View Full Version : Jan 08 Mums Thread Number ONE!!
As the official first Jan 08 Mum to Pop, let me be the first to welcome everyone to the First Ever Jan 08 Mum's thread for posting in!!
I hope everyone had a nice birth experience and have good little ones that let you sleep!!
Me, you know the story...
Got my VBAC and am currently trying my hand at breastfeeding... So far it's going a lot better than it did with number one as she was comp fed by now and not drinking from me!
So, if you will, I'm sure we would ALL love to get the details of your fabulous birth (and the stats of bub)...
Name: Rebecca Kate
Birth Date: 19/12/07
Est. Date: 06/01/08
Time: 11:41am
Height: 53cms
Weight: 3360 grams
Head Circ: 34.5cms
Birth Type: Spontaneous Successful VBAC
Birth Details: Waters broke at 3am, hang around home getting bag ready and waiting for time to pass so as not to wake DD up... Dropped DD at Mum's at 6am and headed to hospital.
Once in the Birthing Unit, was hooked up to CTG due to previous c/sec. Contractions starting to hurt quite a bit, some brought a tear to my eyes... After a while we were moved to a room...
Took a little while for the midwife to check how far dialated I was... 4cms... It had to be around 9am...
Contractions getting rather yukky now and just labouring on the bed... Asking if I can have a shower... Midwife had to go and get the portable CTG so I could... Got to the shower and had another contraction... Decided to sit on toilet instead and not go near the shower...
Walked back to the bed and had a few more contractions, decided it hurt less on the bed so got back on...
DF and I discussed option of Morpheine as contractions becoming rather unbearable, even though I was still talking through them. Midwife had to check dialation before getting Morpheine ready... 11am and 8cms dialated... Midwife rather impressed that I dialated 4cms in 2 hours!! Said No Morpheine as baby will be in here in 1/2 hour... I swore and said it's not fair, I can't do this anymore... There has to be something you can give me... Took gas as only form of pain relief for 1/2 hour until it was time to start pushing... DF kept trying to put his fingers in my mouth all the time with me telling him to get them away because I WILL bite them off!!
Everytime I tried to yell out or scream out, the Midwife would tell me not to and to breathe... Of course with my reply being, I can't yell if I'm not breathing!! DF concerned about me yelling in case another labouring woman hears me LOL So I yelled about 8 times throughout the whole thing (including before pushing) and didn't get the chance to actually scream once.
I told the Midwife NOT to tell me what was happening when it was happening as I wouldn't be able to continue... DF says as head is coming out to keep going as head comes out more with each push - my response... I know, I can FEEL it!! Got the head out and had one more push to get the shoulders out... Got the shoulders and received a superficial tear... Bub put straight onto Mum's chest and we fed once she started looking for it... Once fed, bub was taken to other side of room (always within view) to be weighed and checked over...
I went for a shower - obviously feeling rather yuk - Had quite a bit of blood loss and started feeling dizzy, so sat on chair in shower and let water run over me while Daddy made sure bub was okay. Had BP checked, had dropped considerably, so rested and ate before being wheeled to Maternity.
noniwaldron
01-01-2008, 14:17
yay! congrats widget!
i'm getting really excited and nervous now; i'm due in a few days so we're trying not to plan too much or go out too far away from home or anything just in case it all starts happening (otherwise we would have gone to the beach today which is at least an hour's drive away... it's so freakin' hot)
i had a bit of a high bp issue last week and had to be monitored for 5 hours at the hospital (boring), although everything seemed normal after the monitoring. the middy was concerned at my previous visit because i had a bad cold & a headache that day and bp was up a bit, so hopefully i'll still be able to get into the birth centre providing bp is still normal at tomorrow night's visit.
still not feeling any pain or bh's or anything though...
hope everyone had a great chrissy & new year :)
Hey Leonie!!
At the moment, we're all Here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=144873)
C'mon ladies, there's at least 14 Jan Mummies already!!
Bo0tifuL
05-01-2008, 15:26
Name: Hayden Andrew
Date: 02/01/2008
Time: 7:51 am
Height: 52 cm
Weight: 8lbs 5oz Hd Circ: 34
Birth Type: SVB (Spontaneous Vaginal Birth)
Birth Details:
9 ish my waters broke, wasnt a big gush as most people have though, it was a big one then trickles all over the house:o I was sitting on the toilet saying to Jarad omg our baby is coming.
Rang the hospital and i had to go in but i took my time and packed more things and got DS ready for poppy and headed out!
dropped DS off and went in and was monitered, but my contractions were tiny so they admitted me and DP and mum were sent home. Was in the bed having quite big contractions but not big enough to go back down stairs so i was given panadine forte and 2 sleeping pills:confused: i wish i wasnt coz as soon as i had taken them my contractions started REALLY hurting. So i rang the buzzer and told the nurse it was happening now, so i went back down stairs straight into my labour bedroom and was given an internal and found i was only 4 CM diallated!
So i hopped in the shower and used the hotness to take some pain from the contractions away, Rang DP and mum and they came back and i hopped back onto my bed and BAM my contractions were around 2 minutes apart, was given morpheine but didnt find it did much and started screaming for an Epidural lol. It was way too late but i was in too much pain to understand! everyone was copping it from me coz the were mean for not giving me pain relief! i was laying on my side and the nurse made me roll onto my back so she could have a look and as soon as i rolled over i had the urge to push. She did her thing and said she could feel the head and she said he was very hairy! I thought she meant i was hairy lol:laughing:
So i gave a few BIG pushes and his head came half out and she made me stop and pant but i couldnt stop i dont know how i was supposed to stop but i kinda did, then the rest of his head came out with a HUGE push and scream as it was really burning! then i had to wait a bit for them to do what they were doing and then 1 more push and he fell out! The shoulders hurt the most i thought... They threw him up onto my belly and i BALLED my eyes out in proudness that i actually did it all by myself after hours of convicing myself i couldnt!!!
Out i pushed the placenta but didnt even notice really as i was so happy to see my boy! DP cut the cord and i had a hold for about 15 minutes whilst the doctor sewed my peices back together lol, i was given a local for that and i kept asking when it would be over as i was terrified the needle would wear off and id feel it!!! Bit i think the was around 10 stitches and i also have another little tear but it wasnt stitchable.
All the phone calls started and crying was happening and i was sooooo exhausted my eyes were closing but then id remember who i had in my arms and id snap awake!
DP and mum waited around for awhile and left so i could shower and go down to my room.I showered and washed but i couldnt do a wee so i had to sit there for an hour so i could or i was getting a cathader so i sat there lol. Got dressed and wheeled down to my bed rang Dp and he came in with DS.
I was soooo nervous, he didnt relise what was happening excpet there was a baby and they were calling it Hayden like mummys tummy lol. But he eventually kissed and hugged him and now he cant get enough of him!!
Chelle123
06-01-2008, 15:08
Name: Aubrey Clare
Date: 30/12/2007
Time: 5.30pm
Height: 51 cm
Weight: 8lbs 4oz Hd Circ: 37cm
Birth Type: IVB (Induced Vaginal Birth)
Birth Details:
I had had morning sickness for about a week leading up to my induction so for something different, I threw up my breakfast at 6.30am.
All my boys dropped me at the hospital at 7.30am to have the gel by about 8am. DH took the boys off to my parents house for brekky of bacon & eggs and he was planning to get his hair cut and do a few things before returning to the hospy. I was fine with this as I've had the gel before and knew that it usually takes a few hours to kick in. I was examined by the dr who said that the cervix was already soft and that I wouldn't need the gel but he would be breaking the waters and on the drip - very soon. When I had the drip with Noah, he was born within 2.5hrs so I rang DH, who was still eating his bacon & eggs, and told him to come straight to the hospital. While I was waiting for him to come back, I was taken to the birth unit and had an iv put in each hand, one for the drip and one spare, just incase I haemorraged again (had retained placenta & lost 2.5L with Noah and needed 5 transfusions). The drip started at 9.30am and contractions started at 10am. The 1st part of labour was text book and at about 2.30 I got the urge to push. After about 2hrs of pushing, it felt like I was getting nowhere and was getting very frustrated. At some point, the midwife (who was wonderful) lost the heartbeat with the trace machine and I freaking out and demanding that they cut the baby out - I thought she was dead. The midwife hurried to get a doppler machine and called the dr and found the heartbeat way down in my pelvis. The dr examined at this point and found that there was a bit of a lip stopping the bub from coming through the cervix, so he did his thing and after another hour of pushing, baby Aubrey was born. Some time in the last hour, I requested the stirrups as was so tired, and as much as I hate to admit it, they were a bit of relief.
The midwife told DH to come and cut the cord but suddenly there was a gush of blood, so for the first time, DH didn't get to cut the cord. To me it sounded like a jug of water being poured on the floor. The dr and other midwives were there in a flash, all working to stop the bleeding and to make sure I was okay. In the end, I lost 1L of blood and only needed 2L of fluid for re-hydration.
What p!sses me off is that my haemotologist, who is supposed to be one of the senior guys and who I paid good money to see, said that I 'should' be okay going into labour on 300mg of aspirin daily. Lucky for me, I was admitted the week before due to a viral infection and the drs at the hospital reduced my aspirin to 100mg. I can't even imagine what the outcome ie blood loss, could have been if I had been left on 300mg.
Anyway, after a couple of hours I was allowed to get up for a shower but could hardly walk. My pelvis was so bad that they put a cathedar in so I wouldn't have to get up. Next day, the physio visited and gave me crutches which helped heaps but I still needed painkillers.
CHAPTER 2
My parents brought the boys in about 8pm that night to come and meet their new sister. My dad leant over, I thought he was going to kiss me but no, he said "Aubrey's a man's name". You can imagine how angry I was and for any of the Jan mums reading this, you will know how much thought and deliberation went into her name. So on my first night as a mum again, I kept waking up, thinking that we have to change her name. By morning I had decided that we would not be changing her name.
Next night (NYE) my parents came to visit again. My mum says "not many people like her name" WTF??? I was so angry now. They had just given Aubrey an expensive gold bracelet and all I wanted to do was throw it in her face. Here was I, still unable to walk and given birth 24hrs earlier and all they cared about was our precious baby's name.
Later in the night, I was crying in my hospital bed at how insensitive my parents had been when the girl in the bed next to me came over and asked if I was okay? She was so lovely and had experienced the same with her new bub from her mum & MIL. Then my midwife (the one who delivered Aubs) came in and the 3 of us chatted for ages. It turns out that the midwife is moving down the road from us soon and her DH used to work with my DH - very small world.
Anyway, my parents were at our house on Thursday and I threw the baby name book in his face with the "Aubrey" page open. IMO if the book has it as a girl's name, then it must be LOL.
My boys are adapting to having a baby in the house. They both want to help with bath and nappy change. I guess it hasn't been too hard as she sleeps most of the day (nights leave a lot to be desired).
Bo0tifuL
06-01-2008, 15:52
Heres some pictures of Hayden.
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/haydenplane.jpg
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/jkhy.jpg
Strawberry_Shortcake
06-01-2008, 16:32
Name: Tarni Olivia
Arrival: Date: 25 December 2007
Due Date:29 January 2008
Time: 2:53 pm
Height: 48 cm
Weight: 5lbs 6oz
Head Circ: 31.5cm
Birth Type: C section
Birth Details:
It was Christmas Day. I just put my DS in his high chair to give him brekky before opening any presents. When doing that I felt like I peed myself so I went to the toilet to check. Luckily I had a panty liner on (was getting heaps of CM lately) sorry if TMI. It was watery and red. So quickly told hubby to grab me the phone so I can ring the hospital to see what was going on. I had a c section with my son so I didn’t really know what it was like when your water broke. Was told to come in and get checked out. DH was ready to take me to the hospital, I then told him that were not going anywhere until the kids (DS and 2 SD) open their presents. Good to see I have set my priority right? lol
When I arrived at the hospital the midwife took me to the birthing suite and put a fetal monitor on me until the dr was ready to do an internal. Dr came in half an hour later and checked things out. That’s when we got the news that the membrane ruptured. I then was told I couldn’t deliver at Swan District due to bub only being 35 weeks so was transported by ambulance to King Edwards. Hubby had to go home and pack my hospital bag and drop the kids off at a friends place and met me at the hospital. While in the ambulance I was starting to get contractions not to regular though. Got to King Eddie and they put me on a fetal monitor again. I started having contractions within an hour after arriving there. They were 8 minutes apart. Dr came in and examined me and told me I was going to have bub that day. Yep of all days Christmas Day.
I had a choice to try to labor or go straight for a c section. I opt for another c section. So they prep me for theatre and our little girl arrived into the world at 2.53pm. Hubby was proud he finally cut the cord (never done that before). I had a precious hold of my pink bundle before she went to special care nursery with her daddy. It all happened so fast. She was in special care for 12 days and she finally came home today. Tarni is formula feed as i honestly didn't think I could cope with breastfeeding while Talon is so full on. Least I know with formula, she having the right amount and putting on weight. Talon adores her. He always smiles and giggles at her. It’s gorgeous to watch.
That’s my birth story thanks for reading.
Here are some pics of my christmas princess...
Tarni 2 hours old
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/Tarni%20Olivia/princess%20Tarni%20Olivia/IMG_1186.jpg
Tarni 4 days old
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/Tarni%20Olivia/princess%20Tarni%20Olivia/IMG_1239.jpg
Tarni 10 days old
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/Tarni%20Olivia/princess%20Tarni%20Olivia/IMG_1297.jpg
Kel
justme77
07-01-2008, 09:10
Great Stories Girls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And not too scary.
Name: Ethan Cody
Arrival Date: 28th December 2007
Due Date: 9th January 2008
Time: 2.15pm
Weight: 3350g
length: 49.5cm
head: 35.5cm
birth type: emergency csection.
Birth Details:
Thursday 27th - went up to hospital tonight to get checked out after the bleeding today. Found that blood pressure was slightly high - 140/82 and had a bit of protein in the urine. They took some bloods and told me to get the results tomorrow in clinic.
Friday 28th - Feeling a bit dizzy and light headed off to antenal appointment. Got into antenal appointment - 38 week check to find that my blood pressure is now 180/105. Was sent off to birth suite to get a trace on the bub and some blood pressure tablets. After a while the doctor came in and retook my blood pressure which went down and settled at 160/100, he then took more bloods and stirred up the water membranes (i dont understand now why this needed to be done). The doctor also told me that the bub would have to be born by the end of the weekend and that he was off to get the results of the bloods he had just taken. He came back in 30 min later and announced that i was off for a csection in an hour. He then sat down and explained to me that my platlet levels in my blood were too low to risk having a natural birth especially given that i had had a csection with the last bub. I didnt really want a csection but in the end agreed as i decided that i would rather meet my little bub. My husband who had taken our boys home was rang and told what was going on and when it was going to happen. At 1pm i was wheeled down the hallway to say goodbye to my boys and off to theatre. A spinal was attempted but called to a stop when i started to bleed - it was decided that it wasnt blood i could loose. So in the end in was done under a general. My baby was looked at by the baby doctor after he came out and taken to my room in the birth suite where his father and brothers looked after him until i was able to be brought back. In the end my husband and boys were the first to know that he was a boy. When i came to, it took a while to stop shaking and then i was taken to meet my new son. I was put on a "specials" program for nearly two days. This was where i had to stay in bed and had a midwife in my room at all times to help with bubs and check my reflexes etc. This was when i found out i had servere pre eclampsia and that i was put in this program to make sure i didnt fit or loose too much blood and that my platelet levels returned to normal. Was in hospital for 5 days in total before going home only to be readmitted the next day for a further 3.5 days to fix my matitis problem that developed as soon as my milk came in. We are doing well now and breast feeding is not as painful.
Name: Ripley Jon Conor T.
Date: 02.01.08 EDD: 17.01.08
Time: 10.41am
Height: 49cm
Weight: 6lb 8oz, 2940g
Hd Circ: 33cm
Birth Type: Drug free vaginal induction, 91min long
Birth Details: Went in at 7:30am, taken to labour room. OB broke my waters at 8:10am, was 3-4cm dialated. Contractions started but werent very strong so at 8:50am they put the drip in. Solid min apart, min long contractions started from 9:15am. After using the IV pole as leverage and breathing through contractions for what seemed like hours, the nurse checked me at 10:15am and I was 9.5cm dialated so I hopped on the bed, all the while pushing and she rang the OB to get there ASAP. He walked through the door at 10:25am, telling DH to watch what they were doing closely because if we have anymore he would need to know how to deliver the baby at home because I have such quick deliveries :laughing:, and after 15min/6 pushes out popped Mr Ripley, happy and healthy.
No drugs, no tearing and one very happy Mama.
Bo0tifuL
08-01-2008, 11:28
Ok so i didnt know whether or not this is a chatting thread for us or not? But i didnt wana put this in the due thread as i didnt wana scare the mummys to be :)
Ok so this is a warning of >>>>TMI<<<<
So today is day 6 and i finally did a number 2 after being scared from having stitches, i actually did better this time with DS1 i went 2 whole weeks!!! It took a while but now im bleeding from where my stitches are i thought it was the normal stuff but its bright red and further back right where the stitches are. Is this bad? Is there anything i can do? Should i be worried at all? They dont hurt but i can feel that theres something there. Im just worried it wont stop bleeding? Its not running out or anything just when i wipe it and a bit on my pad...Thanks for listening :)
Crazy Monkey
08-01-2008, 11:49
Name: Lucy Ann
Date: 31st December 2007
Time: 7.58pm
Height: 52cm
Weight: 6lb 9oz, 2970g
Hd Circ: 32.5cm
Birth Type: Drug free vaginal birth
Birth Details: Woke up about 8am New Years Eve and went tot he toilet and noticed a little blood streak through discharge when I wiped... Had a little bit of period pain and thought maybe todays the day... Spent most of the morning relaxing on the couch... Went to the toilet a couple more times and had a little more blood... I called the hospital and they said, sounds like the start of things but we didn't need to go it... DS went down for a nap after lunch, so I had a nanna nap on the couch, just in case something was to happen, I didn't want to be totally exhausted from running around all day...
DS woke up from his nap abut 2.30pm and I again went toilet and this time there was a lot more blood, so we rang the hospital again, and because I still hadn't had a noticeable contraction they said i can come in for monitoring or see how things go... Decided that we'd see how things went over the next 30-40 minutes and then call back... The aches of period pain was still lingering around and I had a couple of contractions, nothing really painful... Rang the hospital back and said we'd be coming in for monitoring, just wasn't feeling too great and wanted to make sure everything was OK...
Organised DS with my mum and headed off to the hospital... Told mum we'd be back later on, cause I didn't think anything was gonna happen... As we were leaving home, about 4pm, I had a pretty nasty contraction, and then another 2 on the way to the hospital, so they were about 15 minutes apart...
After about 30 minutes of monitoring, the contractions were getting stronger but still a bit all over the place... They were getting between 5-10 minutes apart... At 5pm, DH went and got us some dinner, healthy Hungry Jacks, and we ate while I was monitored for another 30 minutes or so...
The midwife then decided to do an internal to see what was happening before deciding whether I should stay or go home and rest... I was 3cm and the contractions were getting stronger, so they said I am staying and DH went and got the bags from the car...
I was taken up to the birthing suite... I had to go toilet, and get a sample, as I was walking tot he toilet, I had a contraction, lasted about 1 minute and then when I walked back tot he bed, I had another... Contractions were now about 4-5 minutes apart and getting stronger... Think it was about 6pm by this time...
I had a few more contractions with a break in between and then they just kept coming... I was sitting on the edge of the bed and thats pretty much where I stayed... All the pain was in my back and I was asked if I wanted pain relief, I said I think so, but they had to do an internal... I laid on my back but contractions kept coming, so no internal, and it was so painful on my back I got up again... Not sure what time it was but with each contraction was I starting to push, the midwife buzzed for another midwife to come in... By this time I was standing up (on tip toes) leaning on DH...
I kept saying "I can't do this, I can't... My back is sore"... The second midwife came just as I was trying to push out baby's head... My waters broken and after a couple of pushes and still no head, they gave me a small episiotomy... One more push and her head was out... The relief was amazing... the cord was around her neck and they were trying to loosen the cord and telling me not to push but I couldn't stop... I birthed my little angel, standing up, leaning on DH...
I turned around and looked at my baby and she was blue in the face and not crying... They took her and spent a minute or so getting her to breath, I was so scared... Her cry was the best sound in the world...
She was given to DH for the first cuddle while they got me down on the bed and ready to birth the placenta.. DH then handed my little girl and I birthed the placenta... Within an hour of her birth, she was feeding and we had skin to skin cuddles...
She is a wonderful baby... Sleeps lots and is just so placid... She is feeding beautifully, just not for long periods while is a little painful for me... DS loves his little sister and wanted to hold and kiss her all the time...
Kate, see your GP! Did you tear to the anus?? I'm still scared to wipe "properly" and I only had one stitch...
If you're not quite right about your GP looking there (if male) I can tell you where a good female Dr is, but you will need someone to take you there...
While I love my GP, he is male and neither DF or I am comfortable with him looking at my *ahem* so I'm going to this female Dr for my 6 week check and pap smear (I don't like the female that is at my GP's practice!).
Which GP do you go to? Quakers Court, Marayong or Quakers?? Or another all together?
But if you weren't bleeding there before and are now, I'd get it checked out, maybe even ring your health nurse (the Marayong nurse - near the station is open 9-12 in the morning - Tuesdays only).
I'm still on bright red bleeding but am not worried about it, mine's been bright red for nearly 3 weeks now...
You made me remember I have to make sure Sarah is still at Rouse Hill or I won't be getting my Pap done there in 3 weeks!!
I've decided not to call it quits on breastfeeding just yet, I had a really bad night last night... Becca ended up letting me have 10pm til 5am to myself so that was much needed and very refreshing!! Though I think I may not have had such a hard time if I'd offered her the dummy instead of my boob - but I didn't think of that last night did I??
Almost 3 weeks down, only 3 to go!! I WILL get to the 6 week mark exclusively breastfeeding, I refuse to give in!!
It also helps when we don't have the right equipment to give her a bottle yet (DF suggested just giving her a bottle but I made him understand that she'd choke with one of DD1's teats as they are fast flow)... I want to put her on a different brand bottle to DD1 as well coz the Avent numbers on the teats would be too hard for DF to read and it'll be a pain checking all the time...
We may be moving out of Sydney too... Figure the Landlord isn't looking after us like we should be - especially being 2 months in advance with the rent - but to get a place for a price we can afford with what we need, we have to downgrade the area and I don't really want to do that - it took a LOT to get DF to move to The Hills and further away from his Mummy...
Bo0tifuL
09-01-2008, 10:26
Widgie- i kinda tore to the anus, its that stretchy bit between where i done most the damage. It seems to have stopped bleeding, but im going to go to the doctor coz itll probably happen again after the next poo!!
I have a female doctor ive been going to since i was about 6 years old so im quite comfy fo rher to do "that" lol. Shes in lalor park near my mum so ill just go there, thanks anyways.
Today i feel so drained, i think everything is catching up to me!!!!
Haydens belly button came off 2 days ago right was fine, but this morning it was bleeding...is that normal? ive been cleaning it with detol, aparently i have to get the actual stuff for it though? its not pouring out but it is bleeding.
DS1 has been the biggest pain in the ***...i feel like im going to go insane...I hate yelling at him ihate him getting into trouble, but he is just so ignorant and doesnt give 2 hoots what i say. i feel so slack atm coz hayden is a BIg attention seeker and always in my arms, but im trying tobe fair and playing heaps with DS1 but he...hes really mean to me. im going to start a good behaviour chart tomorrow and make sure he understands. i have to put my foot down as he is getting away with too much. But then i feel like im being mean to him coz i only putting my foot down since the baby is born? im just so tired and confussed, i just want him to be a bit more quiet and no more back chat~~~!!:sleeping:
Where abouts is your female Dr? If you don't mind me asking, what nationality is she? I don't like my female Dr, but she is good, just too hard to get to, knowing my luck, DF will be working the whole week that I need to be checked out...
Is it dried blood or fresh blood?? Becca's is still getting dried blood but Annabelle's did the same thing so I'm not worried about that. I was told to clean with a cotton bud and water (maybe salty water)...
I don't know how to deal with J... Annabelle is doing her usual stuff but I just make sure she is "gentle" with Becca...
It's getting everyone else not to tell her off for things she's always gotten away with that is my problem... If going through my bag never got her in trouble before, why would it now??
I'm going to go for a hilly walk with the girls - my first encounter in the double pram on my own and of course this area doesn't have footpaths!! I got really peeved off at the company we "rent" our plasma through... Back in August when the rental term had actually ended I rang them to find out why they'd sent me a bill... Because there was still $1500 owing on the items for us to "own" them... Was told that the rental would continue until the items had been paid off then they'd be ours... That would have been this month, so I rang this morning when I got the bill and asked how much was owing... $1500... I can't f#%^$ing do this!! I argued that I was told previously that we were actually paying it off until it was ours and she reckons I spoke to her that day and she never said a thing about it... She found the word "screw" offensive when I mentioned that I told the company to screw themselves last time and got all huffy with me and wouldn't explain anything except that we will pay rent until such time as we are $1500 in advance with the payments and tell them to pay them off for us... I'm not in a good way and I'm out of smokes... So we're going for a walk!!
Contemplating just taking the items with us if/when we move out of Sydney and not notifying them of new address... but then that'll muck around with my credit rating, won't it?? I haven't been paying $310 a month for 4 years to still owe $1500 on it!!
Chelle123
09-01-2008, 11:15
DS1 has been the biggest pain in the ***...i feel like im going to go insane...
Kate - it must be the age. Tyler has been wonderful but Noah (3.75yrs) gets his jealousy up and tries to kiss me while climbing over the baby. It's getting very frustrating and I do feel like I'm neglecting him because I physically have to move him away from the baby. The main problem I have with him is that he doesn't listen, so I think we'll have to start up the 'Saturday Box' again. It worked a treat last time and involves taking away his favourite toy until Saturday. You only need to do it a couple of times and then the threat of the 'Saturday Box' is enough for the behaviour to change.
Bo0tifuL
09-01-2008, 12:47
The female doctor is on the corner of sackville and stephen street. Just off sunnyholt road. Shes chinese but shes a funny one!
Its fresh blood in the morning then by night its dried up. Mum said its probably because hes moving around and knocking off the scab. Im just scared itll get infected!!!
Everyone is treating Jake the opposite of you, they are letting him get away with TOO much now. DPs step mum and step sister came and took him shopping the other day and he got spoilt, so when he came home boy did he have attitude. It doesnt bother me, but im the one who has to put up with it!
It feels like im the one doing everything atm, DP has changed Hayden 2 times and hasnt even fed him yet. I have to do everything. he only went back to work on Tuesday so its not like hes been slaving away at work forever! Saturday he is going out for a few hours... Doesnt bother me as i like the space, but what about me? Is that selfish? When Jake was born it started out ok, then he just stopped everything. I was left to the lot! i thought being older and more mature now hed understand... Obviously not! I hate that i have to ask, Jarad can you please make Hayden a bottle for me. If you know hes due for a bottle and hes crying why not just say he need a feed? or want me to make a bottle? I swear i could sit here sometimes and let hims cream and DP wouldnt budge. I know ican make a bottle myself, but sometimes hes due for a bottle just as i sit down from cooking dinner or cleaning and i just dont have that extra energy to get up again! Oh im sorry for the Vent but my god im just so tired and exhausted! I think im going to get a pack of cruisers or something tonight.Makes me want to start smoking again!!!!!!
Chelle- i likes the idea of your Saturday Box. I might use that instead of my chart. Im sure this box would like some thomas trainsi n it!!!
Chelle123
09-01-2008, 13:46
:hugs: Kate. Men just don't think sometimes. I can't complain though, my DH has been doing everything, except the b/f obviously. The big changes will come next week when he goes back to work - really dreading that.
Chelle- i likes the idea of your Saturday Box. I might use that instead of my chart. Im sure this box would like some thomas trainsi n it!!!
LOL Kate - the first time we did the Sat box, Noah hardly had any trains left by the end of the week. Make sure you explain the box to him first, even let him help decorate it then always give a warning first eg "if you don't stop throwing things, Thomas is going in the Sat Box". If the behaviour continues, take the toy straight away. After a while, when the reality hits that he's got no toys, the warning should be enough.
Oh Kate, I know how you feel!! DF was really good when Annabelle was born, he took night shift and let me sleep and I didn't have to clean, I did the washing but he hung it out for me - and he went back to work the day after she was born! He did feeds - actually I rarely did a feed, there was usually someone else there I could hand the bottle to and say "did you want to feed her?" It really did take me a LONG time to bond with her, I was happy to have someone else feed her!
This time, he's changed one bum - he refused in hospital but he had Annabelle at home to take care of and his brother was down so that's ok, I managed to get of the tar poos still in the bubble so they weren't sticky as, but the other 2 were... He changed that ONE bum because I was doing something with Annabelle... I know he can't help me with the feeds, but I had to remind him the other night when I was at a blues low and not thinking of the dummy instead of my nipples that Annabelle used to cry for no goddamn reason!! Why wouldn't Becca be the same?? I thought I'd come into this more relaxed but I don't feel as though I have...
Anyways, I think I forgot what I was going to say, got distracted by DF...
Going to show him the houses I found in Nambucca Heads and make him ring about the job WE found...
Crazy Monkey
09-01-2008, 20:03
Chelle, you're Sat Box sounds like a great idea... I will have to keep it in mind for Jack... What age did you start it with the boys??
I have to admit, DH has been pretty good with helping out... He's been busy doing stuff in the backyard - he's put up a new pergola, carport and gate, but hasn't complained at all when I have asked for stuff... Hopefully it continues :p
We're all going pretty well here... Lucy was up for a lot longer today and got a little unsettled, but she's nothing like Jack was... the difference between the 2 of them is unbelievable, still knocks me for six when I think about it...
Chelle123
09-01-2008, 20:59
Chelle, you're Sat Box sounds like a great idea... I will have to keep it in mind for Jack... What age did you start it with the boys??
About 3.5. I guess as long as they're old enough to understand, it would be okay.
Crazy Monkey
09-01-2008, 21:14
About 3.5. I guess as long as they're old enough to understand, it would be okay.
Yeah I think Jack's still a little young to get the whole concept...
Strawberry_Shortcake
10-01-2008, 16:18
:thumbsup:Ladies,
Not much to report here. Tarni is feeding and sleeping well. I've finally found the time to upload some pics of my beautiful little girl.
Pics taken at 2 weeks old
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/Tarni%20Olivia/princess%20Tarni%20Olivia/IMG_1334.jpg
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/Tarni%20Olivia/princess%20Tarni%20Olivia/IMG_1354.jpg
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/Tarni%20Olivia/princess%20Tarni%20Olivia/tarniedit1.jpg
DS is yelling out mum better go and check what he wants. He should be sleeping.
Talk later
Kel
The female doctor is on the corner of sackville and stephen street. Just off sunnyholt road. Shes chinese but shes a funny one!
Its fresh blood in the morning then by night its dried up. Mum said its probably because hes moving around and knocking off the scab. Im just scared itll get infected!!!
The one behind McGills?? If she's good I'll give her a go... It's only for the pap and make sure my stitch has dissolved and I'm looking all pretty (lol) down there again!!
Is his nappy irritating it maybe?? for the first few weeks I always fold the top half of the sticky bit down so it's nowhere near the belly button...
Kel, She's gorgeous!! I love how they prefer to sleep all scrunched up! Becca's been sleeping in the swing (no batteries for it, so it's not swinging yet) and she'll sleep for hours on end int he capsule, but if I lay her flat, I get 2 hours MAX before she wakes up and needs to be repositioned!!
Bo0tifuL
11-01-2008, 07:50
Yeah thats the one im talking about :)
I dont know if i was supposed to but i put a bandaid on his belly button. I just got worried coz its forever being knocked off and re bleeding. I will do the folding down the nappy thing too sounds like a good idea!
What swing do you have? We got the open top take along swing from Kmart. It plays 5 sounds and has 5 speeds, He absolutley loves it.
I weighed myself yesterday im 75 Kgs . So i have 25Kgs to lose before im back to normal!!!How the hell am i going to do that lol. My boobs are finally starting to go soft THANK GOD! I seriously was giving Pamela Anderson a run for her money!
Hayden is sleeping so much better! He has a last feed around 10 and wakes around 3 then sleeps till 7! I still dont get much sleep, still waking up at every noise and niggle he makes!
I went shopping yesterday and bought a new hand bag and wallet. I got Hayden 4 outfits from Big W i got 4 of them and they were only $4 each! Tomorrow im going to get my hair done, Im going a nice brown with streaks and just a touch of a hair cut as my hair has finally decided to grow and i dont want to lose any length! DP is going out on Saturday night, now he is drinking too... And hes going to the Fiddler ( you know where that is widgie?) I dont mind and i do trust him dont get me wrong but the Fiddler is for...young single people in my opinion. Its coz the guys bday and he is turning 19. Id prefer him go to a pub or something but hey whos going to listen to me?!
Anyways today i dont know what im going to do.. i wish i could go get my hair done now but i think its too much to ask mum and dad to watch both of them for a few hours... ill see how it goes!
I hope everyone is well and all bubs too! I will post some new pics of Hayden in a second just got to upload them first.
Love you all :)
Bo0tifuL
11-01-2008, 08:10
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/HaydenAndrew2.jpg
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/Haydenandrew1.jpg
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/Haydenandrew.jpg
I cant believe he is over 1 week old already :(
Its just flies by hey!
Chelle123
11-01-2008, 08:48
I weighed myself yesterday im 75 Kgs . So i have 25Kgs to lose before im back to normal!!!How the hell am i going to do that lol.
Kate - My weight this morning is 82.7 so I need to lose 20-22kg to get back in my sz 8's. After each birth I've asked myself the same thing but somehow I've managed to get back there.
I'll start a weight loss journal for all the Jan mums during next week (too hard while DH is home) where we can report out weight and measurements each week/month and what we are doing to lose the weight.
I'll post this in the other thread too and see if anyone has any ideas on what they'd like included.
Bo0tifuL
11-01-2008, 08:54
When DS1 was born he got sick so i lost all my weight from stress in like a month! Its funny coz i wont look in the mirror for a few hours and be like hmm im not that big, then i look and im like oh wait yes i am lol! I just cant wait to go buy a new pair of size 8 jeans again! xmas 2007 i bought a size 6 pair too, i dont want to be that little but my god thats small lol. Its amazing how much pregnancy actually changes your body but because its pregressive you ...you notice but not that badly. Id hate it if you fell pregnant then that day you go PLONK and 25 Kgs goes on straight away! EEEP!
Your weight loss thing sounds good. Im not starting much yet as my stitches are still tender and im scared they'll split lol. But shopping is good for exercise i hear :P
Chelle123
11-01-2008, 10:03
xmas 2007 i bought a size 6 pair too, i dont want to be that little but my god thats small lol.
My smallest has been size 7 jeans and that was 8 months after Noah was born. By the time I got pg with Aubs I was in sz 10 but that was mainly from stress/depression of my m/c 6 months earlier then taking ages ttc.
Yes, Kate, the Fiddler is around the corner... I hate the place!! But maybe that's because I'm not a clubber??
Our swing is pretty old... We got it off friends that live around the corner from you! It's a bit dodgey now and creaks when it's on... It doesn't do music, just the swinging... I doubt DF will let me get a new one as we already have one... :rolleyes:
Hmmm weight... My ideal weight is 56kgs I'm 80 something so have close to 30kgs to lose... I didn't do anything after Annabelle and stayed around the 80kg mark (which is what I was when I fell preggers with her) seems to get any smaller I have to actually work at it LOL Have a 2 hour walk (I reckon it'll be longer coz that double pram is a b!tch to push up these hills!) with Mum on Monday to deliver some pamphlets... If I can get back to 7 hours a week I'll be doing well and if my metabolism hasn't changed I don't have to change my diet... DF said if pushing the pram is a bit much for me, he'll take Annabelle for a jog in the shuttle and he'll get the bike going so I can ride along side him...
Becca did well with her sleeping yesterday/last night... she fed at about 11am, then we went out and she didn't wake for a feed til 5pm!! Ate at 5, 6 and 9:30pm and then didn't wake again until 4:30am, then 8:30am and is still down now!!
In the last 2 days I have got 2 new handbags (DF's doing) and 4 new maternity bra's and 6 pairs of new undies (MIL's doing)...
MIL wants to watch the girls so we can go to the movies... time the feed so we can go... Uhh, she's not on a routine yet and I don't particularly want to go to a movie!! Though the way Annabelle's been behaving the break might be nice... But I don't know if ready to leave Becca with someone else... I love the fact that she has to be around me in case she needs a feed but I hate it as well LOL
DF suggested expressing some milk for her but thankfully we don't have any bottles or teats for her! I would like to exclusively breastfeed for the next 3 weeks which basically, she goes where I go, no questions asked!! If DF wants to watch a movie we go to a kiddie session at Chatswood... (not sure if there's one closer).
Besides... I have to FORCE DF to go shopping for groceries today as Annabelle hasn't had any food for 2 days (he said it'd never happen but he can't get off his lazy ar$e and go to the shops!!) and have cr@ploads of washing to do as well and by the sounds of it, Becca and Annabelle aren't going to let me have 5 mins to myself!! Though 3 hours is enough time for my nipples to settle down, have a break and feed her again... She shouldn't be hungry though, my boobs were extra full and she drained them completely!!
Kate, I need motivation for the weightloss side of things - no one will ever be able to change my diet I just DON'T eat rabbit food... So I need someone to make me exercise!!
My smallest size was an 8 - 7years ago... DF made sure I never saw that again!! Though he said he's okay with me going to a 10, but not an 8, reckons it's a bag of bone - I've never been a bag of bones!!
Bo0tifuL
11-01-2008, 11:26
Im not much of a clubber myself, i did do the occasional with an EX friend to BLOC at penrith, but its just not me. Id rather sit at home and play with the kids or spend time with DP! I just hate him going to places like that with out me. sigh sigh lol
Well i wouldnt have bought the swing except we had nothing to put him in for when he is in the lounge room. It cost me bloody $130 !!! But its cute and foldable so its was kinda worth it. He likes it so i cant complain.
My smallest i have been was 47Kgs that was before i fell pregnant with Jake i had an eating problem ,well i lacked the whole eating part lol. I want to be 52kgs, that would make me happy, but im not for the whole losing the weight i just want the flab gone and tone up before jarads dad and step mums wedding in October. I wana wear a nice pretty dress with no flabby belly arms or legs! PLEASE GOD HELP ME! lol
I rekon if i walked up and down the hill down the road from me i would be thin in a week lmao! Its like walking up a roller coaster hill! STRAIGHT up! Its horrible!
It just took me 45 minutes to settle Hayden down :( He had a bottle then iput him down so i could sterilise the other bottles and he cried so i gave him his dummy and he dozed back off, walked 2 steps in the kitchen WAHHHH so i picked him up threw him over my shoulder and patted his back he fell asleep after about 10 mins of doing this, soi quietly put him back down ...nope didnt work either...so we sat there sweating and snuggling together for ages!
now hes in my arms again due to his brother deciding it was a good idea to jump like a frog right next to where Hayden was sleeping...
Im so exhausted now, i could sleep badly but i doubt thatll happen...
I dont eat rabbit food either unless it involves lettuce on a burger :D
Ive actually lost my appetite...i eat a muesli bar for brekky, sandwich for lunch and maybe a bicky or something in the arvo then dinner... bout it really! but motivationv is something im good at and in return ill need some too :)
I bravely weighed myself yesterday while doing the groceries - I was 66kg when I had Ripley and if the scales I used were correct Im 59kgs now :eek: I almost fell off them in shock lol So I think I can realise my dream of being less than 55kgs again one day. Im not going to be too concerned with losing weight until we get past the 6wk mark, when hopefully breastfeeding will still be going strong and I will have enough energy to exercise.
I cant recommend Weight Watchers enough though, its how I lost most of my baby weight with my first son without feeling like I was starving myself. I got to within 2kg of my pre preg weight and then fell preg again. Im pretty sure theyre breastfeeding friendly too!
I have a very cranky toddler AND a very unsettled baby today so Im tired and annoyed. I should be cleaning but the most Ive done is a load of washing and put the dishwasher on.
Hmmm bub is quiet so hopefully that means :sleeping: but Jett is awake now so I cant even nap :hissy:
I feel ya Anna... 2 months difference but the toddlers can be demanding moreso now than before!! Annabelle is always under my feet now whether I have Becca in my arms or not... And I'm not a maternal person, I've never been cuddly and she's just frustrating me as I made sure she didn't get any extra attention from me before Becca arrived so that I didn't have to deal with this attention seeking crud!!
By the way... My news for now... Click Click (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2253847#post2253847)
:D:D:D:D:D:D
Bo0tifuL
11-01-2008, 13:46
Im a VERY affectionate person, im always cuddling the boys and if i dont i feel empty :( Im a huge sook but! When i met Jarad he didnt relise how affectionate someone could be! You could say im dependant on affection though!
I know what you mean V, Jetts become more affectionate since Rips was born and he wasnt really a cuddly kid to start with. Now I get random leg hugs which is cute but when Im hurrying to baby or in the middle of something it can be annoying. Not to mention the sudden tantrums when he gets into trouble or doesnt get his own way.
Bub calling (and big brother poking bub), be back later.
Crazy Monkey
11-01-2008, 14:03
I had the Health Nurse out here yesterday and Lucy has put on 210 grams in 4 days... I'm very proud of my little girl, cause she doesn't feed for long periods...
I didn't get my nanna nap today... Jack only slept for 1.5 hours, by the time I was ready to lay down he was up... and then Lucy was due for a feed...
Now she's crying so I better go
Scuse the bags under the eyes... (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=02-01-08_1923.jpg)
Hanging on (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=DSC00548.jpg)
close up (http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/MummaV/New%20Bubba/?action=view¤t=DSC00550.jpg)
Crazy Monkey
11-01-2008, 22:48
V, is Becca wearing a pumpkin patch jumpsuit in the first photo?? Looks the same as the one lucy has...
Great photos...
Crazy Monkey
11-01-2008, 23:01
Thought it was time I posted some pics...
Before... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0100.jpg)
After... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/PC310001.jpg)
Mum & Lucy... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/PC310009.jpg)
Dad and his kiddies... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0107.jpg)
Mum and her kiddies (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0101.jpg)
Lucy... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0194.jpg)
No more please mum... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0225.jpg)
Let me think... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0217.jpg)
Mum's Princess... (http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l248/macinet/DSC_0230_2.jpg)
V, is Becca wearing a pumpkin patch jumpsuit in the first photo?? Looks the same as the one lucy has...
Great photos...
She sure is! Seems opposite colours to Lucy's posing picture!!
She's gorgeous and I love Jack's hair!! :D
Crazy Monkey
12-01-2008, 11:25
She sure is! Seems opposite colours to Lucy's posing picture!!
She's gorgeous and I love Jack's hair!! :D
I thought she had a yellow one as well as the pink but its yellow, white & pink striped...
Bo0tifuL
13-01-2008, 10:20
Hello my lovelys! How are we all? Im doing FANTASTIC! i got my hair done yesterday so i feel a bit better about myself. Hayden is sleeping HEAPS good, 1030pm-3am then 3 till 7am!!! Ahh its good to get a bit of a rest! Well i better go got things to do today :) love you all!
Crazy Monkey
13-01-2008, 11:56
Afternoon everyone...
All going well here.. Lucy was a bit unsettled again last night between 9pm and 11pm... Think this is going to be the time where I have the most problems with her... She had a belly ache and was feeding every hour... At least its when Jacks in bed and I don't have to tend to both of them...
My nanna bought her the most gorgeous cot set the other day... I will have to post some pictures of it... her room is starting to really look like a girls room now...
Hope everyone is doing well and bubbas are being super good...
Chelle123
13-01-2008, 19:14
Here's a pic taken of our princess today (2wks old today) (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/AubsLow.jpg)
Crazy Monkey
13-01-2008, 20:12
Here's a pic taken of our princess today (2wks old today) (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/AubsLow.jpg)
Great pic Chelle, she is gorgeous
hi all,
they are all wonderful pictures. Ethan is now two weeks old and he is so tiny in comparison. He lost 50g last week so i am taking him off to doctors again this afternoon to see if he has gained any weight back yet. Have also got to get doctor to look at my scar as it is starting to weep. Hopefully it is not infected.
Weight wise is all good. i am back to 75kg so have 15kg to lose before i am back to my old weight 7 years ago.
had better run and check on my boys.
Bo0tifuL
14-01-2008, 09:16
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=82060&page=26
Heres my birth pics! Be warned theres GOO!lol
Chelle123
14-01-2008, 10:30
Here's the link to our WEIGHTLOSS THREAD (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=147699). Feel free to join when you're ready - I'm ready now!!!
Hello Ladies!
I thought i'd get my butt into gear and get into the Birth Group thread. We'll start with Stats:
Name: Liam H
Due Date: 01/01/08
Birth Date: 04/01/08
Time: 2.24pm
Length: 58cms
Weight: 9lb4oz (4190grams)
Head Circ: 35cms
Birth Type: (very fast) Vaginal Delivery
Birth Details: Contractions started at 7pm Thursday night following a S&S by OB that day. Weren't painful, i thought they were BH but they felt different to the BH i had throughout pregnancy. 3 contractions woke me up during the night, the third one at 5.30 got me up to get a heat pack. I then started timing them and they were 10 mins apart. Got up at 6am and by 8am they were coming every 5 mins. Took DH his work clothes (he started at 5am and went down casual) and asked him how much notice he needed to leave. He said "Not Long, Why?" "I'm having contractions 5 mins apart" "Oh, ok, well, let me know."
I then went to mums place and she was in the shower. Stuck my head in the door and told her contractions were 5 mins apart. She hurried herself out but i told her not to worry, they didn't hurt yet. Then Joe's mum called and asked about DS1 (he'd been throwing up Thursday) and i said he was fine. She asked about me and i told her about the contractions. She asked me if it was the real thing or was i faking it, and i said i was probably faking it. I had a sleep on the lounge at mums from 9 to 10 and when i woke up the contractions had slowed right down I had 3 between 10 and 11. They then started to come 15 mins apart. Mums friend got there because they were going to a funeral and mum told her. She was shocked i was so calm. She was even more shocked i was about to drive to MIL's place while in labour. Drove to MIL's place and contractions started to get more painful, i had to get up and walk around through them. Still thought i was faking it. Then DS1 asked me to help him fix his train track, i bent over and my waters broke! (that was 1.30pm) Once they broke, i sms'ed DH, called the Hospital and MIL drove me up there. I had 2 contractions in the car. She dropped me off (1.47pm), then went to get DH. The midwife was getting things organised and asked me to get up on the bed for an internal. I obliged and she then said "Oh dear" (not what you want to hear from someone with they're fingers up your *ahem*) She said i was 8cm, and started to run around quite fast and said "Don't push!" DH arrived at 2.05pm and was there for about 5 minutes before i got the urge to push. My lovely Midwife who had been seeing me in the Ante Natal Clinic came in and i was surprised because i didn't think she'd be there! According to my hospital notes, it was a 9 minute pushing Stage. No Stitches required, just a small graze.
After cuddles and an attempt at feeding he was weighed and measured. Measured 3 times to be sure of his length!
Can I just say...
OMFG!!! Becca finally did a poo after 5 days... It was freaking EVERYWHERE!!!! So the bouncer cover that I washed and finally set up this morning needs to be washed again... *sigh*
Its in the next load to be soaked... clothes were first...
:barf: the things we do for our children...
Sometimes I'm grateful Annabelle was always constipated...
Speaking of poo.... I got hit today!
Was changing Liam on the floor, was wetting the cotton wool when he let rip! It flew a good 30cms to hit me, got the bottom of my shirt, a bit on the bottom of my pants and quite a bit on the floor! Projectile Poo! Yuck! I was laughing so hard though because he was asleep! He can poo like that in his sleep!
He has no issues with pooing, we get about 6 pooey nappies a day and 2 at night (also while he is asleep!)
Bo0tifuL
16-01-2008, 11:21
Went and had Haydens 1 week (bit late i know ) Check up yesterday. He is now 4.05Kgs and his head has grown 1 cm. The doctor didnt have the length measurer so i didnt get his length, but hes putting on alot of weight so im very happy!
Kate, Wendy... Do Hayden and Liam have a middle name??
Thats great Kate!! We should meet soon and show off the bubbas!! :D :yes:
Crazy Monkey
16-01-2008, 12:30
Yesterday when I took Lucy to the Health Nurse, she measured her length and she's 48.5cm... the hospital buggered up her length cause at birth they said she was 52cm...
Don't take it as gospel Silla!! SCN said that both of my girls were shorter at discharge (a week) than what they were at birth... Apparently Bec lost 6cms!!
AND OMFG - Becca's 4 weeks old today... :eek:
well done to Becca - 4 weeks already time goes so fast.
Ethan has been so unsettled since i started on my new antibotics, hoping he sleeps soon. Off to doctors tomorrow to see how the infection is going and what the blood tests say, so i might mention it then.
Hey V - nope, no middle name for Liam. DS1 doesn't have one either.
Liam measured shorter at the 1 week old check as well! She got 55cms (he measured 58 at birth) He had gained a 220grams from discharge, up to 4120grams.
Hey V, have you got the detail to update the Arrivals list yet?
Time to go. Thunderstorm on the way and need to turn off the computer!
Bye!
Hey V, have you got the detail to update the Arrivals list yet?
Yeah, of course, Liam and Hayden are the only I didn't have middle names for, thats why I asked! I know there's gotta be more bubbas soon!!
I will update it once Annabelle gives me 3 mins to myself!!
Bo0tifuL
16-01-2008, 15:46
Haydens middle name is Andrew. Ive got energy now so i can meet up!!!
I went and did the medicare **** yesterday right. My baby bonus is going in tomorrow and my 1st pay will be in on Friday! how quick is that!!!
That's quick Kate! Did they give you a new medicare number??
We have to see the paed that was in charge when Becca was in SCN tomorrow and when I rang Medicare today they didn't have her down, so hopefully tomorrow they will ring me with the new number so I don't have to find $120!!
Have decided that we'll get the car serviced and not touch any more of the bonus to ensure we have enough to cover moving costs - then I can plan for the bond back on this place which will give me an extra $500!!
Bo0tifuL
17-01-2008, 09:17
Yeah also got the medicare number!! That is the most luck ive ever had with something like that!
Hey V, I don't know about the Due In Arrivals thread, but the one in here doesn't have NSWMUM on it. She had Justin on the 10th. Will go find the other details now...
little Justin Robert born at 2.30pm on the dot, weighing 6lb9oz, he has massive feet and is cute as a button. Leisha is doin fine in recovery and says hello. More details as they come later.
That was on 10/01/08.
Thanks Sweet, I asked her for the details in the Due in thread coz I didn't have them - how could I have missed her?? Did I miss anyone else?? I will add her to my list...
feline11
17-01-2008, 16:16
Thought i would share my birth story with you.
My due date was 12th Jan. On Sunday 6th in the early hours i had major abdo pain, got up and realised i hadnt felt bub move in ages. did the ice water, jiggle tummy stuff to no avail so hospital said come in to be monitored - was there for an hour and all was ok (phew). got home about 6.30am and from then on had contractions about every 15 mins all Sunday (didnt time ALL day otherwise would have gone mad). That night i layed on the couch with the contraction master on my laptop, contractions got stronger. Had my TENS machine on which helped with the back pain. Eventually got down to every 10 mins and then around midnightish we went down to 8 mins. I was exhausted so said i would give myself till 2am and then ring the hospital to go in - at 1am i reached 5 mins so woke DF and we went in. got there and they were pretty intense and every 3 mins.
They suggested i have Pethidine as i was exhausted and hadnt slept since the Sat night - it worked a treat and i got 2 hours sleep. contractions were then every 2-3 mins and very strong, i tried the bath which was ok but didnt do much, i just knelt with DF infront of me (outside the bath) mopping my brow. I tried Entonox but didnt like it. By this time i felt like i needed to push. got back on the bed and i was only 5cm dilated. This was hard work and i didnt think i could go much longer without pushing. So i had an epidural - RELIEF - i could smile again. about 2 hours later i felt like i wanted to poo and yep i was fully dilated so started to push. After 1 1/2 hours of pushing like crazy and not getting anywhere the midwife went to get the doc to see what they could do to help but then the bubs heart beat skyrocketed to over 180 so it was all battle stations with 2 midwives, 1 doctor and the paediatrician called. They said they had to get bub out NOW by vacuum - wow it hurt. First they had to turn bub as he had his back to my back and then when they tried to pull him out they saw the problem - he had his cord around his neck TWICE so each push i was giving before was a waste of time as he kept getting sucked back up into me and also strangled. With much screaming (mine) they birthed his head and then with much pleading for them to hurry they birthed him. All i saw was a bloody back of a baby and he was whisked to the paediatrician. I just watched as the doc birthed my placenta and sewed me up - i had a 2nd degree tear. My baby hadnt cried and all i could see was the paediatricain bagging him - i asked if all was ok as all i thought was, was my baby alive - all was ok but they were treating him as if he had swallowed meuconium as he had pooed inside me cos of being so stressed. He then got whisked away to the nursery. All i knew was i had a son, Oliver.
DF watched the lot and once knew i was ok went to see his son. After awhile i was allowed a shower and got wheeled to see my son - he looked so small (6lbs.1oz) on a drip with an oxygen tent over his head. he was gorgeous with a bit of a mishapen head - he was so quiet.
We were told that he had been in respiratory distress, he had a small amount of air around 1 lung pneumothorax), maybe had swallowed some meuconium so he was to stay on oxygen at 40%, intravenous antibiotics for 48 hours and a drip so i couldnt feed him.
Tuesday he was still on a drip but doing well. His head was looking normal. was allowed a few minutes cuddle in the morning and evening as long as we held the oxygen mask to his face. i started to express but he wasnt allowed it yet tho they did end up giving him a few mls over night as he was starving and wouldnt settle
Wednesday they started weaning him off the oxygen and by the afternoon i was allowed to feed him. That night i was called when he wanted to be fed - heaven
Thursday - they brought him down to me at 6am so i could feed him in my room - wow
Then they discharged him from the nursery so he was all ours in my room
Friday - home
All is good now - he is perfectly healthy and just has to have a check up when he is 6 weeks old.
It's scary isn't it Sue!! When Becca was on the oxygen I wasn't allowed to cuddle her until she got back to 21% oxygen (our breathable air) and then she had to be good at that level for 24 hours before they would discharge her... She got up to 37% oxygen... Posterior labour... what fun, I remember bits of mine... Most of it was forgotten about with morpheine and an epidural :laughing:
I have to say, as much as I can handle back pain more than tummy pain, I'd rather not have another posterior baby...
So glad everything is okay now and that you are home and settling in!!
Don't forget that you have to have a 6 week check up too!!
Chelle123
17-01-2008, 17:26
Wow Sue - you've got me in tears. I'm glad all is okay now. I hope you are recovering well too.
feline11
17-01-2008, 18:47
Wow Sue - you've got me in tears. I'm glad all is okay now. I hope you are recovering well too.
Thanks Chelle - yep we are all really well thank you
Yeah V was scary - but all is good now - yep i am seeing mt GP at 6 weeks too
Crazy Monkey
17-01-2008, 20:12
What a story Sue... Glad everything worked out for the best... Your labour sounds a lot like mine with Jack, although I had forceps and he didn't have to got o special care... Lucy didn't cry for 2 minutes and it was the scariest time...
Strawberry_Shortcake
17-01-2008, 20:56
Wow Sue, Sounds scary, glad everything is ok. Thanks for sharing your birth story with us.
Tarni has finally got herself into a routine. She feeds every 4 hours during the day. Last night her last feed was at 10.30 and she didn’t wake up till 4.30 for her next feed, then went back to sleep and didn’t wake till 8ish. So I’m pretty happy with that.
Crazy Monkey
17-01-2008, 21:11
Wow Sue, Sounds scary, glad everything is ok. Thanks for sharing your birth story with us.
Tarni has finally got herself into a routine. She feeds every 4 hours during the day. Last night her last feed was at 10.30 and she didn’t wake up till 4.30 for her next feed, then went back to sleep and didn’t wake till 8ish. So I’m pretty happy with that.
Thats fantastic...
Bo0tifuL
21-01-2008, 09:14
Zzzz hi everyone...i think i need to let out alot lol here i go.
ok..Hayden just wont settle anymore. Im so tired and exhausted. He has his last drink at around 10-11pm and will sleep for around an hour then from then on he is so restless, I give him his dummy and he will dose back off to sleep but when his dummy falls out he will wake up again... He screams so i burp him change him etc and i feel like theres nothing left i can do!? But when i put him into bed with me in my arms he will be good. Does he scream to be with me? Ive only put him in bed with us 2 times since he was born so it havent done it alot. But even during the day he wont settle unless he is in someones arms. Im not used to this, Jake was and still is an awesome sleeper. I just feel like im about to explode !
My bleeding has stopped, but my stitches still feel sore. I went to the doctors the other week and told her about the bleeding and she didnt even look? So i had a look for myself TMI i know but i was so worried about them splitting. I swear shes made me a virgin again with the way she has sewn me up lol. They are still a bit swollen. Would the stitches be dissolved yet? I thought they went in a few days? Well last time they did! Its weird you know, With Jake i had 42 stitches and they gave me no trouble, This time i have like 10 and they are so frustrating me!
I got so upset on friday, i was asked how far along i was... :( I said i just had my Fing baby you twit and she just looked at me and i walked away, i didnt mean to be so rude but it hurt me!
This is my new hair cut and colour etc...
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b232/BuTt3rFl1/mummyjakeaNDHAYDEN006nhui.jpg
:hugs: Oh Kate!!
Does he not sleep in the swing during the day??
Not sure if it's the same thing, Annabelle had to be rocked to sleep for the first few months. She slept in the electric swing during the day and was rocked in the cradle at night. When she went to the cot it was rock to sleep in the rocking chair or me swinging to rock her to sleep... Once we got to 3 months she's been a brilliant sleeper during the day, nights were brilliant (14hrs) from 8-9 weeks...
I had a look at my stitch yesterday (much to my disgust but Jay said I needed to) and I have a nobby bit there (the reason I was looking) seems that it's scar tissue - and a little like Annabelle's back scar - bubbly. Hoping it doesn't effect the deed when we get back to it...
Bo0tifuL
21-01-2008, 10:38
He wont stay in his swing anymore :( he will scream! he has to be snuggles to sleep EVERYTIME. He is in the pram next tome right now crying! Im rocking the pram back and fourth but its just not working. ARGHHHHHHH
I'm not sure Kate... Is he ready to go to the next scoop with his milk?? Annabelle was always a scoop ahead of what the tin said...
Bo0tifuL
21-01-2008, 12:35
I tried uppinghis milk tothe next step and he projectile vomited it everywhere, Ive tried 75 Mls and he only drank his 60 mls so im stuck!!! i might give trisellian a ring..
Kate, my ds1 was exactly the same. We co-slept and it worked for us, but i know it doesn't work for everyone. Have you called tressillian or Karitane? The hospy probably gave you their number. I know there is a "sleep school" in my area, there may be something similar near you.
:hugs: to you, its not easy.
Kate you post while i was typing (1 handed). Definately give tressillian a call.
feline11
21-01-2008, 12:50
Kate - i have rung Karitane twice and the australian breast association in a week. Oliver for 3 nights in a row from about 10pm ish was wide awake and would not sleep till 4am. he just wants to feed from me constantly and he cant so we had to put in a dummy, lie him on his side - but when you do this you have to be there ALL the time watching them as it is too dangerous (SIDS) to leave them and also try oushing is basinette hard back and forwards - it sort of worked but only whilst we were doing it - in the day he was perfect - last night (she types in a whisper incase he hears) he was great back to his proper routine. Have you been referred to the Early Childhood Services by the hospital - they were going to be my next step today if things hadnt changed - you can ring them and also go see them.
Big :hugs: to you as i know how you feel - all i was doing was crying cos i was soooo tired and snapping at DF (poor guy).
Bo0tifuL
21-01-2008, 13:13
Ok ill give the a call then get back to yous...
The ECS rang me about 1 week after he was born and said i was on the waiting list...I didnt know they had one lol. the thing that really frustrates me though is he sleeps perfect during the day??? I cant nap during the day as DS1 hates Napping and its when i can get everything done! im just so confussed and want to curl up in a ball and cry!!!!
Crazy Monkey
21-01-2008, 14:00
Ok ill give the a call then get back to yous...
The ECS rang me about 1 week after he was born and said i was on the waiting list...I didnt know they had one lol. the thing that really frustrates me though is he sleeps perfect during the day??? I cant nap during the day as DS1 hates Napping and its when i can get everything done! im just so confussed and want to curl up in a ball and cry!!!!
Sounds like he might have day and night mixed up... Have you tried keeping him up a bit longer during the day... I hope you get some help soon... :hugs:
Bo0tifuL
23-01-2008, 09:08
Ok so i didnt get around to calling them lol. But he is now good... he is drinking around 100Mls and is sleeping 4 hours at night time :S i dont get it, but hey im not complaining!
Im not wearing breast pads anymore too :) woo hoo! I still have a bit of milk but my nipple has to be squeezed for it to come out. My stitches are still sore so im going to get them checked over the weekend! Only thing that sucks is i now have a friggen cold! I think it was from DP stealing the blankets and leaving me to freeze all night lol!
DS1 got all his trains taken off him lastnight :( He was playing in his room when all of a sudden BANG as i walked in there he come bolting out like he did something. What it looked like was he sat on his plastic toy tub and the side broke, So i asked him did you sit on the box... NO I DIDNT so for 10 mins we sat there and i kept repeating did you sit on the box he screamed at me saying i dont like you etc so i grabbed them all and in the cupboard they went. 5 mins later mummy i did sit on the box.... i put him straight to bed and he said im a good boy i have my trains now?! i was like ummm NO. i was just so frustrated.....
Ok here is my birth story.
Name: Raiden Craig
Due Date: 26/01/2008
Birth Date: 15/01/2008
Time: 1:56pm
Length: 51cm
Weight: 5lbs 13.5oz/ 2660g
Head: 33cm
Birth Type: Spontaneous Vaginal
Birth Details: Ok it was around 1am on Tuesday the 15th of Jan. I was just drifting off to sleep for the night when i heard and felt a strange pop down there, so i went to the toilet and just had this constant trickle so i ring mum and ask if this is it. I try waking hubby up only to have him giggle at me in his sleep lol so i leave him be till about 2 something when i start getting period like pain and dull contractions. I turn on the light this time to wake him and tell him its time and we ring the hospy only to be told to have a shower, go back to bed and come in about 8 or 9am unless i am getting 3 contractions in 10 mins. Well im in the shower and half hour after ringing the hospy we ring back as i was getting the 3 in 10 and they were intense so we are told to come in. Its pouring rain outside and a big gush of my waters break just and i hopped out of the car in the hospy carpark so im drenched all over!. I get up to birth suit and jump in a hot shower and this helps for a while untill im screaming in pain so i try gas only it makes me feel sick and dizzy and does nothing for the pain so i try pethadine which also does NOTHING for me so i beg for and epi and ARHHH instant relief, by now i am 5 cm but the epi slows down my contractions so i am dripped with syntocin and they skyrocket, fully dialating my me in no time and its time to push dont know how long i was pushing for but it wasnt long and my son was born with the help of my hubby catching him and putting him on my chest while i was stiched up (2nd degree internal tear). In all it was a wonderful experience with hubby and i both crying with joy. In the ward bubby was having trouble feeding and wouldnt latch on so he developed jaundice and had to be in SCN it was really hard on all of us but after a week in hospy he finally improved and started feeding well on EBM and we were aloud home, :smiliedance: it was the happiest moment stepping though my front door!. Now Raiden has been putting on weight and is eating like a champ, the jaundice is clearing and we are both doing swell! :D
Cashew, the moment you step through the front door with bub for the first time is magical!! I don't what it's like if it not straight from SCN as both my girls ended up there for different reasons - as scared as I was, I was just relieved to be home with my new family - this year was more special because I didn't miss Christmas with my 18 month old - I nearly did... We had to argue our way out of SCN for Christmas eve - we left the hospital about 9pm, that's how close I was to missing it...
Good news that you had a good experience for your birth! Nothing worse than having it all go wrong unexpectedly!!
Crazy Monkey
25-01-2008, 12:46
Cashew,
Glad you had a good experience..
Its always great when you get home with a new bub...
Crazy Monkey
26-01-2008, 20:10
This thread has been pretty quiet so thought I'd post again to bring it back to everyone's attention...
All is going well here... Lucy is a great baby - we have the occasional bad day/night but nothing too major... she seems to be putting on more weight (looking chubber in the face) but I will find out how much she has put on when I go to the MCHN on Tuesday... BF is going well, she is starting to eat more, taking both breasts now instead of just the one, so I'm happy with that...
Just rambling really...:laughing:
Hope everyone is doing well and enjoying their new little bubbas...
MissSookyLaLa
26-01-2008, 22:46
argh!!!
its 1130 and nick has been up since 830...we gave him a bath then fed him, nappy change, more milk, nappy change, more milk, nappy cchangeetc etc... he isntcrying he is quite content, just not sleeping!
argh!
Sorry ladies, have been off with the fairies the last few days...
I think DF has decided to be a SAHD...
Means I have to work out how I'm gonna feed Becca when I go back to work... :(
Chelle123
27-01-2008, 01:33
V - I'm sorry this you have to make this choice. It seems like going back to work is going to be really tough on you. I hope you can find a way to be happy.
Bec - we had the same thing last night.
I just changed Aubrey's nappy before her feed & she's just done a massive, stinky poo. :hair:
MissSookyLaLa
27-01-2008, 05:04
chelle i think nick does the same thing just to tease me!
i got him to sleep at 12, he woke at 2 and i did a very speedy feed and nappy change- he was asleep again by 245...then woke at 6...
hopefully he will sleep fr another few hours when i put him down again..
v- why dont you tell df that he has to work- itsa joint decision not his decision!!!
27-01-2008, 05:56
hey, my first appearance in the mums thread..thought i'd never get here:p
i have a question for those who are breast feeding..
my milk came in yesterday, i was so sore, my shirt hurt:laughing:
but now it feels fine.... is that normal?, or am i losing my milk?
Chelle123
27-01-2008, 07:38
BJ - mine stopped hurting much qucker than with the first 2 pg. Maybe we just get progressively tougher nipples with each bub LOL. I've never lost milk though so can't comment on that.
BJ - my boobs hurt when they are full and are fine when their not... You wont always have that exploding feeling going on!!
Bec - it was agreed that he would be the SAHD and I would go back to work while I was pregnant... I don't wantt o go back on my word, so it's uo to him what happens...
Got an 8 hour sleep from Becca... 9pm to 5am rather good if I do say so myself, she spent 1/2 on her tummy in her cot and the 1/2 on her back in the bouncer next to me... if the room was set up so I could use the monitor properly I woulda just left her in the cot, but not game without the movement part set up...
Gotta go - seeing Ky and then off to Mums for her b'day lunch...
Crazy Monkey
27-01-2008, 09:42
BJ - I was much less sore this time than with Jack... Think the body just knows what to do and how to react... I'm sure you've got enough milk... Is bubs settled after a feed and putting on weight?? thats the best way to tell if you've got a good supply...
Crazy Monkey
27-01-2008, 09:43
I just changed Aubrey's nappy before her feed & she's just done a massive, stinky poo. :hair:
Lucy does this to me too... Usually 3-4 nappy changes in a row cause she's had a poo... Very frustrating, especially in the middle of the night...
Crazy Monkey
27-01-2008, 09:45
argh!!!
its 1130 and nick has been up since 830...we gave him a bath then fed him, nappy change, more milk, nappy change, more milk, nappy cchangeetc etc... he isntcrying he is quite content, just not sleeping!
argh!
Lucy does the same thing... Then after a couple of hours she starts crying... Usually lasts about 4 hours here... He could be trying to up your supply...
Crazy Monkey
27-01-2008, 09:47
Gotta go - seeing Ky and then off to Mums for her b'day lunch...
Please send Ky our love and best wishes... Hope Ruby is stable and on the improve...
justme77
27-01-2008, 09:55
hmmm I wanna be in here too.
IM convinced this boy is taking after me, stubborn sh*t. :laughing:
Crazy Monkey
27-01-2008, 10:03
You're making it too comfy in there for him... :laughing:
Seeing that neither of us want to go back to work, DF thought it'd be a great idea to do a rock off - loser goes back to work...
I WON!!!!!!!!
Chelle123
28-01-2008, 01:45
Well done V! I hope he gets off his backside and gets a decent job so you can be a SAHM.
28-01-2008, 04:59
:laughing: i bet it'll be over within a week;)
feline11
28-01-2008, 18:20
My boobs hurt like hell when my milk came in and then were fine
Oliver poos every time i have changed him - i am sure he does it on purpose. This morning he peed on my leg whilst he was lying on the bed and then when i got a clean nappy he peed again over his head trying to get his dad - i nearly peed myself laughing
Crazy Monkey
28-01-2008, 19:45
My boobs hurt like hell when my milk came in and then were fine
Oliver poos every time i have changed him - i am sure he does it on purpose. This morning he peed on my leg whilst he was lying on the bed and then when i got a clean nappy he peed again over his head trying to get his dad - i nearly peed myself laughing
:laughing::laughing: Gotta love boys and there "spouts"...:laughing::laughing:
Crazy Monkey
28-01-2008, 19:46
V, congratulations... I hope he gets a good job soon...
Chelle123
28-01-2008, 20:06
Silla - Spoke to S tonight. Sound like they might start 'trying' soon, if they haven't already. She was asking so many questions about birth, m/c, sleep routine etc.
Don't say anything though cos it might be a secret or maybe she's just curious.
Crazy Monkey
28-01-2008, 21:27
Silla - Spoke to S tonight. Sound like they might start 'trying' soon, if they haven't already. She was asking so many questions about birth, m/c, sleep routine etc.
Don't say anything though cos it might be a secret or maybe she's just curious.
Wow thats great... Actually now I think about it, she asked me lots of questions too... Don't worry I wont say anything...
Crazy Monkey
28-01-2008, 21:30
Just when i thought Lucy was down for the night (fell asleep about 8pm) bang, 9pm she was awake... She's been on the boob pretty much since and is still awake... I'm so tired and just want her to sleep so I can wined down and go to bed, but I think I'm in for a tough night... She is currently laying in her bassinet with the hiccups and starting to cry again...
She hasn't slept as much today, so I guess a bit of overtiredness is part of the problem... Just don't have the energy to by rocking/bouncing/pacing the house with her... Wish she would just fall asleep on the boob and be done with it...
Better go toilet and see if another feed will do the trick...
Night all
Chelle123
29-01-2008, 02:37
:hugs: Silla. We had that tonight too but earlier, from about 6 - 9.30 but then she's slept from 10 - 3.30am (our longest sleep yet). Must be coz her tummy was so full LOL.
This sucks. I hate feeling this way but it really does.
We got totally spoilt with our first being such an awesome baby, I could literally feed him and put him in his bassinette, then he'd sleep or play for 3-5hrs without a peep.
Ripley must have missed that memo :( He just doesnt stop, if he isnt feeding constantly he's crying and wanting to be held. Occasionally in there he sleeps. Im so tired and very cranky, esp because my toddler wants my attention and everytime I *think* Rips will settle and give me 15min to spend with Jett after 5 min of playing he starts crying and I have to deal with Jett being mad because Ive stopped being with him.
Oh man here we go again, BBL to finish this off.
Chelle123
29-01-2008, 09:06
:hugs: Anna. I hope it gets better soon.
Chelle123
29-01-2008, 13:24
We just got back from MCHN for 4wk check. Aubrey has put on 610g to 4560g in 2 weeks. :eek: The nurse was shocked. She's also grown 2cm to 56cm.
Crazy Monkey
29-01-2008, 13:39
Just got back from the MCHN as well... Lucy has put on 580 grams in 2 weeks, so she's 3.87kg... And she's now 53cm...
Anna, I hope things settle down for you... DS was my horror child, so I can relate, although I didn't have a toddler to chase...
Chelle, great that Aubs slept 5.5 hrs for you...
Lucy finally settled about 11pm last night, asleep on me on the couch... Then she slept through until 5.45am this morning, so I was rapt...
Sorry Mr Ripley is being a pain Anna...
I'm here to boast of course... :o
Becca was a turd from 6pm to 12:30 BUT...
She ate at 9pm then whinged until 12:30, I was about to feed her and she went to sleep and STAYED asleep until just after 9am... :smiliedance:
Oh, and it's not my monitor, it's my actual PC, so I'm at Mum's looking at Dell etc...
MissSookyLaLa
29-01-2008, 16:50
well nick has been projectile vomiting the last two days...every 12 hours like clockwork!
first on sunday night, a massive spew...then fed fine and slept fine till monday morning when he spewed again...heaps of spew again...then fine all day monday until late monday night when he spewed yet again...and then again this morning...
so i have done alot of washing as it goes everywhere...god i hope this pattern doesnt continue!!!!! will probably go to the gp if it doesnt stop...
Chelle123
29-01-2008, 17:39
well nick has been projectile vomiting the last two days...every 12 hours like clockwork!
Bec - Tyler used to do projectile vomit after nearly every feed, then I'd have to feed him again - soooo frustrating.
Bo0tifuL
30-01-2008, 09:17
ok, so im kinda confussed atm. i got a phone call when hayden was about 2 weeks old, saying i was on the waiting list for the baby clinic thingy. Its now been over 2 weeks and he hasnt been weighed since 2 weeks. I know he has put on weight but why havent they rung me back yet? Can i just go to my local clinic and use that? do i have to wait for this one? i just thought theyd have called me by now?
Chelle123
30-01-2008, 09:39
Give them a call Kate. Maybe they've overlooked you for some reason. I don't know what the process is like there but here it has become really impersonal. We have a central booking line now for the whole region and I think it would be pretty easy to miss someone.
Bo0tifuL
30-01-2008, 09:50
lol i just got a letter saying they have tried to contact me and i need to ring them. I dont think theyve tried very hard at ringing me though as no missed calls on my mobile and no missed calls on my home phone, but oh well least i know they havent forgotten about us! thanks chelle.
MissSookyLaLa
30-01-2008, 16:13
nick has stopped :barf:thank god!!!
how long does it usually take for your boobs to stop leaking????
Chelle123
30-01-2008, 16:19
nick has stopped :barf:thank god!!!
how long does it usually take for your boobs to stop leaking????
That's great news Bec. Not sure on the leaky boobs, are you still b/f? Mine are still leaking at 4.5wks.
Bo0tifuL
30-01-2008, 17:23
Im not breast feeding and it took about 2 weeks after my milk came in where i didnt have to wear breast pads. i still have milk but only if squeezed. :)
MissSookyLaLa
30-01-2008, 17:28
yeah still breastfeeding...just leaking like a tap and hate wearing breast pads, so keen for it to stop!!!
guess i will have a few more weeks at least to wait!
yeah still breastfeeding...just leaking like a tap and hate wearing breast pads, so keen for it to stop!!!
guess i will have a few more weeks at least to wait!
"they say" that at 6 WEEKS your boobs and baby get in sync with each other... I'm still using breast pads and Becca is 6 weeks today.
My right nipple is also bleeding :( Found it today so going to buy some bottles for her tomorrow and then make the hardest decision of my life so far... Express or Formula?? My problem with that is that breastfeeding was the reason I didn't want to go back to work... If I'm not breastfeeding, why can't I go back???
Will see what happens tomorrow I suppose...
Chelle123
30-01-2008, 18:56
]... If I'm not breastfeeding, why can't I go back???[/COLOR]
You don't have to go back to work just because you're not b/f. You and DF both know that YOU are a better & more suitable carer for your girls (going by previous posts) and that should be enough.
Crazy Monkey
30-01-2008, 19:10
I agree with Chelle V... Your DF needs to get himself a job and support his family...
Lucy is having her unsettled period as we speak, she's over my shoulder and I'm rocking, very hard to type...
Hope to be back later to catch up...
MissSookyLaLa
30-01-2008, 20:01
"they say" that at 6 WEEKS your boobs and baby get in sync with each other... I'm still using breast pads and Becca is 6 weeks today.
My right nipple is also bleeding :( Found it today so going to buy some bottles for her tomorrow and then make the hardest decision of my life so far... Express or Formula?? My problem with that is that breastfeeding was the reason I didn't want to go back to work... If I'm not breastfeeding, why can't I go back???
oooh 6 weeks today, thats exciting! i just realised nick and i have been home for a week, it has gone so quick!
V, why don't you express until your nipple heals itself, then you can put her back on the boob???
but i agree, just cause you arent bf doesnt mean you have to go to work!
I think it's time to give up breastfeeding...
As much as I don't want to, she's just NOT settling at night, even straight after a good feed on both sides... I'm in TOO much pain, and bleeding...
Maybe this is why I've been feeling so down the last couple of days, the realisation that it's coming to an end... She didn't settle until after 3am this morning - that was from the 6pm feed and yeah, I fed her in between...
I got to 6 weeks to the day so I guess I can't really whinge about that... I just hope she settles soon, I'm not handling this very well, unsettled bub and giving up on something I want... I don't think expressing will help me emotionally as I'm still giving a bottle...
Sorry, I'm not in a good place right now...
Chelle123
30-01-2008, 20:12
:hugs: V - all that really matters is that Becca is healthy. You've given b/f your best shot and just remember that you've reached a goal that you set in place - to b/f till 6 weeks. You're doing great!
:hugs::hugs::hugs:
:hugs: :hugs::hugs::hugs:
I need some real ones!!! :crying:
I think expressing will still hurt the boobs and I'm actually scared to put her on formula... Annabelle had really bad problems with constipation, even with higher doses of coloxyl (infant laxatives) and I reckon Becca's bumhole is smaller than hers... I really wanted Spina Bifida to check it out before I made a drastic change to her diet, but that's not til May and I won't last that long...
Actually surprised that I perservered 6 weeks of horrid pain - but am rather upset about not getting to experience the painfree type of breastfeeding...
It's official... As of 12 mins ago Becca is no longer exclusively breastfed... :(
Chelle123
31-01-2008, 08:45
V - I wish I could give you some real life :hugs: but interstate is just a bit too far to travel today (got to be back for the funeral at 4pm). Just remember that as long as Becca is healthy & putting on weight, that's all that matters.
feline11
31-01-2008, 11:53
V - you have done an awesome job breast feeding for 6 weeks. it is better you feel relaxed than stressed and if that means bottle feeding then so be it, there is nothing wrong with this. And hell yes you can still be a SAHM - you do more than feed to bring up a child and you are an awesome mum.
Just had the community nurse round to do Olivers 4 week check. He has put 800g in 3 1/2 weeks (from 2.77 to 3.66) and 3 cm head circ - she did'nt measure his length. He gave her a winning smile so think he is going to be a little casanova.She was really nice and says we seem to be doing everything right so i'm very happy. We can start using the baby bjorn now as Oliver needed to be 3 1/2 kgs to fit into it - woohoo - might have to give it a try tomorrow.
breasts leaking - when i feed the other breast pours mik and when i am getting Oliver into position to feed they both pour (TMI i know)
I think it's time to give up breastfeeding...
As much as I don't want to, she's just NOT settling at night, even straight after a good feed on both sides... I'm in TOO much pain, and bleeding...
V I really feel for you. I've been there, trust me.
It's really fricken hot at the moment and I'm afraid a bottle wont help her settle any better in the long run, I think you know that. What she needs is what you have to give her.
You can control this pain you're experiencing. You know you have IRL support. If I can't get to you, there is always the ABA (situated near Castle Towers) or the Jasper Rd CHN.
:hugs: to you for your depression. This post isn't intended to pressure you or make you feel bad or like a failure. Nor will I patronise you by saying "you gave it your best shot".
What I want to say is - YOU CAN GET THROUGH THIS TRAIL! You persevered through labour and birthed your baby beautifully and you have the power to influence this bfing relationship (and other relationships in your life ) positively. Accentuate the positive V.
More :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: to you.
How's DH going with the job? Reckon he could go for a job as detailer?
Better get back to work now before I get my nuts busted for misusing the work computer :o
ETA - James gave my boobs the same grief at about the same age as what DD2 is. They have growth spurts or need more fluid. At some point the milk production settles down and your breasts cease to be engorged. YOU AREN'T RUNNING OUT OF MILK DONT PANIC! Think of how proud you'll be when you booby your toodler when your'e out and about :-)
Crazy Monkey
31-01-2008, 12:37
Chelle, all the best for the funeral today... :hugs:
Melbourne has given you perfect funeral weather...
V, you have done a great job with BF... If its something you want to continue, just know it does get easier from here, you've gotten through the hardest part... Lucy is unsettled and on and off the boob for about 4-5 hours every night, so I know the frustration of constantly feeding and bubs not settling... Take nats up on her offer if you do want to continue, otherwise know that you have done the best for your little girl...
MissSookyLaLa
31-01-2008, 12:41
hey girls...nick :barf:last night, after i had fed him both boobs and then a top up on the first, so i think its definitely an oversupply issue, as for the last few days i have only been giving him one boob each feed and he hasnt spewed...
went along to the ech mothers group today and they agreed, and said he is probably waking every 1.5-2 hours as he has tummy aches from too much milk- so i shouldnt be feeding him every time he wakes up...
she suggested giving him a dummy when he isnt due for a feed to help him with the tummy pain...so fingers crossed i will get more then 2-3 hours sleep at a time sometime soon...(i've only had one 4 hour stint of sleep since he was born)
on the plus side, he has put on nearly 200grams since he was born less than 2 weeks ago...he was 3640grams when he was born and they weighed him today he was an even 4kilos :smiliedance:
anyway, thats me for now...
V, dont beat yourself up about the feeding...the most important thing is that you are in a happy and healthy state of mind to look after your little darlings..if you are in pain and upset then your girls will be too...
like chelle said, becca is putting on weight and is healthy then thats all that matters!!!
did you try a nipple shield???
Crazy Monkey
31-01-2008, 12:49
hey girls...nick :barf:last night, after i had fed him both boobs and then a top up on the first, so i think its definitely an oversupply issue, as for the last few days i have only been giving him one boob each feed and he hasnt spewed...
went along to the ech mothers group today and they agreed, and said he is probably waking every 1.5-2 hours as he has tummy aches from too much milk- so i shouldnt be feeding him every time he wakes up...
she suggested giving him a dummy when he isnt due for a feed to help him with the tummy pain...so fingers crossed i will get more then 2-3 hours sleep at a time sometime soon...(i've only had one 4 hour stint of sleep since he was born)
on the plus side, he has put on nearly 200grams since he was born less than 2 weeks ago...he was 3640grams when he was born and they weighed him today he was an even 4kilos :smiliedance:
Go Nick...:yelclap:
I found that when Lucy was about 2 weeks and I feed her both sides, she would chuck too... I wish Lucy would take the dummy, but she just doesn't like it at the moment... I have 2 different ones but they both make her gag...
Anyone the princess is up, so better change her butt and give her a feed...
Bo0tifuL
31-01-2008, 13:10
WOOO POSTS!!!
Widgie- As i said last night, it shouldnt matter how your baby is fed just as long as she is getting what she needs! Try bottles maybe just do night feeds with a bottle to give your boobs a break and then breast during the day? I want to hug you!!!!!!! If i could drive id be over asap. but its so hard and im lazy lol. But i am here for you. Sorry i didnt reply to the last msg my phone died and i cbf finding my charger lol. But im seriously so proud of you, and so should you be. Look at your beautiful girls!!!!
Chelle i hope the funeral goes well. My thoughts are with you today :)
CM- Hayden didnt take to the dummy either for a while, but now he loves it.
Haydens doing well. Feeding every 3 hours at 120mls little piggy! sleeps from 10pm till 3am then 3 till 6! How cools that! never thought id get there. He still fusses though during feeds but he often just goes to sleep. Hes so big now!!!
We got a new car yesterday!!!!!!!! just a commodore wagon. pricey car but he it beats the tiny suzuki swift we were in before lmao!
G2g run and leaves yas! xoxox
MissSookyLaLa
31-01-2008, 14:06
any hints on how to get him to take the dummy???
Quick Q ladies...
Is anyone still bleeding? I'm bleeding really wierd, I bled for 4 weeks with DS1, coming up to 4 weeks tomorrow and several times i have gone for a day without bleeding and then it starts again the next day. Its still bright red, but barely reaches the pad.
Is this an issue?
Should i go se my GP?
Bec, try wiggling it around a little until he changes the shape of his tongue, once you've got it in he'll try and spit it out, try tapping it gently in the middle until he gets a good suck on it... Sometimes it can take some perserverance and others he won't fight it... He's going to start having awake time so no, he doesn't need to be fed everytime he wakes up, have to noticed any difference in his cries yet? There are things on the different sounds newborns make but I can't think of them right now, I worked out pretty quickly the difference with Annabelle's cries (she was driving me insane) and I know the difference between wind, hunger and attention cries with Becca too... Without looking at her I can tell what it is - but the face does tell you alot!
Wendy, if you're concerned about it, see your GP but they say that generally if you're still bleeding at 6 weeks it needs to be checked out... Is it a light flow?
Sue, my boobs do that too I tend to get let down at the same time on both sides, Becca gets drenched...
It seems that 120mls isn't enough for her!! Annabelle always had more than the recommended amount...
I'll see if nats can come over on Saturday. Annabelle and James can play and I can get much needed help. I don't want to stop completely, but my nipples really need a break. The way they are now it feels like it would hurt to express as well, but I need to empty, I expressed some while in the shower this morning, but it didn't take long to fill again... Very busy tomorrow with Annabelle's physio and photo shoot for DF and Becca so will do formula tomorrow and see if I can stand a few expresses before we leave in the morning and when we get home in the evening...
Went and got bottles for Becca today. The Tommee Tippee closer to nature ones - from what I understand they are the best ones for comp feeding as they mimic the breast the best they can, she seemed to take it better than Annabelle's Avent bottles, just wanted more once she'd finished... Dad's gone to get some Coloxyl for her coz I'm worried about constipation coz of Annabelle - I know Annabelle has Spina Bifida and all but until I can get Spina Bifida to look over Becca and tell me it's all good I'll worry about it... I've asked the physio to see if the Dr can come down and have a quick squizz at her tomorrow while we're there, have to see how it goes though...
You know what's funny though, while we were deciding which bottles to get (I knew which ones I wanted but I didn't want DF to know the price of the TT CTN bottles) we found the perfect seat for Annabelle... 5 point harness with anchor point and takes to 26kgs - the price tag said $350 right... The tag under the bottle and steriliser kit said $395 (I swear it did!) okay... Got another bottle coz only 3 came in the kit and some medium flow teats coz I didn't what size teats were in the kit... So, $11 for the bottle and $9 for the 2 teats... Got to the register and while I was expecting to pay $700-800 she only charged us $360!!! $270 for the seat and $60 for the steriliser kit!! Must have the wrong barcode in the system because the TT sterilisers are sold separately too... Bargain!! I ran out of the store telling the boys to hurry up before she realises and starts chasing after us!! :laughing:
I don't feel that I have to go back to work if I'm not breastfeeding anymore... I didn't want to back to work BECAUSE I was breastfeeding, if I stop, the whole reasoning is gone and I'm making DF give up staying home... I actually feel selfish that I want to stay home again even though we agreed he'd stay home and I'd go back to work. So the breastfeeding I guess was my excuse, so if I express or give her formula I have nothing to say I can't go back to work and me making him get a job is being selfish because he was looking forward to being a SAHD - and I was going to prove that it isn't as easy as he thinks it is... I was going to walk and get public transport to work and lose weight with that while he took the girl to appointments and dealt with immunisations and learnt that the girls come first!!
So I'll see if nats can help me any, I think resting my nipples is the best thing I can do for Becca right now as I was almost at a point where I dreaded feeding her, time to stop before I do... Have a breather and attempt it again later...
Anyhoo, must eat something and relieve some booby pressure... Don't want to get mastitis or anything while on break!!
Crazy Monkey
31-01-2008, 20:49
Wendy, I still have some bleeding... Like you it went away and then came back a few days later, like a light period... Actually thought I was getting my period, but now I'm not so sure... I don't have much colour when I wipe, its mainly on the pad...
Lucy has been pretty good tonight and I thought that I might actually have more time here but she is waking after only 40 minutes...
Sorry everyone, I had more to say, hopefully I'll get a chance tomorrow...
:yes: 120mls isn't enough!! I tried the 180mls - downed the whole lot and is very content now, even after I woke her again to change her bum as she pooed while feeding...
I'm going to have to try the pump tomorrow, got nothing in the shower - not one bit of pressure released!! Very ouchies... I have a massive blind pimple on my back too, so looks like not much sleep for me tonight... Back hurts with pimple and sides and tummy hurt with boobs... *sigh*
Melissa1983
01-02-2008, 06:17
Yay... I can post in here now..
Cant believe Jayden is a week old. He is such a happy baby. He rarely cries unless i am changing his bum, or undressing him, or when he is hungry.
He is a excellent sleeper. At night he is sleeping from 10pm to 3 or 4am.. (i don't mind getting up then, good shows on fox)
His weight is increasing now, the 3rd day he lost 290grams, 5th day he gained 70grams, and the 7th day he lost 40grams. They think my milk wasn't giving him enough as he wasn't peeing much and his poos were still that greeny colour. Since putting him on the formula he is a peeing champ.
Hope everyone else is enjoying there bundles..
V I'd be happy to come round and offer what support I can. Just let me know what time.
Did you all sleep better?
Enjoy lots of lovely cuddles with your LO's in this cosy weather and happy baby grazing for today. :)
A word on engorgement - if your DD is going through a growth spurt and has being suckling madly trying to get a message to your body to produce more milk, firstly your boobs will be sore from being emptied and fed on frequently and secondly once the milk is produced and engorgement happens the stretching of the skin on the aereola will cause soreness. However the suckling and emptying of the breast will relieve this soreness somewhat. If you comp feed and the engorgement isn't releived you risk not only mastitis but the soreness wont be releived.
Try bfing today, watch your position. Lay down together for long feeds and see if the little blighter that caused your boobs to be so sore in the first place doen't end up relieving them.:laughing:
Make sure you bf before you comp or she wont be hungry enough to adequatly drain the breast.
Good luck with your position today :)
MissSookyLaLa
01-02-2008, 15:36
Bec, try wiggling it around a little until he changes the shape of his tongue, once you've got it in he'll try and spit it out, try tapping it gently in the middle until he gets a good suck on it... Sometimes it can take some perserverance and others he won't fight it... He's going to start having awake time so no, he doesn't need to be fed everytime he wakes up, have to noticed any difference in his cries yet? There are things on the different sounds newborns make but I can't think of them right now, I worked out pretty quickly the difference with Annabelle's cries (she was driving me insane) and I know the difference between wind, hunger and attention cries with Becca too... Without looking at her I can tell what it is - but the face does tell you alot!
thanks V, feeding him puts him to sleep every time without fail, so I can only assume he is either hungry or wants a comfort suck...
he doesn't stay awake very long at the moment- just eats and sleeps really, thats normal right, he will start staying awake for a bit longer in the next week or so???
Yes Bec, it's normal!! He will have bigger awake times as he gets older (I keep forgetting he's only 2 weeks old!)...
feline11
01-02-2008, 18:42
Bec - Oliver started having awake times week 3, (he had short ones week 2 but not for long)he usually has one in the morning and one in the evening and they are getting longer now so you wont have long before you can enjoy his cute stares and smiles - its awesome
MissSookyLaLa
01-02-2008, 19:23
cool thanks girls...yep he's still a youngin! he is two weeks old tomorrow...
he was awake for a while tonight, probably 45 minutes, just lookin around...hopefully he will sleep a bit better tonight...:fingerscrossed:
he had both boobs at his last feed and only spewed a tiny bit, so hopefully he is nice and full and will sleep for a while...and hopefully the cooler weather tonight will help him sleep a bit longer overnight (not keen to get up every hour again tonight thats for sure!!!)
mrsdlc2007
01-02-2008, 23:46
Name: Charlize Tumanu Margaret
Date: 07/01/2008
Time: 11:15am
Height: 49.5cm
Weight: 3030 grams
Hd Circ: 33cm
Birth Type: Induced Vaginal Birth
Birth Details: Well here goes, I started having what I thought was contractions ( you think I would know what they were by bub number 4) on Friday night, I walked around the house and got everything ready for my darling husband so my house wouldnt go to shambles whilst I was gone and by 1am Saturday morning the pains were about 3 mins apart, as I have had really quick deliveries prior (bub#1-3hrs, bub#2-45min and bub#3-1 hour) we thought we better get to the hospital and check things out.
We dropped 4 of the kids off to Alberts mum and Lachlan was at his dads so we didnt have to worry about him at 2am. The pains had died off a bit so I told hubby to go home for a while, at 7am we decided to go to the hospital to check things out. My mum came along with us. Midwives took me to the birth suite and expected bub to arrive anytime.
By 5pm nothing was going on the pains were still the same strength, they decided to do an internal and I was only 3cm. I was quite upset as I have had such quick deliveries in the past.
They admitted me as they thought that I could go into full blown labour at any time. Hubby was allowed to stay the night with me, which was great. (not for him apparently the recliner in my room was uncomfortable so he slept on the floor)
I slept through the night and did not wake to pains so I knew that I was not in Labour. The dr sent me home Sunday morning.
Sunday night I started to get the niggly pains back again so we got prepared for the hospital rush once more, the 4 kids were still at Alberts mums so that was one thing off our list, but Lachlan had returned home so we decided to drop him off at my mums around 1am Monday morning.
Went up to the hospital, they told me that bub was posterior so we did some excerises to turn her around. They then decided to do an internal I was still 3cm.
They decided that they would send me home again as bub was not coming, but before they did this they wanted to check bub on the heart monitor.
After 2 hours on the monitor they decided that bub was extremly sleepy and I was exhausted so they thought it would be best for both of us to induce me to get bub out. (mind you i was a week early)
At 6am they broke my waters, no pains....
They put the drip in at 8.30am and that is when the fun began. Pains became very regular and very strong quickly. The midwifes had to turn the strength down a few times.
At 10.30am I felt like I wanted to push so the midwife checked me out and I was only 5cm. Well I lost it at this point, I was expecting another quick labour.
My gorgeous midwife got called out of the room at 11am and she was replaced with another midwife. As soon as this midwife appeared I wanted to push with every contaction. I was not allowed to and all I could say was "please please please let me push" finally she did another internal and I just started to push whilst she was there, so she helped me get from 9 to 10cm very qwuickly. As hubby and I wanted him to be really involved with the delivery the midwife got him down "that end" and he delivered Charlize into the world. One big push and out she came. Hubby was proud as I did it yet again with no pain relief.
He yelled out what sex she was and gave her straight to me. We had a big cuddle and then about 10mins later I gave her a big breast feed (whilst delivering the placenta).
The midwife checked me out - no cuts, tears or bruising again (yahoo) , so they happily left us with bub to enjoy some quiet time before the brood would come in and visit us.
All her brothers and sisters were extremely happy to meet her ((well Fletcher wasnt too happy in the beginning but loves her now)) .... She is our 6th and final baby. A great ending to a wonderful era in our lives (sniff:crying:).
That would have been a shock Amanda, they say that every subsequent labour is quicker than the last!! You must be an exception :yes:
Welcome to our group, it'll get a bit busier once the last bub arrives - hopefully tonight and Lis will let me tell the world and not her husband!!
This is a no holds barred thread (apart from swear words coz they get blanked out LOL) so don't feel embarrassed about posting anything as nothing is too much information!!
mrsdlc2007
02-02-2008, 00:11
Cool,
Thanks heaps for the warm welcome... I am online 24/7 just about, I dont really sleep and I know I should. I get around 3 -4 hours a day if I am lucky. Thank god for foxtel and the internet...
You're one up on me, I don't have pay TV...
I should sleep, between the 2 girls I'm lucky to get the same sleep!
I should try and get some sleep tonight though as I have a friend coming in the morning to try and help me get Becca on the boob properly... Said she'd call at 8am...
6 babies in 8 years!! :eek: (Well, 4 is still heaps and very close too!) I don't think I'll be attempting that one LOL
Chelle123
02-02-2008, 02:09
Hi Amanda and welcome.
My 3rd (and last) labour was my longest too, which really sucks when everybody tells you it will be quick.
I hope Lis has her bub tonight :fingerscrossed:
Crazy Monkey
02-02-2008, 09:14
Posted this in the Due In thread, but thought it might be better off here...
Well, last night when Lucy woke just after 10.30pm, it took me another 2 feeds and lots f screaming from her to get her to sleep...
She seems to be screaming in pain at night... She looks like she wants to get on the boob but then starts screaming and fussing... Once she calms down, she'll usually feed herself to sleep or need to be burped and will fall off to sleep with a little help... I just don't know what to do... Sometimes I think she has reflux, but she doesn't do it during the day...
Anyone else have similar issues or any advice???
I feel bad asking cause she is a great baby, sleeps well during the day and over night (anywhere from 5-8 hours), its just between say 6-midnight where she is usually awake and unsettled...
feline11
02-02-2008, 09:15
Welcome Amanda and congratulations. i have just had no 1.
Does anyone know how i can get Oliver to extend the times between his feeds, he is currently at every 2 hours day and night and has been for 2 weeks now. when he feeds he feeds for 30mins plus and is getting plenty as he has put on 800g in 3 1/2 weeks and i have heaps of milk.
hope everyone has a great weekend.
feline11
02-02-2008, 09:23
Cilla - this is Oliver's favourite time to not sleep too. he just seems to want to feed or be cuddled - if i put him in his bassinette he yells. have found if we bath him at night then this settles him, usually bath him when he wakes for a feed around 6/7pm, DF gives him a massage with oil every other night and then i feed him. he then usuaaly settles around 2 hours after the bath ( i keep a feeding/activey journal so can look back to see his patterns of what he does). Last night we didnt bath him and he didnt get to sleep till 1am so know exactly how you feel.
Melissa1983
02-02-2008, 09:36
Hi Amanda and welcome.
My 3rd (and last) labour was my longest too, which really sucks when everybody tells you it will be quick.
I hope Lis has her bub tonight :fingerscrossed:
Mine was too.
DD1 was 2 hours, DD2 was 1 hour and DS was 6.5 hours
Chelle123
02-02-2008, 09:40
Sue - have you tried a dummy? It may work if he's getting plenty of milk already (which it sounds like he is). If he happily sucks on the dummy, then he's most likely not hungry.
Sorry, I'm not much help to anyone today.
Melissa1983
02-02-2008, 09:40
Name: Jayden Allen Scott
Date: 23/01/08
Time: 9.54pm
Height: 52cms
Weight: 3670 grams
Hd Circ: 36.5cms
Birth Type: Successful VBAC
On the 21st January had a OB appointment and he agreed to induce me on the 23rd.
23rd January -
At 5am i couldn't sleep was to excited, so i thought i would jump on the net and it was down, wasn't happy. So decided just to watch TV.
At 7:30am i Rang the hospital they told me they were all set for me to come in. The nerves kicked in, starting shaking and feeling really sick. Kissed the girls good bye and DH and i headed for the hospital.
Once we arrived at the hospital was put on a trace for 30 mins, and he done his normal, no movements and was asleep. They decided to take me off the machine at 8:30am and inserted 1 lot of the gel.
After that was inserted, DH and i walked the hospital grounds until there was no else to walk or see.
Nothing was happening, it was getting so annoying as i was keen to meet my little guy.
The OB came and seen me at 3pm and said they will insert the next lot of gel soon. But if nothing happens he will see me in the morning to talk about different options. I started getting disappointed as i wanted him born today, (my grandmother was so excited as it was her birthday).
The midwife came and seen me at 4pm and put me back on the trace for 30 mins, I was getting very little contraction on the trace that weren't even hurting. She inserted the next gel at 4:30 and my cervix was like butter apparently, she said it will happen tonight so time. Within a few minutes of the gel being put in, the contractions started.
By 6:30pm they transferred me to the labour ward as they were getting worse, i stood in the shower for a while but nothing was helping the pain. I didn't want drugs at this point as i did the girls with no drugs.
By 9pm i was in full on labour, i asked for the gas, had a few puffs of that, but it was making me feel sick. So they took it away, i was in so much pain, i asked for something else, but they said its to late, and your doing a excellent job without it.. If i hear those words again i will kill someone.
They broke my waters as they were coming out and within 30mins Jayden was born.
Jayden Allen Scott was born at 9:54pm. Weighing 8 pound 1oz. He got 9, 9 agar which was fantastic as my others were in special care for a few days.
I didn't know you were going for VBAC Mel!! Congrats!! That's a feat in itself!!
Was thinking too (after Kel's intro) that having the EDD in the stats bit is a good idea too, I'm going back to add Bec's EDD in now...
I think I've decided to formula feed from now on...
I tried Becca on the boob last night and she seemed to feed well, but was then hungry again in 1 1/2 hours, so I fed her again and she was pulling off and reattaching and still looking while eating so I think she got none, ended up having to give her formula. After feeding her, the nipples are tender again and expressing isn't getting enough out to give her EBM for a feed, 40mls just isn't enough for a feed... So while I needed the nipple break, it seems to be the worst thing I could have done if I want to keep feeding... Seeing that after one feed (2 but not really) my nipples are not good again I might just cut my losses, I exclusively breastfed for a mark that I had set for myself, and in time I will forget about how I feel right now. I know Annabelle was better off on formula, the change was for her, not me (expressing didn't kill my boobs like BFing does) but changing Becca is for my benefit... Just have to keep telling myself that happy mum makes happy bub... So the bottles and stuff we got yesterday didn't have to be those particular ones (coz I was still going to put her back on the breast so i got the closest I could to mimicing the breast) which irritates me a little as they aren't the easiest to wash and put together... Awkward shape and the teats come straight through the neck if you don't do it just right...:rolleyes: Oh well, I wanted the girls on different bottles and they are so less b!tching V and more enthusiasm... While formula is cardboard compared to sweet breastmilk, she is still getting nutrients and growing (well, it has only been 1 1/2 days) and you're not in agony anymore...
It's obviously the best thing for her because without resting your nipples you wouldn't be able to feed her, in the 24hour period that you rested your nipples, the supply seemed to have disappeared so quite obviously, you were supposed to stop at 6 weeks. You got to the mark you set for yourself, so what's the problem, you got what you wanted...
Vaginal Birth, breastfeeding for 6 weeks, thankful that you didn't get a baby that is opposite to the first - a screaming nightmare that spews all the time - very grateful both girls only sicked up and are content little ones...
Now, just have to work out how much she's eating...
Did I say before that after Annabelle's physio appointment we went and saw her Spina Bifida Dr to have a look over Becca... She said that the dimple is nothing to worry about and her bumhole is the right size... So I'm not so freaked about giving her formula now - I was so worried about constipation yesterday...
I've rambled enough for now - doesn't mean I won't be back though... :laughing:
MissSookyLaLa
02-02-2008, 12:29
Welcome Amanda and congratulations. i have just had no 1.
Does anyone know how i can get Oliver to extend the times between his feeds, he is currently at every 2 hours day and night and has been for 2 weeks now. when he feeds he feeds for 30mins plus and is getting plenty as he has put on 800g in 3 1/2 weeks and i have heaps of milk.
hope everyone has a great weekend.
oh if you get any advice let me knosw....this has been nick all week as well...its fine during the day but very tiring at night!
Crazy Monkey
02-02-2008, 14:42
Seems like I'm not the only one with a very fussy baby in the evenings... I've tried a dummy with Lucy and she's just not interested, she holds it in her mouth and when she goes to suck she spits it out...
Welcome to the group Amanda...
MissSookyLaLa
02-02-2008, 15:32
nick will suck on the dummy for about a minute then spit it out..i think he will take it eventually, but whenever i think he needs it im usually too exhausted to try and convince him to take it!
i can handle and accept that nick is waking up every 2 hours at night as long as it isn't long term- everyone says things get better at the 6 week mark, and yet i see lots of posts from mums on here who have 6 month olds who are still waking up every 2 hours to feed at night, i just dont think i will be able to handle it long term!!!!!!!!!!!!
Chelle123
02-02-2008, 15:38
Bec - every bub is different. Aubrey is 5wks tomorrow and I've had 5hrs twice, mainly 3-4hrs at night, where some babies are already sleeping much longer. Everything is a stage and the babies who are sleeping longer already could easily slip back to shorter sleep periods and vice versa. It does get easier, its just a matter of when.
You will be fine but I do hope you get more sleep soon.
MissSookyLaLa
02-02-2008, 16:07
chelle i'd die for 3-4 hour gaps right now!
im coping ok because i just sleep when he does in the morning- today we both slept on and off until 1pm...the luxury of only having on 1 kid i suppose!
so the beggining of the night onslaught i cope well, but by the time 4 or 5am rolls around i am pretty cranky and impatient!
cause i am demand feeding though, my only concern is that this will start a habit with him that will be hard to break???
Chelle123
02-02-2008, 16:15
cause i am demand feeding though, my only concern is that this will start a habit with him that will be hard to break???
Bec - I have demand fed all 3 and so far they have just naturally progressed to longer sleeping patterns, Tyler was sleeping through by 3 months and Noah by 2 months, both fully b/fed.
Can you call your MCHN on Monday and see if she has any tips? Or start a new thread in the main section of the forum and see if anyone can help.
Just remember that he is still very little and tonight could be the night that he surprises you with a longer sleep cos that's how it usually happens.
Sending :sleeping: vibes Nick's way...
MissSookyLaLa
02-02-2008, 16:23
Can you call your MCHN on Monday and see if she has any tips? Or start a new thread in the main section of the forum and see if anyone can help.
Just remember that he is still very little and tonight could be the night that he surprises you with a longer sleep cos that's how it usually happens.
the MCHN basically told me I shouldnt be feeding him every 2 hours, that he "couldnt be hungry"- which i wasnt impressed with, as he is obviously keen to eat!
I have a friend who is an ABA counsellor, so I will give her a call tomorrow...
Im just very impatient! :laughing:
Chelle123
02-02-2008, 16:34
I have a friend who is an ABA counsellor, so I will give her a call tomorrow...
Im just very impatient! :laughing:
Bec - I've just realised he is only 2wks old. Aubs was doing 2-3hrs then too. It will start getting better soon.
Good idea to call your friend anyway. Let me know if she has any good pointers, I'd love to get more 5hr+ sleeps.
Crazy Monkey
02-02-2008, 18:27
Bec, it does get easier as they get older... If they do fall into a 'habit' of feeding every 2 hours, its easy to get them out of it as they get older... it gets easier to hold off a feed by distracting them... I hope he starts to sleep a bit longer for you soon...
feline11
02-02-2008, 19:46
the MCHN basically told me I shouldnt be feeding him every 2 hours, that he "couldnt be hungry"- which i wasnt impressed with, as he is obviously keen to eat!
my nurse said i could extend his feeds if i wanted to (yeah right) but if i was happy then to continue.
Oliver has been very fussy the past 2 days wanting to feed continuously and not sleep in bassinette straight away, wanting to be cuddled to sleep for ages and if i do put him in bassinette when he is asleep on me he wakes 5 mins later crying and we have to start all over agaib with a feed- i think it might be a growth spurt (i am hoping its as simple as that). if anyone has`any hints would be v grateful - am thinking i might have to be patient and ride with this one.
it is nice to know it seems its just one of the stages they go through and others are awake when i am and its not just Oliver but its hard work for all of us.
Sue, I wont recommend this because of the whole SIDS media write up and all, but what I do is if Becca falls asleep on me, say while feeding, so laying on her side, I put her down on her side, if she falls asleep on her tummy, I put her on her tummy... I haven't had any dramas with wake-ups and such. As I said, I wont recommend it as according to SIDS recommendations, baby should only ever sleep on his/her back... In all honesty, I don't like babies on their back, especially if they tend to sick up or spew a fair bit... If they're on their back, where's it gonna go? Straight back down their throat... Becca only ever goes on her back if she rolls there herself or if I know she's spewed all she's going to after the last feed. If she falls asleep while eating, she goes on her side...
Crazy Monkey
02-02-2008, 21:11
Lucy sleeps better on her side too... I tend to put her on her side during the day when she's in her cot with the angelcare sensor pad monitor on...
Becca still isn't in the cot :o but the bouncer is never far from me... I'll get off my bum soon and rearrange her room so the monitor reaches the desk so I can use the movement part as well as sound...
Annabelle used to sleep best on her tummy (still does actually) and the sound monitor was enough for me - Bec's movement one is because of heart quirks...
Chelle123
02-02-2008, 22:01
Yep, Aubs sleeps on her side too.
MissSookyLaLa
03-02-2008, 01:20
nick loves falling asleep on his tummy on his daddy's chest...i think we will wait till he is older before we put him to sleep on his tummy tho
:yelclap: he must have heard all of my impatient whinging today cause he slept for 5 hours from 9-2am...just feeding him now
longest sleep ive had in 2 weeks, and glad i went to bed when he did so i got the full benefit
i think that sleep will keep me going for another fortnight if he decides not to do it again for a while!
he was awake for a lot longer than usual today so im guessing thats wat did it
Chelle123
03-02-2008, 03:03
:yelclap: for Nick. I just got 5hrs too, 3rd time in 5wks, 11pm-4am.
mrsdlc2007
03-02-2008, 06:04
Charlize seems to want to be on the breast constantly especially if we are out, I just bought a really nice Phil and Ted pram and I think the longest she has layed in it was about 20mins.
Last night we went bowling and I had to end up giving up as she would not get off my boob. I have tried to give her a dummy but she wont take it. The last 4 did......
She will sleep for about 3 hours at a time at home, but when we are out max time will be 10 -15min. Its driving me nuts:hissy:... I know she is getting plenty of milk as she has put on quite a bit of weight since birth.
My last bub breast fed for 14 months and I cant remember him being like that at all.
MissSookyLaLa
03-02-2008, 07:09
cant help you with that one im afraid amanda! other than to say i probably would have tried to bowl my turns with him on my boob, with probable disasterous consequences! :laughing:
yay chelle for a big sleep! I couldn't believe it when i saw the time, so he slept from 9-2, then fed till 2:45, then slept again until 6:15- so another big sleep...
the only other thing i did differently was that i tucked him in really tight so he couldnt get out of his wrap...maybe that helped him stay asleep as well...
knowing my luck it will have been a on off though and we'll be back to 2 hour sleeps for a while...but i can handle that now i know he is capable of more!
Chelle123
03-02-2008, 07:43
yay chelle for a big sleep! I couldn't believe it when i saw the time, so he slept from 9-2, then fed till 2:45, then slept again until 6:15- so another big sleep...
:yelclap:We got 2 big sleeps for the first time too, 5hrs then 4hrs. It makes such a difference - I just don't feel exhauseted at 8am.
Amanda, does she have reflux? maybe she is laying too flat and it causes discomfort. My 1st & bub have always fallen asleep in the pram but my 2nd hated it, yet he slept well at home.
mrsdlc2007
03-02-2008, 10:59
Im not sure about the reflux thing? Never experienced it in the past so dont really know the signs to look for. Ive been really lucky with all my bubs in the past.
feline11
03-02-2008, 15:27
well last night was 2 hours tho we did have an almost 3 hours, then we went shopping today so put Oliver in the baby bjorn and he went 4 hours - wow - pity i wasnt home asleep lol
:yelclap:for Nick and Aubrey for sleeping so well.
Chelle123
03-02-2008, 16:27
then we went shopping today so put Oliver in the baby bjorn and he went 4 hours - wow - pity i wasnt home asleep lol
How was your back after 4hrs in the baby bjorn? I had Aubs in mine for about 1/2hr today and I don't think I could have gone much longer. Is there a secret? or have I got a cr@ppy back?
justme77
03-02-2008, 19:22
yayyy........
:yelclap:I can post in here now :yelclap:
Just as soon as i catch up on sleep :laughing:
All is going great. Lucas is such a quiet bubba. He sleeps heaps and hardly cries.
Im bottle feeding- got the sh*ts with the boob thing on the first night.
so now just waiting for him to catch up on his sleep, and start giving me grief. :yes: (hoping not lol)
anyway, i will get to scrabble tomorrow, and catch up on reading then. its a big full on with the big boys and a baby so will catch up on things when the big ones go to school.
hope your all good.
oh and the short version of my labour - 10 hours of annoying little contractions, 3 hours of intense labour, 10 mins of pushing. no drugs and no stitches. oh and he was facing forwards. - not fun!! ill write up a birth story soonish
MissSookyLaLa
03-02-2008, 20:03
yay its jay!
Chelle123
04-02-2008, 06:15
Happy Birthday Mel!!!
Have a great day!
sairpaul
04-02-2008, 07:03
oh i'm so slow. no wonder no ones been around your all here :laughing:
happybirthday Mel have a lovely day
HaPpY BiRtHdAy Mel!!!!!!!
Chelle123
04-02-2008, 07:38
Is there a reason why heaps of bad things happen all at once? I shouldn't complain because our kids and ourselves are healthy but it seems to be a never ending trail of bad stuff atm.
You all know that FIL passed away last wk but now my BIL's mum has a brain tumour and my grandfather has something on his liver.
On top of that, MIL has admitted to me that she has a drinking problem (2 bottles of wine a night) after she fell down stairs the other night and bruised her ribs, but won't accept help.
SMIL keeps trying to get more money off us, money we just don't have.
And finally, this morning we've found out the bank has loaned us $12,000 less than what we asked for, to buy out our biz, which means that we will be set back another 3 months. DH is livid!!!
I really wish this was a more positive time. Tyler starts school and Noah starts back at 3yo tomorrow, we have a beautiful new baby and it feels like all these bad things are being thrown at us to curb our happiness.
mrsdlc2007
04-02-2008, 08:47
I know exactly how you feel.... My DH goes back to work after bub was born and they have laid everyone off. We have a brand new bub, just won custody of his girls, shool has just started, we need to buy a new car as our 4X4 doesnt fit the whole family in..... Stressed out to the max...
To top it all off charlize is feeding constantly which means I am getting NO sleep and then I have to deal with 6 screaming kids:crying: to get them ready for school and daycare this morning.
I think I am about to loose my mind. :hissy: When does it get easier I want to know.... At the moment I feel like I want to crawl in a little black hole and not deal with the family stress, the dirty dishes in the sink, and the pile of washing that needs to be done.
My DH still is living the life of a single man, gets to do what he wants when he wants, mind you he is getting better with helping out but still very much in training....
I think I need a day off to go and enjoy the simple things in life like a movie or a cuppa with a girlfriend....
How are all the rest of you coping with everyday activities.
Amanda
Sorry you both are going through such a rough time...
My everyday activities are the girls... But I didn't have a social life before them either...
Chelle123
04-02-2008, 09:18
How are all the rest of you coping with everyday activities.
Hi Amanda,
Everyday activity isn't too bad yet, but Tyler starts prep tomorrow so things could get difficult really quickly.
I also have a couple of friends who I see regularly and catch up for coffee at each others houses. We've all got little kids too so plenty of whinging gets done.
mrsdlc2007
04-02-2008, 09:21
I think I should just take a chill pill :chillpill: and relax that things in my house arent perfect, the only thing is that we have such a busy social life, friends and family constantly popping around, I feel guilty that my house isnt "home and gardens" material.
I know I should just realise that raising 6 kids under one roof nothing is ever going to be perfect.
My precious little booby sucking monster :laughing: has just woken for her 4th feed this morning..... :hair:
mrsdlc2007
04-02-2008, 09:25
, but Tyler starts prep tomorrow so things could get difficult really quickly.
:laughing:Good luck with that.... I thought getting up the same time I did before Charlize was born to get the kids ready for school would be ok.... Um no We got to school at 8.30am today and they are suppose to be in class by 8.20am.... I use to be the mother that was there first....
I think my alarm might need to be set at least 30 mins earlier....
Chelle123
04-02-2008, 09:28
My house isn't house & gardn material either but I came to terms with that a long time ago. :p
I've just put the boys outside with watermelon to eat. Everything was quiet for a bit but then they started fighting because Tyler wants to play cricket and Noah doesn't, and I can't go out right now cos Aubrey is feeding. Looks like I'll be playing cricket very soon.
feline11
04-02-2008, 09:35
How was your back after 4hrs in the baby bjorn? I had Aubs in mine for about 1/2hr today and I don't think I could have gone much longer. Is there a secret? or have I got a cr@ppy back?
Oh i didnt have him in the baby bjorn for all that time - he was just asleep for 4 hours. think i carried him for at least an hour. did you buy the baby bjorn active with the back support?
sorry to hear you are having such a rough time - no its not fair that it all seems to be landing on your plate. sending a big :hugs: and hope things get better.
Amanda - so sorry to hear your DH has been laid off. wow you have a busy life - can anyone give you a couple of hours off?
mrsdlc2007
04-02-2008, 09:41
Today is my quiet day.... Thank goodness. The two big ones are at school and the other 3 are at daycare... So its just my little angel and me home today, so I guess today is my day off. DH is trying to convince me to put her on Formula as she is feeding all the time to give me a break, but I really want to keep feeding her. I breastfed my last one for 13 months. (Plus it is sooooooo much cheaper)
My DH is having a day out with the boys today, which will let me have a break and a sleep without feeling \guilty aswell. He is watching the gridiron superbowl in the city... Was going to go but figured a day chillin at home would do me the world of good.
I also get everysecond weekend kinda off. Three of the kids go to other parents so that is always a great break. Only problem is they come back and as I am so strict on routine, diet etc it takes me a few days to get them back into "my way".
feline11
04-02-2008, 09:43
I think I should just take a chill pill :chillpill: and relax that things in my house arent perfect, the only thing is that we have such a busy social life, friends and family constantly popping around, I feel guilty that my house isnt "home and gardens" material.
can you ask your friends/family for the odd hour? i would def not worry about your house not being perfect but i know that is easier said than done.
My mum and stepdad are coming over from England on Wed. she was initially coming out to help me and see her grandson as well but now Oliver is a month old we are pretty much sorted but will be great to see her (last saw her a year ago) and i can always get them just to help out with some gardening and a few things i just havent got round to doing.
4th Feed!! You must be well and truly drained!! Breastfeeding can be tiring!!
Oddly enough, Becca's been seeming hungry more often on the formula... She's been more demanding at night... I've put her on the boob once a day since we changed over, nips are still tender but not about to fall off anymore...
Ohhh, she's smiling, playing with Elmo, I'll see if I can get it on camera!!
Ros, did you want a PM about Ky and Ruby's funeral??
Did I miss anyone else who got to know Ky??
Yes thanks.
Alexander has a rash on his tummy and back it looks pretty bad so i have to go to GP this PM, no wonder he has been really grizzly and not wanting to eat as much the past few days:(.
i am so tired and hungry haven't had a chance to eat i better go and eat while he is quiet.
Melissa1983
04-02-2008, 11:47
Have you heard from Ky? I tried ringing her last night, but she didn't answer..
And thanks for the birthday wishes everyone, so far it has been a great day..
Crazy Monkey
04-02-2008, 12:40
Happy Birthday Mel... Hope you have a great day...
Lucy has been a little unsettled today... She's fussing at the boob a bit and just wants to sleep but keeps waking... Hopefully now she's down for 3 hours... We've had a busy weekend, so maybe its just catching up with her... She slept from 11pm to 7am last night, so I was rapt...
Chelle and Bec, yay on the big sleeps... I hope they continue...
Jay, congrats on little Lucas...
Chelle, sorry to hear about all the bad stuff thats going on... I hope it gets better soon...
Amanda, Sounds like you have one busy household... i wouldn't worry about the house either - hey I'm here when I should be folding and putting away clothes... Sorry to hear your DH has been laid off...
Chelle123
04-02-2008, 13:13
Hi Silla - I was just thinking that we hadn't heard from you for a while.
I was just doing my ironing and labelling Tyler's school clothes when I came to the realisation that I am going to be ironing school uniforms for the next 17 years, starting today.:eek:
feline11
04-02-2008, 13:14
My son is 1 stubborn boy -he fights sleep like crazy. he has been awake since 9.30 and is exhausted. i have pushed him in bassinette which settles him but 2 mins after i stop he yells. think he has finally dropped off after rocking him in my arms
Happy Birthday Mel - glad to hear you are having a good day.
Crazy Monkey
04-02-2008, 13:18
Hi Silla - I was just thinking that we hadn't heard from you for a while.
Lucy doesn't like me on the computer... when i finally get her settled in the evenings and get on she wakes... And DH is home during the day, so hard to get any PC time... He's watching a movie with my uncle today, so he's not bugging me... :laughing:
Hi girls - thought I might pop in here and introduce myself.
I am Tamara and had a daughter on the 2nd of January. She was born naturally after being induced (I was 42weeks).
I am here for some major advice.
Hannah has both reflux and colic. And unfortunately won't settle unless she is held or in my hug-a-bub. I was just wondering if anyone else is experiencing this or has been through it.
I am at my wits end and feel like I can't get anything done.
Hi Tamara!
Have you been the see a Dr? Is she breast or bottlefed??
I haven't personally experienced it. I know you can get gripe water or infacol from your local supermarket which should help with the colic and I've been told there are things you can give bubs to thicken the milk for reflux - best to speak to a health care professional about it though.
Oh and welcome to our group!! :D
justme77
04-02-2008, 16:35
Afternoon ladies.
well i just had my first outing to the supermarket with all 3 boys. went better then i thought, except for pesty people staring at Luke.
Hes still sleeping like a dream, and loves his bottle. :yelclap: no problems at all yet- early days tho.
mrsdlc2007
04-02-2008, 17:11
I need some advice, I had bub 4 weeks ago today. I have stopped bleeding and ready to swing back into my sex life. I have always waited 6 weeks but I want to know if anyone has done it before the 6 week mark.
Let me know your experiences (not too much detail:laughing:) and if there are any really bad risks if I do....
Amanda
Amanda i have never done it before 6 weeks and to be honest i wouldn't be in the mood.
I just got back from Gp good news and bad news, Alexanders rash is only heat rash. Bad NEWS ,Sebastian has to have an operation!
His balls are not descending he has what they call retractile testicles and can cause major fertility problems if not fixed in early age.
So my little boy has to be operated on :(.
Will have to organise a operation around April after holidays.
Such as life!
Lillynix
04-02-2008, 19:05
*waves*
Thought best to post in here rather than the DIJ thread! Thank you all so much for your congrats!
Everything went swimmingly, and i'm not in the least bit disappointed about being at the hospital, I ultimately got what I wanted, I pushed a baby out of my vagina and didn't have to fight for the right to do so!
Just a copy and paste from another thread, i'll be back sometime over the next few days with more, at the moment, I just want to soak up my new family!
Don't have the brain capacity to write up my birth story yet, but will get to it soon, I promise!
But short version is, early labour started at 3pm'ish Friday, by 2am'ish Saturday I was having contractions 10-15mins apart, by 10am'ish Saturday I was having contractions 2-3mins apart...all back labour (again) I might add and sooooo painful!
I was in my birth pool by around 9am'ish so that was nice and it was really helpful too! By the afternoon, I was in incredible amounts of pain, but was coping with it all but as I had no idea of my progress when I started getting the urge to push every few contractions, and never feeling that urge before, it freaked me out, as I had no idea if it was "safe" to push or not. So around 2pm'ish I made the decision to head to the hospital.
Arrived, was seen to, checked over, and was 5cm dilated, WOO! I was absolutely stoked that I had progressed so much at home. After being told that my chance of VBAC was low, and that this baby most likely wouldn't fit due to CPD (I was rolling my eyes while the middie said this) and that I should prepare for another c-section, and after being told all the "rules" that apply to VBAC women and what not, I was taken to the delivery suite, where I found the same middie who had just told me all these horrid things, was actually really, reallu supportive, so methinks she just had to cover her bum.
I had barely any monitoring, most of which was done while I was pushing anyway so wasn't restrictive, I was allowed to walk around, shower, do what I wanted which was fantastic!
After a long labour, and an hour'ish of pushing, Phoenix finally made his way into this world with a gush and I managed to escape with just a graze and a 2nd degree tear which I requested not be stitched.
So far i'm comfortable and pain free, breastfeeding is going swimmingly, although still awaiting milk, and I LOVE the fact that a baby came out of my vagina, and I showed it to ALL of the staff that told me that DD got stuck due to CPD and then I went on to have a bigger baby ;)
Offical stats were...
Phoenix Michael born 11:14pm 2nd Feb
weighing in at 4.160kg or 9lb3oz
52cm long
35cm head
and perfect!
P.S - We have photos, but DH left the camera at MIL's so will get pics up tomorrow hopefully!
MissEdwards
04-02-2008, 19:08
didnt know we already moved my bad!!! opps, hope every1 is well.
We brought Tyrone a suprise today a hot wheels quad bike from big w. got it for $88 marked down from $198. his been so good with samantha. so we thought we would buy his a present.
Samantha has some colic problems but is getting a lil better now.
Just been lying her heaps on her tummy as the MCHN said to do even if she screams i still have to have her on her tummy for about 20mins at a time.
Well ill pop in later n check up on here.
Laterz ladies.
Silla
Amanda, we attempted 4 weeks ago but my stitch seems to be healing weird - like I have keloids or something (where the scar tissue bumps out of the skin, DD1 has it on her back after her op) so it hurt and I made DF stop - so that was at 3 weeks PP.
The only thing you need to worry about is A) pain if still sore and B) pregnancy.
Also, I meant to say it before but my internet speeds are playing up (it took me over 3 hours just to get my subscriptions open)...
If you're happy with Charlize feeding that often and not in pain and she seems to be getting enough and you're not too tired and worn out, keep going with the breastfeeding... I've very recently learnt though that the pain isn't worth it, I pushed through for 6 weeks (that was the goal I'd set at the start) and I paid for it. Becca has been off me for 3 days now and my nipples are still killing me (that could be because I don't want to "give up" and have been putting her on once a day, not yet today so far though and boobs have been going nuts too, nipples still tender). I feel bad because with DD1 putting her on the bottle was the best for HER, but putting Becca on the bottle is for ME... She may have never attached properly but still gained 300grams a week in 4-5 5-15min feeds a day...
Okay... my turn... I think Becca may have silent reflux... My net connection is too slow and will be until Saturday for me to look it up... She throws or spits up at every feed, but not enough for me to be concerned that she's not getting anything (was doing it on the boob too, just more so on the formula - weird I know) she's unsettled for at least an hour after every feed, screaming and carrying on and you try and burp her and it's so hard to do and she spews again... We do attempt to burp her 1/2 way through a feed and she'll burp, sometimes spews and drink more...
Ros, friends of ours little boy who is 2 months older than Annabelle had to have an op on his balls, he's fine, in and out in one day and he didn't appear to notice any difference... I'm sure Sebie will go through it with flying colours!!
Silla - what a bargain!! We should do something like that with Annabelle but she doesn't understand yet... We did get a new seat for her for the car though. Was supposed to be $350 and we got it for $270...
Lis - I'm glad your hospital visit went well this time - YAY for 3 VBACs out of 3 "attempts" for the Jan Mums!!
Chelle - when the kiddos get older - make them do their own ironing!!!
I did get that video too, but have to find the camera cable to upload it first...
OMG Becca has to have her immunisations next week... :(
MissSookyLaLa
04-02-2008, 20:52
hey ladies!
nick has been up since 6 tonight...still awake but has stopped crying...his tummy is as hard as a rock so i think he is brewing a big burp/fart/poo in there :laughing: hope it comes out soon...
he is falling asleep in adrians arms right now, so i hope he stays asleep...maybe cause he has been up so long he will have a nice long sleep...doubt it though!
in regards to post labour "special cuddles", my OB told me I only needed to wait 3-4 weeks...not that i am at all interested right now! haha!
MissSookyLaLa
04-02-2008, 20:53
She slept from 11pm to 7am last night, so I was rapt...
JEALOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :laughing:
mrsdlc2007
04-02-2008, 20:59
OMG Becca has to have her immunisations next week... :(
Poor Fletcher got his the day I got out of hospital with charlize, all I could think of this poor kid, gets dropped off at grandparents for 4 days then mum comes home with a new toy that she pays more attention to then him and then she takes me to the drs to get jabbed/.....
I didnt have any stitches so I might give it ago... With the amount that Charlize is feeding I doubt very much that I would get pregnant. Though that would suck majorly as I get my mirena next week. maybe I should just wait....
I am sure DH can wait another week.
Thankfully my nipples are not sore at all... So having her on all the time is not painful just annoying...
Chelle123
04-02-2008, 21:00
in regards to post labour "special cuddles", my OB told me I only needed to wait 3-4 weeks...not that i am at all interested right now! haha!
Sshhh, I've told DH not till after 6wk check. Still got the dodgy pelvis so it could be longer LOL.
Amanda, I'm sure Annabelle can relate very well to Fletcher, he is only 13 days older than her!! :D
Cept I took her and Becca got looked over, no cries and she got jabbed with Daddy holding her - Daddy would never let anyone hurt her and she got hurt :crying: First time she's screamed with them too!! I think I might make DF take Becca in before I see the Dr, for some reason I'm giddy at the thought!! DF will be too coz she's not as chubby as Annabelle was!!
Can you believe she's nearly 2 months already?? :eek:
Kate - check your PM's!!!!
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 00:13
Looks like Aubrey is going backwards in her sleep. It seems 2.5hrs is her max when I was getting 4-5hrs last wk. I hope she sleeps longer when I put her back, I really need the sleep.
I know how you're felling Chelle!! Becca seems to have gotten worse on the formula - I hope it goes away soon!!
sairpaul
05-02-2008, 07:01
Hi guys thought i'd quickly pop in i'm running a bit late but anyway. I've gone back to feeding Maiya 2 at night. and going to slowly build it back up. The MHCN was happy with her and what i was doing she put on 500g about 1lb and grew 3cm in a week we are a bit worried about her head growth though. As DH had problems has plastic and staples in his head as his head wouldn't grow and his brain was. unfortunately it can be passed on so... We might have a long journey we might not. We find out in 2 weeks if she has it or not. other than that we are all fine
Sorry everyone thats having a few probs.
Candyn sorry to hear about seb glad alexander is alright.
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 07:03
She slept 3.5hrs when I put her back & I didn't hear her wake up, DH got up to change her & brought her in to feed.
Tyler starts prep today :( I'll post some pics later.
sairpaul
05-02-2008, 07:21
I bet he looks a QT in his uniform??
Well i don't wanna wake lil miss to change her clothes coz shes happy sleeping then shell decide she's hungry.
sairpaul
05-02-2008, 07:24
in regards to the issues in the bedroom. I'm going to try out before i go to dr. Coz its not till the 28th and will be 8 weeks. I haven't had the energy lately though
Chelle - goodluck with Tylers first day of school!!! You won't know yourself!
Alex was a bit of a pooh the last 3 days but last night he settled again so :fingerscrossed: he stays that way.
Mel - Great birth story! Congrats on your VBAC!
Sara - Gees i hope Maiya the same problem as your DH, sounds like a big op if it's so.
Here i am worried about Sebies Problem, I guess since james had microsurgery on his hand when he was 4 i get really panicky , it was such an ordeal. james was playing at my mums house in the garage where my father had stashed his gallons of home made wine Well james landed on them when playing ball and cut his hand right open we could see his tendons, it was his right hand. He required microsurgery it was so horrible seeing him go through General Anesthetic.
i know it's a small op, poor baby his balls won't come down:(
Enough about that - i am going for my 10 km walk this morning as i didn't do it yesterday.
Catch ya later ladies
Bo0tifuL
05-02-2008, 08:53
Well Hello ladies!~ theres a fe of us now isnt there :)
Hayden is now 4.6kgs :O he put that on in 4 weeks! Hes doing so well now im finally getting into a routine, as before he wasnt sleeping and everyday was different! Jakes doing ok i spose. Im so terrified of outings. If Jake doesnt muck up the baby does. I hate going to shopping centers as JAke will 100% Guaranteed chuck a tanty!
SEx? Whats that again? LOL! The last time we done the deed was 1 month before baby was born so now its been like 2 months! Im dying for it, but im so scared!!! Everytime we muck around i have to stop coz i get to scared! I feel like a virgin again lol!
Candyn - Itll be ok hun, think positive and were all here for you :D
WIDGET I WILL CHECK THEM NOW :D
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 09:53
Sarah - I hope little Maiya doesn't need the op - stupid genetics!!! I have to get a u/s on Aubrey's hips soon as I was in plaster for 6wks with hip dispacia (sp?) when I was a baby. The boys were both okay but I've been told its more predominant in girls.
Ros - have fun on your walk & I hope you don't get stuck in the rain.
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 10:01
Tyler's first day at school (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/TySchool.jpg)
and another one (http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd319/chelle20_75/TySchool2.jpg) (first half decent pic of me since Aubs was born)
*~alegna~*
05-02-2008, 10:30
I was a Due in Feb Mama but Missy decided to evacuate 5wks early so that puts us in Jan parents.
I haven't read back through the thread but thought I might like to crash & say a big Hello & Congrats to all the Jan arrivals.:thumbsup:
Hope to get to know you all better.
Ang x
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 10:54
Hi Ang & welcome,
Its become a bit quiet on here since we all had our bubs but all the girls are lovely and very helpful. Is your bub at home with you?
I feel like a virgin again lol!
HAHAHAHAHAHA :laughing: That would have to be one of THE funniest things I've heard for a while!!
You push a bowling ball out your vagina and you feel tight?? :laughing:
Hi Ang :wave: Welcome to our extremely friendly group!! It has gone rather quiet since the bubbas arrived :confused: Thankful Chelle is as addicted as me as I was the only new Mummy posting for a while... When I get the chance I will add you (and Amanda and Tamara) to the Birth List - it hasn't been updated since the 10th - how slack am I?!?! Toddler and (holy heck) almost 2 month old keep me busy during the day and I'm tired at night when the little blighter is between throwing up and drinking...
Anyhoo, the big one needs to go down for a nap and then the little one needs to be fed, she's looking at me not very happy LOL at least she's not screaming at me for once!! :hair:
Melissa1983
05-02-2008, 12:43
She slept 3.5hrs when I put her back & I didn't hear her wake up, DH got up to change her & brought her in to feed.
Tyler starts prep today :( I'll post some pics later.
Mikayla started on Thursday last week. How did he go? no tears? How did Mummy go?
MissSookyLaLa
05-02-2008, 14:42
do any of you girls wake your bubs up for feeds during the day or just let them sleep until they decide they are hungry?
i usually dont wake nick up, but thats cause he usually doesnt give me the chance! :laughing:
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 15:06
i usually dont wake nick up, but thats cause he usually doesnt give me the chance! :laughing:
Same as you Bec.
No tears from me or Tyler but the house was a little quiet. He really enjoyed it and said he played with some other boys (that was my biggest fear, that he'd be by himself in the playground). Noah started his 3yo kinder at 12.30 today too so Aubs and I went shopping. Got her a hot pink pram liner and myself a pair of jeans as I'm sick of wearing maternity pants.
I'm down to a sz 14 now :smiliedance:which is good considering I bought sz 16 2-3wks ago. Sz 8 here I come!!!
MissSookyLaLa
05-02-2008, 15:14
oh thats good chelle!
nick has been asleep nearly 3 hours..,bliss, ive done all the washing, watched a movie and made a decent lunch...ahh!
really should get him up for a feed soon cause i have to go to the chemist before they close..hmm...
could just go tomorrow i guess! :laughing:
Strawberry_Shortcake
05-02-2008, 15:37
:wave: Ang and welcome. My bub didn’t like the date I picked for her arrival so he decided to come 5 weeks early aswell.
Flogger – :wave: and welcome to our thread. Looking forward to getting to know you. My daughter has reflux not major tho. She’s on AR formula.
Chelle – Tyler looks very handsome in his uniform. My girls went back to school yesterday and they couldn’t wait.
Sairpaul - :fingerscrossed: Maiya doesn't need the op.
Bec – I don’t wake Tarni up if she’s due for a feed.
Us – Far out my little princess is 6 weeks today. Its going so fast. Just got back from the clinic. Tarni is now 3.9kgs not bad considering she was only 2.4kgs when born. The CHN is wrapped with her progress. My DS is finally walking and hubby went back to work yesterday after having holidays since bub was born. So now it’s just me and the 2 bubs at home and let me tell you its heaven. My weight loss is going well. Just have about 5 kgs to loose to get back to my weight before I had my kiddies. When that happens my DH said I can go and buy a whole new wardrobe. Man I can’t wait for that. Anyway better get going time for DS to have a sleep and time to feed Tarni.
Kel
Chelle - your family is beautiful!!
Good feeling when the weight comes off!!
I did my big walk i am so exhausted but feel exhilirated from it!!
Alexander now weighs 4.2 kgs!!
DH is doing a BBQ so i don't have to get dinner ready!
i have to pay my bills i have such a big backlog!! Tomorrow morning will be my bill paying morning i have a draw full of bills and filing to attend too!
Melissa1983
05-02-2008, 16:33
Chelle - Tyler looks so cute..
Here is a few photos of Mikayla first day
First Day (http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o275/melissawetherell/Children/MikaylaFirstDay.jpg)
Sports Day (http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o275/melissawetherell/Children/MikaylaSport.jpg)
Sister Love (http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o275/melissawetherell/Children/MikaylaandAbby.jpg)
Jayden is doing well, last night he played up. Woke every 2 hours. So feeling very tired and stressed out at the moment. I am very edging. Just hoping its the tiredness not the depression kicking in again.
Crazy Monkey
05-02-2008, 18:38
Welcome Ang... This is a great little group.. Looking forward to getting to know you...
Chelle, love the photos... Such a beautiful little family... Jack was sitting next to me when I opened the family pic and said "Tom Tom"...:laughing: He is Thomas obsessed.. I didn't even notice Thomas on Noahs lap...
Bedroom cuddles.. what are they??:o Its been sooo long for us here - poor DH...think I'll wait until after the 6 week check up, I still have some bleeding anyway...
Sarah, hope your little girl doesn't need the op...:fingerscrossed:
Ros, I'm sure Sebie will be fine through the op, although I bet its still very scary for you... Hope everything goes well...
HB, love the photos.. the girls are so cute...
Well as for us, Lucy has a handful last night between 6pm and 1.30am... She's just very unsettled and wont stay asleep... But then she slept through to 7am... And has slept most of today... She's awake now (sitting on my lap with the hiccups)... I better go Jack needs to go to bed and Lucy needs a bath...
Hope to be back later but I really doubt I will be... Nite all
xoxox
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 19:00
Chelle, love the photos... Such a beautiful little family... Jack was sitting next to me when I opened the family pic and said "Tom Tom"...:laughing: He is Thomas obsessed.. I didn't even notice Thomas on Noahs lap...
LOL I didn't notice it either.
Mel - the pics are gorgeous!!! I hope you get more sleep tonight. I haven't had pnd but I have had some low days lately. I hope that's all it is for you Mel.
By the looks of it, Becca has silent reflux...
She has 6 of these symptoms...
Silent GER refers to GER or GERD without any outward or typical symptoms. This could mean that a child isn't vomiting or appearing uncomfortable but is having reflux episodes. Some children may swallow the refluxed material (refluxate) back down instead of throwing it up, in some kids it may not come up enough to actually come out the mouth. This can be much more difficult to diagnose, since the most common symptoms are not present.
It can also be more damaging as the refluxate burns the esophagus on the way up and again on the way down. Whether or not the silent reflux needs to be treated depends on the complications that are arising from it.
Some symptoms that can indicate silent reflux are:
irritability and pain
poor sleep habits typically with frequent waking*
arching their necks and back during or after eating*
frequent hiccups*
frequent ear infections
refusing food or accepting only a few bites despite being hungry* or the exact opposite requiring constant small meals or liquid
food/oral aversions
anemia
excessive drooling
running nose, sinus infections
sinus congestion
swallowing problems, gagging, choking
chronic hoarse voice
frequent red, sore throat without infection present
apnea
respiratory problems—pneumonia, bronchitis, wheezing, asthma, night-time cough, aspiration
gagging themselves with their fingers or fist (sign of esophagitis)
poor weight gain, weight loss, failure to thrive*
erosion of dental enamel
neck arching (Sandifer's Syndrome)
bad breathAs with regular reflux, the child does not need to exhibit all the symptoms listed to have silent reflux. If you believe your child has silent reflux, start with lifestyle modifications as suggested in the article on 14 Steps for Helping a Baby with Reflux (http://www.infantrefluxdisease.com/help-infant-reflux.php). If this is not enough to help, you may need to bring baby to the doctor as the next step may be medications. The treatments (http://www.infantrefluxdisease.com/treating-infant-reflux-and-gerd.php) page will give you a list of the medications used to treat reflux.
Usually the doctor will not order any diagnostic testing to confirm reflux is present unless it does not respond to initial treatment. If it continues despite medical therapy and begins to cause more serious complications, the doctor will likely begin further work ups.
* denotes most common symptoms of silent reflux
This is the 14 steps to reducing infant reflux...
It's important to realize that not all babies with reflux will require medication or have difficulties with their reflux. Many infants, usually called happy spitters, will benefit greatly from some simple steps that you can start trying right now. Many of the things listed below will help with your baby's discomfort and spitting up, eliminating the need for medication.
If, after trying all the below listed tips, your baby is still spitting up, or having difficulties with their reflux, read about whether or not medication may be needed (http://www.infantrefluxdisease.com/needtomed.php) and what medications (http://www.infantrefluxdisease.com/infant-reflux-treatments.php) will likely be used.
Positioning During and After Feeds
Keeping the child upright during and for at least thirty minutes after feeds can help to reduce reflux by allowing gravity to work at holding the food in their tummies. As well, after feeding, try to keep them as motionless as possible for at least thirty minutes after feeding. Formula fed babies may require longer periods since formula is digested slower than breastmilk.
A Word About Car Seats
Some car seats position baby in such a way that they hunched and slouched over, putting added pressure on their tummies which can increase reflux episodes. Look for a car seat that allows baby to be reclined enough that they aren't slouched yet, inclined enough that they are fairly upright.
Sleeping Position
As with positioning after feeding, keeping baby propped during sleep is essential when they have reflux. It can help reduce painful reflux episodes and reduce the risk of aspiration. For more info on propping baby, see the article on propping (http://www.infantrefluxdisease.com/propping.php).
Prone vs. Supine (Front vs Back)
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends all babies sleep in the supine position (on their backs) because it has been shown to reduce the risk of SIDS. This is fine for babies with reflux as long as the baby is safely propped up to at least 30%, we found the higher baby is propped the better. Having said that, many babies with reflux prefer sleeping in the prone position (stomach), also elevated of course, and may have less reflux episodes in this position. Discuss this with your doctor and he can help decide if it's okay, and how to safely manage allowing baby to sleep in the prone position. It's very important to discuss this with the doctor before trying it as babies with reflux are already at an increased risk of SIDS.
Carrying
Try carrying baby around as much as possible in a baby carrier through out the day. Carried babies tend to cry less and crying will make reflux worse, plus, it keeps baby upright.
Avoid Tight Clothing
Tight clothing, particularly clothing that's tight around baby's tummy, can make reflux worse by increasing pressure on the LES (lower esophageal sphincter). Make sure baby stays in loose fitting, elastic waists whenever possible.
Food
Breastfeeding is definitely best for a baby with reflux because it is more hypoallergenic than formula and is digested twice as fast as formula. If breastfeeding is not chosen or not possible by the mother, formula changes can help some babies. If the baby has a milk or lactose allergy or intolerance giving the baby formula that is milk based can make reflux worse. Read about the different types of formula available (http://www.infantrefluxdisease.com/formula.php) and discuss this possibility with your pediatrician.
Thickening
Some babies with reflux will respond well to thickening their feeds with cereal. Thickening formula can help for a few reasons. The added weight of the cereal in the food helps to keep the food from splashing around in the baby's belly and can help keep it down. Babies who are having difficulty gaining weight may also benefit from the added calories. Generally, it's recommended that about one tablespoon of cereal should be added for every ounce of formula. If the formula isn't thick enough, it won't work. Also, some babies may react poorly to rice cereal which is generally the first tried, so adding oatmeal instead may work better for some babies. As always discuss this with your pediatrician before trying it.
Feeding Time
When and how much a baby is fed can also have an impact on their reflux. Smaller more frequent meals through out the day work much better than larger, less frequent meals. Also, avoid feeding baby right before bedtime, particularly if the baby is already a poor sleeper.
Breastfeeding
If you are breastfeeding, try eliminating the foods that can make reflux worse. Dairy products are a big offender, as is caffeine, fatty foods, spicy foods, citrus fruits. If eliminating these things seems to help, you can slowly (about one thing a week) start to introduce one thing at a time back into your diet and watch baby's reactions. This will help give you an idea of exactly what was making the reflux worse, so that you (hopefully) don't need to give up everything you love, just one or two things.
Burping
Stopping to burp baby frequently (at least after every ounce) during feedings can help.
Provide a Pacifier
Sucking on a pacifier or dummy, can increase saliva production. Saliva is alkaline which can help neutralize some of the acid that may come up.
Infant Massage
Try infant massage, it's been shown to improve digestion and will help relax baby.
Avoid Certain Foods and Liquids
More so for older children and babies, there are certain foods that are known to make reflux worse. If you breastfeeding, as mentioned above avoid these foods in your own diet. The complete list, as put forth by PAGER is below:
List Source and Copyright: Pediatric Adolescent Gastroesophageal Reflux Association - PAGER
www.reflux.org (http://www.reflux.org/)
Vegetables (due to high acid or belching)
Broccoli
Green Peppers
Cabbage
Brussel Sprouts
Cauliflower
Tomato
Tomato Juice
Corn
Cucumber
Onions
Garlic
Turnips
Rhubarb
KaleFruits (due to high acid or lots of fiber and seeds)
Apple (especially peels)
Bananas (can cause constipation)
Citrus fruits
Figs
CoconutBeverages
Milk (lactose intolerance can provoke reflux in some people)
Coffee (even decaffeinated)
Tea
Carbonated Beverages
Caffeinated BeveragesStarches
Beans (gas producing)
Oats (rolled oats OK)
Tofu (avoid large quantities)
Barley ( OK if perled barley is cooked 10-15 min)Miscellaneous
Fatty or Fried Foods (fats take longer to digest)
Meat with connective tissue/gristle (take longer to digest)
Chili Powder
Vinegars
Chocolate
Molasses
Peppermint/Spearmint (Wintergreen is unrelated)
Honey
Caffeine
Foods with "air" such as fluffy baked goods, Meringues.
Swallowing air by sucking on hard candies or drinking from straws
Rye Seeds
Meat Extracts
Black Pepper (White pepper is OK)
Creamy Foods/Gravies (High fat content)
Gooey Pastries (High fat content)
Simple Sugar Foods
Excessive Fiber (increase very gradually as tolerated)
Pectin
High Energy Foods (digest slowly)
MCT Oil (medium chain triglycerides, digest slowly)
Guargum (thickener, digests slowly)My thoughts on her spewing more on the formula aren't so weird afterall... Will be speaking to the Dr about it next week... She sleeps heaps better on her tummy and instead of screaming at me non-stop like the last few nights, she's propped and asleep... She did spew after the last feed, which I did with her propped against my chest in an upright position, but only one compared to the usual little ones for about an hour and a half after the feed...
Chelle123
05-02-2008, 19:38
V - Tyler had reflux and I was told not to put him in baby swings, rockers etc as they make the vomit move up and down the oesophagus (sp?) and cause more pain. I only say this cos I know you were using the swing (don't know if you still are).
BTW did you get my PM?
Lillynix
05-02-2008, 19:39
Here are the pics as promised!
http://lis.nozz.ugbox.net/Phoenix/