View Full Version : Single artery in umbilical cord
bonbon
04-01-2008, 02:50 PM
I just got the results from my 12 week scan and there is only one artery in the umbilical cord, where there is supposed to be 2. My GP didnt seem too concerned at all, as little bub was highly active thru the ultrasound and that may have been the reason they only saw one, but it still makes me worry. Has anyone else had this?
javalava
04-01-2008, 02:53 PM
Now ive heard of this. If i could only remember who it was. Was it someone here?? No im sure they were telling me face to face. From what i heard though they are still ok. Might need a little after birth care.
Sorry im not much help. This is going to get me all arvo now!!
BubbaLicious
04-01-2008, 02:54 PM
I haven't had it but sure it'll be okay. Good to hear that you have an active little bubba, all sounds good just wanted to give you a :hugs:
Hope some other ladies can help you out more
aardvark
04-01-2008, 03:09 PM
DD#2 had it, and she is fine. So did a friend's bub, and he is fine.
Do yourself a favour and DO NOT google it, it will make you worry unnecessarily.
OopsieDaisy
04-01-2008, 04:25 PM
I have not heard of it either, I didn't even know how many we are meant to have! :o
M~T~J~M
04-01-2008, 07:21 PM
I don't want to get you worried, but a friend of mine only had one artery through her baby'e umbilical cord too, and unfortunatley, all was not well. He was born with a level of brain damage, which at birth, could not be told. He had a lot of excess fluid on the brain, which has needed constant operations to insert shunts. He is now just gone 3 years old, and he doesn't walk, and is mid/severely brain damaged.
Like I said, I don't want this to worry you, I just wanted to tell you of a case that I have known of.
:fingerscrossed: that all will be well, and the best thing is that they were able to pick up on it ealry, so if there are any abnormalities beginning to show by your next scan, then veryone is aware of the situation, and you and bubs can be monitored.
bonbon
05-01-2008, 01:15 PM
Has anyone had something like this, ie been told at your 12 weeks scan, and then it wasnt so at your 18 week one? Im hoping so much that the only reason they couldnt see it is cos the bub was moving heaps, and I also had a new guy doing my ultrasound so maybe he didnt take the proper pics needed to see it? Im just trying to be positive. And I did google it and it made me feel sick with worry!! I dont know what to do, my next ultrasound is in 4 weeks, and I dont want to wait 4 weeks to find out what is going on.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.