View Full Version : New Thread for March
brideofjabba
11-03-2006, 12:52 PM
I hope you don't mind me starting this. I thought the other was getting a little long. Do you want to go month by month??
I am feeling sick still. LOL whats new?? I felt a little better when i did some cooking with my ds, we made patty cakes for lunch. Very healthy! lol
I think i've cut down my vomiting to twice a day now. Well, thats what i've been doing for the last couple of days. Yesterday though i almost blacked out i was heaving that much. yuck!
How are you all feeling today?
suemp
11-03-2006, 03:58 PM
your m/s sounds terrible!! mine has eased up a bit but i dont wannw say too much cause i know tomorrow it could be back full force. took ds to sea world today as they often have "local vouchers" for the theme parks,locals get in for half price. it is such a long day walking in the heat with a 4 year old and m/s. and a tip: if the ride says its not recommended for pregnant ladies or those with epilepsy - take their word for it.!!!!!
ds had fun he is now crashed. just spoke to bf who was due 6 days ago she is getting pain but not regular. i can just see a phone call in the middle of the night coming to mind her tribe. :sleeping: :sleeping:
AnnaT
11-03-2006, 08:26 PM
Andrea - I think starting threads at the start of every month or when the current thread gets to 10 pages long is a good idea.
Sorry to hear about all the m/s problems! I am actually starting to notice a disappearance of mine THANKGOD :thumbsup: I dont really have any nausea anymore and Im down to 1 dry retch a day and 1 full on spew every 2 days. Second trimester and human-ness here I come!
Had my 10 week OB appointment on Thursday. Ive managed to LOSE two kilo's due to the m/s but Dr didnt seem worried. BP was fine (Im at risk for pre-ecplampsia and hypertension) and we got another u/s :yelclap: Baby measured right on schedule, I cant believe it already looks like a real baby! I got the Dr to put it on video like he did with our first u/s at 6 wks so Dh could see it. We were both amazed to see baby bouncing around in there! I think our child is going to have a love of jumping castles :laughing: Dh was so cute, he had to watch it 3 times and he stills talks about baby moving now :kiss:
Nuchal 12 wk scan is booked for March 27th (not long to go now) and I had the b/t yesterday!
This is so exciting I never got this far before! Even OB said its def my turn for a baby, he cant wait to deliver us in Oct.
Briannabear
12-03-2006, 09:27 AM
Thats good to hear Anna! :thumbsup:
Ive had shocking morning sickness this week. :( Just cant stomach eating anything.
Feel a little bit better this morning - but not fantastic. Going to have a lie down while my DD is sleeping.
Hope you are all having a great weekend! :smiliedance:
Great idea to start a new post Andrea. Month by month sounds good.
Well I have now well and truly joined the m/s brigade. Still haven't chucked but biy have I been close. DH is still interstate for work and poor dd is suffering. As well as missing her daddy she's lumbered with a grouchy, sick mum :( The thought of cooking for us just makes me feel gross. so poor dd had a chicken drumstick and some vegetable nuggets for dinner last night (oh and a piece of microwaved corn). She didn't look too impressed and wanted her normal steamed vegies. My mum's staying over tonight so at least she'll be able to cook something more to dd's taste. Dh is home on Tuesday, so things will hopefully settle a bit more then.
Congratulations on the good news at the scan Anna. I can't wait to see this one - still have 2 and half weeks to my first OB's appointment; at least the weeks seem to be passing quickly.
Enjoy what's left of the weekend :thumbsup:
Mookie
12-03-2006, 01:34 PM
I've just caught up on all the happenings of the last week. I went back to work this week (after 1.5wks off with MS) & although I made it through, it was pretty hard. Fairly tired at the end of each day (I do have to say not as bad as a couple of weeks ago) hence I havent been on here at all. It's embarrassing how much food I have at my desk & in the fridge! I've been quite self conscious of all the rustling noises coming from my desk as I'm constantly eating. Oh well, I ended up telling everyone as half of them had guessed anyway after I had been on sick leave for 1.5wks. It's actually a relief they now know.
MS still not good - vomiting most days. I find if I overdo things I'm worse. I'm 11 wks now, so this will hopefully pass soon. I will try the ginger drink - someone told me chuppa-chups help - I've tried a couple & they're quite good but I dont think the sugar content would be great, so they're not an ongoing option really.
Mjelly welcome - sounds like you are going through a hard time at the moment. It seems you know what you do & dont want which is really good. I hope things turn out for the best - just take one day at a time.
Suemp - glad to hear you're feeling better now. It must have been awful having a virus on top of MS.
To all the ladies who have young children, I so admire you. I honestly dont know how you're coping.
Linda - you must be dreading being apart from your dh for so long (I think that's the case?). Hopefully you'll have lots of support from family & friends. It will certainly be a big suprise for him when he sees you next!
Lisa - so glad to hear you can cut back a day a week at work - hopefully that will make all the difference for you.
I hope everyone else starts feeling a bit better soon - it's nice reading everyones experiences & seeing we're all pretty much in the same boat.
Well, I'm off to have a rest & then tackle my ironing for the week & attempt to cook something for tea when my dh gets home from work.
Hope you all start the week refreshed.
-Ann
PS I just posted this in the old thread & then realised there was a new one - dooooh! Is in there twice now - nevermind.
PPS Just read about Anna's scan too - that's great would have been so exciting!
HanCh
12-03-2006, 06:07 PM
Hi girls, it looks like I am only going to be a once a week poster.....I just dont get the time during the week, i feel like i dont stop running around doing things until it is time to go to bed.... I have gone back and read your posts and it looks most peoples M/S has settled down or starting to settle down which is great!
I still feel a little quezzy every now and then, and can def not handle meat at any time of the day.... I feel like I am surviving off hot chips and ice cream. At the moment that is all I can handle.....although i do force my self to have vegemite on toast for breakfast and a vegemite sandwich at lunch time. Is there anyone else not able to handle the thought of meat or any 'healthy' food at the moment?????
Well, i hope you all have a great week and I will go back and read what you have all been up to next weekend :)
Bring on maternity leave i say!!!!!!
brideofjabba
12-03-2006, 09:34 PM
Ali - i know what you mean! I feel like all i'm eating is junk. Though i haven't gained any weight(lost a kilo since getting pregnant) so i'm not that concerned. Chicken is the only meat at the moment that i can't eat. My last pregnancy i couldn't eat any meat so i'm glad i can handle a bit this time round. I've found Lemon Sorbet to be really good for settling my stomach, but once i stop eating it the nausea comes back:(
Anna - glad your scan went well and your starting to feel better!
I have only thrown up once today!! YAY though i've been dry heaving a lot and i think it was the sorbet that made me keep down my dinner.
Becbabe
13-03-2006, 07:48 AM
Hey girls - loving the new thread - now I don't have to remember which page I was up to!
AnnaT - sounds like we are at the same stage - with the losing 2kgs, the risk of pre-ec, and the waning of the nausea! Although it's not great how you think you're getting better, then a revolting day appears again. My nuchal scan is in 11 days now, can't wait, had a horrible nightmare last night that it was all deformed on the scan... technicolor dreams are all well and good unless it's a bad one!
Ali3099, I'm hearing you on the healthy food thing! I used to pack salads or s/sandwiches for work every day, now they are the most unappealing thing ever. I am in love with icecream at the moment - even when I can't face anything else, the icecream still stays down! So I'm thinking those few kilos aren't going to be off me for long!
Good to hear that most of us are feeling a little better. May it continue! Bring on the 2nd trimester!
DH had two drinks at the pub on Friday night and blurted it all out. I was reeeeallly ****ed off, but he says he was sick of lying to everyone all the time when it's happy news. (they bought him champagne!) Argh! I wasn't going to tell my bosses at work until after my scan - do you think it's reasonable to say I waited until then to confirm the due date?? Also I'm thinking I'll have to pull out of the last two weeks of mixed tennis, as I'm pretty sure some of the men will have a problem with it. Bugger! Oh well at least I can stop worrying about people finding out. DH spent all weekend apologising (bloody men!)
suemp
13-03-2006, 03:08 PM
my best friend finally had her baby a healthy baby GIRL ( so dont trust the needle trick!!!!) at 11 o clock today, and yes it was 2 in the morning when i got the call to come and look after her kids. off to see the bub in about an hour cant wait. she will be called keira or kayla green and i am sure she is gorgeous 8 pound baby. her 2 yr old dd and 4 yr old ds both have bright orange hair but this one has brown. hooray for my mates bec and greeny:yelclap: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
fablis
13-03-2006, 03:29 PM
Hi everyone. I just found this post after wondering all day why the other was so quiet!!
Anna, so glad to hear that your scan went well. You must be getting so excited getting very close to second trimester. I have another scan on Wednesday so hoping my bubbas have grown heaps as well.
I am still feeling the same, very very very tired and nausea all day but no vomitting. I am starting on my shorter working hours this week but today is one of two days that I have to work a full day. Bummer :thumbsdown: Somehow I have to try and stay awake until 5pm :sleeping:
I am with you on the junk food!! I am still eating my normal breakfast, lunch and dinner but I am adding the junk food on top (things such as KFC chips - YUM). I still crave my healthy food and I actually find that it makes me feel a lot better than say..... KFC chips. I wonder why??????
Have a great afternoon everyone!!
fablis
13-03-2006, 03:30 PM
Oh, forgot to say congratulations Suemp on your best friend's baby girl!! They must be thrilled with the new addition to the family. Isn't it just the most exciting time when a baby is born?? I can't wait to experience it myself!!
maybe1more
13-03-2006, 03:52 PM
Hi ladies, this thread is a good idea!!! It sounds like im in the same m/s boat, ive been really queasy during the day and a night im chucky!!! I cant stand anything with oil in it otherwise:barf: i just say im going out the get air, and instead i fertilise the garden:o
Suemp- Congratulations to your mates bec and greeney on the beautiful daughter!
I say bring on the 12 weeks mark, it just seems soooo far away, my sister is due 4 weeks before me so she has just reached the 12 week mark and im getting impatient:rolleyes:
brideofjabba
13-03-2006, 06:24 PM
Jenny - i'm getting impatient too. I so am ready for the second trimester and time is crawling along like it will never get here. I'm so sick of being sick:crying: I would give anything right now to feel better.
My tummy is starting to feel huge! lol Even though my clothes all still fit normally and some are a little loose they feel like they are cutting me in half! I'm going to get some summer type dresses so i don't have to have anything around my waist.
Lisa - KFC chips sound pretty good right now! lol
suemp
13-03-2006, 06:39 PM
yes bring on the kfc chips. i just devoured an oero mcslurry icecream from maccas. let me tell you it was devine!! i gained 20 kilos last preg and vowed not to do it again, but that was before i got preg again. just went and saw baby Keira. Gorgeous!!!! i held her so awkwardly , like i've never held a baby before. they are so tiny and precious. my son and her son are the same age and get them together they run riot, i felt so sorry for the other ladies up there tonight trying to get some sleep. so if anyone is due around the end of oct (not that i have my date yet) and are having a baby at gold coast hospital i appologise in advance for my ds. he will be the one running amok. m/s vertually gone yipee:smiliedance:
scan on fri i will soon be part of the i know my date gang:smiliedance:
and extremely clucky from seeing baby Keira:smiliedance:
LIFES GOOD:smiliedance:
AnnaT
14-03-2006, 01:05 AM
Doing good! Bought a lovely antique cot so excited to pick it up soon! Only 14 days til my NT scan (@ 12w4d, cant believe I have to wait til then). Uh strangers are noticing my belly now and smiling at me and I think the lady I nanny for is clueing in (duh she has had two of her own lol) going to have to let the cat out of the bag with her I guess. Its nice to know people are staring in a way, makes it more real!
I was naughty and had a soft serve ice cream today :shame: The little boy I nanny for has an obsession with Mr Whippy and I did promise him one and I couldnt resist. Im sure just once wont harm the baby right????
Briannabear
14-03-2006, 07:51 AM
Im sure you'll be fine Anna!
How is everyone feeling today? Im not too bad yet..... cant wait for the m/s to go away!!!
Becbabe
14-03-2006, 08:27 AM
Feeling much better today thanks Brianna. Yesterday was another "feel rotten all day" episode - why is it that they seem so much more prone on a Monday:(
Hey Andrea - it's weird with the clothes isn't it.... everything is all loose around the thighs and butt, but tight enough to be uncomfortable around the tummy - I have no idea what to wear for comfy factor!
Are any of the other 1st time mums wondering what they're going to look like? I'm a "big girl" (sz 22) and all the pictures in the mags etc. are of people who were obviously v small to start off with - I'm wondering what bigger pregnant people look like with a baby bump? I will probably be 5 months before anyone notices, they'll just think I'm putting on weight!
Peculiar thing to ask I know. There are all sorts of questions whizzing around in my brain at the moment.:ecomcity:
suemp
14-03-2006, 10:02 AM
hi becbabe, i had another friend give birth on the weekend just gone and she would be about a size 22 before being preg, and until she had about a month to go we all werent sure by looking at her if she was or not(as you can tell shes not a good friend!!!) but than everyones body is different and every preg is different. take me for eg i am 6 foot 3 , now for a lady that is pretty tall so i can carry preg quite easy. before ds i was size 12-14 before this preg i was size 14-16 . going by my last period i should be about 7-8 weeks and my stomach has grown considerably allready. but i did the same with jake so much so that my gp was near convinced before i had my scan that i was carrying twins.
i am glad everyones m/s is going/gone. my nausea is almost completely gone already . i am happy:p :p
fablis
14-03-2006, 12:41 PM
Hi everyone!!
My goodness Suemp, you are tall. I am only 5ft 2in - imagine us standing side by side!!
Becbabe, I had a really lousy day yesterday as well, but am feeling a bit better today. Hopefully the m/s is starting to lift a little :fingerscrossed:
Jenny, I am with you on the 12 week mark. I can't wait to make it there. I think it is a real milestone!! Less than three weeks to go for me!!
Andrea, I am trying to stay away from the KFC chips today. I have a lovely salad with salmon for lunch and then some lemon creme yoghurt (my favourite). I am absolutely hanging out to eat it!!
Becca, glad you are feeling a little better today :thumbsup:
Anna T, how exciting that you have bought a cot already!! My DH and I agreed we are going to wait for a while before we buy anything, but we'll see how long that idea lasts - I don't know if I can hold out much longer!!
Hope you are having a lovely day girls. I finish work at 3pm today - it's such a relief knowing I can go home and have a rest....
brideofjabba
14-03-2006, 01:11 PM
I'm ready to die about now. Seriously. I can't do this for 8 more weeks:crying: I had all day m/s for 16 weeks with my ds and 'morning' sickness until the day before i delivered him. Its not looking like its going to be very different this time.
I can't do this.
little t's mum
14-03-2006, 01:55 PM
HI all
Glad to hear most peoples morning sickness is easing. Mine is too, touch wood, I start to feel a little queasy after dinner or just before bed. So can't complain too much. Only 8 more days till I have a scan, can't wait.
Sare - how are you going with the lifestyle prog while not feeling so good. I am only getting back on it now that I am starting to feel better.
Thought it was just me but my stomach is starting to explode already as well. Same thing with the clothes loose everywhere but the tummy. Which is a bit of a pain as it is far to early to dig out the maternity clothes although the pants would be so comfy now.
Anyway still tired and Little T is sleeping so think I might sneak off and have a rest as well.
Stay well everyone and get better those with MS I feel so sorry for you.
LT's M
Andrea - I hope the m/s eases up for you soon. It must be hell. Everyone keeps on telling me that every pregnancy is different and hopefully that is true for you. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.
After a shocking weekend, my m/s has eased up. Mum was good and came to help me on Sun/Mon while dh was away (he's finally back :smiliedance: ).
Little t's mum - lifestyle program is well and truly out the window. I have been eating whatever I want, whenever I want :shame: My consultant would not be happy with me. The thought of eating anything healthy is making me feel sick. I am trying to go for ok options, but I was so bad I even had Macca's on Sun (for the first time in over 2 years!) When the queasiness disappears, I'll try to get back on track like you have, but I'm not going to beat myself up about it if I can't, I'll just go back onto quickloss when I've finished b/f.
Suemp - conratulations to your friends on their baby. Makes what you're going through all the more exciting hey?
Becbabe - I know what you mean about wondering what you will look like when you finally show. With dd i was a size 16-18 with an already pg looking belly, some of the mums at the school I taught at guessed when I was about 13 weeks (but as I said already had a huge bump) I started really showing at about 5.5 mths and ended up with a really sqaure shaped bump. Before I got pg this time I lost 25kgs and am now a size 10-12 and am really wondering what I will look like now. My clothes are already starting to get a little tighter around the belly (could be the maccas???) and I'm guessing it won't be long till a few friends start asking qns.
To everyone else I hope you are keeping well.:)
Briannabear
14-03-2006, 03:29 PM
I'm ready to die about now. Seriously. I can't do this for 8 more weeks:crying:
Its so frustrating isnt it. I remember my m/s easing up at about 14 weeks with my first and Im thinking - Oh **** thats 6 weeks away yet! :thumbsdown:
Im going to be a skinny skeleton by then. (from not eating enough and keeping anything down)
lil pumpkin
14-03-2006, 06:04 PM
Afternoon all, Just found this thread so copied and pasted from the other one.
m_jelly - Welcome and Congrats and enjoy the 7 and a bit months left.
Lesley - thanks for your due date.
Lisa - def with you and needing a pillow at the computer to catch a few
Ann - i miss Trent so much all ready, I will be about 20wks and bubs will be kicking by the time he sees me next.
Claire - How was the concert?
Sorry guys have to write this, I know some of you it won't worry but i get worried when i read the posts. Runny Eggs, Undercooked Meat, Deli meats and esp Soft serve icecream can all cause miscarriage and listeria, i know it's not as bad in Australia but still i steer clear of all of that stuff no matter how much i want it. Sorry imoo, please don't tell me off.
I am so over this packing and moving by myself i am so tired. I am still hungry but also soooooooo emotional at anything.
All went well at Ob appt last week. Bub has grown 1cm in less than a week. We got to see bub again and lil p was so cute. Ob was really happy with were i was etc and i have my first antenatal appt on Wed 5th April in the morning. He wants me to have my anatomy scan before i go and he said he will send me to 3D place in West Perth so i can have 3D scan done. WooHoo
I am obvs going private as you guys can guess and i just got my costs so if anyone wants to know i will tell you. Will only be approx for you as all ob's charge different costs. Dr Tsokos also delivers at St John of God Subiaco so that is where i will be going. At first antenatal we will be booking hosp etc i got told.
Hope everyone is doing okay today and bubs are treating you right and not being lil . Catchya Later
P.S. I didn't have the 12week scan done as i didn't want to, I am having bubs no matter what and it can create too many false positives.
lil pumpkin
14-03-2006, 06:07 PM
:smiliedance: Updated due dates with Newbies
1st Oct - annp (Ann)
2nd Oct - becbabe (Bec)
4th Oct - lilpumpkin (Linda)
5th Oct - chrissie-m (Chrissie), AnnaT (Anna), rockabye (Jo) & ourfirstbubba (Mary)
6th Oct - cheekychick32 & m_jelly
8th Oct - loulousmum
9th Oct - lesley
10th Oct - ali3099 (Ali)
11th Oct - jadelouise
12th Oct - holz & jembelina (Jem)
15th Oct - christiec
16th Oct - fablis (Lisa)(twins YAY!!), danik & little t's mum
19th Oct - brideofjabba (Andrea)
20th Oct - sd29 (Sharyn)
21st Oct - flower159 (Marion) & mumto2cheekyboys (Sarah)
22nd Oct - lee81 (Lee)
23rd Oct - karlee
25th Oct - firstbub (Jenny)
26th Oct - briannabear (Becca)
27th Oct - lolly75 (Laura) & Claire R (Claire)
29th Oct - sare (Sarah) & dangerkitty (Crystal)
30th Oct - dylansmummy
31st Oct - sonsangel (Sonia)
?? - suemp (Sue) have to wait for a week
35 Bubs due this month including 1 set of Twins
If i have left anyone out i am sorry.
suemp
15-03-2006, 12:16 PM
feeling not good today. dh and i woke up with the flu today. whats with me and picking up bugs lately, so that ontop of morning sickness sucks actually they combine and im not sure which is making me feel the worse. Had to take ds grocery shopping today, as soon as we got there i grabbed a oj to drink and kept leaning on the trolley for support.
linda. it must be hard being away from trent. my neighbour just did that . she is due monday (yes everyone around me is having babies) and her dh is there now however he works as a roadie for entertainment acts and travels aust so alot of her preg she was alone. luckily she had her mum near by.
its so good having you guys to talk to as dh does not talk about preg much (yet anyway) , my parents live in nsw and i only talk to them once a week and my mil (who i live with!!!!) did not want us to have another bub so she acts like i am not preg at all. i dont feel like i can talk to her about anything and go around hiding m/s. it sucks cos when i was preg with ds she was right into it. maybe she will warm to the idea. and as for moving out (cos i know you will ask y not) dh has just started a company less than 3 weeks ago so $ is really tight and we cant afford $350 a week to pay for rent at the moment.
take care all
sue:) :banghead:
lil pumpkin
15-03-2006, 02:38 PM
sue - Thanks for that. I have my mum and sisters atm and then will have a really good friend when i go to Queensland so i have support which is good i need it. Glad your neighbour did to. It can get lonely sometimes at home by yourself. I am sorry your MIL isn't as happy with this bub as she was with your ds. Hopefully as you say she will come around to the idea soon. When you start showing she can't deny it then can she? Hope the new business is going well for you both and continues to. A friend of mine is full of the flu and pregnant to, :fingerscrossed: it stays away from me, i couldn't handle that atm aswell. Get well soon:)
Sue - I have to say I really admire you, living with my in-laws (or my parents for that matter) is not something I could do. I hope dh's business gets off the ground soon so that you can get a place of your own. Hope you are feeling better. I am sure that I have read somewhere that while you are pregnant your immunity system alters to cope with the baby, making you more susceptible to little bugs. I remember I had that many colds when I was pregnant with dd.
I had my 1st major food aversion last night to steamed vegies of all things. DH was cooking dinner for me. I was fine until the smell started wafting to the family room. I had to run to the other end of the house while it was cooking and then I had my dinner (a piece of oven baked fish, 3 beans and a floret of broccoli) in the bedroom. The broccoli was almost impossible to eat. On the plus side sweet things are really making me feel gross too, so I am not eating as much of those either!
I have to share some exciting news with you all. dd has been shortlisted to be on a new range of nappies that are coming out soon. :smiliedance: She has the photo shoot in a couple of weeks and then when they are taken, they will chose between her and another toddler her age to go on the packaging depending on who takes the best photos on the day. :fingerscrossed: it's Eloise.
HanCh
15-03-2006, 07:27 PM
Hi girls! I made it on before the weekend!! Yay!!!!!! Just read through your posts and I am so glad to hear that I am not the only junk food addict at the moment. I saw a friend of mine today (havent seen her since christmas) she is 18 weeks pregnant, I am only 11 and we look like we are the same :( I have a feeling I am going to be HUGE by October :crying:
I have booked in to get an ultrasound on Tuesday. It is mainly to check my cysts . Hopefully they havent grown and I wont have to get them removed :fingerscrossed: It will be so good to see bubs again :D last time I could only see the little heartbeat beating away. Hopefully this time we will see an arm or something!!!!
Anyway, 2 days until the weekend...yay!!!! Have a great day tomorrow girls. Hopefully the M/S isnt too bad for you........
Briannabear
15-03-2006, 08:01 PM
Good luck for your scan Ali!
For all you girls with m/s I know how you feel - I hope it eases up for all of us very soon!!
Sue - sorry to hear you have the flue. I had the flue when I fell pg with my DD - it teamed up with m/s was horrid so I know your pain! :hugs:
Sare - How exciting! You must be very proud! :yelclap:
Becbabe
16-03-2006, 02:37 PM
Hey Girls,
Well from reading the threads I guess it's true what they say every pregnancy is different! I find it really reassuring, because if I'm noticing something a bit strange going on (eg a sudden aversion to lettuce, or losing weight everywhere but the waistline!) I don't panic, as it doesn't seem so weird when I log on here!
Hey Andrea, I reeeeally hope you feel better sooon - maybe it's the last bad bit you go through before it gets better? Best wishes & sympathy with you anyway!:kiss:
Hey Sue - you are a strong woman putting up with a MIL during pregnancy! My DP lived with his parents when we first started seeing each other, and though she's a nice lady, it nearly drove me mad having to see her every time I saw DP (which was only a weekend every fortnight!) Good luck controlling the stress instincts, just be good to yourself and feel sorry for her?
Lilpumpkin, I am just having my 12wk scan as I want to see my baby so badly, I just want to know that it's real and healthy - I still can't believe I've fallen so easily with the fertility problems in my family, it seems to good to be true. Wonder if I could ask them just to show me the baby and not check for anything else?! I am really excited but terrified as well...
Nice to hear from you again, Ali - good luck with the scan!
lil pumpkin
16-03-2006, 03:26 PM
Hey Bec you can just have ultrasound to see bub and not have the other one that they can do at the same time, ( thats what i did and to double check dates) just make sure doc doesn't put it on your ultrasound piece of paper, tell them you don't want it. Good Luck
Ali - Good Luck with your scan on the weekend too, hope all goes well.
Briannabear
16-03-2006, 03:50 PM
Hey all!
Tip for the day: Dont drink Strawberry smoothies because they hurt so bad coming up! :eek:
When is this morning sickness going to end........................................ I hate it :crying: . Im so sick of vomiting. :thumbsdown:
Its much worse than what it was with my DD. Maybe Im having a boy this time - that would be great! :smiliedance:
brideofjabba
16-03-2006, 04:27 PM
Becca - strawberry smoothies? really? oh man....another thing to add to my list of "things not to eat when you have m/s" Apples have been my worst experience. I discovered that with my ds and there is no way i am eating any this time!!!
I'm 9 wks today! Totally hoping that my m/s is going to ease up. But it doesn't seem to be yet. Everyday is just a struggle to get through.:crying:
M/s + a cold + pregnancy hormones + toddler = crazy, depressed, worn out woman.
I can't wait for this to be over and i can try and enjoy being pregnant. Its hard at the moment to be happy when i just want to curl up and die somewhere.
suemp
16-03-2006, 04:44 PM
brianna bear- your m/s sounds terrible unfortunately for my waist milk seems to soothe mine.
meat is my turn off. the same as preg with ds. which is no good as we need iron but im sorry i cant stomAch it
sorry if there is any animal lover out there but we just had 2 baby rats in the kitchen and 4yr old ds killed them both. i cant do it! since they killed my bird the other week weve declared war.
finnally i get my scan tomorrow. i am thinking i am 8 weeks (due 28th oct) so lets see how close i get.
living with mil is not good. god love her she works her butt off as a cleaner at dreamworld most days from 5-5 so long days. she comes home exhausted and all ds wants to do is play with her. its so hard trying to get him to let her rest as i am not going to yell at him cause he doing nothing wrong:banghead:
sare good luck with eloise photo campaign. its a cut throat industry its good shes got that far:fingerscrossed:
off to martial arts now. its horrible having to watch when you just want to jump up and spar someone but cant:crying:
hope you all have a great day tomorrow
sue
ps my stats are me 28
partner damien (blackie) 32
ds jake 4
1 dog billy (old)
1 deceased bird:crying:
AnnaT
16-03-2006, 05:50 PM
OMG Why didnt anyone say anything about apples being a morning sickness no no :crying: I had to find out the hard way on Tuesday :laughing: Ew it was THE grossest thing and I thought I was going to choke.
Im doing ok, some pains today, Im pretty sure its my uterus moving and a bit of gas :o 11+1 today, cant wait for my 12wk scan in a week and a bit :smiliedance:
brideofjabba
16-03-2006, 07:44 PM
Oh Anna - i'm so sorry!!!!! I should have warned you before!! Did you get any stuck in your nasal passages??? It is just the worst thing i have ever vomited.
I've had lots of pains too. I thought, geez i don't remember being in pain this early before - then i checkout out my journel from my first pregnancy and they started at 6weeks!! So nothing out of the ordinary. lol
M~T~J~M
16-03-2006, 08:00 PM
Anna T and brideofjabba - Apples seem to go down ok for me, it's peanut butter that is disgusting 2nd time round :barf: And the pains.... I know what you are talking about. I stopped having the Af like cramps about week 6 or so, then nothing. But, in the last week or so, I have been having pains down quite low, that sort of feel tight, like pulling or something, which I can't remember feeling in my previous pg's either (I'm sure I did though!!) Oh, well, I'm sure they are quite normal then.
I think that my m/s is slowly starting to ease up :fingerscrossed: I felt really good on Mon and Tues, then again on Wednesday morn. So good that I thought I would go for a walk. I hadn't walked for about 2 weeks, and by the time I got home i had been gone for and hour and 15 mins. Not long after I got home, I started feeling really sick, and I think I must have overdone it. I haven't felt too bad today, but it has been on and off, just not as bad. Will see how I am tomorrow, but hopefully it is starting to ease off, and I can start to feel normal again too! It is soooo hard to run around after two very lively little boys (3yrs, and 15 months) when I feel so terrible!!
Oh, I went and had my bloodtests, etc today in preparation for my obyn appoint on March 30. I hate needles, and usually either have to take someone with me, or I have to lay down. Anyway, I thought I would try being brave today, and went along with sitting up. I even told the chick that I hated needles, so hoped she would be a little gentle with me, iykwim! OMG!! Mental note.... lay down next time, and make sure I don't go there!! I swear, she must have used the hugest needle she had, as it absolutely killed from the second she put it in. I am still having trouble bending my arm now, and I had it done at 11.15 this morn. The joys, hey!!
I was chatting with my sister this arvo, who is due three weeks after me, and we were discussing finding out the sex of our babies. We are this time. we did with DS#1, then didn't with DS#2, but I need to know with #3. I can't possibly wait. Anyway, my sister isn't going to find out. Are any of you girls going to find out??
Well, I am absolutely exhausted, so off I go to nigh nigh land!! :sleeping:
Hope all is well
P.S - lilpumpkin - hope you are doing ok without Trent! :hugs: I sort of know how you feel (but not to that extent), as my DH is off truck driving for his first big trip on Sunday. He will be gone from Sunday to Thursday, then home till Sunday, and gone till Thursday again! Not looking forward to it, especially explaining to DS #1 & 2 why daddy is so late coming home from work!
M~T~J~M
16-03-2006, 08:01 PM
:eek: OMG!! Didn't realise I had babbled for that long, sorry!!
maybe1more
16-03-2006, 08:01 PM
Hi ladies just thought id put theres sites in just for fun and see if it can predict out babies sex, we`ll all find out in octber if it was right!
http://womens-place.com/pregnancy/chinesegender.php
http://www.thelaboroflove.com/chart/pred.html
maybe1more
16-03-2006, 08:06 PM
Both the quizzies say im having a GIRL!!! So i guess ill know at my 18 week scan(which feels likes forever away). What did the quiz say for you?
SonsAngel
16-03-2006, 08:25 PM
Both of those predict a boy for me for this one.
But for my DS they are both wrong and predicted a girl both times. So wonder if they got it right this time, hehe.
AnnaT
17-03-2006, 01:02 AM
Both tests say girl for me which I sincerely think is wrong. We'll see in another 5 weeks.
Andrea - Nope no apple stuck in the nasal passage, Im an upright puker so none of it goes up my nose lol Did get some stuck in my throat and took half the day to get out :thumbsdown: Froot loops is another food that doesnt look so good coming up..... Amazing that the first thought into a woman suffering m/s's mind is "Can I throw that up gracefully and not be grossed out my entire life?" :laughing: Im down to one puke every three days now so I guess its on the out!!!
Sarah - Im sorry you hate needles so much. Ive never been able to understand that fear, but then again Ive been jabbed so much throughout my life I kind of feel empty when they're not taking a vial of something regularly :laughing:
Great news for me today! A friend of mine who has been TTC for 3yrs is finally pregnant. 3 IUI's and her first IVF cycle later! She is due in November so I finally have someone to be closely pregnant with :smiliedance: Now we just have to pray everything goes well.
Briannabear
17-03-2006, 07:04 AM
Congratulations to your friend Anna!!
I did the predictors and it came up that I am having a boy - my guess as well! Oh well find out in 7 or so months hey! :yelclap:
M~T~J~M
17-03-2006, 07:49 AM
Morning. I have done both predictors and they were both correct with my first two DS, and this time say I am having a girl! It would be nice, but won't set anyhting in concrete till I find out at my scan!!:p
brideofjabba
17-03-2006, 09:08 AM
girl for me. though i think i'm having a boy. I guess we will find out in a few weeks!
little t's mum
17-03-2006, 10:14 AM
HI
Well both say I am having a boy this time. Which I have always imagined having two boys. Although everyone around me including my 2 yr old think it is going to be a girl.
First time around one said boy :thumbsup: second one said girl :thumbsdown:. Only 7 more months to wait and see.
Not telling anyone how I am feeling anymore as when ever I think I am getting better and say something to anyone the next day is a shocker.
No we aren't finding out the sex. DH wanted to find out secretly this time but I will be having a C-Section and will know the date so want something other than the weight to be a surprise. It was great when they announced that we had a beautiful baby boy last time.
Hope everyone has a great weekend. :smiliedance: Think I might make a chocolate cake. Suddenly have a craving. Mmmmmmm :chef:
Lt's M
suemp
17-03-2006, 10:15 AM
mine said a girl! which i "feel" is right . when i was preg with ds i did not believe in feeling the sex however 1 thing i noticed is i was only interested in looking at boys names . this time i am only interested in looking at girls names.
going for my 6 week scan today (abit late, the gold coast are popping them out at the moment, could not get in any earlier) as much as i cant wait to see when i am due i hate early scans. i had one done about 2 months ago as my gyno requested 1 as i have an odd placed cervix and its hard to do intrernals. i swear i nearly wet the table i was lying on. they kept saying your not full enough drink more drink more. than they were delayed in doing me. it took 3 times and by the end i had to stand in the waiting room, crossing my legs, not very lady like.
i would love to find out the sex as i am impatient. i agreed not to find out with ds as it was our first but i wanna know this time but dp doesnt so i cant find out cause i know id let it slip:banghead:
fablis :with twins do you want to know the sexes? i think i would.
have a good day all:hugs:
sue
Becbabe
17-03-2006, 10:19 AM
Mine both say girl! But I did a test earlier that was based on folklore, and it said 49% girl 51% boy! So who knows. We are going to find out if we can, but will be happy as long as it's healtyh normal human baby!:p
Regarding foods that aren't so great coming up - my friend was looking at me funny the other day, as we were munching on some snacks, and asked how I could stomach corn chips and salsa.... apparently she scratched her throat so badly throwing them up when she was pregnant she couldn't eat them again for years!
Mumto2 - I'm sorry you can't cope with peanut butter - when i was really nauseaous all day I would come home and eat toast with a bit of peanut butter... it was the only thing I could summon the energy to make and eat!
Lilpumpkin - I talked to my dp about it last night and he is keen to have the tests still...so I guess we will just be crossing our fingers really hard. We're not in any of the risk categories but you still worry don't you?
It's interesting that other people are having pains... I feel all sorts of twitches, spasms etc down there, only a couple have been painful but they all make you stop and go "hey, what the hell was that??" I tend to feel something like tension, like my muscles are contracting for a while? Sort of a heaviness? Hard to describe a feeling that's new to you!
suemp
17-03-2006, 10:22 AM
another good site is www.pregnancy.about.com/ on it you can do the wives tale about determining the sex of bub (mine said girl too) and also there is a gallery of preg bellies at every week so you can see that small growths and large growths are all normal.
lil pumpkin
17-03-2006, 01:05 PM
Both said Boy for me and i feel/think that is what we are having, will find out for sure in about 6weeks time. I have to go alone cause only Trent and i are going to know the sex.
Sarah - explaining to the boys must be hard, they will look forward to the day you say, Daddy's coming home.:D Being pregnant but makes it heaps emotional to say goodbye and that sucks.:thumbsdown:
suemp
17-03-2006, 01:33 PM
FINALLY got scan, bub is 7 wk 4 day so my date of 28th oct is about right. mind you only about 10 % of babies come on due date so my due date not a big deal to me. i saw bub heart beat. apparently where i got this scan done does not do 12 wk scan so i have to go else where. i have to have 12 wk scan to test for spina bifida as epilepsy tablets strip your body of folate:fingerscrossed:
lil pumpkin
17-03-2006, 01:37 PM
Glad you now have an edd to work to Sue. :fingerscrossed: That your 12week scan goes ok for Spina Bifida, sure it will:D
lil pumpkin
17-03-2006, 01:38 PM
:smiliedance: Updated due dates with Newbies
1st Oct - annp (Ann)
2nd Oct - becbabe (Bec)
4th Oct - lilpumpkin (Linda)
5th Oct - chrissie-m (Chrissie), AnnaT (Anna), rockabye (Jo) & ourfirstbubba (Mary)
6th Oct - cheekychick32 & m_jelly
8th Oct - loulousmum
9th Oct - lesley
10th Oct - ali3099 (Ali)
11th Oct - jadelouise
12th Oct - holz & jembelina (Jem)
15th Oct - christiec
16th Oct - fablis (Lisa)(twins YAY!!), danik & little t's mum
19th Oct - brideofjabba (Andrea)
20th Oct - sd29 (Sharyn)
21st Oct - flower159 (Marion) & mumto2cheekyboys (Sarah)
22nd Oct - lee81 (Lee)
23rd Oct - karlee
25th Oct - firstbub (Jenny)
26th Oct - briannabear (Becca)
27th Oct - lolly75 (Laura) & Claire R (Claire)
28th Oct - suemp (Sue)
29th Oct - sare (Sarah) & dangerkitty (Crystal)
30th Oct - dylansmummy
31st Oct - sonsangel (Sonia)
35 Bubs due this month including 1 set of Twins
If i have left anyone out i am sorry.
Briannabear
17-03-2006, 01:45 PM
Look at all those babies due in Oct!! How exciting!! :yelclap:
Luvmytum
17-03-2006, 09:52 PM
Not sure if everyone is still reading the other thread so thought I'd post my message in here also.
Hope everyone is going well. Unfortunately I went for my 11 wk scan yesterday & found that my baby no longer had a heartbeat & had stopped growing at about 6weeks. I'd had spotting every day for 3 wks & sort of had a feeling all was not OK after my 8.5 wk scan which said I was only 6 wks which was confusing. So, I guess I officially had a mc yesterday as I then went in to hospital & had a currette (if that;s how you spell it - no idea)
Although i'm sad, God does these things for a reason......
I hope you all are doing REALLY WELL & I'm sorry to bring bad news along..... Best of luck to everyone & if I'm lucky enough to fall pg again in the next few months I'll drop in and let you know.
xxx Sharyn
maybe1more
18-03-2006, 12:37 AM
Sharyn- im truely so very very sorry for your loss:crying: , I know how emotion this can be, as i lossed my last bub at 11 and a half weeks. Hang in there, i hope you have lots of suport around you, and you will have your good and bad days but its natural. Feel free to pm me if you ever what to chat:hugs:
AnnaT
18-03-2006, 12:42 AM
Sharyn Im so sorry to hear that. Ive been there and I know there is nothing I can say to make it better but if you need anything, even just a chat, you know where to find me :hugs:
HanCh
18-03-2006, 07:04 AM
Sharyn - I have PM'd you.......
Briannabear
18-03-2006, 07:34 AM
I posted you a message on the other thread but I'll post one here too.
Im so sorry to hear of your sad news. :crying: Huge hugs for you. :hugs: :hugs:
suemp
18-03-2006, 08:11 AM
Very sorry to hear of your loss Sharyn:crying:
God does do these things for a reason but that does not make it any easier.
we will all be thinking of you and looking out for you in future posts.
all the best to you and your husband
sue:hugs:
Sharyn, I was so sorry to hear about your loss. Take care of yourself.:hugs:
suemp
18-03-2006, 07:55 PM
today i am 7wk and 5 day and spot bleeding. any one else bleed around this time?:confused:
Briannabear
19-03-2006, 07:06 AM
I havent personally Sue - but I have experienced period cramps around when my period would 'normally' be due. Maybe its just something to do with that? I have heard that it can be fairly normal.
If you're unsure though see your doc. They might do an ultrasound or a series of blood tests to make sure everything is ok.
HanCh
19-03-2006, 08:19 AM
Suemp - that is around the time i started spotting....I stopped for a couple of days and then the next week i was bleeding quite heavily - thought i was having a miscarriage, went for an ultrasound and everything was fine. If you are worried go see your doctor, especially if you have a negative blood type because they will have to give you an anti D injection. Good luck :)
Mookie
19-03-2006, 11:31 AM
I've just caught up on everything from the last week.
Sharyn, I'm soooo sorry to hear your sad news. I'm thinking of you - just take one day at a time for now. I know how it feels too and am really feeling for you.
I've been off work a few days again this week with MS. Vomiting every day now, at all times of the day (even 3.00am!). I've actually hit the 12wk mark today (yaaayyyyy!), so surely it will get better soon.
I had my 2nd ob appt on Thu & the dr was really pleased - she did a quick ultrasound to check bubs heartbeat. I saw bub moving - it was an amazing feeling!! I have my nuchal ultrasound on Fri morning this week - I decided to get one as I'll be almost/just hit 35 when bub arrives. Hope all is ok.
Anyway, off for a rest now. I hope everyones weeks are good - here's to MS soon ceasing!
-Ann
brideofjabba
19-03-2006, 12:12 PM
Sharyn - very sorry to hear of your loss :( I lost my baby at 8.5 weeks but i was only measuring 5.3. Even though i'm pregnant again now, i'm still sad about it.
I hope you find some peace and comfort.
Becbabe
19-03-2006, 02:24 PM
12 weeks today!!! Very exciting. AnnP - I also have my nuchal scan on Friday morning - an important day for me as I haven't seen the baby yet,:smiliedance: & I'll be thinking of you too! Are you taking anyone in with you? My DP is coming as he was keen to have the test done and is itching to see what's in there too.
I'm feeling so much better now I have just spent the afternoon cooking (what i used to do with free weekends before I was sick and tired all day!)
suemp
19-03-2006, 03:27 PM
This morning was terrible i woke up still bleeding, extremely nauseus, abit scared and when you are stressed (with me anyway) epilepsy is alot worse when stressed so my head was going crazy even half my face went numb ( a new 1 for me) . dopey dp was in bed sleeping till 10 so i got heaps of support...not. i went in at 1 stage and told him i was bleeding his responce "why" than went back to sleep. i think it would be easier on my own half the time. less stress. any way went to diff doc as mine shut on sun. saw a lovely female doc who wrote me a letter to see gold coast hospital first thing tomorrow to get blood test and u/s. here are the statistics she gave me. 1/3 of preg women will bleed. Less than 1/2 of those will miscarry. but that still sounds high. she said it looks good for me though. apparently when the placenta forms and attaches (about this time) it can cause bleeding. i am so tired. ds is watching t.v so i might lay down:thumbsup:
HanCh
19-03-2006, 03:31 PM
OOHHH what have you been cooking Becbabe? I am still feeling very quezzy and am finding it really difficult thinking about what to cook for dinner each night...... DB works most nights so it is up to me to cook. I ask my DD for advice but because she is 6 she suggests Mcdonalds (surprise surprise!!)........
We are going to go out for dinner tomorrow night. Hopefully I will be able to eat it. Last time we went out, I thought I really felt like chicken, but when it was placed infront of me all I could manage eating was the chips.....
I have my ultrasound on Tuesday. If everything is going ok, we are going to tell DD the exciting news! I cant wait to see her face when we tell her. I think she already has some idea though.......
Well enjoy the rest of your weekend girls and I hope the :barf: stops for everyone VERY soon!!!!!
katewallis
20-03-2006, 08:37 AM
Hey everyone, just found my way from the other thread. I am due on 15 October.
I have an appt with the ante natal clinic today to talk to doc about testing for muscular dystrophy (has happened in family), and I recently found out that my mum and her grandmother have an incompetant cervix. Bit worrying really, but I guess I'll wait and wee what the doc says.
Congratulations to everyone on your pregnancy's and my deepest sympathies go out to those with bad news of late.
lesley
20-03-2006, 12:10 PM
hi all,
i am so sorry to hear some of the bad news that has happened lately all i can do is say sorry and send you all a big hug girls .
well i hit 12 weeks on Wednesday and have my first anti appointmemt on the 27 of next month i dont know about anyone else but we go straight to out patients at the local hospital so i guess i should have asked about this a bit earlier and booked in then but as it was i had to wait almost 2 months and i dont think thats rite for anyone but its partly my fault too i know . but if i lived 4 streets the other way its a whole different system but anyway ms:barf: has slown down still very tired and worn out still cant seem to have anything with milk in it or i feel worse i managed to quit smoking 4 weeks now (i know it should be 12 weeks) but am happy with 4 for now anyway i better go now hope everyone takes care till next time. lesley
Becbabe
20-03-2006, 01:05 PM
Hi & welcome Katewallis. Good luck with your appointment & health in general.
Ali - I was very excited about being able to cook, as usually I have been to tired and sick feeling. It's a strange hobby that way - you sure can't do it when you're sick! I made a roast lamb for dinner, then while that was in the oven I made some date & rice bubble slice (one of my favourite things, I can eat a whole pan!) Not much but it made me happy. For weeknight dinners when i was feeling sick and totally stuffed, I made a heap of casseroles & things from the www.campbellssoup.com website, there are recipes that are basically frozen veg+ uncooked rice + meat+a tin of soup straight in the oven and dinner is ready in an hour! They saved us from the junk food trap for the last couple of months. :chef:
Isn't it funny how you'll be dying for some type of food, then you finally have it and can only eat a couple of mouthfuls?
Hey good luck with the u/s too. We go on Friday, I can't wait, but am fairly apprehensive too!
suemp
20-03-2006, 01:29 PM
went to hospital today, they cant find out a reason for bleeding , all looks well. my hcg levels are a whooping 130000 for 8 weeks no wonder i getting m/s. i decided to ask mum if she will fly up for a week soon cause i just not coping, physically emotionally. i have little support up here. i hope she says yes but i doubt it. there prob be something more important on like a bowls tournament (im not joking!! since she retired she gone lawn bowls mad and you cant let down your team):cool: :bday: :ecomcity: (sorry ds wanted those smilies!)
fablis
20-03-2006, 03:05 PM
Hi everyone!! I have been mia for a few days - have just been feeling really lousy and also very busy at work etc. Feel like I am catching up at bit now after the weekend.
I had an appointment with my OB last Wednesday and he did another scan. Everything was looking really good and bubs were right on target. I am 10 weeks today and today is actually the best day I have had in ages. I am tired but don't feel anywhere near as queasy. YIPPEE!!
Sharyn, I am so sorry to hear about your loss. There is not much to say that can bring comfort at times likes these but I hope that you will pull through okay and try again soon. :hugs:
Sue, I had red spotting for one day when I was 7.2 weeks. From what I read I think it was caused by the bubs digging nice and deep into the lining of the uterus. It is around that time that the placenta and umbilical cord are forming. I have heard it referred to as "breakthrough bleeding". I have had nothing since that date.
I don't think I am going to find out the sex of my babies. I think I can be organised enough and have plenty of unisex stuff so that when they are born, I will get a lovely surprise. I can't wait!!
Anyway girls, for those of you who are still terribly ill, I hope you are feeling better soon. Chat later ....:ecomcity:
Briannabear
20-03-2006, 05:29 PM
I don't think I am going to find out the sex of my babies. I think I can be organised enough and have plenty of unisex stuff so that when they are born, I will get a lovely surprise. I can't wait!!
From personal experience I can say that the wait is sooooo worth it! The surprise is awesome!
Im still so sick. :crying: My throat is sore because of all the vomiting! I went to my naturopath/ homeopath and she has given me some drops to take. Hopefully I'll be feeling better in no time!
To all the mummies who have reached their second trimester - YAY FOR YOU!!! :yelclap: Its so exciting! Ive still got a few weeks to go yet. :rolleyes:
loulousmum
20-03-2006, 07:10 PM
Hi Everyone, It's been a busy week just gone and I've only just had a chance to catch up on news good and bad.
Anna, I am due on the same day as you and also have my u/s on Monday morning at 12 weeks 1 day. I'm looking forward to what happens as my 8 week scan indicated that I'd ovulated a week later than I'd thought and I was only 7 weeks. I was a little worried about whether the baby was growing properly but the doctor said that both the scan and the dates can be a couple of days out so nothing too much to worry about.
Tried both guess the sex websites and they say boy. I also checked them for my first baby and they said boy - completely wrong! Anyway, we are going to find out soon at the 18 week scan so the wait will be over!
Blood tests tomorrow to complement the scan for Monday. I'm not a fan of the blood test but I'd rather have one for this reason than the old monthly test for clomid!
Hope your morning sickness is improving and the energy is returning everyone! I'm starting to feel human again!
suemp
20-03-2006, 08:25 PM
how do all you ladies get to have a 12 week scan? my nuero has asked for 1 and i am still finding it hard to get 1. the place i got 6 week one does not do them at all and either does the gold coast hospital. it seems if i want one i have to look around and pay a;ot for it. youd think if my nuero referred me for 1 it should be seen as necessary not "elective" . :confused:
Briannabear
21-03-2006, 06:07 AM
I never had one with my first baby Sue. I was in the public system and they didnt see the point because I was in a low risk category.
It seems strange that your Neurologist has requested one but still cant get one??!
lesley
21-03-2006, 07:34 AM
hey guys
you are all so lucky to have had a u/s already i wish i had i just feel liking i am eating and getting fatter then wake up the next day with ms it just dose not feel like i am pregnant at all but i will get mine in a 6 weeks i guess. Good luck to you all that are having scans and test done this week
SAY WELL :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
lesley
Hi everyone. How exciting for everyone that is in their 2nd trimester. I still have 4 weeks to go. On the plus side I have my 1st OB appointment next week, so I will FINALLY get to see this bub and know that everything is ok.
Lesley, I am so with you on the sometimes it doesn't feel like i'm pg at all. Other times i have shocking m/s, which quickly reminds me!!! I feel like I'm eating all the time and am definitely feeling really bloated towards the end of the day. Don't they say that you start to show earlier with your 2nd? That's certainly the case for me.
Sue, good news about your HCG levels. How are you going? I didn't have a problem organising the nuchal scan, I think it's pretty common in Melb. Do you have to get it done at the hospital or a private clinic?
Take care everyone.
suemp
21-03-2006, 08:41 AM
sare i have tried both a clinic and the hospital (who both bulk bill) and both said they wont scan at 12 weeks as its not necessary. i guess i have to talk to my gp about it. the nurse at the hospital said if i pretend i want a scan to see if bubs got downs not spina bifida i might get away with it. how stupid. id rather a downs baby then one with severe spina bif ( for someone in the health care i have worked with both)
Briannabear
21-03-2006, 09:46 AM
Don't they say that you start to show earlier with your 2nd? That's certainly the case for me.
You sure do! :thumbsup: Im 9 weeks on Thursday and I already have a little bump! Its really noticable because Im so petite. :rolleyes:
Becbabe
21-03-2006, 01:57 PM
Hey Suemp, that's weird that they won't let you have a scan. My GP tried to talk me out of it as we're not in any of the "risk categories" for Down's, but as I don't see my OB for the first time for another couple of weeks, we just were desperate to see the baby so said we wanted a nuchal scan.
All you experienced mums - does the tiredness go away or do you feel like this all through pregnancy? I'm absolutely stuffed most days, and don't want to do anything in the afternoons. I've tried to have some kind of social life on the weekends, but staying up past 11 seems to guarantee I'll be tired and grouchy for the next few days! I'm glad the m/s has gone but still feel like I'm dragging myself through work....
fablis - glad your scan went well. I'm still holding my breath for Friday!
Briannabear
21-03-2006, 02:56 PM
All you experienced mums - does the tiredness go away or do you feel like this all through pregnancy? I'm absolutely stuffed most days, and don't want to do anything in the afternoons. I've tried to have some kind of social life on the weekends, but staying up past 11 seems to guarantee I'll be tired and grouchy for the next few days!
I personally found that the tiredness eased up in the second trimester, but came back in full by the end of my third trimester. (mainly due to lack of sleep - baby doing lots of jumping and jabbing!)
Mookie
21-03-2006, 03:38 PM
Hi Ladies :)
Hope your weeks are going well so far.
MS is still with me as well as a head cold, so I'm not the funnest person to be around at the moment - am off work again. At least my boss is understanding about it all.
Becbabe - you have your nuchal scan on Fri also! I'm feeling a bit nervous about it - I hope it's all ok :fingerscrossed: . My DH is coming with me, I wouldnt like to go for that on my own. Let us know how you go & I'll do the same. I'll be thinking of you too.
Kate - I hope all your tests go well also. It must be a bit nerve-racking.
Good luck everyone else having scans etc & Suemp I hope you'll be able to organise one somehow - it sounds very frustrating for you.
Luvmytum
21-03-2006, 05:10 PM
Just thought I'd drop you all a note to say "hi" and hope you're all going well.
Thanks to everyone for such nice replies to my message. We're doing well - ****ty, but good! Confusing times....
But Ann, Suemp, Briannabear, Ali, Anna, Jenny & anyone else I've missed - thanks for your emails.
Take care everyone
xx Sharyn
katewallis
21-03-2006, 06:32 PM
Hey all,
My appt went really well, the doc is not concerned at all about the incompetant cervix as it is not hereditary :smiliedance:
The muscular dystrophy thing is only the mildest chance, but they are sending me to a genealogical counsellor to map out the probability and therefore the need for tests.
We did a quick ultrasound to make sure that everything is ok and she said that she could see the heart beating away happily!!! YAY!!! I have been feeling so weird that I have started to question if I am pregnant at all!!! (you know what I mean :))
So basically everything is going well for us and I couldnt be more grateful. Thankyou Universe!!!!:thumbsup:
Nanny
21-03-2006, 07:41 PM
Just for those who may not have read my other post my name is Naomi I have 3 boys David 7, Tyler 6, Jacob 4 and i'm currently 11weeks and 4 days with No 4. I just booked my NT Scan today but was a bit disheartned cause then clinic can't get me in till Friday the 31st:thumbsdown: it will make me exactly 13weeks which they said is still ok to test for down etc. I was so looking forward to seeing bub this week but I guess i can wait one more. My MS has settled down alot the last couple of days but I'm still tired all the time seems I can't get through the day without my Nanna nap LOL. Anyone else feeling like this??
Take care of yourselves.
Briannabear
22-03-2006, 06:03 AM
Dont worry you're not alone! I need a nanna nap at least once a day!
brideofjabba
22-03-2006, 08:19 AM
Hi everyone. Sorry i've been mia for a couple of days too. Been sick as a dog as usual. I'm 10 wks tomorrow and hoping this craziness with abate a little. Yesterday i had a 3 hour nap. Luckily my mum was over so she looked after my ds. lol i was soooo tired. I found though in my first pregnancy that i was tired the whole time. I kept waiting for it to get better but it didn't. Kinda like the morning sickness:(
Is anyone going public? I am still waiting for my 12 wk appointment at the antenatel clinic but haven't heard anything. I'll probably have to call them:rolleyes:
As for showing - i feel huge! lol I have a pair of pants that i got at Vinnies that when i got them home they were heaps too big for me, hanging off my hips, crouch around my knees. lol well, they fit now!!!! The crazy thing is that i am 1/2 kg less then i was when i got pregnant, so its not fat!! lol
We're going to have to start posting some belly pics!!:)
Take care everyone!
brideofjabba
22-03-2006, 08:36 AM
i forgot, i was going to ask if anyone was having any pain in their pubic bone? I don't remember having it this early before. Yesterday it hurt to walk.
lesley
22-03-2006, 08:38 AM
hi all
how good dose it feel to get to 12 weeks (sorry) but i have been so craving milk but could not have it as it made me feel sick congrats to everyone on the positive test results i wanna see my baby now the girls at work keep telling me i have a bad case of baby brain (forgetfulness) i am so bad i would forget my head if it weren't screwed on tight i feel like the biggest idiot :o i have to leave my self little notes or get them left for me :) any way everyone here is so excited only 6 weeks and we will be half way now that getting scary well take care girls
:thumbsup: lesley:thumbsup:
Becbabe
22-03-2006, 11:12 AM
katewallis - great to hear to good news! Glad your scan went well.
Naomi - hi & welcome! I'm hearing you about the naps. But if someone doesn't wake me up they turn into 2 hour sleeps at any time of day!
Brideofjabba - it's comforting when the scales say it's not fat isn't it! I'm still 3.5kgs lighter than I was when I got pregnant, but I was already quite overweight so the doc says I might not put on much weight. But all the pants that I didn't wear much before as they were "too saggy" are now my only comfortably pants!
Lesley - the absent minded syndrome is driving me mad... I keep forgetting to put things in recipes! And it's hard for working with fiddly computer programs at work - I regularly forget one little piece of the process and then have to do an hour's worth of work over.... gargh!!!
12 weeks is a great feeling... you're right about that! Both my best mates m/c'd at 8 wks so I was glad to get past that mark too.:)
suemp
22-03-2006, 11:53 AM
hi all. well i sound like the only one putting on weight and mine is fat:crying:
i keep giving myself treats telling myself im preg , feel like **** and deserve it. it will take me forever to work it off when jnr comes. i still spotting but they said unless it gets alot worse dont worry about it as they did a scan and saw nothing bad.
brideofjabba: i am going public. they were **** last time and prob be this time too. my doc wrote hosp a note weeks ago requesting i see an ob straight away due to epilepsy and i still have not heard from them.
when i was due to have ds i thought my waters broke and went to hosp, they said my cervix intact so i prob wet myself.the next day it kept leaking out (and felt like a period((us women know the feeling well male docs dont))) went back to hospital told i was staying the night. as soon as i went up to the ward the nurses had to smell my pads (charming) as your waters has a distict smell. they said thats your waters youll have a baby tonight if not they will induce you in the morning. by this time i was going thru clothes every half an hour as its quite watery it goes straight thru pads. the doc did rounds the next day and refused to induce me saying i was still wetting myself!!!!! a nurse rang and told the male doc it was my waters and to do something so they agreed to induce me the next day.
by the time ds was born via emergency c , i was bone dry which is not good for the babies, so i do not like public, although there are prob incompetent male doc in priv too.
does anyone know the wives tale about hanging a ring on a strand of hair over your belly and letting it sway or go in circles? mine goes in circles and i cant remember if thats ment to mean a girl or boy. still really sic in morning and night but actually feel ok during the day, still tired though
my tiredness ended at week 12 last preg but everything is diff this time around i dont know wat to expect.
:hugs: sue
bs bride of jabba - is jabba your dh nickname? my dp is called blackie as he is part islander and majority of his mates have nicknames including a greenie and a pinkie. men are strange heah!:ecomcity:
Briannabear
22-03-2006, 12:16 PM
I did the ring thing too Sue and it is going in circles too! Dont know what it means.
As for public V private thing, I had a rotten public hospital experience with my first so Im going private this time.
But you're right... theres bad and good docs at both.
loulousmum
22-03-2006, 12:25 PM
I think my last message said that the tiredness and ms had slowed down, unfortunately I am home from work today with a vomiting virus. Had to stop on side of M1 on way into city for a spew :barf: . Very embarrassing given that it was peak hour and the traffic was moving slowly enough for everyone to see. They probably thought I was hungover! Then I got to the blood test place for my 12 week tests and the woman called out infront of everyone that I needed to pee in a jar. I got the jar went all the way to the toilet and it was locked. I went back and they gave me a key on a chain attached to a tennis ball. Could it get worse? I was then walking to my conference and had to stop for another spew in the gardens in front of the law courts. It was at about this time I realised this was more than just ms!!
Went to doctors this morning and got some maxallon. Relief at last. They tried to hear heartbeat but no action. Maybe a bit early yet. 11 weeks 3 days.
Bride of Jabba: Pubic bone pain started around this time for me last time and I'm sorry to say, it only gets worse. Acupuncture helped a lot but really resting and a hot water bottle were the only things that brought me relief. Good news is that I read a study that said women with this pain have faster labours! And mine sure was fast!
Re scan: medicare won't pay for it unless you are "of advanced maternal age" or do something tricky like say that you have had cramps or bleeding etc. Otherwise you are up for about $180. I guess you need to decide whether you can afford it or bring yourself to tell a white lie in order to get their attention? All public hospitals have this equipment, so they should be able to refer you from the emergency room if you go that way.
I am now going for a little sleep, nighty nights...:sleeping:
brideofjabba
22-03-2006, 12:26 PM
Sue - i'd be going private if i could afford it. I'm not planning any more babies fora few years if at all, so might be able to afford it by the time i make up my mind.
A similar thing happened to my friend. Her water broke and the hospital sent her home. She had placenta previa too(which they would have known!). She went back to the hospital because she knew it wasn't right. She ended up with an emergency c/s and the baby was deprived of oxygen and got brain damage. Poor little guy. He's the cutest thing.
Womans instincts are always!
My dhs nickname isn't jabba. lol Its just something stupid a friend and i made up a while ago. We thought it would be a great logo for a shirt....with a pic of Jabba The Hutt on it. lol silly really. but what can i say? i'm a star wars fan!
m_jelly
22-03-2006, 05:07 PM
hmm re scan - I've got my nuchal scan booked in at RBH for 3rd April, and I called to see how much it would cost - the answer was NOTHING. They won't charge me a single thing, not even a gap. I'm just medicare, no hcc or anything either. Gosh, I hope they don't change their mind on the day!
I'm going for shared care I think - my mother always had her babies at home (all 10 of them) so my concession to actually go to a hospital for number 1 is as good as it gets for us old school hippies. From what I've read here about OBs I'm not particularly fussed to get one - my gp can do my checkups and my midwife can catch :laughing: . I'm still waiting to be advised of my checking in appointment time so I can verify my plan is doable.
Briannabear
22-03-2006, 05:22 PM
Have you thought of going to a birth centre instead of a hospital M_Jelly? Its supposed to be a more relaxed enviroment.
AnnaT
22-03-2006, 06:10 PM
Sorry Ive been slack about checking in!
12 weeks today YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
2nd trimester here I come! I have my nuchal on monday which we are super excited about, no more :barf: just a bit of a yukky feeling when I wake up which brekky cures!
Im going private as Ive always been in a health fund, just to long a wait for surgery etc without it. So worth the $2300 a year for both hubby and I too be fully covered. This birth is costing me ZILCH :thumbsup:
Lucky you m_jelly, my nuchal is costing me $133 of which is get NOTHING back. I didnt really want to have it as our risk for any abnormalities is practically zero but my OB insisted no one was that safe. Eh its a chance to see bubby again which is fine by us!
loulousmum
22-03-2006, 06:44 PM
Anna T, I'm with you, always had private and last time around my care cost nothing but the doctor's insurance payment at 21 weeks. But my private health covered the gap between the medicare part and the cost of my two scans. Maybe you should check it out, lots of health funds don't advertise what you can get for obvious reasons!
Also, my fund has a deal where if you are ready to go home early they pay for a midwife to visit and give you free nappies. I didn't find hospital very restful last time - bells ringing throughout the night etc. so I plan to go home early this time all being well!
ikis84
22-03-2006, 07:33 PM
Well, after my ultrasound last thursday I realised that I need to move from the September to the October thread!!
So hope you like me in ur thread ;)
I thought I was due on the 24th September, but according to the measurments at the nuchal scan it showed I wasn't as far as I thought... (at least I got to see bubs... like the pic?!) So now the due date is 1st of october... so maybe add a week onto that and it'll be right!!
I am now 12wks 3 days and my m/s is much better - no more :barf: , just a little quesy in the morning, whereas before it was all day!! I am still pretty tired and have to have nanna naps, but hubby is being really good with cooking dinner, cleaning and looking after me, not minding me being a little less motivated to do housework!! Hopefully it doesn't run out!!
Looking forward to sharing the pregnancy journey with all of you...
AnnaT
23-03-2006, 01:17 AM
Welcome Ikis :)
We dont mind adding another mama-to-be to our ranks but be warned, we are a very BIG group!
Loulou - was your nuchal covered?? I didnt think u/s were covered under private insurance. The only money I pay out is the $20 difference ($10 after reach safety net) in my OB appointment fee's. Def doable if I dont have to fork out $1000's for the labour and delivery :eek:
As for everyone who's hubby's help them out, lucky you :p Mine thinks not complaining about something once a month is helping me. It sucks.
Briannabear
23-03-2006, 06:23 AM
Congrats Anna on reaching 12 weeks!!
Welcome Ikis84!!
Yesterday was the first day in 3 weeks that I havent vomited!! I felt sick but didnt actually throw up! Im so proud of myself! Hopefully I have another day like that today.......:smiliedance:
little t's mum
23-03-2006, 08:30 AM
HI Girls
Congrats to everyone who has reached 12 weeks and gotten to see bubs. And hugs to those with bad news.
Well we are off to first OB appointment today so excited. Can't wait to see heartbeat.!!
Touch wood I am starting to feel better. Still as tired as anything and am in bed by 7:30 if I don't get my nanna nap.
DS has been really sick with flu this last week and we haven't had many good nights sleep with the constant coughing. Is on Anti-B's now so is doing much better but still not 100%.
Anyway those who are feeling good stay well and those who aren't hope it ends soon.
Will try and check in tonight and let you know how OB's appt went.
Lt's M
Mookie
23-03-2006, 08:31 AM
A big welcome to you Ikis84:) ! I'm due on 1/10 also. I have my nuchal scan tomorrow morning, so maybe my date will change from 1/10? Will wait & see.
This n/scan is going to cost $210 - I'm not sure if we can claim anything back from medicare or not? I'm booked in for 7.30am which I'm now thinking may be a bad move. I'm going to have to get up pretty damn early to eat some breakfast to hopefully stop myself vomiting & then get the water into me to have an hour to then hold it (ie hold it from both ends as I'm worried I'll bring it all back up!!!). I had a trial run yesterday & it was pretty uncomfortable. How has everyone else found that, who have had n/scans?
Loulousmum - I hope you're feeling heaps better now. Did the maxallon help you? I found they made me really drowsy - there's no way I could take them at work.
Mjelly - I think someone mentioned birth centres as a possibility to you. A friend of mine went to one in Bri & loved it - said it was a great experience. The only thing that put me off was she said she had to go home that same day. As a first time Mum I dont know if I'd like that.
Thought my MS might have been settling down, but I had to run off halfway thru this msge to have a chuck. Lovely! Think I'll have a little lie down now.
Good luck with your nuchal scan tomorrow too Becbabe.
lesley
23-03-2006, 08:59 AM
HI all
well so far today is a good day i feel good not tired not sick just healthy and getting bigger and bigger but i was thinking last night i am not eating much more than normal just more frequently and more healthy , i went too my doc yesterday and asked him if we could get a 12 week scan he had no problem writing the form out so its booked for Monday the 27th at 11am i am so excited i was almost jumping around at work yesterday the girls were looking at me like a crazy person but just to know that i have a u/s booked and we will finally see the little bundle of joy for the 1st time sent me in to happy land(even more crazy and stupid than the last couple pf weeks)but most of them understood when i told them . well thats it for now i have to go to work now so c u all later.
LESLEY
me 25
:) dh26
:) 29.5.97
:) 1.9.98
:) 6.7.02
EDD 09.10.06
katewallis
23-03-2006, 12:44 PM
Well yesterday was probably the hardest day I can remember. I started bleeding at about 3.30pm, went to the hospital and eventually found out that sometime in the last 2 days the baby's heartbeat had stopped. I was taken into surgery last night to have everything removed and got home at about 2.30 this morning. Now I am sore and sorry but I think I am going to be ok.
mrsrobo
23-03-2006, 12:54 PM
I'm so sorry to hear that I don't know what you must be going through. :hugs:
m_jelly
23-03-2006, 04:48 PM
I considered a birth centre, and I don't mind leaving same day (provided the cleaning fairies visit while im gone). I am going to ask the doc about local places tomorrow and see what he says.
I just went shpping for my first fat pants. Can i just recommend Pumpkin Patch at DFO for Brisbane girls? The materntiy range isnt wide, but it is over half price discount from the stores and the baby gear is discounted as well. So you come home all warm and fuzzy and stocked up with small cute things (and large comfy things)
ikis84
23-03-2006, 07:15 PM
Hey Ladies,
AnnP: In regards to your date changing it is possible, but if you are fairly certain of your LMP and the length of your cycle then it should stay the same, give or take a day or two... good luck with your scan tomorrow - it is so great seeing bubs on the screen! I only paid an $85 gap fee for my u/s. BTW, I only had to drink 500mls of water, which was really easy to do - but 7:30am is bad... I really value my sleep lately!
Lesley: It is very exciting waiting for the first scan isn't it!!! I felt both a mixture of excitement and containment - it wasn't until after the scan that the whole pregnancy thing felt real... it was great seeing it and I got them to email me the picture - it is now my proud wallpaper for my pc!!
katewallis: I am so sorry to hear your news... my thoughts and prayers are with you.
m_jelly: Comfy pants are just what I need right now!! I went and bought some maternity tops and a pair of pants, but I am really not ready for the pants yet, but my own just aren't fitting properly... considering buying some normal larger size pants, as they will probably be suitable for after the birth... But i just cant bring myself to do it!!!
Is anyone else finding that they are getting extreemly bloated over very little?? I looked huge this afternoon, but nearly all of it was bloat!!! At least I have an excuse and can just stick it out (but embarrasing when people as how far along you are and you say 12 weeks!!!):o
I'll stop :ecomcity: :ecomcity: ing now!!
loulousmum
24-03-2006, 06:05 AM
Kate W - how truly horrible. I read your byline about living like you mean it and I can only hope that this amazing mindset towards life and the power of positive thinking stays with you in this hardest of times.
Lesley and Anna T, I think we are all in the scan on Monday boat! Looking forward to the news on Monday afternoon! Only three sleeps to go!
Welcome to everyone else who has joined. I'm sure you'll be much better correspondents than I but that the experience of joining our little October family will enrich your pregnancy in ways that you never imagined an online community could!:)
lesley
24-03-2006, 06:46 AM
hi ladies
i am getting excited now i only have three days till my 1st scan but dh wont be able to make it so he was a little disappointed about that but he can still see the pics later and be at my next scan my 3yr old will have to come with me as i have no one to look after her but she is excited about the baby so maybe this will make it more real for her .
Has anyone else lost it at work for no reason my boss was talking to me yesterday when he left that was it down came the waterfall i cried non stop for that long i gave my self a headache i felt like the biggest idiot .
Kate : I am so sorry to hear about your loss make sure you take it easy for a few days till you feel a bit better and i will send you :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: s
good luck to those who have scans on Monday
everyone else enjoy the weekend
lesley
Hi all..it's quiet on here today.
Kate W - Sorry about your loss. My thoughts are with you.
Lesley, Anna T and Loulous mum - good luck for Monday. It is the most exciting thing seeing bubs for the 1st time. Hopefully when i visit my OB next Thurs we will get to see this one.
I'm not sure how much my nuchal scan is going to cost, I vaguely remember it being around the $120 mark last time for ultrasounds, some of which we were able to get back through medicare. I forgot how expensive having a baby can be until I read this post. We have private health insurance and I will be going private again, but last time we had a $1200 OB fee and $1000 in hospital costs (with excess etc). On top of that there's the cost for the blood tests, anti-d injections and ultrasounds! It's all worth it in the end. :)
AnnaT
24-03-2006, 01:15 PM
Lesley and Loulou - Thankgod Im not the only one who is on the end of the 12wk scan line lol Everyone I know who's less weeks than me have already had it. For some reason my OB prefers it to be smack bang in the middle of week 12 and 13 and says doing it before or after then wastes everyone's time. Im so excited though, I know Dh is going to be so amazed to see an actual baby, not a blob or vaguely distinguishable arm or head. I still have dreams that we go and find out the baby is dead and its making me not want to go at all and float along in blissful ignorance for awhile longer. I hate having all these awful idea's, m/c sucks it makes every pregnancy after a nightmare :thumbsdown:
Kate - Im sorry to hear about your m/c. You have a great attitude though and it will help in the coming weeks. Some advice: cry if you need to, get mad if you want to, talk about the baby if you feel the need and just find something, anything, that could give comfort to you and do it. TTC again was my final saving grace though, but Im not sure its an issue for you. You will survive and move on eventually but it'll always be in the back of your mind. :hugs:
Stillllllllllllllllllllllll waiting for the phone call to get our car back FINALLY! Never realised how much I enjoyed having a car. Theyd better give it back today like they said or I'll unleash some preggo butt-whooping on them :laughing: I need groceries sooooooo badly poor Dh is wasting away on soup.
Hope everyone is having a good day!
Briannabear
24-03-2006, 01:30 PM
Kate - Sorry to hear of your loss. :crying: Big hugs to you. :hugs:
Ive now had 1 1/2 days of no vomiting - Yay!!:yelclap: (still feel sick on and off though).
Took Brianna to Playschool concert this morning - she had so much fun!:smiliedance:
I'm taking Eloise to the playschool concert next month. Which 2 presenters did you have? I took her to see Bananas in Pyjamas last year which she just loved, not sure how she'll go with playschool though.
Ooooh...forgot to say congratulations on the 1.5 days of no vomiting. I hope that's the end of it for you.:smiliedance:
brideofjabba
24-03-2006, 02:40 PM
Kate - so sorry to hear of your loss. cry and grieve and rest as much as you need. Its a tough thing to go through.
I haven't vomited today!!!yet. I've been feeling so much better, not sure if i've jinxed myself though. lol I even went shopping! *shock horror* haven't done that in weeks. I'm nervous about thinking its going away then it coming back! The Show is on next week too and i want to go!!!
10wk1d and counting down........
I think that i should get a repreive from morning sickness. Since i started vomiting at 5 wks and i had already gone through 4 weeks of it with the baby i miscarried. What do you reakon? lol
Good luck everyone having a scan!
suemp
24-03-2006, 03:06 PM
KATE: prayers to you and your husband:hugs: :kiss:
i took jake to the playschool concert last time they did the rounds. it was bonita ang george back then (thats scary that i know the names.) kids promotion who run the show sent me mail today about disney on ice. looks great thimking of getting jake tickets for easter as he is not that into chocolate (thankgoodness)
my first ante natal clinic day at hospital is the 18th of april so i will have to see gp to see if he will write a referral for 12 week scan.
my mates MICHELLE AND ADAM had a baby girl yesterday. 8 pound 7 (ouch) they called her Skylah.
as thats my second mate in 7 days to have a baby when i first announced our preg to mil her comment was "you dont have to get preg cause all your friends are!!" ... cow! and remember i live with her!
saw another friend today who found out that she was preg the same day i did but theirs was unwanted and she has decided to keep the baby:smiliedance: she works as a hairdresser dont know how they stomach the chemicals with m/s. im glad i recently took leave from my nursing job. sorry but if one of the residents had an accident id be no help at the moment.
take care all
maybe1more
24-03-2006, 04:10 PM
Kate- Im really so very sorry to hear what you have been through, i know how hard it is to loss a baby, give yourself time to grief and know that you will have your good days and bad days, its not a easy thing to go thru but time does help, your little angel will be looking down on you and your hubby. Feel free to pm me if you need to talk anytime:hugs:
Lesley- A big congratulation to you for quitting smoking, thats so great! Also best of luck for your up and coming scan.
Suemp- i hope your feeling better, have you spoken to your mum yet, to see if she`s going to come? All the best.
Andrea- Im going public, they were great with me last time and so far no problems with them (touch wood) . Ive also been getting those pains, i find they get really bad when i sneeze, it hurts heaps.
Briannabear- great stuff, you`d had a record no spew few days!!! I wish i could say the same.
As for me im 9 weeks and 2 days and im really looking foward to the next 2 and a bit weeks so i can have my 12 weeks u/s, im still ralphing heaps, a least once a day and up to 4 times a day, its sooooo gross.
To everyone else, congrats for getting to the 12 weeks marker, the rest of us will be following closely behind:D
ikis84
24-03-2006, 04:10 PM
sue: you made me laugh :laughing: - I can understand what you mean - I work in after school care and a few weeks ago this little boy had a BAD accident - I am glad there was another worker there!!
Luckily my m/s has pretty much gone now!!! so excited! now I am just hungry all the time!! Yay for the 2nd trimester!:smiliedance:
HanCh
24-03-2006, 04:47 PM
HI girls!! Just read through the weekly posts and I am sorry to read about the pain and loss some people are going through at the moment......:thumbsdown:
On a brighter note, congrats to all the mums who have reached the 12 week mark!! I went for my scan on Tuesday and buubs measured in at 11weeks 4days so that makes me 12 weeks today....yay!!!! It also changes my due date to 6th October :)
Here is my bubs first pic :)
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c393/ali3099/ln001.jpg
DOnt you think he/she is cute??!! ;)
24-03-2006, 04:59 PM
Ali, congrats on reaching 12 weeks... and I love ur baby pic :thumbsup: it is very clear isn't it!!!
lesley
25-03-2006, 10:35 AM
hey all ,
well tonite we have a friends 30th birthday party it starts at 6 and i am betting i will be home and in bed by about 930 coz i cant make it past that but we will see how we go.
this one is for the second or third time mothers
dose the hunger subside anytime soon i have gotten to the point that i am sick of eating (well chewing anyway) i try to have fewer smaller snacks or meals but when you are at work with no breaks it makes it very hard any hints anyone PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
well i hope everyone has a good weekend and i will let you all know how Monday goes
lesley:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Mookie
25-03-2006, 01:40 PM
Kate - I really am soooo sorry to hear your sad news. I feel for you - it's an awful thing to go through. Rest as much as you can & be kind to yourself. I know it probably doesnt seem like it now, but you will feel better with time. :hugs:
To all those who are still suffering from MS, I hope it eases soon. :fingerscrossed: it seems my MS may finally be going. I havent thrown up for the last 2 days now - yaaayy! Let's hope it lasts.
Ali3099 - your scan picture is great! That is so exciting - it makes it feel more real doesnt it?
I had my nuchal scan yesterday morning & the Dr said it all looked really good. So thank goodness, no need for an amnio etc. My dh & I are extremely relieved. It was lovely seeing our baby & we even got a disk with photos on it - one 3D one which is great! I was 12wks 5 days yesterday but the dr said bub measured 13wks 1 day. He said not to go changing dates etc from my end as only a few days difference & they all measure differently anyway. Hhhmmm, I hope this doesnt mean I'll have a whopper!
Becbabe, how did your scan go? Hopefully it is all good.
Lesley, I hope you survive your party tonight. I know what you mean about not being able to stay up late - I'm hopeless lately too. I'm not sure about the hunger easing off as this is my first, but I'm eating a lot too - trying to keep snacks small, but it's hard at work I know.
Well, hope everyone has a great weekend. Enough dribble from me.
brideofjabba
25-03-2006, 01:42 PM
lesley that is tough. Fortunately for me i have never worked while being pregnant. I find that minties are good, i know your sick of chewing but imo being sick because your not eating is worse! or chew gum. the hunger doesn't go away. lol it just gets worse!!!
loulousmum
25-03-2006, 02:53 PM
Hi Lesley and Anna (and everyone else!). I know how you feel about being at end of week 12 - mine will be day one of week 13 but that's the date the scan place worked out based on my dates and I know of people who have gone along only to be told to come back next week because it is too early to get anything.
I keep having fears that something will go wrong with it although there is no reason to be worried. I guess I keep thinking back to the scan I had at what I thought was 7 weeks 5 days but was actually 6 weeks 5 days and thinking to myself - what if I'm having a midget baby and at the 12 week scan they tell me I am really 8 weeks! All because I had my dates wrong! Better than last time though when I kept having dreams that they told me that my baby was growing normally but had no eyes!!!!!:eek:
Two sleeps to go for all of us - in fact for me it is about 40 hours. I can't wait! :smiliedance:
lucy72
26-03-2006, 08:04 AM
Hi All!
After having forgotten my password (baby brain!) have finally been able to move over to this thread - thanks Briannabear for telling me to move over!
I am having my 12 week scan on Wednesday 29th and am a little nervous. There is no history on either side that there will be a problem but you never know. I think I am more scared of the needle if I am in a high count!
The morning/afternoon sickness is subsiding although I have found this has been replaced by terrible wind! That is why I think it is a boy! It is so embarrassing, especially at work, so I decided to tell my peers that this is what is now happening so they understand. Can't hide it! :laughing:
It is so good to hear about what all others are going through. There are a few other forums around but none as good as this website.
I am at that awkward stage where my old clothes don't fit but my maternity clothes are too big - what is a girl to do? I think I am going to invest in some trackie pants to hang around the house.
I have had 2 scans already - one at 6 weeks and another at 10 and it is amazing how big bub has grown - nearly 1cm each week! Sometimes it all seems surreal and I really don't think there is a baby in there. I have to pinch myself.
Lesley, I have found I keep the little Goulburn Valley fruit tubs in my draw at work. I am not sure if you can smeak a little snack in but I find these very good. Also the fuit in jelly made by SPC. I think the sugar in these gives you a "pick me up". I am lucky as I work in an office and can snackk at my desk - you should see my lunch bag and all the goodies in it!
Anyway thanks for listening and look forward to writing more and hearing your stories - I have saved my password so hopefully no more fogetfulness!
Lucy
EDD 11 October 2006
Briannabear
26-03-2006, 08:34 AM
Welcome to the October thread Lucy!! :smiliedance:
Sue - You mentioned before about your friend who is hairdressing and has morning sickness. I was a hairdresser and quit working when I was 6 weeks pregnant with my first baby. I couldnt handle the perm solution and bleach smells anymore!
There is some pretty nasty chemicals you deal with in hairdressing and I just didnt want to muck around with that and my baby iykwim.
Ive got so many friends who have fertility problems and have suffered miscarriages who are hairdressers. (possibly from the chemicals)
Sare - Playschool was great! I think the hosts were Ange and George (not 100% sure though).
Ali - Congrats with your ultrasound! Your baby looks very cute! :yelclap:
Lesley - I personally found that the hunger eased up slightly (not much though) in my second trimester and came back in full force in my third trimester. Unfortunately it comes with the territory!
I broke my good run with no vomiting. :crying: I think I just had a bit too much gluten though - tends to make me crook.
We'll have to get some belly photos up soon and compare!! :D
loulousmum
26-03-2006, 08:34 AM
12 weeks today:smiliedance:
22 hours until scan:yelclap:
Briannabear
26-03-2006, 08:36 AM
Congrats on reaching 12 weeks LouLous mum! :yelclap:
ikis84
26-03-2006, 02:38 PM
Yay Lou-Lous mum! :smiliedance:
little t's mum
26-03-2006, 04:34 PM
HI all
Well I posted on Thursday that I was going to have my first OB appointment and have a scan. Well we finally got there and were waiting as he was running a little late only half an hour which is a nice change and just as it was my turn and I was about to go in the phone rang and the ladies were told a girl who was in labour and was starting to push. They thought he would only be another 20mins half an hour but an hour later we got another phone call to say go home it had turned into a c-section. Bugger. Anyway they said they would call us with a new appt time. By the time I got home an hour away. They had gotten me an appt for Friday. Unfortunately DH couldn't make this appt but it was good to have had it before the weekend.
All is good and due date hasn't changed. NT scan booked for the 8th. 11 weeks today yipppeeee
Hope everyone is well.
Lt's M
lesley
26-03-2006, 06:03 PM
hey all
well what a weekend i am glad i don't work Mondays i can rest
we had the party last night i was nearly asleep on my feet we got home at about 11.30 although it was not too bad i had a very small cat nap in the afternoon
and tonight my father in law took us out to dinner that was nice seen as it was all you can eat (its easier with the little kids) but still nice
and only one sleep to go till my scan as i think i said the other day i have to go with my 3yr old as DH has to work but its all good i will bring photos home for him
i was told last night not to eat cold meat like ham and chicken loaf while pregnant dose anyone know why ?
take care and good nite! !
Briannabear
26-03-2006, 06:11 PM
i was told last night not to eat cold meat like ham and chicken loaf while pregnant dose anyone know why ? take care and good nite! !
I think its from the chemicals and bacteria (mainly listeria) that can be present in the meat. Especially smoked meats - be really careful of them.
The most important thing is freshness - and unfortunatly with smallgoods you can never be real sure how fresh they are. :rolleyes:
Little T's mum - Glad you're appointment went well! You're nearly 12 weeks - well done!! :smiliedance:
lesley
27-03-2006, 07:06 AM
hey all
its 9am and i have 2 hours till my us i have started to drink my water woo hoo i am so excited .
Brianna bear ,thank you for answering my question ?
but dose anyone know the affects it can have on your unborn child (cold meats i mean)
i will post again after my us as i have a few things to do b4 i go .
talk to you soon lesley
:smiliedance: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:
suemp
27-03-2006, 08:13 AM
how mANY OF YOU LADIES THAT HAVE REACHED 12 WEEKS HAS THE MORNING SICKNESS EASED? IM REALLY STRUGGLING WITH IT AS ITS ALL DAY AND NIGHT. I AM 9.5 WEEKS AND KNOW YOU CAN BE SICK THE WHOLE TIME BUT I NEED SOME HOPE
GOOD LUCK WITH ALL YOUR SCANS
SUE
lesley
27-03-2006, 10:14 AM
hey all
i have just gotten home from having my scan gee it really makes a difference when you see that little baby swimming (laying) around in there
for everyone who has not had one yet do what ever it take to get it done it makes such a huge difference to see the reason behind the ms ,tiredness and hunger the growing belly its just amazing
dh has to wait till wednesday to see the pic as he was at work :thumbsdown:
but the scan went well i am 12w6d and new edd is the 3/10/06 i was only out by 6 days
and there is only one baby
good luck to everyone else that had a scan today
lesley
27-03-2006, 10:17 AM
how mANY OF YOU LADIES THAT HAVE REACHED 12 WEEKS HAS THE MORNING SICKNESS EASED? IM REALLY STRUGGLING WITH IT AS ITS ALL DAY AND NIGHT. I AM 9.5 WEEKS AND KNOW YOU CAN BE SICK THE WHOLE TIME BUT I NEED SOME HOPE
SUE
hey mine died off just after 12 weeks but i was not sick at all with my others hope this helped
good luck with it
Mookie
27-03-2006, 10:43 AM
Suemp - I am now 13 wks 1 day (13wks 4days if nuchal scan guy is right) & thought I was feeing better. I hadnt vomited for 3 whole days & only felt slighly sick at times but eating fixed that up. HOWEVER, I got up to go to work this morning & spent an hour vomiting, back to sleep for 3 hrs (after taking a Maxalon tablet) and then back up to vomit twice more. So, for me I'm not sure when it's going to stop. I'm really starting to get sick of it now (excuse the pun!) as I'm sure you are too. I guess it's different for everyone. 3 days with no vomiting is a good sign, so maybe it's slowly going. I hope yours settles down soon.
Lesley - I'm really glad to hear your scan went well. It is so amazing to see your bub on the screen!
Off to check out some maternity clothes websites as a lot of my clothes are now becoming too uncomfortable to wear.
maybe1more
27-03-2006, 12:27 PM
SUE
Hi Sue, im in the same boat as you:o im sick of being sick!!! Ive been throwing up twice a day and my tummy is sooooo sore. Im 10 weeks of wednesday and i really hope this m/s eases! I find im more sick at night, i try and eat every two hours to keep something in my stomach but it doesnt always work. Im hopeing my eases soon, as i didnt m/s with my first so im not used to this. Arhhh bring on 12 weeks:thumbsup:
Briannabear
27-03-2006, 01:18 PM
but dose anyone know the affects it can have on your unborn child (cold meats i mean)
The listeria or toxoplasma bacteria and parasites can be potentially fatal or seriously harmful to the baby. Not sure exactly how it affects them though. Maybe try googling it?
Congrats on your good scan!
ikis84
27-03-2006, 09:07 PM
Yes, Briannabear, that's what my Dr. told me (about listeria and cold meats - also salad bar type things).
firstbub & sue I feel for you! While I did get morning (all day sickness) it was more like quesieness (sp?) with only occasional vomiting... I guess i cant complain compared to some of you! I am now 13wks 1 day and am still a little quesy on and off, but now it is just being replaced by digestion issues :o I hope it eases for you soon :fingerscrossed:
Lesley a big congrats on the scan - it's great isn't it :D Now we can just count down the days (more like weeks!) till the 18 week one!
AnnaT
28-03-2006, 12:27 AM
Had my Nuchal today! OMG it was fantastic! We spent 1.5 hours having it done, best 1.5 hours of my life so far! We got some awesome pics, and 3 to take home until we get the proper ones from OB at next appointment. Baby is perfect and def no downs or abnormalities. We even think we got a sneak peek at the gender :eek: :smiliedance: Def think we saw boy bits, I will be very surprised if what I saw was a vagina! By this stage their generally fully formed just too small to tell. Bub wasnt shy though!
My due date has been moved up to Oct 1st, Im measuring 13w1d in all aspects instead of 12w4d.
Some piccies on my website of baby :D
Briannabear
28-03-2006, 06:54 AM
Yay for you Anna!!! :smiliedance:
Im desperate for this morning (or should I say all day) sickness to ease up. Bring on 12 weeks............................................. ...................
lesley
28-03-2006, 08:13 AM
hi all
to all those mums and mums to be that have had a scan how amazing is it to see the little life that you have created and that you are carrying to see its healthy and all is well makes you feel warm and gooey in side my scan yesterday was about my 20th scan from all my dc and you just get the same feeling every time is amazing then you give birth to the most precious thing in your life that just makes you smile every day and makes the whole 9 months oh so worth it in every way possible well take care
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :hugs: :hugs:
fablis
28-03-2006, 10:17 AM
Hi everyone!! I haven't had time to post in the last week or so. I am so glad to hear that the m/s is starting to ease for a lot of you - others are not so lucky :crying: I think my quesiness is definitely starting to ease up a little which is good, but I am still extremely tired.
Kate - I am so sorry to hear about your sad news. My thoughts are with you at this difficult time. I hope you pull through okay and start trying to conceive again soon. Good luck :hugs:
I am 11 weeks 1 day today and am booked for my Nuchal Fold scan on 10 April - I will be 13 weeks (or thereabouts). I love hearing about the scans everyone has had so far and I am very exicted about mine. Can't wait to see