View Full Version : Weight gain & @ how many weeks?
KiLLaKaZ
11-03-2006, 06:29 AM
i saw this thread in the may 2006 area, & it aroused my curiosity for the June mummies (other mummies feel free to answer, too)...
i weighed myself a little while ago & i'd put on 10 kilos & i was about 26 weeks then!
weird thing is i was a size 8-10 before now i still fit size 10 (with some sz 12 trousers)!! where's all this weight gone?!!! (well, i guess my thighs ARE heaps bigger...)
titania
11-03-2006, 10:30 AM
Hiya Kaz,
I weighed 67kg before I fell pregnant and was a size 10. I now weigh 71kg and can wear a size 12. Having said that, I lost 4 kgs in early pregnancy, so my total gain has in fact been 8 kgs.
Oh, and I am 26 weeks also.
Good Topic!! :)
Sarah
bekkyboo
11-03-2006, 10:53 AM
Hey :)
Well ive gained around 10kg so far ... im almost 26 weeks, but Garrett is the size and weight of a 28 week bub (maybe more now - at 19 weeks he was 3 weeks ahead - he might be more now :P)...
As far as sizes go, i was in 10-12 before pregnacy. Materity clothes im still in 12, I can fit into some of my old shirts (that stretch) no way to pants tho. Otherwise im in 16's:thumbsdown: ... And my wedding dress i jsut got was a 18 so that it would fit over my big belly bludge.
kiwibird27
11-03-2006, 03:24 PM
I've gained 10 kg as well at 26weeks, my boobs are bigger and my hips but otherwise it's all in the tummy!!!! My GP told me i could get right thru and only gain 5-6kg (yeah right!!!!)
Alot of maternity clothes seem to be made bigger and it depends what brand u buy!!!! Pumpkin patch I can buy a size large but ripe I'm a XXXL, and target I can fit a 16, it all depends on the make, but if it wasn't for my belly most of my pre-maternity clothes would fit (just a bit tighter!!!!)
~Chick79~
11-03-2006, 04:19 PM
Well I have been lucky so far.... When I went in to see my doctor before starting the fertility drugs I weighed 70.5kgs and when I had my check up this week I only weighed 74kgs (I am 24.5weeks) so I am pretty happy with that! :smiliedance:
With clothes.... some maternity clothes I am a 16 (some even a 14 - pending on the style etc) but instead of paying the ridiculous price they want for maternity I have been buying some clothes in the options plus (sizes 18-24) range in the size 18. Much cheaper :yelclap:
TillieAndBug
13-03-2006, 05:44 PM
here goes!
I am 27 weeks just...and I weigh 85kg :eek: the heaviest of all you lot!! maybe I taller? I 5ft 7. But to be fair I was 82 (size 14-16) I think when I fell but losing weight as was on a mission (new life, new country, new figure! ha ha ) and my thyroxine was finally at right levels. But hten I spent until 12 weeks:barf: due to bub and was about 74kg. I was 83kg at 20 weeks I think so put on the majority of my weight once I started eating and feeling human again! Plus couldn't exercise much as had warnings not to from GP due to couple of threatened miscarraige scares...
Funny thing is...I actually can still fit into some size 14 tops...and jeans and am L in Pumpkin Patch (maternity) but they a bit too big...and 16 in target maternity...and 16 in the UK maternity stuff I have...I can't fit into any of my 16 jeans now(normal ones) only around the tum though...and the 14 tops I have are pornographic if I wear them - though my DH doesn't mind the eyeful!!
I worry about my weight and the lack of tone pregnancy has brought but the GP and midwife have both said I am being harsh as I haven't gained actually too much and lack of tone due to lack of exercise and pregnancy hormones...and as the thyroxine I take previous to pregnancy was starting to kick in when baby comes I start exercising etc...should all fall off no worries...just makes me mad when I think 2 years ago I was a lovely 12/14 for my wedding with a pretty good figure!! :thumbsdown:
Plus people keep saying bump not that big but it measured 2 weeks ahead of itself last Monday so who knows...I blame water retention ha ha:laughing:
13-03-2006, 05:51 PM
Ive only put on 2kgs this whole pg and im 22 weeks. Shouldnt i have put on more by now? With Jayden i think by this stage i'd put on around 6kg.
13-03-2006, 06:37 PM
I am 22 weeks and 69kg b4 i got pg i weighed 65kg so in total i have put on 4kg:yelclap: in my first pg i lost 13kg in the first 6months:thumbsdown:
SweetDreams
15-03-2006, 08:02 PM
I feel slightly depressed now since I'm 28 weeks and have put on 12kgs. I've gone from a 10/12 to size 18/20 which is NOT inspiring. To be fair I am rather short and the weight seems to be stomach/butt (funnily enough :rolleyes:). I still fit into some of my shirts except I've also gone from a 12B to a 14DD :eek:
I'm concerned that I won't be able to drop the weight after bubs is born! I come from a family of tubbies. :(
AlbertaJes
16-03-2006, 01:01 AM
I'm at 27 weeks and I've put on 5.5 kilos.
As per my doctor, I'm on a restricted (no salt) diet, so no junk food here.
It's all in my belly, and bubs is breech, so I can still get my old pants on. Even buttoned, though not for long.
KiLLaKaZ
16-03-2006, 05:10 AM
sweetdreams - poor thing! we've put on the same amount of weight, yet i've hardly gone up a size!! it kind of worries me, tho - where has all my weight gone? maybe it's muscle-weight (i'm quite active), but who knows?! are you getting much regular exercise? due to my work, i do at least 30hrs exercise/ week!! (yes, it's exhausting, but i NEED the $$!)
don't worry about your weight tho - i'm sure you'll be back to normal size after bubs is born! just take the baby out for daily walks if possible ;) i was also a 12B, & now i'm a.... 12B!!! :( but, ppl have reassured me i'll get bigger in that department once my milk comes in... lol ;)
bekkyboo
16-03-2006, 09:15 AM
Ill happily trade off some bra size - i was a 12dd, now a 14e... i was 69kg at start of pg, now somewhere at the 80's... which the dr said is in the healthy weight range....
have a look at this if you are concerned..
http://paternityangel.com/Preg_info_zone/Weight/CalcWeight.htm
But remember that everyone gains weight differently and every bub is different. So dont take this to mean that much.
becca74
17-03-2006, 05:26 PM
Well, I was 78kg before I got pregnant, I lost 10kg due to morning sickness, and weighed 68kg at 16 weeks, and now at 25 weeks I'm up to 74kgs.... so unlike my other pregnancies where I just put on weight, when I hit the beginning of my 2nd trimester, people were commenting on how much weight I'd lost!!
So, not only will everyone be experiencing different weight gain experiences, though we are all around the same distance in our pregnancies, you will probably find differences in your weights in any subsequent pregnancies in the same time frames also.....
In my first pregnancy I was only just starting to show a belly at 25 weeks, and was wearing UK size 14 clothes very comfortably still - but by #4, I got the maternity gear out at the 3 months stage.....as even though I'd lost weight, my belly still took the liberty of popping out considerably!! oh the joys of being a multi-para!!
kassa
28-03-2006, 03:16 PM
I am 29 weeks and have put on 10kg. I was 70kg before preg and I am now 79/80kg. I have only gone up one dress size.
KiLLaKaZ
29-03-2006, 12:10 AM
I am 29 weeks and have put on 10kg. I was 70kg before preg and I am now 79/80kg. I have only gone up one dress size.
i'm now 30 weeks & have put on about 18kg!! :eek:
Carmel Jane
14-04-2006, 05:55 PM
I'm 31 weeks and have put on about 10kgs... I thought it was more because its hard to see the scales without bending forward which alters the reading (for non digi's) so I had to wait to see the Ob and he said 10kgs, which is pretty good.
Strangely enough for me its mostly in my belly, but my arms and shoulders have gotten really flabby too :( hehe
shereejoy
14-04-2006, 08:02 PM
Well I am 34 weeks and have put on about 16kgs OMG!!! I have put on so much weight in my legs/upper thighs and but, and heaps of stretch marks in these areas and not one on my belly, go figure!!! I am going round it appears LOL Not long now and I can try to get back to normal.
mum2peanut
14-04-2006, 08:48 PM
I am now 31 weeks and have put pn 7.5kg I'm pretty happy with that. Was previously a size 10 and now wearing size 10 maternity or smalls. Been pretty luck, only carrying in the belly. Gone up two cup sizes to a 12 E bummer! Was 58kg to start with, now 65.5kg. Hoping to not excess the 70kg, but you never know!
andie_pandie
16-04-2006, 08:01 PM
I have been extremely lucky with my weight, now 31weeks and have lost a total of 13kgs which in my case is fantastic and that is not including any of the baby's weight so hopefully will be a lot lighter at the end. I developed Hashimotos 7 yrs ago and put on a aweful amount of weight so I am happy to have a good start to losing weight once the baby is out. With Hashimotos I do not have a active thyroid so basically minimal metabolism however whilst pregnant my body reverses. Bubs has plenty of my body to feed off and I think he is taking a lot plus with breast feeding might lose more.
Andrea 37
DH 36
DS 11
DS 7
Thomas Due 18/6/06
Gelthling
19-04-2006, 01:19 PM
I am 33 weeks and have put on 9 kilos. With my first i put on 8 kilos in total, then first six months of breastfeeding lost 13kg, so I am hoping to do that again!
LucYsMummY
19-04-2006, 02:55 PM
Im 30 weeks and i have put on 8 kg so far! Im very happy with this as with my first i stacked on 20kg and i'm only 5'3 so to weigh 80+kg wasnt a good look. This time only 10 weeks to go only weigh 68+kg... Yeah for me!:smiliedance:
But Easter has really stuffed it for me - all this chocolate how can a girl say no??
Anyone else having this problem? It must be a 3rd trimester thing - my stomach feels like a bottomless pit!:laughing:
SammyD
19-04-2006, 03:01 PM
I'm 21 weeks and have put on a total of 2.5kg...all of that in the last 3 weeks though! :eek:
kassa
18-05-2006, 11:05 AM
I am now 36 week and have put on 14kg.:banghead:
Kerri
titania
18-05-2006, 02:56 PM
Hi Kerri,
I was thinking about this exact thing this morning. I am also 36 weeks and have now put on 12 kgs. (And yes, I can feel it!)
Sarah
18-05-2006, 06:59 PM
I'm 33 weeks (due july 6th but having a june bubs) and have now lost 2kg this pregnancy.. I had gained around 5.5kg but have now lost over 7kg from being on diabetic diet. I'm sure ive lost another kg or two since i weighed last but thats where it was standing last weigh in
I gained 20kg with my son who was born at 31 weeks and 6kg with my daughter who was born at 35... so im awfully proud of myself for improving each time lol
bekkyboo
19-05-2006, 08:46 AM
im around 12-13kg at almost 36 weeks.
mum2peanut
19-05-2006, 09:06 AM
I am 36 weeks and have put on 9kg. Supposedly you don't put a lot on in the last month, here's hoping!!:fingerscrossed:
Carmel Jane
26-05-2006, 01:56 PM
I'm 37 weeks and have put on 9kg. I am surprised, I thought for sure I'd be putting on 20kg's and spend the rest of my life trying to get it off!! :thumbsup:
titania
26-05-2006, 04:32 PM
I have ben hanging out a bit in the "general discussiuon" area and found this in a weight gain topic there... Thought it was pretty interesting and comforting, so stole it to put up in here!
This is a weight gain breakdown from "What to expect when you are expecting"
Baby................................3.3kg
Placenta..........................750g
Amniotic fluid...................1kg
Uterine enlargement.......1kg
Maternal breast tissue....1kg
Maternal blood volume....1.8kg
Fluids in maternal tissue..1.8kg
Maternal fat stores..........3kg
Total average...................13.5kg
At almost 38 weeks, I am still sitting at 12kgs gain, so I am happy with that :)
mrsbutterflygirl
26-05-2006, 05:24 PM
I am 30.5 weeks and have only put on 5 kilos... I keep worrying about it but the doc says not to so i guess i'm just gonna stay happy with how i havent put anything on :)
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.