View Full Version : What are you studying?

Jem
12-03-2006, 15:10
Sitting here doing a bit of study while i type away on bub hub :rolleyes: Got me thinking What other mums out there are studying? and if they do it through home studies, or at tafe :confused:

JATS
12-03-2006, 16:05
Tafe - Certificate 3 in Information Technology
Uni - Final year of B.science (biology)
as well as a few introductory subjects for my next uni degree, b.education (primary)

And ace-ing all subjects! Not bad if I do say do myself!:yelclap:

Starlet
12-03-2006, 16:22
I'm at uni doing a degree in Hospitality and Tourism Management.

Brooksy
12-03-2006, 16:38
I am studying my advanced diploma in early childhood would like to do bachelor.

Melo
12-03-2006, 18:01
I am studying my Diploma of Children's Services, not long to go now! :smiliedance: Would like to do Primary School teaching at Uni! :yelclap:

Jem
12-03-2006, 18:07
lol.... i didnt even put down what im studying :rolleyes:
Im doing Home studies through oten - Alcohol and other drugs Counselling :thumbsup:

polony
12-03-2006, 18:26
I am doing Primary Teaching. Just started so I have 4 years left!!

I am really enjoying it though :smiliedance:

SweetDreams
12-03-2006, 18:44
Bachelor of Music fun fun!

anna's mum
14-03-2006, 13:19
I just started a PhD in Australian history but I'm sort of wishing that I'd done a Dip Ed this year so that I could start teaching next year because I am a bit OVER STUDYING at this point :(

3cherubs
14-03-2006, 20:20
I am doing TAFE, Certificate 3 in Children's Services. Part Time, so i have 2 years to go.....

bec79
14-03-2006, 22:08
I'm doing a bach. of education (Primary)
Seems like alot of us want to be teachers!

Worm'sMum
14-03-2006, 22:12
Hi there, well I've just moved from being a SAHM (after 15 blissful months with DD)to a part-time study and working mum! I'm studying Diploma of Children's Services - part time so 3 year course, but loving it.

SweetSerenity
16-03-2006, 06:55
Im actually completing a traineeship through work. I work as a pharmacy assistant ans was offered to do a traineeship in Retail Operations by correspondance.
At the end of it i will be awarded Cert 11 and 111 in Retail Operations :D
So im pretty excited!:smiliedance:

16-03-2006, 08:08
At the moment im studying Certificate 3 in Children Services. Next year im hoping to get into the Bachelor of Nursing course or Diploma in Enrolled Nursing, whatever i get into first is what ill be studying. :fingerscrossed:

Mummaof2
16-03-2006, 10:01
I am studying for my Certificate II in Accounting Procedures through OTEN and hope to work my way through to my Advance Diploma

Purple_Haze
16-03-2006, 19:01
I'm studying a diploma of commerce at Macquarie uni. Work overload:thumbsdown:

borntobemummy
16-03-2006, 20:46
I'm doing a Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood).
It's my last year:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
I've been at uni since 2000:banghead:

webangel
19-03-2006, 17:51
I'm about to start wk 3 of a Bachelor of Biomedical Science.

Angel

ashtynsmum
20-03-2006, 11:14
Hey I am studying a diploma of health science (medical massage) at an independant college work load is fierce and weeked classes arnt great at all:mad: but i will get there! I hope:fingerscrossed:

mrsbutterflygirl
20-03-2006, 21:13
Bachelor of Education Secondary and Middle School in Music and Sose..... been studying for 6 years now blah!!! only a couple to go though.... yay!!!

sarah81
20-03-2006, 21:23
I am doing a Law/Commerce double degree. I have completed the commerce bit and graduated. Have about 6months full-time of the law left, mostly practical. But now we have moved from SA to WA I will be part time for a while. I have been at uni forever :banghead: And I wish I had done Speech Pathology, I am not a cut thoat law/business person at all since having children. It doesn't interest me at all. I think I need good career guidance help :p

Bree79
21-03-2006, 11:25
I'm doing a Grad Dip in Economics externally through UNE. Half way through (4 subjects to go - yay! :smiliedance: ). Hoping to get it finished next year. Think I might wait a couple of years before moving on to a masters though!

danik
24-03-2006, 11:30
I'm at uni doing a Bachelor of Communications with a double major in Journalism and Media & Cultural Studies.

I am full time at the moment but I am considering going part-time after bub comes.

Veritas
24-03-2006, 14:06
I'm studying B. Business by correspondence through SCU.... part time at the moment as I am working full time and incubating at the moment....

Thinking of deferring next semester so I can spend quality time with bubs when she comes, seeing as I am only taking a short time off work and will be flying solo!

busylizzy
26-03-2006, 19:54
I just wanted to say that I think you guys are all amazing! I had just started a Bachelor of Special Education when I fell pregnant with my DS in 2004. I chickened out & decided to defer for a year...that turned into 2yrs...& now I'm pregnant again & have no idea when I will be going back to study:(. I wish I had have had the guts to stick it out like you guys:yelclap:. I wish you all the best of luck:fingerscrossed::yelclap: .
Liz.

bellapaigesmum
26-03-2006, 20:25
i finished yr 11 while pregnant and i am now doing year 12

Ponyboy
27-03-2006, 11:11
I'm doing Bachelor of Arts (Library & Information Management) through Charles Sturt via distance ed. Was due to finish 2007 but since bub came along (born 4/02/06) will probably take longer. Have just dropped back from 2 to 1 subject a semester as I'm also completing an Australian library association scholarship (completion date July 2007 for presentation in Sept. 2007).

Clesthaven
31-03-2006, 20:31
I have a Bachelor of Science (Library Degree) but Library is really a bit boring and as I am the breadwinnner I need a stable income - many Library jobs are contract only. So I am studying Urban and Regional Planning - I study during lunch and at night and on weekends - husband is very supportive of my study.

celeste
05-04-2006, 15:13
Hi, this is my first post even though I checked this website often while ttc. I am 15 weeks pregnant and in my second last (hopefully) year of a Law degree. I have also done an Arts (Cinema/Cultural Studies) degree. I have decreased my load to three subjects so I will probably have to add another semester, it was just too much to take in. Anyone else finding that they can't take as much in as before they were pregnant, or is it just me?:)

JorBai
06-04-2006, 15:47
Im studying my Diploma in Beauty Therapy. Good job that I can do from home so I can do that and still be at home with Bailey:smiliedance:

mon2005
06-04-2006, 20:39
I'm doing a Masters in International Development at UQ. Loving it (and the fact that post-grad study they are a bit more understanding if you are a parent). Would like the time to go to a mothers group or something though - I don't know anyone else with a baby!

Jackson84
07-04-2006, 18:30
hi.
i'm at UWA in my final year of the BA. next year i will be starting the dip ed. and later i hope to do the BMus at WAAPA (jazz performance).

i love uni. i'm never gonna leave. LOL :D

Funkychicken
07-04-2006, 21:33
I'm supposed to be completeing a correspondence course in Aromatherapy to compliment the little business I'm running but I am not very good at committing to it right now. Thankfully I am halfway through and I can let up to two years pass between assignments. Best get cracking this year!:rolleyes:

FiveInTheBed
08-04-2006, 20:54
I'm studying by correspondence to be a teachers aide. Finding it a bit tricky to fit in all the reading as trying to renovate at the same time.

lilizzysmommy
08-04-2006, 22:30
I'm studying full time doing cert III laboratory skills at cental tafe. One more year after this and hopefully I'll be able to get into uni to do forensic science (no ladies, has nothing to do with CSI) :fingerscrossed:

leilani07
09-04-2006, 20:15
Hmmmm....I'm cheating a bit! I am currently a Spec Ed Teacher but am WELL over it. :thumbsdown: (Sorry to all those budding teachers out there). I am actually contemplating trying to get in to Medicine next year (interested in Anesthesiology)......am a bit worried because we are TTC right now. That would leave me studying with a newborn. You are all evidence that it can be done though....... :smiliedance:

Beany
09-04-2006, 22:55
I'm doing my masters degree in English Literature at the University of Sydney.

Should have finished it off by the end of this semester but, what with getting myself knocked up and needing to go part time and all, I won't be done until the end of NEXT year :eek:

celeste
10-04-2006, 14:10
Sarah81 congratulations on nearly finishing your double degree! I look forward to finishing mine up, but also a bit hesitant about how cut-throat the legal profession can be. You could always enter into the community side of law, or not practice as a solicitor and rather look into policy work or law reform. I know that when I finish I have no desire to work for a big company, so I am hoping to get work in a community legal service or do law-related work for a human rights-related organisation...

ForeverMine
24-04-2006, 21:16
Im currently halfway through Cert IV in Youth Work at Juvvie Justice. I will be finished a month before im due... so it will be interesting.
I will be hopefully completing my diploma though open learning next year because youth work and disadvantaged youth have always been a passion of mine...

So we'll see how it goes...

vavavanny
26-04-2006, 21:39
Bachelor of Communications (Public Relations)
1st year...

bishmum
29-04-2006, 09:39
I'm into my third year of a Bachelor of Psychology at UNE.

Go all studying parents!!! It's a hard job especially when exam time comes but I wouldn't change it for the world!!:thumbsup:

fionaC
10-05-2006, 03:19
Hi I have just completed my Cert 3 in Childrens Services :smiliedance: . I would like to enroll for the Dip in Childrens Services I have read a few other replies and have noticed the varied time it has taken to do the course. Do you think I would be able to finnish it in a year studying part time.

cupcakemafia
20-05-2006, 22:45
I'm currently on maternity leave for 12 months and filling in that time with (as well as looking after baby of course) doing a Diploma of Professional Counselling with the Australian College of Professional Counsellors. I'm also trying desperately to avoid doing my Bachelor of Business (Human Resource Management) at CQU - its horribly boring and not what I thought it would be, and I've been successfully avoiding it for the past year and a half... one day I'll get around to it. Not.

Funkychicken
20-05-2006, 22:53
I just wanted to give a huge pat on the back to all the young mums who are finishing off school and/or further studies whilst looking after a bub. Hats off to you for your dedication!:thumbsup:

PhAnToM
21-05-2006, 19:31
Hi All! :wave:

I just competed a Bachelor of Science- Biomedical Science at Victoria Uni. (graduation June 9th.. yeaaa!!! :smiliedance: )

Now doing a Graduate Diploma in Science- Psychology at Melbourne Uni. (hopefully graduating end of this year... :fingerscrossed: )

Good Luck to everyone!
It's hard work but worth it! ;)

CJandMum
21-05-2006, 20:23
I am currently in my third year of nursing at Queensland University of Technology. I only have 6 weeks of theory and 8 weeks of clinical left and I'm done!:smiliedance: I am so excited! Good luck to everyone here who is studying and hats off to those who are doing it with kids :yelclap:

Saraswati
21-05-2006, 21:52
I have a Bachelor of Communication (journalism) and am planning my next move - preferably a family-friendly one. I have three dilemmas, perhaps someone can advise me? I'm having trouble deciding between studying law or doing a Dip Ed. Law has always been an interest of mine but I certainly can't see myself working long hours in a private law firm. My family will always be my focus now that I have little ones, so i'd have to find a way to practise law in a low-pressure (and preferably meaningful) environment.
So the other option is the Dip Ed. but I can't decide between primary and secondary. I keep hearing stories about what a hard time high school teachers have dealing with teenagers, but I think I'd quite enjoy teaching english / history type subjects. On the other hand, maybe primary teaching is a more pleasant experience in general?

Any thoughts? Thanks!!

wa mum of 4
21-05-2006, 22:21
Hi Tara21 I need to pick your brain, currently studying nursing Murdoch uni WA.
Oh my god, at the moment doing Mental Health(should be studying myself LOL).
Cant wait to finish:banghead:

21-05-2006, 22:23
I was studying law when pregnant with Liam. I've put it on hold atm, but I doubt I'll be going back.

I'm also studying a Bachelor of Arts which I've practically finished. I'll be finishing that next semester and probably choose something else that works better around bubs.

yummymummy
16-06-2006, 19:37
I am about to start a Advenced Diploma in Business Managment...........am wanting to gain work as a high level PA

JasmineLouise
16-06-2006, 20:35
Bachelor of nursing full time... and then i want to do an extra year and do midwifery... :smiliedance: it seems like the end is soo far away!!! But time really flies:o

aardvark
16-06-2006, 20:44
The folder for the next unit of my MBA arrived today.

It's like a sense of impending doom when the package with the coursework in it arrives before each semester.

bellagirl
17-06-2006, 10:26
i was at tafe, finished certificate 3 in beauty therapy.
going back soon to do hairdressing.:smiliedance:

hannahizzy
18-06-2006, 19:56
I loved reading through and seeing what others were studying. I am studying Bachelor of Arts. Security, Terrorism and Counterterrorism externally, is going to take me 6 years and im only at the beginning but will be well worth it in the end :)

Belinda

leenaomi
18-06-2006, 20:10
I'm doing a Graduate Diploma of Education - Early Years which is effectively teaching from birth to year 3.

borntobemummy
18-06-2006, 20:12
Bachelor of Education (Early childhood) - my last year!!!:smiliedance:
I can be a primary school teacher next year:yelclap:

SammieSnail
19-06-2006, 02:00
Wow, its amazing to see what and how everyone is studying....education is def one of the main subjects.

I'm in my second year of a Bachelor of Agricultural Science at Uni of Tasmania, only two more years to go. :smiliedance:

I've just finished Semester 1 exams, *hope you all went well with assignments and exams*:thumbsup:

Am only going to do part-time next semester cause I'll be working full-time till bubs is born. I agree with whoever said that they felt like they could take in less once pregnant.

So proud of all those mummies out there studying!

BiLL|z0r
19-06-2006, 06:01
Currently my MCSA then MCSE (sort of).

I say sort of cause it's self paced and at the moment there's no pace at all, too busy, too tired or just cbf.

newmum2one
20-06-2006, 12:19
One semester left of Bachelor of Laws. (will need to complete by correspondence though as was not on waiting list for child care and other reasons).
Maybe someone can help - I need to complete an advanced company/corporate law type subject to graduate, anyone done something like this by correspondence and can point me in the right direction as I can't find anything.
Lauren

mama2cierra
20-06-2006, 14:05
Hey!

since high school I have studied cert 3 - info technology
diploma - multimedia integration of IT
and im now doing a Degree of Communications and Media at Griffith.

I should be done in about a year , so I can think of getting a wicked nice PT job.
I have a toddler at home so only if she lets me ;)

Amy :wave:

jessgray
20-06-2006, 17:29
i'm applying to do a bachelor of nursing through the distance education part of monash uni :) fingers crossed i get in :D i need something to do lmao
i did a cert 3 in music industry skills (technical production) in my vce over 2 years. and after year 12 i did the pre-apprienticeship for hairdresing and hated it lmao i havent really studied since then.

babyboo
25-06-2006, 21:54
Im studying a Diploma of Marketing through OTEN (external) 6mths into it. Its a 4 year course.

Just curious -

when do you guys find is the best time to do your study??? and do you find it hard to focus with kids??

I can only really do it at night, but find it hard to settle and get tired. Any tips???

jessgray
26-06-2006, 09:56
when do you guys find is the best time to do your study??? when cody is asleep or at daycare :)
and do you find it hard to focus with kids? nope if he is asleep its much easier for me to get stuff done orelse he tries to help me draw on stuff lol

SJE
26-06-2006, 10:03
Ummm

When bubs is sleeping otherwise I lay on the ground with her and she babbles away whilst I study.

HugsAndKisses
26-06-2006, 10:28
:wave: hey everyone
ive just been accepted into tafe to study childrens services certificate 3:thumbsup: i know it will be challenging but im determined :yes: but im doing it as flexible delivery so i can stay home with bub's...it is full time though and id like to think ill complete it at the end of the year as im supposed to :fingerscrossed:

Lauz
26-06-2006, 12:18
shannon- give as a shout if you need a hand- i work in child care and will be finished my diploma in 4 weeks.... just got offered a job being a qualified :D n the room i love and currently work in!! :smiliedance:

HugsAndKisses
26-06-2006, 15:25
shannon- give as a shout if you need a hand- i work in child care and will be finished my diploma in 4 weeks.... just got offered a job being a qualified :D n the room i love and currently work in!! :smiliedance:

thanks heaps i might just take u up on that offer :yes:
im so nervous...even though i dont start till 22 of next month i just really wanna do well...thanks for the support :hugs:

Lauz
26-06-2006, 15:38
shannon- I'm sure you will do well.... it's not a difficult course, and I think even with children (i dont have any but was doing it while working full time plus having another nanny job on the side) you will be fine and even have more of an idea than I did. :) I think you will enjoy learning about development and so long as you have common sense (as a mum i think this is a pre-requisite!) you will be a fantastic child care worker (if you ever wish to use your cert 3) :hugs:

HugsAndKisses
26-06-2006, 15:53
I think you will enjoy learning about development and so long as you have common sense (as a mum i think this is a pre-requisite!) you will be a fantastic child care worker (if you ever wish to use your cert 3)

thankyou...yeah i do really want to work with children and sort of have been thinking if i do good enough with this ill move onto the diploma and from there who knows i just feel so excited as ive never had any future in the workplace before this and i think this will be a great start :D

Lauz
26-06-2006, 16:19
You certainly seem to have the enthusiasm... if you can keep that drive and do it for the love of the children you will not regret it or find it difficult.... however, do not expect great pay... If you're still keen when i eventually get my centre, i'll be headhunting great workers like you ;) can't lose you to the abc mob :D

Let's just say just over a year ago I had a diploma of ecotourism and was not being respected or paid well enough as a secretary ... so i quit with no aspirations.... i have now done a certificate... and a diploma... so go mummy go!

babyboo
27-06-2006, 15:05
I got 87% on my assignment - im soooooooo STOKED. Yay :smiliedance:

Its my first assignment, im so proud of myself. wahoo. Just wanted to come in and share my excitedness (dont think thats a word, but anyway lol).

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

candlelover
27-06-2006, 15:07
floristy but i have been a bit slack lately

JasmineLouise
27-06-2006, 15:42
I got 87% on my assignment - im soooooooo STOKED. Yay :smiliedance:

Its my first assignment, im so proud of myself. wahoo. Just wanted to come in and share my excitedness (dont think thats a word, but anyway lol).

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Well done babyboo... how great does it feel to be rewarded for something you put your time and effort into!!!

I just love a good score!

vanillabean
27-06-2006, 20:21
I can't believe all of you mothers studying with small kids! A big congratulations to you all. I did a Bachelor Of Nursing and then a Diploma in Midwifery before kids and found it hard enough then, so good luck to you all with what you are studying!

Addison'sMum
19-07-2006, 12:06
Hi I'm studying Bach of Bus/Bach of Learning Mangagement (secondary) by dist at the moment through cqu rockhampton and finding it great. Can't wait to finally get out and start teaching. Who said single mums had to stay at home and look after their baby! I'm really looking forward to showing friends and family (and my sons father) that i can do this and be sucessful.
I wish everyone good luck with their courses also.:smiliedance:

yummymummy
19-07-2006, 19:30
Go Addisons mum, big congratulations to you !!!!!!!! how are you finding studying via distance ed ??? I am currently about to start a Associate Diploma in Law course through Southern Cross Uni, How are you finding it with a little one, and beuing single. I am single too and have out my daughter in day care 2 days per week to get some study done.

jessgray
19-07-2006, 20:26
:wave: i'm about to start certificate 3 in childrens services part time at local provider (not a tafe) it starts on the 31st of this month and finishes on december 20th. 3 days a week of school work lol

19-07-2006, 22:09
I start back at uni Monday... I'm not sure how its going to go. I don't have permanent daycare for DS, just relying on my mum.
I've never left DS before so I'm already scared! It's my last semester before graduating so it's really important I finish it.

Good luck on your course Jess!

jessgray
20-07-2006, 10:05
:fingerscrossed: thanks :)
i am running round like a mad chook at the moment coz ds's daycare dont have spot for him 2 days i need while i do the course so ia m rushign round trying to find a place for him in a day care lol. if i cant find a day care DP will haveto look after ds lol

energa
01-08-2006, 09:21
HEy everyone!

seeing you all are studying , even with babies, is really inspiring. The first degree I started was visual arts and I found that to be too hard being a single mum with a toddler so regrettebly gave it away half way through. WIsh Id finished it!

So when he was at school I began a degree in nursing at QUT, and had to take him along after school some days. Then I studied to be a personal trainer through a distance fitness college, s othat Icould work while I studied.
the nursing is on hold right now, as Ive gotten married and had another one, ( hes now 13 months) but I couldnt contemplate taking him along atm hes just too *busy* :devil6: and we dont get any rebates for childcare so thats not an option either!

grrr. one day ...

good luck everyone!

vanna/energa

ada
12-09-2006, 16:37
bachelor of arts/early childhood eduaction..almost over
mother ~of~4

mummyT
13-09-2006, 07:31
Diploma Events Management/Bachelor Business (Tourism) - nearly finished 2nd year - 1 year to go!
I have a couple of subjects at TAFE to complete to get my Diploma (things like First Aid & workplace heath & safety, have finished all the "event" subjects), and
I do 3 subjects during semester at uni, and 1 at a time over summer so I can spread the load out a it better.
I have considered using my Events stuff to do party planning, but I dont know if it's really in demand. It'd be a great work from home type business, as it's mostly phone calls & research into suppliers & bookings etc. Thought it would be really lovely to work on people's christenings, baby showers, weddings etc. But I don't think I'd make much money - feel too guilty about charging big fees for something that really is fun to do!

Mum2Lucas
15-09-2006, 13:27
I just got my first course module in the mail today. I'm doing a Doula course through optimum birth. and I also do Open Learning, adult tertiary preparation.
I'm psyched about it.

Percy
16-09-2006, 12:18
Ive just been accepted to Uni to do a bachelor in human services and counselling.

I'll be doing in it externally through USQ

SamanthaJane
16-09-2006, 14:21
At the moment i am doing the Certificate III in Children's Services (The first half of the Diploma course)
But I've also done the Statement of Attainment in Children Services (Just a short course)
I study through OTEN (Which is Tafe, but at home... so no classrooms for me!)

In second semester next year i'll enrol in the Diploma course (Was going to be first semester, but i think i'll give myself a 6 month break from a large study load!) And that will take my probabaly a year to do.

But i have been thinking i might do a Statement of Attainment in Child Psychology in first semester (It's only a short course, so it wouldnt require much of my time if i do it over 6 months)

www.oten.edu.au thats the OTEN website if anyone wants to browse the courses :)

jessgray
16-09-2006, 20:34
SamanthaJane- who are you going to be doing your diploma through? i have only found 1 place for the diploma off campus (not thomas education direct either lol) the place i found does theres through online learning. http://www.tafevc.com.au/ is the site i found the diploma course on :) i applied but i dunno if they will accept me for it lol i dotn finish my cert 3 in childrens services till december 20th lol

SamanthaJane
16-09-2006, 20:39
I was just going to do it through my local tafe, but have them give me out the assignments :) So not OTEN like i usually do, because they do not offer it... but u just enrol in the course at TAFE and then they can give you out the info! Not sure if all TAFE's do this though :)

indigoin0z
16-09-2006, 20:43
hmmmm,
well ive been studying how not to procrastinate,
so i 'can' go & study the 5 courses i would like toooooo!!:banghead:

but i havent started yet:D

jessgray
16-09-2006, 20:53
SJ-i just checked my local tafe's site and they only have the diploma full time on campus did you ask for it off campus for special circumstances?

SamanthaJane
16-09-2006, 21:20
They know me, they know my marks in childcare, and they know i work well independently, so they are going to let me do it that way when the time comes:)

I'm not sure where you live, but at your tafe they might offer no such thing.

My cousin is in QLD and she does this way also because she is working part time, they let her study her child care diploma through correspondence... she just reads the modules then gives her assignments to her teachers.

Oh and it's not an advertised thing. It's sorta like if your really sick and can't go to school for 6 months they send u out all the class notes so u can still keep up, if you know what i mean? :confused:

jessgray
17-09-2006, 12:04
:thumbsup: i get ya, its only done for special circumstances. i might ask if the place i am doing my cert 3 would let me do the diploma off campus. but i wont know that answer till school hols finish lol