View Full Version : What Time is Bedtime??
Jelly Baby
15-01-2008, 07:18
Hey Girls,
My little man is 8 months today :smiliedance:and my question is, what time are your bubbas going to bed?
Bedtime around here seems to be getting later and later. It used to be around 6.30-7.30 but now it's more like 8.30-9.30 and last night it was 10.40!!!!
How can I get him off to bed at a reasonable hour so I can have some quiet time too?
TheMamma
15-01-2008, 07:36
DD goes down to bed at the same time every night - between 7 - 7.30pm. Though this doesn't mean that she sleeps right away! Normally though she is alseep within half an hour....
For me I think it works because she has regular sleeps during the day and we had set a pretty good routine quite early on. We try to keep that routine as consistent as possible and that seems to work for us.
Good Luck on figuring out the right thing for your family!
Jelly Baby
15-01-2008, 07:50
Thanks lejay :)
That's the weird part - we too have kept a pretty good routine from early on but it seems he's just not interested in going to sleep when I nurse him at the usual bedtime.
Might just have to persist with it no matter how much he fights it.
What time does he wake up from his afternoon nap? I have found that lately Annalise has about 3 1/2 hours between when she wakes up from her arvo nap to when she goes to bed. It used to be 2 hours. Maybe that wake time has changed and you're missing the tired signs around 8pm? Worth a shot trying to get him down earlier. Good luck.
sparkler
15-01-2008, 10:54
My little miss is doing the same thing.
At 6 months she would settle between 6.30 and 7.30pm but now it is usually 9pm to 11pm. She sometimes goes to sleep at 6.30pm but only sleeps about 1/2 hour and then is wide awake again.
She seems happy and healthy and she gets lots more cuddle time and play with DH so I have not worried about it too much.
I figure that once she starts crawling she will get more tired and may go down earlier again :confused:
He goes down at 6ish.
Stays asleep till 6ish the next morning!
Daniel is asleep by 7pm and awake at 7am....:baby:
15-01-2008, 11:17
Jedd is up at about 6.30am - Has 3hrs up time
Down at 9.30am
Has 2hrs down time
Up at 11:30am - Has 2-3hrs up time
Down at 3pm
Has 1-2hrs down time
Up at 4:30pm - Has 3-4hrs up time
Down for the night at 8pm
Jayden is usually down between 7.30-8.15pm and up anywhere from 6.30-7.30am
We went through the phase of him not sleeping when I nurse him to sleep at night.... now when he doesn't sleep straight after I still put him down and he settles himself off after a minute or two, sometimes 5 at most
Sienna changes every day... she has a nap when tired and goes to bed when tired no need to fight with her she is usually asleep within 5 mins up until 7 months she wanted to go to bed around 7 but DH never got to see her.. these days i try to make her have a nap at 5ish so she goes to bed around 8.30ish so DH can give her a cuddle goodnight...
Her teething is throwing us out... she went to bed 10-11 a few nights but had a decent sleep
HarvestMoon
15-01-2008, 11:26
Mine both go to bed around 8:30.
mummajuice
15-01-2008, 11:35
At the moment Ebs (7 mths) is still having 3 sleeps a day so she's not really tired enough for beddybyes until 8.30pm. She's teething pretty badly now but once that's settled down I'm going to start cutting her down to only 2 sleeps a day instead.
She's crawling and cruising the furniture so you'd think that she's getting too much exercise and would sleep but it's the opposite - once they reach these milestones they don't want to sleep anymore cause they know what they're missing.
All I can suggest is an extra long bath time with lots of splashing before final feed and bed routine involving soft music, dim lights, stories, singing and finally sleeping. Some nights I light an oil burner in the bathroom (between the 2 girls rooms) and let the scent waft in to enjoy while we are in beddybyes time. That way it's only subtle and the candle is in a safer place.
Good Luck :thumbsup:
SammiJane
15-01-2008, 13:08
Jacob is normally down by 630pm at night.... He gets super cranky if he doesnt have his bottle and off to bed at that time.
But he is only having two sleeps a day now
Jelly Baby
15-01-2008, 15:38
My boy is having 2 big naps during the day (1.5-2hrs) and one shorter nap in the afternoon (40mins).
I've thought about cutting out the nap around this time but he's just too tired and won't make it till bedtime.
I'm confused.........
eeyorethedonkey21
15-01-2008, 16:21
james usually goes down between 7.30 and 8.00 and i try and give him a morning nap and afternoon nap. altho today that hasnt happened. he had a cat nap in his pram today but thats it. he's way over-tired so i'm hoping he conks out tonight midway through his bedtime bottle.
Isaac will go down around 5pm every night but wont actually go to sleep until closer to 6pm.
He wakes at 4am for a bottle then goes back to sleep til 6am.
He has two 1.5 hour sleeps during the day, first one around 9am, second one around 1pm.
He is a very good sleeper:smiliedance:, unless he is teething, then he wakes up every 2 hours at night:no:.
Jelly Baby
16-01-2008, 07:28
Thanks for all your replies.
We had a better night last night and I managed to get him to sleep earlier.
Afternoon nap - 4.25 - 5.15
Bottle - 5.30
Dinner - 6.00
Bath - 7.00
Books - 8.00
Bed - 8.30
Lets hope we can repeat that today. :fingerscrossed:
Sheer Bliss
16-01-2008, 08:14
:hugs: Jelly baby - sounds like you are in the transition stage of needing/not needing that last catnap. He will eventually grow out of needing the cat-nap & then hopefully bedtime will get easier.
Nick is 9months, and in bed at around 7/7:30.
His day is app as follows (it always varies slightly, as he goes down for a nap based on his cues - but max of 3hrs awake time)
8am - awake, boob, brekkie
10:30 - nap
12:30-1pm awake, boob, lunch
3/3:30 - nap
4:30-5:30 awake, boob, dinner, bath
7:30ish bed.
8:30-9:30 dreamfeed (most the time he wakes for this, but i'll wake him if he's not awake by 9:45, otherwise he wakes at midnight)
If he hasn't woken from his nap until 5:30, i sometimes won't put him to bed until 8pm.
He also won't go to sleep on a full tummy! We had heaps of issues getting him to go to sleep as i was feeding him befor bed. Not sure if it is reflux related (he is a big chucker) or what it is, but have found (by trial & error!) that he sleeps much better going straight to bed at 7:30, then his last feed a few hrs later.
16-01-2008, 09:03
Around 8pm for Ebony.
Jelly Baby
16-01-2008, 10:45
:hugs: Jelly baby - sounds like you are in the transition stage of needing/not needing that last catnap. He will eventually grow out of needing the cat-nap & then hopefully bedtime will get easier.
That's what I thought. At the moment he still really needs that last catnap which obviously means that he's full of beans when he wakes up and we're trying to wind down.
But I suppose I shouldn't complain too much cause once he's down, he's down and won't wake until 6.00-6.30 the next morning and he sleeps well during the day. :sleeping:
MummaBear03
03-04-2008, 23:41
At that age DD was going to bed at 6 or 6:30pm each night. Now it's 7 or 7:30 each night. I'm pretty flexible though, if we're doing something else she'll go to bed later, if we've had a big day she will crash earlier so I base it on the day's activities and what we are doing in the evenings but generally the same night.
michellea75
05-04-2008, 07:30
My DS goes to bed at 7pm each night and wakes around 6-7am.