View Full Version : i don't know what to do

Two To Be Three
15-01-2008, 10:18
well im almost 31 weeks pregnant and i would really like to have a babyshower for my first bub

but the only thing is i don't have a clue what to do and when i say don't have a clue i mean don't have a clue

i don't know when to have it or where to have it , what to have there at the babyshower ,what food to have ,what games to play or anything

it's so confussing,, and it's really turning me off having one for good

and what makes it really bad is that no one wants to help me

kylza
15-01-2008, 15:09
i have a similar problem,all my family & friends already have children and seem to busy to organise a half decent baby shower for me. I have been to about ten baby showers in two years so i have seen plenty of diffrent ideas.

Don't feel ashamed for organising your own, i'm pretty much organising mine, mum is helping out a bit.
I find the less games the better, they get a bit boring. Just plenty of food and drink(mocktails for you) You find once everyone gets chatting no-one really pays attention to the games

One good idea is to get all your friends to write in a book any hints, tips or advice they can give you for when the baby is born.
Guessing with piece of string how big your waist is. (don't get offended how big some people cut the string!!!)
Just google baby shower and you'll also get some good ideas.
You could also incorporate it with a party plan eg.kids clothes or tupperware.

Two To Be Three
16-01-2008, 11:39
bump

can anyone else help me

Jeclipse
16-01-2008, 11:46
Ok getting start on having a baby shower, you have to get a list of names of people you want to invite, set a date and invite them.

For the actual event, maybe you could set a theme? e.g if its a boy (blue things, or cars) and decorate an area in your house with balloons, its really up to you. You could even just make it a casual event with just nice finger food.

With the food, its easier to do finger food, like mini sandwiches, quiches, chips, drinks, cake!
Whatever you like really.

Here are a few sites that helped me

These cupcakes are too cute! I made some at mine and they went down a treat
http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/babyshower/cuteandcontented.cfm

For games you can just google baby shower and it will give you heaps of other cool sites.

heres a game I used

It's in the Bag

Buy 10 common baby products (pacifier, teething ring, rattle, bottle...) and place them in a bag. Pass the bag around to the guests and give them about 30 seconds to feel the items. Then when they pass the bag on, they write down as many items as they think they have identified. It is helpful if you can come up with 2 of each of the 10 items, so that you can pass two bags around at the same time. The person with the most items identified is the winner. As a bonus, the mommy-to-be gets to keep all the items in the bag!

cazmatic
17-01-2008, 10:00
Well I had my baby shower last saturday and it was such a great day! I can't believe anyone dosen't want to help you! (they need a kick up the bum) Anyway ....

When:Saturay 3pm (Afternoon) people have had lunch so just nibbles and drinks

Where: Mine was at my mums house in the backyard (dont mess up your house)

We played 2 games not too many. It went well considering none of my friends are pregnant or have kids. I also bought a few bottles of champagne even though I cant drink it was good for the girls to have a few drinks to loosen up and get talking. I also made an non-alcoholic punch!

Also at the same time all the partners of the girls and my husband meet at my mums at 3pm and then went down the park with a BBQ & Esky and had a sausage sizzle and a game of Cricket. (They had a great day and wandered back a few hours later when we were finishing up)

Mummy2R&K
17-01-2008, 10:04
Here's a game that was played at mine. Everyong loved it.

Fill a bowl with rice, and had some tiny safety pins. Blind fold someone, and in a minute they have to get out as many as possible.

Trust me, it's harder than u think. When blindfold it, it all feels the same. :D

RmumR
17-01-2008, 10:36
First of all go ahead and organise your own baby shower and make sure you have everything the way you want it and have a great time!
Pick a date and time, afternoons are good (probs i think that cuase i love little cupcakes and slices etc) make or buy some cool invitations. Choose a theme if you want to. If you want particular presents mention on the invitation that they can call and ask for gift ideas if they like.

A couple of games from mine were.

Dont say BABY - give everyone 3 clothes pegs to clip on their top/skirt and explain that if you catch someone else out or trick them into saying 'BABY'' then you can take one of their pegs. the person with the most pegs after say an hour is the winner.

On your invite ask everyone to bring a baby picture of themselves (before 12months) put all the pics on a piece of cardboard and number each of them, give each person a piece of paper and they can all guess which picture belongs to which person.

as someone else said do a little book of what everyone guesses the baby's details will be, DOB, weight, length, eyes, hair etc....

As a thank you for everyone and like a little gody bag to take home i brought the tiny cadbury's chocolates and wrapped a thank you note around them.

Hope some of that along with what everyone else has suggested helps you out and hope you have a great babyshower.