View Full Version : good books
tuttifrutti
09-01-2008, 12:22 PM
Hi :) Probably like everyone else, I've been reading a lot ... most of the stuff scares the life out of me. Especially the diet stuff! It is almost a full time job just trying to look after that. I got a great book from the library yesterday - "The panic free pregnancy" - written by an OB-GYN who has a lot of experience and is really reassuring. It's a question and answer format written in straight forward language, and aims to debunk myths and unsubstantiated claims made about pregnancy and birth.I got answers to least 3-4 questions that had been bothering me. I found out I can drink coffee and not feel guilty (no more than 5 cups a day), can eat fetta cheese (as long as it's pasteurised), and a lot of other stuff that really made me feel a lot calmer about everything. I'd recommend it to anyone who has read so much stuff their head is spinning and is starting to worry about whether they are doing the right thing. Anyone else with any tips on books they liked or found really helpful??
byrnzy
09-01-2008, 01:49 PM
Hi Tutti a must read is the Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini...A beautiful written book about a guy growing up in afghanistan...Its heart wrenching but worth every minute...
Im reading the next one at the moment about a female in Afghanistan...God How lucky am i....
DeeJay
09-01-2008, 02:45 PM
Does it have in there whether it is safe to eat camembert cheese???
I have been having serious cravings for this. I even had a small triangle of it the other night as I couldn't resist.....
Anyway, I think all baby books are good books as you can take what you want out of each one. I love reading them!
One I particularly love is 'Saving our Sleep' which I found when DD was 6 months old and I had been tearing my hair out from no sleep. It seriously saved both of us. Not for everyone though as it is routine based, but still has a lot of other interesting things in there also.
Hey DeeJay
Sorry to rain on your camembert craving :rain:, but my ob and regular dr warned me off eating soft cheeses, such as camembert and brie because of listeria.
I believe cooking kills this so if it's in food and cooked to what they say is 'piping hot' then it's ok.
I'm in the middle of reading Kaz Cooke's Up the Duff, very funny good book, has anyone read this?
Tam-I-Am
09-01-2008, 03:10 PM
I've read Up The Duff - loved in my first pregnancy, not so much this time.
TBH, I'm not reading many books this time. I've glanced at "What to expect when you're expecting" for reference once or twice (once for a solution for blocked sinus' - there are non apparently :rolleyes: :laughing: - and once to find out about SPD - didn't have a lot in it!)
I've been relying on my middie and Bubhub to give me information and advice this time - and as a result I'm feeling heaps more laid back than when I was pg with DD.
mumofsamuel
09-01-2008, 03:29 PM
I've also got Up The Duff and it is hillarious! I love it. When I first got my BFP my mum bought it for me and I read up to week 24 straight away. I am now waiting for bubs to catch up before reading any further as it's all seeming WAY TOO AHEAD for where I am now. A great read though.
emm11e
09-01-2008, 03:35 PM
I have a whole collection of books at home, that I am reading all at the same time.
I don't find What to Expect when you're expecting too user friendly, so I rely on their website for more about what is happening with the baby and me week by week. Although I have to say I have referred to it over the past few days on and off.
A great book that I am reading is Kid Wrangling by Kaz Cooke. I got a great deal at the news agency near my work where I picked it up for $13 (instead of paying $40 from the book shop) Very entertaining.
I did get a good laugh when she referred to holding a baby in a wrap like holding an open bag of fish and chips...... I never thought of it like that! :laughing:
I have a good Practical Parenting book (major UK parenting mag) that explains and supports looking after a new born baby and through toddler years.
We have How to stay sane in the first year, a book about positive parenting and teaching positive behaviours. We have loads... Too many to mention.
Another book I do have to mention that I bought at the second hand shop is what to expect in the first years. I refer to this book alot and use it as a sort of checklist to ensure that I am covering all bases when preparing for the baby (for the nursery etc)
I am also unashamedly saying that I have started to read kids books to the baby (whether he/ she can hear or not) Does anyone have any suggestions about good children's books? AND I just have to say I am surprised at how much some of them cost! I might be just best off reading stories I make up in my head!
I'm the same NoosaMumToBe. I've almost read the whole thing :laughing:
Now I keep a little bookmark for the week I'm in so I can refer to it each week.
I had a scan at the ob yesterday and he measured little macca as being a bit over 9cm. So I checked a website that gives you average baby length from week to week and it said 15wks is 11cm. I thought my poor bub was perhaps to small, but then I checked my trusty up the duff book and it said avg was 9.5cm, then I realised I'm worrying to much and need to relax! :chillpill:
Anyone got any good relaxation ideas? I've considered meditation but where does one go for a quiet slice of peace? my house is a zoo :hair:
emm11e
09-01-2008, 03:43 PM
I'm the same NoosaMumToBe. I've almost read the whole thing :laughing:
Now I keep a little bookmark for the week I'm in so I can refer to it each week.
I had a scan at the ob yesterday and he measured little macca as being a bit over 9cm. So I checked a website that gives you average baby length from week to week and it said 15wks is 11cm. I thought my poor bub was perhaps to small, but then I checked my trusty up the duff book and it said avg was 9.5cm, then I realised I'm worrying to much and need to relax! :chillpill:
Anyone got any good relaxation ideas? I've considered meditation but where does one go for a quiet slice of peace? my house is a zoo :hair:
Hi K8Y,
I am also very interested in finding out good relaxation ideas. My house is relatively quiet, but I find that I now have an overactive mind. I am thinking about anything and everything (Not really stressing). My patience and need for doing things is here and now. Like the other day I thought about the colours of photo frames for the bubs room and I wanted to go out straight away and buy them. Imagine my disappointment when I rang the shop and they had closed! I am thinking of really insignificant things over and over again.
MY boss made me a classical cd, which I have found really relaxing (I don't usually like classical). I will go into the Baby's room and relax in my arm chair and drift off to sleep. Other than that I am always on the go too!
Any suggestions girls?
supermumof3
09-01-2008, 05:12 PM
ive been so busy with kids work xmas and medical appts i really havent had the time to read anything perhaps ill try now xmas is over i might have a little more time. u sound so organised emm11e im jealous. im such an unorganised last minute person but i wish i wasnt. i need to build an extention on my house to fit bubs in but we havent even started yet lol so nursery for me to decorate yet. lol ill get to it prob at the end of may. i remember ds was born the day i finished his room lol, as if he had been just waitinting for me to do it first.
mumofsamuel
09-01-2008, 06:28 PM
Emm1e - I have the Kid Wrangling book too but I am not allowing myself to read it until I'm through with Up The Duff. I am in-capable of concentrating on more than one book at a time... although I am reading a names book cover to cover with an open mind as we cannot agree on names. I am making a list of boys and girls names that I like and DH can chose from there! He he he.... Good to hear Kid Wrangling is good too. It's very thick. DH bought it for me as a pressie. I love him - so sweet! Oh we're having a soppy day. Some days I feel so happy and in love. I think it's to even out the down days...
For those who are after good relaxation ideas, here's what I do: Run a hot bubble bath, exfoliate before, then get in and relax with candles lit around the tub. If I feel my mind won't stop running, I take my hand held Sudoku game in with me and just play that the whole time. The numbers games I find keep my mind busy.
And off the topic a little but I got a package today from my dad in England for my birthday. He got me a Pandora bracelet with the first 6 charms on it already. His children (my brothers-from-another-mother!!!) chose a soccer ball charm for it which was very cute. I was just telling DH I want a charm for our anniversary this year and he can buy me a pink or blue one when bib arrives! He he he...
Butterflies&Hurricanes
10-01-2008, 07:48 AM
Good books.... hmmmm well I havent really read much this time. Did loads with DS but I just dont have the time now. Toddler and all!
I have been reading my Hypnobirthing book though and its FAB!! I would definitely recommend that! Hypnobirthing - the Mongon Method.
It teaches you ways to relax... so for those after relaxtion... I'd recommend that one.
Noosamumtobe - Just a word of warning on the hot bath... Are you aware you arent supposed to have HOT baths?? They arent good for bubs. Warm is fine but not hot...
emm11e
10-01-2008, 07:52 AM
Good books.... hmmmm well I havent really read much this time. Did loads with DS but I just dont have the time now. Toddler and all!
I have been reading my Hypnobirthing book though and its FAB!! I would definitely recommend that! Hypnobirthing - the Mongon Method.
It teaches you ways to relax... so for those after relaxtion... I'd recommend that one.
Noosamumtobe - Just a word of warning on the hot bath... Are you aware you arent supposed to have HOT baths?? They arent good for bubs. Warm is fine but not hot...
Hi Fluffball,
Thanks for the tip on the hypnobirthing book. I have been looking around for some and I haven't been able to really find any of them. I'll request that the bookshop orders it in for me.
Butterflies&Hurricanes
10-01-2008, 07:56 AM
I got mine on ebay hun! There are heaps on there and they are cheaper... They get them from the UK or US... so takes a bit longer to get to you but its cheaper...
mumofsamuel
10-01-2008, 11:02 AM
Thanks Fluffball - I know about the hot bath thing - it's warm. As long it's not so hot that I sweat is what Dr Google tells me. It's more warm than hot but it's still GOOOOOOOOOOD!!!! ;)
tuttifrutti
11-01-2008, 11:45 AM
deejay - i can't recall if he mentioned camembert cheese specifically but I will look. He did say that any cheese made from pastuerised milk is ok (i think brie and camembert are traditionally made from non-pasteurised milk). But I was so relieved to be able to eat fetta! Also, to drink coffee guilt free. For relaxation, I found aqua aerobics fantastic. I really enjoyed the first class and slept so solidly that night. The hospital here offers them for free to pregnant women, maybe other hospitals or rehab centres do as well. I also like burning incense, listening to music, gardening and massage. I'm a stress head!!
"Up the Duff" sounds great, I saw a copy in the op-shop for 50c but was with my mum who didn't know I was pregnant yet. I've regretted not getting it ever since! I got a copy today from the library.
lambkin
14-01-2008, 08:16 PM
Hi there! I've read a whole bunch of pregnancy stuff so far as I am a big book nerd. I even borrowed an "illustrated guide to obstetrics and gynaecology" from the library, with over 1100 real life photographs! The haemmorhoid and prolapsed vagina photographs were enough to scare me in to taking it back to the library quick smart!
Up The Duff by Kaz Cooke is great, as others have mentioned.. but in a similar vein is a book by Vicki Iovine called "The Girlfriend's Guide to Pregnancy." Very funny, and very reassuring. The only prob. is that it's American, so some of the stuff (for instance information about scans etc.) doesn't apply to us Aussies - but it's pretty obvious stuff. For instance, they say that it is routine to have amniocentitis (or whatever it's called - the thing with the big needle, hehe) to test for Down Syndrome, when over here, we have the nuchal then mostly get to run away before the big needle thing.
Happy reading to you all!
tuttifrutti
13-02-2008, 09:46 AM
lambkin, how could you put yourself through that! I'm still skipping the birth chapters in pregnancy books ...
ok - I got a great book yesterday. It's "The Choice Guide to Baby Products" - it's not a huge book but it's jam packed with info and great advice. It includes a buying checklist, and chapters on food and feeding; bathing, changing, clothing; highchairs and seats; carriers, strollers, car seats; toys, walkers; bedtime (cots, cradles, portable cots, beding, baby monitors); laundry (washers & dryers, soakers & stain removers, detergent); safety; other issues (vacicnation, SIDS, post natal depression)
I have found it really helpful and very practical - for eg. it ranks the disposable nappy brands, gives you tips on how to choose products and lists price variations. It's perfect for someone like me who is overwhelmed by everything available and has no idea where to begin
lambkin
07-04-2008, 01:16 PM
Books, books, books..
For anybody who is interested in feeding to a routine (breast or bottle), rather than feeding on demand, I picked up a great book from Big W the other day.
It's called "Save Our Sleep" by Tizzie Hall. It's very easy to read, and alot of it really makes sense when you think about it. She has specific routines as well for babies of certain ages, eg. 7am - express 90mls from right breast. 7:45am - feed for 30 minutes from left breast. (Not direct quotes but you know what I mean!)
If you google the book name, you'll find the website which gives you more info (saveoursleep dot com dot au). Haven't had a proper look at website so not sure how good it is, but the book has been great so far!
Happy reading! Keep those brain muscles pumpking
EDIT: The website has some good free reading material, but alot of the site is different products for sale. You also can't access a great deal of it unless you have a subscription. Just thought I should warn you! :)
rhiannon
07-04-2008, 04:29 PM
Hi there! in a similar vein is a book by Vicki Iovine called "The Girlfriend's Guide to Pregnancy." Very funny, and very reassuring. The only prob. is that it's American, so some of the stuff (for instance information about scans etc.) doesn't apply to us Aussies - but it's pretty obvious stuff.
I agree re Girlfriend's Guide to Pregnancy. I got mine for about $5 in one of those big bargain book shops. Tells you heaps of stuff you prob wouldn't have thought to ask - similar to the things my mum gal pals have said too. eg. very practical. :yes:
I havent cut back on coffee at all, still have 4 to 5 a day.
mumofsamuel
07-04-2008, 07:15 PM
I havent cut back on coffee at all, still have 4 to 5 a day.
I'm confused... :confused: Was this in response to the idiot Barista who was giving pregnant women DECAF?! I would go back and throw it at her... OK I wouldn't... but I'd WANT to! I have limited my coffee but not stopped completely.
rhiannon
08-04-2008, 07:48 AM
ok - I got a great book yesterday. It's "The Choice Guide to Baby Products" - it's not a huge book but it's jam packed with info and great advice.
tutti, can you tell us where you got this book (eg normal bookstore?) and how much $? I've heard people raving about it and as we are just about to go and order everything (gulp) in one hit, maybe I should check it out first.
Another book I have been recommended is Baby Wise. A friend is sending it to from Perth but presumably you can get it in big bookstores. She said it has a fabulous routine (maybe similar to one mentioned in previous post) where you feed every 3hrs during the day from 7am to 10pm and the theory is that bub gets programmed to sleep thru the night ie daytime is food time, nighttime is sleep time.
She said everyone criticised her for doing it because often it meant waking bub up for feed during the day. People were saying you're mad, if bub is asleep just enjoy it! BUT both her bubs slept through the night (11 to 7ish) from about 7 weeks.
I know we all have to find our own way on this, but it sounds worth trying at least! :yes:
lambkin
08-04-2008, 10:21 AM
rhiannon - that does sound similar to the Save Our Sleep one! I can imagine lots of people do get criticised for it, but definitely worth a try IMO!
magick33
08-04-2008, 11:22 AM
I'm Liking this thread :) So Many more books to read.
I'm a bit of a book Nerd myself so I started off with "How to make a baby" and haven't stopped reading since lol.
Some of the better one's have definatly been Kaz Cooke's "Up the Duff", I Also Read "Birth Skills" By Juju Sundin and Sarah Murdoch Which was just awesome, gave me a whole other way to look at birth. I'd definatly reccomend it.
I've Read "What to expect when you're expecting" and it scares the **** out of me when I get to the Birth and After sections :(
But one I'm in the process of reading now is "Baby Love" by Robin Barker, Lot's of interesting stuff about the first few months and heaps of info on breastfeeding.
Then there's about a million others :laughing: but these are the one's that stand out.
Hope you've all got more to add, I've started making a list and DF is looking nervously at our bank balance :laughing::D
thatgirl
09-04-2008, 08:15 AM
I've read up the duff I finshed it by 17 weeks lol so now I'm re-reading it again week by week...
Milk_Monkey
09-04-2008, 08:28 AM
i have to second Baby Love, it was so helpful in those first few months.
As for birth, im really enjoying Birthing From Within, by Pam England. It teaches you how to deal with your fears and cope with the pain. i feel so much more prepared this time around.
I found other books/classes focued so much on the physiological side of birth.
It is interesting to know what muscles and bones are doing what and when, and what hormones will be released etc. But i guarantee you wont be in the middle of labour thinking 'oh wow, i've just entered the second stage, that means that my body is doing blah blah blah'
tuttifrutti
09-04-2008, 09:18 AM
I might look to see if a few of those books are in the library, I need to start reading up on the birth etc. And also the first few months, getting into a routine sounds essential.
rhiannon, I got the choice guide to baby products from a friend who is a book seller, and I think he got it from the penguin webite. But you can also get it from choice directly. It is my bible right now, I don't buy anything without reading their product reviews and tips.
www.choice.com.au (http://www.choice.com.au)
books - http://www.choice.com.au/viewProductList.aspx?tid=1&scatid=27
lambkin
09-04-2008, 10:51 PM
Another good one.. (do I ever stop reading? It seems that I do not!)
"Pregnancy Sucks: what to do when your miracle makes you miserable" by Kimes, J. & Tisherman, S.A.
Not really the same style as the other ones mentioned .. lol... but .. quite good when you are feeling absolutely and totally fed up with *insert pregnancy symptom here*
I bought it today as I arrived over an hour early for my antenatal appointment (placenta braaain!) So was reading it in the waiting room. I got a few glares, so be warned! ;)
EDIT: Wow.. okay. I found the entire book online! If anybody wants a copy of the URL, PM me, otherwise google "Pregnancy Sucks" (with "the web" dotted, not "Pages from Australia" ) and it's the third link down. - Google Books Result.
lambkin
09-04-2008, 10:52 PM
Oh! Have also discovered in my googling that there is a "Pregnancy Sucks For Men" as well.
mumofsamuel
10-04-2008, 09:17 AM
Another good one.. (do I ever stop reading? It seems that I do not!)
"Pregnancy Sucks: what to do when your miracle makes you miserable" by Kimes, J. & Tisherman, S.A.
Not really the same style as the other ones mentioned .. lol... but .. quite good when you are feeling absolutely and totally fed up with *insert pregnancy symptom here*
I bought it today as I arrived over an hour early for my antenatal appointment (placenta braaain!) So was reading it in the waiting room. I got a few glares, so be warned! ;)
EDIT: Wow.. okay. I found the entire book online! If anybody wants a copy of the URL, PM me, otherwise google "Pregnancy Sucks" (with "the web" dotted, not "Pages from Australia" ) and it's the third link down. - Google Books Result.
DH and I are chuckling now over this one. I can imagine how funny it would look for a pregnant lady to be reading this! I might have a look at the "for men" version online. Might make DH feel a little better! Thank you!
lambkin
10-04-2008, 02:27 PM
good idea noosa! I emailed a copy to DP as well. :) The For Men one actually looks better than the standard version.. I might have to read the boys' one too!
And yes.. they were not very impressed I don't think! I was the only one not reading Cosmo pregnancy mags or doing some impromptu yoga on the waiting room floor. ;) Weirdos.
mumofsamuel
10-04-2008, 02:41 PM
And yes.. they were not very impressed I don't think! I was the only one not reading Cosmo pregnancy mags or doing some impromptu yoga on the waiting room floor. ;) Weirdos.
Pffft! FREAKS! :laughing:
Maia's Mummy
10-04-2008, 04:09 PM
I am sorry to crash your June thread. (even though im due the 1st of July so technically i could probably be in this thread, lol)
My naturopath suggested a book to me last time i was there, so i bought a copy from her and i read it in less than 48 hours. It was fantastic!! Absolutely the BEST book that i have come accross for pregnancy. it is more about birth but is extremely well written and up to date and completely informative for australian hospitals.
It is called "Midwife, Wisdom, Mother, Love" and is written by Sarah James. She is a midwife and also a mother of four. She is only young and had all of her children in the past ten years.
I could not reccomend this book highly enough! It is $25.00 i am not sure if you will find it in all book shops but i do know she has a website and ide say you could probably purchase it off there. www.sarahjames.com.au (http://www.sarahjames.com.au)
Honeymoonbub
30-04-2008, 01:14 PM
Finally found a book on the weekend about activities for bubs. Have been searching forever!
Its called Baby Play (Gymboree), and it's broken down into different age groups (eg 0-3mths, 3-6 mths, 6-9 mths and 9-12 mths), and games to play with them for development.
A lot of the games you know anyway, like peak-a-boo, or dancing with bub etc - But its really interesting to know why these games are played - and what areas of development etc they help with! And then there is some that I wouldnt have thought of. Even simple things like filling the sink with things of different textures and getting them used to the feel of different things.
I just think it would be great for bubs development...but also good for me to have some sturcture...so i felt like I had accomplished something that day if I have some activities etc, not just always random play...IYKWIM.
Milk_Monkey
11-05-2008, 03:49 PM
I've mentioned the 'Dunstan Baby Languages' by Priscilla Dunstan a couple of times in the general chat threads, finally got my hands on a copy, so i thought id share.
The website is http://www.dunstanbaby.com/
Technically, its two dvds, and really short to watch, which is great because its simple and you could easily watch it during one feed if you have a newborn.
I really have to say that i wish i'd seen this with DS! i cant help but feel that i would have had a much less stressful time in the first few months if i had. Definately worth the watch. From the amount of sucess it seems to have, i cant believe that it isnt part of pre-natal classes or something similar. I'll be watching it again before bub is born, and probably a few times after as well.
It outlines the 5 different 'words' that a baby uses, and their meanings. For example the word 'neh' means hunger. For each word the they tell you how to identify the right sound, and meaning is explained. They also show plenty of examples of different babies saying/crying that particular word. Plus they show you different options for fulfilling each particular need - ie to burp the baby you could try over sholder, sitting on your knee, lying on your arm etc...
I think the dvds are about $60 or $70 to buy, which i dont really think is worth it considering the amount of info shown. But obviously the peace of mind and reduction of stress levels that it would bring if it works would be priceless. Most economical options would be to hire it from the library, buy a copy second hand, or maybe buy one to share around friends.
If anyone has used it themselves, or known someone who has, please let us know how it went!
Excellent Milk_Monkey. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely be getting this now. Might try ebay.
I'm also trying to get my hands on the hypnobirthing book that was mentioned by I think fluffball or sk6? my terrible placenta brain can't recall now. Haven't found it in normal bookstores yet, so I may buy it online. Want to get it in time before my maternity leave so I can read up before d-day.
I really enjoyed Buddhism For Mother's. and am now reading Buddhism For Mother's with Lingering Questions. All about how to keep calm and take each thing as it comes etc.
I also have the Gamboree.
Baby Play book too...it's great.
Butterflies&Hurricanes
12-05-2008, 06:10 AM
Excellent Milk_Monkey. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely be getting this now. Might try ebay.
I'm also trying to get my hands on the hypnobirthing book that was mentioned by I think fluffball or sk6? my terrible placenta brain can't recall now. Haven't found it in normal bookstores yet, so I may buy it online. Want to get it in time before my maternity leave so I can read up before d-day.
I got my hypnobirthing book on ebay but it took almost 4 week to deliver from the US... I've recently seen it in Dymocks. Plus if you ask them they can get it in for you if they dont have it there and then.
I really enjoyed Buddhism For Mother's. and am now reading Buddhism For Mother's with Lingering Questions. All about how to keep calm and take each thing as it comes etc.
I also have the Gamboree.
Baby Play book too...it's great.
My friend also recommends the Buddhism for Mothers book. She said its great. Going to try get hold of it too now!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.