View Full Version : How did he??
Yummy_Mummy
11-01-2008, 11:42
I was just curious as how other people's DP proposed to them? i love hearing the stories :yes:
My DP had a surprise for me & told me to be waiting outside his house at 5am in the morning (i was confused as to why so early) but then we hoped in hes car & he drove me to the lake nearby & i thought to myself i hope he didnt get me up this early to just come here but then another couple of cars pulled up & asked if we are waiting for a hot air balloon ride & he said yes...oh was i sooo excited at this stage so we then drove to a vacant block & they set the balloon up & then before we knew it we were up in the air looking over our town & it was beautiful & just as the sun came up he tried to bend on 1 knee & proposed Valentine i was sooo scared i was going to either drop the ring or my camera! it was amazing but after that they had organised a champagne breakfast which again was lovely!
Anyway I just wanted to share & i hope i didnt bore you & that i can hear about your stories :cloud9:
Love to hear about romantic stories of proposals.
Nothing like that happened. Just decided to get married, though he was always saying we should just elope. And it was an exciting notion at the time.
HugsAndKisses
11-01-2008, 11:53
My DH took me on a picnic...we first went to the shop and bought some goodies like chips and dip and things like that....then we went and sat by a really nice lake and he was acting a little strange...and then he just took out a box...it was wrapped up and said to open it...and then when i opened it he asked me to marry him:goodvibes:Valentine very cute and he put the ring on for me!! was very sweet!!!
Oh how nice!
My DH never proposed.... one day he just said "I'm going to marry you"
and a couple of weeks later we were out shopping and he said "may as well buy your ring while we're here."
:laughing: Very 'Carlo' lol.
But I didn't know he'd been planning it for a while, and even sold his motorbike so he'd have the money for a ring.
Actually we kind of got engaged over a couple of conversations.
convo 1) I'm going to marry you.
convo 2) him: move in with me. Me: I wouldn't feel comfortable living with someone I wasn't married to, or at least engaged to. Him: well, let's get engaged then. me: ummm.... I spose we could.
convo 3) may as well buy your ring while we're here.
LMAO.
I often chide him on being ripped off with my engagement experience. I'd love him to do it again, and ask me on a beach, with candles and our names written on the sand.
I wish I had a romantic story I could tell my grandchildren one truth. But the truth is I asked him, then he said no cause he wanted to wait untill he could financially support me(he's very old fashioned), but as he was paying child support to his ex for the following 14 years, I told him I didn't want to wait that long so we got married.
He reckon's he would have asked me before our first child was born anyway. I keep telling him that one day I want a big flashy proposal so I can have our own story. But I'm still waiting.
It wasn't over the top or anything but it was very romantic to me. It was just one night we were in bed laughing and playing around and he stopped and stared at me and said "Carly i love you so much and i just want to know if you'll marry me?" It was so unexpected and my heart was racing for the rest of the night. Then six weeks later i found out i was pregnant :laughing:
abibelsmum
11-01-2008, 12:20
DH was taking me out to dinner for my birthday. When I got to his house he said that my present wasn't wrapped yet and to wait in the living room. He then called me in and he was wrapped in a green ribbon. He said that if I took the ribbon off I had to keep him - so I did!
BaDaBing
11-01-2008, 12:27
It was my birthday and we were having a party with all our close friends and relos and after I made a bit of a speach thanking everyone for coming he added that he would like to say something and then preceded to get down on one knee and ask me. I have photos of the whole thing. Makes me get butterflies everytime I look at the pics.
Lastcenturymum
11-01-2008, 12:33
Out to dinner at a flash place, mid week, so I knew something was up!! Down to the beach after dinner for a drive and walk, lots of romantic talk (Im thinking get on with it!!!!:laughing:)
I said yes and 'when do you want to get married' and he said 'what are you doing next Saturday?' :laughing:
Yummy_Mummy
11-01-2008, 12:51
awww i love hearing the stories but at the end of the day its not how he did it, its that he actually proposed :D
Im a little nervous about the cost of our wedding thou because hes mums italian & hes dads spanish so they both want their traditions placed in there somewhere..whereas my familys only tradition is to get drunk lol *laughs*
Hockeytribe
23-01-2008, 10:51
My man proposed to me in jail!
A couple of weeks before that, we went to his Dads third wedding and everyone was asking when its our turn (we have a baby boY together and i already had a 4yo son)
He said he wasnt interested in marriage so i thought no more of it, then he was arrested and put in jail for lots of unpaid fines from before we were together. It was very scary, i came from the shops and he was just gone and our bub was only 8wks old.
He rand from the prison and told me what happened then begged me to do something to get him out, he started crying and then said he's gonna marry me when he gets out!
At that stage, he was looking at 4 months inside. ( i ended up getting a loan and bailing himout after a month)
The first time i went to visit him, he has an elastic band and put it round my finger and asked me to marry him, he said he would get me a proper ring once he is out!
It was very emotional and of corse i accepted but part of me thought he only asked coz he was scared in there.
Anway, talking to him on the phone he was excited and looking forward to getting home and telling our families and planning a wedding!
When he got home, we went and laybyed a ring (which i now have)
and we are having our engagement party in Feb, our wedding is on november
We are actually going out to dinner tomorro nite to do the whole thing properly now we have the ring!
Yummy_Mummy
23-01-2008, 15:12
oh wow that is defiantly a story to tell the grandkids :D they would be all ears! it really is an amazing sorry!! looks like its not long til your wedding now, good luck
17-02-2008, 12:21
Oh I love hearing stories like these :D
With my DF, he had told my entire family what he was doing, got my mum to babysit and asked my dad's permission to marry me but just told me we were going up to Mt' Cootha for coffee. I didn't think anything of it.
So we drove up there, I could sense that DF was nervous but I didn't know why.
We had cake and coffee then we went into one of those little hut things facing the view of the city and DF got down on his knees (with people watching too!) and said a big speech about how much he loves me then he got out a ring and went to put it on my right finger, I seen what he was doing and laughed and held out my left hand and he asked me to marry him.
Was very sweet :valentine:
oncebittentwiceshy
01-04-2008, 11:27
I'm not engaged yet but DP keeps mumbling things about 'doing it right'. All of his mates pulled off 'top of Sydney Harbour Bridge' and 'fave restaurant overseas' proposals but I made him promise that he wouldn't do it in front of other people - too emotional/embarrassing/nerve racking for me! Oh well, I'll have to wait (and wait and wait) and see!
JacksMumBec
01-04-2008, 16:25
nothing romatic with my proposal!! we picked the ring out together (before he asked me) and had just been to pick it up (a beautiful brilliant cut 3/4 ct diamond white gold ring). he wanted my input wih the ring, but still wanted to surprise me with the question.
i was just driving him back to work and he goes 'try it on then' so i did and he said 'may as well leave it on there then ey?' and i was like 'no F&^*ing way - you can bloody well ask me properly thank you' and i gave it back to him he put it back in its little box and put it away.
then just as we got to his work he whipped out the box and goes 'oh f*&^ it. will you marry me or what?' i just thought it was hilarious so had to say yes.
a week later we went to visit my family and goes up to me dad 'might be a bit late trev, but would you mind if i married ya daughter since i already got her up the duff?' dad had to laugh and just said spose not :)
trini - ours was a funny version of yours.
We went hot air ballooning. There was about 8 people in our basket and half way through the trip this other guy pulls out a ring and proposes to his GF. DH thinks *oh sh!t he beat me to it ... and his ring's bigger than mine!* :laughing: I poked DH in the ribs and made a joke about how he should've thought of that. He asked me at the champagne breakfast afterwards. It was great because I was totally surprised.
tootiredtosleep
01-04-2008, 22:15
DH asked me sitting on our crappy old couch just as I had gotten home from work. I had already laybyed the ring (and paid half!!) and was hoping for something a little more romantic.
Oh well, at least he has been consistently poor in the romance stakes since.
WorkingClassMum
01-04-2008, 22:18
I'll let you know if he ever does it....:laughing:
But I suppose after 12 years it might not happen....
BlessedWithBlue
02-04-2008, 15:04
We were on holiday in the Philippines and were laying in bed talking as it was rainy season and it was absolutely pouring down with rain so we were inside having a chat and watching tv. It came up in conversation and he just blurted out "will you marry me" lol. When we got back to Australia we went ring shopping and i made him choose the ring as i wanted it to be his choice iykwim?? we didn't get married until about 4 years later when i was pregnant with our third and fourth children.
I had just knocked off work on the Friday that I finished early (once a month I got to knock off at 12:30 yay!) and we'd just eaten lunch and he said "you want to go for a drive?" I said yes, nothing out of the ordinary in going for drive, we often did, so we drove to a resevoir not that far away and he stopped, I was in the passenger seat and was waiting for him to get out, as I was talking to him, and he just said, "Oh, I'm just going to get a smoke" which were usually in the glove box, so I went to open it and he said, oh it's ok, they are down here, so I just got out and went over to the little wooden bridge that crossed the creek, he was in the glove box, and then I noticed (not really taking that much notice though if you know what I mean! lol) that he had the doors to the ute open and music playing, but here I am standing up on the rail over the bridge looking at the fish swimming, saying "hey babe, come and look at all the fish, he came over and said "can you get down from there?" (I am an extreme clutz lol) "and I said "I'm not going to fall, look at all the fish!" he said "can you just get down babe?" I'm still leaning over the rail looking at the fish and I just say "I'm watching all the fish! I should have brought my fishing rod, I'm not going to fall in, don't worry!" poor guy, he says again "can you just get down!!!" he had funny tone to his voice and I was like "why?" and turned around, and here's the poor guy, down on one knee with the ring box open (and here I am hanging over the bridge going on about fish!!! lol) and says " Will you marry me? " I just stood there frozen and it was then that I noticed that the music that was playing was Tim McGraw and Faith Hill 'it's your love' and I just looked at him and then said "yes" and burst into tears and nearly knocked him over throwing my self at him.
So that's how he did it for me! lol
Yummy_Mummy
02-04-2008, 17:35
its so good to hear the different way we have all been proposed to :D
DH surprised me with a night out at the casino, dinner and a show package. I didn't know it, but he also booked a suite there, and they bumped him up to the penthouse as they knew that he was going to propose to me :yes:
Cluelessmum
08-04-2008, 20:22
well my dp has not proposed yet. we decided we didn't want to get engaged just cos we were preg with dd. so she was born and is nearly 3 months old and i'm hanging for it to happen. some of these stories are lovely and some make me hope my man is a little more inventive. take care... i'll keep you all posted!!! :thumbsup:
borntobemummy
08-04-2008, 21:27
then he got out a ring and went to put it on my right finger, I seen what he was doing and laughed and held out my left hand and he asked me to marry him.
:pDH did the same thing!
We were both so young at the time (18) and the proposal was cute and fun. DH was planning to do a romantic proposal soon, we had already decided we will get married. But one day I had a hard day with my family at home and rode my bike over to his place to cry on his shoulder. All of a sudden, he went to get something and took me by the hand and we ran out to the end of his street. He took me to the big green electricity box at the end of his street, he lifted me up onto it and jumped up himself. He then said is romantic spiel, I said 'yes'!! and he put the ring on. We ran back to tell his parents straight away, it was so exciting.
Zandersmum
09-04-2008, 08:26
My DP told to me to have our DS's overnight bag ready and to be dressed well for when he got home from work on a Saturday afternoon. We dropped DS off at Mum's as he'd organised and we started driving, I had no idea where, we ended up at the Gold Coast.
He took me up to one of the Executive floors at Jupiters Casino, it was very fancy:yes:. Thats where we stayed for the weekend. He took me to a beautiful restaurant in Surfer's, had a very romantic dinner. Then he ordered a cab, had no idea where we were going again, and we ended up at the Q1 (Tallest buliding in Australia or Southern Hemisphere, I forget haha). He took me right to the top, overlooking the coast with all the beautiful lights and got down on one knee. I'll never forget it.:cloud9:
We were engaged in August, fell pregnant (planned) in September and our wedding is goin to be in November this year.:valentine:
grass is always greener
09-04-2008, 09:39
DF had just found out some terrible news about his health and it gave him a huge wake up call. He decided that we should go out to dinner and enjoy life. So friday night we go to dinner, it was lovely. Raining and the wind was blowing a gale. We then went for a drive to the lighthouse, where we shared our first kiss.:valentine::kiss:. And we got out and walked around:rain: he then got down on one knee and proposed. It was so romantic. Our poor umbrella turned inside out. When we got back to the car he gave me a letter. It still brings tears to my eyes when i read it.
That was almost 2 years ago and we are no closer to setting a wedding date.
julietv8
10-04-2008, 06:48
I woke up with him lightly stroking my face and when I opened my eyes he said "morning baby....I love waking up next to you and I want to do it for the rest of my life, will you marry me?" I said yes, then I cried, then he cried, then he realised he forgot about the ring so he went and grabbed it, and offered it to me (its gorgeous btw )
I never imagined my proposal would be butt naked in bed, with messed up hair and morning breath but it was very sweet and I wouldn't change it for the world.
:cloud9:
michelle21
10-06-2008, 19:25
It was mothers day (this one just gone) We arrived home to find my mum waiting in our driveway... I said I wonder what shes doing here! DP said Shes here to look after Jayden for a while were going out.
I though how nice hes organised dinner or something for mothers day.
Anyway he drove us to marina mirage (gold coast) and then said were going on a cruise (I was thinking some big boat with heaps of ppl) Then he leads me 2 this romantic little gondola boat where its just the 2 of us with candles and music playing. We cruised for a while taking in the view and eying off all the riverfront mansions lol and had they yummiest dinner and cheesecake. When the sunset we snuggled up with a blanket on the seat and about 15mins before we were due to arrive back he pulled out a ring box... I just sat there in shock while he opened it He asked me to Marry him and I said yes and cried. Then I spent the rest of the cruise staring back and forth from the ring to him in shock lol
Best mothers day ever :yes:
Were getting married in May 2009 :smiliedance:
my dp had organised 2 take me out 2 dinner 2 a flash restaurant 4 my birthday when i asked y do u want 2 go somewhere flash he just said bcoz ur special i was a lil suspicious anyway we got my mum 2 watch our dd went out 4 tea & afterwards he decided 2 go 4 a walk 2 the headland (it was freezing) i went along with it just coz he was being so loving meanwhile freezing my tits off... we sat on a park bench looking out 2 the ocean talked 4 a while & then he said ' u wanna go home now' & of course i said yes & then he replied i've got something 4 u & pulled out the ring box & handed it 2 me i opened it he took the ring out & said do u wanna marry me?? it was an amzing feeling & wen i found out he had asked my dads permission i burst into tears..... have no idea of a date yet as it only happened 4 days ago :laughing: but i love 'my boy' cant wait 2 grow old with him.... :bee: