottle, a sippy cup, nothing so we're pretty well permanently attached! I'm glad you have a good CHN! When I took E at 7 months the CHN insisted that I didn't have enough breastmilk, then insisted I had too much, and demanded that I cut back her breastfeeds and reassured me with a 'by 9 months old your baby will be having three breastfeeds a day.' Yeah, she was having at least 9 at 9 months of age! She was a twit of a woman! I never went back and have never taken A. We are just doing baby led weaning and I know she'll eat when she's good and ready. I try her with a spoon occassionally but she just closes her mouth, grabs the spoon and pushes it away. The good thing is you get to miss the puree stage altogether! I actually prefer it this way!!!!

No teeth here yet either...first one looked like it was going to pop through but then stopped. She still commando crawls. She has been rocking on all fours since she was 6 months old but she moves her knees forward and then face plants in to the floor. It's pretty funny actually! She'll get there, DD1 commando crawled until she was over one! She can say mama, dada, and baba, and can give kisses (she makes fish lips!). She also loves music and her little legs go like crazy when she hears a song!

Anyway, must go! Hope to see this thread get a bit busier!

JacksMumBec
27-05-2008, 17:18
hi girls
your bubs all sound happy and healthy :) its good to hear they're all doing so well.
jack's been crawling for a while, and he goes so fast its funny. sometimes his arms dont quite keep up with his legs and he face plants hahaha then cries, but is easily distracted with a rattle :P he's been up 'cruising' around the furniture since the day he started crawling so we have to remember to keep everything away from the edges of tables/benches etc he did a bit of a 'falling walk' the other day. went to grab hold of my leg just as he let go of the couch, but misjudged so took a quick few steps to get there. was very cute and pretty exciting, but i think we're a long way off properly walking.
he's been a big eater from 6 1/2 months, and generally eats a lot during the day (except when he's teething). and likes everything so far, and no bad reactions which makes me happy :)
DoubleAce - Jack loves his music too :P will rock his whole body to anything that even remotely has a beat (i was scrubbing a pot the other night that must've had a rhythm and he was off and boogying hahaha)
Trust this finds you all well!

deb1234
28-05-2008, 06:30
Carmen, i'm glad Arlia isn't eating much either! She sounds exactly like Isaac. We must have some pretty yummy milk :D
Yep, i'm glad i saw such a nice lady at the health centre, there are so many morons out there. I went to a male doc the other day to see if Isaac had an ear ache or something that was making him scream all night and he was really dismissive of me and obviously didn't understand anything about breastfeeding. i can't believe these people are giving mothers advice! i won't be going back, lucky i knew enough to ignore him. :)

have a good week everyone :wave:

rawe777
28-05-2008, 22:05
Well....

BFP

Please keep your fingers crossed for pink :babydust2:.

:D:D

Kind of feel sorry for Gabs, he's only had me to himself for such a short time. And I've been absolutely loving being able to give him undivided attention, when that just wasn't/isn't possible with the twins.

4 under 4... WOW.

lol.... DH already 'suspected' coz I asked him yesterday if he remembered when my last AF was...

:detective:

Oh well.... had BT done this morning (before testing) to find out why my hair keeps falling out, so I expect when I go to the Dr's for those results he'll be able to confirm the other as well.

Not telling family till after gender scan, if I can hide it till then.

I'm so excited! ... wanting to homebirth this time, coz going by Gabby's birth, I don't know if I'll make it to hosp in time!!

:bfp:
Hello Everyone,

My name Is Renee I have a Daughter name Zoe She was born 17 August 2007
I am Trying to meet up with some mothers In my area Western Sydney.

Renee (rawe777)

nikki78
30-05-2008, 13:24
Little Taylah has got up today with a bright red bum, shes had it for last couple of days and now its come bac really red. some people say its teethin some say it may be bad patch of nappies, im just keep puttin cream on.
Taylah also wants to hold what she eats doesnt eat a great deal but its somethin to start with she likes to eat our food rather then her jar stuff

neekynoo
06-06-2008, 08:28
Hi everyone :wave: Lyla started crawling last night!!! :yelclap::smiliedance: :party: It's kind of awkward looking and only for a metre or so and then she stops and just grins away. I think she's quite proud of herself. Won't be long before she moving around like a crazy person. So we're off to look at gates etc this w/end. We have no idea where to start, it should be interesting :dizzy:. She still isn't interested in any finger foods we offer. Well not interested in putting them anywhere near her mouth that is, she loves smushing them with her hands and throwing them on the floor. She is getting better with lumps though so it's been a slow process but we're getting there. I really want her to be able to handle finger foods by her bday so she can enjoy a piece of her cake. :fingerscrossed:. How is everyone else going? Hope you and your bubbas are all doing well x

izzyrosesmum
11-06-2008, 13:33
HI my jellybean,

your dd is only 3 days younger than my daughter, how do you find she is eating because Isabella going through a stage where she puts food in her mouth chews it up sucks off taste then spits back out. this is fairly new she used to take it fine.

nikki78
11-06-2008, 16:39
My little girl is goin thru a stage she will taste food then spit out and put in again, she is startin to take steps she took 2 steps other day on no then we will be on the go

Areca
11-06-2008, 16:49
OMG Our first walker maybe Nikki??? A is still commando crawling :laughing:

Yah for Lyla crawling!!!!!

Deb - How's the eating going??? A has started to eat a little bit of dinner. Not a lot, but it does help with the night wakings (the night she eats dinner she only wakes once). Of course she decided to start to get teeth so has lost interest. First tooth through, just waiting for tooth no. 2 to appear and then we should be ok!

I had A allergy tested yesterday and she is allergic to eggs. A huge relief for me (her older sister is allergic to cow's milk, eggs, cashew nuts, hazelnuts, almonds, walnuts, and kiwi fruit), I wish she wasn't allergic to anything of course but after dealing with her sister's allergies for so long now only having to avoid eggs seems really easy and opens up a whole new world for us!!! :laughing:

wattlebird
11-06-2008, 20:29

I'm new to the BubHub and wasn't sure if this thread was still going.

My DD, Ava was born on 8 August 2007 and I can't believe how fast its gone! She is our first baby and is an absolute angel. I'm really lucky - she has DH's temprament - very easy going!! Mind you, she was in a hurry to get here. A week early, I had my first twinge of labour pain at 1am. Got to the hospital at 6:30am and DD was born at 6:48am.

She only started crawling a month ago, but in that time has gone leaps and bounds (well not literally!!). She pulls herself up on everything and now is starting to let go and balance herself. No independant steps yet (just a little bit of cruising). Its funny, I was starting to worry about her because she was a little late to crawl - and now there's no stopping her. Its amazing to see how quickly they change!

She is eating really well and has 6 teeth!! All 4 of her top teeth came at the same time - the poor thing!!!

I'm due to go back to work in 4 weeks - I'm a little anxious, but know its the right thing to do for our family. We're lucky, we have my sister and my MIL to look after Ava - and its only 2 days a week - so all will be fine!! Just a little sad - don't want to miss out on anything - I'll be upset if I miss her first steps - but then again, I'll probably just be happy that she's taken them!!!

izzyrosesmum
12-06-2008, 06:02
Ah wow nikki thats great, Izzy keeps letting go of the furniture thats she's holding on to then a look of panic comes accross her face then she holds on again for dear life lol bless her she will get there when she is ready.

Although we are doing well with teeth we have the 2 top and 2 bottom and I'm pretty sure we have some more on the way.

Has any one found that their bubs are trying to repeat things that you say other than the ba ga da and ma sounds. we were playing peeka boo yesterday and i swear blind she was trying to say peeka as she put her teddy infront of her face. Or is it me ? Am I just going mad? lol

Ah well back to the straight jacket.lol

deb1234
12-06-2008, 10:16
hey guys

i can't believe our little babies are going to be 1 soon! feels like i was just pregnant.

Carmen, nope no progress on the solids front here. I'm hoping he will work it out in the next 2 months so he can have some birthday cake. :) That's great that A is sleeping a bit better for you and her allergy tests came through ok. Isaac has decided that he only needs about 3 hours sleep in his cot at night and the rest dozing at the boob. :sleeping: I think he is seriously addicted!

I think the first August walker would have been Julius (neo's boy)...although he crawled at 5 months so could be a genius :D

Isaac isn't close to letting go of the couch just yet, he has a cry when he is even a little bit unsteady. I'm sure in the next few months he'll get a bit braver. :)

Have a great day everyone :wave:

JacksMumBec
12-06-2008, 12:29

sounds like all our bubs are doing great! jack's still crawling everywhere like a madman its kinda funny, i've never known a kid to be so frantic at crawling. he takes a few steps from the coffee table to the couch whenever he gets the urge, has done it a few times now, but he's not really interested in it apart from that. his latest thing is crawling under/over the rails on our wooden dining chairs and hiding under the table bonking his head hahaha. he's also a lil too adventurous for me, falls ALL the time, has a constant stream of bruises and scratches and bumps on his head and down his shins. all par for the course i suppose.

re spitting out food, jack did that for a while too - but i wasnt concerned he was still drinking lots of milk and had lots of wet/poo nappies. i think he just liked the texture of some things and not the flavour and vice versa - but who really knows?!

deb - i know what you mean about time flying - i was thinking only yesterday about this time last year, sporting a baby bump waddling around at work hahaha. have a sneaking suspicion i'm UTD again so MUST really check soon hahaha.
anyways hope everyones well - and keep up the good work with your bubbas :)

izzyrosesmum
16-06-2008, 06:24
Hi Guys :wave:

Izzy letting go of the furniture loads! not moving any where yet but balancing. And yet another tooth on it's way . And she is taking her food properly again yey! I cant believe that I am looking at invites and cake recipes for her first birthday party! is it really that time nearly already! Are any of you northside of brissy at all?
Anyway Speak soon

Sarah and Izzy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Kimee
12-07-2008, 22:31
Hi august mums!

Thought I'd pop in and say hi! Wow our little ones will be nearly 1!!! Hasn't that flown! DH and I are thinking about trying for number 2! Are many here already expecting??

Will is currently crawling like a maniac, standing, loving food and playing with other kids!

Hope everyone is doing great! Man, I'm so clucky again!

deb1234
13-07-2008, 08:32
hi everyone

we are still waking all night and Isaac hasn't eaten ANYTHING yet...so no number 2 for us just yet! probably won't start trying for another year. i'm getting pretty sick of this non-eating thing...it means i'm still feeding Isaac about 8-10 times a day, he's so addicted to boob! :sleeping: he has his molars poking through too but he won't use his 12 teeth!!

isaac is an expert at getting around holding on to furniture but hasn't let go yet. :)

Areca
13-07-2008, 15:37
Well we have decided we want a no. 3 but I am not even thinking about it until A is sleeping through the night, and she's not even close! She has one good stretch when she first goes down but her first wake up for the night is 12.10am (it's the same every night) and then it's 1-2 hourly after that (so now we just put her in bed with us).

Deb I hear you!!! Still feeding up to 12 times in 24 hours, and she puts food in her motuh, chews it up and then spits it out! It's frustrating but occassionally she'll accidently swallow something so hopefully she starts soon! She won't take a bottle, sippy cup or straw cup....how about Isaac? She started to eat, was sleeping better, and then started teething and that was the end!

Oh and she's still commando crawling too! :laughing: My DD1 commando crawled for 5 1/2 months...A has been doing it for 4 1/2 months now! She can pull herself up to her knees but no where near cruising furniture or anything like that! She's very close to saying hello (says 'ewo'), can almost say her name and can clap her feet together on cue! Her second tooth just popped through yesterday!

Rebeccaleigh - no advice on the sleep thing - A has never managed to sleep through the night!

izzyrosesmum
15-07-2008, 08:08

Well finally Isabella is eating lumps again, thankfully every mealtime was becoming so stressful for all of us. So for everyone else in same boat it will pass, i know it's hard but just be patient.

Wow nearly 1, only 5 weeks to go until Isabella gets to the magic number. What cakes did you who have already passed this great milestone do for your bub's i was thinking a number 1 in pink with edible fairy figures and flowers, with white trim icing what do you think do you think i am being a bit ambitious? My dh thinks so.

So do we have any more walkers yet? Isabella still just gliding round the furniture, altough she can stand without holding on for ages and can bend down and pick a toy up then stand back up again without falling over so i am thinking it shouldn't be much longer.

Take Care

Sarah and Isabella

neekynoo
15-07-2008, 09:39
Hi :wave: Just reading everyones posts - bubs all sound like they're doing really well. Can't believe it's nearly a year already, they grow up so quickly. Lyla is crawling like a maniac (mostly chasing the cat :p) and yesterday she pulled herself up holding the couch (again to try and get the cat, poor thing gets no relief). But it didn't last long her legs went underneath her straight away but no doubt she'll keep trying.
We have decided to have a ladybird themed party with a ladybird cake. I'm yet to practice making it though so it could be a disaster!! Any ideas for bday pressies? I was thinking a little ride on that the toy sales have had but I don't know if she'll be walking by then?? We are getting her the ceramic bunnykins bowl and fork/spoon set cos it's a bit of tradition in out family but still need to think of the fun toy pressie :confused:.
Glad to hear that everyone is happy and healthy :hugs:

EvangelinaOne
15-07-2008, 10:16
Hi there :wave: Hope you don't mind me joining your chat. My DD was born in August 07 and I have only just joined bub hub. DD is madly getting around the house and has started standing on her own in the last two days. She can also climb the stairs from bottom to top :shame::no:. I can't believe she is almost one, it so much fun watching her grow and learn new things. A friend is organising her birthday cake and I thought I would so some mini cupcakes in green, yellow, pink, purple and blue for everyone and decortate them with flowers (or buy them:o if they don't work out). DD has been waking up a lot over the past couple of weeks driving my husband and I totally bonkers as she used to be a really good sleeper. Anyway I went out and purchased a sleep book written by a lady name Tizzie Hall and she is back sleeping again. I think it is called Save Our Sleep. I highly recommend it for anyone having problems. It was just matter of changing her routine a little to suit her better:baby:. Anway nice to chat and can't wait to hear how your babies/upcoming toddlers are going.

Sparky
16-07-2008, 10:11
Hi everyone :),

I havn't posted on here for ages. Riley is doing great, I can't beleive our babies are going to be one soon. They grow up way too fast!! It seems like only yesterday I bought him home from hospital.

Riley is comando crawling (has been for months), but just yesterday he started to crawl properly :yelclap:. He is pulling himself up onto furniture and walking around holding onto the furniture. He isn't standing by himself yet. He is having no trouble with eating (will pretty much eat anything). He has his 3 teeth and 1 more coming through now.

Wow, there are a few here already thinking about another bub, I would love to have another one, just have to try and convince DH :p. Is anyone expecting?

Take Care

JacksMumBec
18-07-2008, 12:29
hi girls - i havent been in here for aaages (AGAIN!), just caught up on the reading of how everyones going. bubs seem to be doing great :) lots of nearly walkers on our hands. jack's been walking for about 3 weeks now - lord help me! well i say walking, but just like his crawling he only has one speed - flat out - its more like running.
i started back at work last week just two days at the moment, and put jack in daycare, and he picked up a bug ALREADY. has been a monster all week with a snotty nose and chesty cough. wont eat anything anymore (was previously a VERY good/big eater - so the adjustment's been hard), wont even take his bottles, the only way i can get milk into him is with a straw cup. even then he has hardly any *sigh*. he's drinking lots of water though and i keep offering foods (all his favourites) in hopes that he will eat. hopefully he's on the mend cuz its horrible seeing him so sick :(
anyways must go he's just waking up.

izzyrosesmum
22-07-2008, 09:24
:smiliedance:Isabella took her first step on Friday and then took 5 in a row on sunday!!! it was great to see and she was so pleased with herself.:yelclap:

Do you think it was a one off or is the start of my baby turning into a toddler?

How great if she is walking for her 1st birthday in 4 weeks.

What entertainment do you put on for a 1st birthday party as in games and things to keep them occupied?

Hope everyone else is well, i just had to share my news!

Sarah and Isabella xxxx

onabreak
22-07-2008, 11:19

You may remember me from the Aug 07 mums but my son Hamish ended up being born July 17th 5 weeks early instead of his due date Aug 23.

Hamish turned one last Thursday, we had a big party for him on Sunday and he had the best time eating his birthday cake.

Hamish is also trying to walk. He his cruising all the furniture and it won't be long until he lets go.

Hamish started solids at 4mths as he wanted more and more food, I ended up FF him aswell as my boobs couldn't keep up with his demand.

I will attach some photos for you from his birthday.

http://s103.photobucket.com/albums/m149/mandymoo77/?action=view&current=YummyCake.jpg

http://s103.photobucket.com/albums/m149/mandymoo77/?action=view&current=Illhavemore.jpg

http://s103.photobucket.com/albums/m149/mandymoo77/?action=view&current=GiveMeMore.jpg

3cherubs
22-07-2008, 13:50
Hi Everyone :wave::wave:

mandymoo - Happy Birthday for Hamish, it looked like he enjoyed his cake too:laughing:

Myf is crawling and cruising around the furniture too.
She also climbed on a box the other day :eek:, so she could look out the window. I have since moved the box.

She loves her boobie, more than food. She chews and tastes, then spits and throws...

Also, is up heaps at night. Though we co sleep so i am close at hand.

They grow up very fast, she is 11 months today.
So, in a months time she will be a toddler....

Have a great day ....

Janda
02-08-2008, 18:22
Hello.

I'm new to all this - and thought I might start here.

I'm married and have a bueatiful baby boy (who wont be a baby too much longer) born 15/8/07.

He is almost walking - and loves cruzing round the couches.

It's his party in 2 weeks - I would never of thought a childs birthday would be so much work.

JacksMumBec
03-08-2008, 14:58
hi everyone - the first birthday parties are among us :) :)

we had jacks party today, even though his birthday is on tuesday, cheated a lil and asked everyone to bring a small plate of party food - made it sooooo much easier. we just had a get together down at the park - was lovely day for it and a nice party :yelclap:

hope all your's go just as well :)

neekynoo
05-08-2008, 16:09
hi everyone - the first birthday parties are among us :) :)

we had jacks party today, even though his birthday is on tuesday

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JACK :party: :smiliedance:

Lylas birthday plans are on shelf at the moment as everyone has gastro here :barf:. It's not much fun. I'm on the mend but Lyla and DP are not so good. It's awful seeing a little bubba so upset and not being able to fix it. I wanted to practice her cake before the day so I don't stuff it up and so next week will be busy busy busy. Hope everyone is well and bubs are enjoying their birthdays :D

nikki78
23-08-2008, 11:25
Whats happened to everyone Taylah turns 1 next saturday my god its gone fast from her being dependent to me now to walking around doing her own thing

izzyrosesmum
09-09-2008, 05:54

Well we did it we made it a year!!!!:yelclap:

Izzy had a great birthday! (had tonsilitus on the day which meant cancelling her party!) but the week after when she was better we took her to dreamworld for the day and she loved it on the tea cups in wiggles world and all of the animals also.

And she is finally walking hooray!!!!:smiliedance: still a bit wobbly now and then but doing really well.

I hope that everyone elses birthdays went ok and your all well

Sarah and Isabella xxxxxxxxxxxx

asmidnightlovesthemoon
23-10-2008, 23:14
Hi everyone, I only joined the bub hub tonight. My name is Kylie, i'm 34 married with a 3yo son Caleb and a 14month old Saraya (19/08/07)

Just thought I'd pop in and say HI. My how the 1st year flies, my little baby is now a little lady toddling all over the house, although crawling seems to get her where she's going faster :) and terrorising her big brother (payback) ;)

Happy belated birthday to all the other bubs who celebrated their 1st birthdays 2 months ago.

neekynoo
24-10-2008, 09:36
Hi everyone, I only joined the bub hub tonight. My name is Kylie, i'm 34 married with a 3yo son Caleb and a 14month old Saraya (19/08/07)

Just thought I'd pop in and say HI. My how the 1st year flies, my little baby is now a little lady toddling all over the house, although crawling seems to get her where she's going faster :) and terrorising her big brother (payback) ;)

Happy belated birthday to all the other bubs who celebrated their 1st birthdays 2 months ago.

Welcome hun :hugs: May I say what a lovely name Saraya is too :yes:.

How is everyone going these days? Lyla is still happy to be the speedy crawler but is now pulling herself to stand against the couch etc. I guess it won't be too long and she'll be walking. I'm having terrible trouble getting her to eat these days :hair: She has become very very fussy and getting her to stay still long enough to eat is proving difficult. We are going through a phase where she just spits everything out. She's a lovely little lady!

Hope everyone is having fun :D

asmidnightlovesthemoon
24-10-2008, 12:22
:wave: Thanks Neekynoo, my DH actually picked the name :yelclap: I wasn't really keen on it myself when he came out with it. But we've been getting positive responses to it wherever we go.

I am having the opposite effect with Saraya's eating, she will eat ANYTHING! and always wants more :hissy: We are also finding that her 6th tooth wants to take it's sweet time coming through. She's had 5 teeth for 3 months now and is showing her usual signs of another tooth coming, but to no avail :confused:

Hope everyone is well :sunshine:

vickymom
28-10-2008, 22:28
My name is Irene, I've got a daught born on 27 Aug, 2007. She was born in Perth, but I came a long way from China. Hope to make some new friends here.

JacksMumBec
10-11-2008, 16:29
hi everyone
been ages since i've been in here (again am terrible!), but it looks like noone else has been in here either hahaha.
we've had a busy few months though so think you can all excuse me for not checking on the thread :P
we got married in sept, then took the (dreaded) flight to the UK for honeymoon/meet the inlaws. got to say was no where near as bad as i expected. jack was brilliant (spesh for a kid who really doesnt like to sit still for too long). in saying that though its not a trip we plan to repeat in the near future, even though it would be lovely to see them more often!
jack's a little maniac - so full on but so beautiful. non-stop talker and running - boy is he quick hahaha keeps me on my toes thats for sure.
he's a great eater - some days he actually eats more than i do. he has gone through patches of eating hardly anything at all - but i kept offering food to him so figured he just wasn't hungry. always said i wouldnt make food an issue and so far seem to be sticking to it haha.

vickymom - hi! i'm in perth too. hope your enjoying it here :)

hope you and yours are all well

nikki78
21-11-2008, 16:57
Hi how r we all going Taylah is growing fast shes very cheeky cant wait for xmas will be great this year.

Ayone trying for another or pregnant we are..;. and i see neisel is

MummySharna
28-11-2008, 20:25
Hey All! :wave:

I am new around here but i had a bub in August 07! Her name is Madison Vala and i had her by emergency c-section on the 19th! Wooo! My name is Sharna and i am 20 years old and currently 5 months preg with my second, a boy! Woooooooo! I have a very supportive and loving partner of 2 years and a loving family also! I am a stay at home mummy, was working before all my preggie complications started but it was great as i got to take my lil girl with me :D I have also started to finish my schooling in my spare time so im busy busy busy but always have time for family and friends :D

niesl_bug
10-12-2008, 23:53
Hello Ladies :wave:

Hoping to re-start this thread.
I am Tara - I'm 34 years old and live in Perth. We have an August Bub - Miss Rio Poppy was born on the 4th who is the most amazing little girl ... cannot believe how much I love her!

i used to be on BH all the time and have given it a break for a while.

We are TTC#2 :fingerscrossed:

Looking forward to chatting to you all :ecomcity:

pkbub
30-12-2008, 14:44
Hi Tara!:wave:

You should pop into the TTC#2 thread - there are lots of lovely ladies there that can help with ttc stuff. I just got my :bfp: after Christmas. We were ttc for 4 months.

How long have you been trying so far?

Hello Sharna!

This does seem to be a sleepy little thread:sleeping:
I try and check it once in a while though.

Happy New year everyone!

niesl_bug
16-01-2009, 22:08
Hi Tara!:wave:

You should pop into the TTC#2 thread - there are lots of lovely ladies there that can help with ttc stuff. I just got my :bfp: after Christmas. We were ttc for 4 months.

Hi and Happy New Year!!!
Firstly ... CONGRATULATIONS !!!
We have been trying for about 4 months ... just got AF so will keep trying!

Hope to chat to everyone soon xxx

deb1234
19-01-2009, 15:54
you guys are all scaring me talking about TTC again! i'm still feeding Isaac around 6 times a day and he only started sleeping through about a month ago so not in any hurry here! :) he's such a boob addict i don't even have my period back. :rolleyes: i would like to have him weaned before the next one arrives but can't ever imagine that happening...might have to feed two at once if he wants milk past 3 years old. :sleeping:

pkbub
18-02-2009, 20:22
Hi and Happy New Year!!!
Firstly ... CONGRATULATIONS !!!
We have been trying for about 4 months ... just got AF so will keep trying!

Hope to chat to everyone soon xxx

Thanks:D Hard to believe there will soon be 2!:eek: Well, not too soon...just about to hit the 12 wk mark. Still feeling pretty crappy, though not as bad as the first time.

Good Luck to you in your ttc journey:babydust2:

you guys are all scaring me talking about TTC again! i'm still feeding Isaac around 6 times a day and he only started sleeping through about a month ago so not in any hurry here! :) he's such a boob addict i don't even have my period back. :rolleyes: i would like to have him weaned before the next one arrives but can't ever imagine that happening...might have to feed two at once if he wants milk past 3 years old. :sleeping:

Wow! that is alot of BF still, you are amazing! My DS self weaned at 13 months. I am happy if we get 2 or 3 nights a week of sleeping through - it is all very random atm though. At least he developed into a super napper and is always happy to go to bed.

You still have time on your side Deb - you young thing in your 20's! After 30 I didn't want to wait too long to ttc.