View Full Version : Febuary 08 Mummies ~ Jan Chit-Chat

*~alegna~*
01-01-2008, 03:51 PM
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL THE FEBRUARY MUMMIES :party:

We're all nearly there!!!, some I guess closer than we think too....Hope your all feeling really well & didn't party too hard..hehe:p
Next month is OURS!.....BRING IT ONE!!:smiliedance:

~Alicia
02-01-2008, 02:52 PM
Next month? :eek: *faints* hard to believe isn't it?

I only just bought something for the baby this morning. First thing :laughing:. I only have two other things I need to get. A bassinet and an Ergo :thumbsup:

Bub rolled last night, now I think 'he' is bum down, I hope not. It hurt so much! Woke me up :confused:

mahna mahna
02-01-2008, 04:57 PM
Happy New Year everyone! :flowerz: I agree Alegna, bring on February!!! I just checked the January thread & there's heaps of ladies popping already! I can't wait till it's our turn!

Yeah Alicia, it bl00dy hurts when they turn! I think mine is head down now, cause I keep feeling what I think must be his foot near my ribs lol... hope yours turns again soon (but with less pain! :fingerscrossed:)

So far, we've bought some clothes, a change table, an ergo, some MCNs & some wraps etc... but nearly all of that was second-hand & will be passed on when we're done with it.

kristi001
02-01-2008, 10:19 PM
:flowerz: Happy New year Guys!! :flowerz:

I cant belive next month is Ours.. :eek:

I cant believe in so short a time we will all be Popping out our bundles one by one.

Gawd Its a scary thought isnt it!

I am starting to get a bit scared that labour is so soon!

Please tell me i'm not the Only one freaking out here! :p

~Alicia
02-01-2008, 10:29 PM
I hope you meant popping Kristi :laughing::laughing:

Thanks MM, me too! :fingerscrossed:

kristi001
02-01-2008, 10:45 PM
I hope you meant popping Kristi :laughing::laughing:

Thanks MM, me too! :fingerscrossed:

haha :goodvibes:

Funny thing is I actually wrote that originally and thought i fixed it!!

I guess I just went back and typed the exact same thing :doh:

~Alicia
02-01-2008, 11:07 PM
PMSL :laughing:

JaidevsMum
03-01-2008, 09:48 AM
Yeah Alicia, it bl00dy hurts when they turn! I think mine is head down now, cause I keep feeling what I think must be his foot near my ribs lol...

My bub rolls around quite a bit but the other day there was a huge lurching feeling and now I keep getting these pokes up under my ribs so I'm thinking he might have turned head down too. Very annoying now he wont allow me to lean forward at all - if I dare I get a swift kick in the ribs to let me know I'm squashing him!

I have no idea how we got to be just one month out from having our bubs - someone stole the last few months!! I'm very excited but it seems a bit surreal to think there'll be another bub around the place soon - Some days I still cant believe I have toddler DS running around here.

I need to learn to relax - the intense drive to clean and reorganise everything in sight is leaving me exhausted but I just cant stop. If I sit down and even one thing is out of place it just irritates me till I get up and fix it. I never had nesting like this with DS and my mum keeps freaking out watching me sure I will go early.

Hope everyone can get some rest and a few full nights sleep before our bubs arrive (DS has an ear infection at the moment so a few sleepless nights here, and he normally stirs at least once a night anyway).

dormouse
03-01-2008, 11:33 AM
I had the same feeling the other day where I felt that bubs was turning, only problem is that bubs was already head down & I was positive that he/she was lying across my belly after the turn. Last night I was sitting on the couch & I could feel a huge bump up the top of my belly. I was rubbing it & I am so sure it felt like the top of bubs head! I am very worried that bub has gone back to breach! I guess I will find out on Monday at my next OB appointment.

I have been having trouble sleeping with bub constantly pushing on my bladder & DD not sleeping in the heat. She also got a very nasty bee sting on the inside of her thigh yesterday so she was in pain last night. DH is on holidays at the moment though so he has been really good at getting DD her breakfast etc in the mornings so I can have a sleep in.

I'm with you guys in not believing that next month is ours! I have only just really come to terms with being pregnant again & I am going to have to give birth in the next month or so! I am surprisingly unconcerned by the whole labour & birth thing, it is having to loook after 2 kids that is freaking me out! I am very much looking foread to my hospital stay though! I love being able to laze around in bed all day & have someone bring me my meals! They wont be able to get me to leave!

MrsO
03-01-2008, 12:56 PM
I'm on Bub Hub rations because DH has exposed my addiction...:laughing: Oh well, he's heading off on Tuesday for four weeks so then I can get as much as I like :D

Good to hear everyone is well...I'm trucking along nicely as well. Yep, I'll join in with the masses in saying "HOW THE HELL DID WE GET TO BE THE NEXT MONTH DUE???" :laughing::laughing:

We're all going to have our babies soon...I'm going to be a mother...holy c#@p (c#@p)!

Sorry...just having a slight freak out...hehehe

kristi001
03-01-2008, 12:58 PM
Sleeeeeeeep... :dizzy:

That word has lost all meaning round this way!

Its too hot and Im too fat! Not a Good mixture!

fabulouscazza
03-01-2008, 01:01 PM
I cant believe that next month is our month either guys!
It has all gone so fast. A friend who had a baby in August said that after 20 weeks, pregnancy slows down so much, and drags - it has flown for me, even up until now, where it is getting harder to do even the simplest things.
I dont really know what i am feeling about the whole labour and birth process. It's all still kinda surreal, even when i go into the hospy to see my midwife.
We picked up our pram and car seat last night. Installing the car seat tomorrow night. i think its all beginning to become more real every day. The nursery is taking shape too, not much left to buy.
Had a thought yesterday - am i supposed to wash all the baby clothes/socks etc before bubs is born?
Another thing - do the ladies here who already have kids wash their baby socks in one of those delicate laundry bags (the ones you're supposed to wash bras in) - im thinking it would be easier this way to save little tiny socks from getting lost in the other washing. Hmm, maybe thats a good idea!! :yelclap:
Also, do you use normal laundry powder/liquid or is there a baby specific one?
So many questions, sorry for the long post..... maybe i am getting a bit anxious! :eek:

MrsO
03-01-2008, 01:07 PM
Carrie, I have just finished doing two loads of baby clothes :D...I think the nesting might have started. I didn't put the socks in my bra bag but that might be a really good idea, I can definately see them getting lost! I bought Amolin Sensitive, it's just a mild liquid washing detergent that I can use in my front loader.

Once I've got all the clothes done and DH has gone back to work and I'm bored I'm going to make a start on the sheets/blankets/wraps etc.

MrsO
03-01-2008, 01:08 PM
Sleeeeeeeep... :dizzy:

That word has lost all meaning round this way!

Its too hot and Im too fat! Not a Good mixture!

I feel your pain :hugs:

dingo
03-01-2008, 03:54 PM
I am with you Mrs O on the freak out. We saw OB today and he wanted to book in a date for induction. He was talking 28th Jan and I was like OMG...this is too real, I ahve too much to do etc etc. Anyway he said we will book it in next week, but looks like the 4th Feb. 32 days I cannot believe it. So tonight I am going to finish packing the hospital bag and get stuck into the nursery then I will feel much better about the closeness of all this happening I hope........Hope you are all well. Keep Cool :thumbsup:

dormouse
03-01-2008, 04:12 PM
That is a good idea Carrie! I cant believe I never thought to wash socks in a bag! I haven't washed any of bubs clothes yet, but I will be doing it soon. A friend of mine gave me about 4 boxes of Lux flakes when I was preg with DD & I washed all her clothes & bedding in that before she was born & for about 18 months after. I think I am only about halfway through my second box now so it lasts ages!

I made the decision earlier today that I am not going to pack a hospital bag. To be completely honest, I can't be bothered! I also can't be stuffed finishing off the nursery, so I'm not going to do that either. I probably sound terrible, but the thought of doing these things has been stressing me out so I am just not going to do them. I figure, I will have plenty time while I am labouring at home to pack a bag for hospy & if not, DH can bring me what I need. I packed a labour bag last time as well & never used a single thing from it so I'm not going to bother with that. The only things I don't want to forget are my iPod & camera.
As for the nursery, bub is going to be sleeping in our room for the first few months & I will probably change nappies on the bed so I don't see why that has to be done now. I would rather wait until after bub is born & I can decorate in pink or blue. I will put all his/her clothes away in the nursery when I actually get some. I am not going to buy any more until bub is born & I know what colour to buy. I know I will get bomarded with clothes as gifts after the birth anyway so I'm not worried about that.

I have been today & had some photos taken of DD & my bump. They turned out so nice on the computer at the studio, but now I have to wait 2 weeks to get the prints. I can't wait to get them & show them off to you guys!
Is anyone else having preggie shots done?

TillieAndBug
03-01-2008, 04:23 PM
I too have not washed many things yet...infact I have not bought baby anything...all of his clothes are hand me downs from his big sister (who I got lots of white and cream and yellow) as I didnt know what flavour she was...I have sorted all the clothes out though and apart from needing to get a few bonds singlet all in ones...everything else will do...I did get my first pressie for him from UK yesterday, but we think will be too hot for him...we'll see. Oh I used amolin for first 6 months and baby fabric softener too, but now she just gets stuff washed with OMO.
My DD got a bee sting on Tuesday whole hand blew up and arm despite polaramine...so she had a really uncomfortable night and the weather been horrid here very hot and sticky so I really uncomfy and not sleeping heaps...saw midwife today and baby is not engaged but she thinks he is probly popping in and out as i described the pains I was having...he is head down now so has moved 180 degree from breach :)

I cant believe it only next month now either! :dizzy:

GizmoKel
03-01-2008, 07:29 PM

I also can't believe how close it is and how quick it has gone. Now I'm down to 7 weeks left and saying that aloud when people ask freaks me out a bit as its so close!

I keep getting bubs headbutting me (well I presume its a head). Right next to my belly button it will stick the head out so you look down and its bulging and all hard and it makes me feel all tight and short of breath. It was cool to start with but its been doing it so much in the past few days its starting to really hurt.

I've also been nesting..well I presume it is. I never got the nesting instinct with DD but now I'm going through all the rooms of the house tidying things I haven't touched since we moved in 3 years ago. I always thought nesting happened just before labour but I must be wrong?

Is anyone worried or getting anxious about labour and the birth? I'm only worried that I will be overdue and need to be induced again as I really want that excitement of going into labour naturally...you know - feeling a weird pain then another then timing them and thinking this is it.
Anyway everyone take care and try to rest lots..even those crazy nesters like me! ;)

mahna mahna
03-01-2008, 07:51 PM
I have to admit I've already washed and folded all of bubs clothes, blankets, wraps etc. I've also packed 4 hospital bags - labour, hospital (mine), hospital (DH's) & bubs. :o :o I've had too much time on my hands methinks...

Gizmokel, for some reason I'm not that worried about labour, but if I knew I were having a CS or an induction, I'd probably be a bit more nervous. I guess I'm trying to just let go & let my body do it's 'thing' - it knows best & I'm assuming there won't be any problems. Maybe I'm just in denial?!? :laughing:

dormouse, I'd love to get some preggie shots done but can't really afford it. Might get myself all dolled up & get DH to take some good ones! Can't wait to see yours!
BTW, I love your attitude about preparing for bubs. IMO, it's much healthier than obsessing & stressing out about it all, and kinda says you're confident enough to handle it all once bubs arrives IYKWIM?

GizmoKel
03-01-2008, 08:17 PM
Mahna Mahna - I'm with you there. I've washed all of bubs clothes and they are all set out in the drawers ready. I haven't packed bags yet cos I want to buy a few new things for me but if I was to go into labour right now then everything would be ready for bub.

Nex
04-01-2008, 08:06 AM
I've been running around madly cleaning EVERYTHING in a too late spring cleaning frenzy. I really don't want to bother trying to clean anything for several months after the birth so I am deternimed to get all those jobs done that I have been neglecting since we had the new floors put in back in feb LAST YEAR!

The weather has been cool and wet for the last week or so and DH has been fabulous in helping me.(He's sweeping the back porch as I type) So he's in the good books now.

For those with bee stung kids....get yourself some pure lavender oil and if they get a sting put a drop of lavender on it. We carry a bottle all the time during the lavender harvest because the bees are a constant hazard and we get stung several times at least. The lavender oil will remove all the pain from the sting and reduce the swelling somewhat. It will also help calm them down as stress makes the toxin hurt more!

yummyyumyums
04-01-2008, 08:38 AM
I feel like I've become such a panic merchant during this pregnancy, i just feel like I'm freaking out about stuff all the time. I'm paranoid that I won't have everything ready before bub arrives, as it stands we've only got a cot and a change table/bath, a few clothes and maybe 3 wraps. No hospital bag for me and no bag yet for bubs! :eek: I've been madly looking for a tetra snuggle bed, and have finally found one online with free postage, so that's one less thing I have to worry about. Hubby tells me to relax and take it easy, assuring me that we're getting the car seat next week and then the pram will be next on the list. We still haven't decided on what type of pram to get - 3 or 4 wheel - does anyone have any experience with a 3 wheeler? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :hugs:

Doc isn't sure what postion bub is in, but he's suspecting she's breech at the moment, he says he's hoping to feel her head down where it's supposed to be by my next appointment, which is Monday.

I've been nesting heaps lately too, which is great coz the house is now so darn clean! I just keep doing stuff coz I don't want to feel lazy and I don't want to let hubby down. He works so hard - 10hr days - and I always make sure he has a yummy meal and a clean house to come home to. DD & DS giggle at the way I walk, which is resembling a duck lately. My legs ache, my pelvis aches, my back aches :ecomcity: but aside from that I love being pregnant and know that although I can't wait to hold our baby in my arms, I will miss carrying her around inside me and feeling her move. It's kind of weird to have such a contrast of mixed emotions. Does anyone else feel this way? Or am I just on my way to the looney bin? :p

Oh, before I forget. Thanks Nex for the advice about the lavendar oil, I'll have to make a note of that.

Hope you're all feeling great and having a wonderful day. It's so much fun to be part of this forum where there's other women due at the same time :thumbsup:

BecD
04-01-2008, 01:14 PM
My baby has been head down for ages - he was head down at my 19w scan and hasn't really budged. So I've been getting kicks in the ribs for a while now.

fabulouscazza - I'm washing absolutely everything for baby - clothes, sheets, blankets, wraps, etc. I think it's best to wash things because you don't know what chemicals might be on the clothes from manufacturing.

dormouse - I'm lucky enough to be involved in a special photo shoot with other preggo women so we are getting our make-up and group & individual shoots for free, plus a free CD of all group images, and discounted prints from our individual shoots. :D If I wasn't doing it, I would have just gotten DH to take some nice photos of me.

GizmoKel - I'm not really worried about labour and birth, I'm actually quite excited to see what I'm capable of and how I cope with it, but like you I'm really worried about going overdue and being induced. I really want a natural labour and birth and starting off with being induced does not sound nice to me at all. :no: