View Full Version : 40+ Parents/Parents to be (January Chat)
From December thread:
WISHING EVERYONE A HAPPY NEW YEAR (for tomorrow). I hope the new year brings you all you need and most of what you want too :)
Tracey: You may not end up needing ivf but if you do hon then we will be here to ride the ups and (hopefully only a few) downs with you.
Vicki: Look after yourself hon..no good being sick.
I used to work shift work. With night shifts there were four of us on so two would sleep half the night while the other two worked, then switch over at half time. The trouble was, if I had the first sleep of the night I slept so deeply that it took them forever to wake me up..eek.
Have a great new years eve..and hope to see all the MIA posters back in here next year *waves to Rita, Jacqui, M-a, and other's who have gone quiet on us*.
Hugs to all,
Amy:)
Hugs,
All very quiet here, hope your all just enjoying your breaks etc.
Amy, hows things? Still going great I hope :hugs:
Nothing much to report here except work work and more work :( Great for the $ but tiring when on 3am starts, start the pm shift tomorrow so a good nights sleep tonight YEEEHAA!
hi,
happy new year! had a car crash new years eve ,all ok luckily.except i have whiplash:mad: not good!!
no i wasnt drinking, and not my fault. :ecomcity:
looks like ivf coming up, hope i handle it ok:confused:
hope you're all well....off to vicswim for 2 weeks on monday.
bye for now ,
tracey:wave:
Ys_Woman
05-01-2008, 11:18
Tracey: Sorry to hear about the accident hon. Have you gone and had the whiplash checked out? Nasty stuff that..I still suffer 20 years later..thankfully not as severely though.
Is hubby back for a substantial time now?
Let us know how it goes with the gyno/fertility specialist.
Vicki: Don't know how you are doing it hon..between a 1yr old and shift work do you find you are exhausted all the time?
All is going well here, although last night was a bad one. Dane had a case of the 'don't wanna's'. Didn't really want to feed seriously, didn't want to sleep in the basinette, didn't want to sleep in my arms. Every time he gets anywhere close to me he thinks milk milk milk whether he is hungry or not..so I have to give him to hubby and leave the room for a while. Eventually at 5:30 this morning hubby took him, wrapt him tightly, put a dummy in his mouth, and both of them went off to sleep on the lounge..dang but they are identical twins in profile :). I got a few hours sleep which was a bonus, then he had a cursory feed and went back to sleep a few hours ago..not a peep since.
Just when I am feeling pushed to the limit I look down and see his sweet face with the blinky eyes and it gives me a second wind to keep on going.
Hugs to all,
tracey: Glad to hear your all okay. Hope the whiplash eases soon and all the best for the ivf, keep us updated
Amy: Not sure if it helps but the first few weeks is good for feeding on demand, might be why hes wanting it all the time, to get your supply up? Just a thought, most bf women will tell you to go with it as its bubs way of getting it all working those first few weeks.
How cute on the twins lol. Sounds like Father like son already hehe.
DF is enjoying his time off, hes just awesome with Katie and loving every minute of it.
Me, am totally knackered at the moment, on the 11 hr shifts now for 3 days, but then 3 days off so that good as need recover time lol.
not sure how long Ill last there, too tired. Will stay for a bit though to get the bank account back up and bills ahead, then decided and may drop it for somwhere for 4 hrs a day..
anyhow better go, 20 mins before need to shower for work. time to chill!
love to all
back monday when day off !
Ys_Woman
05-01-2008, 16:28
Hey Vicki..I can understand if you eventually want something with shorter hours or daytime hours, particularly as you have a family to organise and care for as well as a baby and yourself.
I went back to shift work at the airport when Brittany was ten weeks old. It was a rotating roster..each day a different shift..usually 7 days a week as we were grossly understaffed. I lasted til just after her third birthday and then decided it was too hard. I don't think I would have lasted that long if I had had a family..I just had Brittany and myself to care for at that time thankfully. The men in the business faired the best as they had wives at home to do their washing and cleaning while the men got to sleep.
Is it enjoyable work Vicki? Do you work in a team or by yourself?
Well Dane has been strange again today. Mal thinks it is a growth spurt as he fed like crazy for a few days and then was wakeful last night but sleeping most of today with only one side taken each feed. He doesn't even seem that interested in his feed. I do feed on demand though to increase the supply but if I know when he is not hungry but is finding it hard to sleep..so I give him to Malcolm and he goes off within about fifteen minutes.
I am back to church tomorrow after a few years of being a slacker. Lachlan has been begging to return and I have stalled him, but he was so earnest yesterday that I feel I have to make the effort for him. Hope the roof doesn't fall in when I get there..lol.
Off to the shops as Dane is asleep again.
Hugs,
Amy: Yep we work in a team. I do enjoy it a lot! Have decided to give away any 11 hr shifts after Ive done two in a row, hence why am home today, would have been my 3rd in a row but gave to to another girl, they are allways looking to grab more hrs so will never have a problem doing that. So now have 4 days off YIPPEE!
After 42 hrs I need it! would have been a 53 hr if done tonights shift.
Ahhh aren't they just so hard to work out those first few weeks!!!?? Am sure will all settle and probably is just a growth spurt. All sounds fab though! Wish I was there that way again, though must admit am really enjoying Katie at the mo , we just went for a 3 hr train ride, her first! She loved it and laughed and squealed and chatted all the way.
Will pop back tonight, am off for a mummy nap ( hope your getting them too?!) got home 3am and up at 9 so need some catch up hehe.
xx back later
Ys_Woman
07-01-2008, 20:33
Enjoy your four days off Vicki! How is being an engaged woman feeling these days..are you planning a party anytime soon?
It is great that you could get out with Katie and have her enjoy the trip too. They are so nice around the 1-1.5 age bracket..so alert and curious.
The highlight of Dane's day is his shower..lol (see avatar). I take him outside to look at the trees and the sky once a day or else he would think we lived in a cave.
I am so in love with him and can't stop looking at him..lol. I am getting about four hours sleep after the first night feed that ends around 2am but after the second feed at around 5:30am I get a shorter sleep as the kids are up around 7:30am and wanting breakfast. I tend to let hubby and Dane keep sleeping on til 9am and then I crawl back in for a few hours in the late morning/early afternoon. Surprisingly I am not feeling too tired at this point but I think that is because I am just taking it easy most of the time.
I really feel for the kids though. This summer holiday sucks for them. I had a heart-to-heart with Lachie about it and am trying to organise a few outings with them this week. They are feeling trapped in the house with the heat and with Dane requiring so much of us.. and I think they are feeling a bit neglected too. Neither of them are feeling jealous of Dane though as they are old enough to understand that he is helpless.
Things are just floating along nicely though and I honestly feel that Dane was required to complete our family as everything feels whole now.
Hugs. I have some washing that needs folding before Dane-ger-mouse wakes for his next feed. Best be at it.
Ys_Woman
07-01-2008, 20:35
Dang..hate that the avatars are so tiny as you miss the detail..suffice it to say he doesn't flinch in the shower..just loves it!.
Aw Amy the new avatar is just gorgeous!
I still know that in love and awe feeling you have, I still have it even now with Katie, for me I think it will last forever as she was such a blessing and really didnt think I would ever have another baby never mind the girl I always wanted.
Done a few more arrangements today, paid deposit for the function hall, tomorrow I sign papers for the gazebo in the council gardens for the ceremony.
Also picked up a few bargains for the bridal table etc.
Ordered some monogrammed napkins with out names and wedding date on it and few other things via the net as it was cheaper.
Well nothing much else happening here, enjoying my days off before I go back 3.30am thursday!
Hope everyone is well xx
I found my dress allready!
Heres a pic of the overlay pink lace that was draping on the floor as needs altering to fit. and a pic of the top half, the rest is white
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2...54218910358850 (http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/Wedding/photo#5153354218910358850)
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2...54334874475858 (http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/Wedding/photo#5153354334874475858)
A bargain at only $250!
Ys_Woman
10-01-2008, 08:42
WOW! It's gorgeous Vicki. Good buy hon and can't wait to see pics of you wearing it :)
Nothing much going on here. Just sent hubby to Aldi supermarket as they advertised air conditioners going cheap ...but every man and his dog are usually there when there's something good, and the stores only stock a small amount of each thing..so it is a wing and a prayer kinda deal ..lol.
By the time hubby got inside there were none left..but due to some great luck he got one!! Another shopper was willing to part with one of the two she was coveting if her SIL rang from another Aldi store to say she had found one there too..thankfully the SIL did ..woohooo.
The only sacrifice was the lady suggested hubby swap trolleys with her as his was empty. He told her they should keep their own trolleys and just transfer the a/c from hers to his as he had a 'token' in his (a special $2 sized token with Aldi printed on it that hangs on a keyring and saves you having to find a $2 coin each time you go). The lady indicated that she had a 'token' in hers too. Not so as hubby discovered when he went to return the trolley..*blow*.
But at least we may get some cooler sleep on these stinking nights.
Where is everyone? Come back and post if you are home.
Hugs,
hi,
whiplash is getting better (thank God).vicswim has been good, however i am rather sick of having to get her to the pool by 9am each morning! just like school :eek:. luckily dh has been available .
well, we had a trip to the ivf counsellor . how depressing was that!!!:confused: she proceeded to tell us about everything negative and offputting.....a dose of reality i spose!!
so now dh is thinking it could just be a total waste of time and money.....boy, did she get to him!
the health issues for me and the lack of support that i have worried me mostly ( the side effects of the drugs etc.)
so we really dont know whether to go ahead basically. i'm due to start the drugs with af, so must decide soon!:( our chance of a pregnancy is virtually zero according to her, and it would be a miracle if it happened!!
well, dane happened didnt he?!
TABBY: so exciting your wedding plans!! i must check out your dress!!!
better go kids are hungry...
talk soon.
tracey.:gloomy:
ignore those awful counsellors and listen to me.... I know EVERYTHING about IVF, it does work, I have my two girls from it!
Counsellors SUCK big time..... I havent come across one I like YET! (and IVe seen a few!)
Listen to ME ME ME...ask ME ME ME
Sorry, havent been around, kinda got caught in the xmas rush..... now a #7 Birthday tomorrow for Sabrina...
Im going to do a Frozen transfer of my two donor egg embies in March, I just cant give up eh?
My computer...aaahh, had to get a new hard drive, totally stuffed, now my USB ports are stuffed too!
And my new fancy Olympus camera, the reader that views my pics has crashed and I dont have a proper camera to take piccies! Had to whip out the old one, its charging now and party tomorrow! Geesh!
I get to see a doc about my heel spur and plantar fasciitis on Monday, Ive been in utter agony, hobble along like an old old woman! THe pain, aiy yai yai...... Im praying for that cortisone injection they do..... I hear it hurts like ****e, but its only breif and,..... if I can walk again, sounds good...hey, Ive had two ceasars, I can handle a needle in my foot...Ive done IVF 14 times! I know needles.....
OK, time to sleep, will catch up later....
'Rita
elwoodgal
12-01-2008, 07:17
Hi jariah4
I do not know your story or your age but I felt I needed to respond to your Counselling story.
I am really sorry your Counsellor was so negative I think you should try another one or even another Clinic.
Not sure what state you are in?
I am in Vic. & go to Melbourne IVF & generally speaking have found the staff, nurses & counsellors excellent.
My counsellor is Kate Bourne but I have seen other counsellors & have found them supportive.
Please consider seeing another counsellor because even though IVF is an emotional & expensive journey it is a journey worth taking.
Do not give up on your dream.
elwoodgal
matthewsmum
12-01-2008, 10:43
Hi ladies...I have been here on and off reading all your news...but it was non stop while hubby was on holidays...we didnt do alot while he was here but we were just pottering in and out....He's back at work now ..it was the first time in 7 years we have spent 4 weeks together and not fought (miracle) it has started to get really hot now, we have been lucky so far as we have had mild days but when its hot it has been bad even right through the nigths.....i got 2 hours sleep last night and 4 the night before.
Your dress looks devine Vicki ...I cant wait to see the whole dress.
Amy Dane looks an angel, looking forward to more pics.
Matthew wants food.
Talk soon Shaz x
Have time before work for a bit of catch up.
Ah tracey: Dont give up love, if its what you dream of, advice from those here sounds wonderful. The councilor sounds like a right cow, ignore her imo.
Lots of :hugs:
Rita: Good to hear from you! Hope all goes well for the 7th birthday party. Ah the joy I had forgotten and yet to do again in what am sure will go in no time lol.
All the best for your next transfer xxx !!
Dont forget to let us know EVERYTHING so we can be here crossing everything for you. :yelclap:
hi Shaz! Hope the waether cools down for you so you can get a decent sleep. We have just been through a hot bit and now finally cooler, though my poor garden has suffered a huge hit, specially with that 45 degree xmas day we had.
Plenty to do once weather cools to get it back to some sort of normal again.
Amy ; How goes it all hun? all still going smoothly.. xxxx
Well best go feet up before work. 11 hr shift today :eek:
Ys_Woman
13-01-2008, 05:47
Tracey: Yes hon.. I try to give that hope to women on the Pregnancy after Miscarriage site. I know not all of them will conceive again but just to know that it has happened for an old bag like me (lol) might just keep them trying and hoping. Frankly, knowing other's, like Vicki, who had a perfectly healthy baby in their 40's kept me believing Dane had a good shot at coming out fine. The suggested ratio at 43 is around 1:28..so that means that out of 28 women who conceive 27 will have a normal healthy baby. So why do the doctors and counsellors want to paint the picture so bleakly? *shrugs*. I guess just to be sure we understand the risks.
I am sorry that silly counsellor got into your dh's head and glad she didn't get into yours. Keep going hon.:thumbsup:
Rita: Hello lovely, you have been missed around here, nice to have you back ..and way cool to hear you are using the last two frozo's. You know we are here for the ups and the downs so remember to fill us in on how it all goes.
I can so relate to the heel thing. During the pregnancy both heels ached, moreso upon waking in the morning and putting them to the floor. I thought it had to do with the extra weight I was carrying around but since Dane was born my left heel is still incredibly painful. I guess I need it seen to as I am limping all the time.Happy 7th birthday to Sabrinahappybirthday.
Shaz: I hope you get some cool nights soon. It is rotten hot here too *blah*. When I lived in Melbourne and the nights would be stinkers I would wet a towel and squeeze it out and lay it over me..a bit cold at first but it helped.
Vicki: Hey gorgeous. All is well here. I have started to wonder though if I have an addiction to anxiety..lol. Seriously. To all intents and purposes the breastfeeding is going along really well as Dane is happy, hydrated, poopy and wet, and sleeping almost 5hrs at a stint overnight (he gave up the 1am feed a few days ago) and at least 3hrs each nap during the day. We had him weighed and he had gained 130g in the last week. For some reason though I frantically worry whether he is getting enough milk and even tried to stick some s26 into him the other night but after 5ml he spat the bottle and went to sleep instead.
It is taking me a bit to recognise that just because I can't see how much is in the bbs, Dane's behaviour should be the indicator. I guess I just wanted it to work so badly after not fully bfeeding the last three, but I never learnt what constituted success. The fact that I have a very settled baby tells me I need to take a chill pill..lol.
The baby bonus hit the account so I am off to do some damage this morning..like buy the Avent electric breast pump I spotted in the chemist the other day..then Malcolm can feed Dane if I can't get home in time one day.
Hugs to all,
Hi there, I am 7 weeks pregnant and almost 40. My last pregnancy was over 16 years ago and so things feel all very different this time round. I have had 2 miscarriages and so am a little nervous about this one although all feels good! I would love to join your chat as I am living in a new town and could do with a little support from some other women who may be experiencing some similar things...like extreme nausea and exhaustion, nervousness and well many other things.
Look forward to chatting:flowerz:
hi Mumat40!
Am not experiencing those at the moment but did not that long ago! Katie is 12 months old now and am currently ttc again at 44 so hope to be feeling those things soon again. Until then will still love to share it with you, and any info I can help with as had mine 16yrs apart too.
I have a 26 yr old & 16 yr old boys and Kaitlyn 1yr old.
What city are you in?
Look forward to chatting heaps with you and
All the best for a lovely sticky beany for you xx
Am off to work but will catch up more in 2 days time on my days off.
Vicki
Amy: Sorry I missed that you had posted the other night!!! I feel horrid for missing you xxxx
LOL careful now on that shopping spree, hehe have fun!! Let me know all the goodies you got.
Also am that anxiety you have is a common thing, so hard to know if enough milk is had, but like you said, weight gain and over all happiness and things like that 5 hr sleep are wonderful indicators that he is getting lots of that beautiful milk you have, all sounds just perfect hun.
Am rather tired and trying to find a new job, this 11hr+ night shift is killing me, and goes without saying that I miss my family, if not working im napping *sigh* so new "normal" hrs job for me.
Am hoping can find one by monday so can hand in notice then.
I could just leave now as DF is back at work and higher wage but I like the extra $ now lol.
anyhow, mummy nap time now that miss is napping
xx to all
Ys_Woman
17-01-2008, 22:38
I hope you find something quickly Vicki..I can imagine how tired you must get.
Well, I spoke too soon about how grand things are going. Poor Dane vomited after Mal gave him a feed the other night while I was out. Then he vomited again during a 3am night feed. His head was hot, he was hard to feed and he had diarhorrea (sp?) a few times too. I tried to get in to see my doctor but she was busy so they made me see her husband instead. I can't tolerate this man as he has misdiagnosed me a number of times (once he told me I had Menier's disease when it was clearly a sinus infection and blocked eustation tube) and even his own wife said of him once that he is an idiot..lol (the day after his Menier's diagnosis when she was helping me fix my blocked eustation tube).
After hearing that Dane had been hot, had a stuffy nose,thrown up and had diarhorrea his considered three-second-opinion was that Dane has pyloric stenosis, a condition of the digestive tract where the food cannot go down so forcefully comes back up, and would require surgery to fix it. I looked at the doctor like he was an alien but he just went on to regale me about a patient who had 5 of her 9 children requiring the surgery. I wasted $55 for that advice?!
I know what pyloric stenosis is but don't believe that Dane has it at all. His feeding has been going so well to date and he doesn't even throw up the usual tiny amount that most babies do, so has never needed a bib.
Thankfully today was an easier day and it seems he is getting better. No more vomiting or diahorrea and his feeding is getting better too. Hubby and I are shattered tired though and need a decent sleep tonight *praying*.
I don't care how desperate I become in the future but I will never ever ever see that Dr again! sheesh.
Sorry for grumbling..sooo very tired.
Will come back and post when I have had some rest.
Hugs,
hi girls!!
thank you so much for all your advice. sorry its taken me so long to reply. i am sooo sick of the @#$%!! pool . 2 weeks of being at the pool by 9am! feels like school all over again!
dd1 did well and completed D level +.
the girls are so exhausted , dd2 has been a handful because she is so tired.
well, the ivf debate has come to this .... give it a go once with my eggs (if i have any).
then go donor if we can possibly find one after that.
at least this way i'll know if mine are too old (poor quality).
my cycles are becoming shorter and changing a bit i'll be 44 next month. perimenopausal i presume.
RITA; help!!! i am terrified of the drugs... gosh what am i infor?????????
thanks for any advice on what to do /expect etc..!!
sometimes i think i'm crazy doing this(well, that's already been established!) i worry about ruining things for the two girls we already have.
the counsellor predicted pnd bordering on psychosis this time round as i've had it both times previously:confused:
we are at a nicetime at the moment and enjoying each other. i also worry about this over stimulated ovary thingy too and hope i dont get that!
one day at a time hey? :ecomcity:
i'm about to ring the clinic as af arrived today and i have to start the drugs.YIKES!!!!!!:(
everything tellsme not to do this, spose i'm just a big chicken.
enough about me! hope you're all ok...great to have less hours tabby. hope you find something more suitable.
thanks to elwoodgal and everyone else that replied.
tracey:)
just the fear of the unknown really, look at it as if you are planning a big trip.... this is the preparation, buyig the tickets, booking hotel..... etc... the needles are nothing to waorry about, just the first is a hurdle, I PROMISE YOU!!!
THe rest is just a process..... you are worrying over nothing, I had OHSS also with Sabrina, but you are looked after, its not like you are thrown into the wild and fending for yourself.... you are carfully supervised and its rare for it to happen anyway.... and in any case, mild OHSS increases your odds of success! ITs only for a bit IF it happens at all..... and if you dont get pregnant and you had some OHSS, its gone as soon as period arrives! I think the OHSS is the least of your worries to be honest! ANd if you get lucky you arent going to be complaiing about a bit of OHSS.... when it has helped you to get where u want....
YOu could be preggers soon! And counselors, like I said, watch out fo them, I find talking to other like minded people far more beneficial than any old counselor.... talk to someone who has been thru it..... email me if you want, I dont always remember to log in here regularly
matthewsmum
19-01-2008, 10:41
Hi Ladies, well I have been so busy (I dont know what Ive been doing) Gym most mornings, gosh I need it though, wow so much has happened since I have been on here.... well we survived xmas...and easter eggs have appeared in the shops, and yes we have bought heaps already, I'm such a slack mum ...I let him have a little one when we are shopping, it is so hard to continue shopping while a 3 yr old screams for a damn chocolate egg.....so I give in...whats the difference between a chocolate egg and a kinder surprise???
Welcome mumat40....wow you have a history just like mine....i have 2 miscarriages then had my son at 42....my 2 girls are 25 and 20 this year theres 16 years difference
with mine too.
Well I sold some baby stuff on ebay I was highly dissapointed with the sales.....jogger pram went for $20......3 in 1 pram went for $20 I paid $299.......high chair was ok paid $59 got $32..... anyway they are out of our garage now I have more room to store more **** .....it has rained here non stop for 2 days it feels good the grass is loving it. Anyway lovely ladies hope to catch up soon bye for now shaz x http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/flowerz.gif
matthewsmum
22-01-2008, 18:17
Hi girls how are you all? Where are you all? What are you guys doing for Australia Day? We are going to a friends place for a BBQ (what else) and picking up my dining table..... Talk soon ladies....:smiliedance:
Ys_Woman
24-01-2008, 10:11
Sorry..life just gets so busy these days. I mean to post but end up pulled in another direction.
Shaz: Ebay is such an up and down thing. It is so disappointing when your item goes for dirt cheap, mind you, I don't complain when I am the buyer..lol. I now start my auctions at near to what I paid for something so I don't lose out by much, or give the BIN option at a price I think is reasonable without being a total giveaway.
Easter eggs and hot cross buns at this time of the year in the stores makes me fume :hair:. I go through the same emotions every year..lol. I think it de-sensitises kids so that when the holiday actually rolls around they are a bit blase about the whole thing.
I have some friends coming for a bbq on Saturday to celebrate Australia Day. I am making all the aussie foods like lamingtons, pavlova, and damper. I sound so organised but frankly I am so not..lol. I have been trying to bottle my home made plum sauce for the last three days but keep getting pulled away by Dane. I really must bottle it today.
Rita: So how did Sabrina's 7th go off? Did you have a party? My kids have missed out on parties for the last few years due to illness or me being too pregnant to do the hard work needed to put one on..ooops. I am so going to make it up to them this year.
Mumat40: I hope you come back in and post again. CONGRATS on the pregnancy..you must be tickled pink:smiliedance:.
Tracey: I hope everything goes very well for you hon. Did they say when you will start the drugs? Is it a certainty that you will get PND after each birth?
Congrats to your dd for passing another swimming level. I must make the effort to get my kids to lessons this year as they are both novices currently. They enjoyed the school lessons but there was barely any one-on-one time with a teacher as the groups are big and time is very limited.
Hugs to everyone as we approach this long weekend. Stay safe.
Ys_Woman
24-01-2008, 11:10
Vicki: Hey lovely. How is the job hunting going? And how is Katie these days?
You asked how I spent the baby bonus..well..we bought a new lounge, mattresses for the kids, and a new dining setting. We did it on the cheap at Fantastic Furniture. We needed a smaller dining table for our family room and the lounge seats five (modular with chaise) whereas our old one only seated three. All the old furniture is going back to the Salvo's..woohoo.
We also went to Bunnings and bought an outdoor setting (we had been making do with a trestle table and ugly plastic chairs for years), and an evaporative cooler which I think works better in our climate than the aircon we recently bought. We also got all the fiddly things that get put off year after year..like a new plug for the bath, hoses to use the grey water on the garden etc, and a new dishwasher (the kids broke our last one by using the door as a trampoline when they were little..agghh)
I paid for the kids book packs for school so I can just stroll in on the first day and it will be there waiting for us. I love that they do that as it saves me shopping for glue sticks, textas and exercise books..it is all done for me.
We still have some money left. It is hubby's bday next week so I am going to buy him a record player that has an inbuilt cd burner ..as he has tons of records he wants to copy off. The rest can stay in the bank until we desperately need it.
I am so thankful the government has this payment..not that it is a windfall, but because it has allowed us to play catchup after struggling on the one wage and living on second hand stuff.
Sorry..have ranted again :ecomcity:
I must away to bottle sauce and clean for the upcoming bbq.
Hugs,
matthewsmum
24-01-2008, 14:55
Hi Amy good on you for buying all those things you need. you sure have done well to get All that and still have money left over. We got $3000 when Matthew was born
and it helped then too as does the family tax A or B whatever it is I get??? Well where has this month gone!!!???? I get my new kit next Thurs Fri and I can't wait to get stuck into working it as I think it will be quite easy to sell. ( I know I know i said I wouldn't do PP again) Well we fly to Brissy on the 7th Feb I'm panicking already but I keep telling myself its only 1 hour and 20 mins. I will be ok. http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/frown.gif
:( okies ladies chat soon bye for now shaz xhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/wave.gif
Shaz: All the best for the new party plan adventure, hope it works well for you.
Amy: Glad to see you on! Understand fully though why time is now so limited with the lovely Dane here. Wow you got heaps with your BBonus! and leftovers!
No job hunting at the mo, I resigned from work and the boss called me in to say dont leave and what could he do to keep me, so put a offer of 5 x 5hr shifts, with 2 days off and one of those a weekend, so frid/sat or sun/mon off. He said should be okay doing me a special roster, he just has to sort it out and confirm Monday.
I do like it there so hopefully he can work it out, the shifts are 330am-830am which I dont mind as I do mummy naps in the arvo with Katie to catch up if need be. She sleeps for av 3hrs.
tracey: Hows it all going? Started the process yet?
anyhow must go, am tired, been swimming for the 1st time in years! Was Katies first too, hehe she loved it, so we went again tonight after being there only this morning. DF holds her while I do laps, I need get weight off for the big day. :thumbsup:
matthewsmum
25-01-2008, 13:47
Hi ladies....wow thats great Vicki that he is willing to do a roster just for you...you are well respected then if he does that....why oh why do kids start at you when you get on the pc???????????? AAArrrrgggghhhh talk soon
shaz x
Sparky1666
28-01-2008, 21:22
I have only just joined Bubhub tonight. Am expecting number 3 on the 28th Sept and will be 42 yrs old if all goes well.
I have 2 other grown children from 1st marriage 2oyrs and 17 yrs. Looking forward to taking this journey with all of you.
Welcome Sparky!!!
Congrats on your pregnancy and look forward to getting to know you more.
I have to head to bed as have a 330am work start but will catch up more either tomorrow or my day off on wednesday. :thumbsup:
Hi girls!! Will catch up soon, sorry! Just tired as at the moment.
Ys_Woman
29-01-2008, 14:55
Welcome to the 40's group Sparky1666. I almost peed my pants at your avatar..lmao.
Congrats on the pgcy and good luck hon.
I have just had my fourth and I have to say that it is no different to when I had the first (who, like your Justin, is about to hit 21 this year).
Look forward to hearing from you again.
Amy
Sparky1666
29-01-2008, 18:13
Thanks for the warm welcome ladies. Nice to hear that you also have an older children. Also good to know that I should not have forgotten everything.
I have become pg after 3 yrs of trying including IVF. All unsuccessful. As they say as soon as you give up it happens. DH had low numbers and motility. Well something must have gotten into the water he was drinking whilst we were on hols as this was totally welcome but unexpected.
Do you ladies try and catch up at a particular time or just pass like ships in the night?
Feel like I know more about you all from reading past posts.
Robyn - Adelaide
Ys_Woman
29-01-2008, 21:01
Hello again Robyn. Usually we don't get the chance to meet up on here and have a chat. We just come in and post when we are able. I do try for every day or two, but some days I am too tired to do it :(
Congrats again..and double congrats that your body worked it out by itself. Isn't that the way though? The moment you stop trying..BINGO!
It pretty much happened that way for me. I wanted to be pg in late 2006 after a loss earlier in the year. We weren't doing anything spectacular to make it happen but I secretly hoped I would get that one last chance. When I wasn't pg by the December I assumed that my age was against me so gave up thinking about it and began studies in early 2007. Six weeks later I fell pg..goodbye studies! lol.
I truly don't feel any different to when I was having my first. Doesn't matter how old you are it is still tiring to look after a baby. The pregnancy was no different to any of the others either..I had a great pregnancy with no health issues thankfully.
The birthing process doesn't change from baby to baby either..lol..still gotta get that watermelon out from the eye of a needle:)
I am truly enjoying this one. I savoured each moment of the pregnancy and now each moment since his birth. This is definitely my last one and I want to enjoy every little thing.
So what do your boys think about having a new sibling? I read that your eldest son is married. Is it possible your DIL will have a baby close to yours? That would be pretty cool.
OK..off to finish posting.
Ys_Woman
29-01-2008, 21:10
I have to head to bed as have a 330am work start but will catch up more either tomorrow or my day off on wednesday. :thumbsup:
Hi girls!! Will catch up soon, sorry! Just tired as at the moment.
Hey hon. How is Katie doing with you being gone a few hours a day?
What a great boss. You must have really shown great promise though for him to juggle the shifts like that. Good going!
How are your sons going? Is ds#2 going to study this year?
I had best away I guess. Dane will be up shortly wanting a shower and a feed. I made some biscuits today that are supposed to boost the breast milk supply..and have so far eaten about five of them..ooops..lol. Fingers crossed they work and don't just make me fatter.
Got the six week checkup tomorrow...hope he has put on some good weight in the last two weeks.
Sleep well.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
29-01-2008, 21:37
hi girls!!
thank you so much for all your advice.
well, the ivf debate has come to this .... give it a go once with my eggs (if i have any).
then go donor if we can possibly find one after that.
my cycles are becoming shorter and changing a bit i'll be 44 next month. perimenopausal i presume.
Hey lovely. Just a thought..was looking up some info online tonight about a herb called False Unicorn and thought it may be of interest to you in ttc. Not saying it works but *shrugs*, not saying it doesn't either.
I saw a naturopath in 2006 after the m/c when I was hoping to fall pg again. I wanted a tonic which would heal the uterus so she gave me that herb, taken in a liquid form. I took it for three months,Sept to Dec 2006,then I ran out and didn't go back for more. I fell pg three months later. I could kick myself for not saying anything earlier.
Here is the link I was looking at:
http://www.purplesage.org.uk/profiles/falseunicornroot.htm
Hope it is useful info.
Hugs,
hi!
i have finally returned...thanks amy for the tip on the false unicorn root. will definetly give it a try! thank you so much for thinking of me:hugs:
welcome sparky 1666. i suppose you've read a bit about me...if you havent i'm 43 (44 in march) my dh and i have two girls 9 and 4 yrs.
we are ttc #3 with no luck. ivf next... i was very interested to read that as soon as you gave up you got pregnant.
hope it works for us! looking forward to getting to know you.:wave:
well just an update on the situation so far.......i have been on a drug (tablets) to stop me from ovulating (progynova). we were all set to start the injections , when i went in to the clinic to have a scan and mentioned that dh had to return to qld to work and that we would need to freeze his sperm as was previously arranged with the doctor. the nurse just looked at me and said we cant do that until feb. 11th when the scientists are here from adelaide.
dh leaves on feb. 2nd.
the doctor had failed to mention that .she said it could be frozen if he was going away , so we could still go ahead with epu onthe 11th feb.:ecomcity:
any way to cut a long story short , now we have to wait till may!!
so i have to come off the drugs and wait for af.:hair:
in one way it's a relief that i dont have to go thru it yet and in another it really p&^%$$ me off!
so that's that.
on a good note dhand i went out the other night for the first time in 9.5 years without the girls! we have found a great babysitter and dd2 felt confident enough to stay at home with her and her sister.
we were gone about 3 hours (with me constantly checking my phone!!:laughing:) got home about 11pm....yes, they were still up!!!
we had a great time it was so weird! we went to quite a few pubs and a nightclub (OMG that took me back!) now i'm old enough to be their mother! might wait till theyre in bed next time and go out later.
anyway that's my bit..hope all's well with everyone.
looks like lonely old me again as of the 2nd feb!dunno when he's back next , better not be too long!
bye for now.
trace.
Sparky1666
31-01-2008, 18:45
So what do your boys think about having a new sibling? I read that your eldest son is married. Is it possible your DIL will have a baby close to yours? That would be pretty cool.
Thanks for the kind words of support Amy.
To answer your questions - the boys think it's gross that I am having sex!
And - no I would not want my DIL to be pg at the same time as I know I will be the one sitting at home baby sitting.
They are young and have time - unlike me. They can wait their turn!;)
Sparky1666
31-01-2008, 18:50
Hi Jariah,
I am sorry to hear about the stuff ups over your IVF. As if the meds don't mess you up enough.
You mentioned that you were awaiting the arrival of the Dr's from Adelaide. Does this mean you are using Repromed or are the Dr's from Flinders Uni?
I am sure that you will conceive. You already have 2 beautiful children and your body knows what to do. Maybe going out on the town more will do the trick:smiliedance:.
Thanks for the welcome I am sure we will catch up often.
hi there,
dh left today:crying:. not sure when next visit will be. the girls find it incredibly hard , not to mention me!!
have found out it's about $3,800 to move up where he is.better start saving !! being apart is no good.
we have been dealing with repromed sparky 1666 , thanks for your reply.:wave:we hope to go out on the town more often......when he IS in town!!!
by the way everyone have you noticed it's FEBRUARY (HINT HINT):yes:.
hope to talk to you all soon.
tracey.
Done!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=152026