View Full Version : Anyone started thinking NAMES .....

hayleysmummy
19-01-2008, 11:01 PM
I know its early but I cant help it I love thinking up possible names but all I've been able to come up with latley is boys names Girls names are so hard to choose

My 3 faves are

Blaze- (DP hates it):(
Harrison- I like the naickname Harry
Deegan

The only name so far I like for a girl is Edie but everyone I tell says it reminds them of desperate housewives

Has anyone else come up with any maybes???
You dont have to share if you dont want to I know alot of people like to keep a secret til bubba is born

mixy
20-01-2008, 07:59 AM
no secrets here!! lol just the fact that it will probibly change heeps of times before s/he actually gets here-

Girl- Chauntelle Emily Michaela (i havent found the spelling i like yet)

Boy- I like Harrison to, i really like Zachary and hubby likes Dylan
Middle name ATM is Douglus Deiter, still not sure, or Ethan Michael.

still early days!! with DS we decided after he was born becasue we couldnt decide:)

20-01-2008, 10:07 AM
WE wont know til baby is born. We argue and discuss for months but then babe is born and we know instantly. Its awesome. My husband named our eldest and youngest. I named my second so I think its my turn for the forth.

Hubby has always liked the name Leto. So maybe...Plenty of time, no rush at this stage.

3KIDSMUM
20-01-2008, 01:24 PM
I like
Kai for a boy
and Jemah for a girl. Not sure yet. These are names that I had picked for my DD who is 2. I ended up calling her Savannah

Manz
20-01-2008, 02:22 PM
Oh yay!! I'm glad I'm not the only one thinking of names already!!

I am the same... I just LOVE choosing names, and really like to have a name ready for when bub comes - not keen on having a baby 2 or 3 days old without a name! :laughing:

But..... this time is a challenge!!! We have a girls name all done and set - well, we have 2 options - but with a boy... :confused: having MAJOR issues, which is so strange!!! We have 2 boys already, and their names were picked out heaps easy!! We just cant agree on ANY boys names.... So, lets hope its worked out by the time this little one comes! LOL

20-01-2008, 05:02 PM
Jerushah is another one - for a girl.

stellarella
20-01-2008, 05:18 PM
We have the girls name picked out most probably, but need to choose the middle name....we have a few boys names, we have probably chosen the first name but it's too early to have it set in stone. All the names we like are remaining secret because I don't like copycats :p

mummy22boys
20-01-2008, 05:36 PM
I am obsessed with names at the moment and have been checking out all the different websites. We are thinking we might name this child beginning with Z - just to be different, we really like Zakk - Zack - Zak for a boy - as you can see not sure of the spelling yet - haha and Zarli for a girl. Anyone else that can give us some more ideas would be very welcome. We may even just have a letter Z in the name somewhere. There are so many nice names out there, and we already have a list of the ones I like but he doesn't and the ones he likes that I don't haha. Lucky we have a long time to go. :flowerz: :flowerz: :flowerz:

cassvanm
20-01-2008, 06:09 PM
Hi guys, I love this thread:yelclap:

Boys: Fletcher Trent (first and middle, not two names)

Girls: only have first names so far: Camryn or Eden or Dustin.

Hubby and I have a really bad problem of naming our girls boys names: Baylee & Kaiden. Looks like the ones on our list at the moment are in line with that!
No doubt the names will change, however Trent will always be the middle for a boy (big brothers name), and I always planned to have Joshua Trent when I had a boy (since I was 10), however I have since met some less-than-desirable Joshua's, and no longer have any interest in going there!

Mixy: Kaiden's middle name is Michaela. We decided on the spelling coz my hubby's name is Michael. We kept that on par with Baylee (my middle name is Lee!) Worked out well, so only need to keep on with the Trent this time!
Keep the names coming guys! I don't mind copycats, although I get why stellarella isn't sharing! I figure in reality it's not like we'll be living next door to each other in the near future! :laughing:

stellarella
20-01-2008, 06:13 PM
mummy22boys - my niece is Zahli :)

cassvanm
20-01-2008, 06:51 PM
Mummy22boys - a friend of mine at work has a z name: it is Zehra (pronounced like Sarah but with a z sound). She sets Zairs for short. I love the name, I think it is Turkish?
If you want to, join up to huggies website and you can start a shortlist of your fave names - you can also search from first letters.
Check out the next two posts for all the z names I could find for you :laughing:

20-01-2008, 06:52 PM
Re: copycats - I do worry about that actually. I really want my kids to have unusual names.
Our friends were thinking of naming their son the same as my eldest son. I wouldn't mind. But to have a name stolen before you name your own kid so it looks like you are the copycat - not cool.
Happened to my Mum with her friend.

mummy22boys
20-01-2008, 07:05 PM
Mummy22boys - a friend of mine at work has a z name: it is Zehra (pronounced like Sarah but with a z sound)

Thank you Cassvanm, that is a beautiful name and I have never heard of it before. Yes, huggies website, been there done that yesterday. It's great how you just select the letter you want, but didn't find anything else listed that really jumped out at me.
My hubby has gone back to our favourite girls name for the past 2 pregnancies - "Chloe", after 2 boys I had sort of gone off the name. I'm still thinking Zarli but am still searching....... he likes Zarli too so thats good.
Thanks for you help.

cassvanm
20-01-2008, 07:11 PM
Girls names part 1

Zabia (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zabia) Zabrina (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zabrina) Zada (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zada) Zafina (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zafina) Zafirah (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zafirah) Zagros (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zagros) Zahar (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahar) Zahara (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahara) Zahavah (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahavah) Zahirah (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahirah) Zahlee (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahlee) Zahra (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahra) Zahrah (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zahrah)
Zaida (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaida) Zaira (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaira) Zakia (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zakia) Zalee (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zalee) Zali (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zali) Zalia (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zalia) Zalika (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zalika) Zaltana (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaltana) Zama (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zama) Zambda (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zambda) Zamora (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zamora) Zan (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zan) Zander Zandra (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zandra) Zandria (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zandria) Zaneta (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaneta) Zanetta (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zanetta) Zanita (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zanita) Zankhana (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zankhana) Zanna (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zanna) Zanthe (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zanthe) Zara (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zara) Zarah (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zarah) Zarahlinda (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zarahlinda) Zaria (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaria) Zarifa (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zarifa) Zarina (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zarina) Zarla (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zarla) Zarna (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zarna)
Zasha (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zasha) Zaviera (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaviera) Zavrina (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zavrina) Zawati (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zawati) Zayda (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zayda) Zayeda (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zayeda) Zayit (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zayit) Zaylee (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaylee) Zayna (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zayna) Zaynah (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaynah) Zaza (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zaza) Zdenka (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zdenka) Zea (http://huggies.com.au/BabyNames/name.asp?name=Zea)

cassvanm
20-01-2008, 07:14 PM
Can't do the rest, go to huggies website

Balibear
20-01-2008, 07:59 PM
lol i have been thinking since before i even got a :bfp: as its my turn but i am hopless ment to pick a girls one last time lucky we had a boy as i couldnt pick one i couldnt even name our dog.

P.S hayleysmummy: My son is Deegan i love the name & thought it different but have meet so many "Deegans" about my sons age it will be the most popular name when he gets to school age. Still i think its a good choice lol.

mummy22boys
20-01-2008, 08:49 PM
Thanks Cass, All that effort, I am impressed. Thanks for going to all the trouble, I appreciate it. Will print it off for hubby to screw his nose up at no doubt, haha.

mixy
20-01-2008, 10:09 PM
with DS we had so much trouble as i like names that are different for boys (and girls) but hubby dosent, so we compromised in two ways, one- i got to change the spelling, and two- we choose a name the was extremly unpopular at the time, as in he will not be going to school with (hopefully) anyone with the same name. His name is Jeromie (said jeremy)

cassvanm
21-01-2008, 07:51 AM
Sorry about the bluntness of my last post - was trying to multitask and it wasn't working! I was on the phone, trying to post the names, and my computer was crashing all at the same time! :geek:
I only just took the time to read your previous post, and noticed that you've been to the website! I am such a vague pregnant chick right now! :doh:
Cass

3KIDSMUM
21-01-2008, 08:58 AM
We have the girls name picked out most probably, but need to choose the middle name....we have a few boys names, we have probably chosen the first name but it's too early to have it set in stone. All the names we like are remaining secret because I don't like copycats :p

Just dont tell other pregnant women that live in your area like I did!!
I was 8 mths pregnant with DS and went to vist a friend who just had a baby boy and she asked me what I was going to call my baby and I said either Jackson or Bailee for a boy. I found out later in the newspaper that she called her boy JACKSON BAILEE!!!! Can u belive it!!! :hair::banghead:
I ended up still calling my boy Jackson. I was so cranky!

hayleysmummy
21-01-2008, 12:21 PM
OMG 3KIDSMUM I think that lady went a bit over the top I would be more than angry although Knowing that someone couldnt think of their own name for their bub and had to use someone elses idea its quite sad.:hugs:

I have a few more but still having trouble with the girls names they all so common

GIRLS

Ava
Zara
Tayla
Olivia
Jorja- but my name is Jordan so I dont think it really goes
Paige
Eliza
Sierra
Sienna
Evie
Eva
Evelyn

BOYS

Axel
Deakin
Jayden
Zaine
Seth/Seath

Grrr its so hard I'm so glad I'ge got lots more time to think about it and if bub opens his/her legs at the ultrasound I'll only have one sex to look for

haileye
21-01-2008, 12:39 PM
We have our name picked for a boy, DP picked it out... So becuase I've never been able to find a boys name that I liked it seems to fit really well.

Alexander John (First & Middle)

I have plenty of girls names that I like just in case it happens to be a girl... feel free to borow them if you like them

Grace
Giorgia
Heidi
Abegale
Gabrielle
Pagan
Peyton
Paige

Have two niece's
Jordan Jean Peta
&
Ella Jae

Hope every one is having fun choosing names:goodvibes::sunshine:

MC11
21-01-2008, 01:19 PM
We love Harrison and had that picked for a boy, even before we got pregnant..

We're having more trouble with a girls' name but my favs at moment are

Mackenzie
Piper (although it reminds me of Charmed)
Harper

So much fun but with 5 weeks to go I'm scared bubs will come out a girl and we won't have a name for her !! :confused:

haileye
21-01-2008, 01:41 PM
MC11 you just reminded me of the names that I liked when I was talking babies with friends a couple of years back.

Mackenzie was one of them but the other was Maddison

mummy22boys
21-01-2008, 02:44 PM

Mackenzie
Harper

Hi MC11 - they are gorgeous names. My cousin had a girl 5 years ago and called her Mackenzie Piper - it sounds beautiful, goodluck with your birth.

susmamma
21-01-2008, 05:20 PM
OMG are you kidding?
I think names even when I'm NOT pregnant! :laughing:

GeorgiaAnne
21-01-2008, 05:28 PM
lol susmamma, so do I!

Taveon
21-01-2008, 07:43 PM
Mackenzie
Harper

My 7yo son is called Mackenzie. When he was named, we had never heard of anyone with this name. Now we see so many girls, and quite a few boys called Mackenzie. He gets called Mac or Macca for short.

I too have the name Harper chosen for our third baby...but Harper Lee for a boy.

Also my son has a school friend called Piper. She's cute.

Good name choices all round.

Tls5431
21-01-2008, 07:53 PM
We have talked about name even before we were pg... The problem with DH is that he will like a name on our list for about a week and then next week not like it... I'm thinking of not putting in a lot of thought until we are closer to the day... But here are a few on the current list

Girl

Megan (Meg for short)
Tilly
Jenna

Boy

Rory
Ethan
Owen

juzzy
21-01-2008, 10:39 PM
Oh geez! I havent thought of names yet!

It took us until we were on the way to the hospy, 2 weeks overdue and going to be induced to decide on DDs name!!

LOL:laughing::laughing:

sal190786
22-01-2008, 10:15 AM

We bought a name book the other day. we have finally decided on McKenzie ........ for a girl and Logan Maxwell for a boy. Maxwell is for my DP his dad and his granddad. Not too sure if i should put my middle name in for a girl...i never really liked it growing up but im starting to like it more and more (especially the spelling) Its Luisa which would make her McKenzie luisa....whats does everyone think?

3KIDSMUM
22-01-2008, 10:34 AM
I think your names are cute sal190786. Looks like McKenzie is going to be popular for girls!

susmamma
22-01-2008, 11:40 AM
I reckon the best book for baby names is a book called

"Cool Names for Babies" - it's a list of all the 'cool' names (lol as far as the authors are concerned anyway!)
tells you all the cool celeb babies names.
all the names that sound like musical names
all the new cool names that used to be grandma names (rose, ruby, pearl, grace etc).
the new cool biblical names (noah, moses, izekial etc)
the cool italian word names (allegra, neve etc)
names that are no longer cool (maddison, paige etc)

the lists go on...
it's worth a read even if its just to see if you picked "cool" names the first time round :laughing:

It really is a great book - no idea who the authors are (it was written by a couple of women).

cassvanm
22-01-2008, 12:54 PM
Sal - I love your names. I really like McKenzie, but my niece is Mackenna, so dont' think I can go there! Was on my list with my oldest, but mackenna is between my 2 girls, so it was totally off the lsit for Kaidy.
However, seeming as I am doing this for the 3rd time, I would suggest that you may change your mind over the next 7+ months? It will be interesting to see if you do, and who actually goes with what they've put on this thread!
Only time will tell

GeorgiaAnne
22-01-2008, 01:54 PM
I've decided to set up a white board at work and e/o can write down names for me. I'm struggling, esp. with the boys

cassvanm
23-02-2008, 07:58 AM
Just wondering how everyone is going with names?

I seem to be fixed on the following:
CAMRYN LILY
FLETCHER TRENT

The girl name fits in with my other girls, who both have unisex/boy names: Baylee and Kaiden.
What do you think?
Cass

cocobambino
23-02-2008, 08:06 AM
I have a goddaughter SERENTA and i think its gorgeous, my daughters are MIAH and MONTANA, I dont mind copy cats:laughing: Im not even pregnant and am choosing names already here is my list

BOYS
Archer
Brodie
Shaun
Henry
GIRLS
Tallulah
Millani
Asha
Miller

CJay
23-02-2008, 08:27 AM
We have chosen our names:

Toby Ryan
Hailey Madison

Of course we could change our minds in the months to come, but we stuck wiith the name that we picked for DD around this time

vanillabean
23-02-2008, 08:43 AM
CJay- I really like Toby for a boy, but DH doesn't. We are going to struggle with boys names. For a girl, I always wanted Molly when DD was born, but DH didn't (she is Sophie). Now, he seems to warming to the idea or maybe it is because I said I had already chosen Molly Kate for a girl and that is it! We have a Jack as well, so Molly goes really nicely with those names.

dantaz
23-02-2008, 09:10 AM
after having such an unusual name for my son Tarrant im really struggling for another name especially if its a boy
girls i have one name and thats it
Nevada elise iris
hubby hates nevada cause its a place but i told him he named tarrant i get the second one ha ha:laughing:
good luck with names i know i need it:sunshine:
love danielle

fusion
23-02-2008, 10:19 PM
hello all :wave:

so far i have picked Riley for a boy, not quite sure on a middle name yet. so far for a girl i have picked Lilly/Lillie Rose. cant think of any others yet as i get a mental block on names

waahoo
23-02-2008, 11:36 PM
I've started thinking first names but really haven't narrowed down favourites yet. I don't want names that end in an -ee sound because our last name does and I think it sounds odd. I seem to have an odd fixation for names than end in -an /-on / -en sounds! I'm also partial to two syllable names because they are less likely to be shortened (although I have a couple of 3 syllable ones on my list). I don't have anything against nicknames, but I don't want to pick some 4 syllable girls name that I think is just beautiful and then never actually call the kid that!! My MIL is Welsh so we have a few Welsh names on the list. I'll be very popular if we use one of them...luckily, I quite like them anyway! :D Anyway, here's my list so far - I may add a few I've found on this thread for consideration also!

Girls
Morgan
Tahlia
Rhianna
Drew
Cailin
Jordan
Kayden
Rowan
Madison

Boys
Dylan
Rhys
Declan
Duncan
Mason
Cole
Chad

I think I'll probably wait to see the gender on the u/s before getting serious about a name. That way I only have to concentrate on one list! (How lazy am I?;))

sexy_minx
24-02-2008, 06:41 AM
If i hear a name i like i ask DF when he thinks about the name but thats as far as we have gone with the name picking

cassvanm
24-02-2008, 08:15 AM
Wahoo - I love your girls names, especially Kaiden (see my signature!)
I love the name Kaiden, and have never met another girl named that. She gets Kaidy for short.

Sissy
26-02-2008, 02:08 PM
I already have a Yasmine Grace and a Liam John.

My girls name is Rhianna Lee It was the name we had picked when we had Liam.

Boys name...Aaaargh...Sooooo hard :hair: Desperately hoping for a girl so I can use Rhianna :laughing:

I like Riley but DH doesn't.

AmyLou
26-02-2008, 07:24 PM
Hi ladies...

Dh and i had a chat last night about names and i am pretty sure that if we have a girl it will be Mikayla and boy Blake. Don't know about middle names yet... Blake is my Maiden name so i thought it would be nice to use it as i like it. Hubby likes it too so yeah

PinkAngel
27-02-2008, 08:10 AM
It's easier for us to think of girls names so that pretty much ensures we are having a boy :devil6:

For girls we like Ava and Audrey... the middle name will definitely be Rose in memory of my Mum who passed away

Boys are so much harder for us to name... but we do like Sebastian, Harrison, Ethan and Thomas... not sure on middle name... it may seem weird but I really like the name Romeo but I guess he might cop a ribbing at school... and a few of my friend's screwed up their noses at it :dizzy:

KatieLou
27-02-2008, 09:06 AM
DH won't talk about it much until we are out of the 1st trimester, so hopefully I'll be able to have some serious chats soon (we are 13 weeks tomorrow). So far though he has just said 'no' to most of the names I have come up with, and hasn't suggested any of his own.
I am trying to stay away from names that end in 'a' or 'er', as they don't go with our surname. We also want names that aren't really common, but that people would have heard of & would know how to pronounce & spell.

The names I like are:
Girls
Bethany (Beth) - we can't though b/c it doesn't go with the surname
Maddeline (Maddie) (dh shrugged)
Alison (dh didn't say anything - so I guess it's a big no!)

Boys
Caleb (dh likes it! :yes: Pity it means 'dog')
Benjamin (dh said flat out 'no')
Lachlan (but it's soooo common now)
Cameron (but a Cameron nearly broke dh & I up, so I don't think it would work :no:)

What do you guys think of Wesley as a middle name? It's a tradition in my dads family and he would be so chuffed if we used it, but I don't want my child to be picked on for having a geeky middle name if it got out.

3KIDSMUM
27-02-2008, 09:26 AM
What do you guys think of Wesley as a middle name? It's a tradition in my dads family and he would be so chuffed if we used it, but I don't want my child to be picked on for having a geeky middle name if it got out.

My second child has Dennis for a middle name after his Grandfather, cant get much geekier then that! Hes in year 4 and hasnt been teased about it yet. Not many people know your middle name till u get older so I dont think it matters. Wesley isnt that Geeky anyway!

KatieLou
27-02-2008, 09:55 AM
Wesley isnt that Geeky anyway!

Thanks 3kidsmum. Maybe I just think my dad is a little geeky :p and therefore think the name is too, but he's my dad and I love him.

GeorgiaAnne
27-02-2008, 10:03 AM
Ooh Pink Angel, my dd Sophia was going to be Audrey Rose but she was def, a Sophia. I love Audrey though, it has carried over onto my list for this pg.

AmyLou
28-02-2008, 10:05 AM
I don't think Wesley is geeky at all, there was a young guy on one of the Big Brother series called Wesley. I like it!

KatieLou
28-02-2008, 10:22 AM
OK, thanks for the reassurance, I might push harder for Wesley and make dad happy so I can be the favourite daughter :p

AmyLou
28-02-2008, 10:29 AM
I really don't think middle names are that important, i mean like what they are, usually they come from older family members so people expect them to not be as modern as the first name.. maybe? anyone agree? I don't mean that middle names aren't important.. haha i think i said that wrong...

28-02-2008, 01:34 PM
If we have a girl, her middle name will be Alice. And a boy will probably be Cameron (middle name)...

Not sure about first names yet, we still really love Isabella, Abigail, and Kaitlin.... And have no idea for a boy! I do like Riley though. :)

cassvanm
09-04-2008, 04:56 PM
I thought some of you may get a giggle out of this:
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z131/cassvanm/Pregnancy014.jpg

It's on the pantry cupboard, therefore I'm always sure to know where it is :laughing:

AmyLou
09-04-2008, 06:31 PM
Nice one cass, now are they all names you both like or just you??? I am having trouble with DH to agree on anything i like... let alone 10!!

OJandMe
09-04-2008, 06:39 PM
I have noooooo idea when it comes to girls names.

I like Jeremy Aston for a boy.

cassvanm
09-04-2008, 06:39 PM
They are the ones I like. Mick refuses to let me know his faves, coz I tend to get over them pretty quick.
What we did with the girls was just make a list of our own, and closer to the due date, come together, eliminate the NON NEGIOTIABLES (ie the ones you can't stand), then go from there. He did say he was going to start his own list soon though.

aimsy
09-04-2008, 06:41 PM
I thought picking names was the easy part for me, its getting the other half to agree thats hard, but i'm pretty black and white with things and i picked 1 name for a boy and 1 for a girl thats what i like and thats it! :laughing: I'm hoping he'll warm to them eventually :p
I agree with the middle names being family names, Im using my dads name as the middle name for our boy, which is Barry and thats a pretty old name i think... he would have been proud tho. And mums name for the girls middle name. I figure since they ahve my partners family's last name i can throw my parents names in their somewhere! :yes:

AmyLou
09-04-2008, 06:53 PM
Yeah that's what i have been thinking with the middle names.. they have in laws last name... well especially the boys as they are going to keep that, however the girls may not keep it forever... not many family names work with any names i like anyway so i am in a pickle!

sierrasmum
09-04-2008, 06:55 PM
So far I have been more enthusiastic on boys names, mainly cause im really hoping for a boy :D
I had Blaise, Riley, Axel, Archer, Logan picked out but hubby didn't like them lol.
We have our minds set on Hunter Alexander Martin.... so noone in Brissy area can have that lol.

Girls i had Ava, Jada, Shyla (notice the trend? lol) but I dont know if they would get confusing having a Daughter called Sierra already...
I really liked Ava Rose... but that got a No from Hubby :(
So still deciding on Girls..

Im so glad im not the only one whose been choosing names already!

mixy
09-04-2008, 08:25 PM
Names?... to hard...lol

Mermum
09-04-2008, 08:29 PM
I know what you mean, I bought the Idiots Guide with 30,000 names in it and I still can't find one we both like!

LucyB
10-04-2008, 11:50 AM
Current faves are:
Girls
Beatrice
Mabel (although someone said this was the kid off some TV show?)
Jemima
Amelia

Boys
Henry (Harry)
Leo
Angus
Archie

PinkAngel
10-04-2008, 11:53 AM
I really liked Ava Rose... but that got a No from Hubby :(

LOL that's exactly what we are having if it's a girl... Rose after my Mum... :D

haileye
10-04-2008, 12:12 PM
Well even though its not confirmed till next week our little boy will have the name Alexander John.
I wasn't too keen on the name Alexander at first, I liked Oliver... but DP won't hear of it, It wasn't untill I was watching tellie the other day while the music was on that they talked about a guy with the name Alexander who got the nick name Axle, so I thought that was cool..
So now its decided that even though his name will be Alexander, he will get called Axle.

sierrasmum
10-04-2008, 12:13 PM
LOL Pink!, its probably a good thing DH doesn't like the name so you can have it all to yourself :D. I want something a little bit different for a girl, but DH is sooooo boring when it comes to baby names lol. I thought he would like Ava cause it wasn't too out there... but no, there is no pleasing him :no:. It took us ages to agree on Sierra when we found out we were having a girl the first time! Im hoping its a boy as we can agree on that one!

loz10
10-04-2008, 12:28 PM
My late dad's name was Roy and he got Roy Boy! You can actually use Roysten, a very strong name.

I have a brother with the middle name Hudson, this is his middle name, but I can't use it as they will when they start a family one day, but I really like it.

I also have a friend who called who daughter Amara (A-mara) which I also like but would never copy.

Haven't thought of any names, once I know what I am having I will really enjoy the search!

loz10
10-04-2008, 12:30 PM
haileye - I also have thought of Alex briefly , I too liked Oliver but DH won't hear of it.

Oh, I do like Ava, short and sweet!

sierrasmum
10-04-2008, 12:49 PM
DH liked Alexander for a boy, but I wasn't sure about it, so we compromised and are puting it as a second name instead. My sister said he could get Xander as a nick name if we used it as a first name but shes a huge Buffy The Vampire Slayer fan so she probably got it from that :rolleyes::laughing:

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 01:33 PM
:) so I have to forget about all the pretty girls names I have and think about boys so far i've got

Charles
Aidan
Henry
Luca
Xavier

Whaddya reckon chicks?
I can put these up because i'm due early in the month ;):p

haileye
11-04-2008, 01:39 PM
GeorgiaAnne what about Charlie instead of Charles?

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 01:43 PM
Of the names you have listed Georgia I like Aiden the best, but they are all nice.

For the record I just want to say that DH & I have chosen a christian name for both a girl and a boy but i can't list them b/c we've agreed not to tell anyone. So if come September I name my baby the same as someone else I'm not copying, I've had the names since before Easter! :) To support my case I will say now that the boys name starts with C and ends in B and the girls name starts with E and ends with Y. Of course I reserve the right to change my mind ;)

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 01:50 PM
Yeah, I like Charlie too but thought Charles was better for when he's a man iykwim?
Kat - I'm intrigued now and trying a few combos!!

PinkAngel
11-04-2008, 01:52 PM
:) KatieLou you are so cute... I know you have had your names picked for a while now...

GeorgiaAnne - some good choices there for boys...i like Aiden and Xavier... but I have to young boys around me with the same names so they are out for me...

hayleysmummy
11-04-2008, 02:00 PM
So far I have been more enthusiastic on boys names, mainly cause im really hoping for a boy :D
I had Blaise, Riley, Axel, Archer, Logan picked out but hubby didn't like them lol.
We have our minds set on Hunter Alexander Martin.... so noone in Brissy area can have that lol.
Im so glad im not the only one whose been choosing names already!

Sierrasmum I have Blaze on my list too Its my number 1 fave I just cant seem to get DP to agree

Also had Axel but its now out for us as my sis has it on her names list and a friend of DP wants to call his boy that if he ever has kids so its turned us off but I do love it

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 02:24 PM
Yeah, I like Charlie too but thought Charles was better for when he's a man iykwim?
Kat - I'm intrigued now and trying a few combos!!

I agree Georgia, you can always shorten Charles to Charlie, but on a business card Charles would look better.

Guess away my friend - I'll never tell! :) The boys name is probably easy to guess, but there are so many girls names that fit that description!

KatieLou you are so cute... I know you have had your names picked for a while now...

:) I can just see someone coming in the day before me and calling their baby my name and then everyone thinking that I copied! :D And yes i know I'm organised, but I had to get DH while he was relaxed and not concentrating for an extended amount of time - and during the cricket was perfect! :p

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 02:32 PM
OK so Katielou, i've got Caleb and Emily, Elody, Ebony so far........ Good way of not getting any work done!

Shazza
11-04-2008, 02:34 PM

We are the same as Katielou in that we don't want anyone else to know. And it's not that I don't want you guys to know but you never know who is sticky beaking!

Although I must admit there are 2 names I like for a girl and prob won't decide til bub gets here (if it even is a girl like I think). And the boys name starts with a D. That narrows it down doesn't it - hehehe!

anyways I'm just :ecomcity::ecomcity: now.

Cheers, Shaz :D

PS. Georgia - I like Xavier the best! But if I went Charles I would call him Charlie for short.

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 02:35 PM
:D I'm not telling Georgia! But it is a good way to fill in a Friday afternoon!

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 02:39 PM
te he he, still thinking.....now i'm just coming up with silly ones like Chub though Elly is quite nice as well. I think I like Emily the best tho!

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 03:05 PM
:laughing: Chub! Isn't that a brand of lock?!?

sierrasmum
11-04-2008, 03:09 PM
:laughing: I come up with stupid ones when DH is being unhelpfull with picking them!.

He liked Aurora for a girl, but i just dont think I like it :p

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 03:31 PM
I do like Auraelia for a girl though, a friend has that name and we call just call her Rae.

sierrasmum
11-04-2008, 03:38 PM
Well i dont really want Rey or Ray as a nickname mainly cause our last name is Martin :laughing:. Otherwise I would cause my dads name is Ray and im sure he would love his name carried on somehow. He told me (after I had gotten married and changed my name already) that he would have liked me to keep my maiden name or incorporate it into my last name!. My one and only Brother doesn't want kids, and hes 43 now... so my maiden name Hall stops with him.

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 03:41 PM
Maybe you could use Hall as a middle name?

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 03:45 PM
Well i dont really want Rey or Ray as a nickname mainly cause our last name is Martin :laughing:.

:laughing: yes, that would be just cruel naming your child Ray Martin!

We love the name Tyler, except we would shorten it to Ty and our last name is pronounced Righter, and Ty Righter is just too close to typewriter! :no:

sierrasmum
11-04-2008, 03:53 PM
LOL Katielou- I dont think I would be game having a name too close to typewriter either!.
Ray Martin seems cruel to me too lol.

Georgia- I hadn't even though of that lol... I will see what DH thinks

KatieLou
11-04-2008, 03:59 PM
I like the thought of a maiden name as the middle name, and it's becomming more and more common too.
Unfortunately my maiden name is just too weird to pull it off.

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 04:01 PM
Yeah, mine was double barrelled so I was sooo glad to get rid of it when I got married.

sierrasmum
11-04-2008, 04:03 PM
lol, what was it?, or aren't you going to tell? lol

Mermum
11-04-2008, 05:02 PM
I like my last name and have kept it, but my partner likes his last name and well I don't want to give in just cos he's a he.
I suggested the double barrel idea and he is totally not into that either(although I think it sounds kool) and he suggested mine as a middle name..hmmm.. but I kinda think I will be giving in then and then my last name forgotten about?

Does anyone relate to this or have any opinions on this?

I'm one of those people who likes to be an Ms not a Mrs or Miss.
Poor little boy bubba, I'm a bit of a feminist.:eek:

dantaz
12-04-2008, 06:18 AM
finally my dh and i came up with some names we both like
(i took his last name it is way better than my own)
for a boy Tyson Aaron
and for a girl we have a couple
Nevada Elise
Rani Elise
if its a girl it will have my middle name
what do you guys think

cassvanm
12-04-2008, 07:41 AM
:yelclap: Very nice Dantaz
What we did with the girls names is this:
Baylee Jorja (my middle name is Lee)
Kaiden Michaela (DH name is Michael)
Kept us both happy :laughing:

loz10
12-04-2008, 08:46 AM
Lots of ideas being thrown around, hopefully this will help to narrow down your choices. I can't think at all till I know what I am having, so hurry up Wed, mummy is getting impatient!

KatieLou - So funny about typewriter, a definite no no..

Mermum
12-04-2008, 11:27 AM
finally my dh and i came up with some names we both like
(i took his last name it is way better than my own)
for a boy Tyson Aaron
and for a girl we have a couple
Nevada Elise
Rani Elise
if its a girl it will have my middle name
what do you guys think

I like your choice of Rani Elise
and Tyson is a nice strong name.;)

Manz
18-04-2008, 12:40 PM
HEEEEELP!!!!!!!!!!

We are having major issues with Boys names... By this stage with my other 2, their names were all sorted, set in concrete and we loved them - hated any girls names!
THIS time, we LOVE our girls name, but are truly having issues with boys names!! Hmmm

Names we love but cant use are:
Lachlan, Benjamin, James, etc...

Oh this is frustrating..... Anyone else having "issues"?

mixy
18-04-2008, 12:52 PM
Well today we chose our names out :)

Declan
OR
Jazmin / Jasmyn

middle names i have not discussed with DH but for the girls name i am thinking Jazmin Harmony-rose. the boys name i am not sure about, we used hubbies first name for jeromie and his middle name is Udo, so i hate that one, will have to work some thing out. I did liek Ethan Micheal for a boys middle name but they dont suit Declan, still got time though.

Manz Sorry i cant help :( hey ther thereoy goes that the first name you have chosen is what you will have :) :fingerscrossed:

cassvanm, what you did is very cool:)

PinkAngel
18-04-2008, 01:07 PM
Oh boys names are hard!! We are still deciding... we have tossed up names like Sebastian, Thomas, Harrison, Ethan... etc... just don't know yet... if this one pops out a blue bundle the poor thing might be waiting until Christmas to be named :no:

Mixy the name you have chosen is so pretty!

Ruthie29
18-04-2008, 01:36 PM
At the moment we like...............

Jasper and Alexander

Since we just found out we are having a boy..hubby is now willing to get more serious about thinking about names :)

PinkAngel
18-04-2008, 01:53 PM
My friends little boy is called Xander...variation of Alexander and it really suits him.. nice strong name there.

RavenDancer
18-04-2008, 02:13 PM
we argued for ages over names last time and this time was no different!
we had picked out a few such as
Boys:-
Hunter
Kai
Ethan
Rhys
and for girls I went the hippy way lol
Raven
Willow
Arwen
persephony
mia

but once we found out we were having a girl we settled on
Lilly Mai Brook so we are happy, feel free to teef any of our names on the shortlist lol im happy with the final name for our little goddess.

Mermum
18-04-2008, 02:53 PM
Well our 30,000 Idiots Guide to baby names hasn't helped us much, we are hopeless..Yes I find boys names the hardest..

I really liked Madelaine when I thought i could have a girl and it went well with our last names.

I like hippy, unusual names too, but having trouble finding one that will stick, especially for the boY! I love your choice of Persephone, Raven, she would be cute with that + it's the name of a very famous rebel Goddess too!

As we are having a boy: Names my partner's not into but I liked are: names like Archer, Andre and Xander, Aiden and Jax..I love those names but he's a "nope!"

As you know I love Max, but i have two friends with little Max's

I like Liam (don't tell anyone) and my DP does too, it's gentle...(and Marlon maybe).

hayleysmummy
18-04-2008, 03:03 PM
We arent religous in any way but have chosen Israel but spelt IZRAEL. Izzy for short

He has no middle name yet

And nobody likes the name we have chosen they go "OMG are you serious" or roll their eyes :banghead: I wouldnt mind if they would just say I dont like it but thats my opinion and leave it at that but grrr

Any opinions on a middle name would be appreciated :yes:

RavenDancer
19-04-2008, 05:46 AM
Well our 30,000 Idiots Guide to baby names hasn't helped us much, we are hopeless..Yes I find boys names the hardest..

I really liked Madelaine when I thought i could have a girl and it went well with our last names.

I like hippy, unusual names too, but having trouble finding one that will stick, especially for the boY! I love your choice of Persephone, Raven, she would be cute with that + it's the name of a very famous rebel Goddess too!

As we are having a boy: Names my partner's not into but I liked are: names like Archer, Andre and Xander, Aiden and Jax..I love those names but he's a "nope!"

As you know I love Max, but i have two friends with little Max's

I like Liam (don't tell anyone) and my DP does too, it's gentle...(and Marlon maybe).

ahh yess persephony goddess of the underworld...i do love that name, but hubby didnt..hes like take ur witchy goddessy names away from our list lol...ho hum still lovveeeeeeeee it

Mia
20-04-2008, 09:48 PM
I like my last name and have kept it, but my partner likes his last name and well I don't want to give in just cos he's a he.
I suggested the double barrel idea and he is totally not into that either(although I think it sounds kool) and he suggested mine as a middle name..hmmm.. but I kinda think I will be giving in then and then my last name forgotten about?

Does anyone relate to this or have any opinions on this?
Yep, I have never changed my name (I'm not married to DP but I was married before - long story!) and I kept my name then and still would today. Ripley has my surname as his middle name and his surname is DP's - so he has a different surname to me! But it doesn't bother me at all. I'm his mummy no matter what.

mixy
21-04-2008, 07:14 AM
I need some ideas,

I have Declyn decied as our boys name but we have an 'e' name and an 'm' name as our other kids middle names (hubby and my initals...acciedent first time on purpose second time) anyway i cant find one that sounds nice, we are happy to make it an 'm' then a 'e' name, if any one has any ideas....

GeorgiaAnne
21-04-2008, 10:18 AM
re: double barrel names - I had one 'til I got married and it did my head in -DON'T DO IT TO YOUR CHILDREN!!! It is a PITA!

GeorgiaAnne
21-04-2008, 10:21 AM
Mixy - I have read your post above 3 times and am still confused :confused:

KatieLou
21-04-2008, 10:59 AM
Mixy - I have read your post above 3 times and am still confused

lol Georgia. i thought it was just me! I put it down to preggy brain.

CCsSurprise
21-04-2008, 12:03 PM
I just found this thread and had an interesting time reading all the unusual names that have been chosen/thought of. Took me a while but I read them all. LOL

DP and I never came up with DD's name till I was about 6months pg and I'm sure this time will be the same. By 6 months I will have had a few u/s's and had the gender confirmed and re-confirmed so that we only have to choose 1 name. Slack, I know but that's the way we did it last time and it worked for us. The only problem we had was which name was first and which one was second (we chose a name each).

Unfortunately we will be keeping Baby Oops' name a surprise so I'm gonna keep reading this thread and will let you all know what he/she is called whenever he/she arrives.

BTW, I love seeing the unusual names so keep them coming :yes:

CC

Sissy
21-04-2008, 12:06 PM
OK, so I thought I was set on my girls name, but now I've thought of another one.....

So which do you prefer:

Rhianna Lee
or
Addison Marie

:confused::confused::confused:

haileye
21-04-2008, 01:21 PM
Well our lil' boys name is set in stone. His daddy named him Alexander John. I'm hoping that no one nick names him A.J, as I have a cousin with a son who is called this. Alex I could live with but I am set on nicknaming him Axle... DP doesn't really like it but I have 4 months to convince him.

So Our bump has a name...

Alexander John Roberts a.k.a Axle ;)

haileye
21-04-2008, 01:23 PM
OK, so I thought I was set on my girls name, but now I've thought of another one.....

So which do you prefer:

Rhianna Lee
or
Addison Marie

I like Addison, its not a name you hear very often, its very different.

mixy
21-04-2008, 01:32 PM
ok sorry, it is a bit confussing

My name Mickie Ellen
Hubby's name Eric Udo

DD- Tenysha Ellen Maree
DS- Jeromie Eric Mason

Baby-girl- Jasmin Elizabeth Mya
Boy-Declyn ?????????????

See how they are the same, i can understand how that would have been confussing, if it is still not making sense let me know:)

mixy
21-04-2008, 01:38 PM

So which do you prefer:

Rhianna Lee
or
Addison Marie

I would have gone with Rhianna Marie, but that is just me, so i am finding it hard to choose which one i like....

PinkAngel
21-04-2008, 01:45 PM
Ohhh i see Mixy!

What about Ethan or Emerson for the 'E' name... M's are harder...hmmm Marlon.. Marlow... let me put my thinking cap on...

mixy
21-04-2008, 02:23 PM
Ohhh i see Mixy!

What about Ethan or Emerson for the 'E' name... M's are harder...hmmm Marlon.. Marlow... let me put my thinking cap on...

Tell me about it, both of those boys names i have thought of, and sorry but i dont like those m names, it is proving to be more difficult this time around......

PinkAngel
21-04-2008, 02:30 PM
I can't even think of any boys name for myself! :confused: well none that really stand out...

KatieLou
21-04-2008, 03:09 PM
Ummm, purely off the top of my head so they may be a little silly..... Mason, McLaren, Maverick, Mitchell, Morgan, Morrisey..... ummmm......

mixy
21-04-2008, 05:39 PM
Mason is a no-go, that is in DS name:)
Thanks for trying, see it is difficult......

haileye
22-04-2008, 10:54 AM
ok sorry, it is a bit confussing

My name Mickie Ellen
Hubby's name Eric Udo

DD- Tenysha Ellen Maree
DS- Jeromie Eric Mason

Baby-girl- Jasmin Elizabeth Mya
Boy-Declyn ?????????????

See how they are the same, i can understand how that would have been confussing, if it is still not making sense let me know:)

E's.....
Easton, Eli, Elijah, Emerson, Emanuel, Emilio, Esmond, Evan, Evander, Excalibar(:laughing:), Ezekiel, Ezequiel, Ezrah.......

M's....
Mac, MacKendrick, MacQuaid, Maddox, Marc, Marco, Marshall, Martin, Matt, Mathew, Merrick, Miguel, Morgan, Mylo....

Dunno if you like any of these, but they are just some that I found on the Huggies site... If you log on there and look at the babies names you can search by the first letter.
Hope this helps

MummaDJ
04-05-2008, 01:42 PM
Mixy - My DS name is Declan James.

Declan Edward Mitchell or Declan Ethan Michael. Just a couple of combos for you.

dantaz
05-05-2008, 05:48 AM
hi there
well i have now got a name for my little princess
Nevada Abby Iris Newman
it had to be something that would go with the name Tarrant
so yeah thats her name

KatieLou
05-05-2008, 08:25 AM
Yay Dantaz! I can't pick up any Collingwood references in it though? ;)

hayleysmummy
05-05-2008, 11:40 AM
hi there
well i have now got a name for my little princess
Nevada Abby Iris Newman
it had to be something that would go with the name Tarrant
so yeah thats her name

I love it Dantaz its beautiful :goodvibes:

We have decided on Izrael now I need a middle name to go with it I like Astin as Austin is a family name but if my aunty has a boy next she will use Austin so I want to be a bit different but still keep the family name thing as middle names

cassvanm
05-05-2008, 11:55 AM
danielle & jordan - very nice names ladies.
Why not go Austin? If it's a family name, it doesn't matter that you both have the same name does it?

dantaz
05-05-2008, 03:23 PM
hey there
no no collingwood in this one :laughing: (not that he didnt want one)
i just wanted something unusual and i think this is it:smiliedance:

mixy
08-05-2008, 10:05 AM
E's.....
Easton, Eli, Elijah, Emerson, Emanuel, Emilio, Esmond, Evan, Evander, Excalibar(:laughing:), Ezekiel, Ezequiel, Ezrah.......

M's....
Mac, MacKendrick, MacQuaid, Maddox, Marc, Marco, Marshall, Martin, Matt, Mathew, Merrick, Miguel, Morgan, Mylo....

Dunno if you like any of these, but they are just some that I found on the Huggies site... If you log on there and look at the babies names you can search by the first letter.
Hope this helps

Mixy - My DS name is Declan James.

Declan Edward Mitchell or Declan Ethan Michael. Just a couple of combos for you.

Thanks, i missed these posts....some good one here, Declyn Ethan Micheal was one choice, we were tossing up. But declyn ethan kinda ryhmes.... i really like milton as the 'm' name, it was my grandfathers middle name, i only found out dis morning:)

sierrasmum
29-05-2008, 08:37 AM
Ok, DH didn't want me to reveal our names, or names I have been thinking cause hes paranoid about people stealing them!, but I really need some advice on a name i have been tossing around in my head!.

For a girl, i really Like Caelyn... thoughts anyone?, Caelyn Olivia Martin, sounds nice to me lol, but DH is unsure about it... he likes old fashioned names.

CJay
29-05-2008, 09:12 AM
Sierrasmum, that name is really pretty & flows nicely. I wanted a similar name Jaelyn but DH found it to close our other daughter Caitlyn. I love uncommon names.

We have chosen Charlize going for a theme of C's if he wont let me have my theme of lyn's.

haileye
29-05-2008, 11:47 AM
For a girl, i really Like Caelyn... thoughts anyone?, Caelyn Olivia Martin, sounds nice to me lol, but DH is unsure about it... he likes old fashioned names.

I like this name for a girl... DP had liked it for our lil man but I said it sounded more like a girls name... and after finding it in the baby names book and the meaning for it was "girl" I made him change his mind, we had spelt it Kaelin though...

We have finally settled on our lil mans name, and we know that it is the right one.

Malakai Anthony John Earnshaw.

What do you all think???:)

AmyLou
29-05-2008, 07:51 PM

Love the names! Alison i have a boy at work who's called Caolin, which with how i said your name this is said the same.. just a different spelling if you are interested! I like it though...

So our little mans name has a first name (i think) Blake which is my maiden name, i think it's nice that my children can have my name aswell as DH's. We are struggling with a middle name though, i want to just have a name that's not a family name, like My hubby's middle name is Paul which sounds nice but i don't want to use all the family names on this bub and have none if we have another boy!

I would love some suggestion!!! Our last name is Freeman so Blake something Freeman??

sierrasmum
30-05-2008, 07:12 AM
Thanks... I was worried the name might be too boyish... but I found it in the girl names part on the huggies site. I just dont want the bubs to be picked on later in life!.

Amy, Im so bad at picking middle names lol, it took me ages to pick the ones I have!. If I think of anything I will let you know!.

Haileye, Love the name!. Its always exciting when you finally pick something that you love and can agree on!

My parents actually didn't give me a middle name!, never bothered me although people dont believe me when I say that as they think its just something embarrassing and I dont want people knowing lol.
So I guess thats always option too for those that cant think of anything :p

sierrasmum
01-06-2008, 07:07 PM
DH now hates Olivia as the second name :banghead:. I just cant win!.
He said that he thinks maybe a name that starts with T... why I have no idea!. Hes still not sure on Caelyn but hasn't ruled it out so im taking that as a win for me :P
All I can say is I hope we have a boy!!

MummaDJ
01-06-2008, 07:33 PM
We will be calling our DD Abigail Mackenzie White (Abbie for short).

cassvanm
01-06-2008, 07:56 PM
Abby Mack - how cute! :thumbsup:

sierrasmum
01-06-2008, 08:18 PM
Very nice :thumbsup:

MummaDJ
01-06-2008, 09:55 PM
Thanks guys. I really like Ava Mackenzie but DH didn't like Ava but his choice was Abbie so I compromised hehe.

AmyLou
02-06-2008, 08:45 AM
Very nice MummaDJ! I just want to say though my niece is Abigail Rose and always gets called Abbey. My sister has decided that she should have just called her Abbey from the start as that's all she has been called her whole life and now that she has gotten to grade one, they put Abigail on everything (desk, paintings etc) and she just didn't recognise it as her name... You may intend to call her Abigail all the time though so that will be ok but just wanted to mention it, give you something to think about!

I also love the name Ava but my hubby doesn't like it, we are having a boy anyway so maybe in a few years he will have warmed to it! haha

Mia
03-06-2008, 09:22 PM
I just thought I would share a couple of groovy sites on names:

www.nymbler.com (http://www.nymbler.com) (you type in names you like and it suggests others you might like)

www.babynamewizard.com/voyager (http://www.babynamewizard.com) (it graphs name popularity over time, trends etc)

They are a lot of fun!

Mermum
03-06-2008, 10:58 PM
I just thought I would share a couple of groovy sites on names:

www.nymbler.com (http://www.nymbler.com) (you type in names you like and it suggests others you might like)

www.babynamewizard.com/voyager (http://www.babynamewizard.com) (it graphs name popularity over time, trends etc)

They are a lot of fun!
These are fabulous! I have been typing in names all night...now I gotta sleep...:thumbsup:

Mia
04-06-2008, 02:45 PM
yes it's rather addictive!

AmyLou
05-06-2008, 07:36 PM
What do we think about Blake Jayden?

punkimunki22
06-06-2008, 08:39 AM
many beautiful names coming along.
I'm thinking Charlotte Amarni Rose...

Love Charlotte, Love Amarni, and Rose is my nan's name who I am very close to and is quite ill at the moment :(
Also, can't wait to get a tattoo of 'Charlotte Amarni' and then a pic of a beautiful rose next to it. ;)

Amylou, Blake Jayden is lovely. I think Jayden Blake is also nice. they're both gorgeous names.

sierrasmum
07-06-2008, 03:55 PM
Amy, Love Blake Jayden :thumbsup:
:thumbsup:For your too Punki... everyones names are coming along nicely.. Just wish DH could decide on them!!

AmyLou
08-06-2008, 12:52 PM
Thanks ladies, it's really warming on me aswell!

sierrasmum
09-06-2008, 12:01 PM
Ok, we now have...

Caelyn Alexis Martin for a girl
Hunter Alexander Martin for a boy

Will let you know tomorrow (if the legs aren't crossed) which name it will be!. Oh and unless Hubby changes his mind again.

AmyLou
09-06-2008, 07:27 PM
Both lovely Alison! Can't wait to find out!

sarahhollands
09-06-2008, 10:06 PM

Love all the names!

Think we may have decided too!

Girl - Amelia Rose Hollands

or Amelia June Hollands
(Middle name is my Grandmother's name and also my middle name)

Boy - Angus James Hollands
(Hubby is not sold on Angus but I love it! James is my brother's name and I have always loved it - Hubby thinks it may be wierd to use his name - whatta ppl think???)

I am a little obsessed with 'A' names! The runner ups where Ava and Alexander!!! I also clearly love traditional names.

Whatta ya think girls?

GeorgiaAnne
16-06-2008, 03:16 PM
I love those names Sarah, Amelia was on our list too 'til I met a dodgey one when I was pregnant - don't you hate that!!!
Angus is lovely as well and James is my fave boys name but one of our bestests is called that as well as an ex so not for us.
I'm down to Jeremy, Callum, Lachlan, William.

If I was having a girl i'd call her Ursula or Autumn- love those names!!

sierrasmum
16-06-2008, 07:09 PM
Georgia- I love Autumn!!.

Sarah- Amelia is really nice, I know someone with a bubs called Amelia so the name was out for us.

Mia
16-06-2008, 07:49 PM
James is my brother's name and I have always loved it - Hubby thinks it may be wierd to use his name - whatta ppl think???)We haven't totally decided yet but we might be using my sister's name for the middle name too. Well her name is Catherine and we're thinking Cate for the middle name. I'm one of three sisters and she is the middle sister and has never had children (and won't cause she's in her forties now and her partner is in his fifties) but she loves her nephews and is so great with them, so it's a sort of tribute.

Mia
16-06-2008, 07:51 PM
Also Sarah and Georgia, those are ALL nice names, really!

GeorgiaAnne
16-06-2008, 09:42 PM
Thanks Mia! I'm sure your sister would love that, a very special thing. It is lovely to be an aunt but that would be the icing on the cake :yes: Any first names yet for you guys?

rizzolena
17-06-2008, 08:37 AM
:flowerz: We have two of each picked out. This is our 1st and we both agreed with each others suggestions.

Still looking for a middle name to go with Matthew Hyland. Any suggestions? Was going to use John (father in laws name), but hubby thinks it might be to biblical?

No 1 girl name is Sarah Jane (Jane happens to be sister in laws name, couldn't decide on anything else that went well, suggestions?):sunshine:

KatieLou
17-06-2008, 10:31 AM
Some lovely names coming ladies :yes:

I thought we were organised early with our name, but now we've gone off the ones that we had chosen, so it's back to the drawing board.

We have narrowed it down to 2 boys names - Lachlan or Tyler. We love both the names but they are hindered by things out of our control - I have always loved the name Lachlan, and hd really likes it too, but I am now hesitant as it has become so popular. Tyler doesn't really go (but then it doesn't really not go) with our last name (pronounce 'righter'). We aren't really phased about the 'typewriter' potential teasing as most people mispronounce our name anyway so it won't be that obvious - and most kids wouldn't even know what a typewriter is.

We still have no idea about girls names though, which means that we are having a girl purely by Murphy's law. There are lots of names that we think are nice, but none that stand out that we really love.

Sissy
17-06-2008, 10:40 AM
Wow, some great names :yelclap:

We've DECIDED!

If it is a girl:

ADDISON MARIE

And if it is a boy:

HARRISON JACK

PinkAngel
17-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Still stumped on a boy's name here too... If it is a 'he' it will be destined to be called Smudge forever...

We are still all set on Ava Rose (after my Mum) if Smudge is a girl...

...but I definitely feel blue vibes....

...the 'maybe' blue bundle will have Anthony for a middle name after Dad... but the first name is stumping us... we still have Sebastian, Thomas, Emerson and Oscar... in that order... we do love Ethan but it seems so popular at the moment....

...choices choices choices :hair:

KatieLou
17-06-2008, 10:53 AM
Great names Sissy! :yelclap:

I love Sebastian, so Pink if it was up to me then that's what I would pick (dh doesn't like it though). You have a lot of the names there that were on our list too...
We were talking about the commoness of names the other day and decided that it didn't really matter - regardless of how hard you try chances are you are going to come across someone with the same name (unless you create a name). I know what you mean though Pink, I don't want my baby to be 'another Lachlan'.

dantaz
17-06-2008, 11:17 AM
i thought i may be able to help out working in child care but going through the list of children in my centre i don't really have that many unusual names (especially boys)
here are a few that may help
Ryder
Lane
Elias
Tyson (which i was going to have if it was a boy)
not many other boys names that i can think of

Jaidah
jazelle
Teyeisha
Maya

these are just a couple but hey they might help someone:D

PinkAngel
17-06-2008, 11:19 AM
You are right Kat :yes: there will always be someone with the same name... i just didn't think it would be so hard to choose... i remember when I was 13 or 14 choosing names for my future babies LOL...

..and then I rule some names out because I went to school with people with the same name and thought they were knobs :laughing:

GeorgiaAnne
17-06-2008, 01:06 PM
OOH NICE GIRLS!!! :)

Lisa - I love Sebastian:thumbsup:
Kat - My dh like to veto names I like too but doesn't actually add to the list :rolleyes:
Sissy - Very nice too well done - it must be nice to have it sorted.

sarahhollands
17-06-2008, 04:45 PM
Thanks for the positive feedback ladies!

Georgia - I like William and Lachlan. Lachlan was out for us as my DH's cousin has a Lachlan and we have the same last name, which is a shame as I've always liked it! We are considering William as a middle name to go with Angus if DH continues making a total fuss about using James (My Brother's name) as the middle name!

Mia - I think using your sister's middle name is lovely. As I said - I would love to use my brother's as a middle name, he is younger than me and is nowhere near up to the stage of having kids, so I don't think it's wierd, but DH is quite funny bout it! We'll see!

Rizolena - What about Matthew James??? (I am a little obsessed with this name!) Or Matthew Thomas??? If you like tradistional names.
I am Sarah June, but people often assume it's Sarah Jane!

Katielou - I like both Lachlan and Tyler! Nice choices! Murphy's Law bubs prob will be a girl! My BF is also pregnant and they have a boys name and no girl's name and we have always had a girl's name and been undecided on a boys name - we always say that because of this I will have a boy and she will have a girl and we should just swap names!

Sissy - Love Addison and Harrison! I have a nephew Harry and a friend of mine just had a girl which they called Addison!

Pink/Lisa - I LOVE Ava - that was initially number one for us, but DH liked Amelia better and I loved them equally! It would have been Ava Rose too! I love Sebastian (On our list! ) and Thomas - I have a gorgeous nephew who is a Thomas.

Wow, now there's some personals!!!

cassvanm
17-06-2008, 05:35 PM
We still have no idea about girls names though, which means that we are having a girl purely by Murphy's law. There are lots of names that we think are nice, but none that stand out that we really love.

Kat: what about Murphy????? A touch ironic, but somewhat fitting if she's a girl :D

PinkAngel
17-06-2008, 07:39 PM
Thanks Ladies for the :thumbsup: on the names... the few people IRL I have told give me that 'ohhhh thats nice' polite reply LOL

Sarah that was a super post! :yelclap:

Cass I like the choice of Murphy for Murphy's Law... i have been plagued by early Braxton Hicks (that have settled now) that maybe I should call the baby, Braxton :laughing:

KatieLou
18-06-2008, 07:52 AM
Kat: what about Murphy????? A touch ironic, but somewhat fitting if she's a girl :D

:laughing: That's an idea Cass! Nah, friends have a dog called Murphy so I would always feel like I'm calling a dog :p
I met people who liked the name of their friends dog so much that they named their daughter the same name. I don't know if i could do that. I told them that our dog's name is Keg if they would like inspiration for the next one :p

08-07-2008, 06:35 PM
We have a name for a boy...but hubby will change his mind soon enough!
Girls names are too hard.

KatieLou
09-07-2008, 08:19 AM
:iagree: with Kymmy. We're still stuck for a girls name....

GeorgiaAnne
09-07-2008, 09:16 AM
I'm so the opposite I have 1000 girls names i'd be happy with how about:

Alice
Ingrid
Heather
Rebecca
Ursula
Audrey
Lucinda
April
Madeline
Carolina

Just a few off the top off my head...

Any boys names ideas???? Pleaaaaase

youngmum2b90
09-07-2008, 09:16 AM
:iagree:Girls names are hard

for boy we have
Jack
(i feel sorry if we do have a boy - he will have that many middle names HAHA)

for a girl we have
Zoe Marie
Mia Rose
(well those are the only two DF is considering)

youngmum2b90
09-07-2008, 09:19 AM
Ingrid
Heather
Lucinda
April
Madeline

I like those ones :)

Boys names

Jack
Dylan
Ryan
Tre
Kowen
Tyler

There just a few boys names i can think of....

dannitomplusbub
09-07-2008, 09:27 AM
we have decided on Bryce for our little man.
:fingerscrossed:He is still a He and not a She when i have U/s tomorrow:fingerscrossed:
as mum has already started making things with his name on them and so have friends

loz10
09-07-2008, 06:39 PM
ATM I am thinking of Oliver Thomas (still not sure about middle name) but I think:

James, Nicholas and Oliver sound nice together :yes:.

I have thought of some names but u know it is the right one when you just smile everytime you say it or think about it.

We can call him Olly for short along with Jamesy and Nicky LOL...

How is that every name always gets a Y on the end some how or another when they are little.

sierrasmum
10-07-2008, 09:35 AM
Loz I like Oliver Thomas also!

I think im just worried now that we have picked out the name that I will give birth and be like... I hate this name now!!!.

We never shortened or lenthened Sierras name... its sorta a hard name to do that with which is one of the reasons we picked it... she gets Little Miss a lot though!.

Mia
10-07-2008, 12:24 PM
That is good to hear Alison. One of our names has too many nickname possibilities and one has none, and I'm confused about which is better. Help!

Mum2Lucas
10-07-2008, 12:28 PM
I'll be having a little .....
Ava and her middle name will be
Eunina after my great grandma.

sierrasmum
10-07-2008, 12:34 PM
How do you pronounce that?

Mia
10-07-2008, 12:36 PM
What about Nina? That's a lot rarer than Ava and is still like Eunina.
Nina's on our list, along with far too many others. I thought girls would be easy but my favourites he doesn't like and vice versa, so this is probaby gonna be a compromise baby. Maybe we should call her Promise for short?

Georgia I will post my boy's list from 2 years ago when I get to work tomorrow!

GeorgiaAnne
10-07-2008, 02:22 PM
Ooh thanks Mia, that'd be great. What about Mia for a girl?
Loz - I love Oliver Thomas :yelclap: Our closest friends 2 boys are Oliver and Thomas :)

sarahhollands
10-07-2008, 03:52 PM
Loz - I love Oliver! Oliver Thomas sounds lovely and I agree that Oliver fits perfectly with James and Nicholas! Great choice! I wish DH liked it :no:!! It was definately on my list! Glad someone gets to use it! I also think Olly is adorable.

loz10
10-07-2008, 08:36 PM
I like Oliver but DH is still not 100%, what is with men and the name Oliver. Every name I suggest to him he teases it or makes fun of it.

There are certainly some great names being mentioned in this thread!

I had better go to sleep, the boys are asleep and my eye's are starting to burn :yes:.

Hopefully, I will dream about names and have heaps of suggestions.

Mia
11-07-2008, 01:38 PM
Okay Georgia (and others?)
Here is a long and not very heavily scrutinised list of boy's names we had on our computer two years ago!

If anyone has a similar girl's list I'd love to see it :)

Andre
Ansel
Bernard (Bernie)
Bruno
Cameron
Cedric
Damon
Eamon
Elias
Elliot
Ernest
Ewan
Felix
Finlay
Gilbert
Haden
Hugh
Hugo
Ignatius (Nate)
James
Jeremy
Joey
Julian
Kurt
Leo/Leon
Lincoln
Lindsay
Lucas
Marcus
Marvin
Ned (Edward/Edmund)
Nelson (Nelly)
Norman
Patrick (Paddy)
Philip
Ridley
Ryan
Theo
Thomas (Tom)
Todd
Truman
Turner
Vincent
Weston
Wilson
Zach

GeorgiaAnne
11-07-2008, 02:07 PM
Thanks poppet, I was just thinking about that :):yelclap: There's some good uns on there.

GeorgiaAnne
07-08-2008, 02:05 PM
How are we all going with names?
I'm down to Felix, Jeremy or Charlie. Dh is not so sure, though has contributed nothing useful.

Some girls names of friends of mine which I couldn't use but they're all quite pretty names:

Farrah
Kirsten
Marlo
Harriet
Maxine
Charlotte
umm, mental blank but there's a few!

PinkAngel
07-08-2008, 02:54 PM
Still with Ava for a girl and Oscar for a boy... but that's subject to change without notice :laughing: it all depends on my mood that day LOL

GeorgiaAnne
07-08-2008, 03:12 PM
Oh, they're lovely Lisa, you should stick with them!

KatieLou
08-08-2008, 10:46 AM
I think we've decided on Lachlan, but as Lisa said - it's all subject to change. I'm still concerned at how popular the name is - which isn't fair as I have liked that name since primary school!

Still no idea about a girl. Names I'm thinking of are:
Cassidy
Stefanie
Chelsea
Scarlett (as a bit of a joke, I am infamous amougst friends and family for loving red)
Alison (Ali)

I think dh's list is quite different.

I've told dh we both have to come up with separate lists and start taking this seriously. They are all nice names, but there isn't one that shines brighter to us yet.
:hissy: This is too hard!!

PinkAngel
08-08-2008, 11:02 AM
Thanks Georgia... I try and think of the nicknames the bub could be called at school with Oscar and if it's Oscar the grouch then that's ok... just means he takes after me :yes: :D

You watch, if it pops out a blue bundle I will call him something completely different LOL

Kat we have been decided on Ava for about 8 years... now it's very popular but we are still sticking with it...lol.. you have had Lachlan chosen for so long I say go for it... :)

GeorgiaAnne
08-08-2008, 11:33 AM
They're all pretty Kat, I like Chelsea and Scarlett the best.
Oh and my dark horse name is Elvis, it alwys brings a smile to my face but I think it would take a special sort of character to pull it off!

KatieLou
08-08-2008, 03:01 PM
Yeah, I certainly wouldn't have the guts to go Elvis Georgia! :laughing:
I think if I went Scarlett it would cause enough eye rolling in my family. DH has said I can have it as a middle name though - we'll see. Besides, I shorten everything, and I don't know if I could call my daughter 'Scar'.