View Full Version : how can i stop her from hitting her head on floorboards?

my babyemmy
12-03-2006, 21:27
this is really worrying me as DD trys so hard to stand up but when she falls on to the floorboards there is such a huge thud & then my poor DD screams,i hug her etc but she then does it all again at least 10 more times a day, with my others we had carpet so i dont remember being as worried, does anyone else have floorboards or ideas of what i can do?:confused:
Could she fracture her skull from falling onto the floorboards?:eek:

MissBrightside
12-03-2006, 21:37
I know the feeling, my youngest falls and bangs his head all the time. The noise it makes when they hit the floorboards is horrible. I haven't come up with a solution to it, I suppose you could put a helmet on!:laughing: Im not sure if it could fracture their little noggins. I think they would have to hit it pretty hard for this to happen though. If you come up with a solution other than a helmet, let us know.

12-03-2006, 21:50
There isnt too much you can do at this point.
Lucky for us bubs is now an expert so doesnt have too many bad accidents anymore so hopefully your little one will soon get the hang of it all.
For us we used the foam tiles you can get in the area bubs played to help soften the landing. You can get them at the Reject shop or Bunnings even they have the alphabet or numbers on them very handy i must say & wipe clean tis great.
Its bad to say but get used to the bruises more will follow !

Just be lucky you have got a head banger !!!!
I must say that stage was horrible where he would purposely slam his head into the floorboards :eek:

JnA
13-03-2006, 02:00
This is one of those stages that gets most parents worried (I am dreading it, I have floorboards also). But from a medical point of view, any worry comes from falling from a height. Them standing is not really considered a 'height'. Also thier little cranial bones haven't quite hardened fully yet, so there is some 'give'. Meaning the brain impact from the fall is lessened and fracturing is almost a nonevent. And the last thing to remember is that the back of the cranium is quite thick (we are designed well like that) so damage to the brain is difficult from an impact in that area.

You can try to keep a padded area for the first stages, for your peace of mind, but I think you'll find many, many babies have fallen many, many times in this process and are fine.

Good luck.. I hope your daughter gets steady on her feet soon.

Bewitched
13-03-2006, 02:42
Tash, that info was reassuring for all of us i think, thanks! :thumbsup:
My boy Jack fell dwon a carpeted flight of stairs in our double storey house not long ago and had to be glued back together it was so deep, makes you feel like the most awful parent in the world when they're hurt! :crying:

O&GMUM
13-03-2006, 05:16
I have floorboards as well and we have just gone through the whole head banging stage. The good news is it doesnt last too long. I felt as though they where falling at least 10 times a day each as well but we didnt get any "eggs" only a few red marks on occasion.
I also figured floorboards are softer than ceramic tiles, they must really hurt. Anyway they are not doing it nearly as much now, probably only once every few days.

TTannyaa
13-03-2006, 23:08
It's nice to know that I'm not the only one with an unsteady baby, although this is our second time around and they definately do get better at the balance thing. Good luck :D .

SweetSerenity
14-03-2006, 09:17
When we lived at my mums, her whole bottom floor was tiled, so Peter had many bruises on his head from hurting himself and falling on them!

We actually bough thim a little kids footy head protector, but we moved not long after we bought it, and we have carpet so we don't need it any more...maybe go to rebel and get the smallest size and see if she'll leave it on her head??? Sounds silly i know, but it did work for us for that short time:thumbsup:

my babyemmy
14-03-2006, 19:27
for two days now Ive been to every place in my area i can think off to find those floor puzzles as i think thats a brilliant solution but sadly, the toy shop,the newsagents,kmart,big w,reject shop,spoils,target etc have all sold out and not one of the shops know if they are going to ever get more in :crying:
looks like i have to buy a helmet:banghead: