View Full Version : Overwhelmed !

michellencam
30-04-2005, 16:58
I'm 36 and 10 weeks pregnant with my first child. After waiting all these years I expected it all to be a wonderful experience but in reality its awful. I'm very happy to be pregnant but I've experinced severe cramping, all day and night nausea and vomiting, skin infections and strange rashes.I'm filled with fear of having something wrong with my baby and even have this strange idea that my partner will leave me all alone and pregnant.What is going on in my head? I am new to a small town and have no girl friends to talk to about my crazy negative thoughts.

30-04-2005, 17:46
That sounds just like me when I got pregnant with my baby- i thought I'd love being pregnant but I hated it! Don't get me wrong i liked the fact i was going to have a baby but my whole pregnancy was horrible. From 5 weeks on wards I had morning sickness really bad, migraines, swelling etc and my wisdom teeth came through and I couldnt even take anything!
In the end I just had to face facts I hated what was happening to my body. I'm sorry to say that it didnt all go away when my babe was born, for the first three months I detested breast feeding and had an awful time of it. Like you my hormones were making me think crazy things- I dont know how my partner put up with me! But it does get better, you just have to realize that its not all roses, becoming a parent is really hard but well worth it!
hang in there :)

mummyb
30-04-2005, 20:05
did you know that you are so normal!!!
when your pregnant (espeacilly if its been a long awaited event ) everything can just seem to creep on you .
when i was pregnant with my second baby i discovered that almost all women (something like 80%) suffer depression at some stage now thats a huge number so dont think for one minute its just you or that your not agood mum because your going to be great.
i do think that maybe you should let your midwife know how your feeling just so she's aware and so she can alay your fears.
i thought my baby was going to die the whole time i was pregnant isnt that terrible and i thought my husband was going to run off with his best mate (i know its to werid) because who would want such a nurotic wife and his friend was so understanding to his needs (yes the mates a bloke and no my husband isnt gay ) :p
then after id had my ds i thought well i've had the natural birth after a ceasar so im going to be wildly in love with my baby ,guess what i wasnt to be completely truthful it wasnt for a bout two weeks that i realy loved him one night my husband was picking him up because he is as oftie and i just had this feeling of " its okay to love him now".
if all your friends are telling you how great motherhood is and how great pregnancy made them feel ,well then let me as your new friend tell you this .
pregnancy sux espeacilly the last two weeks when you feel like your wetting your self and your focussed on the birth and FINALLY meeting your baby .
and motherhood well it is the greatest job on earth but like any new job it takes a while to get use to your new tasks, new work mates and learn the office routine.
i know everything will work out fine just enjoy the last few weeks as much as possible and talk to someone at your maternity hospital they are there to help and asking for help means only one thing your already a great mum because you know that a healthy happy mum is a great start for a healthy happy bub.

jamb
30-04-2005, 20:50
Just letting you know it is all worth it. I also had a horrible time being pregnant- terrible all day vomiting, headaches, extreme mood swings and thought i would be all alone and my partner would leave me to raise the baby. It was a shock to me as I had always wanted to fall pregnant and have babies, but I did not glow at all- that is untill my beautiful son popped out into this world, and it was all worthwhile.

Luckily the mind works its magic ways, i've already decided that i'd go through it all again.

I'm happy to chat anytime,
amy

Luvmyfam
01-05-2005, 18:14
I am 26yo and currently 26 weeks pregnant with my first baby. I am new to this website and I cannot explain how comforting it is to read that so many of your experiences are so similar to mine, thank you so much to you all for sharing them!!!!!
I can completely relate to the mood swings, tears, fear of being alone feeling and especially the fear that something is wrong with my bub. I was aware that pregnancy plays with your emotions and hormones but no one told me this much!!! So I spoke to my midwife about everything and she was fantastic. She confirmed with me that this was normal with pregancy but it doesn't have to go "unaided". So I think it definately pays off to speak to someone. I am going to pre-natal yoga, and this gives me the opportunity to meet other mums to be (I am the first of my girlfriends to have a bub, this can be tough for them to understand, god bless em!!!) I also swim, this helps my breathing too. Its tough, especially for my partner, he is like "what can I do?" For me its "just give me hug". I think its a matter of finding what makes you feel better, even during the wildest of crying mood swings I try my hardest to stay even a tiny bit positive, its better than nothing I reckon, whatever gets you through. I also keep telling myself I won't be a complete basketcase forever (I hope, please tell me I won't be!!!).

01-05-2005, 18:42
like you I'm 26 and am a first time mum, I can tell you it does get better. But the transition isnt easy becoming a mum was a huge shock for me. I thought I'd love staying at home and taking care of my little guy. But at first i felt isolated and alone.My hormones were all over the place for the first two weeks when my baby cried I cried too. Before my son was born i was a productive member of society- studying and working as a teacher for 8 years, every day I felt like i had accomplished something! It took me a while to adjust to my new role as a mum and for a while there I have to admit i hated being home alone with my little boy. Dont get me wrong I love my son, i love being his mum but nobody told me it wasnt all roses.I started going to a mothers group and became friends with some of the mums there in my area, it was great coz none of my friends had babies so couldn't relate.
Motherhood is way more difficult then I thought but at the same time its so much more rewarding. My boy is almost ten months old and I still look at him and think "wow, i made him, his mine" i cant believe how amazing he is...
It took me until my son was 7 months old and I had stopped breastfeeding to fully feel like i was back to normal-with my hormones finally settling down, so hang in there and one more bit of advice relax and enjoy your newborn when he/she comes along coz they grow soooo fast :)

BecH
03-05-2005, 08:10
I found especially while having morning sickness and acne I felt horrendous and more unstable because I looked and felt like crap. Also the first trimester you worrry about everything so much. A lot of people told me morning sickness usually indicates a healthy baby, which can be a slight comfort at this time.

I felt much better when I started to show, and especially in the second trimester (24 weeks now with my first), but little things still affect your mood much more. It is hard too when everyone wants to tell you their horror stories about labour, or colic babies, but you just have to learn to tune out. You will enjoy being a mum, and you are not a bad person for not liking pregnancy no one tells you it is this hard! Keep smiling and think about holding the little one in your arms. :D

Bec

Willow
04-05-2005, 16:25
:eek: you poor thing... My second pregnancy was so like that... I threw up for almost all of it, got rashes and eczma, toxemia etc etc. But the labour was a breeze! My nan told me through out the whole pregnancy that I owuld have a good labour because I was having such a bad pregnancy.

Most people get over morning sickness after 3 months! And no matter how bad your pregnancy is once you see your little person in the flesh you forget...I now have 3. haha.