View Full Version : Cloth Nappies for September 08 Mummies to be!
stellarella
16-01-2008, 06:27 PM
Just thought I would start a thread for us September mummies about cloth nappies. I have used them for 18 months on my son, since he was born, I know there are a few other September cloth mummies like kymmy :)
Anyway if you are interested in cloth nappies, want to pick our brains, find out what works, see pictures, ask any questions I would love to chat about cloth :D
I am a total devotee.
Particularly all you first time mummies you might not realise that Modern Cloth Nappies exist and boy are you in for an exciting discovery if you are up for it. :thumbsup:
hayleysmummy
16-01-2008, 06:57 PM
:wave: I use MCN's part time for DD 15 months but only started when she was 10 months. I want to use them full time with this bubs and I've just paid off my lil squirt which makes it more exciting (no more washing the runny pooh by hand):barf:
for a newborn I have 1 micro monkey doodlez so far and a couple of BBB are there any really good ones that you can suggest? Thanx
Thanks stellarella, for opening this thread
As i have two older childern that we didnt use cloth for hubby is not keen at all, i would love to give it a go, please educate me. I read up on a web site and i was convinced, but hubby (he tends to conform to socitey more than i would like) isnt convinced, he dosent want to have to wash dirty nappies. I want to know prices and how many we would need, i also have big buba's when DS was born he didnt fit into newborn nappies (huggies) so would i skip the smallest size of MCN's or are they bigger, i will think of more questions later, so i can chat to hubby about it, and be informed
Mickie
17-01-2008, 11:34 AM
I plan to use mcn and flats. And of course wool covers.
I also plan to EC. Just see what happens.
17-01-2008, 11:36 AM
We started with mcn when Av was 8 mths. Hubby was not keen. But he is now an advocate. He doesn't like rinsing them (you can get a little squirt) and he sometimes gets confused but he just needs more practice!
You can get newborn size, small size, medium, large and XL. Or One size fits most. Depends on the brand.
hubber in hiding
17-01-2008, 03:44 PM
I am already a cloth user too, a total devotee too :D
This bub will be in cloth from birth - not a single sposie to touch his/her bum :D
Mixy, a popular brand is Bumgenius one-size-fits-all pocket nappies. They are around $24 I think.
My advice is to start buying nappies now if you can, one a fortnight or one a month, then you'll have a nice little stash ready to go when bub arrives.
Some popular brands are:
Cute Tooshies
Baby Beehinds
Bumgenius
Nappylicious
Green Kids
The best thing about those above is that they are OSFA, they'll fit from birth to toddler.
Also be aware that some nappies need covers, some don't. Fitted nappies need covers, AIO (all in one) and pocket nappies don't.
Best to get a few of each type and see what you like :yes:
17-01-2008, 04:00 PM
kymmy what is 'EC"?
EC is Elimination Communication.
Basically you communicate with baby to eliminate in potty/toilet/bowl etc rather than in a nappy.
Balibear
18-01-2008, 12:58 PM
Just wanted to say love cloth nappies DH likes the ones shaped like DNs with velcro i dont mind the fold them yourself kind as long as i have snaps i dont like pins.
I hope we will be moving soon to a 1 story place as changing nappies & having the bathroom upstairs was fine untill you then had to lug the nappy buckt downstairs for washing.
juzzy
18-01-2008, 01:14 PM
My 11 month old DD is full time cloth, so i am thinking baby number 2 will be as well! :yelclap:
thanks for the info, very interesting stuff..... i am so intreged, when i had my other 2 i would never have dreamed of using cloth, now i am really concidering it!! just to convince hubby, how do i do that?
mummasbubbas
21-01-2008, 08:35 AM
Hi ladies, I am really interested also. With DD #1 I actually made my own cloth nappies with the velcro. But I got frightened as I was worried being first time mum that I would be out and have a wet outfit or some other disaster and not be able to handle it. This time I do want to give it a go. I need heaps of information so I know that I will be asking you girls heaps of info.
How many a day does one need from newborn? And what is a little squirt?
21-01-2008, 04:09 PM
How many a day does one need from newborn? And what is a little squirt?
I would say same as with disposables.
About 8-10 a day. Depends on newborn.
I have to find out what I will need to. I used cloth on my first for the first 3 weeks. But only on my last baby as an older baby.
Little squirt is a hose you attach to your toilet to rinse off. I have one but never attached.
so what is the 'best' brands and where can i get them? can you get reusable liners, or washable ones, and is the little squirt nessercery while the baby is exclusively BF? so many questions!!!
28-01-2008, 05:32 PM
I think with breastfed babies you can just chuck them in the machine as is. The nappies that is, not the babies.
You can reuseable liners.
There are some great nappies available. I liked WAHM made nappies like Pookey Pockets, Bits For Bots and Whizz Kidz (all on Ozebaby) but for easier to get nappies try the bigger online cloth stores such as nurture nappies and wee wuns.
hth
28-01-2008, 07:06 PM
We used cloth nappies for Oliver until he was close to 1, and got to wiggly to put the terry flats on.
This time I think it will be sposies though. :( We dont have enough water to be washing now as we moved bush and are on Tanks. And sadly no washing machine, we can barely afford the 30 odd dollars a week to wash NOW, without all the trips to the laundry mat.
Maybe we will have a better set up by the time BaBee arrives! :) I'd love to have a play with these MCN's! They look so CUTE!!!
OJandMe
28-01-2008, 07:12 PM
WOOHOOO!!
A cloth thread just for us!! That's what I"m talking about! :D
I'm going flannelett mad, I'm planning on making a whole stack of gender neutral terry/flannel newborn size fitteds (coz she .. we're thinking positive... will be changed so often) and then once I find out the sex, I'll make some gender specific pockets/AIO's/AI2's
I'm so excited I'm so excited. And I've even got 3 small BP's that I couldn't use for very long on Gabs, so I'm so excited that I'll be able to use them!
:smiliedance::smiliedance:
Oh I've never used a little squirt. just a normal hose attached to the sink that I hold so as to give more pressure.
OJandMe
28-01-2008, 07:24 PM
thanks for the info, very interesting stuff..... i am so intreged, when i had my other 2 i would never have dreamed of using cloth, now i am really concidering it!! just to convince hubby, how do i do that?
Savings baby savings .,....
Show him the dollar signs. And get him some really cute nappies that say things like
My Dad Chose My Nappy.
or
If You Think I've got a cute butt, you should check out my Dad,
or a nappy in the design of his favourite racing/football/cricket team.
There's lots of ways to encourage Dads.
But for my DH is was the money.
$1000 to set up a stash big enough for the twins, that paid itself off in 6 months (we were spending THAT MUCH on sposies for them) and I've never spent a dollar on nappies for Gabriel, and he's almost 6 months old.
You could set up a useable stash for one for anywhere between $500-$800 depending on what you buy. I reccommend a basic workhorse nappy that is a One Size Fits All, like Greenkids, Baby Beehinds, Haute or BumGenius... then some more stylish 'show off' nappies for when you want to flaunt.
At Greenkids you can buy a complete package for just over $600 which would give you enough nappies to wash every second day, and use nappies full time, including night. (that's just to give you an idea)
When you think that over a year in sposies you'll pay close to $1500 that's a BIG saving... especially since GK's will fit from birth to toilet training. So 3 years in nappies, sposies: $3500 (coz they use less as they get older, but you have to count gastro and stuff) Cloth nappies birth to toilet traing: $600-$800
He can't resist those facts. :thumbsup:
gee how can you argue with that, i think i will have a thourgh look at all the sites you have mentioned and see where that gets me, i love that you could give me figures:)
hubber in hiding
28-01-2008, 10:05 PM
You can do it way cheaply Mixy - just say you stick just with the one brand, that don't need covers. Something like Bumgenius one-size pockets are around $25 each I think.
18 is a great number to have, so 18x$25=$450. Plus $12 for a nappy bucket :D
And add the minimal washing cost, and just that much will do your bub right thru to toilet training :cool:
29-01-2008, 06:30 AM
And don't get addicted to all the cute nappies available.
Sparky1666
02-02-2008, 11:51 AM
I used cloth for my first 2 and had not considered using cloth for this one until reading this thread. So thanks!
My concious will feel better I am sure.
I also looked at the below link which talks about questions to ask yourself when making the decision. I think they will also recommend how many etc if you email them.
http://www.cottonbottom.com/shop/?gclid=CNW3q_WypJECFSFaagodbXM0fw
KatieLou
11-02-2008, 09:23 AM
Hi everyone. Thanks for this thread, I had absolutely no idea that MCN's existed - Everyone I know uses disposables but I have never been entirely comfortable with the idea of that.
I have lots of questions though, so I was hoping someone could help me out please.
- do those 'one size' nappies really fit newborns as well as disposables do? I just can't see it in my head how one nappy can fit such a wide age group.
- are they bulkier than disposables? I have heard people say that cloth nappies are bulkier and that many clothes don't fit over the top of them
- what sort of washing prep is needed for newborn nappies that are BFed? I've read that with older kids you shake or squirt into the toilet, but then some say that this isn't necessary for BF newborns - but what do you need to do instead?
- are they honestly as good as (as far as assumed comfort, leakage, nappy rash and all the other stuff I don't even know about) as disposables?
I'm not sold yet - but the seed is definately planted so thanks again - you may have saved me and the environment a packet!:)
11-02-2008, 10:10 AM
Using mcn on a newborn will be a new experience for me too so I am not too sure. But I do believe that one sized nappies are more one size fits most rather one size fits all. It depends more on shape of the bub I think. You can get trim nappies. You can always get bigger clothes to fit over cloth. Its not a big deal to me. My son wore mostly woollies so it wasn't really an issue. Though he was fairly skinny so he could even wear pants over woollies. He is now out of nappies and he wears size 2 and they are a little baggy. He needs a nappy to fill them out!
I believe you can just chuck bf pooey nappies in the washing machine
What do you mean are they as good?!! They are better than disposables imo. More comfortable and as long as they fit properly leakage is not a problem.
stellarella
14-02-2008, 10:40 AM
- do those 'one size' nappies really fit newborns as well as disposables do? I just can't see it in my head how one nappy can fit such a wide age group.
No not really, I dont like OSFA, I'd get size dnappies if I was you.
- are they bulkier than disposables? I have heard people say that cloth nappies are bulkier and that many clothes don't fit over the top of them
Yes they are bulkier but I have never had any trouble getting clothes to fit.
- what sort of washing prep is needed for newborn nappies that are BFed? I've read that with older kids you shake or squirt into the toilet, but then some say that this isn't necessary for BF newborns - but what do you need to do instead?
Just rinse under a tap and then chuck in an empty bucket, no soaking, wash on a normal cycle with half the detergent.
- are they honestly as good as (as far as assumed comfort, leakage, nappy rash and all the other stuff I don't even know about) as disposables?
Waaaaay better. You will be stunned at the great fit, cute factor, ease and performance. Not to mention the good karma that comes from preserving our planet.
KatieLou
15-02-2008, 07:35 AM
Thanks Kymmy & Stellarella, I think I'll give MCNs a go in September - now I just have to convince DH - but I have his interest once I told him the savings involved.
Do you have any recommendations of good brands?
nattie81
17-03-2008, 12:41 PM
I am definitely using cloth nappies!
I was lucky enough to purchase 25 cloth nappies (a US Brand, very similar almost identical to Baby Beehinds) from a friend of mine for $150!! Yes $150! She paid approx. $600 for 15 of them about a year ago. She was only selling because she had so many nappies (she was selling 15 Baby beehind also, she was a bit addicted, lol).
In this pack she also chucked in a few baby beehinds as well, and 6 baby behind covers, and approx. 25 liners also.
Since then I have purchased some cute printed newborn ones from ebay for $9 each, and I have over 30 MCNs now, so am all set, for an outlay of less than $200!!
So excited!
18-03-2008, 03:27 PM
That is great nattie!
I have bought quite a few fitteds now. I am going to get some flats and prefolds too
Also need to knit for baby. Haven't had a chance yet.
2closemore2follow
24-03-2008, 12:13 PM
Hi All, I have 2 in Nappies and I use MCN about 80% of the time. I say 80% of the time because the only problems I have are with grandparents who refuse to use them (go figure they think I'm a hippy or something, lets hope my children's generation appreciate our environment more), and sometime when I go out I find it difficult to lug the smelly ones home, so I just whack a disposable on which I can chuck in a bin in the baby change room.
I must admit that I have 2 really poo-y children. Both of them poo about 3 times a day, and my experiences with cloth nappies is very different with both of them. My daughter does these really neat poos that just blast off with the little squirt and are not a problem. My son's poos always stick and the little squirt really needs to be a power blaster to get all the poo off!
However for me with 2 in nappies it is worth it for cloth. Otherwise nappies would be costing me about $35 a week. With cloth my initial outlay was under $750. (My hubby is an accountant so we had to make the investment balance!)
I bought Babybeehinds Bamboo/Organic Cotton blen. one size fits all. I have never had a leak due to bad fitting. They have fitted my children of every size perfectly. They are about $25 each but I emailed many online companies who supply them asking for a discount for 40 (I bought some for friends at the same time). I think I got them down to about $21 I also got the Babybeehinds PUL covers which were cheap at about $11. The little squirt you can sometimes get on ebay for as cheap as $30.
It only took me about 25 weeks to get my investment back, and at the end I have something I can use for the next child and then later when finished on sell.
I think MCN are a great system to use, and drying them on the line in the sun means that they are definitely a positive for the environment not a negative. I am lucky that I can usually get them to dry even if it is raining as I have an undercover line as well as an outdoor one.
I must comment that the bamboo blend of Babybeehinds are very soft and absorbent but because of this they do take a long time to dry.
For me the hardest thing about MCN is other peoples reactions. Some people get really angry as to why you think its necessary etc.....I just like them, the kids get less rashes and I feel that its better for the environment. If I get stressed or I am out, or the family is minding my children, I will pop back to disposables for a time, and that works too, but I know I have already saved a packet using the cloth.
Good luck all 1st time users.!!
GraceUnhearing
24-03-2008, 12:26 PM
DS is a full time cloth bub
and this bub will NEVER have a sposie on its bum!
KatieLou
25-03-2008, 07:26 AM
Thanks 2Close, I am definately intending on giving MCN's a go (I too am an accountant and just can't go past the financial benefits, not to mention the environmental ones), but i think I will have problems when others are looking after bubs too. Whenever I mention to people that I am going to try MCN's they get all abrupt and I find myself having to defend my decision! :confused: People always come back with horrible stories from generations ago using cloth nappies and the results of the 'studies' about the same environmental impact as disposables. We all know these studies aren't accurate, but I'm already a bit frustrated that I am made to defend my choice!
One question though to the people who have been using MCNs- you don't have to soak in chemicals do you? When I tell people who have used the old fashioned flat nappies years ago they just laugh at me and tell me that it's not possible to get them clean without soaking in chemicals.
Shera
25-03-2008, 07:55 AM
Hi, I'm from the due in Oct thread & have also found this information fantastic. I used cloth nappies (stiff toweling kind) 70% of the time with dd & ds.
This time around I will be a SAHM for 2 yrs so I plan on using cloth 100% of the time - the baby bonus will be put to good use! I'm amazed at the range of cloth nappies available now & haven't had a clue as to what brand to purchase, but this thread has given me some ideas & I thank you all for sharing, it is much appreciated.
25-03-2008, 10:34 AM
One question though to the people who have been using MCNs- you don't have to soak in chemicals do you? When I tell people who have used the old fashioned flat nappies years ago they just laugh at me and tell me that it's not possible to get them clean without soaking in chemicals.
I certainly don't.
Hot wash and the sun is all you need.
Hubby asked me the other day if I am going to use cloth from day dot and I said yeah why not?
I was weary of the idea but I really don't want to buy or use disposables.
Also keen on EC as I don't really like nappies full stop.
!!
kezzaskids
25-03-2008, 10:45 AM
Hi guys I just popped in from the due in november thread as I have been researching mcn nappies for the last few months. I just bit the bullett and ordered a 6 pack of the AIO bumgenius nappies in size small. Has anyone used this brad before... I have never used cloth before on my other three but now I am working from home I thought I would give it my best shot.
Kerrie
25-03-2008, 10:54 AM
I have used bG pockets but not the AIO ones. I prefer fitteds but have bought a few AIOs for convenience.
hayleysmummy
28-04-2008, 06:55 PM
Just thought I'd bump this thread up because I'm in serious need of a ban on buying mcn's :laughing: I've got so much fluffy mail on layby and coming in the next week or so I think I already have enough
So Far I have
5 Bubblebubs - newborn and smalls
3 Baby Kangas- OSFM
6 Itti Bitti d'lish in small
8 Baby Beehinds AIO NB, small, and largeys for DD
2 Monkey doodlez micro small
1 WAHM nappy, med
thats all I can think of at the moment I dont know how many I'm going to need but the med and Large DD has now will fit bub when he gets bigger
Alos considering getting my mum to show me some folds for terry flats :smiliedance:
Only 20 wks til bub is here I cant wait to take pics of him in his cloth nappies as I didnt start using MCN's with DD til she was 10 momths :cloud9:
I am loving shopping for MCN's and i would love to get some for DS... money is really really tight at the moment, so wont be for a while, and DS is starting to toilet train himself :eek:
I think i might get some one size fits most for him, then since my bubba will be big, i will be able to use them pretty soon after s/he is born...
i even have the nuture nappies website in my home page tabs!! lol
hayleysmummy
29-04-2008, 12:57 PM
Mixy I have some OSFM too that will be shared between the 2. Hey if you go to bubbly bloosom website and sign up they have cheaper MCN'S than any other website ;). I got a bubblebubs from the clearence page.
Money is extra tight here too so I've stopped for a while laybys are good and bubblebubs allows you to layby for 8 months :D
Mixy I have some OSFM too that will be shared between the 2. Hey if you go to bubbly bloosom website and sign up they have cheaper MCN'S than any other website ;). I got a bubblebubs from the clearence page.
Money is extra tight here too so I've stopped for a while laybys are good and bubblebubs allows you to layby for 8 months :D
at the moment i am waiting (hoping) DH starts getting some overtime.... not enough $$ coming in and to much of it going out :( hopfully soon that will turn around and we can start getting more things for everyone (not just bubs)
29-04-2008, 06:24 PM
I have quite a few nappies already. I doubt I need any more though I might need more covers.
OJandMe
29-04-2008, 06:28 PM
I don't have ANY :crying:
None especially for bubs anyway :crying:
Oh... I've got 3 small BP's that I swapped magicall's for, but Gabs was already to big for them by that time... I suppose they're new enough. :yes:
I gotta start sewing! I've got a fair bit of fabric though.
I'm thinking of just going with making a few tie-died, hemp reinforced, terry countours. For around the house during the day,
and then making some other sorts for when they need clothes on.
gee that last post i made was a big vent!!! sorry!! lol. i was thinking that with the money i get back from the scan i will place an order. Im thinking that since i have some terry flats i will get a couple of covers and bamboo liners, then i can get started, when i have a few more $$ i can get some MCN's. and i can use the covers and inserts later:) sounds good to me
Bella37
17-06-2008, 08:22 AM
Hi, I'm going to be a first time september Mummy and will be using cloth from just after the newborn stage...I'm only not doing the newborn stage because I've already got a load of disp nappies and want to use them up.
I've started a stash of nappies, I got 10 Kushie Tooshies of a website (but I know realise that they are perhaps not such a good brand so will be using them for home use only where I can quickly change baby). I am picking up 4 GK tonight which I won of a website and I have a couple of Haute nappies (osfa). I'd like to get some BBH and another brand to make my initial stash up to 24.
I'll probably be using microfibre liners but if anyone thinks I would be better using something else I'd love to hear as I am a total newbie. I just know I wanted pockets and/or AIO's (should dry easy enough in summer). I love cloth and I'm determined not to let anyone put me off (all my friends think it will be too hard??)
17-06-2008, 10:55 AM
Good on you Bella. Its not that hard with mcn. I used flats and soaked with my first. That Ifound hard.
I think my nb stash is complete. Might get some more prefolds and covers.
hayleysmummy
17-06-2008, 11:03 AM
Kymmy are you looking for PUL covers I got 3 small ones for $21 from oztion and they look really good
17-06-2008, 11:06 AM
Kymmy are you looking for PUL covers I got 3 small ones for $21 from oztion and they look really good
Do they have gussets?
hayleysmummy
17-06-2008, 11:11 AM
What are gussetts? :o
Is that a extra peice sewn in to the leg area? if so no they are more like the BBPUL covers
17-06-2008, 11:21 AM
I don't like the BBs. Very fussy!
Bit worried about poo explosions!
I just wanted to bump this thread:)
I got 1 bumgenius pocket, from the baby expo, and 3 cheekybutts, one night one and two day ones:)
Gee AIO's take ages to dry! the pocket nappy and the inserts were try in about 2 hrs, but the AIO's took about 1 1/2 days! it is cold and there is no wind, but i though 1 day would be enough!
Jeromie wore his first MCN today! it was the bumgenius, in green (my fav colour ATM) the look on his face when i pulled it out- :confused:! so funny, but he wore it all morning and it was great:)
KatieLou
30-06-2008, 08:16 AM
I know I'm the one to always ask stupid questions in this thread - but I really have no idea :)
When washing MCN's do you use normal detergent or the lux flakes that I've been told I should be washing bubs stuff in? I remember that it's half strength of detergent, but I don't know which detergent.
Is there an 'Idiots guide to babies'?? :D
smiley80
30-06-2008, 08:28 AM
i need one of them too kat when u find one ;)
I know I'm the one to always ask stupid questions in this thread - but I really have no idea :)
When washing MCN's do you use normal detergent or the lux flakes that I've been told I should be washing bubs stuff in? I remember that it's half strength of detergent, but I don't know which detergent.
Is there an 'Idiots guide to babies'?? :D
The instructions say to use half of your normal detergent, just as long as it does not have anything special in it.... free from dyes, enzymes, perfumes, whiteners and brighters. does that help?
I also read somewhere to NEVER use the lux flakes on your nappies, but i cant remember why... sorry, BTW i have never used the lux flakes for my kids washing...
and i think that the 'due in september' thread is as close as an idiots guide as your going to get!!!!! lol
KatieLou
30-06-2008, 09:35 AM
Thanks Mixy - that's a great help.
hayleysmummy
30-06-2008, 12:07 PM
Katie-lou I use ECO STORE laundry powder its about $7 a 1-2kg box from woolies you just use half the measuring spoon worth for a full load (the spoon is much smaller than the nromal ones)
Lux flakes will put a coating over the nappies so instead of absorbing wee it will repell it :thumbsup:
sierrasmum
30-06-2008, 12:45 PM
I know this has probably been asked before but...
What is the best brand of cloth nappies to go with if your on a budget?.
Im naughty and used disposables for Sierra, and was thinking of changing to cloth, but have no idea what to get, and the ones I saw at the expo were quite expensive!!.
Also, and this is probably a stupid question, but with the AIO's do you need liners of some kind?
hayleysmummy
30-06-2008, 12:55 PM
Alison
Peapods are ok they are a pocket with a bamboo insert for around $20 each thats about the cheapest you will get I think. Alot of people dont like them but I've never had a problem. Also wahmnaps dot com dot au always have specials on and you can grab different nappies from 12-35 dollars so its worth checking out that site
Baby beehinds AIO's are good too some AIO's have a pocket in the back to add extra absorbancy. other than that if you want to you can buy liners but they arent needed just a rinse off and throw them in the wash. I buy the homebrand ones just so its a little easier to remove Hayleys poos but with breastfed bubs their poo is water soluable so you dont have to rinse them
sierrasmum
30-06-2008, 01:05 PM
Thanks Jordan :D thats a big help!
Alison, they are expencive to start with but the money you will save will be huge:)
I am just starting with a few, 4 in fact and building up. for my baby shower i am also having MCN's (from nurture nappies) my gift regisrty that way hopefully this time ppl will get me stuff that i really want and need:) just an idea:)
Has anyone hear of/ used Cheekybutts?
GraceUnhearing
01-07-2008, 10:39 AM
Has anyone hear of/ used Cheekybutts?
this is one woman to steer VERY clear of i will pm you about her.
you wont find anything about her cause things get deleted
01-07-2008, 11:11 AM
With AIOs you wont need liners - they are all in one so nice and easy.
I have quite a few AIOs for convenience as well as fitteds. Just unsure on covers. I have a bit of everything now.
sierrasmum
01-07-2008, 12:42 PM
I didn't even think of putting them on my baby shower wish list... god im braindead!.
I realise I will save heaps in the long run... just wish I had more money to start off with, but then Im sure everyone feels the same!.
What about when you go out?, does anyone still use disposables then?, or at all?.
DH is a bit against cloth because he feels that we would just waste more water so we wouldn't be much 'greener' doing it that way. Personally I think hes just worried about cleaning the pooey ones :laughing:
Alison, put to him that the process that is used to make the sposies uses so much water it is not compairable, this is what got DH on side i think.
Yep money is always tight, but one at a time is a good idea:)
I dont know about useing sposies just to go out, we have never gone out and had enough left to put them on him (given i have only had some for a few days:))
05-07-2008, 05:55 PM
Think I have gone overboard. (http://www.minti.com/image/d-600-600/51806/)
Bub's nappies and covers (http://www.minti.com/image/d-600-600/51807/)
I wish i could go overboard, atleast DH is now hapy to use them!
You know when i feel pregnant he was not keen on homebirth and totally aganist cloth nappies! maybe im turning him into one of those hippies! lol
sierrasmum
07-07-2008, 08:51 AM
:laughing:Good on you Mickie!
DH is supportive of most things, but still havent managed to change his mind on the cloth nappies :no:
Last preg I wanted a water birth in the hospi (they were very pro water birth there) and when I was ready to give birth one of the water birthing rooms was occupied, the other one had an issue with the bath, and the third was being used by someone not using the bath but was in full on labour, so its not like I was going to make her move!!. DH was like "but you wanted a water birth honey!" and Im like, "at this point I really dont care!, just put me in a room!". Then there was the drugs issue, DH and I had discussed pain relief and he knew I didn't want anything for the pain, but at one point they offered me the gas and I ended up agreeing to take the edge of, and he nearly argued with me about that, and Im like, hey, whose pushing this baby out!. As it was I hated it and ended up doing it without anything anyway, but DH is so stubborn sometimes!
What a pain about the birth pools alison! i would have been ticked! i have set up my bedroom all ready for the birth pool :yelclap:. at least he was supportive of your not wanting any drugs :laughing:
07-07-2008, 01:31 PM
I wish i could go overboard, atleast DH is now hapy to use them!
You know when i feel pregnant he was not keen on homebirth and totally aganist cloth nappies! maybe im turning him into one of those hippies! lol
I am glad I have enough now. Money is non existent now. Most of our nappies were made in swaps so I have been very lucky.
Hubby is the same. He was against so many things about parenting now he is an advocate!
We should be getting our birth pool soon. :smiliedance:
KatieLou
19-08-2008, 09:50 AM
OK, so I am about to start shopping for my MCN stash. I am thinking of getting a small variety to start with and then seeing what I like and buying more of that brand/style.
Can anyone please suggest any good websites or brands that they recommend?
kezzaskids
19-08-2008, 09:54 AM
check out nuture nappies....google is your best friend!
I have bumgenius AIO, Itti delish AIO and prefolds with bummis and babybeehind covers.
19-08-2008, 10:09 AM
Prefolds to start with. Ai2s for convenience.
I preferred fitteds with Av and wool covers.
I have a lot of variety!
punkimunki22
19-08-2008, 04:48 PM
so does anyone use the good ol' terry flats anymore that we were all brought up in? cuz i thought that would be the way to go. I have no idea what mcn's are? i was just gonna fold it, line it, let the baby poop in it, chuck the liner adn wash the nappy after soaking iun a good ol' nappy bucket.......
I'd love some insight into these MCN thingos though??
19-08-2008, 05:02 PM
I used flats with my first but didn't last long.
I don't soak.
I will use flats with this bub as well as prefolds fitteds and a few Ai2s. Not much for pockets.
Check out the Cloth Nappy section - some good info there.
and google, that is fantastic way to get info. mcn's are just like disposible in shape etc, but you wash them. they obsorb so much more than the old terry toweling ones, and most are alot more gentle on baby bottoms.
KatieLou, i like pockets and i find the bumgenius to be a good choice. i also love the bubblebubs, so soft and you dont need to seperate the insert but they still dry pretty fast. -bit more pricey though :)
hayleysmummy
19-08-2008, 07:03 PM
I cant wait to try out all my nappies on bub I'll have to take some pics of my stash to share
I got 6 bubblebubs in XS though so I think I went a bit overboard
plus a couple of lushies fitteds from sustainable hemp products
Then I have itti bittis and heaps of WAHM nappies in med, and all DD's large naps will be used for DS
Kymmy- You havent gone overboard at all...............MUCH :p
Punkimunki theres a few sites to google umm let me think
Bumgenius
Greenkids
Babybeehinds
Ittibitti
nurture nappies
WAHMnaps
Bubblebubs
hayleysmummy
19-08-2008, 07:06 PM
Actaully I have a question
Do any of you ladies use cloth at night?
I use sposies cause I'm scared of having to change sheets in the middle of the night :o
Can you reccomend any large night nappies that last all night for DD?
I'll be up with DS for night feeds so his nappies will be changed a couple of times at night or should I get a couple of night naps for him too :confused:
20-08-2008, 03:07 PM
I used Wild Child Dreamy Nights. Last all night. :thumbsup:
smiley80
20-08-2008, 03:48 PM
punkimunki thats pretty much my plan too.... see how i go... ive just bought the terry flats.. my SIL uses them and she doesnt have a prob
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.