View Full Version : Mums around Strathpine, Warner??

sharvs
11-03-2006, 17:00

I am new to brissy, living in Cashmere. I'm wondering if there are any other mums around the same area that want to chat or meet up?

I am 26 years old and have a 12 week old son

Sharon

Madi
11-03-2006, 17:29
Hi Sharon

I'm just down the road at Joyner. There are quite a few group meet ups around this general area, but I'm always looking to get out of the house if you wanted to go for a coffee at the strathpine shops or something :)

Madi.

Allie T
12-03-2006, 01:06
Hi my name is Allie l am 22 and l am 15 weeks pregnant and live at Bray Park and go to strathpine shops alot if you girls would like to catch up one day for coffee.

excitedmum
14-03-2006, 08:27
I live at Bracken Ridge just down the road from you guys. Am due on Wednesday. Would enjoy meeting with other new mums in the area to get some helpful advice and keep sane!!!

alybel
18-03-2006, 21:32
i'm at Bracken Ridge too, i have an 11 month old son and am 6 weeks pregnant with my 2nd. Would love to meet up sometime. Just let me know when.

Madi
18-03-2006, 21:36
Hi Alybel

Would love to catch up - perhaps next week sometime??

Madi.

jaimie
19-03-2006, 07:48
i live at murrumba downs. we havent been in brisbane very long so it would be great to meet some other mums. i have a 9mnth old daughter Jasmine, and we both love going to the shops or having coffee!

wktz
19-03-2006, 15:37
Hi, I also live in Bray Park and am 30 weeks pregnant with my first child. I would dearly love to meet some other mums in this area!.

I still have five or six weeks of work left, but I work at home on Wednesdays so I am always free to catch up then ;)

Madi
20-03-2006, 16:36

Well it looks like there are quite a few mums/mums to be around this area looking for a coffee and a chat! :D
Maybe we should set a time to meet up? Let me know what suits you guys.

Madi.

excitedmum
21-03-2006, 14:46
Meeting up sounds greet. I might have to wait a couple of weeks as I am being induced tonight and will probably need a little time to get in to some kind of a routine when I come home (as this is my 1st). Will get back in touch when I return from Hospital. Wish me luck!!

wktz
21-03-2006, 17:56
Good luck Michelle - how exciting!!. Hope everything goes well, and I look forward to meeting you and your bub in a few weeks :hugs:

excitedmum
30-03-2006, 09:54
Thanks Kirsty. We have a beautiful baby boy we called Daniel Jon. He was born last Thursday and weighed 4.3kg (natural delivery....ouch). We have just sold our car yesterday (bad timing) so would love to catch up for coffee when things are more normal here. Talk soon and take care.

wktz
06-04-2006, 16:30
CONGRATULATIONS Michelle!!. That's wonderful news and I'm so glad everything went well for you. :smiliedance:

Sorry for not responding earlier, but I've been flat out at work and too tired at night to sit in front of the computer :D . Next week is my last week though, so then I'm free for coffee anytime you like!.

Hope you are enjoying life as a new mum and getting SOME sleep...I'm going to try and get as much now before my bub arrives I think!

Sarie
07-04-2006, 08:37
Hey Kristy!
I grew up in Bray Park!! My parents still live there and we come up to visit every month or so.

excitedmum
10-04-2006, 09:19
Hi Kirsty. Things are a bit hectic here at the moment trying to settle Daniel in to some sort of routine. Every day is something different, some days he doesn't want to sleep at all but only wakes once or twice during the night which is good. Hope all is going well with your pregnancy, it starts getting really exciting now. Take care talk soon.

darkangel_23
12-04-2006, 11:25
hey everyone! was just wondering if anyone was up for a coffee on monday or tuesday next week?
congratulations as well michelle!!!

cara (23)

jaimie
12-04-2006, 11:29
I would love to but we are going away for easter:smiliedance: . But I would love to next time:)

excitedmum
14-04-2006, 10:53
Sorry Cara I'm afraid I'm out too. Baby Daniel is being stubborn and not sleeping well during the day. Give me a couple of weeks and I would love to do coffee with u.

wktz
14-04-2006, 20:51
You can count me in as well next time anyone wants to catch up. I am now officially on maternity leave :smiliedance: so just about any day suits me.

Michelle - sorry to hear Daniels having trouble settling during the day, hope he starts getting into a routine soon. I think I've read somewhere though that babies can't really start getting a routine until they are past about six weeks old??. I'm sure I have all this to look forward to :D so I'll look forward to hearing any tips you might be able to suggest!.

Sarie
14-04-2006, 20:54
Hey Kristy!
How are you going? You must be feeling much better now you're officially on leave?!

Madi
14-04-2006, 21:11
hey everyone! was just wondering if anyone was up for a coffee on monday or tuesday next week?
congratulations as well michelle!!!

cara (23)

Hi Cara - I'm free tuesday if you would like to meet up? :)

Me
14-04-2006, 22:10
Can I jump in here too? DD is almost 4 mths - WOW time has flown! I'm always up for meeting other mums - love all the cute stories and helpful hints!

Allie T
16-04-2006, 11:34
Hi l am from strathpine and l am 20 weeks pregnant and would love to catch up one day for coffee with anyone who is freel am at home all week and can meet up anyday so if anyone wants to meet up.
Allie

wktz
16-04-2006, 21:31
I'm free most of next week as well if anyone would like to catch up.

Hi Sarie - yes I am starting to feel much better now that I've stopped working thank you!. I've been exhausted most of the weekend, but being able to have afternoon naps makes a big difference....so does knowing I dont have to get up and go to work Tuesday morning :D

Madi
16-04-2006, 21:44
There seems to be quite a few of us mums/mums to be around here :yelclap: How does Tuesday morning sound for a coffee? maybe at Strathpine shops??

excitedmum
17-04-2006, 09:48
Heh Kirsty. Congrats on making it to Maternity Leave. Enjoy the peace and quiet while you still have it and make sure you get plenty of rest (sounds cliche but it is true!)

excitedmum
18-04-2006, 08:48
just wondering if any of you guys go to the Com Hlth Clinic at Strathpine? I was going to Taigum Amcal for weighs etc but thought a CHC might be a nice way to meet other mums.

wktz
18-04-2006, 18:22

Not sure if coffee happened this morning or not (computer was dead so only just got to log back in!) but if not, does anyone want to try and catch up another day this week??. Strathpine shops sounds good to me Madi !

Shelly68
18-04-2006, 20:40
I didn't know about this meet up but I'm hoping it didn't go ahead.

We were at Strathpine today and OMIGOD, it was so packed.

Last day of school holidays and all, you couldn't move,

we stood in a line at the pictures for 45 minutes just to buy the tickets.

What a joke, it was horrible.

But we saw Ice Age 2 and that was great, can highly recommend it for those who haven't seen it yet

excitedmum
20-04-2006, 07:45
I am keen to start getting out a bit more too. Can't gain confidence if I don't give it a go. Don't feel as much pressure with other new mums as we are all in the same boat. Those who are yet to have their bubs will know what they have to look forward to.

I am at B/Ridge so Strathpine is good for me as well.

timetoplay!
18-05-2006, 14:32
:wave: Hi all! I also live in the area, at Lawnton. I go to a playgroup on Tuesday mornings at Bray Park Community Church which is great for a coffee, cake and chat! Oh...the kids get to play too!

scotsmum
06-06-2006, 15:51
hello to you all from northern suburbs - I have just moved over from Uk, so don't know many people, a get together sounds great. I am renting in Kallangur at the moment, but looking around to buy perhaps Narrangba way.

Davina 29
John 31
Amy 5mths :yelclap:

scotsmum
06-06-2006, 15:56
Whoops new to this and only just noticed that most of the threads are back in Jan/March.... did you guys ever meet up?

excitedmum
07-06-2006, 07:39
Hi Scotsmum & Timetoplay. I would also like to join you for a coffee and to compare notes some time. My DH and I live at Bracken Ridge. We just had our first baby in march so am keen to talk to other new mums. I can meet where ever, I am not fussy.

TrulyBlessed
07-06-2006, 09:59
I'd be interested in catching up with some new mums. My DS was born in April this year.

excitedmum
07-06-2006, 15:54
What days suit everybody? Where would be the best place to meet?

scotsmum
07-06-2006, 17:38
Hi this is getting confusing isn't it..... keep trying to find threads that I have been writing, going out and then coming back and trying to look again! I am free most days as I am not working at the moment. How about you guys? Not sure where is good to meet for everyone? There are nice coffee shops at North Lakes or at Strathpine somewhere?

Molly's Mum
07-06-2006, 18:46
Hiya, :wave: I live in Petrie and would love to meet some new mums. Have recently moved back to the area after a number of years and need to meet some new people. My DD is 10mths old...:smiliedance: I know she is a little older than your little ones but am hoping we could still enjoy your company??

scotsmum
07-06-2006, 18:55
Hi Molly's mum and Excited Mum and any other mums - the more the merrier I say. Should we perhaps think about next Wednesday 10am???? somewhere in Strathpine???? Somebody will need to suggest somewhere, as I am not that familiar with Strathpine. I only know the Westfield there. Need to shoot just now, but will come back on after bubs is in bed!!! :yes:

TrulyBlessed
08-06-2006, 10:09
We could always meet at the Coffee Club in at Westfield. That way it wouldn't matter if it's not a fine day. And I'm usually easy with anyday but I won't get back till Tues so Wed would be good for me.

excitedmum
09-06-2006, 08:36
Any chance we could do afternoon as I have Mother's Group at the Zillmere Community Centre on Wed at 10am and it usually goes for 2 hours otherwise I can keep in touch through this thread and join you all next time. I am also out Tuesday mornings...what a pain I am!!

SCOTSMUM - If you go to the tool bar and click on thread tools there is an option to subscribe to the thread. That way you can be notified when someone has replied to one of your threads. To manage and review your subscriptions just go in to your user control panel (top left) and go in to option of edit subscriptions. Hope this helps and is not too confusing

Molly's Mum
09-06-2006, 18:14
Hiya ladies, Sorry but Wed is Molly's daycare day and my day to relax :sleeping: and day other stuff that doesn't involve motherhood :smiliedance: ....I will watch out for the thread for the next catch up. You guys have a blast and chat to you all soon :wave:

Karla

scotsmum
09-06-2006, 20:03
Hi Excited Mum, Amy W and Molly's Mum
Yeah next Wednesday at Westfield Strathpine Coffee Club would be good for me. We can make it PM so that Excited Mum can also attend - is this OK for you Amy W? How about 2.00pm? Molly's mum - hopefully we will arrange another meet so you can come along too, I just posted you a reply on Northlakes thread. Thanks to Excitied Mum for info on subscibing to threads.

excitedmum
10-06-2006, 09:14
Looking forward to it :yelclap: ....so do we wear a red rose to identify each other (lol)? Work out finer details when we know who is going I suppose.

Meg77
10-06-2006, 09:31

I would love to meet up with you all at some point too! Unfortunately not for the next two weeks though as I have my parents visiting from NZ so need to parent-sit :)

Did you all know that Strathpine has Babes in Arms movie sessions every Wednesday mornings? I'm planning to go to one of these when a good movie is on.

Looking forward to meeting you all soon.

Meghan

DD - Hayley 21 March 2006

excitedmum
10-06-2006, 11:37
Hi Meg77. I like the idea of the Babes in Arms session. When you have no immediate parenting obligations we might organise to go. It feels like forever since I saw a movie.

Meg77
10-06-2006, 13:41
Michelle - we must have been in hospital at the same time! What hos did you go to? I was at redcliffe.

scotsmum
10-06-2006, 16:19
Hi folks the movies sounds like a good idea - I have not been since I had Amy, not so easy now, but this sounds ideal :idea: . Excited mum looking forward to coffee on Wednesday. I will definately be there at 2.00pm (Strathpine Westfield Coffee Club) - take it there is only one in Westfield? :confused: Not heard from AmyW again (think she is away until Tuesday), but would be good if you also want to meet then and obviously any other mums reading this thread.

Meghan - enjoy your parent sitting for the next 2 weeks. We can arrange a movie when you have some free time again. :yelclap:

scotsmum
10-06-2006, 16:30
Michelle - forgot to say.... yeah not sure how we will know each other - Ummm all I can think of is Amy's pram has a green frog hanging down from her pram hood and I have blonde hair???? Unless you want to wear the red nose???? :smiliedance:

Meghan - I had Amy at Redcliffe as well, but obviously back in January.

excitedmum
10-06-2006, 18:58
Sorry Meg77, I was a North West girl (at Everton Park).

Scotsmum - I already have you booked in to my diary. I am 6ft 1 and have shoulder length brown hair. Daniel has a 3 wheeler steelcraft pram and will have toys around the front bar. Will send you a private email with my contact number on it in case there is a change of plans.

TrulyBlessed
13-06-2006, 17:16

Sorry was away at my folks place and only got home this arv. I would love to catch up with you. Could someone please PM me the details.

excitedmum
13-06-2006, 18:47
Hi AmyW. Would love to see you tomorrow, have PM'd you some info. See you at 2.

Scotsmum - gave your info to AmyW so she knows who to look out for. See you tomorrow

scotsmum
13-06-2006, 20:56
Hiya looking forward to seeing you guys tomorrow for coffee. We should find each other OK - look out for the ones looking lost.... see you tomorrow :wave:

TrulyBlessed
13-06-2006, 21:12
Thanks for the info guys. See you tomorrow at 2.

scotsmum
14-06-2006, 21:50
Hello just wanted to say hello again :wave: and it was good to meet up today for coffee. We will need to set a date for the bubs at the movies day soon. Maybe something towards the end of June. I am not sure what days these viewings are on, but sure i can find out.

excitedmum
16-06-2006, 06:25
Thanks Scotsmum and AmyW for coffee on wednesday. It was good to meet you and your bubs for a chat. Hope we can get together soon, we might even have a few more mums to come along (will have to make it another day besides Wed so Molly's Mum can come along).

Looking forward to the movies too.

AmyW - I was reading another thread about a June brunch. Can I get details about it as I might be interested. Scotsmum you might like to go too?

scotsmum
19-06-2006, 14:11
Hi Excited Mum

Perhaps we could aim for getting together for the movies either next week or the following week.... hopefully some of the other mums can come along. Anyone interested? Does anybody know what days the bubs movies are on at Strathpine? :confused:

Yeah let me know the details of this June brunch and I can see if I can go.

excitedmum
19-06-2006, 14:43
Haven't heard from AmyW....I might PM her soon and see wots happening :confused:

Babes in Arms are on at Strathpine Birch Carroll & Coyle at 10.30 on Wednesdays. Movies change week to week (this week is The Break Up with Jennifer Aniston). Children under 5 are free. Check BCC site for details of upcoming sessions (www.greaterunion.com.au/movies/babes.asp).

TrulyBlessed
19-06-2006, 19:43
Hey guys. Sorry I disappeared for a few days. My SIL was admitted into hospital last Friday with the start of Preterm labour so had to go up to Bundy to help look after my other 2 nieces. Just about to PM you both about the Brunch this Saturday. Won't be able to make the movies this week as its a catch up day that we do fortnightly but would make it next Wed.

Meg77
19-06-2006, 20:44

I would love to come to the cinema next wednesday!!

AmyW - I hope your SIL is ok.

I also won't be coming to the Brunch this weekend as my parents are due at the airport in the morning. I hope you all have a lovely time though :)

Hope to see you all next Wednesday

Meghan

DD - 21 March 2006

excitedmum
19-06-2006, 20:51
Hi Meg77 how is the parent sitting going? Hope the parents aren't driving you too crazy :banghead:

AmyW - sorry to hear about your SIL. Hope everything worked out ok for her

This Saturday is out for me I am afraid as I have something else planned. Vine is a nice Restaurant though so have a good time.

This Wednesday and next Wednesday mornings are out for me because I have mother's group at Com Health Centre from 10am, but would love to go to the movies in July.

scotsmum
19-06-2006, 22:49
Hello everyone

AmyW- hope your SIL is OK now.

Meghan - hope your goodbyes are not too emotional for you! Or maybe you have had enough by now???

I just sent Excitedmum e-mail saying that I could not do Wednesday mornings at the moment, but how about we aim for the first Wednesday in July? I did say how about Chermside? Not sure what days they do... does anybody know? We or should I say "I" don't need to stick to a Wednesday..... jusy depends what is good for everyone else?

Yeah I will need to give this weekend a miss too - but thanks for info. Have a good time Amy.

Davina

excitedmum
20-06-2006, 08:05
Sorry Scotsmum, just checked and all the Babes in Arms sessions are on Wed mornings. I've waited for this long to go to a movie, what is another couple of weeks?

We could still go for a coffee though at S'pine again if anyone is interested?

scotsmum
20-06-2006, 08:17
Yeah coffee sounds good. This week is out for me, but next Tuesday morning (10.30am) would be good.... not sure if this is any good for anyone? Not sure whether you want to meet at North Lakes instead, as it will be closer for AmyW and friend if they can join us again? I am easy whichever Strathpine or North Lakes? :confused:

We can then maybe organise a date for the movies.... :yelclap:

excitedmum
20-06-2006, 14:00
I can only do Monday, Thursday or Friday in the morning or I am free any arvo. I thought AmyW lived at Clayfield? Strathpine would definately be closer if that's the case.

Wot does everyone else think?

scotsmum
21-06-2006, 06:55
Whoops I am still trying to find my bearings around here, so will take your word for it. Strathpine is fine by me then.

I can do Thursday afternoon next week, morning is out for me, as is all day Monday and Friday. What's does everybody think?

Meghan - do you want to meet for coffee next Thursday - think the cinema is postponed until July sometime.

excitedmum
24-06-2006, 13:59
Hi Scotsmum. Sorry I didn't reply earlier, had a very social week this week. Love the pic of Amy....soooo cute.

I can do Thurs arvo for a coffee. This thread seems a bit sporadic doesn't it. Wot happened to all the others?

TrulyBlessed
24-06-2006, 14:26
I'm still about but don't get online too much. I'd like to do coffee or lunch Thursday but would have to be home by 3.30.

scotsmum
24-06-2006, 20:34

So will we meet up again at Strathpine Westfield around 1.00pm next Thursday? At least that will leave you plenty of time Amy..... Is that OK with you Michelle? Can grab a bite to eat somewhere or a coffee....

excitedmum
25-06-2006, 10:11
Same spot as last time? Sounds good to me

TrulyBlessed
25-06-2006, 12:19
Yep sounds good to me. :thumbsup:

Meg77
25-06-2006, 16:06

Next Thursday afternoon is fine with me too! Where do we meet?
I have mothers group every thurs morning that finishes around 11.30 so will head straight to strathpine :)

Looking forward to meeting you all.

Hayley - 21 March 2006

excitedmum
25-06-2006, 17:06
At the coffee club at Westfield Strathpine. PM me if you need more details or you want my phone number. Will try and sit on the side of the silver shop and I think it is Amies or Wallace Bishop. C U Thursday :ecomcity:

Meg77
25-06-2006, 18:59
Thanks! How will I know its you girls? I will have a bright blue/green pram if that helps and I have blonde hair.

See you next Thursday :)

excitedmum
26-06-2006, 09:20
I am 6ft 1 with shoulder length brown hair and glasses (and extremely good looking.....lol). My little boy has a mushroom coloured (brownish/beige) steelcraft 3 wheeler.

scotsmum
26-06-2006, 14:36
Hi will see you all on Thursday at 1.00pm then looking forward to it x

excitedmum
03-07-2006, 13:12
Hi Everyone. Thanks for coffee the other day, Daniel and I enjoyed our play date. I looked up movie session, the next one is click on 12 July at 10.30 at S'pine. Let me know if u are keen.

scotsmum
03-07-2006, 22:18
Hi Michelle

Yeah was good to see you again and others. I am up for it - not seen a movie for ages and wanted to see that film.

Davina

Meg77
08-07-2006, 11:52

It was lovely to meet up with you all last week :)

We have a real estate inspection on the 12th at supposedly 9am but they usually show up around 1pm so if they are early I can make it to the cinema, if not I will have to stay home (don't want them snooping around my house unattended :) )

excitedmum
11-07-2006, 15:13
OK lets organise this movie thing girls. Tomorrow 10am meet outside the Strathpine movies. Movie starts at 10.30. Who is coming?

scotsmum
11-07-2006, 18:51
Hiya Michelle - yeah I was going to come on tonight and ask if anyone was remembering about tomorrow. Anyway I will be there - looking forward to seeing a movie. :yelclap:

Hopefully Meghan you will make it in time, if not we will see you another week.

See you at 10am - take it there is only one entrance, near Myer end.

Davina

excitedmum
11-07-2006, 19:29
If you park on the roof, the movie cinemas entrance is right there. Otherwise yes, the Myer end. See you 2moro

TrulyBlessed
12-07-2006, 08:48
Sorry guys. I won't be able to make it today. Declan's had a really unsettled night. Next time if things go to plan.

TrulyBlessed
25-07-2006, 22:30
Hey Ladies

Just seeing how you all are going? It's been really quiet around here.

excitedmum
30-07-2006, 10:00
Hi Amy

Just got back from 2 weeks away at Agnes Waters :D . It was so nice to get away, even though I told my husband I am doing the same thing only in a different location. Jon caught big spanish mackeral so now we will be eating fish every day for a year I reckon. Hoping we can all catch up soon. Davina and I and the little tag alongs had a good time at the movies the other week, maybe we could organise that again.

Talk to you soon

excitedmum
11-08-2006, 08:45
Where Is Everyone???

Meg77
11-08-2006, 10:33

It certainly is quiet around here. Perhaps we should organise another meet up? I haven't been to Strathpine for ages and need a good shopping fix again :)
I went to the cinema the other week with my mothers group and it was good, Hayley was good but I still didn't get much out of the movie. I think I might just go shopping this time!!

How is everyone? Anyone fancy doing lunch at Strathpine again?

Meghan

excitedmum
11-08-2006, 15:08
Count me in. I go back to work at the beginning of Oct so I need to do some social outings while I can.

timetoplay!
13-08-2006, 19:43
:wave: Hi!
I haven't been on Bubhub for a while and just read this post.
Our playgroup will be meeting at Sweeney's Reserve (behind Petrie Police station) this Tuesday morning - 15th August from 9-11am.
New mum's are always welcome!
We are usually based at the Bray Park Community Church hall on Youngs Crossing Road (next to Genesis Christian College). We meet weekly so the kids can socialise and the mums can share a cuppa and chat.
Children range in age from newborn to 4 years.
If you would like more info send me a pm!

...oh, if you're looking for our group this Tuesday, I have a grey and red stroller and I'll have my pink Bubhub ribbon attached to the handle.

scotsmum
14-08-2006, 12:52

I have not been on bubhub for so long. Been so hectic recently and I know if I start chating on here, hours disappear, so have been keeping a low profile! hee hee. I will have to give a meet a miss for the next couple of weeks, as I am running here, there and everywhere trying to get our new house sorted out. I would be up for a meet first week in Sept, but you guys go ahead and obviously meet before then.

Michelle - glad you had a good 2 weeks away. Got to enjoy this time off before you head back to work. I have just started applying for some jobs!

Speak soon x