my_lot
01-01-2008, 08:09
:party: Happy New Year

new month...

new thread...

blubber
01-01-2008, 09:07
Happy New Year to you Kay...

I did post in the December thread, perhaps we need a link from December to here.

my_lot
01-01-2008, 09:37
Hi M :wave:

I put a link in the old thread now.

Following on from your post there... for my brag post.

My little man has just started to crawl on his hands and knees! after sliding on his belly for more than 3 months now he can finally get around without cleaning the floors. He likes to stand up against everything, he started this the weekend we put the Christmas tree up. He pulled it down on himself. He can get down from the stand by bending his knees and no longed falls to the floor on his side or head :D

He can clap, wave byebye and hello. no sign for milk, eat, mum or dad yet but he understands each sign when its done to him and gets very cranky with the milk one beng done if hes ready for the milk!

he loves, loves, loves toys! unlike ds before him who would wander past coloured plastics for anything else but, eli loves his toys. The wiggles ride on car is his fav. he will push it along, honk the horn and stand up and bang on it til someone sits him on it and takes him for a ride. Another fav is his hand puppets he got for xmas. one is a cat with a mouse in her pocket and the other is a mouse with cheese in her pocket. They are babysafe so he can take one to bed. Peek-a-boo with these hand puppets makes him cackle no end. Another fav is trains. We have the take-along magnetic thomas trains and track we set up for him and we 'zoom' the trains on it past him and he tries to collect them and shove them back in their roundhouse. he bangs them down on the track and shoo's them away. Its pretty funny to watch.

talking of bed, i have to brag about his sleeping. he sleeps through every night ,now he is well. He knows his bedtime routine and doesnt protest it at night at all. Daddy does his teeth and sings to him and then he leaves him to self settle. As soon as the sheet goes round him he drops his head. He is still lightly wrapped and likes to have the sheet by his face.

hes a happy little one and interacts with the other kids everyday. Its so lovely to watch him climb on them to play or put his face down for "ah cuddles". I love the way he greets us when weve been "away" work, childcare or sleeps ect. I cant wait for him to be one and the toddler stage to start!

Ok im done- over to the next bragger :D

blubber
01-01-2008, 11:01
There go the tumbleweeds rolling through the thread again ;)

I was just reading through the last bit of the december thread, thought i would check out all the xmas picks.

What confused me, perhaps too much silly season cheer but i couldn't work out where this comment was directed.

Now a tumbleweed is generally known as a rolling plant, ie: it does not stay planted in the ground. It can have up to 250,000 seeds implanted in it and can move at a rapid rate with a good tail wind. It thrives in baron open land where long grasses are non existant hence it can move freely, leaving seeds on the ground.

Although it was "introduced" to the US from Russia it was discovered in Australia in the early 1800's. It was a pest. Destroyed agricultural land, it's s sharp pointy leaves cut livestock, it created fires and carried embers over fence lines.

So.....is your point based on the fact that the likely vision of Tumbleweed is of Wild West America, baron landscape a horse and a cowboy and some gun slinging!!
Therefore stating that this thread is all but a lonely graveyard.

Perhaps those that are happy to continue here have been busy with families and friends, been away and are not too concerned that there is a quiet time happening at the moment.
Perhaps if it was accompanied by having something else to chat about this would not be the case.

I can't help thinking there was bit of a tongue in check thought process behind the quote. Pity really.

Anyway to those of us who are happy to keep planting the tumbleweed seeds Happy New Year.

SuperFrog
01-01-2008, 13:47
Happy New Year!

We had a nice quiet one at home last night. My best friend and her hubby came over and we played some cards and some board games. WE were so engrossed with a great game of 500 that we actually missed midnight by a few minutes! Oh well.

Went outside to our street and there were heaps of illegal fireworks being set off. Quite funny really. It was like duelling banjos... but with fireworks. One group set some off, and it was like the people a few streets away said 'Oh yeah? That all you got? Well take this!'. And then someone else would set some off and do the same thing! Great to be a spectator for.

Stayed up way too late and am buggered today. MIL kindly offered to look after Liam today so DH and I both went back to sleep! We're going back to her place later this afternoon for dinner and we'll pick Liam up then. It's the first time we've left him there for an extended period of time. Feels really weird.

Glad I got to have a sleep today though as I start back at work tomorrow. Looking forward to it, but I know it will be hard leaving Liam (even though we left him today... but that's different... really it is!).

It's slowly cooling down in Melbourne finally. I'm not used to the hot weather. At least we have our a/c vents finally put in so the past few days have been bearable.

So... bragging uh? Liam has grown up so much since Christmas. He stands up by himself for a little bit, until he realises he isn't holding on and sits back down VERY carefully. He loves his new bike and he loves to push it around as well. We're not doing any signing here but I can tell that he is really starting to understand some things that we say. He is fascinated with ceiling fans and can always point to a fan if you ask him where they are. Can also point towards Astro, our cat, birds, Mum, Dad, Nan and Pa. So far he is only saying 'Mum' and 'Bbbuh' when he points to stuff. Everything seems to start with B... ball, balloon, bird, bib, bottle, bike. Weird!

Liam is also a bit of a performing pony. He'll put his arms right up in the air if you ask how big he is, he'll give you kisses if you ask, and if you ask what's in your mouth he'll open it up and stick out his tongue (unless he really has something in there!). His latest thing is when there is no food left, or the ball has rolled away, he'll turn his hands up as if to say "Where did it go?". Adorable! He also loves to play catch with a ball. Will go off and get it if it rolls away and bring it back, ready for you to throw it again. Will also try to throw it to you... sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

He has also learnt how to get in and out of the ball pit by himself. After a few ungraceful head klonks he has worked out that getting out needs to be more carefully done than just diving in. Very funny to watch. I think we might have it on our camera... will have to look.

Liam has also started to do the shy cuddling into me or DH when he is around people he doesn't know well. Adorable!

Okay, I'll stop now. I'm being the proud parent who doesn't know when people don't wan to hear it!

Hope everyone had a good one. Bye!

blubber
01-01-2008, 14:11
Can i have more than one brag post!!!

Mon reminded me about the kissing. Elly opens her mouth, leans forward and plants one on you.

As she isn't moving yet there are no wonderful acrobatic feats but i think her claim to fame will be talking. If she is anything like Mia it is going to be one daily commentary in this place.
It seems her understanding and communication is really progressing.
Mia was a quick learner and talker so will be great if Elly is as well.

Like Kay said, i can't wait for the impending months when communication, personality and at some stage movement:p developes. It is a fantastic feeling encouraging, teaching and laughing with your child.

SuperFrog
01-01-2008, 14:41
As mothers, can we really contain all the bragging to one post? I think not!

When I'm playing our piano, Liam stands up and presses the keys to join in. :D

my_lot
01-01-2008, 15:42
talking of ball pits and bikes, mon....

What are we all doing for 1st Birthday gifts?

We got the fisher-price bike quite a while ago and have it under the house for his birthday.

I got him a dolly ages ago. Its a big one 50cm i think. material body, cute smiley face. all the kids got a dolly on their first birthday dressed in one of their own newborn outfits. Ds is 5 and still has his "BOY doll and im the dad" doll sitting on his bed, its dressed in the clothes he wore as an 8lb 3 month old.

Dp got Eli a great big tonka truck sometime before Christmas, it comes with sand pit toys. Its so huge im sure he will ride in it.

and the other day we got a wiggles eezy peezy slide. We wanted to get him an indoor slide and didnt really want a free standing one on legs. years ago we had a yellow slide that went with the clam sandpit/pool and it was so solid we used it inside too.

We are having a family & friends BBQ with a Thomas theme for Eli's birthday and Bowling fun and games for DDs birthday.I started working on the TWO pinatas today and they are now one layer done and hanging outside...

does anyone have a party shop near them? and willing to shop for me?? could you PM me please...

mummybunny
01-01-2008, 17:52
I was just reading through the last bit of the december thread, thought i would check out all the xmas picks.

What confused me, perhaps too much silly season cheer but i couldn't work out where this comment was directed.

Now a tumbleweed is generally known as a rolling plant, ie: it does not stay planted in the ground. It can have up to 250,000 seeds implanted in it and can move at a rapid rate with a good tail wind. It thrives in baron open land where long grasses are non existant hence it can move freely, leaving seeds on the ground.

Although it was "introduced" to the US from Russia it was discovered in Australia in the early 1800's. It was a pest. Destroyed agricultural land, it's s sharp pointy leaves cut livestock, it created fires and carried embers over fence lines.

So.....is your point based on the fact that the likely vision of Tumbleweed is of Wild West America, baron landscape a horse and a cowboy and some gun slinging!!

Perhaps those that are happy to continue here have been busy with families and friends, been away and are not too concerned that there is a quiet time happening at the moment.
Perhaps if it was accompanied by having something else to chat about this would not be the case.

I can't help thinking there was bit of a tongue in check thought process behind the quote. Pity really.

Anyway to those of us who are happy to keep planting the tumbleweed seeds Happy New Year.

:laughing::laughing::laughing: your a classic, every time a ready your posts you make my day...

mummybunny
01-01-2008, 18:02
we have been so busy... birthday christmas new years and now planning a wedding (finally ) and a 1st birthday party!! :eek:

what did everyone do last night??
Levin took me to KFC for dinner (my last junk meal ever im starting my diet to get back to my size 12 clothes) and then we saw a movie it was called "P.S. I Love You" has anyone seen it?? my god it was the best movie ive seen in a long time i want to buy it when it comes out..
then after that we went to the city for the fireworks then went to the look out and just talked (which was really nice) and then came home made our selves a drink each and took 2 mouthfuls and crashed in bed haha you can so tell we are parents hey lol

as for the bragging...
RIley is running now :eek: he can say mum, dad, nan, bub and is trying to say mags (mum and dads dog) he was waving hello and bye, but he stopped. and when he gets angry he throws his hands in the air and walks around in circles while looking at you threw the top of his eyes (naughty but very cute) Riley likes to bang things together to make noises, he can climb onto the lounge, he opens and closes doors and cupboards and drawers he pushed the sliding doors open and closed. he can take his nappy off, cloth Velcro and sposies hasn't got to the snaps yet. He is also getting molers and maybe eye teeth. he loves books he will just sit for hours looking at books.

i think thats it for now...

how was everyones Christmas/new year???

Kim xxx

mummybunny
01-01-2008, 18:04
does anyone have a party shop near them? and willing to shop for me?? could you PM me please...

we have a few shops near us if you want let me know!!

Roopee
01-01-2008, 19:57

LOL! Thanks for the description BUT thats confused me:o. In LAYMANS terms...what is a tumbleweed? :confused::laughing:

Stayed up way too late and am buggered today. MIL kindly offered to look after Liam today so DH and I both went back to sleep! We're going back to her place later this afternoon for dinner and we'll pick Liam up then. It's the first time we've left him there for an extended period of time. Feels really weird.

Oh im jealous! We had a rather sizable evening here last night with way too much Omni Pink consumed by me. We had some friends over- anyway- all the kids fell asleep around 1am so we left the kids here asleep and i told their parents to just come get them in the morning (it was 3 am and i didnt want to wake them) thinking the kids would sleep in so it wouldn't be an issue.
BUT
they were all up (all 8 of them) at 6.30!!!!!!!! So guess whose tired today!:laughing: That'll teach me! No more Mr Nice Guy!

What are we all doing for 1st Birthday gifts?

Cody is getting a bike (with the handle at the back), Baby Born, and a few little things! Not sure yet on what we are doing as far as the party goes- maybe a pool party or something.

As for the party stores- there are at least 4 near me so ifd you need anything- let me know! Be happy to help!

[text removed by moderator]

Sometimes i forget how young you are! Wise beyond your years:hugs:

Ok so our Chrissy was great but busy busy and now for my brag.

I have a free stander and we have lift off.
Two steps so far- from coffee table to lounge- so very exciting! Im amazed that those chubby little legs of hers can actually carry her.
She has a massive personality now- the boys have taught her to put her hand in the arn with one finger sticking out while they say "rock on sista" to her- soooooo damn cute and has her in stitches.
She also loves to destroy the bookcase! She is not happy unless every single book is strewn across floor!
She waves bye-bye,claps her hands, says ta, mum, dad, yum, car and nan.
I think thats about it- im sure i'll think of more later.
Nite everyone.

SilverStarfish
01-01-2008, 20:29
Okie dokie, thread is open for business again.

Please remember that when you signed on as a member of Bubhub that you agreed to abide by the rules of the forum. These rules (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1701761#post1701761) clearly state that:

# Messages should be polite and friendly. Others are free to express their opinions and beliefs and any difference of opinion should not be taken personally.
# Please do not post any messages that harrass, insult, belittle or threaten another member.

If someone posts something that you find nasty, mean or offensive please do not reply or retaliate in the thread. Instead, report the post to the moderating team by clicking on the little red triangle icon above the relevant post.

harleyq
02-01-2008, 07:41
Haven't caught up on Jan thread yet... but here is a response to the December one before l forget....

thats fantastic sandy
We are going strong on the "byebye" and "hello" he expects a huge reaction now because we yelled and clapped when he started doing it.

well done coen :yelclap: Coen has only waved once.... and we made a big deal of it too.... he hasn't repeated it yet though... :smiliedance: for Eli!!!

We are very new to the signing as i need some more info, free preferably!! Marianne, it sounds like you have a very clever bub on your hands... Coen still shakes his head in the sign of a no - when he means yes....
For some of the signs you can do check out the AusLan - signbank website - if you can't find it pm me and l will send through the address via PM. Good luck. I have seen it work with older children and it is just fantastic! It gives the kids a way to express themselves when they might not have the language to do it!!! I am a big fan!

harleyq
02-01-2008, 08:02
..My little man has just started to crawl on his hands and knees! ...He can clap, wave byebye and hello. ... he sleeps through every night .. Wow it sounds like Eli has come forward in leaps and bounds :yelclap: That is fantastic news Kay! Especially about the sleeping!

Mon - LIam is such a cutie, l can just picture him doing the "where" thing!!! Oooooh but l want to see it!!! Coen is going in and out of the ball pit too... he just dives in though - does LIam do the same?

Marianne - Coen opens his mouth wide when you say kisses too!! Its funny.... you get a big sloppy kiss - but it is oh so cute!!

Kim - Coen has a bit of a temper too - it is very funny, he clenches his fists and put his arms up (like a bodybuilder would when he is showing his bicep muscles) and clenches his teeth... l know l shouldn't encourage it - but it is quite interesting to see them discover how to express their emotions!!! (l bet l won't be saying that in a few months when he decides to test me with tantrums)

Okay - so l have only now read the whole of the Jan thread.... looks like the sh!t has hit the fan again... I hope its all sorted now - whatever it was about - please remember that when people put something in writing and another reads it - they are not always taking it in the way it was intended.... a person can say one thing... meaning it as a sarcastic funny remark and another take it completely another way as a pointed attack.... in any case l was bitten by that particular bug with a boss of mine when l was in my early 20's and l now try and be very careful about how l say things... and when somebody sends me an e-mail (text /message on forum) that l don't like - l will more often then not give them a call or contact them some other way and ask them what they "Really" intended -- one last thing - if you wouldn't say something to somebodies face - or at least on the telephone - never ever put it in writing!!! And that's it from me...

If the thread gets down and dirty again l'm out - and l would hate hate hate for that to happen - l don't know what went on - nor do l want to - so Happy New Year everyone!!!

Oh as for 1st b'day pressies - NO TOYS - but l would really like to hear what others are getting so l can get some ideas.... Kay - l wanted to thank you for your ideas for Christmas.... l wrote them down in my diary and ended up getting quite a few of them - l got the clam shell (and the balls), bubbles, and a leap pad, we also got him bath toys, a ride on car, plenty of books and a ball with bumps (although the ball came earlier) - which you recommended... and he loves all of them!!! So thank you - this kind of stuff l would not have gotten anywhere else - and it is why l love bubhub so much!

JoJoMart
02-01-2008, 08:22
Happy New Year everyone! :party:

As for bragging about what our bubs are up to.......Liam just said Hello Dada thing morning to Dad....he did it twice after DH said hello to Liam! It was soooo cute. He also responds with kisses when you ask for a kiss.........he has his mouth wide open and gives a sloppy one! Liam is standing and cruising along furniture but not walking yet. He loves finger food and is a pain to feed from a spoon as he really doesn't like it much...would prefer to feed himself. As for naughty stuff.......he has started screaming or crying to get what he wants and when he doesn't want to go down for a nap has started really screaming, kicking his legs and throwing a tanti........what a worry! It all seems innocent now to some extent but what are the terrible 2's going to be like I wonder :hissy:

Is anyone's bub down to 1 sleep per day now? Liam has been going for 5 straight hours during the day without a sleep............we just can't get him to settle to sleep at lunchtime but by 4pm he usually crashes for at least half an hour. I'm not happy about this of course but if he has a longish sleep in the morning I don't mind too much I guess :confused:. I think the teeth are playing a part.

For new years eve we just stayed home and drank wine and watched the fireworks on t.v. We also had a few people down the road letting off those illegal fireworks. Didn't bother me too much except our dog got really scared.

We leave for Albury tomorrow for 4 days........meeting some friends from Perth who are in Wagga at the moment.......their little girl Priya is the same age as Liam and there will also be another two couples with kids. It's going to be hot so I hope it's not too uncomfortable but we will be in the pool most of the time I imagine!

my_lot
02-01-2008, 11:06
sandy- glad it was a help! sounds like he got some cool toys too. From your pics your house looks like toys R us! imagine it in 5 years time oooh imagine it times 2 or 3 kids :laughing: I just took two full car loads to vinnies over the last two days and i havent started! Now i have to sort clothes. They go to their pre-school and vacation care depending on the size. so big job to do there.

That ball with the dots is such a great toy. only a few $$ and so much fun for a baby. a fav here, he loves it so much we have a hard time getting it off him each time he "catches" it. we are on the 2nd one. the puppy popped the last one!

jo- Eli has one sleep every now and then and seems to manage it fine. I still stick to morning and arvo but if for some reason he misses the morning then he just has one sleep. Ds was about one , maybe a little older when dds pre-school teacher told me he could handle one sleep a day (i was waking him to pick her up and some days we'd get there and hed be bawling cos id just woken him) so i started with one sleep with him then. he is now 5.5 and stopped that day sleep a few months ago but still at least once a week will fall asleep in the day.

blubber
02-01-2008, 11:49
Sandy, i always like to believe that Elly is progressing well. Thanx

On the baby sign language i checked out the Australian baby Hands website and was able to download a small poster with a few signs. I might check out the library and see if they have the book that is available for sale.
I would presume that which learning tool you use the signs are the same. Perhaps someone may know more.

So in saying that Elly did the sign for Finished this morning after her breakfast..whoa hoo:yelclap:.

blubber
02-01-2008, 11:56
Ok so that just posted itself and i hadn't even finished.

Jo, have a good trip away, it has been 40+ here for 6 days now so good luck in the heat.
Elly generally has a good morning sleep 2-3hours. Depending what time she goes down depends on the second sleep.
She went down at 10.00am and is now still in bed, 12.37.
She has missed morning ones with playgroup and the like then just has one good arvo sleep.

Mia was very similar, she is 4 in April, and like Kays DS, she still has a sleep 3 or so days a week.

As for terrible two's for us they didn't exist. When Mia hit three was well then it all started. Not naughty just completely forgets to use her ears!!!:hair:

harleyq
02-01-2008, 14:30
He also responds with kisses when you ask for a kiss.........he has his mouth wide open and gives a sloppy one! Coen does the same - but isn't cute????

It all seems innocent now to some extent but what are the terrible 2's going to be like I wonder :hissy: l must admit l am a bit nervous about that too

Is anyone's bub down to 1 sleep per day now? Coen is still having 3 sleeps a day.... but l think he is moving to 2 - he has skipped his last sleep twice in the last week....

Jo - enjoy the trip - l hope Liam behaves...

I would presume that which learning tool you use the signs are the same. Perhaps someone may know more.

So in saying that Elly did the sign for Finished this morning after her breakfast..whoa hoo:yelclap:.As long as it is based on Auslan.... it is Australia wide.... there are a few proprietary languages (which l would avoid) and each nation seems to have their own... :yelclap:for Elly signing!!!

Shajbm
02-01-2008, 15:36
Hello just popping in to say a quick hello. I will be back later to do couscous before B and M wake up.

SuperFrog
02-01-2008, 16:42
Well I survived my first day back at work. Wasn't a lot to do, so I'm easing into it. Heaps of people are still on holidays, but I'm guessing next week might be different.

Grumbly bub. Later chaps.

mummybunny
02-01-2008, 18:15
so glad those that went back to work today made it threw the day.. how was the day??

ive been feeling quite crook today :barf:
and im a few days late, might be a little early to test but so ill wait till monday i think.

im feeling quite dizzy atm so i might come back in a little while...:dizzy::dizzy:

Roopee
02-01-2008, 21:58
Well I survived my first day back at work. Wasn't a lot to do, so I'm easing into it. Heaps of people are still on holidays, but I'm guessing next week might be different.

Congrats for getting over the first day! Its a hard one isn't- the walking out the door and waving 'bye'.
In time you might be like me and hang out for those work days LOL.
I'm glad it wasn't too hard on you:hugs:

ive been feeling quite crook today :barf:
and im a few days late, might be a little early to test but so ill wait till monday i think.

Dont you bloody dare wait! Get your toosh in the loo now and pee on that stick!:p

Had a good day today! Had to enlighten my boys on the workings of a G string though- in Target. The conversation went something like this.

Mr 7- hey MUM! What is this.

Me-*mumbles "oh dear" Umm theyre undies mate.

MR 7 and 5- Holding it up looking at it from all angles- then both burst out laughing. No really mum what is it?

MR 5- God Cooper- your so silly sometimes- its a slingshot- dont you know anything? Someone just put it in the wrong section.

Mr 7- But Riley there's heaps of them here- look they're all the same. I think they're undies.

Me- Oh god...yes- Copper's right- they are undies.

Mr 5 and 7- sniggering- oh MUm do you wear them?

Me- No.

Mr 7-didnt think so cause you always moan when we give you a wedgie. That would be like having an atomic wedgie all day! Ewwwwwwww.

Me- Ok- lets get out of here.

My embarrassing story for the day:laughing:

mummybunny
02-01-2008, 22:26
oh tan i will but not tonight, i dont have a test ill get one tomorrow!!

haha your story made my day!!!:laughing::laughing::laughing:

Shajbm
02-01-2008, 22:34
Congrats for getting over the first day! Its a hard one isn't- the walking out the door and waving 'bye'.
In time you might be like me and hang out for those work days LOL.
I'm glad it wasn't too hard on you:hugs:

Dont you bloody dare wait! Get your toosh in the loo now and pee on that stick!:p

Had a good day today! Had to enlighten my boys on the workings of a G string though- in Target. The conversation went something like this.

Mr 7- hey MUM! What is this.

Me-*mumbles "oh dear" Umm theyre undies mate.

MR 7 and 5- Holding it up looking at it from all angles- then both burst out laughing. No really mum what is it?

MR 5- God Cooper- your so silly sometimes- its a slingshot- dont you know anything? Someone just put it in the wrong section.

Mr 7- But Riley there's heaps of them here- look they're all the same. I think they're undies.

Me- Oh god...yes- Copper's right- they are undies.

Mr 5 and 7- sniggering- oh MUm do you wear them?

Me- No.

Mr 7-didnt think so cause you always moan when we give you a wedgie. That would be like having an atomic wedgie all day! Ewwwwwwww.

Me- Ok- lets get out of here.

My embarrassing story for the day:laughing:

LOL, made my day. Jake is starting to ask embarrassing questions too. And they tell everyone everything. Have to be so careful what we say to them.

Roopee
03-01-2008, 08:48
LOL, made my day. Jake is starting to ask embarrassing questions too. And they tell everyone everything. Have to be so careful what we say to them.

Just you wait until they go to school! The 'news' items they tell their teachers are amazing!
I was told by my DS1's teacher to 'please teach him the difference between news and family secrets":eek:

God only knows what he said!:laughing:

my_lot
03-01-2008, 09:04
ha ha tan.

mine have done it too. :laughing: Its pretty funny after the fact.

now i just tell them if they say anything that belongs in our house i will take thier dirty undies in for show and tell.....and ill be wearing my PJs.

bAaM
03-01-2008, 17:04
Hi girls Just dropping in a quick hello,
No net yet Telstra has to wait for the contracter to come off holidays and do the phone line.

Not much happening here, we had a blinder New Years me and My cousion got ****ed and we played poker all night.

Bub is nearlly walking she has taken a few steps.

Anyway I see the thread is almost dead now (somrthing i have obviously missed)So i might head over to the other thread.

blubber
03-01-2008, 19:35
Leashie, so good to hear from you. Hope all is well and i know you want to ge that net happening at home as much as we want you to.

Tan: Did you ask the teacher what DS1 actually said? I'm eager to hear?
As for the G-string conversation it is a classic.

JOJO: if you are about and more on the day sleep thing. Elly had a 20 minute power snooze while out today. Had lunch at home about 12.30, bottle about 1.15 and out for the count at 1.35. She slept until 4.40.
She handled it, it's usually what she does when we have morning activites.
She is in bed now 8.08pm having a play and will then go to sleep.
Hope Liam is going ok on holidays.

Has anyone seen Sharon (ziggy)?

Mon: sounds like a very accomadating way to settle back into work. Hope it all goes well.

Still hot here, Mia said tonight when she went to bed is it still going to be hot tomorrow mum?...I said yes, she said...Oh man

Shajbm
03-01-2008, 21:36
Just you wait until they go to school! The 'news' items they tell their teachers are amazing!
I was told by my DS1's teacher to 'please teach him the difference between news and family secrets":eek:

God only knows what he said!:laughing:

LOL

Hi girls Just dropping in a quick hello,
No net yet Telstra has to wait for the contracter to come off holidays and do the phone line.

Not much happening here, we had a blinder New Years me and My cousion got ****ed and we played poker all night.

Anyway I see the thread is almost dead now (somrthing i have obviously missed)So i might head over to the other thread.

We'll miss you in this thread.

As for us, well nothing really new except that Ben is now pulling himself up to stand...he's getting really frustrated that he can't walk.

Roopee
04-01-2008, 07:04

Wow! Its so good to hear from you- been missing you heaps Leashie!:hugs:

Tan: Did you ask the teacher what DS1 actually said? I'm eager to hear?
As for the G-string conversation it is a classic.

Has anyone seen Sharon (ziggy)?

No way! I was too mortified! I didnt want the teacher to tell me- would have preferred Cooper to tell me but when i asked him he said "nothin, why do you have to know everything mum":laughing:

As for us, well nothing really new except that Ben is now pulling himself up to stand...he's getting really frustrated that he can't walk.

Ohhh does the fear pof having TWPO toddlers into everything scare the pants off you???? Wow! I cant believe how fast all these babies are growing now!:flowerz:

Hannah!!!!!!! If your reading hun- your being missed! How is Eloise going? I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year!:hugs:

my_lot
04-01-2008, 09:36
mon- You should take him to a DR. You can never over react with a cough. It can go from a little cough to pneumonia very quickly. Get his chest listened to. Croup sounds like a bark. Dp calls it a foghorn but i think more like a bark. It can be a dry sounding cough where as most flu type coughs sound wet.

HTH

mummybunny
04-01-2008, 10:04
yep mon id be going to the doc!!!

mummybunny
04-01-2008, 14:35
:wave: well we didn't go on our trip to the beach, turns out i might have a broken foot after all, after i got up from talking to you Kay and M, my Left foot was so swollen i could barely walk, so i have to go see the doctor tomorrow morning, might do my test at the same time. my foot is so bloody sore, god i have no idea what ive done, and ive been really good and tried to stay off it the last few days because hubby has been helping heaps. ahhhh

oh well...

i have pics of Riley being eaten by the loung to post later!! :laughing::laughing:

till then.. :wave:

Oh mon hope bub is feeling better soon!! :thumbsup:

xxx Kim

my_lot
04-01-2008, 15:28
hi mon :wave:

kids health have info on both RSV and croup.

like this-

Most croup is caused by viruses, but similar symptoms may occasionally be caused by bacteria or an allergic reaction. The viruses most commonly involved are parainfluenza virus (accounting for most cases), adenovirus, respiratory syncytial virus, influenza, and measles.

The term spasmodic croup refers to a condition similar to viral croup, except that there are no accompanying symptoms of an infection. The cough frequently begins at night with a sudden onset. The child usually has no fever with spasmodic croup. The symptoms are treated the same for either form of croup.

RSV infections often occur in epidemics that last from late fall through early spring. Respiratory illness caused by RSV — such as bronchiolitis or pneumonia — usually lasts about a week, but some cases may last several weeks. Doctors typically diagnose RSV by taking a medical history and doing a physical exam. Generally, in healthy kids, it's not necessary to distinguish RSV from a common cold. But in cases where a child has other health conditions, a doctor might want to make a specific diagnosis. RSV is typically identified in nasal secretions, which can be collected either with a cotton swab or by suction through a bulb syringe.

please dont take it the wrong way, i am only posting the info to show others what it all means.

Purplebird
05-01-2008, 07:27
Hi everyone :wave: from cold England. Hope you're all well - we're having a lovely time catching up with family and friends. I can't get on the internet much so this is just to say I'm thinking of you all. Can you believe our bubs are nearly one??!

Roopee
05-01-2008, 10:37
Hi everyone :wave: from cold England. Hope you're all well - we're having a lovely time catching up with family and friends. I can't get on the internet much so this is just to say I'm thinking of you all. Can you believe our bubs are nearly one??!
:smiliedance: hi Stranger!:smiliedance: So good to hear from you!:flowerz:

SuperFrog
05-01-2008, 15:50
still no rain here, gosh i wish it would rain, id like a nice cold day to just rug up at least once before DH go's back to work!! :D Valentine

on the other hand id really like to take Riley to the pool, its quite warm today so maybe we can go over for a little while when he wakes up, if not id say it will be hot tomorrow so we can go tomorrow!! :sunshine:

I wish it would rain here too... or at least cool down a bit.

Liam's cough is starting to improve but he now has a fever and magical snot that seems to be everywhere. Panadol and a coolish bath have dropped his temp but he is still really sleepy. Still playing with toys and stuff though. Is asleep at the moment, but I'm keeping a close eye on him.

Where are you cool change??

Roopee
05-01-2008, 16:05
I'm glad Liam seems to be feeling better Mon.
Its so hard to keep a kids temp down when the outside temp is soaring!

Croup is such a scary thing and you feel so helpless so big :hugs: to you guys.

Oh and :fingerscrossed: you guys get a cool change soon!

We have had a beautiful day here- overcast, raining and cool. Makes a nice change!:yelclap:

mummybunny
05-01-2008, 18:29
im so over this s***t!!! :hair:

ahhhhhhhhh:hair: i just want to scream as loud as i can:hissy:!!! Riley will not go to sleep, he will not eat, he will not sit still for me to rock or cuddle him, he has had a bath, 2 bottles, been rocked, cuddles, bathed, i tried to feed him but he refused, i am going insane here, i can not handle it when he is like this, i just feel like :hair: (ok where is the little head bagging guy??)
i just cant get a break from him, even when i give him to L and try get away for 10 mins he screams till i come back or he gets his own way. he has got such a temper on him atm i just don't know where its coming from. is anyone else getting this????

some days i feel like my PND is coming back and other days are so good i feel like im in heaven, i just don't know what to do in this situation any more!!! :crying:

*deep breath in*

oooookkk

so how is everyone??

Roopee
06-01-2008, 08:23
Hope you have a better day today Kim!

How's Liam this morning Mon? Hopefully he's alot better today!
Get out and get yourself that coffee and cake!
Did your cool change come through the night?????:fingerscrossed:

Lovely day here today- pretty humid- but nice and cool mostly.:yelclap:

harleyq
06-01-2008, 10:09
Oh kim, l hope it gets better for you today... do you think there is something that caused this behaviour? Food, missing mummy??? I only ask cos Coen was a bit difficult that day that l was away from him for 5 hours... and one of my friends baby used to go a bit funny with particular foods....

Anyway you have a break coming up soon which is something to look forward to.

Hope everyone else is doing well.... must get back to my training (l am doing online training for work - and l am currently procrastinating!!!)

JoJoMart
08-01-2008, 08:55
Ok so that just posted itself and i hadn't even finished.

Jo, have a good trip away, it has been 40+ here for 6 days now so good luck in the heat.
Elly generally has a good morning sleep 2-3hours. Depending what time she goes down depends on the second sleep.
She went down at 10.00am and is now still in bed, 12.37.
She has missed morning ones with playgroup and the like then just has one good arvo sleep.

Mia was very similar, she is 4 in April, and like Kays DS, she still has a sleep 3 or so days a week.

As for terrible two's for us they didn't exist. When Mia hit three was well then it all started. Not naughty just completely forgets to use her ears!!!:hair:

We did have a good trip away thanks. It was so hot though.......our cabin had air conditioning but Liam didn't sleep well because it didn't cool down his room enough. Each night he wasn't asleep until 9:30pm! He usually goes down at 7pm and we got back yesterday and was in bed by 7:30pm and asleep......yay!

We went to some wineries on the Saturday.......that was great, but harder to drink much which was a good thing as it was 37 degrees or something. The pool was lovely. Liam loved swimming and will post some pics later.

mummybunny - sounds like you are just stressed out which is understandable the way Riley is at the moment! Hope things improve soon.

Mon - Did you enjoy work or think you would rather be at home? I'm not back for another few weeks but I'm just not keen on the actual working bit. I think I will spend most of the time catching up/gossiping to start with!

Hannah - sounds like you are having a fab time! See you when you get back and enjoy the rest of your holiday.

It's cooler today in Melbourne thank goodness but heating up again mid week :banghead:

mummybunny
08-01-2008, 09:20
Oh kim, l hope it gets better for you today... do you think there is something that caused this behaviour? Food, missing mummy??? I only ask cos Coen was a bit difficult that day that l was away from him for 5 hours... and one of my friends baby used to go a bit funny with particular foods....

Anyway you have a break coming up soon which is something to look forward to.
i think its the age and his teeth. some days he go's to sleep fine no probs at all, like today he has been asleep since 9 its now 10.30 like hello child be like this everyday lol :laughing::laughing:

mummybunny - sounds like you are just stressed out which is understandable the way Riley is at the moment! Hope things improve soon.

yep i sure and stressed out. today i feel good but. im ok today!!

glad you had a good trip btw!!

the inlaws are ripping up our front yard today... will tell more in a while need to get some stuff done while the :devil6: evil child is sleeping (he isnt really evil he is beautiful)!!

Roopee
09-01-2008, 12:54
We did have a good trip away thanks. It was so hot though.......our cabin had air conditioning but Liam didn't sleep well because it didn't cool down his room enough. Each night he wasn't asleep until 9:30pm! He usually goes down at 7pm and we got back yesterday and was in bed by 7:30pm and asleep......yay!

We went to some wineries on the Saturday.......that was great, but harder to drink much which was a good thing as it was 37 degrees or something. The pool was lovely. Liam loved swimming and will post some pics later.

Mon - Did you enjoy work or think you would rather be at home? I'm not back for another few weeks but I'm just not keen on the actual working bit. I think I will spend most of the time catching up/gossiping to start with!

Hannah - sounds like you are having a fab time! See you when you get back and enjoy the rest of your holiday.

It's cooler today in Melbourne thank goodness but heating up again mid week :banghead:

It sounds like you had a good time despit the heat and lack of sleep! Wineries! Yummm! There are quite a few not too far from me and they have this one day tour thing where you can get a bus and it shuttles you to all different ones and you have one course at each one- its divine but even with the food- its amazing how p!ssed you are at the end:laughing:

Nothing much happeneing her today- dh has finally finished his 7 night shifts...........woooooooooooohooooooooooooooo:yel clap:

Roopee
15-01-2008, 22:06
Mods? As much as i hate to say it- i think this thread is pretty much over:(.
Could you close it please?

SuperFrog
15-01-2008, 22:47
How sad. :(

Some good times and good memories. Bye bye.

mummybunny
16-01-2008, 08:27
there is no reason for it to be closed or over.

i think if everyone got over their differences we could still run this thread!:yes:

SilverStarfish
16-01-2008, 14:10
How about we leave it open until the end of the month? If anyone has any objections, please PM me :)

SuperFrog
16-01-2008, 16:57
Let's give it a go then. I say we forget everything that's been said in the past and start fresh. Absolutely everyone welcome. Yes?

What's everyone been up to? I'm back at work and slowly adjusting. Not happy with my job position though... it has changed since I was there and it is now a complete dead-end job. Not sure what I'm doing about it yet.

In the process of deciding what cake to make for Liam's birthday party. Decisions decisions!

Roopee
16-01-2008, 17:24
Good idea!

Ok well, (this seriously feels like the start of an AA meeting- well what i would imagine one to be anyway LOL) we havent been doing too much here- the boys are away so its nice and quiet here.

Mon- do you wish you had of taken the other position now? Will the job 'prospects' change at all?

Re- the cake- Cody is getting the Carousel here- and we are having a pool party for her and Baylee at the local swimming pool. There's water slides etc there for them and seeing as she loved coming down the big spiral slide with me last time i thought why not?

Im off to the playcentre tomorrow- sick of Baylee having her head up my bum looking for the boys:laughing:

mummybunny
16-01-2008, 17:25
ooh oooh we are going to have a trial of Rileys cake tomorrow.. what are you making girls??

blubber
16-01-2008, 19:27
Yep let's keep it going.

Mon, tan asked the same question as i was going to ask. Not so much takiing the other job but did they tell you enough about the one you are doing. Hope it works out, are their other positions.?

Cakes: oh sh*t, i am so not a baker so perhaps Tan can go back to school i can go to baking classes...

Tan, considering the way Baylee has been without her boys there was no doubt you would start to worry abit. Perhaps having them away off and on over the holidays will help her adjust.

A trial Kim, very keen What are you doing sounds like a lot of thought and effort. Well done.

Us, mmmmmm clashing of the minds still going on. I really hate work and the transfer that is affecting what is a happy and relaxed house.
I also hate saying the same thing over and over and nothing changing.:crying::hair::crying::hair::crying::hair :

mummybunny
16-01-2008, 20:08
i will try and scan the photos of the 2 cakes we are trying out.. one is the number 1 with a teddy bear sleeping on it and i will put Riley's name on it and the other is a racing car track.. ill try get picks tonight or tomorrow and once we try them ill show pics...

im actually considering doing a cake decorating course i really love doing it and the best thing is i can do it from home so i still get to be with Riley!! im so excited to have finally found something that i actually think i would be willing to do!! :yelclap:

SuperFrog
16-01-2008, 20:28
i will try and scan the photos of the 2 cakes we are trying out.. one is the number 1 with a teddy bear sleeping on it and i will put Riley's name on it and the other is a racing car track.. ill try get picks tonight or tomorrow and once we try them ill show pics...

im actually considering doing a cake decorating course i really love doing it and the best thing is i can do it from home so i still get to be with Riley!! im so excited to have finally found something that i actually think i would be willing to do!! :yelclap:
I used to work at a Cheesecake store. All the cakes were made in the head kitchen, so we just had to decorate them. Was a great job. My sister worked there with me, and even though I taught her everything she ended up being better at it than me!

Roopee
16-01-2008, 20:38
Im a cake decorator too! LOL- done the courses etc etc and i just love it! Its not 'what i do" i just do it from home, on the side.

But this is the cake Cody is getting for her first birthday

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/AAA032.jpg

SuperFrog
16-01-2008, 21:19
Im a cake decorator too! LOL- done the courses etc etc and i just love it! Its not 'what i do" i just do it from home, on the side.

But this is the cake Cody is getting for her first birthday

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/AAA032.jpg
I remember you posting a pic a few months ago when you made that. Looks fab! What did you use to support the top cake layer? And I love the curly candle... haven't seen one of those before.

It's been ages since I've decorated a cake. I was going to make one to take somewhere tomorrow but I completely forgot that today was a work day, and I had something on earlier tonight, so I didn't have enough time.

When I was younger I always wanted one of the cakes from the Women's Weekly Birthday Cake books. I borrowed the books from my sister but they aren't anywhere near as cool as I remember.

Am thinking of doing a robot cake for Liam's birthday. Just a flat one... not 3D. Should be relatively straight-forward to decorate with some frosting and lollies. Hmmm...

icugal
16-01-2008, 21:19
I would have been one of the first people to forgive and forget (generally, it's my nature)... but the fact that an anti-Melbourne thread was created and continued to be posted in kinda makes me think that you guys really don't want people like myself who are from Melbourne participating in this thread.

So I respectfully decline.

Good luck with your babies.

SuperFrog
16-01-2008, 21:24
Penny! You're not helping here... trying to forget and start fresh. I've asked the girls in the other thread if they want to move the main chat to here so we don't have a divide anymore. I haven't heard back from them yet.

Your respectful decline has been noted, but you will always be welcome if you change your mind (well, by me anyway... I can't speak on everyone else's behalf obviously, but I'd like to think that everyone would feel the same way).

Roopee
16-01-2008, 21:30
I remember you posting a pic a few months ago when you made that. Looks fab! What did you use to support the top cake layer? And I love the curly candle... haven't seen one of those before.

I used a cardboard circle- pre cut from the cake store. And the bottom was a mud and the top a butter cake so not too heavey
The horses and middle pole also act as a support to the top layer.

The robot sounds cool!

Roopee
16-01-2008, 21:36
I would have been one of the first people to forgive and forget (generally, it's my nature)... but the fact that an anti-Melbourne thread was created and continued to be posted in kinda makes me think that you guys really don't want people like myself who are from Melbourne participating in this thread.

So I respectfully decline.

Good luck with your babies.

Penny.... i tried to keep this one going- but as we know- its not a great deal of fun to talk to yourself.
Look- i dont think anyone here is to blame for any of the cr@p that went on- i do think that everyone, yes, everyone is capable of taking things the wrong way. As we know the net is a great spot for misinterpretations.
I agree that the other thread was probably not the nicest thing..i had nothing to do with the set up of that so not sure why it was created...however...i come back to the talking to yourself thing here.
Maybe it was done because most of you had moved elsewhere? Or because you guys had a Melb Thread? Not sure....dont shoot me.

I personally think its a terrible shame how this thread degenerated.
Good luck with your babies too- and please know that i would be more than happy for you to return here.

Penny! You're not helping here... trying to forget and start fresh. I've asked the girls in the other thread if they want to move the main chat to here so we don't have a divide anymore. I haven't heard back from them yet.

Your respectful decline has been noted, but you will always be welcome if you change your mind (well, by me anyway... I can't speak on everyone else's behalf obviously, but I'd like to think that everyone would feel the same way).

I agree- im happy to merge the threads.

SuperFrog
16-01-2008, 21:38
I used a cardboard circle- pre cut from the cake store. And the bottom was a mud and the top a butter cake so not too heavey
The horses and middle pole also act as a support to the top layer.

The robot sounds cool!
Did you skewer the poles through the top cardboard and cake, as well as the bottom cake?

Roopee
16-01-2008, 21:43
No the top was just 'sitting' on top but the poles were skewerd through the bottom. Make sense?

SuperFrog
16-01-2008, 21:47
No the top was just 'sitting' on top but the poles were skewerd through the bottom. Make sense?
So a flailing arm from an excited one-year-old baby could sent the whole thing toppling??!! You're game!

Roopee
16-01-2008, 21:53
So a flailing arm from an excited one-year-old baby could sent the whole thing toppling??!! You're game!

It most certainly could have:laughing:. Lucky for me- i tend to peg the kids arms to their sides when they look at it:p

blubber
16-01-2008, 22:39
Lets just keep it going and good on you MON, i so respect all your efforts.

I will say that i do believe the new thread was born because we all needed to spread our wings an cool off.

Perhpas we can ge back to what we had...cheers all

Roopee
17-01-2008, 06:36
So after a marathon effort last night (get your head out of the gutter Marienne- he's at work):laughing:)
i'm reallly sleepy:sleeping:.
Guess where i am off to today?

An indoor playcentre- my worst nightmare with a headache and when im so tired!:cool: Ahh, however- it'll be great fun.

Have a nice day girls:doh:

my_lot
17-01-2008, 07:48
oh dear, i didnt see this thread had been happenin' i just posted in the other and then came here.

tan- have you got everything ready for ds starting school? Ive just spent $200 on shoes and still have ds black ones to get. My friend round the corner got her $50 BTS cheque yesterday, so i know mines on the way, i only got it about 2 weeks after her last year :p tho last year was a good one, they gave me all the years before it too when i didnt claim it for one child. oh and you still get it when you home school, you just have to do the paperwork.

Kim- just think what will his TTs be like :D oh oh

penny- :wave: The other thread was for those of us in the group who couldnt get together IRL. I dont know why that upset when you had this thread, the melb meets thread, your new home and you can meet with half the group IRL too.

I wasnt on the night that all happened, i saw it the next day..but looked to me like it was the tumbleweed post. Id have loved to have known what you meant and i actually asked quite a few others what on earth it meant. M was perfect choice to ask being an awesome bush chick, i thought shed know and she looked it up for me....and well, we all know the rest...anyway Good luck with your pregnancy and happy birthday to K for a week and a half time :party:

M- the movie was good, didnt fall asleep but i was in bed at 8:30 last night! dp got me the terri irwin book on steve so i read a few chapters of that and :sleeping: ill probably be on msn tonight if you want to chat.

blubber
17-01-2008, 09:09
Tan - What me? what would i be thinking!!

As for the play centre that is where we are going today as well. It was good when Elly was younger becasue she would sit or sleep in the pram, Mia would run amok i would have a coffee and read a magazine. Can't see Elly doing that now, even if she doesn't move to far.

With all this school talk already i am not looking forward to saying goodbye to my big girl and she still has 18months before she starts.

SuperFrog
17-01-2008, 09:10
Hi Kay!

I think the tumbleweed reference just meant that the thread was like a ghost town... which was true as everyone was busy around Christmas. That's all. All in the past now.

Gotta run. Will catch up again soon!

SuperFrog
17-01-2008, 09:11
Hi Marianne... we posted at the same time. :)

blubber
17-01-2008, 09:29
Hey Mon,

Have a good day and perhaps we may see some other chatters take your lead and come say g'day.

Just thought, how many bubs are dummie users. Elly seems to be at her happiest with two at a time. She only really has them to sleep. Actually when i get her out of bed she now throws it back in the cot and waves bye bye.

Well better get this but moving.

Roopee
17-01-2008, 12:25
tan- have you got everything ready for ds starting school? Ive just spent $200 on shoes and still have ds black ones to get. My friend round the corner got her $50 BTS cheque yesterday, so i know mines on the way, i only got it about 2 weeks after her last year :p tho last year was a good one, they gave me all the years before it too when i didnt claim it for one child. oh and you still get it when you home school, you just have to do the paperwork.

Haha- not homeschooling here- this sounds bad i seriously could not be bothered with it all:laughing:.
I have nothing yet for DS2, or DS1 for that matter. They havent been home long enough but next week is the week.
New uniforms, shoes, socks, undies, lunch bags etc etc- so i guess i could wave goodbyr to about $400 if im lucky:doh:. DS2 is so excited and im trying for his sake but its so hard! What will i do with myself with onlyt two at home????!
Ohh and i'd forgotten about the BTS! Hmmm wont hold my breath- i got it mid way through first term last year. Thats $50 right?

Tan - What me? what would i be thinking!!.
Yes you!:laughing:

Have a good day and perhaps we may see some other chatters take your lead and come say g'day.

Just thought, how many bubs are dummie users. Elly seems to be at her happiest with two at a time. She only really has them to sleep. Actually when i get her out of bed she now throws it back in the cot and waves bye bye.
That would be great to see some more chatters in here!

Cody has a dummy too- two at a time as well. One for her mouth and the pother to rub against her cheek- not sure where she got that from but hey it works!
She too, only has it for sleeps and never during the day- maybe in the car- but not just for play. Mind hyou she is compleytely dependant on it to go to sleep. BUT i have used them with all except DS1 and they all have had them taken off them at 2 yrs- the Easter bunny trades them the dummy for chocolate so its a fair trade:laughing:. Never had any dramas with them giving them up either...so while she doesnt have iot in her mouth 24/7 im happy for her to use it for sleep.
Whatever works LOL.

Hello everyone!:wave:

blubber
17-01-2008, 12:44
It seems that Cody and Elly are very similar. Well actually if i think about that though Elly is only just getting some movement going, she can't surf, bit hard actually when the ocean is 700ks away..oh well.
I was going to say with the dummy thing anyway. She too is SO dependant to sleep with it. We made the bed so we have to deal with it.

Mia was a dummy depandant girl until her 3rd birthday. It was heart breaking for all us (seeing her basically withdrawl from it) and distressing for her. After what you said i think we may give 2 a crack with Elly.
For Mia we wrote a note to the garbage man to give a little baby her dummy. In return he left books and lollies. First night was not to bad. Next three days horrendous.
After that she was fine. maybe once or twice she mentioned it but that was it.

Last thing on the dummy, do you have to get up and stick it back in during the night?

Roopee
17-01-2008, 13:32
Last thing on the dummy, do you have to get up and stick it back in during the night?
God no! If that were the case- she would have it dissapear on her.:laughing:

blubber
17-01-2008, 13:40
God no! If that were the case- she would have it dissapear on her.:laughing:

Ok, so if she wakes/stirs does she just go back to sleep?

We spent nearly a full day when Elly was 4 months old not giving it to her.It was becoming insane the times we got up to put it back in. First sleep she cried for 8 minutes, second sleep was 4 minutes.
By the end of the day she was getting sick, ended up with Bronchiolitis and 4 days in hospital.
We gave it back to her when she was sick.

Roopee
17-01-2008, 13:53
Ok, so if she wakes/stirs does she just go back to sleep?

We spent nearly a full day when Elly was 4 months old not giving it to her.It was becoming insane the times we got up to put it back in. First sleep she cried for 8 minutes, second sleep was 4 minutes.
By the end of the day she was getting sick, ended up with Bronchiolitis and 4 days in hospital.
We gave it back to her when she was sick.

Hun- i dont know if she wakes or stirs- i sleep right through it if she does.
The dummy is always out before i go to bed and she either finds it herself throughout the nite or doesnt use it.

I would have given in with Elly after that too!;)

my_lot
17-01-2008, 14:32
Eli started using a dummy for the first time 6 weeks ago. I think i would have spent about $100 on bottles teats and dummies and he wouldnt take anything, then suddenly no breast and oh yes ill have a dummy too! :laughing:

SuperFrog
17-01-2008, 17:54
:wave: Still here! Can't chat now though. Just saying hello. :wave:

harleyq
17-01-2008, 19:11
:raspberry:Hey everyone - l've given this a bit of thought, l do miss bubhub, but really am not open to anymore sh!t - so l guess what l am saying is l'd love for this forum to be resurrected - but if it goes down hill again ... I will just have to let it go - as much as it saddens me...

Can l just request one thing - if anybody is offended by something somebody says, how about sending a PM to the person in question and asking them directly if it was their "intention" to hurt/offend/disagree/kick you when you're down - I'm pretty sure the answer would be no; its more likely they wrote something intended to be funny/insightful/off the cuff and it just came out the wrong way.

Okay so l have a headache and DH and l are having a tiff (probably why l have the headache)... but Coen is asleep and l might follow soon... :sleeping:

An indoor playcentre- my worst nightmare with a headache and when im so tired!:cool: Ahh, however- it'll be great fun.
Out of interest, why your worst nightmare? from a novice l would have thought it would be good, you can sit down and have a coffee whilst they have a play? Am l missing something? (I guess the screaming children isn't exactly condusive to relaxation)

Just thought, how many bubs are dummie users. No dummy here. We used it for a few weeks when he was younger, but like your experience Coen began crying out for it when it fell out of his mouth (during the day not at night), and l figured that was enough... l thought l would just wean him off it a bit, but two sleeps without it and that was it - he refused to take it ever again...now if he sees a baby with a dummy he will go up to them and take it off them, stick it in his mouth and then spit it out - its quite funny :laughing:

blubber
17-01-2008, 19:38
Sandy, great to see you and i adhere to everything you said, your comments and requests.:wave:

Good work with the dummy, if and i say IF we have another that is what i think i may do. It's a fine line when you know they work so well but three days of heartbreak, for us was almost not worth it.
I hate seeing my girls distressed due to their lack of understanding. As for knowing what is wrong and being distressed is another story. I will exclude Elly from that.

It seem that those bubs that either do not have them or get rid of them early in life adjust to being soothed in other ways.

I guess Tan & Kay maybe able to help here having had dummies and non dummies.

For us the girls were both in bed and crashed by 7.45 tonight. Fantastic. DH is "tired" to late a night last night. I should sleep early but never seem too.:ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity:.

Oh Sandy, what's the tiff?

Roopee
17-01-2008, 20:00
Can l just request one thing - if anybody is offended by something somebody says, how about sending a PM to the person in question and asking them directly if it was their "intention" to hurt/offend/disagree/kick you when you're down - I'm pretty sure the answer would be no; its more likely they wrote something intended to be funny/insightful/off the cuff and it just came out the wrong way.

Okay so l have a headache and DH and l are having a tiff (probably why l have the headache)... but Coen is asleep and l might follow soon... :sleeping:

Out of interest, why your worst nightmare? from a novice l would have thought it would be good, you can sit down and have a coffee whilst they have a play? Am l missing something? (I guess the screaming children isn't exactly condusive to relaxation)

Firstly- welcome back!:yelclap:

It's not really my worst nightmare i guess....it's just that usually they all go in seperate directions and im flat out keeping up with them. They manily look after themselves so that part is not too bad- however- today was a rainy day (well, ok- it poured and poured all day) so i knew it was going to be busy. And it was- to the point they had to close their doors as there was no room left. Too may kids bumping about in there and it was oh so noisy.
Last time we went there we watched a little girl pee in the ball pit (i know- gross) and i pulled the kids out of there quick and tried to find her mother.
When i found her, she was indifferent and basically said 'so?'
Ummm helllo lady! Your kid just wee'd in that ball pit? Anyway was all sorted but still not nice.
Its just when its busy like i knew it would be today it seems to be more stressful than its worth? Doesn't do much for an existing headache:laughing:
That being said though- we ended up having a great day there- even though it was crazy.

I will completely agree with you on any differences should be sorted through PM's.
I hope you and DH are able to sort your tiff out and your headache goes soon!:flowerz:

my_lot
17-01-2008, 20:10
we are off to white water world tomorrow so im off to bed early tonight!

i cant help with the dummy thing, my baby girl was a mess when The dummy fairy took hers and that toy she picked and agreed to swap it for became a hated item for a while while she cried for "dubbie"... the same thing was repeated before and after that child but gosh i still remember those tears to this day...and finding her new baby brothers dummy in her mouth in the night...months after the dummy fairy visited!

Eli can have his dummy til hes 10 :laughing:

really tho, i think the one thing i did learn about comfortors is to give them something you have at least two of! I still remember my mother washing my fav toy and me watching him swing round the old hills hoist and i was sitting on the balcony crying because he was pegged by the ears and had just been thrown around in the washer.

and while its all good to say the baby will like the smell of the mother or breastmilk so put an item of clothing in with the baby..its not a good idea to continue to shove that old shirt or nighty in their bed unless your happy for it to be carted to grannys, childcare out to shopping ect.

and if grandmas going to make a cute blankie comforter/ dolly sheet get her to make it out of polar fleece or the likes and not satin...its very hard to tell a 18 month old that daddys boxer shots are not to be carted around when they do feel just like grandmas blankie!

yes, ha ha :laughing: i hear you laugh. but the above is why im happy for Eli to have a dummy til hes 10!

Roopee
17-01-2008, 20:24
Kay!:laughing: Thats hilarious!

thankfully none of mine have anything that they have been so dearly attatched to. Thank god:laughing::laughing:

blubber
17-01-2008, 21:05
Kay, when Mia takes "quiggly" to child care for her sleep. Oh by the way he is the teddy. I gently place him in her bag being sure not to hurt him....

She has been sick on him a few times and washing him has a real sentimentalfeel about it

SuperFrog
17-01-2008, 21:29
Hi Sandy! Nice to see you here. PMing issues sounds like a wise idea. Hope you and DH kiss and make up soon. My DH and I don't really fight, so we've never had make up sex. Anyone else??! Or is it just a TV sitcom concept?

Liam is very dependent on his dummy if he is to put himself to sleep. He'll fall asleep in the car without it, but wouldn't in his cot at home. Could be a problem later on, but I'm not ready to do anything about it at the moment. Occasionally I'll give him his dummy during the day if he is crying uncontrollably, but only if I'm desperate (and getting pointed at by strangers).

I have had feral child this evening. We were out today with some other bubs, and Liam always has issues with that until he gets used to them, which usually takes an hour or so. Not today. He was still crying when we left. Fell asleep in the car on the way home, but woke up in a shocking mood. I'm hoping it is a teething thing as he isn't usually like that. Dunno. Will be out with more bubs tomorrow morning. I hope we don't have a repeat performance.

Sorry for all the random thoughts. I am feeling a bit random this evening.

blubber
17-01-2008, 22:06
Hoo Hoo anyone home????

blubber
17-01-2008, 22:10
MOn, they seem to have strange days...does Liam see many other kids his own age?

Perhaps he is so comfortable in the enviroment you have provided adjustment maybe a little more difficult.

....oh and on the make up sex thing...shoosh you girls....it is great....not so much that it is fight fest but reasoning can be made alot better by it..oh ok i will shut up...hoo hoo

Roopee
18-01-2008, 08:07
My DH and I don't really fight, so we've never had make up sex. Anyone else??! Or is it just a TV sitcom concept?

Liam is very dependent on his dummy if he is to put himself to sleep. He'll fall asleep in the car without it, but wouldn't in his cot at home. Could be a problem later on, but I'm not ready to do anything about it at the moment. Occasionally I'll give him his dummy during the day if he is crying uncontrollably, but only if I'm desperate (and getting pointed at by strangers).

I have had feral child this evening. We were out today with some other bubs, and Liam always has issues with that until he gets used to them, which usually takes an hour or so. Not today. He was still crying when we left. Fell asleep in the car on the way home, but woke up in a shocking mood. I'm hoping it is a teething thing as he isn't usually like that. Dunno. Will be out with more bubs tomorrow morning. I hope we don't have a repeat performance.

Sorry for all the random thoughts. I am feeling a bit random this evening.

You dont fight? Wow! Lucky you! And the make up sex is over reated LOL. We dont do it as nothing kills the mood for me quite like resentment.:o

On the feral child syndrome- is he usually like that? He may just be one of those kids that enjoys his own company (i have one) and its just that they dont quite get out of the 'mass gathering' what we do? Make sense?
Some find it all a bit too much somedays then other days they are fine!
My eldest DS was a little like that- much more comfortable doing his own thing than playing in a big group.
That being said- he is pretty adaptable now and will do both happily- so rest assured- it doesn't last forever.
None of my others are/were like it so it could be a oldest child thing? Where they are used to (especially when young) being the centre of the universe. Oh god im rambling now an:raspberry:d i hope i didnt sound too anal.
Oh, and it could just mean-Liam may very well have been having a bad day- we all them i guess LOL.

Hoo Hoo anyone home????
Im here

....oh and on the make up sex thing...shoosh you girls....it is great....not so much that it is fight fest but reasoning can be made alot better by it..oh ok i will shut up...hoo hoo
Ahh there's another perspective on make up sex:laughing:

Mon- you may have to pick a huge fight and find out for yourself!:laughing:

blubber
18-01-2008, 08:55
Ok, so some of you may have memory of the pooh issues we have had with Elly.
Quiet consistently she was constipated or almost exploded trying to do a pooh.

ATM she is sitting on the floor trying to squeeze one out.
What i can't work out is yesterday she had heaps of water, a tub of fruit with her lunch, half a kiwi fruit with brekky and baked beans for tea, (slack tea last night).

Is there anything i could be looking to change or help her out?

Roopee
18-01-2008, 09:36
With her water today-add a little bit of pear juice to it if you have any. If not try orange or apple but very weak.

Try some dried apricots, grapes (cut up small) and instead of half a kiwi fruit- give her the whole one. Give it to her first so she eats the lot and then toast or cereal (if thats what she has)

Switch your bread to wholemeal if your using white and if all that fails see your GP or go to the chemist and get some Coloxysil (sp) drops.

Is she still on the step 1 or 2 formula? Would you ditch the formula all together and try cows milk? Its worth a shot.:hugs:

blubber
18-01-2008, 11:04
Tan, thank you.

We use wholemeal bread 90% of the time. The other 10% is for the man of the house who says we need a "real bread" fix.

She is still Stage 1 formula because 2 was worse. We put Mia on cows milk about now so may try that.

Will try the juice, I wanted to keep her on water only for as long as possible but she has had prune juice before.

Breakfast is usually weetbix, that doesn't seem to help but she won't eat corn flakes, rice bubbles or nutri grain. I add a bit of fruit and yoghurt. She has some toast as well.

Anyway will see how today goes.

mummybunny
18-01-2008, 11:54
hello girls,

well just a quick one today sorry no personals atm but later i will!!

i got some me time today and i went and got my hair done i have before and after shots..

dont laugh at my zit and dont laugh at my stupid face lol

before
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1329.jpg
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1331.jpg
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1332.jpg

after
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1337.jpg
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1336.jpg
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1335.jpg
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l236/gonnabamummy/100_1334.jpg

the photos dont do it justice, it looks great.. well i think so!!

SuperFrog
18-01-2008, 13:49
Nice pics Kim! Is your hair naturally curly? Mine is. I love the new haircut feel when they've straightened it, but I can never get that feeling again when I straighten it myself.

Liam is less feral today. Am thinking it is teething related. Will be keeping a look out for some new toofy pegs over the next few days.

Gotta go... less feral baby is approaching feralness again... needs attention!

mummybunny
18-01-2008, 14:50
Nice pics Kim! Is your hair naturally curly? Mine is. I love the new haircut feel when they've straightened it, but I can never get that feeling again when I straighten it myself.

Liam is less feral today. Am thinking it is teething related. Will be keeping a look out for some new toofy pegs over the next few days.

Gotta go... less feral baby is approaching feralness again... needs attention!

:yes: natural curls, its the Greek in me lol
i have always straightened my hair i used to iron it now i just use a straightener...

i think we have another tooth about to break too...:eek:

im eating my new fave thing... can anyone guess what it is??:confused:

Roopee
18-01-2008, 15:02
Tan, thank you.

We use wholemeal bread 90% of the time. The other 10% is for the man of the house who says we need a "real bread" fix.

She is still Stage 1 formula because 2 was worse. We put Mia on cows milk about now so may try that.

Will try the juice, I wanted to keep her on water only for as long as possible but she has had prune juice before.

Breakfast is usually weetbix, that doesn't seem to help but she won't eat corn flakes, rice bubbles or nutri grain. I add a bit of fruit and yoghurt. She has some toast as well.

Anyway will see how today goes.
You probably should stop with the Weetbix- its been known to make it worse mate. Try her on Muesli or something similar or just fruit and yogurt.

Kim- you hair looks GREAT!

Mon- glad Mr Liam is treating you better today!:flowerz:

blubber
18-01-2008, 15:50
Kim, nothing like a new do to make you feel better.
I always try to make sure we are doing something when i have mine done.
Don't want a nice do, that i can NEVER repeat myself have to have a night in on the couch.

Your new fav. food...mmm...sushi?

Thought that about the weetbix too Tan. She just seems to always be eating fruit and yoghurt at every meal. Never knocks it back though.

Ok arvo bottle i decided to try milk. Now she has had a little on cereal etc but the bottle she literally gagged. Sucked for a bit and gagged, wouldn't drink the rest.
This threw me, Mia went from a bottle of formula to cows milk without a flinch...or a gag!!

Mon, lets hope it's teeth because that feralness does go away. But as life with a child generally goes it will be replaced with some other form of frustration:p. All blanketed with your love of course.

harleyq
18-01-2008, 19:09
Oh Sandy, what's the tiff? Just boys not thinking - feeling slighted cos they have to help out a bit (even though l was taking myself and Coen away for the day so he could relax)... but all sorted now...

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone.

Kim - nice do - Mon and l both have curly hair - and don't know if you would agree - but it has its moments - l wouldn't want dead straight hair - but hair that does what you want it to do instead of obeying its own moods would be nice...

Marianne - I have a bit of a problem with constipation sometimes and Kiwi usually works a treat... they say the skin is the best bit, can you give that two kids? Perhaps pureed???

good luck!! Have a good weekend everyone!

blubber
18-01-2008, 21:10
Hey girls i had a really freaky experience this afternoon.:eek:

SuperFrog
19-01-2008, 13:48
Hey girls i had a really freaky experience this afternoon.:eek:
So, are you going to tell us about it?

Not a lot happening here. Supposed to rain a lot over the next few days but it only drizzled overnight, so now it is just humid. Ick.

my_lot
19-01-2008, 18:25
im sitting here dressed to the nines waiting for my friend to get here @ss into gear and txt me to pick her up.

We're meeting people and going to a show...and maybe some dancing after it. not too sure of the clubs these days. guys come and start chit chat, ask where you work, do you live alone and for some reason go to the bar or toilet and never come back when i answer :laughing:. no wedding rings on me tonight, lets see how many i can suck in before i scare them off :p

i have pics of white water world if anyones interested ill upload them tomorrow, sometime, when i get my head out of bed. Dp is taking the dog to training tomorrow so i get to sleep til hes about to leave :yelclap:

alicia- where ever you are, i wish you were still near me, youd love the show im going to see tonight!

harleyq
19-01-2008, 19:10
Marianne - well????

Kay - what is white water world??? I don't think l have ever heard of it. Sure, share the pic's. How is the puppy btw?

Not much from me today - Coen went out like a light today - he was buggered poor mite, we had a fairly big day - two 30th's. DH is still at the 2nd, l left early to feed and put our DS to bed... now l am catching up on all the good stuff...

harleyq
19-01-2008, 19:12
Here is a fairly recent shot of my little man (http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/IMG_2946.jpg) - badly in need of a haircut!!!

SuperFrog
19-01-2008, 20:24
Is white water world a euphemism for a flooded back yard, or is it an actual place? Please excuse my ignorance! What kind of show are you going to?

Coen looks like he enjoys the ball pit. We've got one for Liam too, and the balls end up all over the house. Drives me crazy! Liam also needs a haircut... the back is starting to go curly! But it's so cute :)

juzzy
19-01-2008, 21:29
Just popping in to say Hello. :wave:

Roopee
19-01-2008, 22:20
im sitting here dressed to the nines waiting for my friend to get here @ss into gear and txt me to pick her up.
!

Is it the "puppets" one? Oh, i am so jealous! Have a great nite!!!!!!!!!!!

So, are you going to tell us about it?

quote]
Hmm...i am wondering too!!! C'mon Marianne!

[quote=harleyq;2280158]
Kay - what is white water world??? I don't think l have ever heard of it...

It's a water park on the Gold Coast. Slides, tube rides etc etc- supposed to be masses of fun!
Hopefully one day soon we'll get there.

Hello to you too:wave:

I worked today and have just spent the last 3-4 hours sitting at the computer trying to book accomadation in Sydney for us for the long weekend.....what a mission! Everywhere seems to have some rooms available until you casually throw into the conversation that your 4 kids will be with you :thumbsdown:. Not happy!

I just booked one- said there was only 2 kids in there and will sneak the others in. Im over it- they think that its acceptable to charge upwards of $600 for a sofa bed- seriously!:hair:
I booked it online and rang them and asked about there being extra kids and she just said 'for security reasons' we wouldnt 'suggets' it.
What? Is my almost 3 yr old and 11 month old baby going to do exactly? Far out!
So we are going 5 star all the way and meeting friends there who only have 2 kids and are prepared to 'smuggle' one of mine in on the pretense that he/she is theirs:laughing:.

Sounds bad and terrible i know but its our anniversary and dh's birthday...ive been planning this for ages and its the last weekend that i have off before the end of march, which, by the way, i had to do some 'doctoring' of the rosterst at work to get off.
I am over the fact that no one would allow the kids to all stay in one room- yes- apparently it would be ok to have them in their own rooms? WTF is that about? Oh, thats right, two rooms equals two lots of money.....

Anyway...after readint the fine print it's pretty clear that the kids ARE entitled to stay there- they have no 'limits' set in that so we are off!

Luna Park here we come:smiliedance:

my_lot
20-01-2008, 01:48
woooo hooooo fantastic night out!

I got a dvd and a book signed after the show.

:laughing:hope they washed their hands first :laughing:

i met my friends new b/f and OMG hes a pr!ck...and shes all gushy like 'do you like him" uum no :p

id better go to bed. actually id better wake dp, let him know im home, he was txting me til midnight! :shakehands:

mandi24
20-01-2008, 09:59
Morning

How are we all going me well haven't been getting alot of sleep Lochlain's been having some really bad nights. Put it down to teething then yesterday when i put my finger in his mouth i felt one of his top teeth so number 3 has finally broken through. Number 4 is not to far away either.

Well Lochlain is starting to walk really well holding on to things and the odd time has let go and just stood there so maybe not to far away from letting go and taking his first steps.

I've got dp's nieces over this weekend so i took them and Lochlain to lollipops and indoor playland yesterday. They had a ball especially Lochlain. They slept well last night well not Lochlain but the girls did.

Well i better get going and get some things done while Lochlain is asleep. Talk soon.

Roopee
20-01-2008, 10:25
Here is a fairly recent shot of my little man (http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/IMG_2946.jpg) - badly in need of a haircut!!!
Forgot to say yesterday- what a spunk! OMG- how cute is he! All that hair and such a cute face! You must get comments all the time when your out Sandy?

harleyq
20-01-2008, 13:23
Sounds like a great night out Kay

Mandi - at least you have a reason for his unsettled behaviour - isn't it funny how quite often its after the fact that we can diagnose what was going on??? he was coming down with a cold, teething, growth spurt....

Tanya - is that the one that is near Dreamworld or one of the other theme parks??? It used to be known as Kades county - or something like that????

I finished one training module... 8 more to go (there were 22 when l started (one of which had 6 parts)... so l am getting there (these are preparing me to go back to work)...

Better go do another one... (my reward for doing one is to jump online... Thanks MON!!! :hissy: - just kidding - it was a good idea - l was procrastinating waaaaaay too much!!!)

harleyq
20-01-2008, 13:28
Forgot to say yesterday- what a spunk! OMG- how cute is he! All that hair and such a cute face! You must get comments all the time when your out Sandy? Oh thanks Tan, he certainly turns on the charm for everyone when we're out. Yesterday at a friends 30th - he started shaking his head to the Chilli Peppers - looked remarkably like head banging to all who witnessed it - had everyone in stitches!!!

We took him to the Child Care Centre for a bit on Friday (our 2nd visit) - we left him there by himself for about 45 minutes - and he had them all in his pocket - one of the carers begged us to change our day to Friday's so she could be with him!!!! - I'm sure they do that to all the mums - but it was a very proud parent moment (mum and dad were both there)....

SuperFrog
20-01-2008, 15:34

Hello! Nice to see you here. Soooo.... what's goss??

... So we are going 5 star all the way and meeting friends there who only have 2 kids and are prepared to 'smuggle' one of mine in on the pretense that he/she is theirs:laughing:.

Glad to hear you found something. Wouldn't it be discrimination not letting you have all your kids with you? And wouldn't it be irresponsible of the management to insist the older ones are in a separate room?? Hope you all have a great time. I'm jealous!

woooo hooooo fantastic night out!

I got a dvd and a book signed after the show.

hope they washed their hands first :laughing:

i met my friends new b/f and OMG hes a pr!ck...and shes all gushy like 'do you like him" uum no :p

id better go to bed. actually id better wake dp, let him know im home, he was txting me til midnight! :shakehands:

Love the shakehands smiley! Tee hee hee! I have read between the lines and now understand the show that you saw. How on earth does it work for an audience? Wall projectors to make small things seem bigger?

It's awkward when someone asks what you think of their new partner if you don't like them. Need to be tactful so you don't hurt her feelings, but you also don't want to lie as that's not in her best interests in the short- or long-term.

Well Lochlain is starting to walk really well holding on to things and the odd time has let go and just stood there so maybe not to far away from letting go and taking his first steps.

Liam is at this stage as well. He can crawl so fast now so I'm hoping that moving to walking won't be too much of a change, in terms of chasing after him anyway. Exciting!

I finished one training module... 8 more to go (there were 22 when l started (one of which had 6 parts)... so l am getting there (these are preparing me to go back to work)...

Better go do another one... (my reward for doing one is to jump online... Thanks MON!!! :hissy: - just kidding - it was a good idea - l was procrastinating waaaaaay too much!!!)

Glad to hear you are making your way through them... albeit slowly. Do you think you've learnt much from them, or is it a big waste of time?

Not much happening here. Liam has been bitten by something on his face a few times. He isn't itching, which is a good sign, but they look icky. Oh well.

Roopee
20-01-2008, 17:13
Tanya - is that the one that is near Dreamworld or one of the other theme parks??? It used to be known as Kades county - or something like that????

Im pretty sure its a new one. It is near Dreamworld ( i think owned by the same people) but a brand new park if that makes sense. Looks like a whole load of fun on the ads!!

Oh thanks Tan, he certainly turns on the charm for everyone when we're out. Yesterday at a friends 30th - he started shaking his head to the Chilli Peppers - looked remarkably like head banging to all who witnessed it - had everyone in stitches!!!

We took him to the Child Care Centre for a bit on Friday (our 2nd visit) - we left him there by himself for about 45 minutes - and he had them all in his pocket - one of the carers begged us to change our day to Friday's so she could be with him!!!! - I'm sure they do that to all the mums - but it was a very proud parent moment (mum and dad were both there)....

Gotta love those proud parent moments- makes the hard times seem so much easier doesn't it.

[quote=SuperFrog;2281828]

Glad to hear you found something. Wouldn't it be discrimination not letting you have all your kids with you? And wouldn't it be irresponsible of the management to insist the older ones are in a separate room?? Hope you all have a great time. I'm jealous!
quote]

Im pretty sure it would be discrimmination, which is why im not too concerned about turning up with them all in tow:cool:. Im sure a nice mention od ACA and we'll find ourselves in a nice little room somewhere within that hotel. I think they thought it would be ok for me to be in one room with two kids and dh in the other with the other two. (Happy Anniversary:laughing:)

Nothing much happeneng here today either- stinky, icky, sticky weather we are having....its so lovely when you have a shower and step out in a lather of sweat! Eeeeewwwww!
I'm a winter person- not liking this summer business at all :sunshine:

my_lot
20-01-2008, 18:10
yes mon it was that show!

yes they used a projector and three huge screens. So the rather small one looked bigger and the rather nice one looked even nicer :laughing:

I got an 'instruction' book for dp and when i was talking to them they asked what my name was and who the book is for...then i see what he wrote- "**dps name ** show kay your burger!" :laughing:

imagine how many tried out a burger today! :laughing:

if anyone would like the instructions for the burger i can scan the book.

I got the DVD (of a live show) for my mother, just for the shock factor :p

had a really laid back day, no dog training, dp couldnt wake me. no way was i getting out of bed. when i did get up hed cleaned the house and done the food shopping and He had a coffee, breakfast and newspaper for me. gosh i should go out more often!

we spent Elis day sleep putting lego together with dd. funny stuff seeing dp building legos she sure liked it that we were both helping her...

i didnt tell my friend i didnt like her new b/f. I dont like him even more this morning with a clear head to think about the way he was talking to her!

Hi juzz- congrats on the pregnancy, thats fantastic news for you and your dp, best wishes for a healthy little bubby in 9 months time.

tan- woo hoo luna park! We will do that on our next trip into the city! I havent taken the kids there, we did go to australias wonderland before they shut tho. do they still have the ghost train there? hhhm

white water world is out the front of dreamworld. They did have a smaller pater park with some slides inside dreamworld but shut that and built this WWW. Tickets can be for both parks so you can go between the two during the day. that costs more and i think its a two day pass. Its kind of like wet and wild but smaller, less rides for adults and more for little kids. they have Wiggles bay which is an under 6yr water park, pretty fun.

ill upload the pics and put them up tonight.

blubber
20-01-2008, 21:23
Well hello

Just finished a "burger" for tea.:eek:

Been missing, rush trip to Adelaide Saturday after deciding Friday night.

Much to say but a little weary. Will have more time tomorrow.

But i will say this..

Having a nana nap on Friday while the girls were sleeping. First one for i don't know whow long i might add.
I was in one of those sleep, dozing, awake, watching tv naps.

I thought i was awake, and i heard Mia get up and walk down the passsge.
I couldn't move, i was sinking and i couldn't speak despite the fact i was yelling. (ok this is freaking me out just remembering it again).

I felt so awake and living it yet i then actually woke up.
I know there are dreams that you feel are so true but this was physical. Never experienced it before.
Perhapas it's not a dream!

I'm no expert in the mental health enviroment but should i be concerned?

Tha's what freaked me out.

Talk soon.

harleyq
20-01-2008, 21:40
Glad to hear you are making your way through them... albeit slowly. Do you think you've learnt much from them, or is it a big waste of time?I pick up the occasional thing - but nothing l couldn't get myself when preparing for a meeting... the first few were good to get my head back into the correct frame of mind - but 27 is just too many! Only got 5 to go - so l am nearly there now...

Wet'n'Wild is the one l was thinking of... thanks for the clarification.

Okay off to bed now for me...

JoJoMart
21-01-2008, 08:13

How's everyone going? How was your weekend?

We went shopping for a sofa bed/otterman. Liam has been a good boy all weekend........went down last night without a hitch! DH didn't even have to settle him.......he only had the one sleep all day which might be why. He was just so tired but not overtired so just fell asleep. This never happens ususally!

I'm visiting the childcare centre today, probably this avo, as I need to get Liam used to it before he goes in for half a day on the 30th and a full day on the 6th Feb.

Marianne - that's very strange, but I've heard there are certain dream like states that seem very real.....maybe it was one of those? I've had weird experiences similar to that and even had a dream about something then it's actually happebned in real life but only occasionally.

Sandy - hows the training modules coming along?

Mon - I know what you mean about bubs crawling fast.....I bet when they are walking we will be running after them.........should keep us fit anyway.

Juz - are you pregnant? Did I miss something? Sorry if I did and a big :smiliedance::cloud9::kiss:to you!

juzzy
21-01-2008, 10:35
Hello! Nice to see you here. Soooo.... what's goss??

No goss really. I am in Sydney at the moment with DP. Flew up last night, here until Friday.

Hi juzz- congrats on the pregnancy, thats fantastic news for you and your dp, best wishes for a healthy little bubby in 9 months time.

Thank you Kay. Just another reason to buy MCNs.. lol

Juz - are you pregnant? Did I miss something?

Yes i am Jo. I found out on Friday after speaking to Penny on Thursday. She planted the seed of doubt! I get to stalk the 'due in' threads now. I forgot how much fun that was!

Best be off, going to do some shopping.

harleyq
21-01-2008, 20:11
Only 2 training modules left!!! :yelclap:
:wave: everyone! Am buggered so will head off and get away from this damn computer!!!

my_lot
21-01-2008, 20:42
ive uploaded two pic but then the battery died-

nick world (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/jan08hols002.jpg) the bucket fills up then overflows and tips all over the place, every few minutes. The kids all get down in front of it and wait for it to drop. A lot of adults there too. The slides are for all ages and i saw heaps of parents on them with their kids or racing their kids.

and Dorothy! (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/jan08hols004.jpg) we saw most of them through out the day. They are near wiggles bay the under 6 play area and they stop and pose for photos. You can take your own or buy theirs with a nice folder.

Roopee
21-01-2008, 21:38

How's everyone going? How was your weekend?

Hello Jo!:wave: Had a pretty relaxed weekend- well i worked most of it but was relaxed while we were at home anyway LOL.

No goss really. I am in Sydney at the moment with DP. Flew up last night, here until Friday.

I found out on Friday after speaking to Penny on Thursday. She planted the seed of doubt! I get to stalk the 'due in' threads now. I forgot how much fun that was!

Bummer you wont be there on Saturday- we could have had a mini meet! I'll be there On the weekend- roughing it LOL- (read 5 star hotel LOL).

Congrats on your news! You must be over the moon!

Only 2 training modules left!!!

YAY! You must be so over ti by now! Are they boring you senseless? I detest stuff like that- get too distracted and keep thinking of all the other stuff i should be doing...hmmm....sounds like i may have a mild case of ADD LOL- seriously- things like that bore me so well dont for getting through so many!

ive uploaded two pic but then the battery died-

nick world (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/jan08hols002.jpg) the bucket fills up then overflows and tips all over the place, every few minutes. The kids all get down in front of it and wait for it to drop. A lot of adults there too. The slides are for all ages and i saw heaps of parents on them with their kids or racing their kids.

and Dorothy! (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/jan08hols004.jpg) we saw most of them through out the day. They are near wiggles bay the under 6 play area and they stop and pose for photos. You can take your own or buy theirs with a nice folder.

That looks like a blast! WOW- my lot would looove that!
Hmmm- must stop shopping and start saving i think!
Great pics!:flowerz:

Marianne- i only ever have those dreams in the middle of the day too- but i find it's when im half dead (over tired) or extremely hot. Was it a really hot day? Dont know how the weather the weather plays a part for me but it does...maybe it could have been that?
Sppoky experience none the less- i highly doubt your crazy....but then again...........:p

harleyq
22-01-2008, 11:12
Kay - the swimpark looks good - we'll have to consider it next time we head up to the Gold Coast (no plans)

FINISHED THE F**king training!!! Would you believe the connection kept dropping out during the last module - so what should have taken 20 min. took 40!!! But it's done now!

Looks like a nice day today - might go out for a walk now.

Have a nice day everyone.

mummybunny
22-01-2008, 15:03
:wave: everyone how are we all??
im so stuffed atm, ive been over at the shopping center (which i walked to and home from) since 12pm and just got home. that was my 2nd walk over this week, its 20 mins there and 20 back and all the walking in between, its good!!

how is everyone?
ive been a bit quiet lately ive just had a few things going on that ive had to deal with, and ive been trying to get Riley's birthday sorted, we are having the party next weekend, i cant believe 14 days till his 1st birthday, how scary my baby :baby: isnt a baby any more :no:.. its ok but cause ive told L i want a honeymoon baby :laughing: so hopefully ill get one.

Tan- i have a question for you, miss cake fanatic you why would cake icing split??

juzz- congrats on the :bfp:

everyone else sorry if i missed something, i have to run im so exhausted...

chat again soon!!

xxx Kim

SuperFrog
22-01-2008, 15:41
My new laptop has been delivered to DH's work. Yippee! This one runs very slow, and something is wrong with the battery so I have to keep it plugged into the charger... kinda defeats the purpose of it being a laptop.

Kim - With the icing, do you mean that it cracked on the cake, or that it split in the bowl, meaning that it won't mix together properly? And was it icing that you roll out, or one that you spread on and let it set? To me, it sounds like it dried out. I'm sure Tanya will have the full low-down for you. :)

Liam is sick again. :( The croup is back, along with a delightful cold. Hopefully he is feeling better for his birthday.

Shajbm
22-01-2008, 22:16
Hey everyone - l've given this a bit of thought, l do miss bubhub, but really am not open to anymore sh!t - so l guess what l am saying is l'd love for this forum to be resurrected - but if it goes down hill again ... I will just have to let it go - as much as it saddens me...

I've been thinking the same thing, but wasn't sure what I was going to do about it.

I miss the way the old thread used to be and I'm all for it continuing but I can't be bothered with the c**p. For some of us (I'm talking about myself in this instance) this is one of my only outlets. It's hard to get out with Matthew and Ben sometimes and when it became tense in here, it was uncomfortable and I didn't look forward to it.

I used to pop in every now and then just to see what was going on.

I'm happy for the thread to keep going and I look forward to catching up on all the goss.

We've had a busy start to the year.

First we had a small get together for New Years Eve, that was nice. Had to then pack for myself and all the kids because we were going away on the 1st for just under a week. Then we got back and Ben got really sick landing him in hospital last week. I'm only just getting back to normal and still feel like I've got lots to catch up on.

Also have really enjoyed holidays but I'm looking forward to kinder starting up again on Feb 4th. But I will miss Jake as he goes full time Monday to Friday, 8.45 - 3.30 except on Fridays when they finish at 12.00.

DH has just arrived home from a work trip so I'm going to spend a bit of time with him. he's off to Darwin first week back at kinder :thumbsdown: so will need to get organised.

Will check in again before bed.

What has everyone else been up to?

Roopee
23-01-2008, 11:02
FINISHED THE F**king training!!! Would you believe the connection kept dropping out during the last module - so what should have taken 20 min. took 40!!! But it's done now!
That must be a relief! How long until your return to work now then?

Tan- i have a question for you, miss cake fanatic you why would cake icing split??

Depends what sort of icing Kim? Give me some more info but it looks like Mon has answered for you??! Yay- Mon- you'll have to post a pic of Liams cake when your done!

Liam is sick again. The croup is back, along with a delightful cold. Hopefully he is feeling better for his birthday.
Oh no! Poor Liam! I hope he feels better soon!
He shares a birthday with my DH-25th January!
What a great day to be born!

[quote=Shajbm;2290790]
Ben got really sick landing him in hospital last week. I'm only just getting back to normal and still feel like I've got lots to catch up on.

quote]
Oh no! What happened? Is he ok now?:flowerz:

blubber
23-01-2008, 16:39
Hello girls...crazy lady here!!

Well we made it home last night about 11.30. The Nissan is minus a spot light a number plate and thank god for bull bars.
There is two less kangaroos in our native country though.

Our house gets packed up Tuesday next week and we leave Wednesday.
Overall it has been a disaster this transfer, at times J and i have been pulling eachothers eyes out of it.
Not fair on a relationship when the stress is forced upon you.

We are in process over the next few days doing all the things that Mia does around town.
Library today where we said goodbye to all her little friends.
Friday we will catch up with a few playgroup friends and Tuesday is her last Child Care day.

Some how i think Mum will be in tears instead of her. I guess because i know what it means to move from friends and comfort zones. Good thing she doesn't really.

SHe seems to be going ok, she has seen her new house. Pity it is just in a different town.

Ok just thought i would call in, sorry it's all about us.
Hope everyone is well and if anyone wants a chat later tonight i'm very willing.

blubber
23-01-2008, 16:41
Forgot to say,

Computer going to the doctors tomorrow. Fingers crossed be back Friday..

:hissy::hair::hissy::hair:

What am i going to do.

blubber
23-01-2008, 20:02
Anyone, Anyone...want to talk to the crazy lady?

blubber
23-01-2008, 21:16
Hoo Hoo, want to come and chat?

Lukeandmattsmum
23-01-2008, 21:37
i am chatting to you, you crazy lady:laughing::laughing:

Shajbm
23-01-2008, 22:22
[quote=Shajbm;2290790]
Ben got really sick landing him in hospital last week. I'm only just getting back to normal and still feel like I've got lots to catch up on.

quote]
Oh no! What happened? Is he ok now?:flowerz:

He had a very rare and bad reaction to the MMR Immunisations.

Shajbm
23-01-2008, 22:23
Where are you chatting?

Lukeandmattsmum
23-01-2008, 22:59
Where are you chatting?

Hi Sharon,

we were chatting on msn. But we have called it a night now. Am stuffed so im off to bed. Good to see you back

Roopee
24-01-2008, 06:45
[quote=Roopee;2291892]

OMG! Is he ok now? That must have been scary!:eek:

Marianne- hows the poo issues? If your still having trouble give blueberries a try as well as Mango, Peaches and Nectarines. Just a word of warning though- if you use the blueberries make sure she is wearing a sposie- the poo is purple and ummm...... quite explosive!:laughing: I usually just cut the blueberries in half and skin the peaches too.:flowerz:

Happy Wedding anniversary to me and my dh.....we've been married for 4 years and together for 11.5:valentine:

my_lot
24-01-2008, 07:21
sharon- thats terrible! every parents worst nightmare.

will you be getting the MMR when hes 4?

mummybunny
24-01-2008, 07:44
Depends what sort of icing Kim? Give me some more info but it looks like Mon has answered for you??! Yay- Mon- you'll have to post a pic of Liams cake when your done!

its just normal cake icing, it has butter milk and icing sugar in it. and food colouring.
and when i say split i don't mean crack i mean basically curdled you could see all the colours in it, the icing sugar had white specs, the food colouring, and the milk.
i have never in my entire life of cooking ever seen this happen, i didn't know it could to be honest, and i am a chef!!
i just cont know what it was, i have a feeling it may have been too hot in the room or it could have been the milk. but then again i didnt melt the butter and usually i do but didnt this time so it could have been that it melted right down after it had been made.

i dont know its got me stuffed!!! :detective::detective:

mummybunny
24-01-2008, 07:45

i hope your little guy is ok!! Riley has to go for his now im scared lol...

blubber
24-01-2008, 07:55
hoo hoo, sending you lots of whip cracking vibes for today!!:valentine:.

Ok computer going to the doctors..have a good few days girls.

SuperFrog
24-01-2008, 09:34
Congrats ON THE WEDDINg ANNIVERSaRY TANya! I never seem to remember ours. How bad is that?!

LIAM Has diSCOVERed the caps lock key. I'm not going back to fix it. (much to Kay's amazement I'm sure!)

L has been coughing so much lately that he's followed it with a spew. Seems to be improved today though, which is good NEWS.

MARIanne - looks like you were having your own little chat in here last night!

Kim - I've never used buttermilk but it sounds like that could've bee n the problem. Did iT TASTE OkAY? WHAt kind of cake did you make?

I'm not going overboard with Liam's cake... we are only having a small party so there won't be many people there... don't want to be left eating cake for the next week! Will get more adventurous with the cake making when he gets older and can put in his cake request. Could be challenging!

Sharon - How long after the MMR did he get sick? Glad to hear Ben is okay now.

SuperFrog
24-01-2008, 09:37
Oh no! Poor Liam! I hope he feels better soon!
He shares a birthday with my DH-25th January!
What a great day to be born!

Sandy's birthday is the same day too. :flowerz:

mummybunny
24-01-2008, 10:32
it tasted fine, but it just looked wrong. the cake was just a trial of Rileys bday cake a number 1

Roopee
24-01-2008, 13:01
Kim- It could have been the buttermilk but it sounds more like what happenes when too much water is added. In this case food colouring. Are you using liquid colouring from the supermarket?
If you are- but need a strong colour try the pastes r gels from a cake decorating store. You get a strong colour but dont have to add much.

I dont think i would use buttermilk either- just use regular milk and see how it goes ut definatley sounds like too much water in there. Water/liquid food colouring and oil(butter) dont mix too well which is why you should move onto a paste or gel.
Hope that helped.

Hi anyone else...im off to prepare my dinner- Surf and Turf for T tonight- the kids are having pizza and going to be early.:thumbsup:

mummybunny
24-01-2008, 13:04
sorry just read my post, the icing has butter and milk as well as icing sugar. no water and a little colouring, but from what i could see it was like it before the colouring and worse after. its very strange. ive used these same colourings before and never had a problem.

harleyq
24-01-2008, 13:47
Happy Anniversary Tanya - hope you and the family have a wonderful time away.

Went into work for almost a full day yesterday... DH took Coen into child care... it was a fairly smooth run in... but l put my breastmilk in the glove box (which is airconditioned) for the trip in... and l didn't screw the lid on properly - so DH had to drop Coen off, rush back home get another bottle (fortunately l have a good supply of EBM at home) take it back, then clean it from the car (l hope it doesn't stink out the car - 60 ml seems to have disappeared without a trace :eek:)

Coen is covered in a rash from head to foot at the moment - it started off this morning with two little red spots, my mum, aunt and cousin took me out for a birthday b'fast (b'day is tomorrow) and whilst we were eating more dots started appearing - by the time l got home Coen was covered in them... I rang up the child care centre to see what they gave him for lunch yesterday - pasta with vegies and spinnach (that should have been fine), and fruit cake - there was citrus peel, sultanas and cherries in the fruit cake - so it could have been those.... OR it could be a cumulative effect of egg :eek:. Coen has been eating egg yolk for awhile, but l gave him egg white for the first time last week - he was cool with it - so all of this week he has been having a zucchini slice (kinda like a quiche) - he absolutely loves it - but now l am wondering if after 4 days of it (in a row) the allergy has decided to rear its ugly head... I took him to the doctor and he seemed to think it was probably the egg... but it wasn't our normal doctor and l don't particularly trust HIS opinion - having said that l think he might be right in just this case.... what do you think? Egg cumulative effect???? or something in the fruit cake from yesterday??? I am going to take him off eggs for awhile just in case... and ask them not to give him fruit cake again for the time being...

Tanya - I start work full time 1st of Feb., but will be doing things between now and then from home and l have one or two meeting set up with clients between now and then.

Mon - how's Liam?

Roopee
24-01-2008, 14:18
sorry just read my post, the icing has butter and milk as well as icing sugar. no water and a little colouring, but from what i could see it was like it before the colouring and worse after. its very strange. ive used these same colourings before and never had a problem.

Sounds like it could have been 'over beaten' then. If you used the liquid colourings (mainly water) though- trust me- it will do that.
But maybe try not beating it so much next time?

Sandy-Happy Birthday for tomorrow!happybirthday

Good luck with the alergy thing- i have never had to worry about it -yep! Extremely lucky i know- so i cant give any advice.:flowerz:

SuperFrog
24-01-2008, 21:12
Mon - how's Liam?

He is heaps better today, thanks Sandy. Just has a runny nose and the occasional dry cough, but no coughing fits like he was having, and no spew... which is always a good thing!

Just in case I don't make it here tomorrow, Happy Birthday Sandy! Hope you have a great day.

Big hello to everyone else. Not much to say so I'm off to bed. Busy day tomorrow, and a busy weekend. Night! :sleeping:

Shajbm
25-01-2008, 00:39
[quote=Shajbm;2294395]

OMG! Is he ok now? That must have been scary!:eek:

Happy Wedding anniversary to me and my dh.....we've been married for 4 years and together for 11.5:valentine:

He's okay now. I'm just watching Matthew because he had a temp today and I'm paranoid now.

Happy anniversary. wow 4 years. We've been married for almost 9 years.

sharon- thats terrible! every parents worst nightmare.

will you be getting the MMR when hes 4?

It was a nightmare, especially watching them not be able to get the nasal gastric tube down, trying to get an iv in 5 TIMES. They finally found a paed nurse and within 5 minutes had the tube down and we were transferred. Mind you, we were in the hospital from 11pm Sunday night and they finally were able to start rehydrating him at 7am Monday morning. Never again will I go to the Austin, it's straight into the childrens.

Not sure at this point about the year old one. I'm certainly concerned about it and the Chicken pox vaccine as that too is a live virus.

I see a new paediatrician with them on Feb 14 so will be discussing this with her then.

i hope your little guy is ok!! Riley has to go for his now im scared lol...

I would have it done and just watch for any reaction. Ben had a temp, red eyes, sore throat really sick and off all food and fluids. That's why he got dehydrated. Only 5% of kids who get the immunisation will have this kind of reaction.

So because Ben had it, the chances are you guys should all be fine.

Congrats ON THE WEDDINg ANNIVERSaRY TANya! I never seem to remember ours. How bad is that?!

LIAM Has diSCOVERed the caps lock key. I'm not going back to fix it. (much to Kay's amazement I'm sure!)

L has been coughing so much lately that he's followed it with a spew. Seems to be improved today though, which is good NEWS.

I'm not going overboard with Liam's cake... we are only having a small party so there won't be many people there... don't want to be left eating cake for the next week! Will get more adventurous with the cake making when he gets older and can put in his cake request. Could be challenging!

Sharon - How long after the MMR did he get sick? Glad to hear Ben is okay now.

Glad to hear that Liam is feeling better. It's never fun when the kids are sick.

Ben got sick exactly 2 weeks from date of immunisation.

Roopee
25-01-2008, 08:15
Happy Birthday Sandy!happybirthday Hope you have a great day today!!!

Happy Birthday Liam!happybirthday I hope you have a great day today little man! I cant believe how fast that year has gone- oh my goodness.
Mon? How are you today? Many tears being shed?:hugs:

And a big Happy birthday to my Dh!!!!!!!!!!!

blubber
25-01-2008, 16:43
happybirthday Liam and congratulations to Mon. Well done on your first year of Motherhood. I'm sure you are really enjoying the day and probably no where as painfull as a year ago.

happybirthday to Sandy, Enjoy the day mate, hope you get spoilt rotten.

happybirthday to Tan's DH. What, after a anniversary and a birthday today i bet those whips are cracking...hoo hoo

Sorry just wanted to call through and send birthday wishes. SOOOOOOO busy here...hope to catch up over the next few days.

Oh and Kylie...thanx for chatting to me the other night...crazy lady didn't get crazier chatting to herself.

SuperFrog
25-01-2008, 21:00
Thanks guys! Liam has had a great day, and so have I. Am completely exhausted though so will check in again soon with more details.

harleyq
26-01-2008, 19:22
Thanks for the birthday wishes everyone - had a wonderful day. Hope your long weekend is going well!

mandi24
27-01-2008, 13:31

Happy birthday to liam and sandy for the other day. Hope both had a great day.

Juzz - Congrats on the pregnancy hope all goes well for you.

How was everyone's Australia Day. Wat did everyone get up to. We just went to the lakes where they had a lot of entertainment happening. Was a good day. Stayed for the fireworks Lochlain loved those.

Well Lochlain has just recently started saying no and whenever i tell him no he just says it straight back to me. Cheeky little monkey.

Got a baby shower to go to in about an hour so should probably think about getting off the computer and start to get ready but its just so hard to tear away.

Now i really have to go Lochlain has gotten into the wipes and pulled them all out. Talk soon

Roopee
28-01-2008, 21:27
:wave: Everyone!

Glad to hear all the birthdays went well!

We had a great weekend! Lots of fun and i just have to say, my 7 yr old DS has lots of courage! He took to the "drop" at Luna Park in Sydney 3 times in a row while we were there! YAY! I have taught him well.
I'm a bit of a thrill seeker so so glad he is too! DS2 wanted to go on but missed the height requirement by 5 cms. Lets just say he was not a happy camper:laughing:- i took him through the Haunted House as compo though- he enjoyed having his arm ripped off by me grabbing it I'm sure hehehehehe.

Hope everyone is well!:wave:

blubber
28-01-2008, 21:31
Hey Girls,

Well this will be one of the last posts from Broken Hill.

The bush girl is moving and going from desert to coast...bit strange really.

Been catching up with a few friends over the past days and had a blinder on Saturday night.

...more in a bit

TAN...come for a chat

and KAY sorry i missed you earlier

Shajbm
28-01-2008, 22:49
:wave: Everyone!

Glad to hear all the birthdays went well!

We had a great weekend! Lots of fun and i just have to say, my 7 yr old DS has lots of courage! He took to the "drop" at Luna Park in Sydney 3 times in a row while we were there! YAY! I have taught him well.
I'm a bit of a thrill seeker so so glad he is too! DS2 wanted to go on but missed the height requirement by 5 cms. Lets just say he was not a happy camper:laughing:- i took him through the Haunted House as compo though- he enjoyed having his arm ripped off by me grabbing it I'm sure hehehehehe.

Hope everyone is well!:wave:

LOL

Blubber, good luck with the move.

Us, went shopping today and I have a new toaster. Guess what's for breakfast.

Also Ben has been pulling up to stand for about a month now and Matthew did it for the first time today. He was so proud.

A big hello to everyone. Too tired for too many personals.

What did you all get up to today?

mummybunny
29-01-2008, 08:51
Big hello Girls,

how have you all been? have you missed me???:confused:

Sorry ive been away for so long and missed so much by the looks of things... :doh:

well Riley's first birthday party is this Saturday coming im so excited but scared, i cant believe that in 7 days my baby boy is going to be 1, im just in shock that its gone so quick, some days i feel like ive missed so much just because its all gone so quick, i mean gosh the second Riley could roll that was it 2 months later crawling and 3 months later walking gee boy slow down, just so scary my little baby is now a little man. :crying::eek:

so what have we all been doing??

happybirthday Oh happy birthday to those i missed, sorry i missed them.

Riley has just woken up and is hungry so i better be off and ill be back laters promise!!
MB

P.S
M where are you moving to??

Roopee
29-01-2008, 14:03
Well Lochlain has just recently started saying no and whenever i tell him no he just says it straight back to me. Cheeky little monkey.

:laughing: Cheeky boy!

The bush girl is moving and going from desert to coast...bit strange really.

TAN...come for a chat

You'll love it! You'll be a beach bum in no time!
Sorry about the chat! I must have just missed you- i was typing and heading to bed- but hopefully tonight!

Also Ben has been pulling up to stand for about a month now and Matthew did it for the first time today. He was so proud.

YAY Matthew! Thats great news! I bet he thinks he's a superstar now LOL:yelclap:

well Riley's first birthday party is this Saturday coming im so excited but scared, i cant believe that in 7 days my baby boy is going to be 1, im just in shock that its gone so quick, some days i feel like ive missed so much just because its all gone so quick, i mean gosh the second Riley could roll that was it 2 months later crawling and 3 months later walking gee boy slow down, just so scary my little baby is now a little man.

Have fun at the party! I hope he has a ball!And gets lots of cool pressies!

My DS2 starts school in two more sleeps! Oh god- im so bl00dy upset a bout it! He tried his uniform on the other day and well, the floodgates opened LOL. He cant wait- is close to peeing himself with excitement- me on the other hand....:(

Kay!Where are you!!!

Shajbm
29-01-2008, 22:16
:YAY Matthew! Thats great news! I bet he thinks he's a superstar now LOL:yelclap:

He certainly does. He seems much less frustrated now too and he's started sitting much better now too. I'm so proud of him, considering where he started from and look at him now.

bAaM
30-01-2008, 09:07
:wave:Hi guys long time no hear.

Did you miss me?????

Well i'm back for good now my internet is set at home, but i'm working nights now so i will try and get on when ever i can.
happybirthday to all the bubs I have missed already.

:(sniff:( I cant believe its been a whole yr since we were all sooking about getting these babys out of us.

Well Marissa is walking:smiliedance:but cause she is so short she looks funny.
I've got a vid on my mobile off her but I have to figure out how to put it on the net.

Anyway I'm uploading some pics now so will post again soon.
Can someone send the Photobucket details to me again please.
Anywho I'll be back

my_lot
30-01-2008, 19:48
hello everyone:wave:

Id like to share a conversation i had with a lady at the creek over the long weekend.

my dd and ds were playing with a giant blow up float tube, dp was on the sand with eli and dd (healing broken arm) was pottering around. I was sitting on a chair with the puppy by my feet.

this really sweet lady came down onto the sand with her little dog, she wasnt old old just over middle age id say.

She asked what kind of dog i had and told me about hers, they were alike and sniffing each others rear ends. we chatted for a good 15 minutes about my puppy being our first dog wed ever owned and the fun that came with that, she shared advice and i liked her humour.

as it went on...

lady- We had nine dogs when we lived in sydney, 9!! imagine that! 2 adult dogs and one with a full belly. My husband said the dog was fat i said i thought she was pregnant. a week later we had 7 puppies. oh how i loved those dogs.

oh that toy your children have is great, where did you get it?
me- kmart
lady- ive never seen anything like it. have you had it long?
me- no the kids just got it at xmas time and this is the first time weve used it
lady- oh will you keep it in the yard or hose it off for the garage?
me- not sure probably dry it and store it flat

i get up and move down the waters edge, chuck the pup in for a swim before we go. she follows.

lady- gosh your dog enjoys the swim, how old is he. What kind of dog is he?

i answer.

lady- i had 9 dogs when i lived in sydney. one was pregnant and my husband thought she was just fat! nope one week later we had 7 pups so we had 9 dogs imagine that!- **laughing**

lady- your little dogs going to be tired, mine will sleep all the way home in the car he always does. Oh look at him go he loves playing with your children. isnt that a great toy they have there, have you had it long? will you hose it off when you get home? will you store it in the back yard or put it in the garage.

i get the pup out and tell her weve got to go home and it was lovely chatting to her about the dogs. she says she has to walk home so shed better get going too.

my eldest was beside me while i was standing on the sand talking to the lady. When the lady left dd looked deep in thought. she asked me if the lady had dementia like her great grandma had. I said i didnt know, could be memory loss but maybe dementia. after a long pause She said this lady wasnt much older than me (thanks kiddo:p) and asked if it was possible that if i said the same thing over and over like that, then maybe i would be starting to get dementia too.

the conversation with dd was over quickly but i thought about the whole situation the whole drive home. It hit me today while i was telling them to get ready for school over and over again and i wondered if she would from now on think i was close to it when i started repeating things! :laughing:

tan- im here! just been busy. had family visiting for the holidays and the last week has been chaos with 7 trips to the airport(yes 7!!) early swim intensives, normal swim classed, fracture clinic, specialists, solicitors, work, family outings, doctors visits, shopping for school and all the house work a family of 6 makes and the visitors on top of that!

i really enjoyed the phone chat today- thanks mate!

later today, I spoke to the teacher in charge of the stage and she told me she moved dd out of the click based on my concern on the peer pressure in the group, my dd acting on the pressure so often and the last time ending in her suspension. we agreed, at the time that if she forged strong friendships in this click in the final years of primary how damaging it could be in high school. She said It wasnt an easy desicion, they are all at the same level and the classes are graded dd has spent all of the graded levels at this school with the same group. The teacher decided dd would be better off in another class where she could power on without the pack. Ive been assured she will be working to her ability within this class and there are others at her level in there. This came at a cost-a dd being teased today for not being in the "high class"..is isolated from the click at playtimes and made all the worse when other dd told her what teacher she had, most the same class mates and in the higher class. i on the other hand feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders and dd can now act her age, be herself, not discuss sex, tampons, body parts, different drugs, listen to rap on MP3s, try to arrange sleep overs for every weekend, want to go to the shops with friends ectect. and just enjoy lunch break and class time.

ds starts kindy next week :(

alicia!!! woohoo your back! and shes walking!!!!! OMG hows A settling in?

can you txt nme your address please.

M- how are you, hows the move. please email me your new address before you go. how long will you be out of net? i cant wait to catch up with you on msn again

kylie :wave: missed you the other day. did you get the video of eli? Im thinking about checking out the nappy shop up your way..want to meet up?

we are minding our friends little kitten while shes on holidays...she is just the cutest little thing and a novelty for the kids and the cat and dog. its been a blast to watch. I was taping them the other day and eli walked across the lounge during it! first time hes ever cruised the furniture and i have it on tape!
heres a pic of them (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/jan08hols062.jpg)

kim- hope saturday is a blast! we are also having elis party on saturday. we have all the family arriving from interstate tomorrow!

Hope everyone is happy and well:wave:

oh Here (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/jan08hols042.jpg) is Eli, his daddys little USA football namesake- an all aussie bloke in the makin!

Roopee
30-01-2008, 20:29
Leashie! So good to hear from you! Its been ages!
OMG! I cant believe your little one is walking! YAY!

Kay- Hilarious conversation with little 'old' lady at the beach! How funny! Now you just need to sit back and wait for the 'mum's losing her marbles' comments that are sure to come LOL.:laughing:

I enjoyed our chat today too! Thanks for calling!

Those pics are awesome!

Well Riley starts school tomorrow- that day has come and im devastated! I wont bore you but lets just say- the crying has started already.:(. From me that is! His clothes have been layed out since this morning- apparently he doesn't want to be late!:rolleyes::laughing:

my_lot
30-01-2008, 20:53
Eli cruisin the furniture (http://s95.photobucket.com/player.swf?refURL=/&file=http://vid95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/bubbycruisin.flv&fs=1&os=1&ap=1)

SuperFrog
30-01-2008, 21:41
Hi everyone! Just popping in quickly to say hello.

Tanya, I hope Riley enjoys his first day of school, and that you don't get too emotional. :)

Great vid Kay!

my_lot
31-01-2008, 06:52
all the best tan :hugs:

Go home and look at all his baby photos ....:(

Roopee
31-01-2008, 12:43
So off we went to school today- Riley was dressed at 6.30am:laughing:. Keen.

Got there, waited for Cooper to go in- and Rileys start time was 9.40am so hung around for 10 mins. I was thinking, oh this is ok, im not too bad (after a half hour sook from me earlier this morning), not feeling too sad etc.
I gave him a cuddle, took him into his room, all the while he is itching to get away from me:laughing:.
I walked out and was taken over by sobs. Oh dear- made a complete fool of myself:(.
I can wait to go and pick him up.

Kay- great vid!:yelclap:

bAaM
31-01-2008, 13:04
afternoon ladies
Kay that vid was great even the cat and dog got in on the vid action.

Tan how was Riley (or you i should say) this morning.
Andrew started grade 1 this week :smiliedance:

well I started this new job 3 weeks ago and am only ment to be working 3 nights a week but have been doing 5, i'm so tired i'v done mon,tue,tonight,fri,and 7pm till 4am on saturday night,i'm not happy about sat as i have to pick dad up from the airport at 6:30am sun morning :banghead:
dad and my sister are coming up for bubs bday, i don't no when i will get time to organize my house for them.

Anyways i have some pics for u

what a mess (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/whatamess.jpg)
our snugglepots (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/pics193.jpg)
sleeping beauty (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/sleepingbeauty.jpg)
going to andrews 1 day at school (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/pics208.jpg)
walking (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/pics207.jpg)
rub a dub dub (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/pics202.jpg)
get that thing away from me mum (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Getthatawayfromme.jpg)

She looks so funny when she walks cause she is such a short a$$ (gets that from me)

M is on full cream milk now as well, anyone else doing this yet?

bAaM
01-02-2008, 16:29
Here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=151696) is the feb thread girls.