View Full Version : Calling all cloth nappy users.....

10-03-2006, 14:14
Hi all you cloth nappy lovers *waves*....
I'm thinking of putting El in cloth nappies during they day while we are at home...

How many will I need? How do I wash them & what sort of pilchers should I use?
Any other tips would be great too!!

Prolly really dumb Q's but I have no idea!!

Thanks in advance!! :hugs:

10-03-2006, 14:19
Well if you are only going to use them at home during the day I would go with the flat terry nappies! They are the ones that are square shape and you have to fold!:thumbsup: They are the cheapest too which is a great advantage.

As for pilchers hmmm I tend not to use them during the day at home, only cause it is no drama changing the nappy anytime anywhere in the house! lol

Dry pailing is probably the way to go so you will need a bucket for that and I use also a few drops of essential oil and a sprinkle of bi carb in the bucket. What you do in brief is if the nappy is just wet you just chuck it into the bucket (there is no water in the bucket that is why it is called dry pailing)! and if the nappy is pooey you wash the poo off into the toilet, I use a little hose attached to my toilet called a Little Squirt to do that job but my mother said she used to just hold onto the nappy really tight and flush to get the poo off! Once the poo is off though it can be chucked into the bucket along with the other nappies.

I would probably buy maybe 12 nappies to begin with and see how you go!:D

Any more questions just ask!

By the way why not use facewashers as wipes too!

Tea Lady
10-03-2006, 15:09
I quite like the fluffies pilchers from Kmart for my flat nappies, and you can often get great pilchers at op shops, esp for little bubs.

I use home brand napi san on the pooey nappies to get rid of the smell and home brand disposable liners. It's all very cheap really, and no big deal. Oh, the new style of snappi are great as well- I only have 2 but it's enough.

Charlie
10-03-2006, 15:12
How many ppl use them??? I didn't think many ppl used them anymore???? :confused:

Sarie
10-03-2006, 15:13
yup I use them during the day, I'm an old soaker though...

Charlie
10-03-2006, 15:19
Do you end up washing all day???

Funkychicken
10-03-2006, 15:23
I use cloth terry squares but have been researching nappy systems (very confusing???). As far as washing, I keep a square tub under the change table so I can just chuck them in and continue changing. If it's pooey I'll then scrape the bulk of it into the loo-sometimes I don't get back to do this for an hour or so, so I make sure I have kind of wrapped it into itself so it doesn't dry to quickly.

At the end of every day I take the lot and put them in the machine on a HOT soak cycle. This way they get soaked AND agitated without me getting pooey hands(again). In the morning I just hang them out to dry. Beautiful fresh fluffy nappies ready to fold.

It's also wise to have your nappies prefolded in a stack/stacker so you can grab them one handed if need be. I usually fold them just before i go to bed and this way there is never a huge pile.

I'll let someone else explain about all the different covers...........!:thumbsup:

10-03-2006, 15:25
Thanks Sal, that sounds pretty easy!! Are liners a good idea, can u flush em down the dunny?

Charlie
10-03-2006, 15:25
wooow maybe I should give it a go... :thumbsup:

10-03-2006, 15:26
How many ppl use them??? I didn't think many ppl used them anymore???? :confused:

Oh you would be suprised how many ppl do use cloth these days! :yelclap:

cosmic
10-03-2006, 15:32
oh yes, we do love our cloth! :D

For covers/pilchers, if you think you need them, you can get PUL which is breathable and much better than sweaty, stinky old PVC. They're not cheap but you only need a few. Otherwise you can get wool or fleece covers.

Check out the range at:
www.theweewuns.au.com
www.cleverpants.com.au
www.babybeehinds.com.au

10-03-2006, 15:34
Thanks Sal, that sounds pretty easy!! Are liners a good idea, can u flush em down the dunny?

Nope unfortunately Liners are not flushable!:(

Sarie
10-03-2006, 15:35
Do you end up washing all day???

No I usually do a load once he has his bath and hang them up on clothes airers, so I do two loads of washing a day, regular clothes in the morning and nappies at night...
I also make sure I have plenty of nappies folded with liners in them every morning (I use polar fleece liners now too, reusable and it actually keeps him a bit dryer)

the_queen
10-03-2006, 15:51
ooh ooh can I put my very favourite clothie link in right here:

http://www.cherubskiss.com/

[ I haven't actually bought any of this brand, but everyone who I've talked to about clothies always says "nobody does that anymore!" and "ugh too much washing" and "yuk stinky wet nappies all over your house" and this website TOTALLY makes them all change their mind and go "awwwwww how GORGEOUS!!!" :smiliedance: ]

10-03-2006, 21:08
Check out this site too!

http://www.thenappylady.co.uk/Default.asp:D

Mor
11-03-2006, 14:47
Have a look at www.ozclothnappies.org too... lots and lots of great FAQ advice there! A fantastic resource.

More and more people are starting to turn back to cloth nappies, especially now that you don't need to use pins, soak or fold them... I know some people are still happy to do this, I use squares sometime too... but modern fitted cloth nappies make life soooooo much easier! And great fun!

Stay tuned for information about Real Nappy Week happening in late April... There will be nappycinos (gettogethers for cloth nappy users and people who want to learn more, displays, stalls, info sessions... all sorts of stuff around Australia. It's going to be great fun! :)

kaz09
11-03-2006, 15:32
There are heaps of people who use cloth. check out www.nappycino.com there are heaps of WAHM's (work at home mum's) who make some great products and can help you with anything you need to know. I also have my own business selling cloth if anyone is interested in finding out more please PM me.

dannii
11-03-2006, 19:34
i use cloth nappies during the dasy with Indy. Ijust love cloth on bubs! so cute.
i go through a fair few, but just you notice theyre wet more with cloth.
i dont usually use pilchers around the house, main reason is i dyes them myself (some pink and some purple) cute as, and i didnt weant to cover up my hard work!!

its really easy to dye them, and is quite cheap too, so u might wanna consider that personal touch :thumbsup:

11-03-2006, 19:55
I'm recently converted, & I use mainly terry flats & fluffies pilchers. I've just stareted with the fancy fitteds, but they're great :yelclap:

Cherubs kiss are gorgeous, have to get me some :smiliedance:

bluey
15-03-2006, 20:53

You can get flushable eenees liners. About $8 for 100, but you can cut them in half, they are pretty big. Most of the nappy warehouses sell them.

If your using terry flats, go with some decent PUL or fleece covers. I'd say 2 dozen for a toddler should do it. And about 3 or 4 covers, but we don't use covers at home, except for naps and night time.

SJE
17-03-2006, 14:49
I just brought the gear for using cloth nappies yesterday.

Hubby is very apprehensive about the whole thing.

I was just considering the cost of disposables also the amount of garbage we are generating overflows the bin every week. My other consideration is I am not sure about the effects of that gel stuff they have in disposables?
I am not sure how Breeanna will react to this change and if she will start waking up because of a wet bum. My mum did cloth for all three kids so it must be a feasable option.

I will let you's know how I go if you want.

the_queen
17-03-2006, 15:02
Micro-fleece liners will make sure your little darlin' wakes up with a dry bum :thumbsup: The moisture flows through but won't come back up through the fleece.

(Am I right, clothie experts??:D Haven't used them on a bubba yet, only on a not-dry-at-night-yet 4 yr old and they work brilliantly for her)

17-03-2006, 15:38
Thanks for all the info ladies!!!!! I really appreciate it!!! :thumbsup:

18-03-2006, 02:12
Breeannasmum - My partner was also not convinced at my newly found enthusiasm for cloth LOL but i asked around & made sure i knew all my options etc.
So thats how i found out about pocket nappies which im so pleased i did ! Then i had the dramas with him about the cost of them :rolleyes: So i ordered a few to begin with & tried them out to which we both fell in love with them so ordered a bulk pack.
Its the funniest thing now with my partner as he loooves the nappies LOL i have him well trained ;) :p

PinkBinkie
18-03-2006, 07:22
I love Lucy in her terry flats........soooo cute!!
I use chux wipes (cut in half and folded lengthways) as liners. When she does a poo the chux liner catches most of it so I throw it in the bin. The wet liners I wash and use again - I always put them in a bra bag so they last longer and don't fall apart in the wash. I dry pail wet nappies but haven't dry pailed pooey ones. I put the nappies on at night on hot/soak cycle with napisan (cheap version) and some washing liquid and hang them out in the morning. Easy as!:smiliedance:

SJE
19-03-2006, 18:01
my hubby is currently refusing to change her nappy if Breeanna is wearing cloth!!:banghead: He thinks he's a hero for changing the disposables because he has heard some men refuse to.

I've even purchased some good diaper covers. Breeanna seems to be happy with cloth, she's not being difficult

He makes me rather flustrated sometimes. I am just trying to save us some money!!

chillifly
19-03-2006, 19:40
Not to be rude, but tell your hubby to get over himself! I don't know any 'dads' that don't change nappies - cloth or disposables. Have heard some 'fathers' who say it's not their responsibility to change nappies at all :eek: Wonder which he considers himself to be (IFYKWIM). Sounds a bit of a cop out really.

Perhaps you could try leaving him and at home with Breanna for a few hours with her in cloth - leaving him with no choice..

If that doesn't work, work out how much money you're saving each week on cloth as opposed to using disposables, and ask him what he'd like to give up of his weekly spending (e.g. bought lunches, games of golf, etc) so he can use disposables......

Good luck :fingerscrossed:

19-03-2006, 21:55
Breannasmum - Have a good talk to him about the money your saving & if he still isnt convinced them maybe have a look at the modern type cloths like the pocket styles or AIO's as they are just basically a cloth version of a disposable. This way he cant say a word LOL as its no different ! The thing is they are more expensive to buy straight off the bat.
Good luck !

SJE
20-03-2006, 13:10
I did a costing last night right down to the electricity and water. I even weighed out the laundry powder. When Hubby saw the savings he was still carrying on.
He is the type of man that would rather heat up a pizza than cook a proper meal.

Possible some convincing needs to be done here. He'll get over it in time.
Perhaps I need to remind him just what the money saved could do!!

20-03-2006, 13:21
Oh yes !!!!
Tell him how it could mean a holiday or even better whats his currency ????
Say a new toy like a playstation or the likes not saying let him get one but just to use it as the way to make him realise he can have something outta this ;)
That gets them excited knowing they can get something for my partner it was a new camera for "us" yeah right for HIM LOL ! So thats what buying cloth has saved us this year hehehehe.
Good luck hun hopefully it is just him rebelling for now :hugs:

M O P
20-03-2006, 13:28
Thanks to the many great Mums on here putting forward info I've been able to search around on line and have a look at some great sites. My sil is giving me some nappies she had for her baby(12 sml) and I've managed to pick up on sale 2 PUL covers (sml) and some micro fleece liners from www.babybeehinds.com.au and a wool cover(sml) and some lanolin wash balls from www.darlingsdownunder.com.au
We'll give these a go and take it from there!
Good luck, there's heaps around and heaps on bubhub in other threads.