View Full Version : Adelaide Girls Chat

Pages : 1 2 [3]

mummynow
27-06-2008, 12:07
Hello lovely Ladies :wave:

Wow, so much has happened in such a short time! I haven't had a chance to really read back over the last 2 weeks of posts so I will get to that soon.

I am 20 weeks pregnant yesterday! Halfway there! On one hand it feels like it has flown by but on the other hand with all the dramas we had for the first 17 weeks I feel like it's been forever. Still throwing up a bit more than I'd like too - but no where near as much as I did with DD thank goodness! I have my 18-20 week scan next Monday 30th June. I left it til then as we were supposed to be away til today but we came back earlier than planned.

Last week I was away down in Mount Gambier. DH and I went down with DD. We were supposed to be there for 2 weeks but came back a week early due to a major change of plans.

Now would be the time where I fill you in I guess. Late last year we sold our tiny 500m2 block of land at Playford Rise (Craigmore) as neither of us could get comfortable with the idea of building there and living there. They do have good shops and great schools but it's so cramped with no parklands or playgrounds. 2 storey houses or houses on tops of hills had taken away any view we had when we first bought it the year before. We just felt cramped.

For years DH and I had considered moving out to the country one day. Last year after much research we found a 2.5 acre block (10,000m2) in a town just 25km from Mount Gambier. For those of you who don't know, Mount Gambier is the next largest city to Adelaide in SA. They have lots of schools, doctors, a good hospital, all the shops I'm used too etc. So being less than a 20 minute drive from all of this is perfect for us as we didn't really want to move into the town onto a suburban size block or we may as well stay here in Adelaide.

There is a kindy 4km up the road and a primary school 500m up the road from us and a general store/post office 2km away also. We have built a house but we were still undecided if we would move there yet or just rent it out for now. It all hinged on if DH could get a decent job that liked and could support us (at least until we decide if and when I go back to work one day.)

So last week we headed down while DH had some annual leave from his current job and connected rainwater tanks, hot water service, attached the verandah etc. And DH had some job interviews. Well he got the first 2 he went for and was extremely happy with both offers. So he cancelled everything else and we headed home to pack :eek:

He picked the one he preffered and they want him to start on Wed 16th July - so we are moving - OMG! I don't know that this was something else we needed to be doing this year after the stressful beginning with IVF and pregnacy dramas, but it's happeneing and I don't think there's any turning back. I'm excited, but also sad and scared.

This is the view out of my family room window (http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg43/mummynow/DSCF1810.jpg)

This is the view from the back (http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg43/mummynow/DSCF1834.jpg) - we still have to put the pergola on the back & a garden etc. so it's a bit bare at this stage.

Anyway, this basically explains why I have been missing so much lately .... plus I came home with a rotten cold so have been sleeping heaps - when DH hasn't been cracking the "packing" whip - just feeling a bit better today.

Really looking forward to the get together on the 7th of July as it may well be my last one.

Nan
27-06-2008, 13:32
mummynow - Wow! I'm so happy for you! It sounds like a wonderful change for you. I'm just disappointed that I may never get to meet you! :( All the best with your move. I hope everything goes as smoothly as possible.

YAY for Sizzler's cheese toast! :smiliedance: Thanks for the tip ladies!

sshellzp
27-06-2008, 15:16
For years DH and I had considered moving out to the country one day. Last year after much research we found a 2.5 acre block (10,000m2) in a town just 25km from Mount Gambier. For those of you who don't know, Mount Gambier is the next largest city to Adelaide in SA. They have lots of schools, doctors, a good hospital, all the shops I'm used too etc. So being less than a 20 minute drive from all of this is perfect for us as we didn't really want to move into the town onto a suburban size block or we may as well stay here in Adelaide.

I lived there for 6 months. It really is a great place and I miss it.

mumofjmc
30-06-2008, 10:00
He picked the one he preffered and they want him to start on Wed 16th July - so we are moving - OMG! I don't know that this was something else we needed to be doing this year after the stressful beginning with IVF and pregnacy dramas, but it's happeneing and I don't think there's any turning back. I'm excited, but also sad and scared.

Hi stranger :wave:

Congratulations on the move. Take it from me, once you get there you do not have much time to be scared with all the unpacking and what not but hopefully when all that is done, you will meet an awesome bunch of people like I did when I lived down there.

I love the short notice moves as you don't have enough time to dwell on things and you just need to get packing!

Congratulations on having a boy too. I hope it all goes well for you. Have you organised an ob and hospital where you are going?

mummynow
01-07-2008, 10:18
Hi stranger :wave:

Congratulations on the move. Take it from me, once you get there you do not have much time to be scared with all the unpacking and what not but hopefully when all that is done, you will meet an awesome bunch of people like I did when I lived down there.

I love the short notice moves as you don't have enough time to dwell on things and you just need to get packing!

Congratulations on having a boy too. I hope it all goes well for you. Have you organised an ob and hospital where you are going?

Hi Theresa :wave: How's it going over East? Great to hear from you! Do you still have my email address? I tried to email you but it bounced back - I guess yours got changed when you moved? Can you email me or PM me again so we can make contact again pls??

Packing is pretty sucky - but useful cos we are getting rid of so much unnecessary stuff and I sorted out all the baby clothes so I know what's ok for a boy and what's gotta go cos it's too pink :laughing:

I am between two OB's and hospitals at the moment. I have my OB here in Adelaide who advised me to book into both hospitals (one here & one there) and wait til I meet the OB down there before I stress about deciding where I want to have bubs. So I have my last appt with him on Monday 14th July - literally on the way out of town that day. Then my first appt with the OB there on the 16th and the Midwife on the 23rd. After all that I hope to have a better idea of what I plan to do. It also depends what time - if any - DH can get off work in November. So it's all undecided at this stage.

Hope to hear from you soon. I will probably be offline for a bit once we move as I haven't arranged internet connection just yet. Think I will wait til we get there and find out who the locals go through. None of the providers I have spoken to have it down there so I organise it once we get there. Then I'll get back online asap.

Sharai
07-07-2008, 22:34
Will miss you.

Sorry GIRLS been MIA so much going on and disappointed with my 20week scan as I still don't know what bubs is but will hopefully find out next tuesday.

cheezelz
08-07-2008, 20:41
Lea how come you were not able to find out at your scan what you are having?? Good things come to those who wait. Im only have 3 weeks to go. Time has flown tho. I can remember when you first said you were pregnant, seemed like yesterday.

Sharai
08-07-2008, 23:02
Oh the sonographer probably got pee'd off at DS2 mucking around with lights and curtains and put a spanner in the works for us.
She said she could see 3 folds on a bottom view up there was not shadow. and she said female. Then by the end of the scan before shutting machine down said to us with a side view of bubs that she saw something else and could be a boy. I even had to remind her about the pictures she printed off if we could have them.
I was not impressed to say the least with her. And the report says no sex.

cheezelz
09-07-2008, 01:30
Oh the sonographer probably got pee'd off at DS2 mucking around with lights and curtains and put a spanner in the works for us.
She said she could see 3 folds on a bottom view up there was not shadow. and she said female. Then by the end of the scan before shutting machine down said to us with a side view of bubs that she saw something else and could be a boy. I even had to remind her about the pictures she printed off if we could have them.
I was not impressed to say the least with her. And the report says no sex.

Id complain if she was rude. When Mischief79 got her scan done the lady was very rude and impatient with her for no reason. Bel being the pro active girl she is rang and complained and they gave her a free scan to check the sex. I mean if you have to pay for somthing you might as well try and get what you paid for.

ambibambi
09-07-2008, 02:00
hi everyone ,how are you all?
im amber im 21:wave: i have a dp matt 20:valentine:
we have 1 ds lauchlan:kiss: whos 4 and half 5 in jan:ecomcity:and im 34 weeks preg with our second due the 18th aug:bee:
ive just gone back to beeing a stay at home mum and my dp works full time .
we have just moved here for qld the last few weeks and we are at Sheidow Park .
hope to meet you all in the future!!:yes:

Sharai
09-07-2008, 20:55
Hi Amber I'm from Sheidow park too. Welcome to Adelaide, sorry but the weather is extremely cold. Love to meet ya I have a DS 2 who is turning 4 in October this year.

Sharai
09-07-2008, 20:58
Id complain if she was rude. When Mischief79 got her scan done the lady was very rude and impatient with her for no reason. Bel being the pro active girl she is rang and complained and they gave her a free scan to check the sex. I mean if you have to pay for somthing you might as well try and get what you paid for.

I'm just a little worried at doing this just incase I have to get another u/s from the same place as its at the hospital I'm going to and the Midwife I go through would suggest going there again. so I'd hate to get the same sonographer next should I need another u/s

If it was through Bensons or Dr Jones then I would but I haven't paid for any of my u/s so far so can't complain in that regard. I've had 3 u/s so far. But I totally agree with you.

Londonmum
09-07-2008, 21:48
Sharai - You wont get same sonographer, if your making a complaint then the last thing they are going to do is give you the same person......thats like rubbing oil into water, it's just doesn't happen.

Was this your 3D scan you were going for Yesterday ?

I agree with cheezelz, she should not have lost her patience. If she was having a prob with your DS getting into stuff she could have asked your DH to take him out, or even asked a member of staff to take him to the staff room and entertain him till the scan was done.....it's what would have done.

Sharai
09-07-2008, 22:38
No it wasn't my 3D scan that's next week Tuesday

As I'm having bubs at Flinders birth centre I had u/s at flinders and only a midwife is taking control of my appointments now. But I will tell her tomorrow how I'm feeling about the scan last Friday.

DH thinks I'm judging the sonographer to what I think she was annoyed about. I don't know. I guess its the way it came across to me. He didn't think anything of it other than a bit disappointed in the outcome.

lovehimsomuch
11-07-2008, 20:55
So sorry I havent been in here in forever! How is everyone, anyone want to do a meet up next Friday?

Kari_Adel
12-07-2008, 16:27
Uni, it never ends! :hair: But we're alive! :laughing:

Kari_Adel
12-07-2008, 16:29
... anyone want to do a meet up next Friday?

Yep, count us in :thumbsup: but when confirmed, can someone pls email me the details in case I get lost under another pile of Constitutional Law notes and forget to log back in? :rolleyes: Trust me, its highly likely...

OneNowOneLater
12-07-2008, 16:54
Hey Kari, welcome back to the world of the living!!!!

Nan
12-07-2008, 19:59
Hi girls.
Sharai - Sorry to hear the scan wasn't what you'd hoped for. When you complain could you just ask to have someone else next time?

Kari - You sound very busy! I don't imagine its an easy course. How many contact hours do you have per week? Keep plowing on! I know when I hit 2nd year especially, I got to the point when I just didn't want to be there anymore. I lost my passion for some reason. I just kept thinking about walking across the stage at graduation and it helped me plow through. By the end of 3rd year, I was back in motion and in 4th year I was a maniac coz I knew it was nearly all over!! lol :p Is this your 1st or 2nd year?

lhsm - I would be up for a meet up, but my DH is on holidays and we'll be visiting my grandmother as a family on that day.

:hugs: to everyone.

Kari_Adel
12-07-2008, 20:30
Hey Kari, welcome back to the world of the living!!!!

Oh, I wouldn't go that far! :laughing:

Kari - You sound very busy! I don't imagine its an easy course. How many contact hours do you have per week? Keep plowing on! I know when I hit 2nd year especially, I got to the point when I just didn't want to be there anymore. I lost my passion for some reason. I just kept thinking about walking across the stage at graduation and it helped me plow through. By the end of 3rd year, I was back in motion and in 4th year I was a maniac coz I knew it was nearly all over!! lol :p Is this your 1st or 2nd year?

Oh, very busy indeed. Contact hours are only about 10-15hrs per week, but its an hour drive to campus, which makes things tricky with Jake, kindy, fighting for convenient timetables etc. And the reading, OMG the reading load! :dizzy: I'm in second year now, three more to go!

onelittlemonkey
14-07-2008, 16:37
Just thought id say hi to my fellow adelaideians!

i noticed a mention of a meet up? Im very interested! we dont have a playgroup or anything, so a meet up would be great!

Kari_Adel
14-07-2008, 23:45
Just thought id say hi to my fellow adelaideians!

Hiya! And welcome to the Adelaide thread! :D

What area are you in? My name is Kari, and I'm mum to soon-to-be 5yo Jake, and we're in Modbury North near Tea Tree Plaza. I am also studying, at Flinders Uni, second year law.

I'm not sure what's happening with the next meet, but I know that I've double-booked for Friday (sorry Laura :() as Jake has a playdate with Gma.

Maybe the week after? Or when the chaos of school holidays are over? I don't have uni on Fridays this semester.. I'll be a free woman! :goodvibes:

I've recently been stalking Kari at McDonalds and TTG Hotel, hi Kari I'll see you in a couple of days, ha! ha! only joking, or am I??? Mwah ha ha ha.

Aaargh! And here she is again! :raspberry:

Bex
15-07-2008, 09:01

I just moved to adelaide posted in the other thread but thought I would pop in here.

I had 3 bubbas in 2.4 years so as u can imagine any social meets are well needed lol

We offered on a house in Andrews farm so :fingerscrossed:

Is anyone near there?

Bex
15-07-2008, 09:37
Heya.

Thats not to far. If ur right I wouldn know I have the worst sense of direction at the best of times never mind in a new place. :laughing:

OneNowOneLater
15-07-2008, 13:59
lol most of us (i'm guessing - at least the ones that post rather regularly - no offence Belinda and Lea) are from the NE suburbs too.

Anyway, welcome to the adelaide section Bex and onelittlemonkey

Kari_Adel
15-07-2008, 14:15
Welcome Bex! :hugs:

We often catch up at a playcafe during the school term, although I've been a bit slack with attendance of late due to uni consuming me! :dizzy:

I think we steer clear of the playcafe during school holidays as its usually bursting at the seams, but fingers crossed we'll start up again in the new term and I plan to get along to more. :thumbsup:

3 bubs in 2.4 years? OMG! Yes, you'd be in desperate need for some adult conversation and a good strong coffee! :p

Sharai
15-07-2008, 16:44
Yeah sorry been caught up with the baby thing and kids not being well.
Mitch had asthma attacks over the last few nights and has been sleeping with me.
Hayden had a burst ear drum but is fine now.
We are getting back on track now so hopefully will be able to chat a bit more.

Kari_Adel
15-07-2008, 19:23
Hey Sharai! Congrats on your little man! Sounds like things have been very chaotic for you of late, but no matter how long between posts for you, I'll always be slacker! :D :D Hope to catch up soon!

mischief79
15-07-2008, 22:19
What do you have against southerners Beccy!?!?!

Welcome back Laura and Kari. i know how you feel, I did my last year of my degree by correspondance and even with having no classes it took up a heap of time.

Donna - hope the move goes well. What will you do when its time for bubs to be born? Will you come back for Flinders??

Lea - did I miss something about a little man?? I had my 19 week scan at Bensons on Melbourne st and the woman was impatient and wouldn't keep looking for me. I was the last appt on a friday so I guess she didn't want to hang around. I was DEVASTATED. Was all prepared to shop all weekend. Rang Monday and complained and they squeezed me in that afternoon with another sonographer. Each appt I had after that I made sure I asked for a different person
You only pay for the first u/s with Benson, and then each extra scan for the same pregnancy is covered by Medicare

Welcome to the newbies!

Laura - do you mean this Friday? (18th) If you make it the one afer I can come!!

tootsy
15-07-2008, 22:33
thought id pop in and say :wave: i float around the board but not so much in south australia threads. if you have forgot im 23 mum of 3yr old boy and im due in 5 weeks with another boy:)

i dont have many friends with kids, soon to get my Ps within 2 weeks so i can start getting out of this house more!

oh and im from salisbury east area, anyone close by?

cheezelz
15-07-2008, 22:44
They Tootsy Im from Salisbury East!!!! Im just off McIntyre Rd. Im 28, have an 18month old DD and expecting another next week :eek:. By the sounds of it we might be having a meet at the KidsBiz Play Cafe on Clayson Rd Friday morning if you are interested in meeting some new people. Im not sure how busy it will be with being the last day of the school holidays but its always a laugh.

Mischief79 you know that all people form the Souther suburbs are a little bit different :cool:! Ah but I love the weirdo in you.

tootsy
15-07-2008, 22:51
hi!! do you know what you are having another girl or boy?:D

on friday im actualy going to the thomas railway museum with MIL and my little sister and my boy, i live a 5min walk away from that play cafe and iv never been there but iv been meaning too.
im quiet pregnant and my son is a kicker and screamer when it comes to leaving play equitment when its time to go, so to save my energy and embaressment i dont go to things like that without DH around wheile im this pregnant coz i cant physicaly pick him up:o oh how life is hard at times LOL

Kari_Adel
15-07-2008, 23:00
Hi Tootsy! I'm at Modbury North, 10 minutes up the road! :D

As Lisa (cheez) said, there's gossip of a possible meet this coming Friday - although Belinda (mischief79) cannot make this Friday, and I'm umm'ing and aah'ing about whether I should come. You see, my Gma has been wanting to catch up with one of her friends so the 'grandbabes' can catch up for a playdate.. and they'll be at the same place, same time! :laughing: I'm not sure if I go, that Jake will hang around me more and Gma will feel like she needs to chat to me and not be able to catch up with her friend as much? :rolleyes: I dunno, maybe I can just hide out in a dark corner? Hahaha!

Remember, they're not booking tables during the school holidays due to the demand, but I received an email saying that we're welcome to call first to check availability of tables etc. :thumbsup:

TTannyaa
15-07-2008, 23:48
I'll be at that play cafe on Thursday morning, I've never been there before, is it good?

Has anyone heard from Teressa, has she settled in ok.

Bex - don't worry about the sense of direction, at least you have an excuse, I've lived in Adelaide my whole life and my street directory is my best friend.

OneNowOneLater
16-07-2008, 00:39
What do you have against southerners Beccy!?!?!

:laughing: Please, i grew up at Reynella East

Mischief79 you know that all people form the Souther suburbs are a little bit different :cool:!

Belinda, you know she's right.... We are a strange bunch :hissy::raspberry: :laughing: Hell, just look at Kari

:yes: She settled in quite a while ago, i think she's made a few posts a few pages ago to let us all know how she was doing....

Tenille
16-07-2008, 01:01
i dont have many friends with kids, soon to get my Ps within 2 weeks so i can start getting out of this house more!

oh and im from salisbury east area, anyone close by?[/quote]

Hi tootsy, I live bout half hour from you, but visit salisbury every week. Was wandering if you've seen the fence on main north rd? It has sammy j written on it with flowers. It's were my cuz died, he got hit by a car in April.

Bex
16-07-2008, 08:26
Thanks for the welcome guys.

lol I can't even have the strong coffee cause im BF:no: lol

My sense of direction is shocking even in perth where I grew up lol. It completely frustrates DH. lol

Tootsy im in ur boat but unfortunatley im way down south till our house settles so to go north takes ages and way to much fuel lol.

Just a quickie boys are trashing the house just for something new and exciting lol

Bex

onelittlemonkey
16-07-2008, 09:42
AHHH!! everyone lives so far away!! i live in bedford park atm and hopefully moving further south to be closer to family.

Kari_Adel
16-07-2008, 10:33
We are a strange bunch - Hell, just look at Kari.
A'hem!? Excuuuuuse me!? :shame: :rolleyes:

soon to get my Ps within 2 weeks so i can start getting out of this house more!
Yay that's exciting!

Sorry to hear about the loss of your cousin in April. :hugs:

I'll be at that play cafe on Thursday morning, I've never been there before, is it good?
Yes! It's great.. clean.. bright and competitive prices. You'll love it? So I take it you're not holding out til Friday to join the others?

AHHH!! everyone lives so far away!! i live in bedford park atm and hopefully moving further south to be closer to family.
There's some southerners on here 1LM! :D And sometimes we've met at central locations so the north/south mummies can UNITE! And really, Bedford Park isn't that far.. I'm studying at Flinders Uni so I think I'm getting used to the drive! :dizzy:

My sense of direction is shocking even in perth where I grew up lol. It completely frustrates DH. lol
Eeeek, I went to Perth a few weeks ago for a family emergency, and found myself trying to navigate my way around! I'd never driven on those freeways, never used a NAVMAN, and I was stuck doing both, in a new city.. eeeek! I was soooooooo terrified!

sshellzp
16-07-2008, 11:13
Mischief79 you know that all people form the Southern suburbs are a little bit different :cool:! Ah but I love the weirdo in you.

Thats what makes us so great and interesting :thumbsup: No living in the square for us :p

Londonmum
16-07-2008, 11:46
Bex - My sence of direction is hopeless, but then I'm not aussie born and bred ;)

Kari - I could not survive with out my Tom Tom (GPS), I got lost around Tee Tree Plaza for an hour trying to get to central Adelaide to pick hubby up once (couple months after being in the country), with a screaming under 1yr old in the back and trying to look in the street directory to find out where I was so I could work from there to get where I was supposed to be :hair: after that I told hubby I was getting a Tom tom and tough if he didn't like it :D Couldn't cope going through that again.

alisando01
16-07-2008, 12:20
Beccy, Reynella East has a reputation! Maybe you need to try a different southern suburb.

tootsy
16-07-2008, 12:45
Hi tootsy, I live bout half hour from you, but visit salisbury every week. Was wandering if you've seen the fence on main north rd? It has sammy j written on it with flowers. It's were my cuz died, he got hit by a car in April.

hi, im pretty sure i have seen it, sorry to hear about that:hugs:

Tootsy im in ur boat but unfortunatley im way down south till our house settles so to go north takes ages and way to much fuel lol.

Bex

yep i need my P's even though im about a 5min walk, ok about 8min walk lol its so hard my hips feel like they are falling off at this stage of pregnancy when i walk around TTP i felt like iv been in a marathon, every week gets a bit harder lol

as some have you have asked friday morning iv got plans, so i cant make it to the play cafe. maybe another visit will be organised and i can pop in and meet some people.
how long do you people usaly stay for the day?
my boy has a problem with leaving play equitment ill admit he has a tanty almost everytime, unless i have a good bribe but i dont like doing that all the time.

does any of your little ones do the same??

tootsy
16-07-2008, 12:53
it is a weird Q, ya know the thread below this one? the other adelaide chat one, does everyone all talk in both threads? or do people stick to certian threads? i poped in there and noticed half of you are in that thread aswel. how the hell do you all keep up with the :ecomcity: and know whats going on? :laughing:

so my point is, since i start getting to know people ill be here, in this thread coz otherwise ill forget who im talking to also i have a major case of placenta brain like you wouldnt believe

Londonmum
16-07-2008, 13:09
Tootsy - I don't usually have a problem getting DD to leave, she's usually pretty good. Might get a whinge but I can reason with her.....for the moment, I'm sure it'll get harder as she gets older ;)

As for the threads, about half of us flit from the other thread to here. It started in that about a dozen mums chatted and got to know each other, then one or two others tried to join in but found it hard to keep up and a couple felt it was too clicky cause we all knew each other.....they just didn't give it time for us to know them. Anyway then another thread was started for those mums to begin chatting on and now even this thread has been seen as hard to get into cause everyone else seems to know each other :yes:

Then theres the threads for specific areas like Northern mums and Southern mums. I'm a Hills mum and we are few and far between (the ones who post anyways) so we don't have a thread and just go and chat where ever......we like to chat :D

Just take your time and post where you like, I have yet to meet most of these lovely ladies cause the meets tend to be on the days I work....last one I went to didn;t work out too well :no: But I know Caz has talked about organising another big meet sometime soonish, so hopefully I'll get to that one and can meet some more Adelaidians :D

OneNowOneLater
16-07-2008, 13:33
A'hem!? Excuuuuuse me!? :shame: :rolleyes:

:laughing: You know i love you!!!! :kiss:

Thats what makes us so great and interesting :thumbsup: No living in the square for us

Too right!!!!

Beccy, Reynella East has a reputation! Maybe you need to try a different southern suburb.

The thing is, it got the reputation after i had left. Growing up, it was one of the better areas.... Unlike the new Huntfield Heights

HAHA, after leaving Reynella East, i moved to Largs Bay, then Hindmarsh (hated soccer home game weekends, i couldnt get in and out of my drive) and now i'm up with the "sane:devil6:" people up at Para Vista.... haha....

tootsy
16-07-2008, 13:51
Tootsy - I don't usually have a problem getting DD to leave, she's usually pretty good. Might get a whinge but I can reason with her.....for the moment, I'm sure it'll get harder as she gets older

As for the threads, about half of us flit from the other thread to here. It started in that about a dozen mums chatted and got to know each other, then one or two others tried to join in but found it hard to keep up and a couple felt it was too clicky cause we all knew each other.....they just didn't give it time for us to know them. Anyway then another thread was started for those mums to begin chatting on and now even this thread has been seen as hard to get into cause everyone else seems to know each other :yes:

Then theres the threads for specific areas like Northern mums and Southern mums. I'm a Hills mum and we are few and far between (the ones who post anyways) so we don't have a thread and just go and chat where ever......we like to chat :D

Just take your time and post where you like, I have yet to meet most of these lovely ladies cause the meets tend to be on the days I work....last one I went to didn;t work out too well :no: But I know Caz has talked about organising another big meet sometime soonish, so hopefully I'll get to that one and can meet some more Adelaidians :D

oh ok i get it thanx for explaining:laughing:
im still in my pjs and its 1:15pm! i love it

cheezelz
16-07-2008, 14:26
Tenille is that the memorial infront of the Vet just before the Old Spot?? Its very big. He must have been well liked. Im very sorry for your loss.

Tootsy every child I know throws a hissy fit when they have to leave especially my DD. So dont worry about it as we all understand. But I know know how you feel about grabbing a screaming child whilst pregnant. I havent been out of the house for the last 3 days so I dont have to put up with chasing DD around the shops. Oh and we do post on both threads. There are usually little spurts of conversations then it may go quiet for a few days. I cant say that I have ever seen it this busy before.

richsarholden
16-07-2008, 16:54
hey girls i am just over 4 months pregnant and need to start going to classes at the Womens and Childrens hopsital just wondering if anyone here goes to any classes as i guess i'm a little scared about not knowing anyone lol... and also is anyone has had a waterbirth there?

tootsy
16-07-2008, 21:41
Londonmum Tootsy - I don't usually have a problem getting DD to leave, she's usually pretty good. Might get a whinge but I can reason with her.....for the moment, I'm sure it'll get harder as she gets older

:yes: my son never used to do it until recently.

Tootsy every child I know throws a hissy fit when they have to leave especially my DD. So dont worry about it as we all understand. But I know know how you feel about grabbing a screaming child whilst pregnant. I havent been out of the house for the last 3 days so I dont have to put up with chasing DD around the shops. Oh and we do post on both threads. There are usually little spurts of conversations then it may go quiet for a few days. I cant say that I have ever seen it this busy before.

thats ok then coz i dont want the embaressment lol.
but yeah being this pregnant i just dont have the energy to pick him up anymore hes 3yrs old!
36 days to go!!! that sounds like stuff all when i say it in days insead of weeks!:smiliedance:

Sharai
16-07-2008, 22:25
hey girls i am just over 4 months pregnant and need to start going to classes at the Womens and Childrens hopsital just wondering if anyone here goes to any classes as i guess i'm a little scared about not knowing anyone lol... and also is anyone has had a waterbirth there?

Hi I haven't been to Women's and Childrens but am planning a water birth at Flinders Birth Centre with a lovely Midwife, Doula and my DH.
I'm over 5months now but have done a lot of research and seen many online waterbirths to be inspired by and am definately interested in that doing that.

Yeah there are many threads.
I think I started this one and just wanted it open and welcome for anyone in Adelaide or anyone that comes into Adelaide from a distance to chat and get to know one another and perhaps meet up some times.
I'm from down south but initially from the western suburbs when I was quite young till my parents moved down south in 1993.
Love the fresher sea air down where I'm am now. We used to be very close to Brighton Cement works and wasn't too good there at the time.

I can totally understand 'petrol' issues being a problem to mix southern and northern. My main reason to head north was cos my bestie Mummynow lived that way and would try to combine a meet with northerners and her at the same time. But I am more than welcome to meet half way. Last time I organised a meet we met near the Nth Adelaide Aquatic Centre and it was great to meet many northerners that came. Since my Bestie has now moved to Mt Gambier it does make it harder for me to head in a north direction. But will definately try my best to get to a mixed half way meet.
I just work on Mondays.

Been working today and feeling a bit down that DH is so far away. Boys missing him too.

Mitch is getting better now - just very hyperactive as asthma medication does that. But hopefully that calms down soon.

Otherwise welcome to those that are new from north, south and in between. Love to meet you some time.

Yeah Mischief - belly bub is a Boy and I'm ok with that. He's healthy that's all that matters.

cheezelz
17-07-2008, 04:39
Yeah Mischief - belly bub is a Boy and I'm ok with that. He's healthy that's all that matters.

You can have my girl and I'll have your boy :laughing:;)

Kari_Adel
17-07-2008, 10:25
Shell - Congratulations on the arrival of little Z!

Londonmum - I think the GPS overwhelms me even more! Although, I haven't had alot of practice.. I get so confused when the streets are mislabelled, and if you miss a turn the GPS has a hissy fit, comes back online and tells you to turn the street you just passed again! :dizzy: :D

Tootsy - I'm sure we'll have another northern meet soon. Hopefully the Adel girls will make the playcafe a regular destination during the school. :yes: And fingers crossed we can coordinate a central meet-up so everyone can get together. Look forward to meeting you!

Cheezelz - It is pretty busy in here at the moment, isn't it! Well, that's because I'm here.. I'm soooooooo popular! :laughing: *dodges b*tch slap* Your bump would be getting sooooo big, counting down the days now.. hope you're getting some sleep!

BBerry - Whoa, no I don't think I understood any of that jibberish! :laughing: j/k

richsarholden - Congratulations on your pregnancy! I had Jake at WCH, but no.. no waterbirth. Don't be scared, just remember.. all the other expecting mums will be feeling just as you are. :hugs: Can you take someone with you?

Hope everyone else is doing well and keeping warm, it is sooooooooooo cold! I'm looking forward to some sunny days!

sshellzp
17-07-2008, 11:30
Shell - Congratulations on the arrival of little Z!

Thanks hon :thumbsup:

GirlsOnly
17-07-2008, 14:00
Hi Mind if I join in?
I am from northern suburbs, am 29, married with 3 daughters and 6 weeks pregnant with my 4th (:fingerscrossed: for a BOY).

Kari_Adel
17-07-2008, 14:33
Welcome Aimee! :yelclap:Congratulations on your pregnancy! Wow, all these bumps around.. I'm getting sooooo clucky! :o:D

Guess what!? Uni results are out, and I'm happy to announce that I acheived two High Distinctions for two of my law topics! Yay! It's funny how those two little letters ('HD') on your transcript can make 6 months of hell worthwhile! :dizzy:

OneNowOneLater
17-07-2008, 14:41
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: YAY Kari!!!!!!!

Welcome Aimee

brooke
17-07-2008, 14:46

Hey there, I had my little princess at the WCH and LOVED it! I went to the anti natal classes and found everyone was very friendly and helpful. I wanted a waterbirth at the WCH but in the end I just wanted out of the bath.. I spent about 4 hours in the bath and another 6 in the shower... Are you going thru the midwifery group???

Londonmum
17-07-2008, 15:08
Kari - Using a GPS does take a lot of trust ;) Still I have never been steered wrong (unless I put the wrong address in) though I have gotten a little worried when it's taken me on some odd routes :laughing:
Congrats on your 2 HD's in Law, makes all the hard work worth while huh.

Trying4boy - Welcome :wave: Congrats on your pregnancy, when are you due? I'm due early November. Good luck on getting a boy this time.

Tootsy - See I have something to look forward too....dragging my DD out of play cafes :laughing:

Sharai - Glad to hear your boys are doing much better.

richsarholden
17-07-2008, 17:09
brooke (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/member.php?u=2100) - i'm on the waiting list for the midwifery group but there's about 30 infront of me lol...

Sharai (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/member.php?u=22863) - yeah i have watched a few waterbirths now actually on youtube and also my partner has always been very passionate about a waterbirth so i'm gunna see if i can give it a go...

Kari_Adel (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/member.php?u=9104) - Thanks yeah i know lol like i said previously just a little chicken lol but your right thwere will be other mums in the same situation as me possibly feeling the same as me so when i actually get a day of work i might go and have a look... you just boosted my confidence a little thanks :)

Kari_Adel
17-07-2008, 21:11
Hi Brooke! :wave: How's little PP? Probably not too little these days!

Thanks for the congrats Beccy, Lou and Tanya! You're right Lou, it does make it all worth it in the end.. although sometimes I wonder what I'll think looking back at that piece of paper in 20 years and remembering the tears and tantrums to gain each individual mark. :rolleyes: I don't understand how so many uni students take their studies so lightly.. I worked so hard to get into uni, and work very hard every day to stay there! :confused: And Tanya, I haven't seen you lurking around student services.. uh-oh! :laughing:

richsarholden, glad you're feeling a little better about it. Don't worry, when you get in there you won't have time to be nervous, you'll be checking out all the other bumps, comparing dates and learning about your baby. Oh dear, I am soooooooooooo clucky!

For those going along to the playcafe tomorrow morning, I'm sorry but I've decided to give it a miss. But I'll definitely be coming along to more this semester if we're still doing the Friday thing. I've only got uni Tue-Thu and I've felt socially deprived. As I've said earlier, my Grandma has been looking forward to taking Jake on a playdate for soooooo long, and she's hoping to give me an opportunity to do some study for my supplementary exam next week. If I go, she'll probably feel compelled to entertain me too :D so I think I'll leave her to it, let her enjoy herself.. and I'll do the unthinkable.. more exam preparation! Constitutional law *sigh* if only watching 'The Castle' was enough to get me through! :p

Nan
17-07-2008, 22:04
Hi everyone.
Kari - That's awesome news about your results. Congrats & nice work!! :yelclap: I only ever got 2 HDs for my entire course!! :o

Tennile - I don't know you, but I'm sorry for your loss.

cheezelz - All the best for a quick & breezy labour and a healthy bub. :)

Kari_Adel
18-07-2008, 13:37

I've just received news that my final supplementary exam will be on Thu 24 Jul, so I'd love to organise a definite meet-up for the following day.. Friday 25 Jul at our favourite playcafe! :yelclap: It's going to be sooooo good to catch up with you all after this long and painful semester! :yes:

So please, confirm your attendance (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=192113) if you can make it. All welcome!

lovehimsomuch
18-07-2008, 14:18
Hmm I think I stumbled into the wrong adelaide thread but hello anyway!

Im Laura and have a 4 yr old darling son we live in north adelaide with my partner who is a chef :chef:. Hope your all doing well! :)

*tottles off to find other thread*

lovehimsomuch
18-07-2008, 14:20
oops! this is the right thread.... :o I just got back from the gym waiting for my brain to start working again, its filled with food is good taste yum...

:o:wave:

Heaps sorry I failed to organise a meet up but Kari next Friday sounds awesome! congrats on the fantabulous results, im still waiting for mine! :(

oh well! lol

Kari_Adel
18-07-2008, 15:24
*tottles off to find other thread*

Hmmmm, you can hardly tell that it's been assessment/exam time for you either! :laughing:

lovehimsomuch
18-07-2008, 18:56
Hmmmm, you can hardly tell that it's been assessment/exam time for you either! :laughing:

quiet you! see you on Friday!! tehehe

Sharai
18-07-2008, 19:01
Will have to do a weekend central meet sometime. So both North and South can meet.

BecNBub
18-07-2008, 20:41

My name is Bec and my partner and i are moving back to my home town of Adelaide in 4 weeks to have our bub.

Im not due until end of January but already booked myself in at the WCH, i know that they have free tours of the facilities at WCH but has anyone here had first hand experience there? (Ive had cancer twice now in my 23yrs of age so ive been treated at WCH as a child and at the Royal Adelaide Hospital as an 18y/o so i was thinking to stay close to the docs/hospitals that have easy access to my previous medical files etc)

If we move to my dad's place im zoned for Llyal McEwin (spelling) but if i move to my mums im zoned for Flinders. We're planning on getting our own place ASAP but im thinking it will be more south than the nthn suburbs... has anyone had any experience with the sthn hospitals??

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! :)

mischief79
18-07-2008, 22:24
I can't keep track of all these people!!!

Kari - I have a degree hanging on my wall and I couldn't tell you ANY of the marks I got. As long as you get to the end and get that piece of paper. You sound like you're doing really well. Head down, b*m up!!

Bec - I was born at Flinders Private and I turned out alright! My DD was born at North Eastern so can't help much, but I've heard good things about both hospy's your're looking at. Come south! We need more southerners in here!!!

Hi Laura! I guess your absence means you've been studying hard...... stop talking about food! I can't stop snacking!

............ I can't remember anything else that I read! I feel quite stupid at the moment, just watched the final Big Brother Friday Night Live..... and cried at the end! They waved at all the crew members and I just started to sob. What the heck is wrong with me????

Lisa - see you tomoz.... unless you're in labour! (Which according to some you must ahve been in for a few days already cos you're dialated already he he he he )

alisando01
18-07-2008, 23:55
Bec, I have had both of my girls at the Flinders birth centre, and they were excellent. The middies were all very approachable and I dont think I got one nasty one! One forgot to do the nappy up after she did the final checks though before discharging us :laughing:

You can choose to go to WCH if you want. there is nothing saying you must go to flinders or LM. Just depends on how long you can handle being in the car while you are contracting.

brooke
19-07-2008, 12:17
Kari- well done on your marks.. you;ve worked hard and deserve it! PP is great! Your right she isnt so little anymore.. they grow up WAY too fast!

Hello- Love him so much.. Im not far from you.. we are in Medindie! I wish My DH was a chef.. Nither of us can cook too well!

I hope you ladies dont mind me sticking my head in this thread! :wave:

mumofjmc
19-07-2008, 13:35

Thanks for asking, I did post a few pages ago to let everyone know that we are now settled into "country" life.

Very wet and windy up here in Newcastle and very expensive compared to SA. Tried a bubhub meet when we first got here but felt a little strange so I haven't jumped into their threads again. Don't get me wrong, they are an awesome bunch. Miss all of you guys heaps though.

Playcafes up here a very expensive, now costs me around $24 to get in with the 3 kids. I have to pay for myself and Charlotte! Rude.

Anyway, feel free to PM me as I cruise the threads on a regular basis.

Hope you all have fun at the playcafe meets.

Chat later.

OneNowOneLater
19-07-2008, 15:00
Hehe, soon we should just completely merge the two chat threads i reckon!!!!!!!!

Bec, i had my dd at Flinders public. Like some of the others have said, i found it pretty good. The staff were great, and helped me out a fair bit when my mother decided to barge in and cause hell. Long story.

I totally agree with Ali with saying that you dont have to go to a specific hospital in your area if you arent comfortable with it. You can choose any hospital you want (i believe). When i started my antenatal care at Flinders, I was living at Reynella. Then i moved to largs, where i would've been zoned for WCH. However, i didnt want to go through them (personal reasons), so i chose to keep my records and care etc to remain with flinders.

Lisa, fingers crossed your little girl comes soon!!!! will keep my eyes peeled on any developments!

Brooke - i cant cook either! hehe.

Kari - I'd love to come, but i have tafe on fridays now, so i wont be able to make it. :crying:

Teressa - wb. I agree, that is rude that not only do you have to pay for yourself, but a baby that isnt going anywhere yet!!!!!

Kari_Adel
19-07-2008, 22:17
Will have to do a weekend central meet sometime. So both North and South can meet.
Sounds good, hopefully we have some nicer weather coming and we can do the North Adel playground again! :D

Im not due until end of January but already booked myself in at the WCH, i know that they have free tours of the facilities at WCH but has anyone here had first hand experience there?
Hi Bec! I had my son at the WCH, when I was living at Aberfoyle Park (30mins south of the city). I went to Flinders Hospital early in my pregnancy with sharp pains, and was diagnosed with an eptopic pregnancy, and then later told that I had miscarried. :( So, when my bump continued to grow, healthy, I decided to go to a hospital that actually believed that I was pregnant. :laughing: WCH midwifery clinic and classes were great, and it was not a problem that I lived closer to Flinders (in fact I had to drive past Flinders to get to the WCH!)

Kari - I have a degree hanging on my wall and I couldn't tell you ANY of the marks I got. As long as you get to the end and get that piece of paper. You sound like you're doing really well. Head down, b*m up!!
Yes, I do wonder about that sometimes. But if I can maintain and graduate with a 6.0 GPA (I'm currently 6.13 :D) then I get automatic Honours, so that keeps me motivated in the marks department. I soooooo don't want to have to write that thesis if I can get away with it!!

You can choose to go to WCH if you want. there is nothing saying you must go to flinders or LM. Just depends on how long you can handle being in the car while you are contracting.
Yes, I was 30mins away. However, the labour ended up being 40hours all up, so I could've circled the block a few times after all! :rolleyes: Just remember Bec, if you do decide to go with a hospital further away from you, I don't think there's anything stopping you if you present at your closest when the time comes, if you don't think you'll stay in one piece for the drive..

Kari- well done on your marks.. you;ve worked hard and deserve it! PP is great! Your right she isnt so little anymore.. they grow up WAY too fast!
Thanks Brooke!

Miss all of you guys heaps though.
Awww we miss you too babe. And I miss my cuddles with Charlotte! *sob*

Kari - I'd love to come, but i have tafe on fridays now, so i wont be able to make it.
*quick, schedule ALL meets for Fridays* :laughing: j/k We'll have to alternate then, if anyone else has a preferred day.. speak now or forever hold your peace..

OneNowOneLater
20-07-2008, 00:32
I can do Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and weekends. My friday morning classes end in september, and the arvo classes end in october. my wednesdays end in december....

So pretty much, i'm free most days to catch up, anywhere, any time!

mischief79
22-07-2008, 09:33
Katelyn has a snotty nose and won't let me more than 2 feet away from her........ :hair:

See you girls Friday. I am driving from Port Noarlunga so you all better turn up!!!!

Kari_Adel
22-07-2008, 10:29
Katelyn has a snotty nose and won't let me more than 2 feet away from her........ :hair:

See you girls Friday. I am driving from Port Noarlunga so you all better turn up!!!!
Oh :hugs: to you babe, how tiring, Hope she's feeling better soon so you can pee with the door shut again! :laughing:

As for Friday, we'll be there! :cool:

Kari_Adel
22-07-2008, 11:14
I'm a bit nervous, I'm actually pretty shy, although you'd never guess judging by the way I harassed Kari at McDonalds.
No, you wouldn't think so.. the way she jumped out from that dark and seedy corner :eek: and said "hello, are you Kari?"

Yeh, redhead screaming "Jaaaaaaake" at blonde 4yo boy. That narrows it down! :laughing: It was the weirdest thing, I'm like "yeeeeeees, ummmm but who the hell are you?"

Don't be shy T, you'll fit right in :yes:

M&O
23-07-2008, 14:41

Just wanted to pop in and let you know an update on Lisa, I am her Aug SMS buddy. She is 6cm dilated her OB broke her waters this morning. So far she has had a peth injection and an epi and is hoping to have bubby out before the sun goes down.
Hopefully will have an announcement soon.

Kristy :)

OneNowOneLater
23-07-2008, 15:08
:flowerz: Thanks for letting us all know Lisa's progress!

:fingerscrossed: she has her bubby soon!

Good Luck Lisa!!!!!

Sharai
23-07-2008, 16:21
Good Luck Lisa hope all goes well for you and bubs today.

Kari_Adel
23-07-2008, 17:47
Just wanted to pop in and let you know an update on Lisa, I am her Aug SMS buddy. She is 6cm dilated her OB broke her waters this morning. So far she has had a peth injection and an epi and is hoping to have bubby out before the sun goes down.
Hopefully will have an announcement soon.

Kristy :)

:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

Thanks Kristy for filling us in!

Go Lisa! :goodvibes:

OneNowOneLater
23-07-2008, 20:55
Has there been any more news about Lisa???

tootsy
23-07-2008, 21:15
:D goodluck to lisa (even though she has probably already had her baby) how exciting.

M&O
23-07-2008, 21:30

I am very happy to announce the much anticipated arrival of Cheezelz beautiful little girl. :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

Lisa, Dennis and Brie welcome PIPER SALLY to their family via c-section after 10hr labour. Weight 7lb 15 oz. Length 49cm. All doing well.

Congratulations to Lisa and her family on the safe arrival of their bundle of pink. :flowerz:

Sharai
23-07-2008, 21:39
congratulations Lisa and family

OneNowOneLater
23-07-2008, 21:39
:smiliedance: Congratulations Lisa, Dennis and Brie! Welcome to the world Piper Sally!!!!! :smiliedance:

Kari_Adel
24-07-2008, 00:59
Woohoo! Welcome Piper!

:flowerz: :flowerz: :flowerz:

TTannyaa
24-07-2008, 11:56
:flowerz:Congratulations Lisa and family :flowerz:

tootsy
24-07-2008, 12:38
:flowerz:congrats lisa and family

Laine
24-07-2008, 13:03
Congratulations Lisa, Dennis and Brie on the safe arrival of little Piper Sally.

:baby:

:flowerz::flowerz::flowerz:

Nan
24-07-2008, 16:07
Oh, that's lovely news. Congratulations cheezlez!! What a gorgeous name you've chosen. Hope all is well and that she is an awesome little feeder for you. :thumbsup:

Hello everyone. Hope you're all having a good day. We (Londonmum, Caz & myself) braved Marion today and the Target toysale.......gawd it was crowded! We got everything we came for though, so I guess that's good. My Chrissy shopping is done apart from about 4 gifts!! Woohoo!

.........and Hills!! :D (not that its your fault I never rock up.....totally mine!)

Hehe, soon we should just completely merge the two chat threads i reckon!!!!!!!!
Yeah, why don't we just make one big chat thread? Seeing as how we now have meet ups being organised left, right & centre I figure its a good plan.............. I'm sure people get that geographically & relationally its impossible to know everyone on here like a sister!

But if I can maintain and graduate with a 6.0 GPA (I'm currently 6.13) then I get automatic Honours, so that keeps me motivated in the marks department. I soooooo don't want to have to write that thesis if I can get away with it!!
You go girl!! :smiliedance:

I haven't been allowed to pee with the door shut since my DD1 was born and then she got over it and my little one started. I have no dignity left
Tanya, did the hospital not inform you that it gets left at the door when you check out?!! :p

Bec - Come up to Mt Barker hospital.......its the best hospital in the world!!!! :laughing: I was seriously thinking about having another baby the other day just so I could stay there again!!!! hehehe My DH quickly brought me back to reality.

Anyway, I'm off to check the other chat thread. :wave:

mischief79
24-07-2008, 18:25
I went to the hospy today and saw Lisa and little Piper. Such a cutie! Brie looks like mummy, but Piper looks like daddy.

Yaaaaaayyyyyy, so excited she's finally here!!!!

Londonmum
24-07-2008, 21:09
Congrats Cheezlez, Welcome to the world Piper Sally.

I agree what a lovely name :thumbsup:

So whos going to start the new thread for us all to join ? :D
Make life easier if we have at least 1 less thread to read/respond too :p

Londonmum
25-07-2008, 08:54
For anyone whos interested, check out this thread for the new all inclusive Adeliade mums chat thread :thumbsup:

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/f...d.php?t=193474 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=193474)

Kari_Adel
25-07-2008, 09:18
I'm free, I'm freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! :laughing:

I sat for my supplementary exam yesterday morning (yes, I had to fall out of bed and be at the bus stop by 7:30am on the coldest morning all year - aaargh!) and it's all over! :D

Semester 1 done and dusted!
Although semester 2 starts on Monday.. I'm going to just enjoy these three days where I don't have to look sideways at a textbook or High Court case!

In other news, Jake had his first week at his new kindy this week... and he's loving it! It's so good to see. He was in a kindy room / ABC child care before, as I didn't see the point in moving him until he had a confirmed spot at the school we wanted.. and now we're all set! It's so sweet.. it's surprisingly different from the child care routine.. and now he can do the transition visits / make friends with other children going to the same school etc etc.

Off I go to get organised, we'll be seeing some of you this morning at K/B! :thumbsup:

TTannyaa
25-07-2008, 15:34
Tanya, did the hospital not inform you that it gets left at the door when you check out?!! :p

I guess they forgot to mention it ha ha, it's a rude shock to the system though. How are you Nan, haven't seen/spoken to you for ages, I hope you and the little ones are well :hugs:

It was really nice to meet you all today, sorry I couldn't hang around for as long as I would have liked, there would have been hell to pay if we had skipped playgroup and sometimes you just have to pick your battles.

All your little ones are gorgeous, especially little Isaac, what an angel.

:flowerz: Have a great weekend everyone. :flowerz:

DB&O
25-07-2008, 15:43
:smiliedance::cloud9:Congratulations Cheezelz & family on the safe arrival of Piper Sally :cloud9::smiliedance:

Beautiful name BTW :yes:

Nan
25-07-2008, 15:46
I've asked one of the mods to close the Adelaide mums and friends thread so we can chat in the BIG one! lol

Does some one want to PM razzle or another mod to get this one closed so we don't get confused?

........'Hi Ho Hi Ho its off to the BIG thread I go'.... :yelclap:

mumofjmc
25-07-2008, 18:39
:flowerz: Congratulations Lisa and family on the safe arrival of Piper.

I also love the name!

I hope you recover quickly so you can properly enjoy your little bundle of joy.

Sharai
26-07-2008, 19:52
For now I will rather this thread stay open as I opened this thread for all Adelaide parents current and newbies and not for any *****iness. ( as another thread seems to be turning into that way ) I don't believe it was intentially ment to go that way but it is as there are many passionate and strong personalities not that there is a problem with that. I'm just not fond of threads that seem uninviting with too much conflict.
And this thread is just to get to know others in similar situations. Perhaps have some meet ups exchange ideas and advice.

I came onto Bub Hub to find other mother's within Adelaide to meet and chat to. That is all I want to have is a nice thread for all that are welcome and will not single out anyone.

So I welcome anyone from Adelaide to join in - we are friendly and have similar goals and crave company of others.

Nan
26-07-2008, 21:26
Yeah, I agree Sharai. Well said.

I want the other Adelaide mum's thread to stay open too. That way people can feel free to chat to whoever they want be it a small group or a large one. I guess everyone is different.

Londonmum
26-07-2008, 22:18
I'll chat to just about anyone :D DH calls me a forum junkie :laughing:

Sharai
27-07-2008, 00:43
DH is finally home Friday night made a lovely dinner his favourite. chicken schnitzel with lemon wedges, mash potatoes, vegies and gravy for the kids. with a nice lit candle. I am just so happy he is home.

Today we bought a new couch from lecornu which will arrive in 8 weeks time its a L shape lounge with ottoman to store spare blankets and has a built in sofabed with inner spring mattress its lovely. So I can't wait for it now. And a great for $1699. So pleased with that.

So that will arrive just before Mummynow and her family arrives back in Adelaide for the October long weekend. She is coming to stay with us.
I can't wait to see her again.
SHe said she will try to get back online in the next day or two unfortunately it will be dial up till they can organise something else.

Londonmum
27-07-2008, 15:03
Sharai - Good to hear hubbys home, sounds like you spoilt him.......should be him spoiling you given your the one whos pregnant and looking after 2 boys on your own ;)
Like the sound of your new sofa set, been looking at those types myself but wont be getting one ourselves till we have our own home.
Bet your looking forward to seeing Mummynow again, when is the long weekend? Still not used to all these BH weekends. :confused:

How is everyone today? I had a lovely lay in though I didn't sleep well last night nor this morning but was nice just staying in bed without being constantly interupted :yes:

Sharai
27-07-2008, 15:14
Bit down today - DH not interested in any names I have listed and would rather play on his computer or watch footy today. I know he has bought me something from Coober Pedy but doesn't want to give it to me yet. Just feeling a little lack of attention and affection today. DH felt the baby for the first time today.
He feels a bit removed from everything about the baby as I am the one carrying it. But it doesn't change him to help me with anything. It's like I should be able to do everything that I could do before I was pregnant. Sorry just venting about DH insensitivity.

Kari_Adel
27-07-2008, 15:45
How is everyone today? I had a lovely lay in though I didn't sleep well last night nor this morning but was nice just staying in bed without being constantly interupted :yes:

See Lou, I've got Jake trained! It's soooooo nice now that he's learned to sneak into my room in the wee hours, reach under the pillow for the remote control and turn his cartoons on. :laughing: It's fantastic! OK, so, I'm using the TV as a babysitter - I know - but surely that's socially acceptable when it's before the sun rises? :D

Bit down today

Awww huge :hugs: to you babe. I wish they could put DH's on some sort of medication that would induce pregnancy symptoms.. just so they had some idea of what you're going through! Nevertheless, even if he cannot sympathise, he should be helping out a lot more if you need it. Hope he gets settled back at home sooner rather than later and starts giving you more support. :kiss:

Londonmum
27-07-2008, 20:55
Sharai - See you spoilt him and he didn't appriciate it. :no:
:hugs: to you hun, perhaps you should say something to him. Whether he 'understands' what it's like to be pregnant or not he's been through this with you twice before, number 3 isn't any easier then number 1 and he should help you out more.

Kari - :laughing: Well trained indeed. DD knows how to change the chanels on our TV but we have a different control to turn it on/off.
She usually gets up in the night cause something has upset or disturbed her, we normally just put her right back to bed but it does mean our sleep has been interupted.

Nan
27-07-2008, 21:44
How is everyone today? I had a lovely lay in though I didn't sleep well last night nor this morning but was nice just staying in bed without being constantly interupted
Me too! First lie in in almost 3 months! :rolleyes: I enjoyed every minute.........of course I then had to dress my kids who were still in their PJs at 11am, but thats ok with me. I was feeling so sick this morning with a bad throat & muscle aches so all the things I planned to do got thrown out the window. Proud to say I've been in my PJs and uggies all day!!!!

Sharai - Sorry to hear about DH. Mine was a little more disinterested with number 2 as well. I just came to the conclusion that men really don't know, but how can they? They aren't the pregnant ones? Still doesn't help with how you feel though, hey? I'm sure he'll be right on board come labour time and afterwards.

TTannyaa
28-07-2008, 12:39
Gosh you are a lucky lot getting a lie in, my girls get up at 6am every morning regardless of what time they go to bed and when Simi is awake EVERYONE is awake.

Sharai - You did spoil dh, that dinner sounds delicious, what time is dinner at your house, you might just get a visitor. Hope you are feeling better today :hugs:

How's your hip Londonmum, hope it isn't giving you too many problems in this cold weather. Sim doesn't sleep well at night either, so I'm feeling your pain in that respect.

Nan - hope your throat is better today and not the sign of things to come.

My glasses snapped on Saturday and I couldn't take them in until today so I've been sleeping with my contact lenses in which hasn't been too bad, it just takes a bit of getting used to and I'm completely blind without contacts or glasses. It's going to cost $170.00 to fix them as the warranty on them has just expired. I'm :hissy: I hate throwing money away on stupid things like that.

TTannyaa
28-07-2008, 12:42
Does anyone else love the crunchy asian salad from Woolies. It's delicious, I'm obsessed with it.

Nan
28-07-2008, 13:34
Never tried it, Tanya. Might have to give it a go.

Londonmum
28-07-2008, 14:12
Nan - Glad to hear you got a lay in at last. Don't worry about the kids being in PJ's all day, nothing wrong with a PJ day. DD is usually in PJ's on a sunday unless we are going out someplace.

brambleberry - Doesn't your DH let you have a lay in from time to time?
Sucks about your glasses, always the way huh ? Something goes wrong as soon as the warrenty runs out. Fortunatly my glasses were ok after my fall, just the frames got a little bent as I don't wear contacts and have no spare glasses. Parents in the UK have brought me a pair of glasses for a b-day/chrissy pressy which is huge cause glasses are not cheap where ever you go.

Thanks for asking about my hip, it's better though still a little painfull. The pilates really helps thankfully, gotta keep on my feet as long as possible cause physio thinks I'll be bedbound by the end of my pregnancy.

Kari_Adel
28-07-2008, 15:13
Well, first day back at uni today.. groan. Nah, it's not that bad, I've only had the one lecture thus far and that topic looks OK. The lecturer reminds me of Willy Wonka (the ol' one, not Johhny Depp.. what's his name?) and is so funny! "Here, let Uncle Dave tell you all a story" he says, before describing a case about a man being sued for *ahem* peeing in a marketplace ("making water" as the distinguished justice described it :rolleyes:). He always has these random cases to throw in, to keep your attention.

Tanya, you're hilarious. First the nail polish comment, and now asian salad. :laughing: You're random posts give me a real giggle.. hehehe! :D Sorry to hear about your glasses, I also hate having to spend money.. my textbooks for this semester will set me back nearly $500! I'd rather go spend that clothes shopping if I could.. aargh!

Nan, hope all goes well with TT'ing, I'm so glad those days are over. I think I take it all for granted now.. you quickly forget things like that.

Lou, pilates? Oh my, you ARE motivated! It'd be so good, but I'm such a procrastinator when it comes to exercise. :p

A big hello and hugs to everyone, I hope you are all keeping warm, I really thought I was going to lose a limb this morning.. it was sooooooo cold. I was on the bus by 7:30am, and NO heating. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...

And here comes the ice-cream truck *bing bing bing* yeh right buddy!* :D

mischief79
28-07-2008, 20:46
Lou - I keep meaning to try Pilates (I've got a few DVD's and yoga ones at home) but I am NOT flexible anymore. Recommended?? My sister and I have a new exercise rountine - when Neighbours is on we run on the spot, do knee lifts, kicks, starjumps etc..... a cardio workout without leaving the loungeroom! I gotta do some strength/core tho..... my guts are hanging out too far!!

Kari - first day back! I loooooove Willy Wonka..... why can't I have a garden made of chocies and lollies!!

Tanya - I started buying the woollies pre=packaged salads cos it made lunch time easier...... then I found out that thay have like a zillion bacteria in them. Supposedly not good for you at all (Oh no, I think I just ruined your salad loving! So sorry!!! But germs freak me out)

On the germ topic, i was chatting to some mums from my baby playgroup the other day about second hand clothes from opp-shops and hiring toys from the library..... I just can't make myself do it. I'm not a snob (at least I hope I don't come across that way) but I can't bear the thought of not knowing where things have been. What if a dog pooped on it or something? I need to get past this phobia before it costs me a fortune buying brand new everything!

Lea- hope your spirits are lifted now. The preggo emotions are not very nice, especially if you're having a down moment. If you need a shoulder or an ear, let me know. xxxx

Londonmum
28-07-2008, 21:48
Kari - As it's not a matter of being motivated, I have a cross trainer running machine at home that I insisted DH buy me a couple months ago and I've not switched it on yet let alone used it :o I do the Pilates to keep myself from being bedbound through the pregnancy, can't afford not to work and have a 2.5 yr old to look after.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your first day back, your tutor sounds interesting. I really like the ones that through in off the cuff stuff to make sure your listening, I had a law tutor who used to tell us the worst jokes.

Bel - I've had arthritis for about 6 yrs now, my joints swelled up so bad in the start that I lost all flexability and could not kneel down it was so painfull. Pilates doesn't really focus on flexability but on strengthening the core muscles, saying that since starting the Pilates I have become a little more flexable and I don't do anything as vigorous as the others in my class (I'm the only pregnant one so I have special exercises that the others don't do).

I can understand the Germ thing, a lot of people feel that way :yes: But did you know that conditions like Asthma are on the increase because we are 'too' clean......nothing like letting your kids eat some dirt from time to time ;) :D

I'm actually looking forward to getting loads of hand me downs from a couple friends for my bub to be. I'm sure they have had poo, wee, vomit and numerous other things on them but I also know the ladies giving me the clothes wash and care for them very well.

Can you tell I'm a nurse :p I've had worse on me by the end of a shift then baby clothes could ever have on them :laughing:

TTannyaa
29-07-2008, 13:23
Kari - Having a lecturer that looks like Gene Wilder would crack me up, there's no way I'd ever be able to take him seriously especially if he refers to himself as Uncle Dave. $500,00 for text books is unbelievable, my niece is doing psych science and something else that I can't remember at uni and she said her text books cost about the same. Can you sell them second hand or are they covered in notes and highlighted bits?

Mischief - I think all the bacteria I get from the salads is what's keeping me healthy :laughing: I don't want to get too far ahead of myself but, I don't get sick often *touch wood*

Randon comment of the day :- The new Facebook sucks.

Have a great day everyone :)

Sharai
29-07-2008, 13:34
Thanks Belinda - things slowly picking up.

Gene Wilder LOL - that would make me laugh too.

Nan
29-07-2008, 15:23
Kari - I love lecturers like that! My favourite lecturer at Uni was my Language & Literacy one. She'd read us a kids book at the start of every lecture. It really took me back to my childhood. That was one of the subjects I got a HD for. I LOVE Lang & Lit.

i was chatting to some mums from my baby playgroup the other day about second hand clothes from opp-shops and hiring toys from the library..... I just can't make myself do it. What if a dog pooped on it or something?
Then you wash it in warm soapy water or run it through the machine if its cloth, spray it down with an antibacterial spray & leave it to air dry.....good as new! :thumbsup: I'm a bit of a seasoned pro with 2nd hand stuff. If you ever want any advice let me know!! lol Seriously! My husband hates how I'm always lurking on ebay! Pilates rocks by the way. I didn't do it when pg with Eden and had the worst lower back spasms. I did it with Caleb and didn't have any issues at all. I really miss it & need to get back into it.

But did you know that conditions like Asthma are on the increase because we are 'too' clean......nothing like letting your kids eat some dirt from time to time
Hell, my house is living proof of this!! How else would I have so much time for BH?!! :laughing: I also have 2 allergy free kids.......hey, maybe there IS something to the whole dirt theory. :detective:

Randon comment of the day :- The new Facebook sucks.
Really? Oh darn. I haven't been on since they changed it....I'll have to check it out.

Enjoy the day girls.

mummynow
11-08-2008, 20:43
Hi Ladies :wave:

Well I've really lost track if I've actually posted back in here since we moved?? I have been off bubhub for well over 4 weeks and only just recently ventured back on this past week.

So I'll start a fresh and say "Hi to all" and I'm glad to be back.... albeit a little confused.... Is this thread still active? I heard the general low down on what happened whilst I was preoccupied with moving - but now not sure if this is where I should be posting or not??

Help please :o

Nan
11-08-2008, 21:05
Hey mummynow!
Sounds like your move went well.
I'm not sure what others are doing, but I'm just posting in the BIG ADELAIDE CHAT thread now as the girls on this one seem to be chatting on that one anyway. I also post in the Adelaide Mums and friends one.
Nice to have you back on BH! :thumbsup:

lovehimsomuch
17-08-2008, 22:19
Hi girls! sorry I missed the last meet up but Id love to come to the next one, how is Friday the 29th of August for everyone? :D:D:D