View Full Version : exercise - what helps you.?

mum2littleman
30-12-2007, 08:18
what exercise really helps you lose weight or tone.

so far i only walk ever day i use to walk an hr and a half when i was dieting but now im only walking 45 mins just to get my back into it.

would love to hear what works for you.

metalhead713
30-12-2007, 09:12
Well walking works pretty well for me, but I can tell you one thing that does NOT work..
Tried to go a bit hard and do a heap of situps/stomach crunches the other day, probably a bit too soon after having dd (almost 6 months) I was in soooooooooooooooooooo much pain later that day..:no: not doing that again!! got to take it easy.

30-12-2007, 09:40
CArdio - getting the heart rate up. Walking heaps, aerobics and aqua are all things I've done that have helped me lose weight.

punkbaby
30-12-2007, 09:48
i walk everyday but i also dance to the wiggles with the kids LOL. Also i lay on my back and push my knees to my chest and sit bubs or dd3 on my shins, i move them back and forth slowly, seems to give my bum a good work out :)

babylover111
30-12-2007, 09:51
Running, spin classes and swimming. In the end it's just about getting moving, if I have a lazy week I notice I don't lose anything compared to if I'm doing a lot of housework and on my feet. I've noticed recently I'm an all or nothing kind of person, I'm taking two weeks off my normal exercise routine and I haven't moved at all :laughing:

blackdog
01-01-2008, 09:52
My favourite things at gym are what I call the 'dancing around' things, like step and aerobics, but bike (which I think some call spin) really burns calories and weights are really good, too! Higher muscle mass helps you burn calories.

Also, I find landscape gardening really good exercise! All that digging and lifting and hauling of wheelbarrows. Works your muscles and your heart!:D

Lastcenturymum
01-01-2008, 10:23
The thing that really works (for an old chook like me with a slower metabolism;)) Is running. Ok. Jogging! :laughing: I need to raise my HR above 135 for it be most effective.

The secret to starting off though is to run/walk. If you are out walking add some runs - say between lamposts if you have them. If not, 1 min run, 2 mins walk and keep repeating that for 30 mins. Gradually increases the runs and decrease the walks.

Whenever I get back into running this is what I do rather than try to kill myself by running 5kms straight off. It also means you can go for longer, so when you can get to 60 mins of 5run/1walk you are doing really well.

Cycling helps too, but I need to ride for about 1.5 - 2 hours for it to be effective and I ride a mountain bike, so I do ride hard.

Im now up to running 5kms at the gym on the treadmill, anymore and Im bored stupid, whereas I can do 10km outdoors with a running friend (someone to talk to!:D)

Metalhead how is the tummy, I was thinking about you yesterday when I was doing abs at the gym and wondering how you were feeling now?

Oh and I find doing some weights and abs work helps the toning

34me
01-01-2008, 10:25
Im finding morning sickness is helping me heaps! :laughing: I do enjoy walking in the evenings, but bub has other ideas as I am exhausted all the time. I am going to do some pregnancy yoga when I feel better. :)

vanillabean
01-01-2008, 14:24
Good old fashioned walking for me. It has helped me lose 20kgs in the past and 15kgs last year. Since I have stopped i have gained weight again ( along with the unhealthy eating).

TinyStar
01-01-2008, 14:30
Free weights, squats and dips and boxing.

I dont have a snowflakes chance in hell of completing a boxing class in my current state, so am doing fatburner type exercise DVDs instead.

ETA I was exercising but stopped, I haven't put the weight back on but the difference in my appearance (ie floppy belly) is phenomenal.

blackdog
04-01-2008, 13:47
Ooo, you know what else? I did belly dancing for two terms last year (then it got too expensive) and I was already getting more noticable muscles all through my torso...actually I should go a get a belly dancing DVD.....

JorBai
05-01-2008, 21:56
Hey Lou I do walking and I also have 2 different DVDs.

One is a Walk to Slim workout DVD which is great and I also do a 10 minute solutions Fat burning Dance Party DVD which is 5 10 minute dance workouts aimed at different areas of the body!!! Its worked really well for me and its easy coz I can do them when the boys are asleep or if its raining!

Im gonna get a 10 minute solutions Ab toning fitball one too!