View Full Version : waiting to be approved????
Hi All....
Well i put in an application for a house to rent on thursday arvo, and still havent heard anything back:confused:
Im no good at doing the "sit around and wait" thing, all i can think about is if we got the place or not????
Dp rang the real estate on friday arvo, and they told us they would prolly ring on saturday morning.. but we didnt here from them.
Its now Monday arvo.. and i just want to know :mad:
I could ring them "again" but i dont want to annoy them too much, they might turn around and say "no you didnt get accepted"
Sorry for the whinge guys! im just so nervous, curious, excited! my hopes are up, and im worried that we wont get it, and i'll be let down :crying:
13-03-2006, 12:46
Hey Jem mate.. ring em!!!!! Gosh you have a right to know, so if you didn't get it you can keep searching!!! Plus I'm busting to know too!!! :laughing:
:laughing: i'll let you know as soon as i know Bec :fingerscrossed:
13-03-2006, 12:57
tops matey!! :thumbsup:
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 13:36
I used to work at L.J.Hooker in rentals so I can probably give you a couple of pointers here.....
1: Depending on the property they could have ALOT of applications to go through and read,make enquires etc....
2: The end decision is made by the OWNERS(landlord) and sometimes they stuff around trying to make up their mind(well actually they do it alot!!)
3: The general rule is wait 4-5 days to give them a chance to process etc....
The list goes on and on but arghhhh it gets boring after a while:ecomcity:
Having said that- id give em a call.......hehe its unlikely youll get the same person on the phone as the other day so go ahead and call em!! I do it lol
GOOD LUCK!!!!!:fingerscrossed:
when my partner and I were looking for a rental, we applied for heaps but most of the time never heard anything back. I found LJ Hooker was the worst for this
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 14:00
JodieC- Yep thats them:D Hence the reason I quit:thumbsup: now i look in peoples mouths all day (dental assistant/nurse) Its much more fullfilling:rolleyes:
I have moved about 10 times in the last 10 years, i know what you are going through. I hate that waiting game. I say ring them. I always do. :)
Did you call them yet? I would have called on friday then saturday and probably would have called about lunchtime today too :p
adele, a question for you...why do lots of real estates say they have 24hr approval if they know they can't do it? Do they like to annoy people?
All the ones around me have that written on their application forms and none of them can actually do it...LJ Hooker is one of the worst for taking ages.
The other thing that really gets to me is the fact that usually you have 2 weeks notice that you have to move, unless you choose to move...every time I have to move it takes over a week to get answers and if they are all no then we are left with 3 or 4 days to apply and get approved for somewhere else, which never happens then we have to beg for an extra week or 2 in the house we are in :rolleyes:
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 14:30
Ahhhhh CWSMum- Dont ya just love real estates.......
Ummm I cant really say why they do it other than to pi** people off!!
I dont think its intentional but in their defence it really does get very busy....the people who are processing the applications are generaly the people who are managing ALL the rental propertys on the books:eek:
As for the two weeks notice thing....dont think there is a great reason for this either but again its a conddition of your lease and genaeraly a split decision on the owners part and it not fair....... its a pain in the butt.
I myself rent right now and I can understand what you go through!!! Im now with Ray White and they are FANTASTIC!! Sure you have to call them a hundred times to get an answer but i generaly go directly to the property manager shes really good if anything goes wrong here its fixed withing 2 days....except the broken wondow- that was the tradies fault though
Did you call them yet? I would have called on friday then saturday and probably would have called about lunchtime today too :p
adele, a question for you...why do lots of real estates say they have 24hr approval if they know they can't do it? Do they like to annoy people?
All the ones around me have that written on their application forms and none of them can actually do it...LJ Hooker is one of the worst for taking ages.
The other thing that really gets to me is the fact that usually you have 2 weeks notice that you have to move, unless you choose to move...every time I have to move it takes over a week to get answers and if they are all no then we are left with 3 or 4 days to apply and get approved for somewhere else, which never happens then we have to beg for an extra week or 2 in the house we are in :rolleyes:
No... havent phoned them yet, i will wait for Dp to get home and let him do it :D
I dont give notice until i know that i have been approved for a place, wouldnt want to end up in a caravan with 3 kids and Dp..lol :thumbsup:
Im now with Ray White and they are FANTASTIC!! Sure you have to call them a hundred times to get an answer but i generaly go directly to the property manager
thats who im waiting for the reply from :D
I wanna come rent thru your real estate adele. I also rent thru Ray White, but they are hopeless:(
I have been waiting 4mths+ to get the light for the internal stairs fixed...9mths+ for the lounge room lights, they have never worked...the bathroom floor needs re-tiling...the fly screens need replacing, were stuffed when we moved in....I have a very long list which I am about to give to the real estate for the 3rd time :rolleyes:
Jem, I always make DH call real estates and trades people too, DH gets a better response than I do from them. Hope you get the house :)
Well i finally called the real estate.. and the lady i was dealing with..... isnt in today :mad: So guess i wont know til shes in! :fingerscrossed:
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 15:43
Ohhh that sucks!!!!
cwsmum- Ummm I hate to tell you this but that is NOT EXCEPTABLE(said in the voice of super nanny) When I met my DP he lived in the derelect flat with NO lights!! hed been there for nearly 2 years:eek:
I would be calling them and saying if you dont fix the lights (that is a very reaonable request) I will be witholding rent.......then theyl fix it :thumbsup: Seeriously thought taht is a condition of your lease that everything is on working order..... get onto them about that Its disgusting!! If they dont fix it keep at them every day till they do something!! Trust me thyl fix it cause theyl get so sick of u calling lol
lol...I really hate that super nanny voice :p Yeah, I do know that lights not being fixed isn't really acceptable, but our house is owned by developers who don't wanna do anything to the place coz they are probably gonna knock it down. We are on 2.5acres in the middle of Browns Plains, they are planning on putting 15 or so houses on the block...just waiting til they can buy up the last few houses on the street before they start I guess :rolleyes: The whole street are blocks around the size of ours.
We also owe them a weeks rent, accidentaly forgot to put it in the bank over chrissy, and they say they wont even ask the owners to fix anything til we pay it :mad:
I'm going down on wednesday to pay the rent we owe and also to give them a list of things that need doing...again...I'd love to move but we don't have the cash for another bond right now :(
SweetSerenity
14-03-2006, 08:31
Hey Jem!
It's so annoying having to wait!
When we were looking we applied for a place and heard back on the monday, which was fantastic, (we applied sat). We didn't get it due to someone applying the day before us.
The second place we got :D We also had to wait (which made me more anxious) and when he hadn't heard anything yet, i got DH to call and the real estate said they were just waiting for the landlords decision....so we had a pretty good experience with the both applications. They did ring both of our work places also to check that we did work there and how much we earnt etc...so there is a big process that they go through.
Unfortunately you get the few who just don't care as much!
Good luck sweetie! Hope you get it!
ThomasMum
14-03-2006, 09:08
I think you should consider yourself lucky that you don't get the approval just like that. :) Obviously the real estate is doing a good job. Remember they are the liason between you and the landlords. (We are landlords, and we want to have an excellent tenants therefore we ask the RE on our behalf to do the proper check to find the perfect tenants).
I wouldnt want to rent a place where you can get into it so easily! There are various reason behind that! Breaking entering, bad neighbourhood and so on.
JMHO
*Country Bumpkin*
14-03-2006, 11:20
Did ya call em yet?????
Hu hu did ya?????
Ohhhh Im all nervous for ya- I know how you feel having to wait.......we got knocked back twice before we got this place:D But our house is much better than the 2 b/r shoe boxes we were looking at!!!!!
When my Fiance and I applied for our house, we waited nearly TWO WEEKS because the landlord was waiting to find someone a bit older. Mind U, I know older people that are more irresponsible than us :rolleyes:. Stupid landlord :shame:. The house was left in better condition than what we found it in!
I can relate to that Neaby.. we have spent a grand or more on these gardens, and improved the lawns etc... yes we are only young, and have 3 kids...and we might not have hundred Dollar bills hanging out of our wallets, But we look after this place as if it were our own.. It really p*** me off when other people apply for the same house and they "look" like they are better off etc....:mad: only they drive home to an old rundown shack with beer bottles allover there never mown lawn :shame:
maybe they should make a policy of the owners checking out how well the tenants look after a property before any decisions are made
Chickadee
15-03-2006, 15:44
I always just assumed that when we applied for a new rental the real estate agents checked us out with the past landlords we listed on the application. Maybe that is what the delay is? I hope you get the house.
Looking young or dodgy can have advantages too. When DH and I were looking to buy a house (back in Canada) we always went to open houses in our weekend wear - scruffy jeans and t-shirts, often with paint stains, lol. All the snotty agents would hand us the info sheets and then ignore us, which left us free to poke around. The smart ones who looked past our clothes and asked us our professions clung to us like glue and were annoying.
Finally i had a phone call from the real estate this morning...and.....WE ARE APPROVED :yelclap: :smiliedance:
Im so stoked!!!! Didnt think we had a chance.. turned out there were 3 applications...
Now im worrying about payin the bond.. i can transfer my current bond over, but i will have to pay the extra.. which is double the bond of this place... hoping i can get assistance from the housos..:fingerscrossed:
So good things do come to those who wait...YAY :thumbsup:
*Country Bumpkin*
16-03-2006, 09:30
YAHHHHHH
CONGRATULATIONS!!
heymamma
16-03-2006, 10:33
Yeehhaaaa jemstar
Thanks Neaby!! Yep it is exciting.. i cant help but drive past the house everyday :laughing: only 8 more days!! :yelclap: :smiliedance:
Well tommorrow is the big "move"... nearly all packed, ive done as much as i can today.. im completely buggered!!!
One thing that is really Frustrating me... is that im buying a new lounge to go in my new house :D But i cant work out what colour.... i am sooo bad at making decisions when it comes to things like that :banghead: The loungeroom has green carpet, and the walls are timber with a timber beam ceiling...
Can anyone give me some sort of suggestion as to what colour lounge would best suit the room:confused: :confused:
I would be more worried about what goes with little kids :D Something dark lol say a nice warm brown colour and jazz it up with greenish cushions:thumbsup:
Yep, i was looking at a raisin (dark brown) lounge... Green cushions.. would go great:) The carpet is a darkish green..:D