View Full Version : Introducing solids

BindiAmberRose
07-01-2008, 18:00
i need a lil advice i was wondering when its safe to introduce solids becuz all ive been told was wait till she is 6 months but then on baby food jars some say 4 months n mum wants to introduce solids to her as early as possible cuz i have to start working, we really need the money atm and she wont take the stick packs of s26 or the poppa liquids ones n we cant afford to buy a tin of formula when there is a good chance she wont like it and it will go to waste . .i have tried expressing but i can neva pump enough out she just gobbles it all up

Freya
07-01-2008, 18:04
The best thing for you baby is to wait until 6 months.

The reason jars say 4 months is to trick people and make extra money, it is disgraceful in my opinion.

Do you have to go to work?

Even if you did introduce solids milk is the main source of food until 12 months so she would need milk if you are not there anyway.

~Bec~
07-01-2008, 18:14
I'm not a young mum (actually I'm probably one of the oldest new mums around here :o ) but the current recommendations are from 6 months to start solids. Have a look at the weaning and solids section - they have lots of useful information in there and I'm sure there will be a link to the WHO site about it.

Some mothers introduce solids earlier due to reflux - some because they feel their baby is ready but try and aim for 6 months.

Remember you don't have to buy baby food from the shops either. I make all my own baby food - very simple and cheap too. Just cook and puree fruit and veggies. :)

BindiAmberRose
07-01-2008, 18:15
yea i thought it was 6 months . .um yea i do have to work i live with my mum n 2 younger bros who r teenagers so they eat alot my bf had to move bak to his mums cuz we cant afford him living here . .my mum and bf r trying to get jobs so i dont have to work at all but they have both been having trouble mum has applied to so many places but shes either underqualified or too expensive n my bf doesnt have ne experience n the only jobs he wouldnt have trouble with are trade or labouring jobs which he hasn had ne luck with so far . .even if i work just one shift a week that would b enough for groceries for a week but i just dont kno wat to do wen it comes to feeding her wen im not there

forbetoel
07-01-2008, 18:17
Listen to your own instinct, it is hard to give my advice on how your baby should be fed.

If you are leaning towards formula feeding, then see you child and maternal health nurse, they have sample packs of a few different brands.
Goodluck. xoxo

the_queen
07-01-2008, 18:19
Try expressing from one side while you're feeding from the other.

Here's the signs that a baby is ready for solids:
* can sit up all by themself unaided
* can pick things up with a pincer grip (thumb and forefinger) and put it in their mouth.

When a baby can do these things, starting solids is much easier because you can just hand them big chunks of well-cooked veggies and soft fruit, and bubby will eat them if they're hungry.

~Bec~
07-01-2008, 18:21
Am I correct in thinking that you're assuming that when you wean a baby onto solids they no longer have breastmilk/formula? This isn't the case, at least it's not the 'norm'. Babies usually get most of their nutrition from bm/formula until they are at least one. Even if you introduce solids earlier you will still need to breastfeed or formula feed. :)

BindiAmberRose
07-01-2008, 18:36
i actually wasnt sure if that was the case or not i shoulda asked that too . .i really should kno this stuff . . altho im glad that she needs breastmilk/formula for that long cuz i really do love breastfeeding . . ive been out drinkin twice b4 n she took formula fine then but i felt soo guilty i couldnt stop crying so i stopped n now i just need her to take even one or so bottles of formula a week just so i can work for a few hours until my mum or bf get a job . .pref my bf. . i guess ill ask the child health nurse for sum different samples of formula n keep tryin to express

metalhead713
07-01-2008, 18:38
Am I correct in thinking that you're assuming that when you wean a baby onto solids they no longer have breastmilk/formula? This isn't the case, at least it's not the 'norm'. Babies usually get most of their nutrition from bm/formula until they are at least one. Even if you introduce solids earlier you will still need to breastfeed or formula feed. :)
I was just about to say that lol. If she went onto solids she still needs milk just as much as before, nothing will change except for extra work in feeding her milk plus the solids for whoever is looking after her while you are away. So I wouldnt reccomend the solids if its just for that reason. I dont know enough about expressing breast milk either sorry but im sure there would have to be a way to get more, but if not you may just have to consider formula feeding because solids cannot replace the milk.

metalhead713
07-01-2008, 18:40
i actually wasnt sure if that was the case or not i shoulda asked that too . .i really should kno this stuff . . altho im glad that she needs breastmilk/formula for that long cuz i really do love breastfeeding . . ive been out drinkin twice b4 n she took formula fine then but i felt soo guilty i couldnt stop crying so i stopped n now i just need her to take even one or so bottles of formula a week just so i can work for a few hours until my mum or bf get a job . .pref my bf. . i guess ill ask the child health nurse for sum different samples of formula n keep tryin to express
ah.. you beat me to it :p

Fuchsia!
07-01-2008, 18:41
hi there. How long are you looking at working for?

Is theer anyway you can get a pump and express some? Try expressing in the morning while your milk supply is up?

Theres also other things that can boost your milk supply up too. I would try expressing and then have formula on hold for emergency. I wouldn't introduce solids until at least 6mths, for your bubbas sake. Have you tried centrelink too? they can help out with payments if you aren't already on them

sandy_1902
07-01-2008, 19:51
i started my son at 4 months personally i don't think its disgraceful every baby develops early.. bailey wasn't getting enough from just me he got hungry faster then my supply.

it doesn't matter what other people say.. if you think your baby is ready for it.. give him a small taste if he doesn't like it stop if he does keep giving him small bits

SmileyBJ
07-01-2008, 20:16
Hey I might suggest buying a tin of formula, if bub is hungry and you can't seem to express enough they are surely to gulp it up...

As for the solids, probably best to wait as long as possible but the very earliest if theres no possible solutions 4 months. As there digestive systems are still forming and can find it really hard to pass through all there little organs...

:hugs:Hope you guyz find some financial relief soon. Thinking of you.

~Bec~
07-01-2008, 20:21
I would also suggest asking for some advice in the breastfeeding section on how to continue if you have to work and any possible effects in terms of your milk supply by giving your baby some formula when you are at work.

Fuchsia!
07-01-2008, 20:45
it could be very harmful to feed babies at 4mths. Their little digestive systems can't handle it and there is also allergies to consider too

Freya
07-01-2008, 20:48
IMO your baby doesn't need solids... If you were to start it could result in yor bub developing allergies because a babies is gut is too immature for anything other then breastmilk or artificial milk.

Try to express and how is your BF not finding a job? It can't be that hard. He should be working or both of you working not just you. Your baby needs you.

Witchety
21-01-2008, 17:12
Please don't give your baby solids now. Have you been to Centrelink to ask about possible payments? If you are not living with your boyfriend you may be entitled to sisngle parenting payment.

Breastmilk is the most wonderful thing for you baby. Good on you for continuing to breastfeed. Please look at staying home or expressing until your baby is over six months and can be away from you for a few hours between feeds.

To the person who said
it doesn't matter what other people say

it does matter what other people think, this is why we have experts who do research and find out what is best feeding practice for infants so that we KNOW what we should be doing.

sandy_1902
21-01-2008, 18:22
if you feel your child is ready for soilds you give them solids..

i gave my son solids (pure pear) at 4 months about every 2 days.. and he is fine. he needed that little bit extra besides breast milk.

BindiAmberRose
21-01-2008, 19:41
i am on centrelink payments but it just doesnt seem to cover it enough for us to not be struggling we just need that lil bit extra for us to be fine but at the moment we have alot of bills either overdue or due very soon we have had to cut down alot which is fine but just one shift could really help us . .i honestly dont kno how my bf isnt geting a job hes pretty irresponsible n i think hes still in the "teenage" mode instead of the father one but he is coming along tho slowly . . .would i be able to get single parenting payments if we r still a couple but not living together? do u guys reckon if im at work n shes hungry that she will eventually give in n take the fomula my mum reckons she will but awhile ago she used to take the formula n once i went out n had a couple of drinks n came home n mum told me she was refusing the formula so i rang the helpline thingy n they said just to feed her n i felt soo terrible luckily the alcohol didnt affect her (tho i do kno the poor thing absorbed 95% of it) but i havent been out without her since drinkin or not cuz i just dont wana risk it i have the rest of my life to go out n she needs me but now i have to go to work until either mum or bf gets a job n i just dont want her to be starving . . .trust me if an alternative came up id take it but for the moment my option is to work . . .now that bf knos we r struggling hes been trying harder so hopefully he'll realise he has to be a father first now . .just wondering is ne one elses bfs or babys fathers like that or did i just pick the wrong guy lol

Witchety
21-01-2008, 20:40
.would i be able to get single parenting payments if we r still a couple but not living together?

Yes you can. If you are not living under the same roof you will be intitled to single parenting payment.

Please don't be in a rush to start solids. It's just not good for them this early. Yes some parents do it and their babies are ok but that is more to do with luck than good parenting.

If you are not currently on single parenting payment go and see someone at Centrelink straight away. It may take a few weeks to process your claim but you will be paid from the first date you enquire about it.

Fuchsia!
21-01-2008, 22:04
maybe you could try a different type of formula? I know my baby hated s26 but when i tried hienz nurture, he guzzled it down as if it was breast milk. I had heard that heinz suits pickier babies, so maybe you could try that?

TwoBlue
21-01-2008, 22:29
I've had to do a bit of editing and deleting in here today ladies...

Offer your advice to the Op and let her decide what to do....

If you cant keep it nice this thread will be closed which wont help the op at all

amaliesmum
23-01-2008, 12:41
Hi! I'm Rachael. I recently turned 22 and I have a 6 month old baby girl. I had a lot of trouble expressing enough milk too, and my bubs doesn't take formula. A friend told me to express off one side while you are feeding on the other. That works really well for me. After the first few times I got heaps....

mothertobein2007
27-01-2008, 23:42
i had to go to work when noah was 3 and a bit months old and he drank formula i have been though about 10 differant ones to get it right:no: i have wasted so much as he will just :barf:it up.........
and try getting a job in child care when you can take her with you and b/f at work.....:)

lil miss
16-02-2008, 21:20
its a matter of persona choice- my dp's sisters were on solids at 2 and 3 months, and my dd was on solids at 4 months..... just try bindi with rice cereal and only 2 spoonfuls at a time, and then slowly introduce new things and more quantity. do what you feel is right, and remember that bindi will let you know if she isnt ready