View Full Version : What's the best nappy bag?

Narelle
09-03-2006, 19:12
Hi Girls!
Just wanted to know what you think the best nappy bag on the market is?:thumbsup:
I want to buy a new one and was thinking of the Kapoochi one that the end zips off and becomes a seperate backpack for short trips, what do you think?

fee's
09-03-2006, 19:20
I bought the one you are speaking of and while Luca was small (in small nappies) the little zip off one was great. I always found the large section too large though. We have used it for Luca's 'suitcase' when we travell. I have recently bought a gr8x satchel one with a front zipper for my stuff - so I don't need a seperate hand bag. I am finding it good so far. In between I have used a large cloth hand bag I bought for $15 at a bag shop it was great except no sections for keys etc so they always ended up at the bottom. lol.

O&GMUM
09-03-2006, 19:31
Ive got a Gr8x as well. I like the fact that it opens up, You can lie the baby on it and everything is right there.
I was given an oroton nappy bag as well and while it looks great it is sooo impractical, I can never find anything in there!!

Narelle
09-03-2006, 19:33
Hi Fee!
Thanks for the info! The bag I have now is too big and I think why do I lug it down the street when I hardly ever have to change her there anyway!
I looked at the gr8x ones but thought I would prefer an actual bag where you can shove stuff.

Narelle
09-03-2006, 19:35
I was looking on ebay and there is an oioi quilted backpack that I thought would be ok but I'm really not sure that why I'm asking for your valuable advice! :D

Narelle
09-03-2006, 19:37
Hi O&GMUM!
Just wanted to tell you I love the name Georgia and if I have another girl I told my dh that's the name!:D

kuz78au
09-03-2006, 19:57
OMG, I reakon the BEST bag is one from Target. It's a black backpack and it isn't labelled with anything. It comes with a change mat, a dummy holder, mobile phone holder, and various compartments! It's just the best thing! And it's only $35-$40! Woo hoo! :yelclap:

LittleBoysRock
09-03-2006, 20:00
Hi Girls!
Just wanted to know what you think the best nappy bag on the market is?:thumbsup:
I want to buy a new one and was thinking of the Kapoochi one that the end zips off and becomes a seperate backpack for short trips, what do you think?

That is the bag I brought and it was fab! Worth every penny. Mine is 7 months old and is great condition. I plan on using it for baby #2 as well.

DS is 7 months and he is now using a small elmo backpack for just the bare essentials when we go out. We have gone from the 3 wheeler pram to a stroller so the nappy bag is a bit too big. :)

Goodluck! :thumbsup:

O&GMUM
09-03-2006, 20:21
Hi O&GMUM!
Just wanted to tell you I love the name Georgia and if I have another girl I told my dh that's the name!:D
Thanks Narelle, i had both Cloe and Jasmine on my names list so we must think alike.
PS I shove things in the GR8X, but they do fall out when you open it up, you just have to be careful...
The other suggestions sound good too though!
Isnt bubhub great!

Rhys'Mum
09-03-2006, 20:37
We've got the GRX8 satchel. While I do like it - has change mat, bottle holder, phone holder, little pockets etc and no issue with things falling out I have actually found it a bit cumbersome so it pretty much lives in the car with a spare change of clothes, just in case nappies and other goodies that we might want close at hand but don't necessarily have to have on us.

For a while I used a cotton library bag I bought from spotlight which was great - bright yellow, pocket in front for keys and phone, carried a couple of nappies, disposable change mat (that I only replaced if it got grotty), nappy bags, wallet and a few toys. Only prob was when he moved to solids it started to get a bit heavy, bulky and I kept loosing spoons somewhere in the bottom.

So...I bought a black backpack (from Bumpto3) which sounds remarkably similar to the Target one. I love it, its got little pockets with thermal stuff inside and some net pockets, bottle holder, phone section in front pocket and a hook for key. I can fit a bowl full of food and some small containers and they stay upright so things don't leak. I can find things. Its compact but convenient. I still have the bag in the car so I don't carry too much but I love the fact I can use it with the pram or the pouch.

Narelle
09-03-2006, 21:30
Thanks girls for all the advice! :yelclap:

razzle
09-03-2006, 21:39
I've got one of these (http://www.bigw.com.au/PICS/2006/feb/baby/daypack2.jpg) from Big W. It was about $30. It's basically a cheap copy of the quilted oi oi backpack. It has a ton of compartments and it's not to big and not to small.

When we're out on quick trips I use a funky little toiletry bag, has enough room for a couple of nappies, a change mat and a sippy cup.

My3kids
09-03-2006, 21:49
I Have a Kapoochi bag, I've had it for 7 years and still looks great, I have put it through the washing machine a few times The best $100 I have ever spent! If you have the money I would recomment the Kapoochi. I think you pay for what you get. My sister bought one for 30 with her pram she has so far got another one because it riped inside, her baby is not even a year old. I have had 3 babies go through my nappy bag and I'm sure another 3 could go through it (not that I'm going to have anymore). Best of luck

brooke
09-03-2006, 21:55
I love my pink oi oi ba[[y bag its great.. its very classy and just the right size!
Everyone always comments when they see it! :yelclap:

09-03-2006, 23:16
I have the baby club backpack. I prefer the backpack as it leaves your hands free to carry bub! And you can use with a pouch or sling!:thumbsup:

Cupcake
09-03-2006, 23:31
I've got one of these (http://www.bigw.com.au/PICS/2006/feb/baby/daypack2.jpg) from Big W. It was about $30. It's basically a cheap copy of the quilted oi oi backpack. It has a ton of compartments and it's not to big and not to small.

When we're out on quick trips I use a funky little toiletry bag, has enough room for a couple of nappies, a change mat and a sippy cup.
Checked it out!!
It is a nice bag:thumbsup:
Very similar to oi oi

MumsieMel
10-03-2006, 07:26
BOOMTISH
I really like that one, when did you get it? Was it in the baby section? i havent seen it there before.

Never mind found it!! LOL
There are some others as well!

http://www.bigw.com.au/Pages/DEPARTMENTS/baby/nappies.asp

I think i will check it out today!

ButterflyKisses
10-03-2006, 08:07
the Kapoochi one that the end zips off and becomes a seperate backpack for short trips, what do you think?

I bought this one and it was great. I used the backpack part of it alot for quick trips to the shops and now I use the bag part of it for DS suitcase when we go away anywhere. It's also great to store all the necessary things in for DS when we are flying as it is the right size for a cabin bag.

razzle
10-03-2006, 08:55
The BigW one is only a brand new line. I think they released it at the baby week promo they had a couple of weeks ago? It's one of those one shouldered back pack thingys and it's velcro so it's so easy to wrap around you. I love it.

I love the OiOi and Kapoochi (satchel) bags but they're just SO big! The Kapoochi bag that I love is this one (http://www.kapoochi.net/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=KB-1&Product_Code=28620&Category_Code=Kapoochi_0002). I've been watching a ton of them on ebay.... They retail for about $65, and they seem to go on ebay for about $40 incl postage......

(I have a bit of a nappy bag fetish I think... :o )

draught
10-03-2006, 08:58
I was looking on ebay and there is an oioi quilted backpack that I thought would be ok but I'm really not sure that why I'm asking for your valuable advice! :D

I have the oi oi quilted backpack and it has been great - not too big, looks good and carries all we need - including for a toddler and a new born. Have used it as handluggage on international flights as well - all good!

M O P
10-03-2006, 09:02
I've a Kecci Shanghai Mommy bag. Obviously I haven't tried it out yet but it is gorgeous. It can be a shoulder bag or back pack.
I had one in chartreuse but I've swapped it with my sil for some nappies
(long story, she already had bought 2 baby bags when she saw these and thought DH would :barf: if she bought another one!)
and I ordered the one I wanted originally in violet, it's still on it's way. Found it on the BubsRGrubs website via Bubhub. They were on sale for $72 + postage. But I just went looking for their address and can't find them, OMG hope my bag's on it's way!!:eek:

Have a look anyway, the prices are in US$ but they are available in Australian stores if you hunt around
http://kecci.com/cgi-bin/TLSstore.cgi?kvar=shanghai

Wasn't too hard to find!
www.bubsrgrubs.com.au

I should also say, I've got an old waterproof Ken Done bag to use around here as the gorgeous Kecci bag would just get too dusty, they are machine washable though.

Harmony83
10-03-2006, 10:33
The best nappy bag I have ever bought is the one from Woolies (little wishes - I think) It was $20! Its about the size of a normal handbag, but fits everything in, its got the insulated bottle holder, 'mummy' compartments, it zips up so nothing falls out! I went through 2 other bags (both 2 big) before I found this one and I think its brilliant!!

Cupcake
12-03-2006, 12:42

I went and got one yesterday(i thought I was past needing one,but not now)
I love it,they have smaller ones and ones slighty bigger.
Thanks Boomtish:yelclap:

mellybean
12-03-2006, 13:01
Hi Narelle.... i love the oioi nappy bags too...very funky, but at the higher end of the price scale!! I got an oioi change mat instead.

Might have to check out the Big W one, sounds more like my budget!!

Narelle
12-03-2006, 21:06
I Have a Kapoochi bag, I've had it for 7 years and still looks great, I have put it through the washing machine a few times The best $100 I have ever spent! If you have the money I would recomment the Kapoochi. I think you pay for what you get. My sister bought one for 30 with her pram she has so far got another one because it riped inside, her baby is not even a year old. I have had 3 babies go through my nappy bag and I'm sure another 3 could go through it (not that I'm going to have anymore). Best of luck

Thanks Kim for your recommendation I bought one today, hopefully it'll last and I don't have to buy another, like your sister I got a cheap one from target and it ripped fairly quickly so I was happy to spend the money this time.

Thanks to everyone for your info, much appreciated!:D

My3kids
12-03-2006, 21:18
Best of Luck with the bag, I'm sure with a little TLC it will last you!

All the Best

M O P
20-03-2006, 16:45
[QUOTE=kazza]I've a Kecci Shanghai Mommy bag. Obviously I haven't tried it out yet but it is gorgeous. It can be a shoulder bag or back pack.
[QUOTE]

If anyone is interested in one of these bags I just saw 3 on ebay starting at $45.

mamabear
05-04-2006, 22:30
I've got one from Babies Galore it's made by Shop Girl. I love it.
it has some other accessories as well like a nappy wallet in case you don't want to take the whole mega kit with you.

hummingbird
25-06-2006, 08:13
I got given an OiOi messenger nappy bag, the one with the flap. I find it's too big to put in the basket of my pram and I find the flap thing really annoying. I just use a cotton library bag now while I scour the shops for a more practical bag. I think I will sell mine on ebay.

I know a lot of bags come with change mats, but I've seen a few mums with this one and I think its great and am going to purchase. Good for those quick outings when you don't want to take a wardrobe's worth of gear with you:

http://www.justforbubs.com.au/change-wallet.php

25-06-2006, 08:42
I want one of these

www.mybragbag.com.au

Soooooo cute!

OscarTheGrouch
25-06-2006, 10:05
I have one of a Chickpea bowling bag in denim and red star, it's great and really funky looking. I saw in the Sunday Telegraph today a new baby bag by glamourpuss which looks fantastic.

Sara's Boys
25-06-2006, 10:15
they have great nappy bahs on www.sexymama.com.au they are the oioi ones, I love them...I want them all!

Briswegian
25-06-2006, 11:07
I might have liked one of those fantastically stylish nappy bags but I just can't justify to part with the money....and DH would probably feel a little silly at the park on sat morning! LOL
I have a cool satchel that I bought on sale for ten pounds....it's olivy greeny colour and has big pockets external and internal and I have a thermal bottle holder which fits inside and a change mat just in case.
So if you have the cash :thumbsup: to the designer bags but this one is just as good as any other bag I've tried, it's stylish (ben sherman) and both DH and I can use it.

jmacg
25-06-2006, 13:10
I too wanted a OI Oi bag but thought they were a bit pricey. We don't have a car so use buses alot so found this backpack made by Kapoochi but under the Gubby brand name. It has been great can strap onto the pram and comes with change mat and insulated bottle holder. Only cost $50. I got it in green and i love it.

http://www.babyshop.com.au/cube/view_product.php?product=39091-4350

Jx

27-06-2006, 11:46
I got one from k-mart for about $40 and it is great!!! not to big not to small!!! just right!! :thumbsup:

MZmama
27-06-2006, 11:58
I too wanted a OI Oi bag but thought they were a bit pricey. We don't have a car so use buses alot so found this backpack made by Kapoochi but under the Gubby brand name. It has been great can strap onto the pram and comes with change mat and insulated bottle holder. Only cost $50. I got it in green and i love it.

Jx

That bag is gorgeous!!! firstly i was just going to get a normal backpack or something trendy to use as i didnt like the look of the nappy bags out there except for the real expensive ones!!!

But i love this one! and my pram is black and green so its perfect! thanks heaps!

ForeverMine
27-06-2006, 12:19

Jx

I just looked at that link, and those bags are wonderful. I emailed my mum the link around 10mins ago and shes off to order one, as she's buying me my nappy bag.

Awesome. Thanks!!