View Full Version : Kalgoorlie

mamainthebush
12-01-2008, 17:11
Hi there, Kalgoorlie mums!

We will be moving to Kalgoorlie in the end of Feb and wonder if anyone can tell me anything about it?

My son will be 2 years and 3 months and I'm expecting number 2 in April. What Playgroup to go to and what other activites are there for toddlers? Are most groups full or is it easy to get in?

I'm really worried of getting isolated as I'm a very social person :ecomcity: and want to get out and about ASAP!

Unfortunately there are not many people writing here but hopefully there is someone out there that can give me som info.:fingerscrossed:

abbysmummy1
16-01-2008, 17:17
Hi mamainthebush,

Whereabouts are you moving from? I'm from Brisbane but have been in Kalgoorlie for 18 months. I tried a playgroup but didn't enjoy the experience, so can't help you there sorry. I am more than happy to meet up with you when you get here. It can be a hard place to meet people. Private message me when you arrive if you're interested in meeting.

Abbysmummy

milkNhoney
17-01-2008, 08:25
hi, i have been living on and off in kalgooorlie for 9 yrs and have 3 girles 3 yrs 2 yrs and 1. Kalgoorrlie is a miners town but it becoming more and more family oriantated. i run the private park in town (FTI) that has been designed for children with disabilities in the gold fiels and there are a number of play groups that meet here. Kinda music and the toy library are also on our premises. One play group that is starting back up in Feb is the Mainly Music Play group that is held every second week at $2. I have also tryed many other play groups but kal seems to be quit klicky and i am not realy a people person like my DH so i find it Quite hard. What did you want to know about the town?

mamainthebush
17-01-2008, 23:45
Great to see some replies!:)

abbeysmummy1;
I'd love to catch up when I'm in town! We are in Port Hedland at the moment and are waiting to get our transfer date. As I'm due in April and have chosen to go private in Perth I'm really cutting it short with time to set up our new home before I have to head off. Need to be in Perth three weeks prior due date.

milkhoney;
Thanks for the information! These groups you're talking about, are they only for children with disabilities?
Hedland is quite klicky as well so I can imagine it being simular in Kalgoorlie. It took a while but now I have great friends up here and worrying a bit about having to start all over again.

In Kalgoorlie, is there a place to find all the information about what activities there are for children so I can check them all out?
I'm looking forward to go for walks, up here it's always stinking hot! Are the parks nice? Do you feel safe there? Are the shops any good?

Sorry, heaps of questions, guess I'm a bit nervous...

Thanks heaps!:)

milkNhoney
19-01-2008, 20:52
thats kewl. no the groups i talked about are not for disables as i am the only one i know who attens (rarly) with a child that is diabled. there are two nice parks one is mine Kennedy park on wilson st and the other is Hammon park across the road fron the cemertry. we have a childs health clinic and they have info on things around town for kids if you want to check it all out when you get to town. the shops are ok here there is kmart target coles woolies iga surpe katies rockmans millers rivers shoe shops etc. all the basics ummm you said you were intrested into wqalking up here my DD's and i walk offten some times i have a friend and her DD join us and you would be more than welcome to join us if you would like some days we do a round trip about an hr but have a stop at the yellow m for the kids aabout 1/2hr or we do a to town walk and back its about 2 1/2hrs to 3hrs depends if we window shop or not lol. there are the movies here and they have a mothers and kids session once a week that i injoy to do as people cant complain about the kids. bowling here has just started up again here, the gym's also have child care for users if ur intto the gym. i have sent my eldest to a few of the daycares in town 2 days a week and they all seem realy good cant complain about one yet. we also have 2 realy good pediatrician in town and one of the best gino's in wa too. the library do two kids sessions here to but you do have to book a place for them they r on tuesdays and thursdays. the ymca here have some good programs for kids and for us mums, like belly dancing, lol. we have a market day once a month in boulder. i cant realy think of much els to tell you but i know there is more any questions i havent answerd please ask

mamainthebush
19-01-2008, 22:46
Thanks for all the info! I think you covered things really well! You have so much more stuff to do than up here and I look forward to that.

We have just found out that we won't be transferred until mid march which leaves me with literally no time to organise the house before heading off to Perth. As I'm having a caesar I won't be able to do those big walks you guys are doing for some time but hopefully later on...

Thanks again and I'll see you in Kalgoorlie!:)

Twoterrorsmum
04-05-2008, 15:25
Hi there:flowerz:

I haven't been on here for ages so I've only just seen your post.
Have you moved to Kal yet?
And I see you were due to have your 2nd bub in April:baby: Have you had bubs yet?

Anyway hope to see you around soon, bye for now!:sunshine: