View Full Version : Teething or teeth moving around
Hi, my DS is 4 and half months old now....he has rosey cheeks (they look like a rash, especially to one side) and they feel hot, as does his head. His temp. goes up to 37.2 or 37.4 when it's normally 36.8 and he won't stop rubbing his fist and fingers into his mouth. He isn't drinking his bottle without shoving his thumb in at the same time and if he doesn't he won't drink it, he'll bite the teat instead and start to cry. He wakes more often during the night (last 3 nights) and his gums do seem to have a few white hard bumps (teeth) showing through almost like they are transparent gums (side view). They aren't his top two or bottom two, it looks like the molars on the bottom and top. Does this sound like he is teething or are they just moving around and we have a lot longer to wait? Poor little fella. He loves the Bonjela and I am holding off on the panadol until it's unbearable.
Thanks.
I think I will reply to myself, at least so it looks like I had some advice he,he. Anyway, after reading some other threads and talking to a Health Care Nurse today, my DS is teething....poor thing. If anyone would like to talk about their little ones teething or needing any advice etc. on the subject or just a winge, feel free to do so.
Good luck with your bubbies and their teething.
Chickadee
29-03-2006, 11:43
*bump*
Just bumping up your thread to see if we can get more responses for you. It's been too long since my DD cut her first teeth and she did it fairly painlessly so I can't suggest much. It does seem to take a few weeks though. Has he gotten any better with it?
Baby Girl
29-03-2006, 13:30
My DD2 did the same things as your bub but without the temperature for about 6 months before her first tooth came through. It was dribble & chew central at our place for ages!!
I used to give her rusks, cold carrot, cold facewashers, cold teething rings to chew on and that seemed to help her a bit - maybe it was just beause she had something she could bite down onto - my finger wasn't always the best option :thumbsdown: it hurt!! And it hurts more now she has her teeth. She got 5 through within a week and now there seems to be no stopping her....she was 9 1/2 months when the first one came through! Hers did nopt come through in the 'normal' order but that is nothing to worry about. She got 4 accross the top and then one on the bottom.
My DD is 6 motnhs and has just started the same type of behaviour - very irritable and trying to get thumb/finger in mouth with everything - her gums also look a bit swollen - I have no idea if it is teething - what I have read has been yes they do get pain from teeth and then no they don;t so who knows - I hope things gt beeter for you!
Taylors_mum
30-03-2006, 13:09
Hi Boymum,
My DD has had the same behaviour since she was about 3 months (she is now 5months). Sounds like she is teething in the same place as you son... as its not the front teeth its about 1-2 teeth further along the gums IYKWIM.
She loves cold or frozen teething rings and i also got her a "Gummy" (like a dummy but in the shape of her gums, if that makes sense) you can get them from woolies or Big W. She loves the gummy after its been chilled and i use it to apply Bonjela.
Im like you.. i dont like using Panadol unless she REALLY needs it.
I know how frustrating it is.:banghead:
Keep us posted.
My little miss didn't like the gummy, but Brauer teething relief is a great alternative to panadol - it's homeopathic and you can get it at the pharmacy. Ashley is 7 mnths old now and has 7 teeth (top 5 bottom 3) with another cutting through at the moment. She started at 3 months and in all that time there have only been 3 days total that I've needed to use Panadol cause the Brauer just wasnt strong enough for her.
Ahh the joys of teething! I think our boy (3.5 months) is starting his teething adventure too! His gums are red and I can see the teeth in there but not really coming up yet. He is drooling heaps and loves biting on anything in sight! We have used the bonjela a few times but I don't think they worry him as much as they worry us! Lol! :D
SuperWoman
02-04-2006, 21:24
My DS is 4 months on tuesday and he has been doing the same things. I have his healthnurse appointment on Thursday so I will be sure to ask her if its his teeth! Poor little man wont stop drooling too!!!
Our DS started today. He has red patches on one side of his face, and was crying like mad this afternoon (and he doesn't cry much at all). He's been trying to chomp on anything in sight. His nose has also been really congested the last couple of days.
I had to give him Panadol he was screaming so much and couldn't attach properly to feed. After he did, he didn't want to come off the boob at all :(
I thought about getting one of those Gummis, as he's only 14 weeks, and is only just learning to grip rattles and rings properly - he wouldn't be able to hold onto it long enough. But the problem his he won't take a dummy at all, despite my trying. It's not that I necessarily feel strongly about him having one, I just thought it might be handy for when he's unsettled (at the moment he loves comfort feeding and is putting on 1.5kg per month because of it).
Has anyone found that their bub won't take a dummy but was fine with the Gummi?
I've got some Bonjela and will use that - as soon as I figure out where the blasted tooth is coming through! He tries to bite my finger off every time I go in for a feel :(
truelove2
04-04-2006, 08:15
my little man is 11 weeks. he started to teeth.. he started at 9 weeks.. so know what u all are going throu.. it is tough.
i wish he gets his teeth soon.. my finger has had it with being the rusk.. lol..
:thumbsdown:
Thanks sooooo much for your replies, really helps all of these tips and ideas I have read thanks.
Well my DS is now 5 months old and still no sign of a tooth, has bumps and lumps in his gums, seems to be more than one now.....he gets a hot red rash on one cheek every few days and with it he gets temps and very grizzly....doesn't want his bottle much and when he does he vomits it up a lot, poor fella.
I have been using Bonjella, it does help him take his bottle when I rub it in before his feed, he seems to love the taste too.
I also find that he's more clingy and wants Mummy a lot when these horrid teething days appear, plus the daytime naps are sort of a miss then too :(
Ah well, keep you all posted on how he goes. Good luck with your little one's and their teething too :)
Boymum.
My boy is also 6mo and displaying all those signs and symptoms although I can't find a tooth in there at all! He has also been nightwaking which is new to us. I've tried the bonjella a couple of times too - I am sure Will thinks it is lollies! I have been really hesitant to say he is teething in case none appear but he loves that teething ring!!