View Full Version : Sleeping Bag Thingys?
I'm just wondering if many people use those sleeping bags for their bubs?
My DS is 12 weeks & kicks off any sheets you put on him. He will not sleep covered at all. It's not so bad at the moment (It's still pretty warm here) but I'm thinking ahead.
What is your opinion of them? I dont want to waste money if they are no good.
Hi Sharon
Your DS is gorgeous.
I use the Grobags which are the sleeping bags without arms. You can get them at Babies Galore (not sure if they are in QLD) or have a look on the bump to bump website.
I find them great, my two went from being wrapped to the Grobags. When you buy it, it tells you what to put underneath for what temp it is.
Notchalk
13-03-2006, 20:32
YES! We use one and love it. It slows him down a bit during the night when he tries to crawl around/stand up during his sleep, and it is a good sleep cue - sleeping bag = night time sleep. The one I have isn't a grobag - they are very expensive! It is just made of 2 layers of tshirt material (jersey cotton, I think) and is sleeveless and does up with a zip and a press stud over the top so it doesn't scratch him. I got it off eBay for $16! I have since bought some cheap Jersey cotton that I am planning on making more from the same pattern. On cold nights I just put on a long sleeved body suit, on warm nights a short sleeved one or just the nappy.
I highly recommend them!
Jo
13-03-2006, 20:40
I only use the long sleeved polar fleece ones or similar for winter. I find them great, and Mac learnt to walk in hers no worries...though you could just put them on when they're ready for bed too.
Princess_Alisa
13-03-2006, 20:46
My daughter sleeps in grobag sleeping bags. She absolutely loves it and me too! They are great, because they keep your baby just at the right temperature and they are much safer than blankets as well. And the best thing is, it can't get kicked off during the night (and your baby does not wake you up at 4pm because she is cold):smiliedance: .
An other good thing about the sleeping bag is, that my daughter knows instantly, that it is time for sleeping, when I put her into the sleeping bag, which is good for keeping up a routine.:sleeping:
I have a 1 tog sleeping bag for colder days or nights and a 0.5 tog one for when it is warmer. There comes a nursery thermometer with the sleeping bag, which tells you exactly which bag to use for what temperature and what to wear underneath.
The price range of the Grobag sleeping bags are between $50 and $70 per sleeping bag (depending on the Tog Rating). Maybe it seems to be expensive, but if you think about how much time you baby spends in it, it is not expensive at all. There are other sleeping bags on the market as well, that I have not tried out yet, so I cannot comment on them, but I am sure, they are good as well and maybe cheaper.
I hope that helped a bit and good luck with it:fingerscrossed: !
nkenward
13-03-2006, 22:32
My son uses a sleeping bag all the time, we have a couple of fleecy ones, and a thinner one (but he has grown out of that one). But I have found he continues to sleep through the night in a sleeping bag, but will wake up if he isn't in one.
andrewsmum
13-03-2006, 22:46
My DS was in a Grobag up until about 6months ago when we moved him to a bed! It was great and I highly recommend the Grobag!:smiliedance:
Mrs Little
14-03-2006, 10:19
I'm in NSW. Where's the best place to find a gro bag? or something similar that might be cheaper?
I'm looking for ones for summer and winter....
Thanks..
Mrs Little & Son.
SuperWoman
14-03-2006, 11:13
I bought my son's sleeping bag from Baby Target. Try Target stores!!!
Princess_Alisa
14-03-2006, 23:57
I bought my Grobags at Babies Galore. They also have other Brands that are a bit cheaper. You can also buy them online: www.grobag.com.au
Mrs Little
15-03-2006, 11:18
Thanks for the info.
I'm looking for one with arms...my son is very thingy about having his arms wrapped. I also need one that is suitable for this hot humid weather....
I'm going out to have a look around today to see what i can find.
Mrs Little.
busylizzy
15-03-2006, 12:27
You will probably find that a sleeping bag with arms will not be suitable for hot humid weather. I know that the grobags are made specifically without arms to help baby control his temperature (by lifting his arms up) so he does not overheat. You may want to try putting a light cotton longsleeve top under a 0.5 tog grobag. Our 0.5 tog has a thin towelling layer to help absorb moisture. I have a very spirited son who roams around his cot when he sleeps (will not stay under sheets or blankets) & have found sleeping bags to be fantastic. You can find them at any good baby store or on line. Goodluck.
Liz.
onabreak
15-03-2006, 12:43
I bought my daughter a grobag. Cost me $55, it is one for warm weather with no sleeves. I haven't used it for awhile due to the warm weather but now that it is slowly getting cooler in the evenings and mornings I put her in the bag. DD moves around heaps in her cot and would not stay under a sheet so a sleeping bag is the way to go for us.
hi,
i have just brought my 6 1/2 month old a grobag as he kicks of all blankets and ends up wedge in all kind of positions in the cot. they work like a dream.
you can buy them direct from the grobag company on the net. http://www.grobag.com.au/
Good luck, also as they are a bit expensive, ebay has them too.
Amy
Cheeky Little Monkey
18-03-2006, 23:17
We live on the Gold Coast so the weather can be a little warm so the lady at Babies Galore suggested that a 1.0 tog Grobag would be suitable.
From memory I purchased one when DD was about 6 weeks old and have found it to be fantastic. I no longer worry about her kicking off her blankets. I will be buying the next size up when she outgrows this one. My Ped also recommended these as well.